View Full Version : The West Coast midfield: Reloaded
Gunnar Longshanks
11 Dec 2007, 14:28
I don't think anyone could suggest that our recruiting staff have failed to fulfil their brief for this off-season.
In the past two months, we've added Jamie McNamara, Chris Masten, Brad Ebert, Scott Selwood and Pat McGinnity to our senior list. Hopefully Lewis Stevenson, Ashley Arrowsmith and Ryan Davis will join our glittering rookie list alumni. Eight teenagers straight onto our hard-running midfielder production-line. A few of them sound like they're ready to go.
Matt Priddis, 22, and Shannon Hurn, 20, can be expected to develop - both are heading into their second full season. Adam Selwood, 23, has spent a bit of time in defence, but a move into the engine room is a real possibility. Matt Rosa, 21, might struggle as a genuine on-baller, but his run is going to be useful.
Add the 'virtual recruits' in Sam Butler, 22 next month, and Mark Nicoski, 24, and we've got some impressive young midfield cattle.
It will be quite a rotation in 3-4 years. Hopefully Stenglein and Kerr can stick around long enough to aid the development of these kids.
And let's not forget Hurn and Priddis.
yeah we've had a good off season with recruitment. besides losing the best player in the competition we've added some real depth and hopefully in 3 or so years some of these guys will be playing regular footy for us.
usually we grab 1 gem a year in the rookie draft. macnamara, priddis, armstrong etc. i wonder which one of these guys could get a game this year.
I'm getting moist just thinking about it.
daddy_4_eyes
11 Dec 2007, 14:42
Law of averages suggests at least a couple of our draftees will be 150+ game players, maybe one of them will become a genuine star. Eagles have done well this off-season to address their weaknesses:thumbsu:
tonywce23
11 Dec 2007, 14:43
I don't think anyone could suggest that our recruiting staff have failed to fulfil their brief for this off-season.
In the past two months, we've added Jamie McNamara, Chris Masten, Brad Ebert, Scott Selwood and Pat McGinnity to our senior list. Hopefully Lewis Stevenson, Ashley Arrowsmith and Ryan Davis will join our glittering rookie list alumni. Eight teenagers straight onto our hard-running midfielder production-line. A few of them sound like they're ready to go.
Matt Priddis, 22, and Shannon Hurn, 20, can be expected to develop - both are heading into their second full season. Adam Selwood, 23, has spent a bit of time in defence, but a move into the engine room is a real possibility. Matt Rosa, 21, might struggle as a genuine on-baller, but his run is going to be useful.
Add the 'virtual recruits' in Sam Butler, 22 next month, and Mark Nicoski, 24, and we've got some impressive young midfield cattle.
It will be quite a rotation in 3-4 years. Hopefully Stenglein and Kerr can stick around long enough to aid the development of these kids.
Kerr is only 24, so I think he will be around for a while to come. Exciting times ahead, I can't wait for next season to start so we can see the next batch of young stars at West Coast in action
FiveStrings
11 Dec 2007, 14:46
And Rosa.
Personally I thought we could probably have used maybe one more young midfielder and one less key-position player (we stocked up on them last year) but overall I'm very happy at the moment with the kids we've selected. I'm also very happy that we didn't try to pick up someone else's discards.
Wing Commander
11 Dec 2007, 14:49
Whichever way you slice and dice it your not going to replace play-makers like Judd and Cousins overnight. Those brownlow medalists are once in a generation players. In the games they both missed you really struggled through the midfield. The upside is you will have a more even team with more depth and places in the 22 will be at an absolute premium. The kangas showed last season you don't need star players to be there abouts and I expect the Eagles to still make the finals but I feel a premiership would be asking too much.
daics cousin
11 Dec 2007, 14:51
Yes the eagles will be a very dangerous side next year,along with collingwood,freo and geelong.
tonywce23
11 Dec 2007, 14:55
Yes the eagles will be a very dangerous side next year,along with collingwood,freo and geelong.
I don't rate Freo, not because I'm a West Coast supporter, merely because of the fact that they can't play consistent football, one week their hot and can beat anyone, and the next week when their expected to win they crumble in a heap. I can't see things changing for them anytime soon.
Gunnar Longshanks
11 Dec 2007, 15:01
Whichever way you slice and dice it your not going to replace play-makers like Judd and Cousins overnight.No-one is suggesting otherwise.
But we have laid the foundations for our next elite midfield.
In the games they both missed you really struggled through the midfield.Like in the elimination final against Collingwood when we were missing Judd, Cousins and Kerr and still went to extra time?
The kangas showed last season you don't need star players to be there abouts.Don't compare us to the Kangas.
Last time I checked, Glass, Kerr and Cox are pretty handy players.
Some might even call them "stars".
our list is still very strong.
if you rate it based on what it is not what it was...its very solid.
tonywce23
11 Dec 2007, 15:07
Very strong and has the potential to be a genuine contender for several years - the bulk of our squad has their best football in front of them
larrikin
11 Dec 2007, 15:12
And best of all - it has no Guy Richards on it
And add Ben Sharpe to that Larrikin and you are spot on. :thumbsu::D
tonywce23
11 Dec 2007, 16:03
And add Ben Sharpe to that Larrikin and you are spot on. :thumbsu::D
I know a girl that used to date Ben Sharpe - useless piece of information I know,but hey, thought I'd throw it in :D
yeah we've had a good off season with recruitment. besides losing the best player in the competition we've added some real depth and hopefully in 3 or so years some of these guys will be playing regular footy for us.
usually we grab 1 gem a year in the rookie draft. macnamara, priddis, armstrong etc. i wonder which one of these guys could get a game this year.
and Judd :eek:
smilingassassin
11 Dec 2007, 16:29
I'm getting moist just thinking about it.
Moist boy!
smilingassassin
11 Dec 2007, 16:31
Agree on all four
I think Collingwood is very overrated. They wont be as good as they were last year. We must have the youngest list in the AFL now or at least the 2nd youngest.
juddy_Like
11 Dec 2007, 20:48
2-3 months ago.... everything that could of gone wrong, did go wrong.
Now everything we can do right, were doing.
Classic example of controliing the things you can control. :thumbsu:
dobbo_18
11 Dec 2007, 21:14
Originally Posted by Prem87
I think Collingwood is very overrated. They wont be as good as they were last year. We must have the youngest list in the AFL now or at least the 2nd youngest.
I disagree, I rate Collingwood very highly and I think they will be one of only a handful of teams who will trouble Geelong next year. BTW, I think we are 3rd, I believe Hawthorn are the youngest and Carlton are the 2nd youngest.
I'm looking forward to next season just to see how we do fare. I think we will still be pretty strong and show a few people up.
spEKTre
11 Dec 2007, 21:28
I regrettably suspect we are on the way down the ladder ( sadly ) but the upside is looking good in 3-4 years time. We wont kick enough goals period to be a serious contender to Geelong and other sides will kick away from us in the last halves aka 07 finals series.
The fallout from the drugs scandal and off field problems never really manifested in our form this year and may hit home next season with Judd and cousins out of the side. All we would need is a few injuries to Kerr and Cox and our side is looking very average Im sorry to say.
Youth is on our side but and you can't help but get excited about the next few years with basically no expectation on the squad to bring home another flag unlike Freo who have yet to really prove themselves on the big stage, the window closing and expectations high...leading to inevitable dispair.
It's really annoying, everything that has happened. We were gonna be a really dominant side after 06. Then the injuries to Judd and the drugs and crap with Cousins and now although still been a good side, were a ways off a premiership again. Cousins and Judd fit and firing made us the best team in the competition by some margin. We were going to win another couple of premierships...
Now we have to wait again. Still... McNamara and Schofield both impressed me in their limited time last season and let's hope Ebert and Masten can become awesome.
SS_Fury
11 Dec 2007, 21:48
these things go in cycles...we got a premiership out of it, so im happy....and around we go again
Happy to be part of the ride that will be 2008 and beyond.
Wouldnt have it any other way.
CARN WEST COAST.
Gunnar Longshanks
11 Dec 2007, 23:12
It's really annoying, everything that has happened. We were gonna be a really dominant side after 06. Then the injuries to Judd and the drugs and crap with Cousins and now although still been a good side, were a ways off a premiership again. Cousins and Judd fit and firing made us the best team in the competition by some margin. We were going to win another couple of premierships...
Now we have to wait again. Still... McNamara and Schofield both impressed me in their limited time last season and let's hope Ebert and Masten can become awesome.There's no point dwelling on what might have been.
No good will come of wondering whether we would have won another flag or two if Cousins and Judd were still West Coast players.
Those guys were incredible players for the Eagles, but they now belong as much to the past as Peter Matera, Dean Kemp and Glenn Jakovich.
For me, wondering whether we could have won another flag with Cousins and Judd is like wondering whether we could have won another flag in 1996.
It's a point of hypothetical history, and I'm simply not prepared to invest any more emotional energy in what could have been.
I think it's time we all moved on and started thinking about our next flag, as opposed to the imagined flags we never won.
There's no point dwelling on what might have been.
No good will come of wondering whether we would have won another flag or two if Cousins and Judd were still West Coast players.
Those guys were incredible players for the Eagles, but they now belong as much to the past as Peter Matera, Dean Kemp and Glenn Jakovich.
For me, wondering whether we could have won another flag with Cousins and Judd is like wondering whether we could have won another flag in 1996.
It's a point of hypothetical history, and I'm simply not prepared to invest any more emotional energy in what could have been.
I think it's time we all moved on and started thinking about our next flag, as opposed to the imagined flags we never won.
There is no point in dwelling on it but it's still annoying. Im just watching WC v WB on Fox Sports now and Juddy was doing some awesome things in the first quarter. Still trying to get to grips that he isnt one of us anymore.
We lost an all time great forever (Mainwaring) and we lost two of our best ever players all in one season. Im glad everybody is staying positive but it's still pretty depressing. What has happened to us since been top of the mountain in 06 has just plain old sucked...
But I was just watching the game and my brother and I were talking about it and I said... wouldnt it just be the best mother****ing thing ever to go and win the premiership next season. It would be the biggest f*ck you to EVERYBODY ever in the history of the sport. God I hope we win.
Gunnar Longshanks
11 Dec 2007, 23:56
We lost an all time great forever (Mainwaring) and we lost two of our best ever players all in one season. Im glad everybody is staying positive but it's still pretty depressing. What has happened to us since been top of the mountain in 06 has just plain old sucked...We were also robbed of home finals during the 90s under the MCG fixturing agreement.
That was annoying, but it's in the past.
The only way to get over the disappointment of recent months is to draw a line after season 2007 and consign it to memory.
We're not living it any more. It happened. It's over.
I am now focused on our next flag.
The greatness of our club will be demonstrated by our refusal to curl up and die.
Season 2007 was disappinting, but we were mighty in those two finals when we were hopelessly undermanned. We matched Collingwood without our three best players. That's what we're about.
Plenty of people will insist that our club is about plenty of other unsavoury things as well, but it's that grit and work ethic that defines us.
After misfortunes, scandals and betrayals that would have brought most clubs to their knees, the Mighty Eagles will get back to the business of winning. That's what we do best - better than anyone else since we arrived in 1987.
It will be our ability to endure that sets us apart from the rest.
We might not win it this year, but we've come through the end of a very dark tunnel and we're still kicking. As long as we've still got the stomach for a fight, we'll be alright.
TheBigUnit
12 Dec 2007, 00:04
With the new recruits this year I think our new look midfield is shaping up nicely, perhaps not as exciting and entertaining as it was with Cousins, Judd and Kerr breaking away with the clearances, but still solid and reliable. I also reckon we'll be much better defensively equipped in the middle with Priddis, Hurn, McGinnity, Selwood x2, Masten, McNamara in particular - while the trio were second to none in attack, they were at times prone to conceding heavily in the opposite direction.
arfadunger
12 Dec 2007, 10:10
We were also robbed of home finals during the 90s under the MCG fixturing agreement.
The only way to get over the disappointment of recent months is to draw a line after season 2007 and consign it to memory.
The greatness of our club will be demonstrated by our refusal to curl up and die.
Season 2007 was disappinting, but we were mighty in those two finals when we were hopelessly undermanned. We matched Collingwood without our three best players. That's what we're about.
Plenty of people will insist that our club is about plenty of other unsavoury things as well, but it's that grit and work ethic that defines us.
After misfortunes, scandals and betrayals that would have brought most clubs to their knees, the Mighty Eagles will get back to the business of winning. That's what we do best - better than anyone else since we arrived in 1987.
We might not win it this year, but we've come through the end of a very dark tunnel and we're still kicking. As long as we've still got the stomach for a fight, we'll be alright.
Great post mate. I was talking to a Dockers supporter the other day asking him how he thought the Dockers would go next year. He sighed, and said "no idea." When he asked about the Eagles, I said that I'm not sure, but I do know that whenever they run out onto the field there will be 22 players who have prepared as well they possibly could, and be giving it their all on the field. That's why we love 'em!
sydney eagle
16 Dec 2007, 09:31
With the new recruits this year I think our new look midfield is shaping up nicely, perhaps not as exciting and entertaining as it was with Cousins, Judd and Kerr breaking away with the clearances, but still solid and reliable. I also reckon we'll be much better defensively equipped in the middle with Priddis, Hurn, McGinnity, Selwood x2, Masten, McNamara in particular - while the trio were second to none in attack, they were at times prone to conceding heavily in the opposite direction. Good point. Masten, Scott Selwood and McGinnity might take some time to adjust however. I think that there will be a lot of pressure on Kerr, Rosa, Priddis and Adam Selwood to show these promising youngsters the way forward !
these things go in cycles...we got a premiership out of it, so im happy....and around we go again
I like that.
Very positive :thumbsu:
Great post mate. I was talking to a Dockers supporter the other day asking him how he thought the Dockers would go next year. He sighed, and said "no idea." When he asked about the Eagles, I said that I'm not sure, but I do know that whenever they run out onto the field there will be 22 players who have prepared as well they possibly could, and be giving it their all on the field. That's why we love 'em!
:D I just got butterflies
Lynch takes a mark
16 Dec 2007, 10:46
I think back to the swans premiership, you don't need superstars to win clearaces/shut down opponets and deliver to leading forwards
Masten, Ebert, Selwood x2, Stenglein, Priddis, McGinnity, McNamara ect are in that mould but it doesn't hurt to add in the icing like Embley, Hurn, Butler & Kerr who can do some special things on the field.
Top tier match winners (3 or 4 players) + back bone group delivering to above average forward line and backed up by above average defence and ruck is a good combination.
we still lack in some areas like a second genuine defender and some more class to move the ball from defence to the midfield and maybe a classy half forward/forward pocket (S. Johnson/Didak/D. Thomas, Nathan Brown) but LeCras is a good solid that could continue to improve.
beatlesmith
16 Dec 2007, 20:00
I think 2010 will be our next big year. Based on potential, we will have Hurn, Priddis, Kerr, Masten and Ebert as A grade midfielders, plus the possibility of players like McNamara, S.Selwood, Mcginnity, Rosa and even Butler becoming B+ maybe even A grade mids. The only deficiency is a quick "strike" midfielder such as Judd or Gablett with pace and X-factor. Based on young talent and potential, we really have no deficiencies apart from ruckman. We have plenty of players in all areas, perhaps too many. Yes, having depth players is good, but i think trading surplus players such as Cones, Army and Graham for fewer, more quality players that would have more chance of maintaining a a place in the team, would be more beneficial in the long term, especially as we move back in to a premiership window.
bzparkes
16 Dec 2007, 20:21
I think 2010 will be our next big year. Based on potential, we will have Hurn, Priddis, Kerr, Masten and Ebert as A grade midfielders, plus the possibility of players like McNamara, S.Selwood, Mcginnity, Rosa and even Butler becoming B+ maybe even A grade mids. The only deficiency is a quick "strike" midfielder such as Judd or Gablett with pace and X-factor. Based on young talent and potential, we really have no deficiencies apart from ruckman. We have plenty of players in all areas, perhaps too many. Yes, having depth players is good, but i think trading surplus players such as Cones, Army and Graham for fewer, more quality players that would have more chance of maintaining a a place in the team, would be more beneficial in the long term, especially as we move back in to a premiership window.
You've still gotta have a certain amount of players on the list though, hence why we kept those mentioned players.
kellzzbellzz
16 Dec 2007, 20:47
We were also robbed of home finals during the 90s under the MCG fixturing agreement.
Great words, inspirational. Makes we wanna run & put my Eagles scarf on:) Can't wait for 08
SS_Fury
17 Dec 2007, 11:09
Great words, inspirational. Makes we wanna run & put my Eagles scarf on:) Can't wait for 08
i lol'd at you running to put your scarf on and decided to wave my car flag around for a lil bit :D
Obeanie1
17 Dec 2007, 11:46
Thats spot on:thumbsu:
Woosha often talks about sustained success and on another thread we are the #1 team win / loss % since the fully national AFL comp was incorporated.
I am stoked with the mix of young tallent we have PLUS the existing core group with 50 - 100+ games and finals AND premiership medalians.
Compare our list with that of Melbourne, Bulldogs, Richmond, Carlton, Essendon, Adelaide and Sydney. I have no doubt our list is in much better shape and does have its best footy ahead of it.
Our average is a flag every 7 years, I'm betting we win another one inside 7 years.:D
Underdog
17 Dec 2007, 13:08
Those brownlow medalists are once in a generation players.
How do you get 2 "once in a generation players" playing at the same time :confused:
Given blokes like Hird, Buckley, Goodes and Harvey are/were just as good if not better, you are starting to build quite a list of "once in a generation players" :rolleyes:
tonywce23
17 Dec 2007, 13:15
How do you get 2 "once in a generation players" playing at the same time :confused:
Given blokes like Hird, Buckley, Goodes and Harvey are/were just as good if not better, you are starting to build quite a list of "once in a generation players" :rolleyes:
Warne and McGrath were once in a generation players in cricket, so its not impossible to have two once in a generation players playing at the same time
Underdog
17 Dec 2007, 13:33
:confused:
once in a generation means that someone of their quality only comes around once a generation...if there is 2 of them at once, then they aren't a once in a generation player. Pretty simple concept
RhEF JC
17 Dec 2007, 15:10
:confused:
once in a generation means that someone of their quality only comes around once a generation...if there is 2 of them at once, then they aren't a once in a generation player. Pretty simple concept
On average once in a generation?
But you're right- the term is overused.
Unfortunately, you lost all of your credits by saying that Goodes is among a group of players "just as good if not better" than Judd and Cousins.
Underdog
17 Dec 2007, 15:14
Goodes is one of the most underrated blokes in the league, largely because he plays in a state that doesn't care about footy, and he is a duel Brownlow medalist. He may not be as good, he may be...either way, it's not a stretch to talk about him in that company
Even if you want to discount him, it doesn't change the validity of my post...just take him out and add in Carey
Underdog
17 Dec 2007, 15:17
On average once in a generation?
But you're right- the term is overused.
Even if you discount Goodes, i've listed at least 5 (Hird, Bucks, Cuz, Judd, Carey) players who are "once in a generation" players from the last 15 years alone. Should we add in Ablett and Lockett as well?
tonywce23
17 Dec 2007, 15:20
Goodes is one of the most underrated blokes in the league, largely because he plays in a state that doesn't care about footy, and he is a duel Brownlow medalist. He may not be as good, he may be...either way, it's not a stretch to talk about him in that company
Even if you want to discount him, it doesn't change the validity of my post...just take him out and add in Carey
Seconded, its funny that a dual Brownlow medallist can be considered as underrated. I'd love to have him at the Eagles
Eagles 4 Mine
17 Dec 2007, 20:31
Bring on 2008 I think personally we will surprise a lot of people with the group we still have , still a very very handy squad...:D:D
daddy_4_eyes
18 Dec 2007, 07:50
Even if you discount Goodes, i've listed at least 5 (Hird, Bucks, Cuz, Judd, Carey) players who are "once in a generation" players from the last 15 years alone. Should we add in Ablett and Lockett as well?
Goodes isn't overrated. He is a fantastic player, but not a once in a generation player. Heck, most people wouldn't have him in their top 10 current players. The Brownlow is a midfielders medal, a flashy midfielders medal, can't judge a player by his Brownlow votes/wins.
A once in a generation player = Carey, Lockett, Matthews, etc. Players who set a standard that makes even the greats of the game look like ordinary players. IMO, no current player falls into that category, not even Judd (yet).
Underdog
18 Dec 2007, 10:12
that's my point...if Judd and Cousins are once in a generation players...so are another dozen over the past 20 years - it doesn't make sense
blackus
21 Dec 2007, 11:39
As Gunnar said, this is WC not some run of the mill, hack team. What Woosh and the coaches did this year in the face of extreme adversity is nothing short of a miracle. To finish equal second on points was sensational. So we will run out next year and do what we did this year - each guy picked in the 22 will give their all, put their head over the ball and play with the intensity and work rate required by this great club. And if we can keep close to our best team on the park for most of the year we will be right up there at the business end.
The Mighty Eagle
21 Dec 2007, 11:50
that's my point...if Judd and Cousins are once in a generation players...so are another dozen over the past 20 years - it doesn't make senseThey are once in a generation players amongst many others (see the 'Best 20 AFL players of all-time' thread on the AFL board). Once in a generation may not mean rare for that particular generation.
Underdog
23 Dec 2007, 01:59
They are once in a generation players amongst many others (see the 'Best 20 AFL players of all-time' thread on the AFL board). Once in a generation may not mean rare for that particular generation.
That doesn't make sense
Guys like Don Bradman, perhaps Leigh Matthews, perhaps Roger Federer etc are once in a generation sportsmen...how long since or previously has it been for others to match their feats?
Murali and Warne may be an example of 2 blokes around at one time but someone like McGrath isn't as blokes like Akram, Younis, Donald, Khan, Ambrose, Marshall etc all fairly recently performed similar feats.
Cousins, Judd, Hird, Bucks etc are all McGraths...bloody good players, champions even, but not "once in a generation" players
Gunnar Longshanks
17 May 2008, 23:28
The nucleus of our next great midfield is already in place.
It's going to be fun to watch it develop, especially if we add another couple of guns at the end of 2008.
Feel free to bar up about our next awesome 8-man rotation.
wce_all_da_way
17 May 2008, 23:30
If we can get one more player who can rip a game open (very rare, so a tough thing to get) we will be well on the way to having a great midfield once again. Masten and Ebert certainly look something, both offensively and defensively.
VEry happy with Masten and Ebert.
Ebert proved me wrong tonight with some very good hard ball gets.
Will only get better.
Masten? A ____ing gun.
Crimson King
17 May 2008, 23:37
The nucleus of our next great midfield is already in place.
It's going to be fun to watch it develop, especially if we add another couple of guns at the end of 2008.
Feel free to bar up about our next awesome 8-man rotation.
Kerr, Rich, Masten, Ebert
Priddis, Selwood A, Butler, Selwood S
Or something..
EaglesSupporter08
17 May 2008, 23:41
Hmmm if cousins re-enters the draft do you think we could stand a chance to get him, or do you think the AFL will do something to stop the Eagles from getting him again?
Our team really needs a spark and without cousins, the only real sense of 'that spark' we have is kerr, but that's on rare occasions
beatlesmith
17 May 2008, 23:45
wow Gunnar, you have certainly been in a bumping mood today.
As Gunnar said, this is WC not some run of the mill, hack team. What Woosh and the coaches did this year in the face of extreme adversity is nothing short of a miracle. To finish equal second on points was sensational. So we will run out next year and do what we did this year - each guy picked in the 22 will give their all, put their head over the ball and play with the intensity and work rate required by this great club. And if we can keep close to our best team on the park for most of the year we will be right up there at the business end.
suprised you bumped this one boys.
bzparkes
17 May 2008, 23:47
Hmmm if cousins re-enters the draft do you think we could stand a chance to get him, or do you think the AFL will do something to stop the Eagles from getting him again?
Our team really needs a spark and without cousins, the only real sense of 'that spark' we have is kerr, but that's on rare occasions
Not worth the trouble. That door's closed for good now I'm afraid.
suprised you bumped this one boys.
Why?
no chance of getting cousins.
onto our new midfield, i was impressed. we still have a lot to work on but the development is coming along nicely.
ebert was tough
masten is a gun
priddis is priddis
and its good to see we've got targets inside 50 to kick to. it makes a hell of a difference in confidence knowing that our forwards are half a chance. bmac and kennedy have really helped.
we still got some quality in the middle, just have to get kerr back to top it off.
the progress is exciting.
Gunnar Longshanks
17 May 2008, 23:53
no chance of getting cousins.
onto our new midfield, i was impressed. we still have a lot to work on but the development is coming along nicely.
ebert was tough
masten is a gun
priddis is priddis
and its good to see we've got targets inside 50 to kick to. it makes a hell of a difference in confidence knowing that our forwards are half a chance. bmac and kennedy have really helped.
we still got some quality in the middle, just have to get kerr back to top it off.
the progress is exciting.Don't forget Priddis and Hurn.
eaglesnutcase
18 May 2008, 17:50
glad we went close but lost.tank. looking at that game im getting a juicy feeling weve done very very well on the judd trade.kennedy is a gun.hes got great skills great vision and great courage.hes ability to pick the right option and execute quickly is fantastic, masten you are a gun.full stop. the new cousins. ebert is looking great.love the way he gets in their face and gives a spray something we dont see enough of from eagles players.but the most impressive thing out of yesterdays game for me and it hasnt got much of a rap is the emergence of schofield.super talented hard at it big good decision making.when brown gets back look out.years off yet but so much to keep us interested.tank tank tank
There are quite a few midfield gems in the draft this year. Its looking likely that we wont have more than 4 wins this season - injuries, the worst draw ever, form; leaving us with Picks 2, 17, 20. We could really reload our midfield with some seriously good talent - i hope they are quick, skilled and kick goals.
Add them to Kerr Priddis Butler Masten Ebert Hurn Selwoodx2 Macnamara, Lecras and we will have awesome midfield depth.
juddy_Like
18 May 2008, 18:32
Don't forget McGinnity as well boys.
Basically a Stinger replacement.
thefamilyguy
19 May 2008, 23:12
What do people think about Mcnamara? I'm a little unsure because a year ago i was professing man love for him and throwing around 'GUN' a little too much. I genuinely thought he had the possibility of breaking into this midfield for a long stretch this year. I may or may not have said he was going to be the best midfielder the eagles have got since Ben Cousins. :o
Does anyone think he'll be a 100 plus player for the eagles?
There are quite a few midfield gems in the draft this year. Its looking likely that we wont have more than 4 wins this season - injuries, the worst draw ever, form; leaving us with Picks 2, 17, 20. We could really reload our midfield with some seriously good talent - i hope they are quick, skilled and kick goals.
Add them to Kerr Priddis Butler Masten Ebert Hurn Selwoodx2 Macnamara, Lecras and we will have awesome midfield depth.
I think Melbourne and Essendon are worse than us... Is there clearly a 2nd best mid after Rich?
Crimson King
20 May 2008, 00:26
McNamara, I think will be the type of player that looks good when the team is going good but he cant step up. Second tier and nothing else.
Eagle Ant
20 May 2008, 00:27
What do people think about Mcnamara? I'm a little unsure because a year ago i was professing man love for him and throwing around 'GUN' a little too much. I genuinely thought he had the possibility of breaking into this midfield for a long stretch this year. I may or may not have said he was going to be the best midfielder the eagles have got since Ben Cousins. :o
Does anyone think he'll be a 100 plus player for the eagles?
Yes he will be, we know what he can do already just getting more body weight and will be a "GUN" as you were saying.
Our Midfield Looks awsome: Kerr, Priddis, Masten, Butler, J.Mac, Houlihan, Selwoods x2, Davis, McGinnity, Hurn, Ebert and Rosa = 13 Throw in Fletcher, Embley, Stenglein, Armstrong, Arrowsmith and Waters who play a multitude of role's and all looks Good. We only have to get them on the park at the same time.:):thumbsu:
beatlesmith
20 May 2008, 00:39
i reckons we will be trying to get another 1st round pick in the draft as it is the last proper one for a long time. Perhaps seaby will be traded? If we did get a pick around 12 or so, that would allow us to get rich (2), Yarran (12), Swift (18) and Gartlett (20), essentially completing our midfield and forward line. Masten, kerr and rich in the middle, with priddis, waters, butler, yarran and swift rotating through would be very special, then put hurn and lynch on the wings, the selwood boys and waters down back, with ebert pushing forward, and our midfield woes will pretty much be solved.
McNamara, I think will be the type of player that looks good when the team is going good but he cant step up. Second tier and nothing else.
Agreed.
Is Swift indeed...swift, beatle?
Jimmy_the_Gent
20 May 2008, 11:49
i reckons we will be trying to get another 1st round pick in the draft as it is the last proper one for a long time. Perhaps seaby will be traded? If we did get a pick around 12 or so, that would allow us to get rich (2), Yarran (12), Swift (18) and Gartlett (20), essentially completing our midfield and forward line. Masten, kerr and rich in the middle, with priddis, waters, butler, yarran and swift rotating through would be very special, then put hurn and lynch on the wings, the selwood boys and waters down back, with ebert pushing forward, and our midfield woes will pretty much be solved.
It never works out that easily.
sydney eagle
20 May 2008, 12:18
Don't forget McGinnity as well boys.
Basically a Stinger replacement. Living in Sydney I don't get to hear much about the players who are in the WAFL at the moment (except on boards like this one !) How is McGinnity going, i've heard suggestions that he is struggling ?
beatlesmith
20 May 2008, 12:25
Agreed.
Is Swift indeed...swift, beatle?
from what i gather he is a quick-ish player who racks up heaps of disposals and zips around (like kerr). Not a breakaway player like judd or cuz but zippy like kerr. Only playing Colts at the moment as he is on the comeback track from a knee reco, so he will probably slide down towards our PP. I'm friends with his cousin so i'll get the lowdown on his progress ASAP. Interesting note: He finished in the top 10 people for the TEE exams last year. On talent, he is easily a top 10 prospect (maybe even top 5) but because of his injury he can only play parts of games in the colts, so he may slide well past where his talent suggests (ala joel selwood)
sydney eagle
20 May 2008, 12:28
from what i gather he is a quick-ish player who racks up heaps of disposals and zips around (like kerr). Not a breakaway player like judd or cuz but zippy like kerr. Only playing Colts at the moment as he is on the comeback track from a knee reco, so he will probably slide down towards our PP. I'm friends with his cousin so i'll get the lowdown on his progress ASAP. Interesting note: He finished in the top 10 people for the TEE exams last year. On talent, he is easily a top 10 prospect (maybe even top 5) but because of his injury he can only play parts of games in the colts, so he may slide well past where his talent suggests (ala joel selwood) So a player to take a punt on who we may get "cheap" ?
Eagles!!!
20 May 2008, 12:46
whoever said about Mcnamara being a fringe player.........what is important to realise is he has shown plenty in two finals that he played last year. this indicates, he has what it takes to be a good player. what WCE would DEMAND off him is to display those traits consistently. Ditto with Nicoski and thats why the club is persisting with both.
FFS JM is only 20 (i think) will still develope his body. We have enough good players to persist with and be excited about and he is definately one of them