View Full Version : SUPER Sunday this weekend at Waverley Park - Who's going?
philhawk
10 Dec 2007, 12:49
Join in SuperSunday
6:54 AM Mon 10 December, 2007 | Back
for hawthornfc.com.au
Don’t miss your chance to celebrate SuperSunday with the Hawks at Waverley Park.
Come and see the boys and enjoy a family day out with heaps of great activities and loads of Christmas cheer.
Signing marquees
Skills and drills sessions with the players
BBQ
Snow cones
Merchandise
Membership
Handball trailer
Spinning wheel
Face painting
Hawka appearance
Sand Wizards for the kids
Welcoming the 2008 squad
Come along and be part of the fun!
11am
Sunday 16 December 2007 Waverley Park
Stadium Circuit, Mulgrave (Mel 80 H2)
Hopefully the membership stand will be busy as usual and we can get a solid 500-1k signed up.
So who's going?
flukeyluke
10 Dec 2007, 13:12
Didnt know it was on:eek:
But now I do, yep:thumbsu:
kimbopen
10 Dec 2007, 13:19
Count me in!
Dixie Flatline
10 Dec 2007, 13:31
All things being equal, we should be there. If anyone gets between Grant Birchall, my daughter and my camera, watch out! :mad:
DynamoUltra
10 Dec 2007, 14:23
Will be taking my 8 month old nephew, his parents and my girl.
MikeBios
10 Dec 2007, 20:54
All things being equal, we should be there. If anyone gets between Grant Birchall, my daughter and my camera, watch out! :mad:
Get on board "the Gooch" train!
No. I'll be getting shitfaced before the Victory match.
Gilbert_Hodge
10 Dec 2007, 21:51
I'll be there with a mate. Hopefully there's some room to kick the footy. Finding a car park will be an issue.
Disabled parking. Get on it :thumbsu:
Gilbert_Hodge
11 Dec 2007, 10:08
Disabled parking. Get on it :thumbsu:
Hahaha gold.
Will it still be on at 3pm? I work down the road and might drop in for a look
RustyHawk
11 Dec 2007, 15:15
Will it still be on at 3pm? I work down the road and might drop in for a look
From memory of last year ----- NO.
2PM the playing group are introduced to the fans. After thats done its pretty much pack up time.
To get a carpark at Waverly is a joke, The carparking is poorly designed to host an AFL Football club.
I am un-sure if I am going, I'm predicting a fairly big turnout.
hawks a plenty
11 Dec 2007, 17:12
Hopefully the membership stand will be busy as usual and we can get a solid 500-1k signed up.
So who's going?
phil is it only for families mainly or is it okay for everyone?
philhawk
11 Dec 2007, 17:15
phil is it only for families mainly or is it okay for everyone?
Absolutely everyone, mate. Definitely don't feel like it'll only be families.
Psycosis
11 Dec 2007, 19:30
What this it's only for families with kids,i'm going with my sister and we are 30 and 38(she wants crawfs autograph).
Krale Brown
11 Dec 2007, 20:47
Im only going for the Snow cones. :o
Big Ronnie
12 Dec 2007, 07:39
Im only going for the Snow cones. :o
so is a mate of mine Ben:D
BuddyHawkers
12 Dec 2007, 17:34
How many do you think would turn up at the Waverley Park guys? I hope we can get a carpark:D
RustyHawk
12 Dec 2007, 19:42
Last year I turned up around 1.30pm and found there where quite a few car spots available.
Mind you very very hot windy, yucky day that would have kept alot of people at home.
hawks_legends
12 Dec 2007, 22:31
I'll try & get there :) It should be good!
Gary Shadforth
13 Dec 2007, 05:00
On my way to Coolie Airport now :)
HappyHawk
13 Dec 2007, 12:53
How many do you think would turn up at the Waverley Park guys? I hope we can get a carpark:D
Why do you need an entire carpark. How many people are you bringing:confused:
BuddyHawkers
14 Dec 2007, 12:51
Why do you need an entire carpark. How many people are you bringing:confused:
Funny Just Me and my wife:D
hodge-910111213
14 Dec 2007, 13:19
H2F's mum told me she was going last night...;)
Gary Shadforth
14 Dec 2007, 14:42
My nephew and me.
Pics coming your way Sunday afternoon.
As for now, I'm on my way into town for the Big Night. Hawks BF members rule downtown Melbourne. Please be assured there will be no scandal for The Hun or SEN tomorrow.
HAWKS HEROES
14 Dec 2007, 14:47
can't now something has come up :(
croady_fan24
14 Dec 2007, 18:04
Hopefully i go! Haven't yet met Croady, hopefully Sunday is my day! :)
crawf_legend
14 Dec 2007, 21:32
I might be going! Crawf came over to my place today. I was shocked. Hes a good guy. For those who didnt know, crawf, dicko and browny are family friends. Anyway.. hopefully I will get to see a few of you there!
Fabulous
15 Dec 2007, 08:30
H2F's mum told me she was going last night...;)
What does she look like. I might see if I can crack onto her:D
Thaihawk
15 Dec 2007, 10:13
I have to work, and it's a little too far, but from memory these days are great for patrons and the club. Looking forward to photos when I return from work tomorrow. Have a great day Hawk Fans!
GNCLongJack
15 Dec 2007, 10:22
We'll be there.:cool:
hawks_legends
15 Dec 2007, 21:34
pffft just found out I cant go! f*** no!!:mad:
keefriffhard
16 Dec 2007, 07:47
We'll be there today. I'll be in my Number 15 Hawks jumper the kids gave me for my birthday and Oli will be in his Number 1 long sleever. (There is a photo of me on my preofile if that helps). If you see us, please stop us and say hello. We are taking the footy for a kick with Rusty, so the more the merrier I say.
Mitchell Madness
16 Dec 2007, 07:51
Can never make the pre-xmas family days, however, i am always first in line for the pre-season one! Already have my membership though...
philhawk
16 Dec 2007, 10:03
It's on today! If you can, head along down!
buddylove_23
16 Dec 2007, 10:13
I'll be there soon...
keefriffhard
16 Dec 2007, 14:01
Mission accomplished!!!
I used the excuse that we went so Oli could do the clinic, but really it was just so I could my new #15 jumper signed by Hodgey.... :thumbsu:
Was a great day. All the players were awesome with the kids and they happily gave their time. The kids had a ball. Was great to see Willo and Big Max getting around freely. Man I'm excited already!!
Junior is a gun too. Softly spoken and just a genuine kid. Can't wait to see him running around.
keefriffhard
16 Dec 2007, 14:10
A couple of photos from the morning:
Hard to tell who's who, but this is all the squad up on stage. Sammy called them up onto the stage in jumper number order and presented them to the crowd.
http://www.dotphoto.com/SAN1/F8/6A/A8/iF86AA844-8CBB-4FC9-B26B-A82DCAF84197.jpg
Here a couple of pics from during the clinic with Big Max and Willo.
http://www.dotphoto.com/SAN1/C7/B5/DD/iC7B5DD69-5786-42AB-95B3-7CEC5FC6D083.jpg
http://www.dotphoto.com/SAN1/E8/A2/24/iE8A224B3-15F4-42BE-B578-27C2F488650B.jpg
Mitchell Madness
16 Dec 2007, 14:19
please dotn tell me they have released a buddy franklin montage already? last thing we need is for him to get to big for his boots
Fabulous
16 Dec 2007, 14:21
The weather was better than last year. Noticed lots of new people in attendance including a whole bunch of new volunteers.
Our new name and Hawks logo was everywhere.
The players led by Peter Knights co-ordinating was the highlight.
Also all the housing being built around the fences.
Had a chat with Gary Shadforth. Looking forward to your pics of the kids.
Robber Baron
16 Dec 2007, 14:30
I just come home from the Hawks day and were the best club. I saw all the players and hundreds of people ad familes every where and the construction of the new houses for the players are looking good there gunna have a top view of the ground. I saw Crawf and Dew on stage and Dew was sayng how he was a Hawk suppoerer as a kid and how when Portplayed us he said that Clarko was the best coach and now hes gunna get trained by him. I never saw Jeff so he must of been busy and the new museum is amazing with all them Hawk membnerabilia. They defenetely spent million on it its so new looking. Im just so proud to be a Hawk member with all these family day stuff the club does for us.
Dixie Flatline
16 Dec 2007, 15:21
Yeah, got back an hour ago. Give me an hour or two and I'll put up some photos.
My daughter is stoked. The face-painting, the autographs, the running around on the hallowed Waverley turf. Hopefully she'll have a good sleep this afternoon.
Dixie Flatline
16 Dec 2007, 16:22
please dotn tell me they have released a buddy franklin montage already? last thing we need is for him to get to big for his boots
That was a raffle prize.
Expect to see the club use Lance as a much bigger marketing tool in 2008. It'll be a means of paying him extra to ensure that he isn't tempted by rival clubs' offers.
Dixie Flatline
16 Dec 2007, 16:23
Well, I convinced the wife to give up a lazy Sunday morning to head on down to Waverley to join the thousands of other families (it seemed that many) going off to the Hawthorn family day. Unlike last year (when we didn't go), the weather was nice and mild - Arctic Park failed to live up to expectations really - and the boys were all present and correct (though I didn't see signs of Danny Jacobs and Mitchell Thorp, though I wasn't looking out for them).
Having negotiated the Monash Freeway and the back-streets around Stadium Drive, we finally found a carpark in the residential area as the carpark was completely full. Leading our 2 year old by the hand, we made to the stadium as Sam Mitchell was introducing the players, so I managed to pick up a couple of shots as Alastair Clarkson was saying a few words to the crowd:
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y61/dixieflatlineisthebest/Hawks/20071216_17.jpg
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y61/dixieflatlineisthebest/Hawks/20071216_18.jpg
Dixie Flatline
16 Dec 2007, 16:24
After the introductory speech, the more popular players headed off to the signing marquees, including Lance Franklin, Chance Bateman and Jarryd Roughead (allowing me to ask Jarryd about his knee - see the other thread), while the younger players were tasked with running the footy clinics, including Clinton Young, Benny McGlynn and Mark Williams. Unfortunately I didn't take a photo of Willo, but he looks to be moving quite freely (difficult to tell as the players weren't exerted by any stretch of the imagination).
The boys are getting ready to run the coaching clinic:
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y61/dixieflatlineisthebest/Hawks/20071216_27.jpg
Clinton and Ben looked like young coaches in the making:
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y61/dixieflatlineisthebest/Hawks/20071216_41.jpg
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y61/dixieflatlineisthebest/Hawks/20071216_42.jpg
Over at the other signing marquee, the ruck tandem of Simon Taylor and Robbie Campbell kicked things off, followed by Campbell Brown, Jordan Lewis (hidden) and Tim Boyle:
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y61/dixieflatlineisthebest/Hawks/20071216_44.jpg
My daughter accompanied me while we had her jumper signed by Chance, Jarryd and Lance (amongst others), and Chance was certainly the most polite to her. Lance and Jarryd were sporting almost identical sunnies but were nice enough to the fans congregating around the marquee.
Robbie and Simon were wrapped up in their own little world, chatting together and not really prepared to interact with the fans, while Campbell, Taz and Tim (especially Tim) were prepared to chat with the fans.
Dixie Flatline
16 Dec 2007, 16:30
Just after lunch (sausage sizzle), Brad Sewell and Campbell Brown interviewed Grant Birchall:
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y61/dixieflatlineisthebest/Hawks/20071216_69.jpg
While Grant managed to escape the hordes intact, Campbell and Brad were tempted in to signing more autographs:
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y61/dixieflatlineisthebest/Hawks/20071216_71.jpg
While the younger players and recruits (including Stuart Dew) were tasked with running the clinics for the children out on the Waverley turf, the more popular players were in the marquees, signing away. Here we have Sam Mitchell, Trent Croad, Lance Franklin and Mark Williams doing their duty:
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y61/dixieflatlineisthebest/Hawks/20071216_75.jpg
Dixie Flatline
16 Dec 2007, 16:47
At the other marquee (I was lucky enough to be the last one in), Hodgey was the main drawcard, but he was joined by Clinton Young, Grant Birchall, Ben McGlynn and Stephen Gilham. Stephen was the first off:
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y61/dixieflatlineisthebest/Hawks/20071216_79.jpg
Clinton was good enough to sign my daughter's new cap:
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y61/dixieflatlineisthebest/Hawks/20071216_80.jpg
Can you imagine being on the receiving end of this powerful and intimidating stare?
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y61/dixieflatlineisthebest/Hawks/20071216_81.jpg
Dixie Flatline
16 Dec 2007, 16:49
That's pretty much it, really.
My daughter loved her day at the "park" and she really enjoyed running around throwing her footy about. She also gave Hawka a cuddle and had her photo taken with him.
Sam Mitchell and Shane Crawford were especially popular with the autograph-hunters, along with Lance Franklin, of course. There were prizes and raffles drawn, and the Hawks Nest was doing a good trade. I also remembered to renew my family membership, so we're all set for 2008! :D
Gary Shadforth
16 Dec 2007, 16:59
Excellent production, Dixie. You've done me like a dinner as I have taken numerous shots but yours are so good mine will look pretty ordinary.
Oh, and by the way, in the shot at top of page 4 where you captioned Clint and Benny as ready made coaches, that athletic looking guy in the blue shirt at the far right background is me. Don't I rate as looking like a coach? :D
I have taken some of Willo who was nearby.
All of your brilliant takes are going into my extended Hawks Album of many years. Again, great work, Dixie.
Gary Shadforth
16 Dec 2007, 17:08
Just like to add. The players seem to really relish mixing with and teaching the youngsters.
LuvMyHawks
16 Dec 2007, 18:57
Any idea of the attendance numbers, and were there many signing up as members?? Seems like a good day was had by all..:)
Big Ronnie
16 Dec 2007, 19:11
Excellent production, Dixie. You've done me like a dinner as I have taken numerous shots but yours are so good mine will look pretty ordinary.
Oh, and by the way, in the shot at top of page 4 where you captioned Clint and Benny as ready made coaches, that athletic looking guy in the blue shirt at the far right background is me. Don't I rate as looking like a coach? :D
All of your brilliant takes are going into my extended Hawks Album of many years. Again, great work, Dixie.
Gary, are you stalking Clint? Or just sending him out psitive energy? Either way Mojo not going to be happy if he's not your favourite:D
BR
Gary Shadforth
16 Dec 2007, 19:21
Gary, are you stalking Clint? Or just sending him out psitive energy? Either way Mojo not going to be happy if he's not your favourite:D
BR
Poor Mojo. I'm going to have to toss up betwen the two to ascertain which will be my fave Hawk :).
As for Clint, I have been to training 3 - 4 times this year and today I noticed he is no longer the shy young kid among the playing group but one calling out to the kids with lots of authority in his voice. His new number 11 is making him feel he is well entrenched into the team, I'd say.
noosa hawk mad
16 Dec 2007, 19:23
Great photo,s Dixie Flatline cheers:thumbsu: Looks like a great day had by all.
MikeBios
16 Dec 2007, 19:49
Me and the Gooch
http://miar.com.au/1.jpg
MikeBios
16 Dec 2007, 19:56
The Gooch, Youngy and Willow
http://miar.com.au/2.jpg
MikeBios
16 Dec 2007, 20:00
Me and the Mrs (can just notice the little hawk on the way too) with Hodgey - top bloke
http://miar.com.au/3.jpg
And no I'm not pregnant, my wife is!
Gary Shadforth
16 Dec 2007, 20:06
Great stuff, Bios. Pictures to cherish, mate.
Crikey! This thread should be renamed 'Hawks Illustrated'. A quality thread, that's for sure.
Linda Crescent
16 Dec 2007, 20:09
:) Oh Dixie, go girl! Sometimes the great Southern capitol seems a million miles away and now is one of those times.
Thanks so much for your pics and stories about today. Really enlightening.
I'm glad you and the family had a great time. Linda
Fabulous
16 Dec 2007, 20:37
:) Oh Dixie, go girl! Sometimes the great Southern capitol seems a million miles away and now is one of those times.
Isn't time to think about changing your name to Stadium Circuit or is your name really Linda and you luv it that way.
CharlieMitchell
16 Dec 2007, 20:57
I hope DF doesnt take offence to that "go girl", then again perhaps i misinterpreted the part that made mention of convincing the wife to head on down to the family day.
Great work by everyone who has put up pics too, looks like it was a great day.
Linda Crescent
17 Dec 2007, 08:12
...mmm, I should have thought twice, not assumed Dixie is a Chick.
Apologies for any offense or humiliation caused Mr. Flatline. :)
Dixie Flatline
18 Dec 2007, 15:02
...mmm, I should have thought twice, not assumed Dixie is a Chick.
Apologies for any offense or humiliation caused Mr. Flatline. :)
No worries. None taken.
Definitely a bloke though - at least the last time I looked. ;)
The name is based on a character in William Gibson's Neuromancer. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neuromancer
Dixie Flatline
18 Dec 2007, 15:13
Cheers, Gary.
You should post your photos anyway.
HAWKS HEROES
19 Dec 2007, 14:43
great photo's thanks from someone who did not make it there:(
hawks_legends
19 Dec 2007, 23:12
wow anymore pics?!