View Full Version : Rookie Draft: Tuesday 11 Dec 2007
RustyHawk
10 Dec 2007, 16:13
Stayed tuned right here for all the updates as we tell you who we draft for 2008 season.
5 rookie spots up for selection.
Will the delisted rookie Brett Collins be redrafted?
Will we take any of the players who have been training hard over the last month or so?
Stay tuned.
philhawk
10 Dec 2007, 16:18
Rookie Draft:
Pick 12 (Hawthorn): Josh Thurgood
RustyHawk
10 Dec 2007, 16:21
Rookie Draft:
Oh God no.
He hasnt been training with us so I fully suspect his time has come and gone.
buddyruff
10 Dec 2007, 16:24
Rookie Draft:
Haha u 4 real?
Do u actually follow Hawthorn as closely as you claim? He's already been re-drafted once, he done nothing and showed nothing... y on earth would we waste another pick on him?
:confused::confused::confused:
philhawk
10 Dec 2007, 16:26
Haha u 4 real?
Do u actually follow Hawthorn as closely as you claim? He's already been re-drafted once, he done nothing and showed nothing... y on earth would we waste another pick on him?
:confused::confused::confused:
No, I actually support Essendon.
It's a RUSE! FOOLED YOU ALL!!!
We have these numbers in the draft
No.11
No.27
No.42
No.54
philhawk
10 Dec 2007, 16:35
My tips for those four picks,
Jackson Hall
Ryan Normington
Joel Coombes
Brett Collins
RustyHawk
10 Dec 2007, 16:39
We have these numbers in the draft
No.11
No.27
No.42
No.54
Of course I forgot that Matt Suckling agreed to a 2nd year rookie contract.
4 picks.
wheelie_hawk
10 Dec 2007, 16:45
Jackson Hall
Ryan Normington
Joel Coombes
Brett Collins
any info on the first three, Philhawk? just looking for something to do :)
Big Ronnie
10 Dec 2007, 16:51
Rookie Draft:
Phil, shut the hell up!;)
Roughie
10 Dec 2007, 17:05
Jackson Hall
Ryan Normington
Joel Coombes
Brett Collins
No bastanis?
Wouldnt mind him running around at Hawthorn.
Rudi Gilham
10 Dec 2007, 17:15
1 Jackson Hall
2 Andrew McQualter
3 Brett Collins
4 Lukas Markovic
philhawk
10 Dec 2007, 17:15
No bastanis?
Wouldnt mind him running around at Hawthorn.
Hey, who knows, mate. I have no idea myself - i'm just guessing (and hoping - that Josh gets picked ;)).
Roughie
10 Dec 2007, 17:31
Hey, who knows, mate. I have no idea myself - i'm just guessing (and hoping - that Josh gets picked ;)).
Hahaha and your guess is as good as mine!
We do have some nice kids training with us, like hall and sandilands. I never really rated Mcgualter at Saints, only looked good when he sported his porno mo. I really hope Collo gets picked up though.
ScottyDog
10 Dec 2007, 18:41
With Rioli and Dew on board another small forward in Collins is not on the agenda. Think he will miss out. Shame as saw last years APS final and it was Collins that kicked the big goals that swung the game for Haileybury whilst Rioli was average for Scotch.
TylerDurden
10 Dec 2007, 18:57
Imagine the forum meltdown if we drafted Thurgood again...
philhawk
10 Dec 2007, 19:00
Imagine the forum meltdown if we drafted Thurgood again...
The masochist in me is looking forward to it. :):thumbsu:
Roughie
10 Dec 2007, 20:01
I heard a rumour we may be interested in a certain Darwin player, but I highly doubt it would happen. I guess we will find out tomorrow
Big Ronnie
10 Dec 2007, 20:20
I heard a rumour we may be interested in a certain Darwin player, but I highly doubt it would happen. I guess we will find out tomorrow
Is it you roughie?:D
Roughie
10 Dec 2007, 21:02
Is it you roughie?:D
BAHAHAHAH for Hawthorns sake I would hope they wouldnt even consider aquiring my services.
noosa hawk mad
10 Dec 2007, 21:16
No bastanis?
Wouldnt mind him running around at Hawthorn.Hope we pick up Bastanis as well:thumbsu:
CharlieMitchell
10 Dec 2007, 21:42
I will be most displeased if Markovic isnt back on Hawthorn's list this time tomorrow evening. Would also like to see Batsanis picked up along with Collins. As for the fourth pick....Ive got no clue.
My rookie wish list:
Jackson Hall
Nathan Batsanis
At least one tall - Markovic or maybe Mulligan.
If either Dunn or Sampi get through they'd be worth the risk.
Please - not Josh Thurgood! I loved the kid, he's all heart, but please no. Never played in a winning side, very average disposal and if we have a wet winter he'll float away. (He'd float upside-down too, because his hair would weigh more than his body!) I hope he has success in the suburbs somewhere but I will be very disappointed if the Hawks waste another pick on him, unless they are planning to graft some excess muscle from Stuey Dew's thighs onto Josh!
Shakermaker94
10 Dec 2007, 22:49
i reckon hawks may pick up joel coombes
lickmerocks
11 Dec 2007, 06:57
An 18 year old named Tilley Yaman (not 100% sure of spelling) is a big chance to be rookied by us.
Also if Collard or Dunn are available i would have a crack at one of them.
Both have had issues however this might be the wake up call required.
Robber Baron
11 Dec 2007, 07:06
I dont know who were gunna get but all I know is Pelchins gunna get us some more gun kids for Clako to make into guns. Then Im gunna read in the paper that Gardener bloke say we cheated again. Give up mate and go home.
Time Machine
11 Dec 2007, 07:11
i reckon hawks may pick up joel coombesI agree if he is available will be our first rookie pick. Good mates with Tim Clarke and tough tagging midfielder like many unlucky not to be drafted.
So we picked up Sandilands...what do we know about him?
caddyhawk
11 Dec 2007, 09:39
Pick 11. H Sandilands
Pick 27. T Walsh
Pick 42. A Grima
Pick 54. C Stokes
That's it.. no thurgood.. sorry phil:D
Brown Blood
11 Dec 2007, 09:48
N Grima .. ours is A Grima
just saw that didn't realise there were 2 :o
Dixie Flatline
11 Dec 2007, 10:00
Looks like your mail was spot on, Roughie. "C Stokes" is from Darwin.
lickmerocks
11 Dec 2007, 10:01
Sandilands...another left footer captain of caulfield grammar.
Barry Rowlings was just on radio talking him up.
Dixie Flatline
11 Dec 2007, 10:03
Tim Walsh of the Port Adelaide Magpies apparently a ruckman. Five ruckmen on the primary list and a sixth ruckman on the rookie list. :eek:
Brown Blood
11 Dec 2007, 10:07
Tim Walsh of the Port Adelaide Magpies apparently a ruckman. Five ruckmen on the primary list and a sixth ruckman on the rookie list. :eek:
I would think the idea is to groom some of these into KP backman - or use some for a trade at some time.
I wonder if C Stokes if related to the geelong matty stokes?
btw Roughie, great call
Any relation to Anthony Stokes?
Dixie Flatline
11 Dec 2007, 10:17
I wonder if C Stokes if related to the geelong matty stokes?
btw Roughie, great call
Apparently a brother, or cousin.
B&YBlood
11 Dec 2007, 10:28
[quote=caddyhawk;9649560]Pick 11. H Sandilands
Pick 27. T Walsh
Pick 42. A Grima
Pick 54. C Stokes
Anyone know Height, weight, age or positions of these guys?
Any info would be good
caddyhawk
11 Dec 2007, 10:45
Hugh SANDILANDS - 7 March 1989, 191cm 82kg. Vic Metro/Oakleigh/Caulfield Grammar
"Ant555: Hugh Sandilands-191cm, 82kg-Oakleigh Chargers. Tallish midfielder who plays a bit outside. Can find the footy well. Skills are ok but he doesn’t always use them well. Can have games where he just throws the footy onto the boot. Pace is reasonable but not quick.
Brown Blood
11 Dec 2007, 10:45
[quote=caddyhawk;9649560]Pick 11. H Sandilands
Pick 27. T Walsh
Pick 42. A Grima
Pick 54. C Stokes
Anyone know Height, weight, age or positions of these guys?
Any info would be good
Hugh Sandilands - 07/03/89 - 191cm - 82kg - Tall defender (barry rowlings reckons potential CHB).
Tim Walsh - 03/10/89 - 197cm - 85kg - ruckman /KPP
Alex Grima - 20/9/89 - 185cm - 74kg
Cameron Stokes - 02/07/89 - 174cm - 74kgs - quick mid
Roughie
11 Dec 2007, 10:52
Yeah thats my mate Cameron Stokes. Got the word from a close fried who was in touch with a Territory correspondent scout for Hawthorn saying they were very interested.
Everyone from Darwin actually rated Cameron Stokes ahead of alot of Territory players that were getting heavily looked at. Stokes captained Darwin Buffaloes A-Grade side over the past 2 seasons. He is mostly an inside midfield, hard at it, and has good skills. But he certainly has good enough pace to play an outside role. Also another top bloke. He could play in the guts, or a forward flank sort of role. Starts in the midfield week in and out in A-Grade and has been carving it up for the past 2 seasons. I think he actually won their B & F last season, and this season he would be up there in the votes for the AFLNT Nicholls Medal as it seems he gets most the votes from the ABC2 commentary box.
Pretty good get I think, he will work hard and he already has a bit of muscle on him.
RustyHawk
11 Dec 2007, 11:05
Great call Roughie, well done :thumbsu:
Roughie
11 Dec 2007, 11:53
More info on Stokes
He also won the Northern Territory Institute of Sport Athelete of the year, and the innagural Mark Mckasker Medal awarded to the player deemed the most determined, professional, enthusiastic, courageous and committed in the Northern Territory Thunder side.
He was also went on the trip to South Africa last year with a selected indigenous side to promote the game. He should go alright down in Melbourne as he is good mates with Joe Anderson from Carlton
The brotherhood gets stronger :)
Good times ahead
Roughie
11 Dec 2007, 12:26
Gary Buckenara's rookie draft report from bigpond video
Pretty much said Hugh Sandilands is a tall rebounding defender
Drafted developing ruckman/key position player in Tim Walsh
Alex Grima developing outside midfielder with good skills. Played some VFL football last season as a 17 year old. Very pleased to draft Grima.
And Cameron Stokes very small, very quick, very hard at it player who can be a crumbing forward or midfielder.
Stokes is still a very youngman but probably the best player on the Darwin list (pretty accurate with that call). Says Stoker will be a good combination to have with Cyril Rioli as they both are good friends. He has been dominating the competition for the buffaloes.
Macca19
11 Dec 2007, 12:35
Walshy is a good pick up. Has been around the traps for a while now in terms of rating and hes had two really good years in the juniors at the Magpies.
Was a very very mobile ruckman with insane courage, good pace, great agility and an excellent football brain. I think the idea would be to groom him into a KPP which could be possible. I think he has the mobility and the footy brain to make that transition to being a KPP, its just whether he can add that weight. Hes a skinny red head (may throw back bad dreams to the Scarecrow but I reckon youll like Walshy). Was a major part of a back to back U19 premiership winning team this year, playing 14 games and kicking 13 goals.
Youll like him. Hope he does well.
Roughie
11 Dec 2007, 12:35
Also there are new in action videos of our drafted rookies on bigpond
Roughie
11 Dec 2007, 12:37
Walshy is a good pick up. Has been around the traps for a while now in terms of rating and hes had two really good years in the juniors at the Magpies.
Was a very very mobile ruckman with insane courage, good pace, great agility and an excellent football brain. I think the idea would be to groom him into a KPP which could be possible. I think he has the mobility and the footy brain to make that transition to being a KPP, its just whether he can add that weight. Hes a skinny red head (may throw back bad dreams to the Scarecrow but I reckon youll like Walshy). Was a major part of a back to back U19 premiership winning team this year, playing 14 games and kicking 13 goals.
Youll like him. Hope he does well.
Thanks alot for that info macca
Roughie
11 Dec 2007, 12:44
I just watched the footage of Walsh from Bigpond. He seems too have a good set of hands as all his footage was of him taking contested overhead marks. What I liked most was seeing a mark being spilled, Walsh gathering it at foot level as two oposition players charge at him he rockets a handball over top to spot up a man. There was only one segment showing his footskills but this was only after a mark on the goal line as he gave off a 20 metre kick to a team mate so its hard to comment on his skills.
What I also liked is the marks he did take were mostly in defence showing he can mark under pressure. I wasnt able to view many games for South Australia but from reports he seemed to be a ruck who could drop back in defence. I read that he does struggle to get forward and kick a goal but I am sure he will learn that with time. The drafting of Walsh would have to be for depth reasons see what the boy can do at Box Hill seeing that both Bailey and Renouf should get more games in the seniors in 08.
Roughie
11 Dec 2007, 12:48
Just watched the footage of Sandilands. He takes a good mark for his size taking to pack marks in the footage. He has good skills and pretty good pace. The last scene shows Sandilands bursting off the mark, taking a solid grab in the forward line. He then goes back and slots it with a picture perfect kick over the goal umpires head. Looks likely to be a hbf/ or even hff sort of player.
Roughie
11 Dec 2007, 12:53
Threw on the footage of Grima. First scene shows Grima burst with the football but kicks the ball a bit to over his man who would then slow down and back up to attempt to take the mark. The video continues and shows Grima laying some good tackles, his pace isnt too bad either. Also has some grunt about him, after laying a tackle he gets fired up and seems to push down his opponent maybe him and Browny could be mates?
Also shows footage of Grima working hard on the play, firing off a handball and later recieving it as he pushes down field. Gathers the 2nd handball and storms into the fifty, seems to pop his kick a bit high as he goes for a shot but was expecting to ride the bump in the process. It seems Grima doesnt mind riding a tackle in the need to open up his team mates for space.
The final segment sees a ball in being tapped directly to Grima as he grabs, turns, and chucks on to his boot and sails an incredible goal through the uprights.
Roughie
11 Dec 2007, 12:57
Now finally the footage of Stoker. First clip shows Stokes just rocketting off a hand ball to Jethro Calma Holt but shows a bit of pace he has. The second clip has Cameron winning a contested ball from the ground, head over the footy, gather and handball. It follows on showing a step from Stokes and more hard in and under work. Later on a spilled mark from Rolfe is roved from a dashing Stokes who runs hard and kicks to a leading forward.
Then a beautiful suplex like tackle is shown on a QLD opponent. One more clip of Stokes taking a mark and then kicking. And finally another huge tackle by Stoker on a forward running into the forward line. He catches the man with the ball and unloads a handball to a running Territory player.
Overall good footage from all the boys.
philhawk
11 Dec 2007, 13:28
Hes a skinny red head (may throw back bad dreams to the Scarecrow but I reckon youll like Walshy). Was a major part of a back to back U19 premiership winning team this year, playing 14 games and kicking 13 goals.
Hooray! We have a skinny red head on our list!
The memory of Josh lives on.
philhawk
11 Dec 2007, 13:32
Fantastic call on Stokes, Roughie. Lets hope he's like his brother at Geelong (or is it cousin)?
Roughie
11 Dec 2007, 13:36
Fantastic call on Stokes, Roughie. Lets hope he's like his brother at Geelong (or is it cousin)?
They are cousins mate and I agree hope he ends up a success like matty
Brown Blood
11 Dec 2007, 14:12
I just watched the footage of Walsh from Bigpond. He seems too have a good set of hands as all his footage was of him taking contested overhead marks. What I liked most was seeing a mark being spilled, Walsh gathering it at foot level as two oposition players charge at him he rockets a handball over top to spot up a man. There was only one segment showing his footskills but this was only after a mark on the goal line as he gave off a 20 metre kick to a team mate so its hard to comment on his skills.
What I also liked is the marks he did take were mostly in defence showing he can mark under pressure. I wasnt able to view many games for South Australia but from reports he seemed to be a ruck who could drop back in defence. I read that he does struggle to get forward and kick a goal but I am sure he will learn that with time. The drafting of Walsh would have to be for depth reasons see what the boy can do at Box Hill seeing that both Bailey and Renouf should get more games in the seniors in 08.
Does look very good and reminds me a bit of chris mew (good hands & seems to have time to find the right option) - obviously the club thinks he is a better KPP prospect than mckenna ;).
Best Buddy
11 Dec 2007, 14:17
Sandilands captain of the APS representative team. From memory, grew early so has had a fair while to get used to his height, and thus has good co-ordination and skills.
Hard worker who excelled throughout his junior career, maybe always hoped to play AFL, I'm not really sure.
All the same, glad the Hawks have given him a chance.
noosa hawk mad
11 Dec 2007, 14:19
Hawks go for blend of height and pace
11:32 AM Tue 11 December, 2007 | Back (http://javascript<b></b>:history.go(-1);)
for hawthornfc.com.au
News
Rookie Draft Selection 11: Hugh Sandilands
Height: 190.1cmWeight: 85.9kg
Recruited From: OAKLEIGH CHARGERS
Position: Tall defender
Bio: Left footed defender who has an excellent leap, is strong overhead and has courage. Vic Metro representative this year. From Caulfield Grammar.
Rookie Draft Selection 27: Timothy Walsh
DOB: 3/10/1989
Height: 197.7cmWeight: 91.6kg
Recruited From: PORT ADELAIDE
Position: Ruckman/tall forward
Bio: Ruckman who has also been used as a tall forward to good effect in 2007. Good overhead in a contested and uncontested situation. Reads the play well.
Rookie Draft Selection 42: Alex Grima
DOB: 20/09/1989
Height: 184.6cm
Weight: 77.7kg
Recruited From: TASSIE MARINERS
Position: Medium defender
Bio: Versatile type who can play a run-with role and is good one-on-one. Strong overhead, reads the game well and is a penetrating kick. Played both Tasmanian U18 and VFL football this year. From Northern Bombers FC
Rookie Draft Selection 54: Cameron Stokes
DOB: 02/07/1989
Height: 173cm
Weight: 72kg
Recruited from: DARWIN
Position: Small forward/midfielder
Great call Roughie :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:Good mates with C Rioli aswell :)
RustyHawk
11 Dec 2007, 15:13
There is a bonus for 1 of our rookies (including Suckling) 1 of them can be nominated as the eligible rookie making them available for senior selection at any time without having to wait for someone to be on the long term injury list.
Comes about by having only 1 veteran on the list.
Which one will it be?
I would think the club will wait till after the NAB cup before they make that decision... keep the boys that extra bit hungry.
Tim Walsh: Red head and insane courage! Dont let that mix against Matthew Lloyd's arm guard and he could be ok.
buddylove_23
11 Dec 2007, 15:23
They all sound pretty promiseing to me. Can't wait to see them in action.
Big Ronnie
11 Dec 2007, 19:03
roughie did you pull Stokes out of your clacker?
If yes, nice work:thumbsu::thumbsu:
Roughie
11 Dec 2007, 19:24
roughie did you pull Stokes out of your clacker?
If yes, nice work:thumbsu::thumbsu:
Nah mate I have a good friend who knows a man who works in correspondants with Gary Buckenara when it comes to Territory players. He told me they were showing alot of interest in Stokes and loom likely to take him. I personally didnt think it was likely, but I guess ill believe more information from him.
Roughie
11 Dec 2007, 19:26
There is a bonus for 1 of our rookies (including Suckling) 1 of them can be nominated as the eligible rookie making them available for senior selection at any time without having to wait for someone to be on the long term injury list.
Comes about by having only 1 veteran on the list.
Which one will it be?
I would think the club will wait till after the NAB cup before they make that decision... keep the boys that extra bit hungry.
Tim Walsh: Red head and insane courage! Dont let that mix against Matthew Lloyd's arm guard and he could be ok.
Oh really? I didnt know that Rusty. It does certaintly give the rookies something to aim for over the preseason as they will push to try and impress all the coaches.
Thanks for that mate
Splodge15
11 Dec 2007, 21:24
Happy.
Happy we didn't dip into the pond that had been swam.
Happy we went for a mix.
Happy we got our man (Sandilands).
Happy we have another mid-crumber.
Happy the HFC takes risks.
Happy we have another raw developing ruckman (can never have enough).
cameron stokes and mathew stokes are not related
CharlieMitchell
11 Dec 2007, 21:54
Absolutely reeling at the fact we didnt re-rookie Markovic. That is all.
philhawk
11 Dec 2007, 22:36
How come, Charlie?
Roughie
11 Dec 2007, 22:36
As I am shattered we didnt re-rookie Collins.
CharlieMitchell
12 Dec 2007, 20:54
How come, Charlie?
What an intelligent and handsome question Phil, so glad you asked.
It seemed as though the drafting of Dew signalled that perhaps the coaching panel and recruiters are of the belief that we are relatively close to entering our premiership window, and given that fact, we may be aided by the need for some slightly more mature bodies who have been in the system a few years.
Markovic was on our rookie list in 06 and had it not been for a shocking run of injuries would have been retained this year. Despite this fact, the young man has worked extremely hard to get his body right, and has shown a great deal of commitment to HFC by continuing his footy with Box Hill as opposed to snubbing them after being cut from the list as some other young players may do.
Obviously, it has been identified that KPD is one area where we are still lacking depth and quality, and at 193cm and 90 kg, Markovic would have been an extremely handy addition as well as adding extra depth in that area of the ground.
In my opinion, Markovic would have proved to be a much smarter pick than say an Alex Grima, who at 185 odd cms just adds to the plethora of depth we already have in the midfield/half back.
Enough ranting, i wish all those players picked up in the rookie draft the best of luck, and will hope that HFC are lucky enough to be provided with another oppurtunity to add Markovic in the near future.
HappyHawk
13 Dec 2007, 19:03
Happy.
Happy we didn't dip into the pond that had been swam.
Happy we went for a mix.
Happy we got our man (Sandilands).
Happy we have another mid-crumber.
Happy the HFC takes risks.
Happy we have another raw developing ruckman (can never have enough).
Hey, I'm Happy Hawk around here.
GeneralHolmes
17 Dec 2007, 14:41
Cameron Stokes and Matty Stokes are not related. Cameron Stokes is actually related to Andrew McLeod (his dads cousin) and Gilbert and Adrian McAdam (his dads cousins again).
Niko_52
17 Dec 2007, 14:50
How tall is Sandilands???????
In the 190-191cm range according to reports