View Full Version : Expansion North will still be the new Gold Coast team
Peacock
10 Dec 2007, 12:11
Already the AFL have come out and said it might take longer to get a 17th team than 2010. North will be offered the same deal next year and accept it. Blind Freddy can see they can't survive in Melbourne on their own. Even the dumbest of the dumb are saying they are only a 100/1 chance to survive.
What's happening at the moment is just an attempt to 'look tough' and 'stick it to the AFL'. In 12 months time the board will be saying how they got the 'deal of the century' moving to the Gold Coast and all the fans will be happy as 'trusted' people like Brayshaw and Archer will be saying there's no other option and how they 'screwed the AFL'.
I can't wait for it all to unfold as I don't want to see North commit suicide like they are currently attempting to do. Get your arses up to the Gold Coast :thumbsu:
windsock
10 Dec 2007, 12:19
Someone needs a hug.
Nah - I think North have burnt too many bridges on the Gold Coast, the locals won't accept them after their insolence to the whole idea. The GC team will get to pick over the dead carcass though. Maybe the new GC team should be known as the Vultures or Hyenas.
windsock
10 Dec 2007, 12:36
Group hug?
Salad dodger
10 Dec 2007, 13:18
Nah - I think North have burnt too many bridges on the Gold Coast, the locals won't accept them after their insolence to the whole idea. The GC team will get to pick over the dead carcass though. Maybe the new GC team should be known as the Vultures or Hyenas.
I wore my Kangaroos polo down on the Coast on the weekend, I am 6 foot 4 inches tall and still coped a mouth full a few times about supporting the Roo's. I tried not to bite but it was tough.
The AFL and local media have done a job on the people here. No one sees it as the AFL bullying North and North fighting back they see it as a rejection of the Coast and its people. I fear that due to miss-information the area is very anti North at the moment. It will take sometime to turn that around. :(
FrangaRoo
10 Dec 2007, 13:22
Already the AFL have come out and said it might take longer to get a 17th team than 2010. North will be offered the same deal next year and accept it. Blind Freddy can see they can't survive in Melbourne on their own. Even the dumbest of the dumb are saying they are only a 100/1 chance to survive.
What's happening at the moment is just an attempt to 'look tough' and 'stick it to the AFL'. In 12 months time the board will be saying how they got the 'deal of the century' moving to the Gold Coast and all the fans will be happy as 'trusted' people like Brayshaw and Archer will be saying there's no other option and how they 'screwed the AFL'.
I can't wait for it all to unfold as I don't want to see North commit suicide like they are currently attempting to do. Get your arses up to the Gold Coast :thumbsu:
I can think of two things:
a) you have way too much time on your hands.
b) you obviously dont have much going on in your life to be thinkign through threads like this.
hilarious.:thumbsu:
The Teflon Dean
10 Dec 2007, 13:39
Take it easy on pea ****, he is not having the best of weeks-
Blues miss out on Millions
THE pub deal that was to be the financial salvation of the Carlton Football Club is coming to a messy end.
Australia's biggest hotel broker, T.J. Board & Sons, is suing the Sam Castello Group for a $17 million commission on the aborted deal. The deal, which involved the purchase of nine hotels in Victoria, was to provide Carlton with a share in millions of dollars from profits.
Ironically the boss of T.J. Board, Terry Board, played 41 games and kicked 43 goals with the Blues between 1965 and '68. Carlton is not involved in the legal wrangle over Board's company claim.
"Carlton is out of the equation," Board's son Peter said.
Blues president Dick Pratt announced Carlton's involvement in the deal in mid-June. "It will result in Carlton receiving millions of dollars in non-football revenue in coming years with no downside risk or liability," Pratt said at the time. It was estimated Carlton would reap up to $10 million in the next five years.
However, the deal collapsed, leaving Carlton without a financial lifeline and Terry Board's company without its commission. :(
The Castello Group is defending the writ.
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,22892828-20322,00.html
Join the soup line, Pea ****.:thumbsu:
roger explosion
10 Dec 2007, 14:13
i consider the Anti-North sentiment on the GC a good thing - if a 17th license comes in and North survives, you've got a hell of a rivalry...
Salad dodger
10 Dec 2007, 15:49
i consider the Anti-North sentiment on the GC a good thing - if a 17th license comes in and North survives, you've got a hell of a rivalry...
True, I just hope the GC North supporters are fully informed and dont get caught up in the "North think they are to good for us" rubbish that is doing the rounds about town as there are 2000 members up here (as I understand it) and they can ill afford to be lost.
KevinCat07
10 Dec 2007, 15:52
Poor trolling D+ at best. Ron Clarke probably hates their guts and so would the GC people. That part of their war is over.
jacko57
10 Dec 2007, 15:59
No, 'the dumbest of the dumb' are saying 'get your arses up to the Gold Coast'. While of course, the arses of the AFL are your own club. :D:D:D
jacko57
10 Dec 2007, 16:00
I wore my Kangaroos polo down on the Coast on the weekend, I am 6 foot 4 inches tall and still coped a mouth full a few times about supporting the Roo's. I tried not to bite but it was tough.
The AFL and local media have done a job on the people here. No one sees it as the AFL bullying North and North fighting back they see it as a rejection of the Coast and its people. I fear that due to miss-information the area is very anti North at the moment. It will take sometime to turn that around. :(
Why didn't you give the village idiot a clip over the ear? Or can he still run pretty well? ;)
Salad dodger
10 Dec 2007, 16:19
Why didn't you give the village idiot a clip over the ear? Or can he still run pretty well? ;)
I thought I might try to explain the situation but I didn't want to hold them up from getting in line to collect their Dole cheque :p
giantroo
10 Dec 2007, 18:49
True, I just hope the GC North supporters are fully informed and dont get caught up in the "North think they are to good for us" rubbish that is doing the rounds about town as there are 2000 members up here (as I understand it) and they can ill afford to be lost.
2000 AFL members not NM members mate. We don't get any of those members counted. All the gate reciepts go to the AFL. We just get the 400k.
Even if they hate the living shits out of us and don't come, it is the AFL that is losing money and members not us.
I thought I might try to explain the situation but I didn't want to hold them up from getting in line to collect their Dole cheque :pShould have waited and taken it off them.
Buy a membership with said dole cheque and give them the membership;)
Funkalicous
10 Dec 2007, 19:29
One of those "members" was me, and I was only in it for he Gold Coast. Hate to say it, but those supporters are already lost.
SweetLeftFoot
10 Dec 2007, 19:31
Just give it up.
The Teflon Dean
10 Dec 2007, 20:05
One of those "members" was me, and I was only in it for he Gold Coast. Hate to say it, but those supporters are already lost.
Thanks for the money.:)
campbell
10 Dec 2007, 21:12
That would be us as well. A package deal from the AFL for the Roos. I think we got it, as my kids play AFL senior footy. I know of others who have memberships as well.
One my friend who is an Essendon member. She is not renewing this as well.
campbell
10 Dec 2007, 21:13
Thanks for the money.:)
AFL got it, not your club. No idea how they will sell them to the masses this year, after this. We wont be renewing, nor will my friend.
I suppose they may make it attractive and I suppose it all depends on who plays who.
mediumsizered
10 Dec 2007, 22:28
I thought I might try to explain the situation but I didn't want to hold them up from getting in line to collect their Dole cheque :p
Surely with you living in Brisbane you would be aware that the unemployment rate on the Gold Coast is lower than the national average & lower than the overall Qld level. I would safely suggest the dole queues are much longer in Caboolture, Woodridge, Toombul, Beenleigh etc.
mediumsizered
10 Dec 2007, 22:33
No doubt about that & unfortunately this follows the burning of bridges in Sydney & Canberra. Melbourne must work for the North Melbourne Football Club because there are virtually no other options left. Hawthorn have tied up Tassie & the Bulldogs seem to have a good relationship with the NT. James Brayshaw is probably shouldering the biggest responsibility in VFL/AFL history. Time will tell if he is up to it.
Still can't see how North will survive long term...
Got a feeling we'll see a similar situation to when Port came into the comp...an uneven number of teams until one Melbourne side is axed.
Sad that the supporters of North have probably killed off their team.
DarwinRoo
10 Dec 2007, 22:58
Still can't see how North will survive long term...
Got a feeling we'll see a similar situation to when Port came into the comp...an uneven number of teams until one Melbourne side is axed.
Sad that the supporters of North have probably killed off their team.
When Port came in there were an even number of teams.
And how can you say North supporters killed of the team? When push comes to shove we had no say in whether the club moved or not. It was a boards decision and the right one at that.
AFL got it, not your club. No idea how they will sell them to the masses this year, after this. We wont be renewing, nor will my friend.
I suppose they may make it attractive and I suppose it all depends on who plays who.
They will do what they did last year, more or less give them away and say what a fantastic 10k crowd.
The whole problem is the AFL's fault, tried a knee-jerk reaction of getting in on the GC because of the Titans, not because they think the region is ready.
We didn't want to relocated, we have long-term issues we needed to resolve and it was unknown if we could resolve them, but to date the admin hasn't done a hell of a lot to resolve the issues because they lacked the funds.
I am thankful to the AFL because we had a lot of fence sitters on the board and it was almost impossible for us to remove them in the past. They have opened the door for the club making a real push to survive here and for members to have control of the club.
As much as the last year or two has been a complete waste of time for us, it at least lays down the foundations of having a fighting chance rather than no chance at all.
Salad dodger
11 Dec 2007, 09:39
Surely with you living in Brisbane you would be aware that the unemployment rate on the Gold Coast is lower than the national average & lower than the overall Qld level. I would safely suggest the dole queues are much longer in Caboolture, Woodridge, Toombul, Beenleigh etc.
Yeah I know just venting. :D
RoyalBlue
12 Dec 2007, 01:32
Awesome. We never got a cent from their memberships anyway.
Salad dodger
12 Dec 2007, 08:59
Awesome. We never got a cent from their memberships anyway.
infact 40% of the Gold Coast memberships dollars went to NMFC if you sellected NM as your club as I and (i believe) 2000 other people did. Well make that 1997 as I bought 3 memberships.
hereselmo1
12 Dec 2007, 13:17
i really do like north melbourne and all that they stand for, especially on field
unfortunately i think that in the long run it is unlikely that they will survive
when it comes down to it they are a poor club with out loads of members
unfortunately they will be seen as such by the next generation of followers as well which makes it even harder to get new members
i wish you guys all the best but i have a feeling if a 17th team comes in, u guys will either fold or merge with the new team in a few years time
Master Chief
12 Dec 2007, 21:29
i really do like north melbourne and all that they stand for, especially on field
unfortunately i think that in the long run it is unlikely that they will survive
when it comes down to it they are a poor club with out loads of members
unfortunately they will be seen as such by the next generation of followers as well which makes it even harder to get new members
i wish you guys all the best but i have a feeling if a 17th team comes in, u guys will either fold or merge with the new team in a few years time
Fair enough mate.