View Full Version : Expansion Carrara Redevelopment up and running by 2012 - AFL

Waverley73
12 Dec 2007, 13:46
Carrara $200m master plan

By Robert Craddock
December 12, 2007 AFL BOSS Andrew Demetriou has unveiled his master plan for the new Gold Coast team to play out of a $200 million stadium at Carrara.
Demetriou explained how the new ground would be modelled on Geelong's small but impressive Skilled Stadium with a capacity of between 20,000-22,000.
But the catch is it will almost certainly not be ready until 2012, two years after the side's likely entrance, which would mean the club would play some of its top-billing home games at the Gabba in its first one or two seasons... (rest below in link).

http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,22909816-23211,00.html

Will be interesting to see if they are able to do this because if it works the new team will be rolling in the $$$.

FOOOOTY
12 Dec 2007, 14:26
Howmuch are the AFL forking out?

Lidge
12 Dec 2007, 14:45
Craddock should stick to writing about cricket.

And bollocks again. As if the AFL are going to go ahead and pull this off. The bell ends can't even get the fixture right, let alone have the collective smarts to build a $200m footy ground.

Papa G
12 Dec 2007, 14:55

And bollocks again. As if the AFL are going to go ahead and pull this off. The bell ends can't even get the fixture right, let alone have the collective smarts to build a $200m footy ground.

Wow - once again if anything is written that contradicts Brayshaw's fanciful claims or North Melbourne supporter's delusions, the journalist is immediately denounced and the AFL branded as liars and incompetents. I wonder in a year or two's time who will be branded the liar and the incompetent?

Subprime
12 Dec 2007, 14:58

The AFL would have been involved in all the major stadium deals of the last decade or so in some way or other, including Gabba, MCG, T Dome and T Stadium. Why wouldn't they "pull this off"?

Scotland
12 Dec 2007, 15:08
If the AFL really wants to put time and money into stadium redevelopment, I can think of a city that could use it... No feasibility studies into whether the locals will pay to turn up and watch footy needed either...

FOOOOTY
12 Dec 2007, 15:12
If the AFL really wants to put time and money into stadium redevelopment, I can think of a city that could use it... No feasibility studies into whether the locals will pay to turn up and watch footy needed either...

More examples of the AFL caring more about Rugby fans then their own.

MAG87
12 Dec 2007, 15:17

well said scotland.

littleduck
12 Dec 2007, 15:57
The AFL can say whatever they like in regards to a Stadium if they aren't going to finance the whole shebang.

I can say that I'm gonna built a resort golf course and flog off a 200-home estate overlooking the course and make 100s of millions.

The reality is that its all contingent on others chipping in, namely the QLD State Govt and other private backers.

Sherrinator
12 Dec 2007, 18:42

45,000 perth fans are able to get to EVERY game played in Perth. Currently 12,000 GC fans can barely fit into a game played at Carrara.

FootyJunkie
12 Dec 2007, 20:41
20-22k?

So would the new club have an arrangement that is similar to Geelong's, play 8 home games at Carrara, plus 3 "blockbuster" games up at the GABBA, with both "Sunshine Duels" with the Lions being at the GABBA?

Tas
12 Dec 2007, 21:49
AFL money for stadiums should be prioritised to WA and SA. You have the farcical scenario where the clubs have to cap membership and have waiting queues while the AFL is pissing into the wind.

Gold Coast needs proper facilities but they need to get a massive portion of the cost funded by the government. This line is a bit of a worry:

"That is our choice. It requires between $150m-$200m. We are working through with various parties as to how we will get it built."

They talked about a clean stadium. It wont be clean if third parties become involved like they are at TD because they are out to make money and it comes at the expense of whoever is playing there.

The "various parties" has to be the QLD govt and the GC council or else the club is stuffed before it is even created.

ChrisFooty
12 Dec 2007, 22:10
I thoughth the new team would not be ready until 2012? Yet the article states Cararra development won't be ready by 2012, two years after the new side likely entrance.:confused:

walhawk
12 Dec 2007, 22:12
They will do similar to that the Titans did this year.

Play the opening game V Pies / Bombers plus games V Lions & all finals @ Gabba.

The Titans drew 43K at the Gabba for their first match. A relocated Souths or Crinulla would never have drawn such a big crowd. North @ GC would have been a disaster.

We will all be suprised at how well a home grown GC side will do.

Funkalicous
12 Dec 2007, 23:28
Wow - once again if anything is written that contradicts Brayshaw's fanciful claims or North Melbourne supporter's delusions, the journalist is immediately denounced and the AFL branded as liars and incompetents. I wonder in a year or two's time who will be branded the liar and the incompetent?

This bitterness could go for years. Strap yourselves in.

Nice to see LD pushing ahead with his "Keep Footy out of Queensland" campaign. :p

littleduck
13 Dec 2007, 07:58
Nice to see LD pushing ahead with his "Keep Footy out of Queensland" campaign. :pFunny.

Funkalicous
13 Dec 2007, 08:10
Funny.

Thanks

Salad dodger
13 Dec 2007, 09:28
They will do similar to that the Titans did this year.

Play the opening game V Pies / Bombers plus games V Lions & all finals @ Gabba.

The Titans drew 43K at the Gabba for their first match. A relocated Souths or Crinulla would never have drawn such a big crowd. North @ GC would have been a disaster.

We will all be suprised at how well a home grown GC side will do.

mate couldn't agree more, I can't wait for a home grown team to start up. i just hope the AFL don't bugger it up by putting a rubbish jumper on them like the last two (Dockers and Port) no offence but yuk or calling the team the waves or surfers or something equally inane.

Hearts to hearts
13 Dec 2007, 09:59

I wonder. Give it another 10 years to be on the safe side, and we'll see whether 200 million on a clean stadium for the Gold Coast was the best way to "invest" the AFL's money.

And this has nothing to do with North Melbourne any more, let alone with Brayshaw. North supporters are just more ready to combat AFL propaganda thank most of you because we've spent a lot of the past year researching every claim. When you've spent a bit more time on it, and watched them take money away from every football state and your own clubs to spend it on this folly, you'll think differently about the issue.

Subprime
13 Dec 2007, 10:11
I wonder. Give it another 10 years to be on the safe side, and we'll see whether 200 million on a clean stadium for the Gold Coast was the best way to "invest" the AFL's money.

And this has nothing to do with North Melbourne any more, let alone with Brayshaw. North supporters are just more ready to combat AFL propaganda thank most of you because we've spent a lot of the past year researching every claim. When you've spent a bit more time on it, and watched them take money away from every football state and your own clubs to spend it on this folly, you'll think differently about the issue.

Anytime you want to tell the rest of us why the third largest urban area in Australia cannot support 2 AFL teams please do so. If you think the extra attention and status that Australian Rules will derive from this expansion will be bad thing, well as they say in Queensland, please explain.

At this stage I see a successful and profitable club in Brisbane that has done wonders for the growth of the game in that state. Southport are also profitable and have a strong administration in place. Add an AFL list and watch them take off.

The proposal is to build a 20,000 seater in a place where 12,000 are already turning up to watch someone else's team (who really did not want to be there) in second-rate facility.

Folly? Pigs Ar$e.

HitEmHardFreo
13 Dec 2007, 11:35
This bitterness could go for years. Strap yourselves in.

Nice to see LD pushing ahead with his "Keep Footy out of Queensland" campaign. :p

Haha. And the big fella has the Gold Coast Bully on speed dial.