View Full Version : 44. Cameron Stokes (Rookie)
RustyHawk
12 Dec 2007, 16:11
Hawks go for blend of height and pace
11:32 AM Tue 11 December, 2007 | Back
Rookie Draft Selection 54: Cameron Stokes
DOB: 02/07/1989
Height: 173cm
Weight: 72kg
Recruited from: DARWIN
Position: Small forward/midfielder
Bio: Captain of the Northern Territory Thunder at 2007 NAB AFL U18 Championships. Small midfielder/forward who shows tremendous attack on the ball.
The Kipster
15 Dec 2007, 23:04
Is apparently a real tough nut....like me :D
philhawk
15 Dec 2007, 23:19
http://img258.imageshack.us/img258/9273/48afltj5.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
http://www.ntnews.com.au/article/2007/12/12/2830_ntsport.html
Young stars drafted to the AFL
GREY MORRIS
12Dec07
AUSTIN Wonaeamirri created his own piece of Territory football history yesterday when he became the first Tiwi Bomber to be drafted to an AFL club.
The Tiwi Bombers are in their first official season as the NT Football League's eighth club after a seven-game trial in 2006.
It was a double strike for Territory football at yesterday's AFL Rookie Draft when Wonaeamirri and brilliant Darwin midfielder Cameron Stokes joined Melbourne and Hawthorn.
Their drafting means a record 27 Territorians are now on AFL lists.
Wonaeamirri, who had a stellar season with SANFL club Norwood this year, was a second round pick at No.19 overall and Stokes a fourth round pick at No.54.
Originally from the community of Milakapiti on Melville Island, about 100km north of Darwin, Wonaeamirri knew early yesterday morning he was joining Matthew Whelan and Aaron Davey at the Demons.
"I was rapt to be told by my manager I was going to Melbourne, it's been a long time coming," the former St Marys flyer said.
"I told my dad on the island and he was pretty rapt too. Then I rang my uncle (and Bombers captain) Thomas Simon and he told everyone else.
"They were all very happy and couldn't believe it that I'm finally off to the AFL."
Stokes, the son of former Darwin and NT representative player Steven Stokes, got a call from former Hawthorn champion and now the club's west coast recruiting and operations manager Gary Buckenara to tell him he was a Hawk.
"I was over the moon and very happy and excited to go now," he said.
Stokes, who captained Territory Thunder at this year's nationals under-18 titles, flies out of Darwin today for his first look at the club and a chance to meet the players and coaching staff, including new Top End teammate and former St Marys player Cyril Rioli.
"I'll be down there for a week or so then come home for Christmas and go back in the New Year," he said.
In a twist, Stokes had already played his last game for Darwin after booking a holiday in Bali before moving to SANFL club Sturt.
"That's all changed now, I'm just pleased it's all happened so quickly after a quick chat with Gary Buckenara last weekend and now this."
Roughie
16 Dec 2007, 01:41
From reports it seems Stokes will be wearing number 45 this season.
Roughie
17 Dec 2007, 12:16
Also Cameron Stokes is currently living with Gary Moss. Maybe these two both could motivate eachother to impress the coaches as they both play similar roles.
Cheeseman
23 Dec 2007, 23:29
Cameron Stokes is my man for 2008, I look forward to bringing you his performance feedback from Box Hill next season, and will populate this thread with more information over the coming weeks and months.
I will however be away for the next 3 weeks, so don't think that I have forsaken this young talent, as I will be sure to get things sorted upon my return. :thumbsu:
Rusty, could you please remove the ?? from Cameron's thread title also please, it's unbecoming. :p
RustyHawk
24 Dec 2007, 00:31
Cameron Stokes is my man for 2008, I look forward to bringing you his performance feedback from Box Hill next season, and will populate this thread with more information over the coming weeks and months.
I will however be away for the next 3 weeks, so don't think that I have forsaken this young talent, as I will be sure to get things sorted upon my return. :thumbsu:
Rusty, could you please remove the ?? from Cameron's thread title also please, it's unbecoming. :p
Well done Cheeseman im sure you will do a great job reporting this young man's successes.
As for unbecoming? Well we cant have that now can we! Fixed.
I predict Stokes will have an instant impact and should get a game very early on in proceedings and start to dominate. It is puzzling that its taken so long for Hawthorn to recruit Darwin players but it will be great to watch them play the game.
It seems some Darwin boys of late have adapted very fast to the AFL; Alwyn Davey and Matty Stokes, Matthew Whelan , Aaron Davey have been permenant fixtures in their sides from day 1 and I believe this is why the hawks have started punting on some young raw talent, that surely will be part of the next period of domination. they will win a flaf in the next 1-3 years, most likely next 2 in a row.
Big Ronnie
24 Dec 2007, 20:35
Pick 32 is Cheeseman and he has taken the suprising selection in the Rookie Draft Cameron Stokes.
10 games 20 goals and we would all be stoked!
Br:thumbsu:
I have a footy jumper where he signed it with number 44. Is this right?
Word is he may be wearing 44 as the blokes around the club joke and call him platten now, so I guess we will find out?
Roughie
11 Jan 2008, 17:37
Stokes has cut around 30 seconds off his pre christmas time trial.
Cheeseman
8 Feb 2008, 15:17
Just found Cameron's management site, the following is a direct paste from said site, followed by some commentary by yours truly.
Cameron Stokes
D.O.B: 2 July 1989
Club: Hawthorn Honours: 2007 NAB AFL Draft Pick No. 54
Originally from Darwin, Cameron is a small midfielder who plays with tremendous passion. His U-18’s campaign for the Northern Territory Thunder in 2007 was outstanding, captaining the side he showed the football community that he was a hard working midfielder with the capability of being very creative in front of goals and had exceptional leadership qualities. As a result of his efforts in Darwin at U-18 level, Hawthorn looking to add depth to their small men brigade picked him up in the 2007 AFL Rookie Draft with their round 4 pick, 54 overall.
Cameron will be looking to develop his football abilities further in 2008, his versatility to play both in the midfield and as a crumbing forward will hold him in good stead for a possible senior appearance with the Hawks in 2008.
Intra club match
There are varying reports as to how many goals Stokesy scored in the game, one site says 2, but a reporter on SEN says 3, so we'll go with 3 for now. ;)
What is clear however, is that Cam impressed with his skills and pace, I will relay more information as it comes to hand, stay tuned for more concise and accurate updates. :D
IMPORTANT!
Cameron needs a nickname, Stokesy just doesn't do it for me, Roughnads, If you read this, let me know what he was called back home. "Unless it was freakin Stokesy :p "
Roughie
17 Feb 2008, 22:48
They call him Stoker ussually
Also just posting to let you know that Cameron Stokes took home the Darwin Buffalos b&f even though he played half the season for the club.
RustyHawk
24 Feb 2008, 09:47
From report entitled:Three Hawks reported
Author: Jen Witham
11:27 PM Sat 23 February, 2008
HAWTHORN coach Alastair Clarkson
Of the younger players, Cyril Rioli and rookie Cameron Stokes both caught the coach's eye, with Clarkson applauding the way the pair managed to fit in with the forward structure.
"They've both had real good blocks of training over the last three months since they've been at the club, and they apply a lot of forward line pressure, which is good," he said.
"It's not just about them getting their hands on the ball and kicking goals; they apply an enormous amount of pressure when the opposition does get the ball, and try and rebound it out.
"I was really pleased with the contribution those two guys made in particular, but our whole forward line with 'Buddy' and Mark Williams and Tim Boyle and Michael Osborne, and Hodgy (Luke Hodge) when he was down there early, applied a lot of pressure to the opposition, which was really good."
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
This is Cameron Stokes 2nd NAB Cup game in a row. Played the week before in Tassie against Sydney. Going well. It should be noted the Hawks can nominate 1 rookie for senior selection as the Hawks only have 1 veteran player. So far Stokes is the only Hawk Rookie to play in a NAB Cup game this season. Suckling, Walsh, Grima, Sandilands are the others.
Cheeseman
24 Feb 2008, 09:49
Jeez Rus, I'm still scanning articles, don't retrench me mate. :p
RustyHawk
24 Feb 2008, 09:49
The early reports showed Cameron Stokes would wear the number 45 jumper.
However
He has been honoured and upgraded to the number 44 guernsey which I think was last worn by 1 Mr. John Platten?
Cheeseman
1 Mar 2008, 20:55
With 14 posessions, including an exciting goal that came from his own pressure through an extended passage of play, Cam has shown why he was taken with a speculative rookie selection.
Amassing 6 tackles whilst showing some great defensive pressure, Stoker looks set to offer plenty to the Hawthorn side as the year goes forward.
Unfortunately, Cameron appeared to injure his arm/elbow in the second half, the extent of the injury is yet to be confirmed, but here's hoping the young lad recovers quickly, to assume a righful position in the senior side.
aaronm46
1 Mar 2008, 20:59
should muston have a serious knee injury, hed be elevated. no?
He definatly will, word is he is hands down first in line. He has such a hard worker and you see that in how he plays his footy. He has worked hard to get drafted, and has busted his ass and has taken every oppurtunity to the fullest to even get a shot in the NAB Cup games let alone being most likely to be elevated!
Cheeseman
2 Mar 2008, 07:48
Cameron is eligable for elevation prior to the season commencing due to the fact that we only have one listed veteran, The injury to Beau means that one of the other rookies may get a chance, Because I believe Stoker is a monty for the free spot anyay.
Cheeseman
21 Mar 2008, 16:10
In a massive show of confidence, Cameron Stokes has been named on the extended bench for round 1 against the Demons.
http://hawthornfc.com.au/tabid/4742/Default.aspx?newsid=56641
It would seem that Stokers efforts in the preseason have been rewarded with the honour of being added to the list proper for 2008.
Congratulations Cameron, do us proud mate. :thumbsu:
Cheeseman
23 Mar 2008, 21:22
Cameron grabbed his opportunity to shine today with both hands, and gave it one hell of a shake.
6 kicks, 4 handballs, 2 marks, 3 tackles and 2 goals later, Stoker has shown why he was picked to play today, and why he deserved a chance to line up in our beloved Brown and Gold.
I look forward to reporting much more feedback on Cam's AFL games this year, because at this rate, it may be a while before he needs the melways out to find City Oval.
Well done Stoker, you did great. :thumbsu:
Cheeseman
30 Mar 2008, 11:20
It's one thing to step out on debut and show some promise, but to back it up in your second outing against a much fancied Freo at Subiaco, is a fantastic way to continue what has become a meteoric rise for young Cameron Stokes.
From a speculative selection at 54 in the rookie draft of 07, to a pair of very solid performances in his debut season, Stokes is quickly becoming an integral part of the senior team.
9 kicks, 4 handballs, 5 marks, 1 goal and a brilliant defensive effort, laying 6 tackles, has seen Cameron once again put his case forward for continued selection in an impressive 2008 Hawthorn outfit.
Many would agree that Cameron has exceeded expectations, but with what has been on display from the young man, It's fair to say expectations have been raised.
Congratulations once again Cam, may you continue to do well. :thumbsu:
PS: 113 points in HS Supercoach makes him a handy get. ;)
Hawkamania!
5 Apr 2008, 05:14
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,23485654-19767,00.html
Another Hawk gem from the rookie mine
Mike Sheahan | April 05, 2008 12:00am
GARY Buckenara happily owns up. No, he didn't expect Cameron Stokes to win a place in the Hawthorn line-up.
Certainly not immediately, probably not this year, either.
"If I'm honest, I have to say 'no'," Buckenara said from Perth yesterday.
Buckenara, the four-time Hawthorn premiership player now responsible for the club's recruiting in Western Australia, South Australia and the Northern Territory, admits he thought Stokes would need an apprenticeship of two to three years.
No shame in that, though, the kid was a punt. Hawthorn took him at No. 54 in the rookie draft in December, which means 136 youngsters were preferred to him by 16 clubs in three draft sittings late last year.
The clubs selected 75 players in the national draft, then eight in the pre-season draft before turning their attention to the rookies, the back-up boys.
Stokes is yet more proof that the draft, despite all the reconnaissance and scientific data, retains its lottery element, that there are gems hidden all round the country, and that the rookie list is perhaps the most productive initiative of the past 20 years.
The little bloke (174cm) from the Northern Territory has made extraordinary progress.
Stokes, 18, got his opportunity earlier than expected when Hawthorn elevated him to the primary list after Danny Jacobs retired and Beau Muston went to the long-term injury list.
He won a spot in Hawthorn's NAB Cup team and now has played in the first two rounds of the premiership season, and with remarkable poise.
He has had 23 possessions, kicked three goals, and, almost as important, has laid nine tackles.
No one can remember a rookie taken so low starting at senior level in Round 1 of the next season.
"Normally, you're looking one, two, three years down the track," Buckenara said.
"He's got a hard little body (he played open-age rugby league in Darwin at 16), but we thought he would develop at (VFL affiliate) Box Hill and we'd see him come through in another couple of years."
Another Territorian, Cyril Rioli (taken at No. 12 in the national draft) was the one expected to have an instant impact, which he has done; Stokes has been a bonus.
As it happens, they were close friends growing up in Darwin before Rioli came to Melbourne as a boarder at Scotch College.
"They've been good for each other," Buckenara said. "Everyone has loved him (Stokes) from the moment he walked in the door."
What is even stranger about the lack of interest in Stokes at the draft is he was NT captain at last year's under-18 championships.
Buckenara explains. "He was a bit crook in the carnival, a bit fluey, and didn't really play that well.
"I decided to go back and watch him play in the local competition on a couple of weekends before the national draft. He was the best player by a mile in a terrible side.
"They (Darwin Buffalos) were getting belted every week in 35-40 degree heat, 100 per cent humidity, and he just kept doing all the right things."
Darwin won three of 18 games; Stokes won the best-and-fairest from just eight games.
"Then when he missed out in the draft (Hawthorn had only three selections), I went back another couple of times to watch him in the lead-up to the rookie draft.
"I told our people, 'The kid's got pace, he tackles well and he's got reasonable kicking skills'.
"He knew where to go to find the footy and he was prepared to chase and tackle, to put that defensive pressure on. He's a smart little player; he puts himself in the right positions.
"He comes from a good, supportive family (his father Steve played 230 games for the Buffalos). I knew he was only going to get better in our environment."
The Hawks successfully gambled on what they believed to be a lack of interest from elsewhere and left him until their final rookie draft selection.
"No one had spoken to him," Buckenara said.
"We thought we were pretty safe. The boy was disappointed about missing out at the national draft, but he was realistic, he knew he didn't have a great carnival.
"In the finish I said, 'I'm not going to guarantee we're going to pick you. I like what I've seen, but don't sit by the radio or internet waiting to hear your name'.
"You don't want to build their hopes up too high."
Stokes, who will play his third game today against North Melbourne, already has exceeded Hawthorn's hopes.
Cheeseman
16 Jul 2008, 19:37
I dropped into Waverly today to purchase a new Hawks cap, and who do you think was standing out the front waiting fro a lift as I left? :eek:
I walked up to Cameron, said gday and shook his hand.
The thing that struck me instantly was his warmth, such a lovely young bloke, open and easy going.
I asked him how his hammy was, and told him I was at the game when it happened, and that I was shattered when I saw him pull up.
I then mentioned to him that a select number of Hawks supporters on Bigfooty had a chance to nominate players as "My Man" for the season, and write reports about their games and development, I then said "and guess what mate? you're my man" :D
He was genuinely surprised and clearly chuffed that someone had him earmarked as a worthy topic, and his smile was worth a million bucks to me. :)
I let him be, as I had work to do, but he told me to take care, and waved as I drove off, what a ripping lad. :thumbsu:
I've been a little slack this year on my reports, but the fire has been rekindled, and this young man deserves every bit of exposure he can get.
Coming soon: More good shit from yours truly. ;)
Cheeseman
26 Jul 2008, 11:47
Stokes in for crucial clash
HAWTHORN football manager Mark Evans has praised young forward Cameron Stokes, whose performances in the VFL have earned him a place in the senior side for this Friday night's blockbuster clash against the Cats at the MCG.
See link for full article.
http://hawthornfc.com.au/tabid/4742/Default.aspx?newsid=64117
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
With just 4 kicks, 3 handballs and 2 marks, it would be easy to dismiss Cameron's performance last night as indifferent, but laying 9 tackles balances the ledger somewhat.
Combined with Junior Boy, the 2 young recruits for the Hawks showed why they deserve their place in the side, combining for a massive 17 tackles last night.
Well done Stoker, it's the defensive pressure that he applies that makes him a worthy addition to a strengthening Hawthorn side.
P.S: Just bought a new guernsey this week, 44 will be on it by next weekend. :thumbsu:
MisterBean
26 Jul 2008, 19:10
His tackling pressure to keep the ball in our forward line is crucial, because our main strengths are forward of centre.
I hardly noticed him, because he didn't rack up a heap of possessions, but 9 tackles in a game for a forward is a great achievement, especially given he is a rookie playing against the best defence in the competition.
Cheeseman
25 Aug 2008, 22:44
With 14 touches, 8 marks, 4 tackles and a goal, Cameron continues to push for a permanent spot in Hawthorn's starting 22.
With 8 games under his belt in his debut season, Stoker averages 10.5 disposals, 3 marks, 3.9 tackles, .8 goals, .9 clearances, 2.9 1%ers and 1 inside 50 per game.
Whilst that may not seem like a massive contribution, his statistics are remarkably similar to Leon Davis of Collingwood, falling short by half a goal and 1 touch, but surpassing him in tackles.
http://finalsiren.com/PlayerCompare.asp?SeasonID=&Compare=Go&PlayerName1=Cameron+stokes&PlayerName2=leon+davis&PlayerName3=&PlayerName4=&SelectedPlayers=
Anyway you look at it, Cameron Stokes has been a revelation as a speculative rookie draft pick.
May he continue to contribute for many years to come at Hawthorn. :thumbsu:
RustyHawk
5 Sep 2008, 19:21
Cameron Stokes plays his first finals for Hawthorn being a late inclusion for Stephen Gilham in the 2nd Qualifying final played Friday 05.09.08 at the M.C.G.
Well done Cameron :thumbsu:
RustyHawk
18 Sep 2008, 17:48
Cameron Stokes has been omitted from the Preliminary Final team against St Kilda to be played Saturday 20.09.08 at the M.C.G.
Stokes suffered hamstring tightness in his first final 2 weeks ago and was unable to convince the selectors he is ready to go this weekend. Stokes has been replaced in the team by Xavier Ellis.
Cheeseman
4 Oct 2008, 16:02
After being selected late in the rookie draft, Cameron went on to play some signifigant games in his debut year, for what would end up becoming, a Premiership winning team.
Totalling nine senior sppearances for the year, Stokes is now well aware of what it takes to gain a regular berth in 2009, taking into account his games played, and age, it would be fair to say Cameron will be looking at a rising star nomination some time next year. ;)
Cameron Stokes has been a shrewd selection for Hawthorn, and I have no doubt that after tasting the sweet success of a Premiership as a listed player for Hawthorn, he will continue to do whatever it takes to get a chance to play in our next one.
Thanks for repaying the faith Stoker, a fine young man, and the makings of a fine footballer. :thumbsu: