Matches: 155
Goals: 43

2007 Home & Away Totals

Matches: 19
Goals: 11
Marks: 84
Disposals: 348
Kicks: 257

In 2006 the 25-year-old enjoyed his finest season at Collingwood since being drafted at the end of 1999. Johnson played every game for a career total of 136, and finished equal second in the Copeland Trophy voting. He led the club in total kicks (374), total disposals (531), and finished with the third-most kicks in the league. He also finished with the second most effective tackles at the Magpies with 64. His run and carry off half back and through the middle set up countless forward forays, and his disposal, particularly by foot, has improved significantly. Johnson’s finest moment came when he gathered 30 disposals and was awarded the ANZAC medal for his BOG display in the memorable win over Essendon in round 4, while on 10 other occasions Johnson gathered at least 25 touches.

Records
Brownlow Medal
2006 votes 11; career votes 26

Draft history
1999 AFL Draft 5th round selection (Collingwood) No. 62 overall

Debut
Round 1, 2000 v Hawthorn @ MCG

Awards Honours
RT Rush Trophy (2nd Best and Fairest) 2004, 2006 (equal)

AFL
2006 ANZAC Day Medallist

What are your thoughts on the player?

(I'd hope we discuss his footballing ability, not a one-off play against Melbourne, which no one, including himself, could've predicted would happen)

delirious1
11 Dec 2007, 16:39
People Rate him?

Cuzz09
11 Dec 2007, 16:40
How many games is he out for at the start of 2008??

MarkT
11 Dec 2007, 17:06
Good honest player without being a star. Needs to improve his consistency through a season and over seasons.

One of the better choices as captain in 2008 IMO but I don’t care how he presents to the media whereas the club will. We have plenty of people able to present well to the media so I’d make a 100% football decision. Scott Burns is the clear standout candidate and should be captain but if he didn’t want it I’d give it to Ben or Heath Shaw.

TheBrownDog
11 Dec 2007, 17:20
Perfectly average in every way. Every team has players like him. Unremarkable.

Professor Frink
11 Dec 2007, 17:22
5/10. but in 06 *ouch* 8.5/10

MagpieGirl_13
11 Dec 2007, 17:24
How many games is he out for at the start of 2008??

1 game

huggy_b
11 Dec 2007, 17:30
Had a chance this season to really establish himself as a high quality midfielder, *possibly* even elite, but lost his way a bit with a fairly average season. For a guy that has notched up 150 games and is turning 27yo, he really needs to start producing with consistency.

AFKAJR
11 Dec 2007, 17:33
Average to Good midfielder, needs to think quicker on his feet.....too slow to often to ever be elite.

Mighty_bombers
11 Dec 2007, 18:59
Good honest player.

LMFAO , your joking right ? didn't you watch his last game ?? that was pretty honest ? but i did feel for him when he was honest and came out and said that he cryed in the rooms big + for him there , apart from that his pretty good player. 6.5/10

PUSSIES_07_FLAG
11 Dec 2007, 19:00
He's not average, slightly better.

Required player at Collingwood.

Bomber Man
11 Dec 2007, 20:19
Average to below average considering he's a permanent midfielder for mine. Average pace, average skills, high endeavour. Certainly would never expect him to win the Pies a game of footy off his own boot, found himself dealing with better tags/direct opponents in 07 after a big year in 06.

doppleganger
11 Dec 2007, 21:04
Average to below average considering he's a permanent midfielder for mine.

The bloke who had the third most kicks in the entire league in 2006, and for the majority of 2006 was the leading player in the league for metres gained......ie when Ben gets the ball he runs forward and kicks it towards the pies goal, a very important stat in today's rubbish chip sideways game!

You rate as below average!!

:confused:

Bomber Man
11 Dec 2007, 21:29
The bloke who had the third most kicks in the entire league in 2006, and for the majority of 2006 was the leading player in the league for metres gained......ie when Ben gets the ball he runs forward and kicks it towards the pies goal, a very important stat in today's rubbish chip sideways game!

You rate as below average!!

:confused:And how did he back it up in 2007? And what did he do before 2006? This is not an emerging kid we are talking about, he has 8 seasons under his belt and averaged over 20 touches in only 1 - you rate that as better than average??:confused:

As I said in my post he had a good 2006 and had better opponents in 2007 who effectively beat him.

windyhill
11 Dec 2007, 21:35
Would be a bloody better bet as Captain than that maxwell.

Smoky
11 Dec 2007, 21:39
Hugely underated.

Bulldogsnm1
11 Dec 2007, 21:43
Very good, consistant player.. Would walk into every AFL team.

Zeke
11 Dec 2007, 22:16
A shade above good-ordinary.

Good-ordinary players don't generally pop up with B.O.G performances, and Benny has notched up a handful over the years.

A ball magnet at best, handy list fodder at worst.

CaptainDavey
11 Dec 2007, 22:31
He's got a funny/odd kick on him

jasonwilde
11 Dec 2007, 22:40
He's got a funny/odd kick on him
It's called non-footed.
He is neither right-footed or left-footed. He is non-footed.
(Helicopter kicks:thumbsu:)

(Still a "required player" at the pies, IMHO, touted as a possible captain, who would be a walk up start in most teams)

Don Gibson
11 Dec 2007, 22:44
played juniors with him as his ruckmen and taught him everything he knows :D

Good player and will continue to grow.

Bleeds for Collingwood and is a good clubmen.

bomba4eva
11 Dec 2007, 23:40
http://www.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,,5310715,00.jpg

http://www.abc.net.au/reslib/200708/r169854_636506.jpg

No: 26
183cm, 83kg

DOB: 5 April 1981

Matches: 155
Goals: 43

2007 Home & Away Totals

Matches: 19
Goals: 11
Marks: 84
Disposals: 348
Kicks: 257

In 2006 the 25-year-old enjoyed his finest season at Collingwood since being drafted at the end of 1999. Johnson played every game for a career total of 136, and finished equal second in the Copeland Trophy voting. He led the club in total kicks (374), total disposals (531), and finished with the third-most kicks in the league. He also finished with the second most effective tackles at the Magpies with 64. His run and carry off half back and through the middle set up countless forward forays, and his disposal, particularly by foot, has improved significantly. Johnson’s finest moment came when he gathered 30 disposals and was awarded the ANZAC medal for his BOG display in the memorable win over Essendon in round 4, while on 10 other occasions Johnson gathered at least 25 touches.

Records
Brownlow Medal
2006 votes 11; career votes 26

Draft history
1999 AFL Draft 5th round selection (Collingwood) No. 62 overall

Debut
Round 1, 2000 v Hawthorn @ MCG

Awards Honours
RT Rush Trophy (2nd Best and Fairest) 2004, 2006 (equal)

AFL
2006 ANZAC Day Medallist

What are your thoughts on the player?

(I'd hope we discuss his footballing ability, not a one-off play against Melbourne, which no one, including himself, could've predicted would happen)
Absolute coward of a player. Had plenty of time to pull out of the bump on that Melbourne player but chose to go through with it. Sickening incident that I cant forget about in relation to Johnson. Average player but a joke for bumping the player on the head:thumbsd:

delirious1
12 Dec 2007, 00:08
Absolute coward of a player. Had plenty of time to pull out of the bump on that Melbourne player but chose to go through with it. Sickening incident that I cant forget about in relation to Johnson. Average player but a joke for bumping the player on the head:thumbsd:

Michael Long Board

Spore
12 Dec 2007, 04:50

lmao yet i bet you reckon Long is a champion.

Michael Long is the biggest dog that ever played AFL football, amazing that you can call another player a coward after what Long did.

Eddie Vedder
12 Dec 2007, 06:00
Benny J, wouldnt mind seeing him as our captain, have always liked the way he goes about it, would rather him in the team than not!

Lunchlady Doris
12 Dec 2007, 06:58
Good average player, speed and skills a concern, but tries his guts out.

MarkT
12 Dec 2007, 08:36
His speed is fine. He also has good evasion. His skills could be better. That is what can let him down. The clown who reckons he’s a coward doesn’t know what the word means. Ben is all guts.

doppleganger
12 Dec 2007, 08:50
And how did he back it up in 2007? And what did he do before 2006? This is not an emerging kid we are talking about, he has 8 seasons under his belt and averaged over 20 touches in only 1 - you rate that as better than average??:confused:

As I said in my post he had a good 2006 and had better opponents in 2007 who effectively beat him.

The bloke has been runner up in the Copeland twice. Below average players dont do that.

Below average players aren't one of the best ball carriers in the AFL.

As other people have said he is a big show at being captain.

Wonder how you rate M.McVeigh??

Mancey
12 Dec 2007, 10:16
4 years ago he was my deadset pick for the worst player in the afl. He's improved a lot, obviously mick saw some potential in him.

Still an awful kick, but he's a very servicable player. He might struggle a bit as more kids start coming through tho.

carmi99
12 Dec 2007, 11:03
The bloke has been runner up in the Copeland twice. Below average players dont do that.

Wonder how you rate M.McVeigh??

I rate McVeigh highly, what has that got to do with this thread?:rolleyes:

On the topic we are discussing, Johnson is a good player and quite underated. I don't think people should label him as a coward/dog for that one incident. It was a poor decision but totally out of character for Johnson.

carmi99
12 Dec 2007, 11:04
4 years ago he was my deadset pick for the worst player in the afl. He's improved a lot, obviously mick saw some potential in him.

Still an awful kick, but he's a very servicable player. He might struggle a bit as more kids start coming through tho.

In 2006 he was rated as the most acurate kick in the competition, meaning a had a better % of hitting targets then anybody else......

doppleganger
12 Dec 2007, 11:20
I rate McVeigh highly, what has that got to do with this thread?:rolleyes:
Wasn't asking how u rate McVeigh.....was asking the other bomber bloke.

Chose McVeigh as he is of a similar age to B.Johnson, been around just as long, and a potential leader for the dons.....so just interested to see that if he thinks B.Johnson is a below average player, i wonder how he judges a similar player from his own team.

On the topic we are discussing, Johnson is a good player and quite underated. I don't think people should label him as a coward/dog for that one incident. It was a poor decision but totally out of character for Johnson.
Ur view on B.Johnson is spot on, and good point about his kicking, sure he has an awkward style but it is very effective now.....a bloke who uses the ball well, finds the ball heaps, and carries it forward.....very valuable player IMO.

Gozz
12 Dec 2007, 11:37
Don't rate him highly but with Clement gone this may be the year he steps up.

Abba Lonie
12 Dec 2007, 12:37
The type of player that opposition supporters don't pay much attention to so aren't really qualified to comment on him as a player.

Blues_Man
12 Dec 2007, 17:42
Good honest player ...servicable without being a star .

whelan=legend
12 Dec 2007, 19:31
Sniper

malteaser
12 Dec 2007, 19:38
I thought we played better without him for the rest of the season. Didn't miss him at all. Players down field always second guessing were his helicopter kicks are going. I thought he could have been trade bait.

Coin_Toss
12 Dec 2007, 20:49
He's definitely underrated, IMO. Carries the footy and uses it well. Now that I think about it, I wouldn't mind seeing him wear the #5 from next year, and it may spur him on to become a very good player. :thumbsu:

scottyD
12 Dec 2007, 22:00
Used to be an absolute star but faded away come 06.
He was the guy we needed every week just to put in his extra effort and he did that.

Bomber Man
13 Dec 2007, 21:08

Wonder how you rate M.McVeigh??I already agreed he had a good 2006, one year he was runner up, his other year was 2004 - a year Collingwood would rather forget. In those sorts of seasons, consistent average players poll well in B&F's.

He was one of the AFL's best ball carriers in 2006, his only good year. IMO a good player has more than one good season from their first eight.

Richie Vandenberg was a captain... next. Incidentally, I'd lay down a pineapple that he won't get the captaincy.

Although completely irrelevent, I'll settle your wondering. McVeigh is a good negater, has very good foot skills, and isn't a play making on-baller as he doesn't find enough of the ball, so is better used (and is used) as a negater and/or around HFF/HBF. To date he's proven to be an average AFL player in that role at Essendon.

Just to ensure clarity, I posted he is "average to below average considering he's a permanent midfielder". As I also posted before, 8 seasons with only 1 averaging more than 20 touches is below average for an AFL midfielder who is not a negater.

dmc333
13 Dec 2007, 22:49
Never liked him after the steroid bust in Seoul.

whelan=legend
22 Dec 2007, 15:53
http://www.realfooty.com.au/ffximage/2007/08/18/johnson_bell_wideweb__470x320,0.jpg