View Full Version : #22 Rhyce Shaw
http://i269.photobucket.com/albums/jj61/skeetzr/rhycecfc1.jpg
Fast Facts (from cfc website)
Jumper No: 22
Height: 180cm
Weight: 84kg
DOB: 16 October 1981
Recruited From: Diamond Creek/Preston U18 (VIC)
Career Matches: 74
Career Goals: 15 (career matches/goals at the end of the 2007 season)
2007 Home & Away Totals
Matches: 14
Goals: 3
Marks: 83
Disposals: 242
Kicks: 165
Sounds super fit at the moment.I hope he returns to top form and some, then cements a spot in our top 22.
Looking back at some old records and he's put on 15kg since being drafted.:thumbsu::thumbsu:
Optimax
22 Jan 2008, 10:58
recovered from Glandular fever and chronic fatigue syndrome, then some stupid bagging by the collingwood faithful and still give a 100% hope he gets back into the starting line up in round 1
Shaw senior all set for a big '08
4:27 PM Sun 3 February, 2008 | BACK
Nick Hulett in Potchefstroom
Exclusive to collingwoodfc.com.au
CTV in South Africa > Rhyce Shaw interview
Rhyce Shaw has used his first ever full pre-season to thrive on the South African training camp, culminating in an excellent showing in Saturday's intra-club practice match.
Shaw, 26, has played 74 matches in eight seasons, with his career littered with impressive patches of form, but also some serious injuries which always seem to cut him down just as he appears set to establish himself as a Magpie star.
In 2005 a mid-season knee reconstruction kept the older brother of Magpie defender Heath out for 12 months, then last year Shaw put in an extremely productive first half of the season before a severe hamstrinng injury cut him down.
Shaw spoke to CTV after Saturday's intense hitout in Potchefstroom, the final match preparation before next weekend's pre-season cup match against Adelaide in Dubai. He was one of the standouts playing as a midfielder, covering plenty of ground and showing an abundance of trademark dash and carry.
"For the first time I've got through a pre-season without any injuries, so that's a good start. I'm fit, I've lost a bit of weight, and I'm running pretty well," Shaw said.
"We really did need that hitout. The boys have been training really hard, the intensity out there was pretty good, the hits were pretty hard, I think we're in pretty good stead for next week.
"It was a good hitout. It's been pretty tough over here, we've hit the ground running and we're doing alright."
With the players having been put through two weeks of demanding training at altitude, Shaw says they have appeciated the opportunity to mix training with experiencing a very foreign culture, with the very warm weather an added bonus.
"It's a bit different to Arizona with the weather, it's hot every single day.
"We've really enjoyed it, we've done a few things that not many people get the chance to do, so we're really happy.
"It's one of those steps towards another good year for the club, so we'll make sure we take that into Adelaide and play really well."
Collingwood has now completed two intra-club practice matches in the lead up to the pre-season cup match in Dubai, and one young player who was drafted at the end of last year has caught Shaw's eye.
"Johnny McCarthy's done really well, he's got the body for it.
"I think he could step straight in if he really put his mind to it, but I know Mick and the coaching staff like to look after young players a little bit, bu I think he's one that might step up this year and play a few games."
Collingwood will travel from South Africa to Dubai on Thursday, then take on the Crows at the Ghantoot Polo Club on Saturday. The match will commence at 1:45pm local time, with the match being televised live back into Melbourne from 8:30pm.
Snag Breac
4 Feb 2008, 11:07
Shaw senior all set for a big '08
4:27 PM Sun 3 February, 2008 | BACK
Nick Hulett in Potchefstroom
Exclusive to collingwoodfc.com.au
CTV in South Africa > Rhyce Shaw interview
Rhyce Shaw has used his first ever full pre-season to thrive on the South African training camp, culminating in an excellent showing in Saturday's intra-club practice match.
Shaw, 26, has played 74 matches in eight seasons, with his career littered with impressive patches of form, but also some serious injuries which always seem to cut him down just as he appears set to establish himself as a Magpie star.
In 2005 a mid-season knee reconstruction kept the older brother of Magpie defender Heath out for 12 months, then last year Shaw put in an extremely productive first half of the season before a severe hamstrinng injury cut him down.
Shaw spoke to CTV after Saturday's intense hitout in Potchefstroom, the final match preparation before next weekend's pre-season cup match against Adelaide in Dubai. He was one of the standouts playing as a midfielder, covering plenty of ground and showing an abundance of trademark dash and carry.
"For the first time I've got through a pre-season without any injuries, so that's a good start. I'm fit, I've lost a bit of weight, and I'm running pretty well," Shaw said.
"We really did need that hitout. The boys have been training really hard, the intensity out there was pretty good, the hits were pretty hard, I think we're in pretty good stead for next week.
"It was a good hitout. It's been pretty tough over here, we've hit the ground running and we're doing alright."
With the players having been put through two weeks of demanding training at altitude, Shaw says they have appeciated the opportunity to mix training with experiencing a very foreign culture, with the very warm weather an added bonus.
"It's a bit different to Arizona with the weather, it's hot every single day.
"We've really enjoyed it, we've done a few things that not many people get the chance to do, so we're really happy.
"It's one of those steps towards another good year for the club, so we'll make sure we take that into Adelaide and play really well."
Collingwood has now completed two intra-club practice matches in the lead up to the pre-season cup match in Dubai, and one young player who was drafted at the end of last year has caught Shaw's eye.
"Johnny McCarthy's done really well, he's got the body for it.
"I think he could step straight in if he really put his mind to it, but I know Mick and the coaching staff like to look after young players a little bit, bu I think he's one that might step up this year and play a few games."
Collingwood will travel from South Africa to Dubai on Thursday, then take on the Crows at the Ghantoot Polo Club on Saturday. The match will commence at 1:45pm local time, with the match being televised live back into Melbourne from 8:30pm.
http://i30.tinypic.com/ot3jon.jpg
A interesting article that gives a good insight into the effect of injuries and a player's career. I've seen Rhyce several times at training and he's always looked very fit. Hope this is his year. Won't be long now......
MagpieGirl_13
4 Feb 2008, 17:22
http://i30.tinypic.com/ot3jon.jpg
A interesting article that gives a good insight into the effect of injuries and a player's career. I've seen Rhyce several times at training and he's always looked very fit. Hope this is his year. Won't be long now......
Is it just me or is there some sort of purple 'glow' around Shaw in the picture?
Something paronormal perhaps? or just showing how.... good he is? or is it just a glitch in the picture? or just me? lol:)
Is it just me or is there some sort of purple 'glow' around Shaw in the picture?
Something paronormal perhaps? or just showing how.... good he is? or is it just a glitch in the picture? or just me? lol:)
flash on the white short looks awesome though
Well I've just finished watching the NAB Cup opener. Rhyce got a fait amount of the ball, seemed to be in the right place a lot of the time. From memory he had 24 possies, which was second only behind his little bro. Speaking of which, Heath seemed to look for Rhyce a fair bit during the game, sometimes kicking to him when it clearly wasn't the best option. Same went for Rhyce, who always seemed on the look out for an opportunity to pass it to Heath.
That said, I was very dissapointed with Shaw's disposal tonight. Some woeful kicking (I'm sure he can't blame it all on the wind), and equally terrible hospital handpasses. His decision making was just awful at stages, but somehow he kept being in the right place at the right time and continued to recieve a lot of the ball. I think I saw him lay a couple of tackles, but nothing special. He really didn't look like a player that is truly playing for his career this season. If he continues this way during the pre-season, then he very well may be dropped before the season proper, and that would put a huge dent in his chances for this year if he has to start out by fighting his way back in to the side.
The only positives were
A) As I've already said, he did seem to be on the end of a lot of handpasses etc..
B) The last half was much better than the first half. He actually hit a couple of targets by foot, and didn't kick it 35 metres backwards just so he could pass it to Heath.
From all reports Rhyce has done quite well in all the practise matches. He has been named in the "bests" a couple of times too! This is exactly what we need this year I reckon. A few (if not all) of the mid aged players to stand up. Benny Johnson, Rhycey, Brodes etc etc.
http://i269.photobucket.com/albums/jj61/skeetzr/62501.jpg
http://i269.photobucket.com/albums/jj61/skeetzr/67547.jpg
http://i269.photobucket.com/albums/jj61/skeetzr/67542.jpg
Rhyce is in great form... he's in for a big year. This photo says it all... No surrender Rhyce.
Very good start for Rhyce. Worked very hard, and was fantastic bar one or two shonks. Really believe he belongs in our best 22, class player :thumbsu:I think too many people hold a grudge against him for Brisbane GF and the odd poor disposal - go Rhyce !! :D
As he did last week, Rhyce played his role well.
He had around 20 possies again, and has cleaned up his disposal dramatically since the Dubai match.
Some good tackling and hard running. He is really trying his heart out.
For Rhycey, he has been on the list for 7 years now, and only has about 75 games to his name. As we have all been saying, this really is his make or break year.
The first 2 games have seen him solidly contributing, without being an absolute standout. This is all we need from him. His hard running out of the HB line and along the wings is very useful.
Keep it up Rhycey!!!
Stats from the first 2 rounds:
Round K H M FF FA T G B
1..... 16 6 7. 0.. 0. 2. 0 0
2..... 11 8 4. 0.. 2. 4. 0 0
Taken from CFC site
Rhyce Shaw
Has enjoyed a fine start to the year, combining his new run-with role with his ball-winning ability and pace and carry through the midfield. Has taken on Josh Carr and Simon Black admirably, and after three rounds has the third-most total possessions of any Magpie (67), and the third most clearances (10). Is fifth for tackles (10), and has pumped the ball inside 50 on 11 occasions, highlighting his ability to combine excellent offensive and defensive play.
Rhycey played his heart out in the first half today. Second efforts, tackling, clearances around stoppages, Rhyce did it all. His disposal is 100x better than it's ever been. He even got a couple of spoils in. Unfortunatly he was rarely sighted in the second half, but I really feel that he kept us right in the game through the first half. I don't think Brent Harvey had his usual impact on a game. Rhycey was given a stopping job against him, but still managed to find plenty of possies for himself.
An excellent pass to big Josh in the forward 50 as well.
Shame he didn't keep it up in the second half though.
9/10 first half
5/10 second half IMO.
Snag Breac
21 Apr 2008, 12:50
Rhyce seems to be going from strength to strength. If he faded as the match wore one, he was probably dragged down by all those players who didn't fire in the first place.
http://i26.tinypic.com/2woeg45.jpg
Optimax
21 Apr 2008, 20:14
Rhyce seems to be going from strength to strength. If he faded as the match wore one, he was probably dragged down by all those players who didn't fire in the first place.
http://i26.tinypic.com/2woeg45.jpg
Killed harvey in the first half and then when the rest of the team got complacement and stopped helping poor rhyce started to struggle to keep a great player down
TRAVCLOKE#32
22 Apr 2008, 20:09
Does anybody know where i could find a picture of Rhyce celebrating his goal on the weekend?
Optimax
23 Apr 2008, 12:35
skeetz if you really want to give up rhyce due to stress ill cover for you and if you feel like you want him back ill hand him back over mate
yeah thanks opti, but I think I may have been a bit premature.
I'll see how I go this week, but I work so hard all week and I'm sick of having my fking weekends ruined because of fking football. I'll try harder to tone it down and not care quite so much :D
thanks mate
edit: Snag gave me a good talking to, and that really helped also :D
http://i269.photobucket.com/albums/jj61/skeetzr/136636-1.jpg
http://i269.photobucket.com/albums/jj61/skeetzr/rd1-1.jpg
http://i269.photobucket.com/albums/jj61/skeetzr/rd1-3.jpg
http://i269.photobucket.com/albums/jj61/skeetzr/rd3-1.jpg
You little ripper Rhycey! Never give up mate :D
OK I started a new job recently, and have been neglecting my duties!
Here are some juicy stats:
Round by round 2008:
http://i269.photobucket.com/albums/jj61/skeetzr/rhycelog.jpg
Averages 2008:
http://i269.photobucket.com/albums/jj61/skeetzr/rhycelog2.jpg
Here are some stunning stats!:
Rhycey is ranked 17th in Total Inside 50s, ranked 13th in Total Kicks, ranked 5th in Total Marks, ranked 20th in Kicks Per Game, ranked 9th in Marks Per Game for the AFL!!
And for our wonderful club he is ranked 4th for Kicks, 4th for Handballs, 5th for Disposals, 4th for Tackles, and an amazing 1ST FOR MARKS!
Rhyce is having a ripper year, solidly contributing in each and every match. His disposal has cleaned up nicely and he is averaging more tackles per game than in any other season.
http://i269.photobucket.com/albums/jj61/skeetzr/rhyce1.jpg
http://i269.photobucket.com/albums/jj61/skeetzr/rhyce2.jpg
http://i269.photobucket.com/albums/jj61/skeetzr/rhyce4.jpg
http://i269.photobucket.com/albums/jj61/skeetzr/rhyce5.jpg
Hmm it seems I missed this article, an interview with Racer by Jennifer Whitham on the 23rd of May:
THE END of Nathan Buckley's and Paul Licuria's senior careers may have signalled the rebirth of Rhyce Shaw as a player.
Since the once-potent midfield duo farewelled the Lexus Centre at the end of last year, Shaw has been pushed out of his familiar surroundings at half back into the more demanding midfield.
It's something that seems to agree with Shaw. Having been rotated as a run-with option on players such as Josh Carr, Simon Black, Chris Judd and Brent Harvey, it also appears it's something that agrees with the coaching staff.
"It's been good to get an opportunity," Shaw said of his push into the middle.
"A few spots opened up with Licca and Bucks moving on, but it's been good. I think the chemistry in there has been working pretty well.
"It's been pretty hard because we've played a few hard games, but we're starting to get there at the moment.
"Hopefully we can play consistent footy over a full game."
This week vice-captain Josh Fraser said the playing group was feeling fatigued after an arduous pre-season spent touring South Africa and playing a match in Dubai.
Shaw agreed with the ruckman's sentiments, but believed trying to apply the Magpies' usual high-intensity brand of football was more to blame for their lethargy.
"It's been pretty tough but with the nature of the way we play our footy, it's always going to be pretty hard," he said.
"One on one footy is the way we want to go, so that's just the way it is. The closer the games are, the harder it is to get up.
"But as we get further into the season, blokes will open up so it will really help out."
On Friday Shaw will run out for his fourth Anzac Day appearance. Having been a part of the spectacle that is expected to attract more than 90,000 fans before, the 26-year-old knows how incredible the experience of playing on that stage is.
"It's really important. It's a pretty special day not only for the Collingwood and Essendon footy clubs, but it's a special day for everyone," he said.
"To get the opportunity to play on that day and go out there and represent a team like the Diggers represented us – it's pretty special. We hold it pretty highly."
Fraser, who has played in seven of the 13 Anzac Day fixtures, believes the match plays second fiddle to the true meaning of the day.
"It's two separate occasions," he said.
"The team itself is separate to the Anzac Day tradition, and it gives us an opportunity to reflect a little bit and thank those that have gone before us.
"When the ball is bounced we're looking forward to playing a pretty hard-fought match and we need the four points, so we'll certainly be honouring the Anzacs the best we can, but also looking forward to a good hit-out."
link (http://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/Season2008/News1/NewsArticle/TabId/5586/default.aspx?newsId=58403)
Judging by the amount of Inside 50's Rhyce has when compared to Rebound 50's, it's obvious that he is spending much more time further up the ground. He also has piles of marks, so it is obvious that he is being used as a link man across the midfield. It works well for us because we don't really use the corridor, so Racer is always floating around between the arcs waiting to link some guys up and provide backup.
Nice work Buddy!
The way he was breaking the lines against the Eagles was great to see. Been having a great year. :thumbsu:
OK unfortunatly I am going to be quite busy for the rest of the year, so I won't be able to update super often. But I will try my best to do it when I get time.
Rhyce's consistency hasn't dropped one iota this year. We are half way through the season, and I can't point to any one of his games and say "gee that was a dirty day".
It really wouldn't surprise me to see Racer coming in at second in the Copeland, just behind the little master Medhurst.
He is doing solid jobs on the opposition's stars week in, week out. Yet he is still averaging 22 disposals himself. He is also still sitting at 6th in the league for total marks, which highlights his ability to play a stopping role, but still be able to sneak off and find space.
His blistering speed has been invaluable to the team this year....if ONLY he could bag some of the shots from outside 50 that he has each week!!! His field kicking is perfectly acceptable, but if he is going to continue to play a bit of that Lonie role, of sweeping past and calling for the handball just outside 50, he really needs to work on his accuracy at that range.
Super effort against the Blues, holding the "Juddernaut" well for most of the game. 19 disposals, 6 tackles. I'm pretty sure Judd had sweet FA of the ball up until half time, and Racer was taken off him around that time for some reason.
Against the Bullies, Rhycey had a fair bit of the ball again. He was all over it in the first Q, having 4 scoring shots! But, alas, only one of them sailed through, which ended up costing us as we crumbled with injury and couldn't hold onto our lead for long enough.
http://i269.photobucket.com/albums/jj61/skeetzr/153248.jpg
http://i269.photobucket.com/albums/jj61/skeetzr/153264.jpg