View Full Version : ODI- Australia vs New Zealand, Adelaide Oval, Friday 14th December

Southerntakeover
10 Dec 2007, 18:49
Anyone heading into this?

I'll probably be on the hill. Im assuming its a day nighter?

ICanDressMyself
10 Dec 2007, 18:56
Yeah Southerntakeover is taking me so I'll be there :thumbsu:

pinkcrows
10 Dec 2007, 19:00
i'll be drinking at a party wish i could make it...39 nice HOT day to watch the cricket

ams4crows
10 Dec 2007, 19:02
I'll be there with my uni mates we will be in the que around 6am having a few...alot of drinks before we get in!

I'll see you guys there!

RoosterLad
10 Dec 2007, 19:22
If it's a day nighter I bet ams4crows and her girlie friends will be passed out on the hill well before the first ball is bowled ;)

brucetiki
10 Dec 2007, 19:28
I would but I'm working until 5:00pm and have a bbq to go to until 6:30pm, so can't make it (will probably watch bits and pieces of it on my phone).

ICanDressMyself
10 Dec 2007, 19:33
If it's a day nighter I bet ams4crows and her girlie friends will be passed out on the hill well before the first ball is bowled ;)

I know what you're thinking.

Southerntakeover
10 Dec 2007, 19:40
Yeah Southerntakeover is taking me so I'll be there :thumbsu:

You do realize i dont get in free anymore, dont you?

BTW, it is a day nighter... queuing at 6 am might be a bit excessive.

-CG-
10 Dec 2007, 21:13
I'll be there in one of the Chappell stands :thumbsu: Has ayone else noticed its always hot for the cricket in Adelaide?

KingsCrow
10 Dec 2007, 21:24
I'll be there in one of the Chappell stands :thumbsu: Has ayone else noticed its always hot for the cricket in Adelaide?

Cricket-Summer-Hot

RoosterLad
10 Dec 2007, 21:30

I agree and have been leading the charge to play ALL cricket in Adelaide in future.
It rained in Queensland recently for cricket, Melbourne had it for their Shield game, Wollongong is a hole of a town with a shit cricket ground and shit cricket pitch. Infact, it would be marvellous if some WMAs were despatched to that piece of shit establishment after they single-handedly destroyed the Redbacks chance of winning the FRanger Cup.

Southerntakeover
10 Dec 2007, 21:34
I agree and have been leading the charge to play ALL cricket in Adelaide in future.
It rained in Queensland recently for cricket, Melbourne had it for their Shield game, Wollongong is a hole of a town with a shit cricket ground and shit cricket pitch. Infact, it would be marvellous if some WMAs were despatched to that piece of shit establishment after they single-handedly destroyed the Redbacks chance of winning the FRanger Cup.

Your ideas are appealing to me, and i wish to subscribe to your magazine.

Gets!
10 Dec 2007, 21:45
Look for the sexy dude on the hill wearing the new AFC away guernsey.

Gonna get faaaaaaaaaaaaarked up.

KingsCrow
10 Dec 2007, 21:52
Your going to wear a Crows guernsey to a cricket match...

-CG-
10 Dec 2007, 21:57
Cricket-Summer-Hot

lol but really hot. I don't mind though, at least it won't be cold :thumbsu:

jo172
10 Dec 2007, 22:00
I'll be with some mates in the members, keeping away from all you plebian ****s ...

Kidding, I'm just still a little upset from being left out of the "Klique" :(:p

Gets!
10 Dec 2007, 22:07
Your going to wear a Crows guernsey to a cricket match...

Um, have you not ever seen that before....

have you ever been to a cricket match?

Seanason
10 Dec 2007, 23:08
This friday is a bit far ahead for planning isnt it ST?

Southerntakeover
10 Dec 2007, 23:30

Haha, very well played good sir. :D:thumbsu:

Rory
10 Dec 2007, 23:34
It doesnt appear that there has been much advertising for this game, it was only brought to my attention on the weekend so looks like I'll be chuckin' a doosra Friday.

raikkonen
11 Dec 2007, 11:57

Dont mind the hot weather down at the cricket. Brings out the hot chicks, very scantily clad :cool:.

Il be there somewhere, dont get free members passes anymore so have to pay :(. Got the Saturday off work for once, so should be a good night!!! :thumbsu:

Punchy Bassett
11 Dec 2007, 13:44
Got the day off work I'll be in the members stand drinking full strength :)

RoosterLad
11 Dec 2007, 15:52

Speaking of Friday you cheeky bastard, are you going to the United game instead of cricket, and if so are you going to Land of Promise early? I finish work earlier than normal so therefore I'm up for some well early pints. I will also check the RA board but thought I might as well post here too...

ams4crows
11 Dec 2007, 16:17
it tradition to go sit in the que in fornt of the clarrie Grimmet gates from about 7am onwards and drink

Gets!
11 Dec 2007, 16:19
Or just buy a ticket before...;)

raikkonen
11 Dec 2007, 16:21
it tradition to go sit in the que in fornt of the clarrie Grimmet gates from about 7am onwards and drink

Screw that!!! There should be a law about getting up before 9am. The working day shoudltn start until at least 10am. :thumbsu:

KingsCrow
11 Dec 2007, 18:59
Um, have you not ever seen that before....

have you ever been to a cricket match?

I've been, Went to the ashes as well (shock horror)

Have yet to see someone in a footy gurnsey though.

Seanason
11 Dec 2007, 19:09
Speaking of Friday you cheeky bastard, are you going to the United game instead of cricket, and if so are you going to Land of Promise early? I finish work earlier than normal so therefore I'm up for some well early pints. I will also check the RA board but thought I might as well post here too...Ill be going to the united game, and ill be at the LOP just not sure when - check back later in the week.

Blue Red and Gold
11 Dec 2007, 19:27
I have made a very tough decision to go to the soccer instead, the only factor being it is going to be bloody hot and I wont get there until 4 at the earliest and I hate missing the start of anything.

Should be a nice night at the soccer.

RoosterLad
11 Dec 2007, 19:29
Soccer will be ****ing sick mate, we play top team and need a win to be a chance of catching them and keep our spot in the 4. It's toight at the top.

Gets!
11 Dec 2007, 19:35

You are kidding me right?

Few likely lassies I know from work are going to the cricket so that swayed my decision towards the Adelaide Oval.

Southerntakeover
11 Dec 2007, 22:25
Soccer will be ****ing sick mate, we play top team and need a win to be a chance of catching them and keep our spot in the 4. It's toight at the top.

Bah, who cares.

Cricket > Soccer.

fightingdreamer88
12 Dec 2007, 00:07
How many years has it been since Australia wasn't the dominant force in cricket? Wasn't even a contest tonight really...but still I never get bored of us winning in sport.

crowman_23
12 Dec 2007, 00:51
Bah, who cares.

Cricket > Soccer.

Here, here to that. Couldn't imagine going to watch a game of soccer over a game of cricket!

NikkiNoo
12 Dec 2007, 08:00

Don't go on the third day at a test at Headingley then!

They dress up in completely nutty outfits and have a great time all day, occasionally people realise there is a cricket game going on and pay attention for a very short period of time.

Sitting behind me at the game, I had the complete set of the Thunderbirds (all guys). The Lady Penelope was a very well built guy that nearly was breaking out of his pink dress. :D

Fun day that was....

Kane McGoodwin
12 Dec 2007, 12:07
Anyone heading into this?

I'll probably be on the hill. Im assuming its a day nighter?

I have an Xmas party, but will head down for the night session.

Hopefully the Kiwis make a game of it.

ubolt
12 Dec 2007, 13:42
this bulldogs supporter will be there: sitting in the members. i'm working in the morning, finish at midday. will head up there, get there whenever, sit down and watch a game of cricket.

can't wait

temperature is meant to be only 35 with evening showers now. These evening showers will come in at about 9pm, April 2008

raikkonen
13 Dec 2007, 13:59
How many of you Bay 142 crew are going to be there, might head over and chill out with you blokes. Pretty much everyone that I thought was going has bailed on me :mad:. "I gotta do something with the Mrs..." "I got no money" "I gotta work now" "I got catch up with the old man" "It's going to be to hot for me" Effing hell. It is so frustrating!

And on frustrating the woman infront of me buying tickets today...."I want some tickets to the cricket" Girl asks "Which cricket would you like to buy tickets to?" "Oh, there is more than one match on sale is there, dear? Hold on let me check...." [rings and asks someone] "We think its tomorrow..but can you tell us what other games are on? [girl goes through all pura cup/ford ranger/twenty20/tests/ODI's]. WOman finally deicdes it was for tomorrow. "Can I have some seats please?" "Sure, in the Chappel Stands ok for you?" WOman replies "which one is the Chappell Stands?" [girl tells her where they are]. "Are tey shaded?" "Its around Row H, where the shade starts, but as the sun goes down it gets less shady" repleis the girl. "Is there anyway to avoid that?" By now, I was just about having steam come out of my ears. WHat rock did this stupid **** come out from under?!?!?!? IS there anway the girl can avoid the sun coming under the covered area...seriously, come on...:rolleyes::rolleyes::mad:

roostersgal4eva
13 Dec 2007, 14:12
I cant wait - I will bring a walkman to listen to the cricket though!

hopefully there are enough people that want to go to both and we get bonza crowds

roostersgal4eva
13 Dec 2007, 14:13
Bah, who cares.

Cricket > Soccer.
u go to your cricket - we will go to our soccer

its called PERSONAL CHOICE - go look it up in the dictionary mate

ICanDressMyself
13 Dec 2007, 14:32
How many of you Bay 142 crew are going to be there, might head over and chill out with you blokes. Pretty much everyone that I thought was going has bailed on me :mad:. "I gotta do something with the Mrs..." "I got no money" "I gotta work now" "I got catch up with the old man" "It's going to be to hot for me" Effing hell. It is so frustrating!

And on frustrating the woman infront of me buying tickets today...."I want some tickets to the cricket" Girl asks "Which cricket would you like to buy tickets to?" "Oh, there is more than one match on sale is there, dear? Hold on let me check...." [rings and asks someone] "We think its tomorrow..but can you tell us what other games are on? [girl goes through all pura cup/ford ranger/twenty20/tests/ODI's]. WOman finally deicdes it was for tomorrow. "Can I have some seats please?" "Sure, in the Chappel Stands ok for you?" WOman replies "which one is the Chappell Stands?" [girl tells her where they are]. "Are tey shaded?" "Its around Row H, where the shade starts, but as the sun goes down it gets less shady" repleis the girl. "Is there anyway to avoid that?" By now, I was just about having steam come out of my ears. WHat rock did this stupid **** come out from under?!?!?!? IS there anway the girl can avoid the sun coming under the covered area...seriously, come on...:rolleyes::rolleyes::mad:

LOL :D

Women! *shakes head*

Typical though.

Seanason
13 Dec 2007, 14:50

You forgot the roundball game.

raikkonen
13 Dec 2007, 14:57
You forgot the roundball game.

Thats true, someone else said that. SCREW THE soccer!!! Its on every 2nd week! ;) :p

vinnie
13 Dec 2007, 15:16
Bah, who cares.

Cricket > Soccer.

Get with the timers. Cricket's dead. Go vote for Johnny Howard.

Soccer will get more people than any interstate cricket game. Soccer might even get more than an international one-day game. But tghe interstate cricket will get more media coverage. Have a look at how many are in the stands at ANY interstate cricket game. Nobody. Who cares you ask?

We all find 5-day cricket tests intensely boring. Who's got the time?

Southerntakeover
13 Dec 2007, 15:26
u go to your cricket - we will go to our soccer

its called PERSONAL CHOICE - go look it up in the dictionary mate

Its called a thread about a cricket game.

Piss off with your personal choice. I couldnt give a rats ass.

Blue Red and Gold
13 Dec 2007, 15:27
Its called a thread about a cricket game.

Piss off with your personal choice. I couldnt give a rats ass.
stop acting like a tosser

raikkonen
13 Dec 2007, 15:28

Soccer will get more people than any interstate cricket game. Soccer might even get more than an international one-day game. But tghe interstate cricket will get more media coverage. Have a look at how many are in the stands at ANY interstate cricket game. Nobody. Who cares you ask?

Missed the Ashes last year then i assume?

Southerntakeover
13 Dec 2007, 15:29

Get with the timers? Is that when you have sex in the scoreboard?

Dont try to attribute your moronic views to others. Cricket is a huge sport in Australia. Test cricket is far from boring, only morons who cant understand it think that.

Southerntakeover
13 Dec 2007, 15:30
stop acting like a tosser

Never!

jo172
13 Dec 2007, 15:42

It's a well known fact that to be Prime Minister of Australia you have to be into cricket. One of Kevin Rudd's first official appearances as Leader of the opposition was at the New Year's Test ;) And I think you'll find Hawke was the ultimate Cricket Tragic in Chief.

Soccer might even get more than an international one-day game.

Bahahahahahhahahahha, oh god, maybe if it's a World Cup Qualifier, but not for Adelaide Vs. Queensland:D

Apparently alot more people than who have the time for a 90 minute match of soccer:rolleyes:

Don't get me wrong, I have nothing against soccer, the game is in fact growing on me rather quickly, but lets not try and make it sound bigger than it is by claiming it's bigger than international cricket:thumbsd:

vinnie
13 Dec 2007, 15:44
Get with the timers? Is that when you have sex in the scoreboard?

Dont try to attribute your moronic views to others. Cricket is a huge sport in Australia. Test cricket is far from boring, only morons who cant understand it think that.

Plleeaasseee, FFS.

Let the crowds speak for themselves.

How many people turn up to interstate cricket? How come its never mentioned in the news? B/c its nobody. Nobody cares. Not my moronic views. Its a fact, unless you can provide an excuse. Please do. WHy didn't the victorian Pura cup gasme get more than, say 1,000 people? Melbourne Victory's lowest home crowd is 22,000.

QLD Test - Test match 7,000 spectators. QLD Roar down the road 14,000 spectators. More people watched soccer than cricket. HOWZAT! Live with that!

Southerntakeover
13 Dec 2007, 15:54
Plleeaasseee, FFS.

Let the crowds speak for themselves.

How many people turn up to interstate cricket? How come its never mentioned in the news? B/c its nobody. Nobody cares. Not my moronic views. Its a fact, unless you can provide an excuse. Please do. WHy didn't the victorian Pura cup gasme get more than, say 1,000 people? Melbourne Victory's lowest home crowd is 22,000.

QLD Test - Test match 7,000 spectators. QLD Roar down the road 14,000 spectators. More people watched soccer than cricket. HOWZAT! Live with that!

Stupid arguement.

The state league in Australia is a secondary competition, which plays during work days when people literally cant attend. There is a full summer of international action ahead, and people know this. If you want to seriously look at Cricket interest in Australia, you need to look at the interest circling the Australian team.

Comparing one day of the Brisbane test to a soccer game is another moronic comparision. Thats only one fifth of the Brisbane game. Apples and Oranges. Its foolish to suggest that you can compare a three hour game with a five day game.

Australian cricket has pulled great crowds in the last few years. Sell outs for pretty much every day of the test season last year underlines this.

Gets!
13 Dec 2007, 16:00
Raikkonen I will be there, look for the dude with all the girls around him.

Southerntakeover
13 Dec 2007, 16:02

What time you rocking it amigo?

Im heading in early now. Got my tickets today.

raikkonen
13 Dec 2007, 16:09

Any good looking ones? ;)

What time you rocking it amigo?

Im heading in early now. Got my tickets today.

On the Hill I gather lads?

Mr_Smooth

who brought in this clown?

i would be going down, if i got my months pay 1 day earlier :(

Southerntakeover
On the Hill I gather lads?

Hell yeah.

vinnie
13 Dec 2007, 16:10
Stupid arguement.

The state league in Australia is a secondary competition, which plays during work days when people literally cant attend. There is a full summer of international action ahead, and people know this. If you want to seriously look at Cricket interest in Australia, you need to look at the interest circling the Australian team.

Comparing one day of the Brisbane test to a soccer game is another moronic comparision. Thats only one fifth of the Brisbane game. Apples and Oranges. Its foolish to suggest that you can compare a three hour game with a five day game.

Australian cricket has pulled great crowds in the last few years. Sell outs for pretty much every day of the test season last year underlines this.

The reality is, the crowds last year were bolstered by Ashes - a one-off that has failed miserably this year. Can't you accept, nobody cared about all the games this year, until the pijama game the other night. If I was a cricket man I'd be furious! I'm glad you share the arrogance of Cricket Australia. You're right. Soccer poses no threat to cricket crowds. Its a boring game and cricket is the only game for the summer. I hope you continue this philosophy.

Even in Melboune, soccer gets more people that cricket, outside the boxing day test. Soccer got the same crowd as a ODI cricket game last year - and that was the ODI FINAL! HOWZAT!

Cricket always has more arrests than soccer, no immigrants involved at all (ie its anglo saxon and I hope it stays that way) and no chicks. Its a dying breed!

raikkonen
13 Dec 2007, 16:17
The reality is, the crowds last year were bolstered by Ashes - a one-off that has failed miserably this year. Can't you accept, nobody cared about all the games this year, until the pijama game the other night. If I was a cricket man I'd be furious! I'm glad you share the arrogance of Cricket Australia. You're right. Soccer poses no threat to cricket crowds. Its a boring game and cricket is the only game for the summer. I hope you continue this philosophy.

Even in Melboune, soccer gets more people that cricket, outside the boxing day test. Soccer got the same crowd as a ODI cricket game last year - and that was the ODI FINAL! HOWZAT!

Cricket always has more arrests than soccer, no immigrants involved at all (ie its anglo saxon and I hope it stays that way) and no chicks. Its a dying breed!

I didnt realise this was a cricket v soccer thread?

And you are right, soccer is a boring game (at times). I have a vague interest in it, but not enough to go to it over the cricket. And no chicks at the soccer - thats half the fun at the cricket! Whistling at babes walking by the Hill! And no immigrants involved in cricket or soccer are you saying?

How many times did soccer pull the same crowd as crcket last year? Once? Did the Victory pull 80,000 to theier corresponding soccer game around the 12th January last season? That game went off (the cricket).

Lets just say people have different interests and leave it at that. Appreciate both games for what they are.

Gets!
13 Dec 2007, 16:31
Yeah definetely on the hill mate.

Yeah should be a couple of decent ones with me mate, thats how I roll.

I'll have the new crows guernsey on and will be with ST so should be easy to spot!

Wanna meet in town ST at like 12?

raikkonen
13 Dec 2007, 16:37
Good work. All Bay 142er's should wear crows guernseys. Although that with the Aussie flag draped, and green/gold sombrero, not the best look! ;)

Gets!
13 Dec 2007, 16:58
Yeah wear your guernsey raikonnen!!!

Couple other mates of mine are wearing one too.

Mr_Smooth
13 Dec 2007, 17:01

gay??

raikkonen
13 Dec 2007, 17:35
Yeah wear your guernsey raikonnen!!!

Couple other mates of mine are wearing one too.

Might keep the red clash one in the closet, and just go the Home guernsey then. :thumbsu: Or a training singlet. :thumbsu:

Gets!
13 Dec 2007, 17:41
yeah wear the home guernsey, gonna be a hell AFC entourage there, be able to see us on the telly easy as.

raikkonen
13 Dec 2007, 17:44
yeah wear the home guernsey, gonna be a hell AFC entourage there, be able to see us on the telly easy as.

Thats the aim. :thumbsu:

Southerntakeover
13 Dec 2007, 19:33

Itd help if you had your facts straight. The test this year at the GABBA set a record for non Australia vs England match attendance. This is despite everyone knowing there would be no contest. Its incorrect to suggest that Cricket crowds are dwindling, yet id expect no better from you.

None of your other points merit a response.

Southerntakeover
13 Dec 2007, 19:35
Wanna meet in town ST at like 12?

Yeah sure.

Msg me with the details...

hey shorty
13 Dec 2007, 20:54
Spewing the soccer is on tomorrow night otherwise id be there in a flash. People have been b!tching at one and other about whats better and why rah rah rah, people have their own personal preferences and we shouldnt argue about that. Test Cricket is "boring" for some people just because 1 team is dominating so much. IMO we should enjoy it while it lasts because it may not be around forever. I still enjoy watching it but I can see why some people mightnt.

Now enough about that, I really want to see Taity bowl, even moreso now the kiwi's have all but labelled him a chucker, so the only chance ive got to see that is for us to bowl first so its on TV. You'd have to think its a ploy to get more people in the gates and to take something away from their pathetic performances of late, still Sir Shaun may bowl with some extra heat tomorrow. We should win the game and hope all those going along have a great day :thumbsu:

Gets!
13 Dec 2007, 22:23
It's on like Diddy Kong.

fightingdreamer88
14 Dec 2007, 09:59
It's on like Diddy Kong.

Dixie.

winky14
14 Dec 2007, 12:16
Dixie.

Funky

Gets!
15 Dec 2007, 15:48
what a day

ams4crows
15 Dec 2007, 15:49
well My mates and I went I caught a flicker of you Kitch but well I could hardly walk straigt and you were well too far away to get your attention anyways It was great day! My friends saw 5 overs before being chucked out and we're still not sure why the cops just said "young lady your day is over' and took her out so that was weird.

The hill went off! but We left when is sarted to rain thinking it would keep raining i'm pissed cos I found out today they came back on!

oh well I don't think I could have handled anymore alcohol any way!

Gets!
15 Dec 2007, 16:02
Your friend would have got kicked out cos she was paro, happened to my mate as well.

Still don't know where he is.

Yeah heaps of people started on me cos of the Crows top...was fun as.

raikkonen
15 Dec 2007, 16:46
Your friend would have got kicked out cos she was paro, happened to my mate as well.

Still don't know where he is.

Yeah heaps of people started on me cos of the Crows top...was fun as.

Bloody good time yesterday.....stirring all them Port dropkicks. :thumbsu:

I think Kenny Mac was an icon on the Hill yesterday, seemed like he had a chieved colt status by about the tea break. :D And introducing me as 'NVB...aka sexy dude' - Il take that eveyrday of the week. How did your night 'end up' btw? :cool:

And I told you yesterday the story of some dude wanting to start on me for spilling a cup of beer all over him, yes? What a loser :rolleyes:

ams4crows
15 Dec 2007, 16:53
Yeah maybe it was that all though we were all pretty maggoted so why only her? hmmm

Anyway it was awesome Love tait getting Vertori!! (questionable action my ass!) Gilly 50 was non stop excitng action and well I only saw ponting get to 50 but some class strokes there!

Gets!
15 Dec 2007, 19:04
Raik's mate...i secured ;)

It was in the bag dude.

Stoked. :P

Drummond
15 Dec 2007, 19:36
well My mates and I went I caught a flicker of you Kitch but well I could hardly walk straigt and you were well too far away to get your attention anyways It was great day! My friends saw 5 overs before being chucked out and we're still not sure why the cops just said "young lady your day is over' and took her out so that was weird.

The hill went off! but We left when is sarted to rain thinking it would keep raining i'm pissed cos I found out today they came back on!

oh well I don't think I could have handled anymore alcohol any way!
5 overs? As in 5 overs the entire day? What a waste of $!

You found out the result today? I wasn't going anywhere, was always hopeful the rain would stop. Glad I did because there's nothing better than seeing Ponting make a ton. :thumbsu:

raikkonen
15 Dec 2007, 19:45
Raik's mate...i secured ;)

It was in the bag dude.

Stoked. :P

And to think you ever doubted yourself. ;)

It was in the bag. All day. :thumbsu:

Gets!
16 Dec 2007, 01:19
Thanks for the support :P

Seriously had about 20 people have a go at me for the crows top, was funny as.

Ken still has my clash strip.

Thanks again for looking after my bags.

Australia day. It's on.

raikkonen
16 Dec 2007, 09:40
Australia day. It's on.

**** yes.:thumbsu:

Gets!
19 Dec 2007, 23:53
http://img265.imageshack.us/img265/5449/sexyduderb1.jpg

raikkonen
20 Dec 2007, 13:00