View Full Version : The best footy book ever
OK. I am biased. I wrote a few pages for this book and so did Arrowman.
Never mind.
At an event at the Adelaide Lutheran Footy Club in the southern parklands last Tuesday, 120 people snapped up 170 copies, when AFC forward coach Paul Hamilton launched it.
The Footy Almanac 2007, edited by John Harms and Paul Daffey, is still the best footy book ever because it's been written by footy nuts, rather than tired old journalist hacks.
It's 600-800 words on every game this season.
SA fans may never see it because the Victorian distributors haven't yet jumped out of their box.
It's $29.95 in the Adelaide shops, if it is there. Or else, go to Tabloid, 85 Halifax Street, Adelaide and buy it for $20, cash over the counter.
It's a big 552 page book with beautiful writing about every game this season. You will not be disappointed. This is definitely the best footy book of this footy year.
If you are out of town, email: tabloid@internode.on.net
It contains a delicious forword by Paul Kelly (the Crows-supporting musician, not the hack journalist or the ex-Sydney player) and a preface by the champion of real footy people, Martin Flanagan.
Best footy book ever, so far.
Best book for the summer throne by a long shot.
Twenty hours of pleasure if you restrict the reading to the throne.
Thanks for passing on the info JohnK
I would buy it for yours and Arrowmans contributions alone...ok Arrowmans at least :D
Thanks for passing on the info JohnK
I would buy it for yours and Arrowmans contributions alone...ok Arrowmans at least :D
And so would I!
Arrowman is the greatest sailor to have ever left these shores.
Vic Crow
12 Dec 2007, 09:23
Thanks for the heads up JohnK. We were just bemoaning the loss of arrowman yesterday.
I'll definitely pick that up.
afccomau
12 Dec 2007, 10:48
Had me excited JohnK ... thought you had got hold of a draft of my 'Best of Both Worlds' (the story of the West Torrens, Woodville and Eagles football clubs) book:D
But yep, I will have to get hold of the Footy Almanac. Sounds great.
And sorry about the gratuitous plug for my book, a 500-plus page effort written with Peter Cornwall and the help of about 90 former players and coaches. Out next season!
thegrach
12 Dec 2007, 10:51
Sorry, I thought this was a link for the Six Degrees of Danny Dikfos book!
NikkiNoo
12 Dec 2007, 11:14
Had me excited JohnK ... thought you had got hold of a draft of my 'Best of Both Worlds' (the story of the West Torrens, Woodville and Eagles football clubs) book:D
And sorry about the gratuitous plug for my book, a 500-plus page effort written with Peter Cornwall and the help of about 90 former players and coaches. Out next season!
What is this personal plug day? :D
Make sure I get a copy of that one. I'll review it for AR.
Maybe I should plug this mammoth thread on the SANFL Board that might ( or may already have) interest you and other Peckerheads (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=152803)
topjars
12 Dec 2007, 17:08
I thought you were gonna say "ROO" by Shane Mensforth:D
Sorry Roo, but next time, write and tell the book yourself.
It'll be a better read.
The Coach - about North Melbournes flag under Ron Barassi is the best footy book Ive read, particularly for its era.
The Ando Factor
13 Dec 2007, 00:26
Thumbs-up to quality Australian Football journalism. We need more of it.
A little off topic, but yesterday I purchased "The Damned Utd", a fictionalised account of Brian Clough's 44 day tenure as Leeds United manager in the 1970's.
Suggestion for next in the series - Don Scott's ill-fated stint at the Panthers in 1985.
Brett_Burton_#24
13 Dec 2007, 02:39
Thumbs-up to quality Australian Football journalism. We need more of it.
A little off topic, but yesterday I purchased "The Damned Utd", a fictionalised account of Brian Clough's 44 day tenure as Leeds United manager in the 1970's.
Suggestion for next in the series - Don Scott's ill-fated stint at the Panthers in 1985.
don't you mean - Every Coaches ill-fated stint at the Panthers for the last 42 years 1965 - 2007 :p
KingAragorn
13 Dec 2007, 12:09
John K
thanks for the posting about the book. Just drove over to Tabloid and picked up a copy.
I have had a very quick flick through the book and will enjoy, I am sure, a more thorough read through over the next month or two.
Cheers
John K
thanks for the posting about the book. Just drove over to Tabloid and picked up a copy.
I have had a very quick flick through the book and will enjoy, I am sure, a more thorough read through over the next month or two.
Cheers
No worries, KingAragorn.
Not bad value for $20, eh?
Special deal for footy clubs -- six for $100, sell at $30 each as a fundraiser.
go to tabloid, 85 halifax street, adelaide.
You are right.
I've read some of the Almanac and expect it to brighten up my summer.
It's a beauty...for yourself or a late Xmas gift.
Chief (BigFooty admin) says:
Paul Daffey and John Harms roped in literary mates, journalists and other sundry wits to give us probably the best description of the 2007 season you'll find in one book.
Footy Almanac 2007 is a book of game-by-game reports by many different authors. Some include funny stories, others are in-depth coverage.
Each chapter covers a round and includes the ladder standings for the round.
RRP is $30 and I think if they can keep it going it'll build into a great historical record over the years.
There's been a bit of a rush but there are still some copies left at $20 each from 85 Halifax Street. Perfect Christmas gift.
Kane McGoodwin
17 Dec 2007, 12:55
Chief (BigFooty admin) says:
There's been a bit of a rush but there are still some copies left at $20 each from 85 Halifax Street. Perfect Christmas gift.
Sounds like a good read.
JK, you should have given my Mum a copy instead of a bottle of red for putting out that fire. ;)
johnnypanther
17 Dec 2007, 13:42
Just been into the Tabloid at 85 Halifax Street and got a copy and had the pleasure of meeting JohnK.
This book is a magnificent read and i thoroughly recommend it to any footy fan
- normally i would not be much interested in a book containing a historical record of each game played during the season (apart from keeping it in my bookshelf as a reference book), however, this book goes far beyond that - its actually readable and there are 2 pages on each game. What does make it interesting and very readable - and i mean each and every game - is that the 2 page writeup is not your normal boring purely descriptive playout of the game (ie ...at the 23rd minute Joe Blogs marked and scored a goal to put the XFC in front for the 1st time....etc etc..."
Instead of the above, this book manages to describe each game with "soul" and consequently makes it interesting to read each and EVERY game regardless of what club one supports (eg i just opened the book at random and quote a couple of small excerpts to illustrate what i'm trying to say"
"Dale Thomas (it helps when you select a decent player with the no 2 pick in the draft rather than trading it for a one-paced plodder with hamstring problems......" and ... "....Anthony Rocca, who unlike the youthful and talented midfielders in the Magpies' lineup, has no excuse for being burnt out at any stage of a footy season...."
This is one of the best footy books i have seen and its an even bigger bonus that one can pick it up for only $20.
Thanks JohnK for bringing it to our attention
PS How come you rarely post here anymore? :)
Just been into the Tabloid at 85 Halifax Street and got a copy and had the pleasure of meeting JohnK.
This book is a magnificent read and i thoroughly recommend it to any footy fan... Instead of the above, this book manages to describe each game with "soul" and consequently makes it interesting to read each and EVERY game regardless of what club one supports ... This is one of the best footy books i have seen and it's an even bigger bonus that one can pick it up for only $20.
Thanks johnnypanther.
How come you rarely post here anymore? :)
I've been too busy all year working on this book!
Any chance the book is available somewhere in Canberra? Guessing not, but you never know your luck.
Vader
You can buy it online from The Age Store:
www.theage.com.au/store
Or ring up any decent bookshop in Canberra and ask them to order it from the mainstream distributors Dennis Jones and Associates Pty Ltd, Melbourne.
Or, alternatively, get an Adelaide mate to come to 85 Halifax Street, Adelaide and buy a copy for $20 and post it to you in time for Christmas.
No footy houshold in Australia should be without this book!
Vader
You can buy it online from The Age Store:
www.theage.com.au/store
Or ring up any decent bookshop in Canberra and ask them to order it from the mainstream distributors Dennis Jones and Associates Pty Ltd, Melbourne.
Or, alternatively, get an Adelaide mate to come to 85 Halifax Street, Adelaide and buy a copy for $20 and post it to you in time for Christmas.
No footy houshold in Australia should be without this book!
Will be in Adelaide next week anyway. Will drop into Halifax St and pick myself up a copy.
Cheers,
Vader.
KingAragorn
18 Dec 2007, 15:40
No worries, KingAragorn.
Not bad value for $20, eh?
You speak the truth, good value for the one shiny plastic note
Got my hands on a copy today :thumbsu:
I did read the account for Showdown XXIII, Round 18, and I was very impressed. Practically an exact, brief, although it provided all the key detials, humerous report :thumbsu: Can't wait to read the rest :)
Got my hands on a copy today :thumbsu:
I did read the account for Showdown XXIII, Round 18, and I was very impressed. Practically an exact, brief, although it provided all the key detials, humerous report :thumbsu: Can't wait to read the rest :)
Crow*Girl, was that shy woman who came into my office today wanting to buy a copy for her daughter, really you? :)
Never mind. I am glad you enjoyed the R18 report. There's a lot of pleasure in this book. Make sure you read all of Les Everett's Perth reports. Some of those are the funniest bits of football writing I have read.
Last chance, posters, to get this book at $20 for a couple of weeks. My office closes 5pm Friday. Then you'll have to search for it in the bookshops at $30.
It's the perfect Christmas present for the football people in your life.
The best summer read going around at the moment.
Crow*Girl, was that shy woman who came into my office today wanting to buy a copy for her daughter, really you? :)
Never mind. I am glad you enjoyed the R18 report. There's a lot of pleasure in this book. Make sure you read all of Les Everett's Perth reports. Some of those are the funniest bits of football writing I have read.
Haha nah that was my mum. She is enjoying the book too ;) Oh and I'll be sure to read every word!
Loved your blog, Crow*Girl.
Thanks :D I do enjoy writing about football when I get the time.
Johnson#26
20 Dec 2007, 11:57
Les Everett's reports are awesome - that round 14, Freo v Nth, with the setting in a classroom is sensational.
Kudos to all involved.
Les Everett's reports are awesome - that round 14, Freo v Nth, with the setting in a classroom is sensational.
Johnson#26, I agree with you totally. That is the standout bit of writing in the book and you spotted it.
I have passed your comments onto Les, and I am sure that he will be thrilled to read them, as an unsolicited response from a reader.
I said the same thing to him in our group email linkup about that Round 14 report.
He replied:
Nice try Kingsmill.
Now put your hand out and take what's coming...
And if one more person talks I'll strap the lot of you.
Get on with your work.
I am sorry if this is a bit obscure to anyone who hasn't read this book, but you'll appreciate this little add-on, J26.
Capitalist
21 Dec 2007, 12:32
ok this is all nice
but where the hell is Arrowman.
Stiffy_18
21 Dec 2007, 16:41
ok this is all nice
but where the hell is Arrowman.
Thats what I want to know too. One of the all time great posters of this board. I wish he would make a comeback to this board.
Very pleasant to meet you the other day, NikkiNoo. I'm sorry our interesting conversation was brought to an end by a pesty customer. We could have kept talking for a couple of weeks!
I have some good news for you, and for Stiffy.
I saw Arrowman yesterday, running up the ramp at the Adelaide Railway Station, wearing a suit and a red face and carrying a bulging briefcase.
That's the good bit. He's still alive and... well... his face was a bit red... he's carrying a little bit of condition like myself... but something in the world was obviously engaging him.
Here's the bad bit.
I called out his name.
He saw me, and ran even faster...
The next time this happens, I won't call out his name but I will put my foot out and trip him him up.
"Arrowman," I will say as he and his briefcase spills to the ground, "can I help you gather all these important documents together?"
Only then will I be able to find out where he has been and what he has been up to.
But here's a clue. As he raced past, I saw that he was wearing a name tag that said:
SAFR
Advisory Committee
What the???
Hmmmm.
SAFR
Acronym Definition
SAFR San Francisco Maritime National Historic Park (US National Park Service)
SAFR Security Assistance Foreign Representative
SAFR Senior Air Force Representative
SAFR Shooter's Alliance for Firearm Rights
SAFR Small Arms Firing Range
SAFR Sodium Advanced Fast Reactor
SAFR Spring-Applied Fluid pressure Released (brake system)
SAFR Storage, Analysis, Failure Evaluation and Reclamation