View Full Version : I have seen it all now

AC7
11 Dec 2007, 11:12
Good morning to you all.

While my train was 1.5 hours late this morning I was thinking that my life is full of drama. Then as I am walking into to work I see this guy jump off a 20 story building (the Horizon on North Terrace) and strait through the the glass plane at the cafe below.

I have only ever seen that shit on tele before. Today I saw it for real. Has anyone else ever witness such a depressing act. :confused:

NikkiNoo
11 Dec 2007, 11:20
Oh that is terrible.

Vic Crow
11 Dec 2007, 11:22
Shit. That is very ordinary.

acker
11 Dec 2007, 11:24
Cripes

Capitalist
11 Dec 2007, 11:24
damn

dA Crow
11 Dec 2007, 11:26
Very sad way to go out :(

Macca19
11 Dec 2007, 11:35
Terrible. Cant say Ive seen a person jump off a building before.

raikkonen
11 Dec 2007, 11:59
Good morning to you all.

While my train was 1.5 hours late this morning I was thinking that my life is full of drama. Then as I am walking into to work I see this guy jump off a 20 story building (the Horizon on North Terrace) and strait through the the glass plane at the cafe below.

I have only ever seen that shit on tele before. Today I saw it for real. Has anyone else ever witness such a depressing act. :confused:

Puts thing in perspective for you, and makes you appreciate what you have. :)

IddyBiddy
11 Dec 2007, 12:03
Good morning to you all.

No good at all. Hope you're ok.

FlyingCrow
11 Dec 2007, 12:08
Good morning to you all.

were their people in the cafe...If there was and this person commited suicide, that is a low act. To do it in public is disgraceful but to involve others is worse.

J-Ro-20
11 Dec 2007, 12:18
thats a terrible thing to see :(

SA_Stazza
11 Dec 2007, 12:30
Good morning to you all.

Shit mate :(

Hope you are ok, you shouldn't have even gone into work after witnessing something as terrible as that.

There's people you can talk to if you need to mate ;)

hey shorty
11 Dec 2007, 12:31
Far out thats no good at all, wouldve been a bit surreal id say. As FC said, assuming they did kill themselves, its very ordinary that they do it where so many other people could be involved.

AC7
11 Dec 2007, 12:32
I should just clarrify that I saw him when he was about to jump. I went inside and once inside looked out the window and that's when it happened or just happended. The biggest impact is was just seeing the body there.

I was prepared for it and made the choice to look on the basis of this. Felt sick for about an hour and now am ok.

What makes me feel sick is not being able to understand that shit. I would love to see what in his life made him do this so I could help others. It is such a drastic thing to do.

Anyway thanks for your concerns. My feelings go out to the guys family and friends. So sad. :thumbsd:

hey shorty
11 Dec 2007, 12:51
Glad youre alright now mate !!!

I like to think that I can help everybody with any problems they might have. The fact is though, I cant and that annoys me. No matter how good you are theres always somebody out there who either doesnt want help, or you dont know to help them.

My heart goes out to the family and friends of the guy and hopefully it reinforces the issue that Depression is a very very serious illness and that people should get help before it comes to this.

macca23
11 Dec 2007, 13:43
Terrible. Cant say Ive seen a person jump off a building before.

I didn't actually see the jump, but many years back before they secured the car park on the cnr of Pulteney and Rundle Street, one smashed on the road a few metres to my right as I was crossing Rundle Street.

Scared the shyte out of me and certainly did him no favours. Killed instantly and a fair mess.

I had been heading to get a burger for lunch, but needless to say I had lost my appetite very quickly. :(

KingsCrow
11 Dec 2007, 18:56
I also saw it. He jumped off the Oaks Embassy on North Terrace, he didn't land near a cafe, the Cafe was about 30 metres away. It was so strange, glass everywhere, as he went through a roof. But very little blood

Sorry to describe but it was surreal.

So sad.

Seanason
11 Dec 2007, 19:01
soemone did themselves in earlier this year at city west uni.

its always dissapointing when someone can be selfish like that

Campbell's Chunky
11 Dec 2007, 19:10
Yeh, I have two stories.

One guy jumped off the top level of Myer a few years back, landed right next to me in the food court.

Then a mate who was working in Hamilton Island last year, he said someone was dared to jump out of the 18th story and dive in the pool (very drunk).

Completely missed, but managed to land on the cafe below where there was some sort of soft landing. Walked away from the hospital a few weeks later.

I reckon he'd be dead had he actually made the pool.

KingsCrow
11 Dec 2007, 20:33
I guess if you live in an apartment and you are feeling pretty low those thoughts might rush to your head. I don't think you can say they are selfish, especially if you don't know what they have gone through.

Kane McGoodwin
12 Dec 2007, 12:14
Unfortunately there are a higher number of suicides around the festive season. It must be a stuggle for depressed people when most around appear happy. Make sure you cheer up family/friends when they are down, as it is these small acts that people contemplating taking their own life have said that it has given themselves something to live for.

hey shorty
12 Dec 2007, 12:22
Unfortunately there are a higher number of suicides around the festive season. It must be a stuggle for depressed people when most around appear happy. Make sure you cheer up family/friends when they are down, as it is these small acts that people contemplating taking their own life have said that it has given themselves something to live for.

Absolutely. Knowing a couple of people who suffer from depression, its amazing how a small gesture of kindness towards them can completely change their outlook on life. Once you go down that path it is often small things that turn you one way or the other. If you know someone that way its not hard to take a few minutes out to have a chat, you never know how much good you can do.

Mr_Smooth
12 Dec 2007, 14:29
damn, that sucks!

a few years ago on my way to uni, going express through Chidda station (Salisbury), you could see a guy running in the distance, he hurdled the fence and jumped in front of the train. that was pretty horrific!

Super Goalie
17 Dec 2007, 19:06
One guy jumped off the top level of Myer a few years back, landed right next to me in the food court.

Sorry to bump, but was that anything to do with the old rollercoaster they had in Dazzleland(??)?

One of my work colleagues told me the other day he was driving the rollercoaster when 2 people fell/jumped out

NSWCROW
17 Dec 2007, 23:22
I didn't actually see the jump, but many years back before they secured the car park on the cnr of Pulteney and Rundle Street, one smashed on the road a few metres to my right as I was crossing Rundle Street.

Scared the shyte out of me and certainly did him no favours. Killed instantly and a fair mess.

I had been heading to get a burger for lunch, but needless to say I had lost my appetite very quickly. :(
Jeeeez , that was back in the early 80's right ???

Remember it happening.

Markthirtytwo
18 Dec 2007, 07:37
I also saw it. He jumped off the Oaks Embassy on North Terrace, he didn't land near a cafe, the Cafe was about 30 metres away. It was so strange, glass everywhere, as he went through a roof. But very little blood

Sorry to describe but it was surreal.

So sad.

This would have had to have been the most unreported incident in this cities history. :confused:

Markthirtytwo
18 Dec 2007, 07:39
Absolutely. Knowing a couple of people who suffer from depression, its amazing how a small gesture of kindness towards them can completely change their outlook on life. Once you go down that path it is often small things that turn you one way or the other. If you know someone that way its not hard to take a few minutes out to have a chat, you never know how much good you can do.

This gets my vote for post of the year.

By the way, if you know someone who works in the emergency services field that witness constant horrific scenes , they wont talk about it, but also think of them when you hear of tragedies. Please.

macca23
18 Dec 2007, 08:13
Jeeeez , that was back in the early 80's right ???

Remember it happening.

Yep. You're right on the money with the time frame.

To this day I'll never know whether he intended to land on or near me as he only just missed me or whether his state of mind was such that he saw nothing other than escape.

You'd have to think it was the latter seeing he was prepared to die.

Hodges 153!
18 Dec 2007, 08:24
This would have had to have been the most unreported incident in this cities history. :confused:

I dont think suicides ever get much coverage......

I think the train of thought is that reporting about it may encourage others considering it?

NikkiNoo
18 Dec 2007, 09:45
I dont think suicides ever get much coverage......

I think the train of thought is that reporting about it may encourage others considering it?

Spot on - they are never reported by the media (unless it is a murder/suicide) as the information they give out in relation to where it happened can mean that others that are contemplating it get an idea on where to do it.

I did think seriously the first time I saw this thread as to wether it should stay or not because of those reasons.

As Mark said as well, I completely endorse his comments. I used to work at a Hospital and I know what the ambos etc have to witness. I have had to take phone calls from distressed people before in relation to abuse. There is no amount of training that can prepare you for it. :(

fightingdreamer88
19 Dec 2007, 01:40
Suicide is a terrible thing, it saddens FD88 a lot to see these people giving up on life, taking the easy way out. He'd like to think that help is available for anyone and everyone should they start thinking like that. FD88's own family has been affected by suicide more than once; it's a serious issue that is becoming more and more prevalent amongst younger people.

KingsCrow
19 Dec 2007, 08:18
I heard the other day that reporting on a suicide is illegal by the media, unless there is a speacial circumstance, like a famous person or something.

AC7
19 Dec 2007, 09:36
I heard the other day that reporting on a suicide is illegal by the media, unless there is a speacial circumstance, like a famous person or something.

And rightly so. Being that if they did report on it we would be seeing around 8 suicide per day or around 50 reports per week just in Australia. That would take up the whole 30 minutes of news each day in itself.

Society would take a turn for the worse. Just terrible it is.

brucetiki
20 Dec 2007, 21:21
Up until last month, I used to work next door in the EDS Building, so had I still been there I would have been around when the guy jumped to his conclusion. Someone who still works there whom I keep in contact with told me about what happened.

I saw something similar last year up the road at the Mercure Grosvenor. Fortunately all I saw was a bloodied body lying in the middle of Blythe St. Took a quick glance, and moved on quickly.

I was also a few metres away from someone shooting themselves at my school a few years back (I was inside the building, he shot himself on the balcony). Luckily I didn't give myself an early couple of minutes from my study period otherwise I would have probably seen everything.

I've also had two cousins kill themselves nearly 10 years apart to the day.

It certainly puts life into perspective. Makes you appreciate how good your life really is.

KingsCrow
26 Dec 2007, 11:44
Yeah suicide in Australia seems to be a big problem. I have had a 'distant' cousin who killed herself. She was part of the navy, and got full funeral honours and all.

tore her family apart. They were shattered, it was really sad.