View Full Version : No. 33 - Bradley Dick

Dazman
12 Dec 2007, 23:34
Brad 'Dicky' Dick

http://img105.imageshack.us/img105/927/dickyjh1.jpg (http://imageshack.us) http://img105.imageshack.us/img105/9919/dick070417rf4.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

Dick arrived at the club in the 2006 national draft, selected with a third round pick.

He played seniors last season which was a great effort with the size he carried last year. He didn't get a lot of the footy but he showed blistering pace, good skills and was smart around goals. The best trait he showed throughout 2007 for mine was his determination and it's this determination that made me pick him up as a buddy as I see him really pushing into the senior side and becoming a regular and one that is exciting to watch at that.

From CFC website:

Brad Dick
Fast Facts

Jumper No: 33

Height: 182cm

Weight: 74kg

DOB: 25 July 1988

Recruited From: East Fremantle (WA)

Career Matches: 6

Career Goals: 4 (career matches/goals at the end of the 2007 season)

About
Creative player who wins plenty of the ball and has good disposal skills under pressure. Extremely quick, and a WA U18 representative in 2006.

Records
Draft History
2006 AFL Draft 3rd round selection (Collingwood) No. 44 overall

Debut
Round 3, 2007 v Richmond @ MCG

http://img523.imageshack.us/img523/2104/dicky1wk7.jpg (http://imageshack.us) http://img528.imageshack.us/img528/682/dickxh7.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

Dazman
12 Dec 2007, 23:41
I found a very nice quote from our very own Optimax in his training report that I thought would go nicely here.

The guys are doing ball work and most of what i saw hit the target, whenm dick plays if he gets the ball forward of centre he'll either kick a goal or hit a forward lace out his kicking is that exceptional. On both feet i might add.

The boys gonna be player

Optimax
13 Dec 2007, 07:32
The kid is lighting fast, he is still very small and id love it if he would just get locked into the weiths room for a month, but he could get picked with just his foot skills alone they are fantastic

Skade
7 Jan 2008, 20:14
The kid is lighting fast, he is still very small and id love it if he would just get locked into the weiths room for a month, but he could get picked with just his foot skills alone they are fantastic

Does anyone now if he's put on any beef?

Optimax
7 Jan 2008, 20:17
Does anyone now if he's put on any beef?

put on weight see the brown thread for th pic i man he is in their but he is still small and still struggles with the wieghts they have to carry

Mansons Haircut
7 Jan 2008, 21:13
Recent photos compared to last year show he is at least capable of putting weight on. I think his body shape is ok looks like it can hold the muscle if he does the work. Good height as well makes him a very exciting prospect IMO.

Do you see him being a natural mid or staying as FP/HFF?

Skade
8 Jan 2008, 05:49
put on weight see the brown thread for th pic i man he is in their but he is still small and still struggles with the wieghts they have to carry

Is there anywhere you can look at updated heights and weights for our players

smiddaz123
8 Jan 2008, 08:09
To be honest, if he just plays on a HFF flank, weight isn't a massive deal. Plenty of speedy forward pocket/flankers have a positive effect on games while being skinny, Leon did before he put on the kilos didn't he?

The good thing with Dick is that he doesn't require both weight AND ball work, since the latter is pretty much up to scratch.

I reckon he'll play 10-15 games in 2008, and either Medhurst or Davis will be REALLY under the pump come 2009.

Dazman
10 Jan 2008, 18:20
Just a link to the topic about Dicky's foot skills that I thought might be handy in here to look at over the season.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=406314

Dazman
10 Jan 2008, 18:24
To be honest, if he just plays on a HFF flank, weight isn't a massive deal. Plenty of speedy forward pocket/flankers have a positive effect on games while being skinny, Leon did before he put on the kilos didn't he?

The good thing with Dick is that he doesn't require both weight AND ball work, since the latter is pretty much up to scratch.

I reckon he'll play 10-15 games in 2008, and either Medhurst or Davis will be REALLY under the pump come 2009.

Agree with all that completely. 10-15 would be a natural progression from how many games he played in 2007 and no doubt thats what he is aiming for.

Has supreme skills just needs a little bit of hardness to ride the contests and win some of his own ball, but having pace as his primary weapon means its not as important as it is for players in different areas of the ground.

I really wanna see this kid be our link man into the forward line as he is just a great judge of distance and height when kicking to a man on the lead. Dicky will be Rusling's best friend IMO.

lenny&carl
16 Jan 2008, 18:44
Apparently Brad Foot has incredible dick skills.

Skade
16 Jan 2008, 19:57
Apparently Brad Foot has incredible dick skills.

You two petticoats are obviously jealous.:rolleyes:

Skade
22 Jan 2008, 10:49

I looked back at Leons weight when drafted and he was only 68kg he's put on 11kg, but what surprised me was Rhyce was only 69kg and 181cm, so he's put on 15kg:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Optimax
22 Jan 2008, 10:55
I looked back at Leons weight when drafted and he was only 68kg he's put on 11kg, but what surprised me was Rhyce was only 69kg and 181cm, so he's put on 15kg:thumbsu::thumbsu:
rhyce was still recovering from glandular fever so his weight was massively diminished at that stage, reall if brad can get to leons weight now we would be super happy

Dazman
10 Feb 2008, 18:49
Re: Nab Cup round 1 v Adelaide

Didn't see the whole game but what I did see of Dick was disappoinitng. Where were those footskills?

smiddaz123
10 Feb 2008, 20:25
He was pretty poor. I was disappointed.

dooda
10 Feb 2008, 20:50
I was sitting watching it with a mate. I was sitting there going Dicky will hit this **** on the chest. Time after time i was forced to eat my own words.

didaka
10 Feb 2008, 22:28
He was pretty poor. I was disappointed.

Ok maybe he didn't have an influence on the game, but the chasing and work rate was there, and the willingness to try and hunt down the ball carriers running out of defence.

He looked good running out of the center moving forward on a couple of occasion, but the wind took hold of the footy, and lets be honest, the conditions did have an impact on the skills, and there wern't a lot a crumbs for Dicky or any other small forward to swoop on, and with no system in the forward line it does make a small forwards day pretty tough.

He'll be a good player with a few more pre-seasons under his belt.

I don't think we'll see him have a real impact until 2010.

Snag Breac
11 Feb 2008, 12:54
Ok maybe he didn't have an influence on the game, but the chasing and work rate was there, and the willingness to try and hunt down the ball carriers running out of defence.

He looked good running out of the center moving forward on a couple of occasion, but the wind took hold of the footy, and lets be honest, the conditions did have an impact on the skills, and there wern't a lot a crumbs for Dicky or any other small forward to swoop on, and with no system in the forward line it does make a small forwards day pretty tough.

He'll be a good player with a few more pre-seasons under his belt.

I don't think we'll see him have a real impact until 2010.

A good, thoughtful summary. All Brad's glory days are before him.:)

Dazman
25 Feb 2008, 21:15
Terrible news confirmed today. Was really excited about what Brad could offer us this year despite not showing much in Dubai.

I wish him the best in his recovery and rehabilitation.

This also leaves me buddy-less :(

Skade
13 Jul 2008, 10:23
Any progress report??

Has he put on any beef. Grown some big guns ??

unplugged
13 Jul 2008, 14:06
Any progress report??

Has he put on any beef. Grown some big guns ??

I'm sure on an episode of the Black & White show or something, one of the guys mentioned him and said he'd put on a bit of weight. I can't remember how much he weighs now though. Someone can probably confirm it.

dima17
2 Oct 2008, 21:17
i love this kid. he could very well do what cyril did this year for hawthorn if he stays fit. he reminds me of a young leon except hes got abit more class, composure and height than what leon did at the same age. he however doesnt in my opinion have the flair or magic that leon had at the same age. hope he gets fit