View Full Version : #2 - Sean Rusling

Marklar_33
10th December 2007, 20:59
http://i117.photobucket.com/albums/o43/brent_463/rusling.gif?t=1196948983

Welcome to the thread dedicated to the speed demon of the Magpie forward line... the only player in the league who can lead from the MCG and mark in the pocket at Telstra Dome... Our Number #2

THE RUS!!!!!!!!

Marklar_33
11th December 2007, 17:39
Fast Facts
Jumper No: 2
Height: 190cm
Weight: 90kg
DOB: 6 October 1986
Recruited From: West Adelaide (SA)
Career Matches: 16
Career Goals: 19

Marklar_33
11th December 2007, 17:41
Draft history
2004 AFL Draft 2nd round selection (Collingwood) No. 23 overall.

Debut
Round 10, 2005 v Hawthorn @ MCG

Rusling has managed 11 games in his first two seasons of league football, including five in 2006, but has shown enough to suggest he has what it takes to become a regular senior player for Collingwood for years to come. Has played mainly as a key forward, as he is strong and explosive, with good hands and he is a reliable kick for goal, but might be given an opportunity up the ground with more experience. Rusling has already endured his share of injuries, but when he was fit towards the end of 2006 he played some excellent football including a three-goal outing in the thrilling victory over Port Adelaide at AAMI Stadium. One player Magpie supporters have high hopes for.

Marklar_33
11th December 2007, 17:43
2007 Home & Away Statistics

Round Date Vs K H P M HO T FF FA G B
Round 20 17/08/2007 Demons 9 2 11 7 0 4 1 0 1 2
Round 21 25/08/2007 Swans 11 3 14 9 0 1 1 0 4 3

2007 Finals Statistics

Round Date Vs K H P M HO T FF FA G B
Finals Week 1 08/09/2007 Swans 9 4 13 8 0 0 0 0 3 2
Finals Week 2 14/09/2007 Eagles 2 3 5 2 0 5 0 2 0 0
Finals Week 3 21/09/2007 Cats 4 1 5 4 0 2 0 2 2 0

Marklar_33
11th December 2007, 18:10
Fully fit Rusling raring to go
Wed 14 November, 2007

Nick Hulett

Following an extremely impressive finish to season 2007, Sean Rusling is excited to be back in training and 100 per cent fit after so many injury frustrations during his short career.

The 21-year-old gave Magpie fans a glimpse of his prodigious talent in five senior appearances, including the three finals, at the end of 2007, but having never been fully fit at the beginning of a pre-season, he is excited to be back and 100 per cent fit after eight weeks off.

“It’s good to be back,” Rusling told CTV after training at the Lexus Centre on Wednesday.

“Every other pre-season I’ve gone into I’ve had a few niggles or things I’ve needed to look after.

“But I’m 100 per cent fit now, so it’s pretty exciting to be able to get out there and train 100 per cent of the time with the boys, instead of missing the odd session here and there, I can actually go for it.”

After enduring a difficult 2007 which was taken up mostly by rehabilitation from a pre-season shoulder reconstruction, Rusling said he was feeling great and didn’t want the season to end when it did, although he still managed to enjoy his off-season break immensely.

“When we finished it felt like it was round seven for me, so I was definitely ready to keep going.

“But at the same time it’s nice to get a break. I hadn’t been playing, it had been a pretty long rehab for the reconstruction in late January, so it’s been a long rehab, so I definitely wanted to keep playing, but that’s the way it goes, but (I have) a bit of momentum going into this pre-season."

He clocked up plenty of frequent flier points in the off-season.

“First of all I went up to North Queensland for about three weeks, a bit of a boat around the Whitsundays and up to Airlie Beach, so that was all very stressful for me," he said laughing.

“Then I went back to Adelaide for a couple of weeks, then back here for the racing carnival. It was good, I had a lucky one too, so it was good fun.

Now the focus is fully back on having a big pre-season, capitalising on being injury free, and adding plenty more games to his three-year career tally of 16.

“I think the main thing I’ve got to do (during the pre-season) is get my endurance up. Because I’ve had patchy pre-seasons and patchy seasons in the past, I’ve never really had the chance to get myself fully fit, so that’s my main goal for this pre-season.

“In terms of playing, I want to play 22 games in the seniors. I don’t want to miss any games through injuries or anything like that. Yeah, that’s the aim this year.”

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Im with ya Rus, I dont wanna see ya miss any games either... but I wanna see ya play 25 games ;)

MagpieGirl_13
20th December 2007, 16:17
A quote from Strauchanie's book 'Bryan Strauchan: My story' about Rusling.

"2. Sean Rusling - Great body odour. Strauchanie often deliberately walks past him just to get a wiff. I think he is starting to get a bit suss about Strauchanie"

:D

Snag Breac
21st December 2007, 15:07
A quote from Strauchanie's book 'Bryan Strauchan: My story' about Rusling.

"2. Sean Rusling - Great body odour. Strauchanie often deliberately walks past him just to get a wiff. I think he is starting to get a bit suss about Strauchanie"

:D

If any of these young lads survive Strauchnie's book, it'll be a miracle.:p

peterss
12th January 2008, 16:34
how many games will rusling play this season in your opininion?

I like the look of him alot

Optimax
12th January 2008, 16:46

25-26 hopefully depending on whetehr we are top four or not

Snag Breac
12th January 2008, 17:20
If they were selected on looks, he'd be playing every game.:cool: As it is, I hope he'll playing every game anyway.

http://i18.tinypic.com/89l817s.jpg

loki04
13th January 2008, 11:46
hey are lining up for sprints in that pic snag ?
Rusling is gonna have a blinder this year after his strong finish last year he should have plenty of confidence.

Marklar_33
18th February 2008, 10:37

He has just done a groin (?) injury and is expected to be back on the training track before the end of the pre-season practise matches.

Will keep you posted

Marklar_33
10th March 2008, 21:17
Rusling ready, raring and able

Sean Rusling is using the training camp in South Africa to put the finishing touches on his first full pre-season since being drafted at the end of

The 21-year-old, who has endured an injury-ravaged three-season career but confirmed his considerable ability with an excellent finish to the 2007 season, is one of the most athletically gifted players on the Collingwood list and virtually unstoppable when leading out of the forward line.

He spoke to CTV at the Elgro River Lodge, about half an hour out of Potchefstroom, where the boys spent a couple of nights earlier this week completing activities like a ropes course and kayaking, and said it’s a unique but special feeling being fully fit at this time of the year.

“The last couple of years I’ve been injured at this time of year, so it’s nice to be fully fit and feeling really good, and I can’t wait for the footy season to start,” Rusling exclaimed.

“Being injury free… it’s helped me a lot this pre-season. The past three (pre-seasons) I’ve pretty much been in and out, but I’ve done everything this time.”

Last Friday the team played an intra-club scratch match in Potchefstroom, and all in attendance were impressed with Rusling’s efforts playing deep in the forward line. The team will play another intra-club match in Potchefstroom this Saturday before heading to Dubai to take on Adelaide in the first game of the pre-season cup competition a week later.

“It’s good to get the first game away, everyone’s a little bit nervous, but it was a bit of fun.

“Training is training and I guess you get a little bit sick of it after a while, so it was good to get a game going, and we play again this Saturday, and it just feels good to be back playing footy again.”

Rusling explained the activities at the lodge were good for the boys as it brought everyone together and forced everyone to put their leadership qualities on display.

“It was more a mental challenge, than a physical challenge, and in the end you have to get the whole group through, without anybody touching the ground, and you have to plan that, there are a few things there that take a bit of thought.

“But I go through in the end, a lot of team work involved.”

Marklar_33
10th March 2008, 21:20
The above story is dated 2nd March, but seems to have been written well before that... with the Dubai reference and South Africa training still on!

cwebb(go_fish#14)
15th March 2008, 16:18
So will he be fit for rnd1??

Optimax
15th March 2008, 16:21
So will he be fit for rnd1??
yes kicked 6 todau or the vfl side:thumbsu: should of had 8 or 9 apparntly and set a couple up

i think he just assured hs spot

cwebb(go_fish#14)
15th March 2008, 16:24
yes kicked 6 todau or the vfl side:thumbsu: should of had 8 or 9 apparntly and set a couple up

thanks, will slot nicely into my DT foward line ;)

Optimax
15th March 2008, 16:31
thanks, will slot nicely into my DT foward line ;)

i thought thats what the question was about, he will be good play most games ba injury and is cheap

smiddaz123
16th March 2008, 00:21

He missed a banana kick from a few metres out. Should have kicked that one.

Missed a set shot he should've kicked.

Was in a position to shoot for one goal, but passed it off the Jurrah who goaled.

If things had gone his way an 8 goal haul would've been very realistic.

Skade
16th March 2008, 09:05
Yep, kicked 6 goals in a VFL prac match in Tassie Saturday

Optimax
16th March 2008, 09:16
He missed a banana kick from a few metres out. Should have kicked that one.

Missed a set shot he should've kicked.

Was in a position to shoot for one goal, but passed it off the Jurrah who goaled.

If things had gone his way an 8 goal haul would've been very realistic.
awesome all very good news, the rus is back:D

waveofthefuture
19th March 2008, 13:33
I can't get onto the collingwood website, however on fanfooty it says he's not playing round 1.
Anyone know for sure?

Marklar_33
22nd March 2008, 19:47
I was not able to watch the game, and it was probably for the best

After gaining 4 possessions, Rusling copped a big hit on the shoulder, and it looks likely that it will need reconstructing

Sad news... feel very flat... will keep you posted

:(

Hinesight
22nd March 2008, 19:48
Dislocation at this stage until scans

mightypies9
23rd March 2008, 00:14
i heard from hotrods bulletin board it popped out and back in, maybe 4 weeks..better then nothing feel so sorry for the bloke so unlucky, i felt like crying seenig him in tears on the bench after it happened, best of luck rus!

Pie Legend
23rd March 2008, 21:32
Such horror luck for this young kid, looked the goods while he was out there and at the end of last season

Only bad story of the Freo game.

Hawks 08
23rd March 2008, 22:31
Such horror luck for this young kid, looked the goods while he was out there and at the end of last season

Only bad story of the Freo game.

This isn't a troll but he showed nothing yesterday.

Marklar_33
25th March 2008, 20:05
Surgery will be needed to repair the shoulder, but the club wont know until tomorrow at the earliest how long it will keep him out for

http://news.theage.com.au/magpies-await-ruslings-injury-news/20080325-21h3.html

Snag Breac
25th March 2008, 20:48

The above may not be a troll, although that's debatable, but it certainly isn't appropriate on a Buddy thread; particularly given the current circumstances with Sean's injury.

The above post should be removed.

Marklar_33
26th March 2008, 21:35
The worst early birthday present I've ever had :(

The Collingwood Football Club wishes to confirm that young forward Sean
Rusling was told by his surgeon on Wednesday that his injured left shoulder
requires reconstructive surgery.

The surgery is a result of an incident that took place during the second
quarter of last Saturday’s round one clash between Collingwood and
Fremantle at the MCG.

“The surgeon confirmed on Wednesday that Sean requires a shoulder
reconstruction,” Collingwood chief of football Geoff Walsh said.

“How and when that happens will be decided over the next few days. It’s
really disappointing for Sean given he’s been through this before.”

21-year-old Rusling, who has played 17 games for Collingwood since being
drafted from West Adelaide with the 23rd overall pick in the 2004 AFL Draft,
underwent reconstructive surgery on the same shoulder just prior to the
start of the 2007 season.

He made it back into the Collingwood side for the round 20 clash against
Melbourne last year, before booting four goals and taking nine marks in
an exceptional display against Sydney at the MCG in round 21. He backed
that up with an equally impressive three-goal performance against the
Swans in the elimination final two weeks later.

Rusling has endured a terrible run with injury since playing his first AFL
game in round 10 of the 2005 season against Hawthorn. He suffered a
broken collarbone late in his debut season when he played five games,
and then a pre-season shoulder injury, which required arthroscopic
surgery, curtailed his progress in 2006 before he produced some promising
performances late in that season.

favourites
27th March 2008, 00:22

Buddy has had his off days as well.. get a copy of the sydney games from the end of last year, seriously if he keeps himself on the park he will be a star.

Snag Breac
27th March 2008, 09:47
I read in today's Herald that Wayne Carey had 3 shoulder reconstructions before he was "20-21". This is only Sean's second, so it shouldn't debar him from returning. Also heard on the radio that there are very few players of his type in the game, and that C'wood will doing everything to get him up and firing again.

Maybe we could all e-mail the club to send him our support and best wishes?

thegrach
27th March 2008, 09:52
I read in today's Herald that Wayne Carey had 3 shoulder reconstructions before he was "20-21". This is only Sean's second, so it shouldn't debar him from returning. Also heard on the radio that there are very few players of his type in the game, and that C'wood will doing everything to get him up and firing again.

Maybe we could all e-mail the club to send him our support and best wishes?
Carey also couldn't raise his arms above shoulder height after he turned 25, so it doesn't bode well.

Bad luck for the guy, looked very impressive at the end of last year. Hope he can get back to full fitness.

Snag Breac
27th March 2008, 10:04
Carey also couldn't raise his arms above shoulder height after he turned 25, so it doesn't bode well.

Bad luck for the guy, looked very impressive at the end of last year. Hope he can get back to full fitness.

But that was long ago........recovery is quicker these days. Just so long as Sean doesn't model his off-field behaviour on Carey's;:eek: but he's too bright for that.

Marklar_33
15th May 2008, 19:23
Sideline sentences don't deter Rusling

INJURED Collingwood forward Sean Rusling might have gained an appreciation for coaching in the past four years, but it's not something the unlucky young gun aspires to do on a full-time basis.

The 21-year-old, who's season has been ruined by injury for the fourth year running, has spent considerable time shadowing the club's coaching staff as he nurses the shoulder that has so far stalled his once promising career.

This year, Rusling will not play after having his left shoulder rebuilt for the third time. Like he's done for the past three seasons, he'll again take on a behind-the-scenes role that he believes has greatly broadened his knowledge of the sport.

"I've learned a lot more about the tactical side of the game, because I've sat in the coach's box a lot and listened into their side of things while I've been injured," he said.

"I've learned how important the little things are in games, and I try to get involved with the game day stuff, but I try to distance myself a little bit from some of the week-to-week things, purely because when you're not playing, it becomes almost boring.

"You've got to figure out ways to make things easier for yourself."

Rusling said he still has passion for the game, despite having fought his body every season since being drafted by the club in 2004. However, it's not a passion that will extend beyond his days as a player.

"I definitely wouldn't be a coach. That's the last thing I'd do. It's too hard," he laughed.

"I reckon once I finish playing football that will be it for me."

His future intentions might not include a role as a mentor, but Rusling has still learned how to cast a critical eye over his teammates' performances.

"We're a bit up and down, and below our own expectations this year," he said.

"I think in the last game against Hawthorn, we might have found out where we're at a bit. Even though we didn't play very well, everyone was quite shocked to lose by 60 points.

"We're regrouping, and the club is making every effort to make sure we get things back on track."

The Pies have lost three of their past four matches, which is something Rusling has found particularly difficult to sit back and witness.

"When we're losing, it's very hard to stand and watch because you want to get out there and help them," he said.

"It's harder to watch them lose than win. When they win, you're just happy for them, but when they lose, you want to get out there and do something."

The young forward will now be in a sling for the next four weeks, after having the season-ending operation a fortnight ago.

While clearly frustrated with the fact his fourth consecutive year will be decimated by another upper body problem, Rusling remains realistic "there are worse things that could happen" and can sympathise with another season-long casualty in St Kilda's Matt Maguire.

"I suppose it's better than being on crutches," he said. "But it's all the same because it stops you playing footy.

"I know [Maguire's] pain and frustration that goes with it. That's the main thing; you're initially disappointed and then you become frustrated with what you've got to deal with for the rest of the year.

"It's so hard. But it does let you see it's just a game, and it's the game you love, but it gives you a chance to see and do things outside of footy.

"So there can be positives to come from it. I've got a few things going on outside of footy, so I'm keeping occupied with that.

"It's hard watching the boys play every week because I want to be out there with them as well, but it's alright now.

"I'm in a pretty good place about it all. There's a lot worse things that could happen."

Marklar_33
15th May 2008, 19:28
Rusling’s race isn’t run yet

THEORETICALLY, young forward Sean Rusling could have played 73 games of senior football by now.

Drafted in 2004, the promising goal-kicker should have surpassed his 50-game milestone and be honing in on his 100th career game as a key aspect of the Magpies' attacking structure.

But sadly, a left shoulder that looks like a "road map" and 17 senior appearances are all the 21-year-old has to show for the past four years, after a horrific run with upper body injuries.

First, Rusling cracked the left side of his collarbone in 2005 and was restricted to just six senior games. Then, he popped his shoulder – on the same side – in 2006, and underwent a full reconstruction that hampered his output to just five Magpie matches.

When 2007 rolled around, he entered the pre-season with all the optimism in the world before the shoulder came out again during the summer months, which relegated his season to "all but over" status before it had begun.

He returned in round 20 and put together five games before the Pies' season ended in the preliminary final loss to Geelong. With some encouraging performances behind him and his shoulder feeling the "best it had since I was 15", Rusling faced 2008 with a renewed sense of confidence.

But once again, it all came crashing down in round one when he bounced off the MCG's turf in the Magpies' opening round win over Fremantle and felt the shoulder snap.

"This injury is unrelated to the other ones, which makes it all the more frustrating," Rusling told collingwoodfc.com.au.

"I fractured the actual socket this time, and in the past, it's been more cartilage damage. I did that as well this time, but I did it a different way.

"I knew straight away, as soon as I hit the ground. I was sitting on the bench at the ground, and I just knew.

"That's football. And now you won't see me this year."

Shattered over the prospect of another year lost, the 21-year-old delayed his impended reconstruction in favour of a trip to Canada and the United States, where he went about "relaxing" and getting his head around another season-ending operation.

"I asked the club for some time to do it, and I've got some friends over there so it was good to get away," he said.

"I couldn't do a lot of things while I was there because of my shoulder but I went around and saw the sights, and spent some time at Whistler even though I couldn't go skiing.

"Mentally, it was one of the main things for me, to get out of Australia and get away from football for a few weeks. It helped me a lot."

Two weeks ago, Rusling had the shoulder rebuilt for the third time – his fourth operation on that side of his upper torso in as many years.

"I'm averaging one a year at the moment," he said, with a wry laugh.

"It feels pretty good. I've been through the surgery before, so I sort of know what to expect now.

"But it feels OK. The wound has healed up and it feels comfortable, and it's not sore anymore. So far, so good."

Like it would to anyone, the frustration of not being able to prove himself at times takes its toll. He admitted he's considered giving the game away, but finds himself "missing it too much" every time he distances himself.

"There's nothing I can really do about it. I know I did all my rehab to the best of my ability, and the club did everything it could for me as well," he said.

"So, it wasn't playing with a dodgy shoulder that did it, or anything like that. It felt really good. It just took a hit, and that was that.

"Everyone asks you the same question, about if I'm going to play again, and when I went overseas I started to miss the game a great deal.

"It has entered my head a few times, but I'm pretty sure it's not going to happen."

If there are any positives to come from Rusling's story so far, it's that persistent injury has taught him "it's just a game". He's become keenly interested in the horse-racing industry, and has begun to assemble a small stable while travelling the country to learn more about bloodlines and breeding.

"It seems to be a thing, footballers and horseracing," he said.

"I've been going up to the sales in Sydney and Queensland, and I'm going up to the Gold Coast for a week in a couple of weeks time for a horse sale up there.

"That keeps me occupied. I've been interested in it for a long time, and one of the good things to come out of the injury is it's given me time to do a few things outside footy."

collingwoodfc.com.au

didaka
16th May 2008, 12:06
Saw Ruz the other day at the park clinic in east melbourne obviously there about his shoulder. Looking big and strong still and seemed in very good spirits.

Asgardian
26th August 2008, 11:16
If any of you know Rusling, you should let him know that his health care professionals freely discuss his medical condition with other patients

Too true.

Reilly has been unlucky though as his injuries have all been impact injuries, such as broken hand, anlke etc rather than reoccuring shoulder problems and what my physio (done work on Rusling) described as one of the worst shoulders he's seen.

He should take that physio to court & sue the bastard

Marklar_33
28th August 2008, 19:45
I know that Im the "Sean Rusling guy" on this board, but I heard the other day that he may have re-injured the shoulder, from a massively unreliable source... please tell me it isnt so

Godfrey Jones
28th August 2008, 20:20
WHAT!!!?

please no..