Pages : [1] 2

Merv
11 Dec 2007, 08:45
Pre Season Draft Selections

1: J.Williams - Morningside QLD

Ht:187 cm Wt: 82.5kg
Junior position – Wing
AFL position – Wing/utility
Williams was the big surprise invite to draft camp from Queensland. He missed the Champs this year with a dislocated shoulder but had a blinder for the under 21s in June. He plays on the wing and is a fast developing player who has obviously caught the eye of scouts with a number of high quality games in the AFLQ. He is very new to the game only seriously taking up the game this year after playing soccer, athletics and cricket at school. He started the year in the reserves but has come on in leaps and bounds. He was fourth in the AFLQ Rising Star this year. Is the brother of Tom Williams.
Strengths: Good agility and endurance. Comes from good sporting stock.
Weaknesses: Skills can be poor under pressure.
Question marks: Will clubs be tempted by another project player? Will he be able to hone his skills to AFL standard.
Draft Prediction: Rookie/undrafted

2: T.Bellchambers

He is a big bodied ruck that will be able to provide a contest and will likely be playing before most of the more lightly built rucks prospects have developed. An AFL preseason is likely to do him the world of good and he could end up being a steal at the end of the first round or early second.

For me he was clearly the best ruck in Division 2 this year being too strong for his opposition. He was unlucky that the Div 1 rucks were so strong this year otherwise he might have been a strong chance for AA. His game body shape, size and game is similar to that of Clark Keating except that he is more of a tap ruck rather than a crash and bash sort in the ruck. There is a fair bit of the crash and bash though around the ground where he doesn’t mind throwing his ample frame around. His 1%ers are very good for a big man and he will work to lay a tackle and shepherd when needed. In the ruck he is one of the more skilled tap rucks going around this year and he gets first hands to the ball more often than not. It is worth noting that he beat Matthew Clarke in his VFL debut against the Scorpions this year.

It is probably unlikely that he will ever be a high possession ruck but he will get a few and his disposal is pretty good. Around the ground he is a lumbering sort (ie not quick) that looks ungainly but still manages to cover a fair bit of ground. Word is that his conditioning levels are poor and for me that is encouraging. I was impressed with him when he was half fit and so if he lifts his endurance he has an excellent chance of being a top shelf ruckman. I would be interested to see what he measured in at at camp as when I have seen him in person I came away thinking that might be shorter than advertised. That being said I still is legitimate ruck size at AFL level. For me he is a late first early second round pick. I couldn’t see Richmond, Bulldogs, West Coast and Melbourne all passing from him at the top of the second round.

Rookie Selctions

1: R.Magin - Zillmere QLD

Ht:181 cm Wt: 70 kg
Junior position – HFF / On-ball
AFL position – HFF
Big things were expected from Magin this year after he was considered by many to be unlucky to miss selection in last year’s draft. This year though he has failed to recapture the form that brought him to attention last year and if I recall correctly got him a camp invite. He will be at State screening this year. He has played some good games for Zillmere in the AFLQ but has not had the consistency or the domination that was expected from him. Magin has the package of skills and athleticism that teams like and given the chance and if his attitude is right he could be a fine AFL player. He is good around goals and finishes well.
Strengths: Good skills and athleticism.
Weaknesses: Attitude
Question marks: Will teams remember last year? Are his off-field issues a thing of the past?

2: J.Atkinson - Bendigo

The Donners
11 Dec 2007, 09:13
Pre Season Draft Selections

1: J.Williams

2: T.Bellchambers

Rookie Selctions

1:

2:

Who is J. Williams and where does he play (on the ground)?

Merv
11 Dec 2007, 09:14
Bugger, the Eagles got McGinnity.

Who is Williams ?

DapperDon
11 Dec 2007, 09:14
could someone give me a run down on Williams?

boms
11 Dec 2007, 09:15
Small/Medium Midfielder

BIO
Quick and well-balanced player who is strong overhead. Impressive for Queensland U21s versus Victoria this year. Shoulder injury curtailed promising year after finishing his schooling at Brisbane Grammar.

Also about 188cm and 82kg. Was unlucky not to get picked up in the Nat Draft. Very happy with the selection

DapperDon
11 Dec 2007, 09:17
Small/Medium Midfielder

BIO
Quick and well-balanced player who is strong overhead. Impressive for Queensland U21s versus Victoria this year. Shoulder injury curtailed promising year after finishing his schooling at Brisbane Grammar.

Also about 188cm and 82kg. Was unlucky not to get picked up in the Nat Draft. Very happy with the selection

cheers boms,

so we took a Mid and a Ruckman, i'm happy with that.

bombersno1
Damn it, no Collard. But hope the boys do well and like the National Draft both Willams and Bellchambers have my full support!

Philzsay
John Williams plays midfield/wing..

I think he is one of those athletics type project player...

High Ryder
11 Dec 2007, 09:19
One to watch: John Williams – Morningside, Qld, 188.4 cm, 82.5 kg, DOB 8/10/88

Kevin Sheehan, AFL National Talent Manager says…
“John is one a little bit from left field in that he hadn’t played through the traditional pathway which can often happen with the Queensland boys. He was at Brisbane Grammar and concentrating on his schooling until about 12 months ago when he stepped out and decided he wanted to pursue AFL. He made the Queensland under-21 side this year and it was in a game against the Victorian amateurs that he really showed his ability and his potential.

“He’s a lovely size at 188 cm, he’s got a good speed and endurance combination – a bit like Tim Notting – he’s got that gait about him that allows him to swerve through traffic. He’s a nice long kick, can take a mark, but he was injured shortly after playing in that game.

“He came to Draft Camp, but because he was recovering from shoulder surgery we didn’t see a lot out of him. But he’s one to watch because in the limited time we’ve seen him, he shown some ability.”

Gus2Gumby
11 Dec 2007, 09:20
John Williams – Morningside
Ht:187 cm Wt: ?? kg
Junior position – Wing
AFL position – Wing/utility
Williams was the big surprise invite to draft camp from Queensland. He missed the Champs this year with a dislocated shoulder but had a blinder for the under 21s in June. He plays on the wing and is a fast developing player who has obviously caught the eye of scouts with a number of high quality games in the AFLQ. He is very new to the game only seriously taking up the game this year after playing soccer, athletics and cricket at school. He started the year in the reserves but has come on in leaps and bounds. He was fourth in the AFLQ Rising Star this year. Is the brother of Tom Williams.
Strengths: Good agility and endurance. Comes from good sporting stock.
Weaknesses: Skills can be poor under pressure.
Question marks: Will clubs be tempted by another project player? Will he be able to hone his skills to AFL standard.

**Footydraft.com

Smokin
11 Dec 2007, 09:23
I assume he has been training with us??

Doug Tassell
11 Dec 2007, 09:27
Never assume!:)

Mighty_bombers
11 Dec 2007, 09:33
Pick 5 - R.Magin who's he ??

Longy413
11 Dec 2007, 09:33
Brother of Tom (WB).

High Ryder
11 Dec 2007, 09:34
R Magin and J Attkinson as our rookies.

Gus2Gumby
11 Dec 2007, 09:34
Rhys Magin – Zillmere/Queensland
Ht:181 cm Wt: 70 kg
Junior position – HFF / On-ball
AFL position – HFF
Big things were expected from Magin this year after he was considered by many to be unlucky to miss selection in last year’s draft. This year though he has failed to recapture the form that brought him to attention last year and if I recall correctly got him a camp invite. He will be at State screening this year. He has played some good games for Zillmere in the AFLQ but has not had the consistency or the domination that was expected from him. Magin has the package of skills and athleticism that teams like and given the chance and if his attitude is right he could be a fine AFL player. He is good around goals and finishes well.
Strengths: Good skills and athleticism.
Weaknesses: Attitude
Question marks: Will teams remember last year? Are his off-field issues a thing of the past?

**Footydraft.com

Mighty_bombers
11 Dec 2007, 09:38
R Magin and J Attkinson as our rookies.

J.Attkinson he any good ? heard his name a few times in some VFL games

Darealrath
11 Dec 2007, 09:48
Glad we only used a PSD pick to get a decent ruck prospect.

Philzsay
11 Dec 2007, 09:51
J.Attkinson he any good ? heard his name a few times in some VFL games

I suppose we should wait for Ant555 to get the lowdown on him....

Or any one else been to enough Bendigo games to comment on him?

Longy413
11 Dec 2007, 09:51
Or any one else been to enough Bendigo games to comment on him?

Poor mans NLM with a touch of Harry O'Brien about him.

High Ryder
11 Dec 2007, 09:53
Poor mans NLM with a touch of Harry O'Brien about him.
Sounds about right. A wasted pick in my opinion.

King Richard
11 Dec 2007, 09:53
ARROWSMITH TO WEST COAST......BIG BOMBER GAFF:rolleyes:

Philzsay
11 Dec 2007, 09:57

Does anyone know how many senior games he played for Bendigo?

I thought he was only really a top up player for them...

BABYBOMBERS2007
11 Dec 2007, 09:57
Cartledge to Richmond??? LOL

B-Bomber
11 Dec 2007, 10:00
Dodoro just said on SEN re: Arrowsmith that essendon highly rated him but we have enough of his type already (outside midfielder) so they wanted some "different types" or something to that effect.

boms
11 Dec 2007, 10:01
Wasted Pick? FFS mate its the rookie draft. You give guys chances, He might make it you never know

King Richard
11 Dec 2007, 10:02
Dodoro just said on SEN re: Arrowsmith that essendon highly rated him but we have enough of his type already (outside midfielder) so they wanted some "different types" or something to that effect.

I hope he remembers that statement in acouple of years:p

Longy413
11 Dec 2007, 10:02
Wasted Pick? FFS mate its the rookie draft. You give guys chances, He might make it you never know

I think the pick could have been used better.

dapto
11 Dec 2007, 10:06
Dodoro said they were "rewarding" him for his efforts at Bendigo this year

TheDon35
11 Dec 2007, 10:08

Yea, I would have thought there would have been better options although I think Atkinsons got a bit to offer. Glad it's just a rookie selection.

whirl
11 Dec 2007, 10:08

That was obvious from your first post.

TheDon35
11 Dec 2007, 10:10
Dodoro said they were "rewarding" him for his efforts at Bendigo this year

If he's said that then that totally flys in the face of his stated recruiting policy where he'd select the best players available. I don't think the idea of rewarding people for their efforts in Bendigo is the smartest recruiting policy.

Longy413
11 Dec 2007, 10:12
That was obvious from your first post.

Unlike others, I won't write off a kid just because it wasn't my preferred choice.

I hope he makes it, although I think he has a long way to go in making it, even if it's simply because we have a number of blokes that can play that position.

Including our first three picks in the ND.

As well as NLM, Nash, McPhee etc.

Dunn went after him, I would have preferred to take a punt on him but Atkinson obviously has some good qualities. His work ethic is fantastic.

I just don't see him as a potential AFL player.

efcboy
11 Dec 2007, 10:16
atkinson is an aboriginal player similar in type to lovett-murray. tallish defender with pace to burn. played some very good games for bendigo looking a class above vfl level at times and doesn't mind going for a hard ball. his decision making is questionable at times (like lovett-murray!) but with further improvement he can make a decent hbf or bp at afl level.

Darealrath
11 Dec 2007, 10:17
If he's said that then that totally flys in the face of his stated recruiting policy where he'd select the best players available. I don't think the idea of rewarding people for their efforts in Bendigo is the smartest recruiting policy.

Seems very PR.

whirl
11 Dec 2007, 10:20
Unlike others, I won't write off a kid just because it wasn't my preferred choice.

I hope he makes it, although I think he has a long way to go in making it, even if it's simply because we have a number of blokes that can play that position.

Including our first three picks in the ND.

As well as NLM, Nash, McPhee etc.

Dunn went after him, I would have preferred to take a punt on him but Atkinson obviously has some good qualities. His work ethic is fantastic.

I just don't see him as a potential AFL player.

Noted, but I wasn't really criticising your position. I'm not sure why I even bothered posting it, it was a nothing comment. I just your saw post and thought "you kind of already said that".

I agree that he'd have to do a lot of work given the role he plays and how far back in the queue he'd be. I guess I'm the other way in that I just kind of like him, and have done since I first saw him play. He just seemed to move very well and have a lovely kicking action, however he never did quite put it all together that I saw... it was all hints.

Wouldn't Dunn be facing many of the same issues as Atkinson?

whirl
11 Dec 2007, 10:21

That's making the assumption that there wasn't a happy coincidence in them believing him to also be the best available player, and it also makes the assumption that what he said to the media was the basis of their decision making. Ultimately however they're always likely to be rewarding players for their efforts at a lower level when drafting them.

TheDon35
11 Dec 2007, 10:27
That's making the assumption that there wasn't a happy coincidence in them believing him to also be the best available player, and it also makes the assumption that what he said to the media was the basis of their decision making. Ultimately however they're always likely to be rewarding players for their efforts at a lower level when drafting them.

And I would say they are both pretty good assumptions.

I think Atkinson is a pretty good player. Just don't believe that by coincidence he happened to be the best player to available. Not to worry. Good luck to the kid.

Bachar_Houli
11 Dec 2007, 10:33
http://cache.viewimages.com/xc/74198087.jpg?v=1&c=ViewImages&k=2&d=17A4AD9FDB9CF1932204034FA11B84B80A11446DE64E4E2E284831B75F 48EF45

Thats Jarrod Atkinson - the one to the right.

whirl
11 Dec 2007, 10:34
And I would say they are both pretty good assumptions.

I think Atkinson is a pretty good player. Just don't believe that by coincidence he happened to be the best player to available. Not to worry. Good luck to the kid.

Really, you think the clubs always talk to the media about draftees with complete honesty? As for the first assumption, well coincidence is probably the wrong word, but how would you define "best" anyway? There's any number of parameters to be judged to come up with the best draftee.

Additionally you haven't really explained why rewarding someone for their efforts at Bendigo and in the words of Dodoro "rewarding him for his good pace, skills and courage" is not a decent basis for recruiting.

bombersrbest05
11 Dec 2007, 10:43
Im glad we got bellchambers as a 2nd round pick, still pretty suprised that sampi didnt get picked up such a waste of talent

Longy413
11 Dec 2007, 11:06
Wouldn't Dunn be facing many of the same issues as Atkinson?

Yes, but I think he's a better talent.

Merv
11 Dec 2007, 11:21
(http://www.essendonfc.com.au/images/07/preseasonDraft07.jpg)http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news_imagesize.asp?imagefile=/images/07/preseasonDraft07.jpg (http://www.essendonfc.com.au/images/07/preseasonDraft07.jpg)
Adrian Dodoro (List Manager) and Merv Keane (Senior Recruiting Coordinator) asses the club's options in the 2007 pre-season draft
Bombers finalise playing list

Tuesday, 11 December 2007
Essendon today put the finishing touches on its exciting young list, recruiting John Williams and Tom Bellchambers to the senior team in this morning’s AFL pre-season draft.

List Manager, Adrian Dodoro, was excited about the new additions and believes they will add to the depth of the Bombers’ list.

“We are very happy,” Dodoro said.

“Getting two preseason draft picks is unusual for this club, but we are going down the path of selecting the best young talent available and we will continue to do that.

“We have done exactly that today and to add another two young players to our senior list is very exciting for the club."

Williams, taken with Essendon’s first selection (pick five), is an 188cm, 19-year-old, recruited from Morningside who is renowned for his impressive athleticism.

“Williams is very good above the head, he kicks the ball a long way and is very good with the timings of the game,” Dodoro said.

“He is someone that really impressed us and a few clubs rated him pretty highly in the National Draft.

“A few clubs went off him a bit because of a shoulder complaint he was having, but we feel he is a long-term prospect and therefore we will give him the time to develop.”

The Bombers snared 201cm Tasmanian ruckman, Bellchambers, with their second selection (pick eight).

“Bellchambers has been highly rated over the last couple of years,” Dodoro said.

“Everyone knows he has got ability and we were pretty keen to get another ruckman on our list.

“We thought he was the best credentialed young ruckman available so we nabbed him.”

Essendon also added Rhys Magin and Jarrod Atkinson to the rookie list.

http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=5507

The Dustbin
11 Dec 2007, 11:31
Congratulations and good luck to the 4 that were chosen today. :thumbsu:

Williams sounds like he has loads of abilty and having played the game for only 12 months, can only improve. Untapped potential.

Bellchambers looks to be a natural ruckman, whilst not overly athletic does cover the ground reasonably well. I look forward to watching his development.

Magin seems to have all the skills just needs to develop some consistency. His attitude will no doubt improve under Hickey. Hope he has a decent crack at it with Bendigo.

Atkinson probably got rewarded for his season at Bendigo. Then again Tim O'Keefe got rewarded after 1 good game. So I'm a little bit concerned about this selection. Hope he proves me wrong.

Can't believe we didn't draft anyone from WA!!! :D

Margim
11 Dec 2007, 11:50
Im glad we got bellchambers as a 2nd round pick, still pretty suprised that sampi didnt get picked up such a waste of talent

Absolutely agreed.

The Dustbin
11 Dec 2007, 12:12

True. Only has himself to blame.

Merv
11 Dec 2007, 12:23
Well at least all the drafting is over and done with now.

We have our list finalised and now it's just about waiting out the booooring cricket season then back into it.

Very happy with our ND and don't really know about our PSD or rookies but i do know we have a lot of young talent on our list now and if a descent percentage of them make it, we will be in very good shape.

The Donners
11 Dec 2007, 12:33
Glad we only used a PSD pick to get a decent ruck prospect.

A quick question, what difference did it make if we used our last pick for Bellchambers? I know the way it was setup this year it was awkward... fair to say the AFL should scrap the PSD?

TheDon35
11 Dec 2007, 12:34
Well at least all the drafting is over and done with now.

We have our list finalised and now it's just about waiting out the booooring cricket season then back into it.

Very happy with our ND and don't really know about our PSD or rookies but i do know we have a lot of young talent on our list now and if a descent percentage of them make it, we will be in very good shape.

Agreed.... apart from cricket season being boring.

The Donners
11 Dec 2007, 12:36
True. Only has himself to blame.

Funny how clubs were really (with the exception of Welsh) only after unproven players, Sampi is a proven player... may not have had a great 2 years but obviously there are issue off-field, you would think a club would've thought he was worth the chance of rehabilitation!

Merv
11 Dec 2007, 12:40
Funny how clubs were really (with the exception of Welsh) only after unproven players, Sampi is a proven player... may not have had a great 2 years but obviously there are issue off-field, you would think a club would've thought he was worth the chance of rehabilitation!

I think now though that clubs put to much time, resources and management into a player, that if he still has issues, they probably always will have.

years ago, they were not given as much development so it was probably more likely you would have a chance to turn around a player, now it is highly unlikely.

ant555
11 Dec 2007, 14:41
Well i did predict we would have a serious look at Atkinson a while ago :D
He is an interseting player. He has to continue improving to make it at AFL level but you have to remember he went from Bendigo seconds to being one of the most consistant players in the seniors in one season.
I remember saying to JM (from BB) when i first saw him playing seconds that if he got fit enough he would be a handy player for Bendigo. He reads the game well and at his best his skills are good (he can have a few lazy kicks which is more a lack of concentration than technical skill error).
He was well worth the punt IMO.

ant555
11 Dec 2007, 14:43

In the days when we had more players on the lists clubs picked up these guys. Now days it is too easy to get burnt trying to reform them so the go for the kids and try and fast track their development.

Darealrath
11 Dec 2007, 14:53
A quick question, what difference did it make if we used our last pick for Bellchambers? I know the way it was setup this year it was awkward... fair to say the AFL should scrap the PSD?

It didn't make any difference (unless I've misunderstood you). I just meant it was good we got a ruck prospect in the PSD instead of using our first or second round picks in the national draft.

PSD has its place.

Pumper Rubberfunk
11 Dec 2007, 14:55
good too see a fresh bunch of juvinles in the stable, let's hope one of Dodoro lottery tickets pays off for the dons. At least this year we can contest the most improve player stakes as opposed to previous years of older horses carry the club through the winter months. Although I just revisted scott lucas v west coast last quarter could it get any better!!!

TheDon35
11 Dec 2007, 15:04
Is there any footage of either Bellchambers or Williams?

Merv
11 Dec 2007, 15:07

Hopefully Bomber.tv will release some soonish

ant555
11 Dec 2007, 15:28
Merv you closed the other discussion too early , i wanted to respond to a certain poster starting with " h "about his comments on the Dogs not being in the market for a ruckman. They took two :D

the dogs already have skipper, minson, street and hudson. do they really need another ruckman???

if the dogs ruck stocks were so bad they would have drafted a ruckman in the national draft rather than taking the punt on a developing ruckman in the rookie draft

sorry couldnt help myself :D

AJ_2000
11 Dec 2007, 15:32

Taking these players in the PSD or the RD gives you a chance to invite them to the club to train and have a closer look at them.

This way if you are unsure who you want to use a late pick on you can make a more informed choice rather then roll the dice.

Jimmy Gwilt
11 Dec 2007, 15:35
watched him a few times last year and hes a very good player - anyone else rate him or seen him play?

Jono B
11 Dec 2007, 15:38
I only saw a small amount of him on TV. But he looks to be a smooth mover who is a good size for a midfielder/flanker. I didn't see him dominate anything at the level which is a concern given his age.

boms
11 Dec 2007, 15:42
NAB AFL Pre-season Draft No. 5 selection
Name: John Williams
DOB: 8/10/1988
Height: 188.2cm
Weight: 82.5kg
Recruited From: MORNINGSIDE
Position: Small/medium midfielder
Bio: Quick and well balanced player who is strong overhead. Impressive for Queensland U21s against Victoria this year. Shoulder injury curtailed promising year after finishing his schooling at Brisbane Grammar.

NAB AFL Pre-season Draft No. 8 selection
Name: Thomas Bellchambers
DOB: 9/07/1989
Height: 200.7cm
Weight: 99.6kg
Recruited From: TASSIE MARINERS
Position: Ruckman
Bio: Excellent record with Tasmania U18 team, averaging 31 hit-outs in nine games. Had senior experience with the Devils in the VFL and continued to improve his marking around the ground. From Launceston FC.

NAB AFL Rookie Draft round-one selection
Name: Rhys Magin
Recruited From: ZILLMERE
DOB: 4/03/1989
Height: 180.4cmWeight: 73.2kg
Position: Medium midfielder
Bio: Highly skilled medium midfielder who is a high possession winner. Clean hands and works well in close. Queensland U18 representative at the NAB AFL U18 Championships.

NAB AFL Rookie Draft round-two selection
Name: Jarrod Atkinson
Recruited From: BENDIGO
DOB: 21/02/1985
Height: -Weight: 88kg
Position: Defender
Bio: Small medium defender who impressed in 2007 with the Bendigo Bombers. Originally from Rumbalara Football Club.

The_Young_Gun
11 Dec 2007, 16:35
NAB AFL Pre-season Draft No. 8 selection
Name: Thomas Bellchambers
DOB: 9/07/1989
Height: 200.7cm
Weight: 99.6kg
Recruited From: TASSIE MARINERS
Position: Ruckman
Bio: Excellent record with Tasmania U18 team, averaging 31 hit-outs in nine games. Had senior experience with the Devils in the VFL and continued to improve his marking around the ground. From Launceston FC.

------------------------------------------------------------

Tom Bellchambers doesn't sound too bad, he's already got the height and weight to be a good ruckman unlike other ruckman who have been drafted, some others are around(199cm) and (92kg), I hope he gets some good gametime next year.

loopy_cam
11 Dec 2007, 16:41
averaging 31 hit-outs in nine games.

Sounds good.

loopy_cam
11 Dec 2007, 17:05

Found this link on afl.com http://bigpondvideo.com/afl/42406

Bachar_Houli
11 Dec 2007, 17:28
bellchambers:

mms://wm9.streaming.telstra.com/wh_afl1/OnDemand/Preseason08/thomasbellchambers.wmv

very good at tapping.

The Dustbin
11 Dec 2007, 17:57
Not much of a highlight package......
Looked ok. I'll wait for the bombertv vision to come out before i get to excited. :thumbsu:

lets_fly_up
11 Dec 2007, 18:09
how old is he ?

bomberbilly
11 Dec 2007, 18:50
he stood out in a bendigo game that was on telly. I look forward to his progress.

Sanj
11 Dec 2007, 19:04
Name: Rhys Magin, Position: Medium midfielder...

hmmm Kevin Sheehan described him as a medium defender. Does anyone know what position he really plays at?

whirl
11 Dec 2007, 19:19
He's a medium forward.

Merv
11 Dec 2007, 19:39
He's a medium forward.

hahahaha

wangas70
11 Dec 2007, 20:34
I think you guys will be very happy with our boy Koala Bear. Never missed a Training session at Rumba last year while at Bendigo and helped fast track a couple more players coming through at the Club. Rumba are excited to have our second player behind Chris Egan drafted today.

Good Luck, Bear.

Longy413
11 Dec 2007, 20:38

Unless they bring in free agency, they can't.

Oggy's cousin
11 Dec 2007, 22:28
I hope he remembers that statement in acouple of years:p

ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh FFS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Let's not forget, there are 15 other clubs who also overlooked Arrowsmith for the National Draft. He trained at Essendon probably because of location. Every club had at least 4 chances to pick him up and didn't. Get over it, just a media beat up with this kid because he won the medal on Grand Final Day which is probably the only time they watched junior footy all year.

In Dodoro I trust.

GoDons
11 Dec 2007, 23:10

hmmm Kevin Sheehan described him as a medium defender. Does anyone know what position he really plays at?

He's a bit like Callan Ward in a way.

He can float around on the flank or he can even slot in as a ruck rover. In addition, he can take a grab which can leave him in a bit of a lead up role.

I liked Magin last year, and was disappointed that he slipped into the wilderness a bit this year.

I'm glad to see we gave a guy with some potential a chance.

morgs01
12 Dec 2007, 00:22
I think you guys will be very happy with our boy Koala Bear. Never missed a Training session at Rumba last year while at Bendigo and helped fast track a couple more players coming through at the Club. Rumba are excited to have our second player behind Chris Egan drafted today.

Good Luck, Bear.

Yer, Well done Bear, And if he gets a game with the Essendon boys he would have deserved it, know doubt about it.

ArnelDavis
12 Dec 2007, 06:04
I only saw a small amount of him on TV. But he looks to be a smooth mover who is a good size for a midfielder/flanker. I didn't see him dominate anything at the level which is a concern given his age.

He'll be right he's a confidence kid, and given that he'll have a stronger bod he'll go OK. The kid can play and is potentially a match winner. Won't go down as the worst punt anyway.:thumbsu:

ant555
12 Dec 2007, 06:59

Whyso you can go off your brain again about drafting midfielders.
He was drafted to play midfield. End of story.

The Donners
12 Dec 2007, 08:39
It didn't make any difference (unless I've misunderstood you). I just meant it was good we got a ruck prospect in the PSD instead of using our first or second round picks in the national draft.

PSD has its place.

Sorry, I wasn't suggesting what you said originally had no merit. It was more a general query, I personally think the PSD is a waste of time.

King Richard
12 Dec 2007, 09:10
ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh FFS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Let's not forget, there are 15 other clubs who also overlooked Arrowsmith for the National Draft. He trained at Essendon probably because of location. Every club had at least 4 chances to pick him up and didn't. Get over it, just a media beat up with this kid because he won the medal on Grand Final Day which is probably the only time they watched junior footy all year.

In Dodoro I trust.

Yes Oggy all valid points......but I'll be still here when the kid makes good at WEST COAST...........and I'll remind u that Dodoro/Keane stuffed up:p

Arrowsmith has already caught the eye of the Brisbane Lions and Hawthorn.
"It's been a good experience to talk to different clubs and to hear how each club goes about the draft," Arrowsmith said. "They talk about your season and where you'd fit into their club and what you need to work at."
AFL national talent manager Kevin Sheehan said: "Ashley makes great decisions in big games, which is what good players do."

Merv
12 Dec 2007, 09:42
Yes Oggy all valid points......but I'll be still here when the kid makes good at WEST COAST...........and I'll remind u that Dodoro/Keane stuffed up:p

"It's been a good experience to talk to different clubs and to hear how each club goes about the draft," Arrowsmith said. "They talk about your season and where you'd fit into their club and what you need to work at."
AFL national talent manager Kevin Sheehan said: "Ashley makes great decisions in big games, which is what good players do."

Yet not one of them drafted him, even as a rookie.

ant555
12 Dec 2007, 09:54

Look if clubs where really serious about him he would not have been left until well into the rookie draft. I was impressed with how he trained when he was with us. His preperation is excellent.His finals series was very good. His kicking is good and he can kick goals when he goes forawrd but the fact remains he has played all his best footy when he has been allowed to run free up and down the wing with no pressure. He is very outside and for a kid his size he was disapointingly soft at the contest on more than one occasion this year in the TAC Cup. He has had a number of games where he has been prone to turnovers under pressure and he has been expossed numerous times by anyone with a bit off pace.
While you are reminding people that Dodoro and Keane stuffed up dont forget to add that 15 clubs passed on him at least 4 times in the ND and once (some clubs twice) in the rookie draft as well as 7 clubs passing on him in the PSD.
It is not like we went way out on a limb by not selecting him.

foj1
12 Dec 2007, 09:57
I have watched Ashley about 15 times this year. He has some flaws which he will need to work on. I fear for him a little in that he was found out for speed playing against WA and he is off to the WAFL next year BUT it will also give him the opportunity to correct his weaknesses.
To be honest Phil Smith, Jeremy Laidler and Peter Robertson were all higher on my list from Calder than Arrowsmith.

foj1
12 Dec 2007, 10:00
I hope every player drafted to essendon makes it but I think it was an ordinary decision to rookie the kid. There are 20 players in front of him who would have been better choices. Injuries aside is Jarrod really a better prospect than Ryley Dunn?

ant555
12 Dec 2007, 14:28
I hope every player drafted to essendon makes it but I think it was an ordinary decision to rookie the kid. There are 20 players in front of him who would have been better choices. Injuries aside is Jarrod really a better prospect than Ryley Dunn?

I like to seriously know the 20 choice's who where better than him at the stage we took him. I threw his name up ages ago as someone to look at as a rookie becasue i thought he was better than a lot of the kids playing TAC Cup.
He has to continue improving to make it at AFL level , there is no question about that but he has come a long way in 12 months. From country footy to VFL ressies to VFL seniors and one of our better senior players at that. As his fitness improved his footy just kept getting better. His skills are good , he has reasonable pace and likes to run with the footy and he has shown glimpes every now and then of having a little x factor.
I think you answered your own question on Dunn , the injuries couldn't be put aside. They where considered too much of a risk. In Atkinson you have someone who has really leaped forward over the last 12 months v Dunn who has struggled to overcome injury and recapture his junior form.

King Richard
12 Dec 2007, 14:32
I have watched Ashley about 15 times this year. He has some flaws which he will need to work on. I fear for him a little in that he was found out for speed playing against WA and he is off to the WAFL next year BUT it will also give him the opportunity to correct his weaknesses.
To be honest Phil Smith, Jeremy Laidler and Peter Robertson were all higher on my list from Calder than Arrowsmith.

Yes I understand what you are all saying...I just know what the kid went through being stuffed around by the drafting system.......I'll be very happy when he proves all the doubters wrong:thumbsu:

I don't think Peter Robinson got picked up:confused: he was a gun for the Cannons in '07 i thought he would get a run somewhere!

Longy413
12 Dec 2007, 14:38
Yes I understand what you are all saying...I just know what the kid went through being stuffed around by the drafting system.......

He didn't get stuffed around, he was just deemed not good enough.

Not everyone agrees with the opinion his father has of him.

I'll be very happy when he proves all the doubters wrong:thumbsu:

The only doubters that count are AFL clubs.
There are 16 of them that doubted him.

Good luck to the kid, but his isn't a hard luck story.
He actually got an opportunity.

Big Blow Hard
12 Dec 2007, 15:24
I dearly hope he is better than Chris Egan!

Crissy_v
12 Dec 2007, 16:57
Congratulations and good luck to the 4 that were chosen today. :thumbsu:

Williams sounds like he has loads of abilty and having played the game for only 12 months, can only improve. Untapped potential.

Bellchambers looks to be a natural ruckman, whilst not overly athletic does cover the ground reasonably well. I look forward to watching his development.

Magin seems to have all the skills just needs to develop some consistency. His attitude will no doubt improve under Hickey. Hope he has a decent crack at it with Bendigo.

Atkinson probably got rewarded for his season at Bendigo. Then again Tim O'Keefe got rewarded after 1 good game. So I'm a little bit concerned about this selection. Hope he proves me wrong.

Can't believe we didn't draft anyone from WA!!! :D

trust me he will definantly improve his attitude, after playing with him for the better part of 3 seasons not so long ago I know he certainly has the skills and tank to keep going and knows how to get his teamates involved. And as he's a big essendon supporter I doubt he will do much less than 100%.

Catdog
12 Dec 2007, 17:36

Played mainly on the wing with Zillmere.

I think you guys have got a gem here great skills and decision making very
clean on both sides of the body. Needs to bulk up which he will glad the
bombers are giving him a go:thumbsu:. Trained with essendon last week so must
have done enough to impress.

Longy413
12 Dec 2007, 18:41
I don't know about 20, but it doesn't have to be 20.
It only has to be one.

Dunn, Trotter, Mourish, Arrowsmith, Valenti.

I would have even preferred we took Cloke in the PSD and taken a punt on Bellchambers or Williams being in the Rookie Draft.

Don't put the injuries aside and I still think Dunn is a better prospect.

Ian Callinan could have been taken with that pick as a mature aged rookie.

The Dustbin
12 Dec 2007, 19:47
trust me he will definantly improve his attitude, after playing with him for the better part of 3 seasons not so long ago I know he certainly has the skills and tank to keep going and knows how to get his teamates involved. And as he's a big essendon supporter I doubt he will do much less than 100%.

Cool

Thanks for the heads up and I hope your right.

whirl
13 Dec 2007, 07:19
Mourish? Would you have seen enough of him to make that call? And why Cloke, Longy?

Longy413
13 Dec 2007, 08:14
Mourish? Would you have seen enough of him to make that call? And why Cloke, Longy?

I don't/didn't want Cloke or Mourish.

But I think they are both more likely to make an impact at AFL level than Atkinson.

That being said, I hope we try and turn Atkinson into a stopping option rather than a half back attacking option.

I think we have enough running half backs, I'd like to see us try and turn Atkinson into the type of player Campbell Brown has become.

That Solly used to be for us. He has the size for that.

foj1
13 Dec 2007, 09:22
I like to seriously know the 20 choice's who where better than him at the stage we took him. I threw his name up ages ago as someone to look at as a rookie becasue i thought he was better than a lot of the kids playing TAC Cup.
He has to continue improving to make it at AFL level , there is no question about that but he has come a long way in 12 months. From country footy to VFL ressies to VFL seniors and one of our better senior players at that. As his fitness improved his footy just kept getting better. His skills are good , he has reasonable pace and likes to run with the footy and he has shown glimpes every now and then of having a little x factor.
I think you answered your own question on Dunn , the injuries couldn't be put aside. They where considered too much of a risk. In Atkinson you have someone who has really leaped forward over the last 12 months v Dunn who has struggled to overcome injury and recapture his junior form.

The rookie draft is surely designed to take a risk on players with injury concerns. We carried Courtney johns-though the jury is still out- while he got fit and I would have much preferred to take a chance with Ryley Dunn.
Dunn, Trotter, Valenti, Arrowsmith, Laidler, Morris, Hockey, Normington, Dell Aquilla, Jolley and Callinan all spring to mind as preffered candidates but as I said previously I truly hope I am wrong and Knights did coach him last year.

goodgolly24
13 Dec 2007, 10:06
The rookie draft is surely designed to take a risk on players with injury concerns. We carried Courtney johns-though the jury is still out- while he got fit and I would have much preferred to take a chance with Ryley Dunn.
Dunn, Trotter, Valenti, Arrowsmith, Laidler, Morris, Hockey, Normington, Dell Aquilla, Jolley and Callinan all spring to mind as preffered candidates but as I said previously I truly hope I am wrong and Knights did coach him last year.

Gee, There seems to be alot of dissappointment about the Jarrod Atkinson outcome. I know him personally and I think many of you will be pleasantly surprised next season. The only reason those of you who doubt him do is because you never paid attention to him through the VFL season, he was just another "wannabe". The Dunn's, Arrowsmiths,ect, ect got your attention through the hype of the media, TAC coverage, or what ever. But you've gotta give credit were credit is due because he never got picked by accident. The selectors knew very well who was available and still he got the call up so he's gotta have something to offer. Look I could be wrong (but i doubt it) but if you get a chance have a look at him with bendigo or possibly even in the NAB cup, and then judge him for your self. He'll deliver. You'll see.

bombersno1
13 Dec 2007, 11:20
Yes I understand what you are all saying...I just know what the kid went through being stuffed around by the drafting system.......I'll be very happy when he proves all the doubters wrong:thumbsu:

I don't think Peter Robinson got picked up:confused: he was a gun for the Cannons in '07 i thought he would get a run somewhere!

Stuffed around..LMAO. He was not picked up by 16 clubs in the ND..in a WEAK DRAFT! Then he doesn't get picked in the PSD..it is only halfway through the rookie draft he gets picked. Arrowsmith to mine has a lot of flaws and whilst I wish him the best at WCE I am VERY HAPPY we didn't pick him up. I like our Rookie Selections better than Arrowsmith.

I agree on Robinson, but again there is a lot of work to be done with him, I can see why he missed out.

Longy413
13 Dec 2007, 11:54
Gee, There seems to be alot of dissappointment about the Jarrod Atkinson outcome. I know him personally and I think many of you will be pleasantly surprised next season.

I don't think there is disappointment, just people with different opinions.
We all have them.

Just because you know him, doesn't make him any better of a footballer.

The only reason those of you who doubt him do is because you never paid attention to him through the VFL season, he was just another "wannabe".

That's a load of crap, you don't know what footy myself or foj have seen.

There is plenty of reasons, the primary reason being we both think there were better options. However, we both support the kid and wish him well.

The Dunn's, Arrowsmiths,ect, ect got your attention through the hype of the media, TAC coverage, or what ever.

Crap, Dunn has received no media coverage.

I don't particularly rate Arrowsmith and I don't think foj rates him overly highly either.

But you've gotta give credit were credit is due because he never got picked by accident.

If you took your head out of your backside and looked past "they're bagging my mate" you'll see he's received plenty of credit and the arguements against him have been carefully explained rather than just writing the young bloke off.

The selectors knew very well who was available and still he got the call up so he's gotta have something to offer.

No one says he doesn't, not once has anyone said he's no good. He has nothing to offer.

Look I could be wrong (but i doubt it) but if you get a chance have a look at him with bendigo or possibly even in the NAB cup, and then judge him for your self.

Again, if you care to read what has been said, you'll see the assessments come from watching him play.

jetta2davey
13 Dec 2007, 12:53
Stuffed around..LMAO. He was not picked up by 16 clubs in the ND..in a WEAK DRAFT! Then he doesn't get picked in the PSD..it is only halfway through the rookie draft he gets picked. Arrowsmith to mine has a lot of flaws and whilst I wish him the best at WCE I am VERY HAPPY we didn't pick him up. I like our Rookie Selections better than Arrowsmith.

I agree on Robinson, but again there is a lot of work to be done with him, I can see why he missed out.

stop embarrasing yourself you clown, you have NFI about anything related to the EFC or even the AFL. I'll remember this post when Arrowsmith forges a carrer in the AFL through sheer hard work, determination and leadership, but then again you wouldn't have the foggiest idea about arrowsmith because i highly doubt you have seen him play or gone down to Windy hill to watch him train in the few weeks he was there. He was a player that should have been picked ahead of Atkinson.

BTW it's Robertson not Robinson.