View Full Version : Commonwealth Bank Chappell-Hadlee Series Game 1: Australia v New Zealand @ Adelaide (Fri D/N)
Russian
13 Dec 2007, 17:06
http://img411.imageshack.us/img411/4404/bankchaphador9.png
http://img132.imageshack.us/img132/4149/aus8ir.gif vs http://img440.imageshack.us/img440/3180/nzl5ka.gif
Adelaide Oval
1:45pm Friday December 14
The Kiwis have only beaten Australia in international cricket nine times this century, but they like this series with a 5-3 advantage including the a whitewash of their home series earlier this year where after skittling Australia for under 150 in game 1, they chased down 336 and 346 in the other two. Gilchrist, Ponting, Clarke, Symonds and Lee all sat out that series, while the Kiwis are without their best two batsmen (on averages) from that series (injured Fulton and retired McMillan) and the injured Shane Bond who’s made a habit of knocking over the Aussies cheaply with 40 wickets at 19 in 14 international matches.
Australia come in off a comfortable 4-2 victory in India, and an unbeaten run in the World Cup before that, with everyone except Hodge and Bracken having a successful tour. The Kiwis lost to South Africa 2-1, but were competitive mainly thanks to late inclusions Sinclair and How who made 286 from four dismissals, and Mills who took 9/102. Ross Taylor started with a bang but struggled in the West Indies and South Africa, and may be under pressure from Fulton and Cumming soon.
Shaun Tait comes into the squad that went to India in place of Stuart Clark who hasn’t got much of a go in the last two tournaments, but whichever bowler misses out on a spot in the XI will be very unlucky – Brett Lee didn’t play the World Cup and didn’t have a great tour of India, but we know it won’t be him, Johnson was the best bowler in India and the other two were the best World Cup bowlers with Tait and McGrath. James Hopes and Brad Haddin may be the two to miss out. For New Zealand it’s likely to be backup keeper Hopkins, and pacemen Michael Mason and Chris Martin who miss out, with Oram at 7 to complete a powerful batting lineup before bowling first change.
Australia XIII:
+Adam Gilchrist, Matthew Hayden, *Ricky Ponting, Michael Clarke, Andrew Symonds, Michael Hussey, Brad Haddin, James Hopes, Brad Hogg, Brett Lee, Mitchell Johnson, Nathan Bracken, Shaun Tait
New Zealand XIV:
Lou Vincent, +Brendon McCullum, Jamie How, Ross Taylor, Scott Styris, Matthew Sinclair, Jacob Oram, Gareth Hopkins, *Daniel Vettori, Kyle Mills, Mark Gillespie, Michael Mason, Jeetan Patel, Chris Martin
Umpires:
Mark Benson (England), Steve Davis (Australia)
Weather:
Warm day with an afternoon not too wet change, low 30s before the change then mid 20s
Radar (http://www.bom.gov.au/products/IDR643.loop.shtml)
http://www.bom.gov.au/radar/IDR643.gif
Session Times:
First innings: 1:45-5:15pm
Second innings: 6:00-9:30pm
(Gates open 11am)
Coverage:
http://img129.imageshack.us/img129/9092/99na.gif – live from 2pm AEDT, delayed from 2pm in Perth, ends at 4pm in Adelaide
http://img388.imageshack.us/img388/4852/2jl4.gif – on local radio from 2pm AEDT (online Real (http://blogs.abc.net.au/grandstand/cricket/) Windows (http://blogs.abc.net.au/grandstand/cricket/))
Cricinfo (http://content-aus.cricinfo.com/ci/content/match/fixtures/live.html)
Cricket Australia (http://ls.cricket.com.au/HomeFullScorecard41_1100_1.html)
Tickets:
Hill
Adults - $35
Concession - $27
Children - $16
Family - $78
Seats
Adults - $48
Concession - $42
Children - $32
Family - $112
Chappell Stand
Adults/Concession - $68
Children - $50
Betting:
Australia - $1.25
New Zealand - $3.75
Australia Most Runs
Ponting - $4
Hayden - $4.25
Gilchrist - $4.50
Hussey - $6.50
Clarke - $6.50
Symonds - $6.50
Haddin - $9
Hopes - $17
Hogg - $51
Lee - $67
Johnson - $151
Bracken - $151
Tait - $251
New Zealand Most Runs
McCullum - $5
Styris - $5
Vincent - $5.50
Taylor - $5.50
How - $6.50
Oram - $6.50
Sinclair - $7.50
Hopkins - $17
Vettori - $31
Mills - $51
Gillespie - $101
Mason - $151
Patel - $151
Martin - $251
http://img237.imageshack.us/img237/2811/tabln1.gif
The Majestic
13 Dec 2007, 17:47
I don't think there will be many pulling for New Zealand after their Twenty20 effort, hopfully for them they are better over 50. I am still going Australia though.
TorresIsGod
13 Dec 2007, 19:47
Gilchrist
Hayden
Ponting
Symonds
Clarke
Hussey
Haddin
Hogg
Lee
Bracken
Tait
Haddin had a fantastic tour of India, despite being unfairly losing his place when Ponting got fit again, despite Hodge keeping his spot when he was having a piss-poor tour..
Don't see why Haddin won't play here, we've got the 4 bowlers, plus Symonds or Clarke to bowl the other 10, will be too strong for New Zealand, if things don't go well in this match, Hopes can always bat 7 and bowl some handy overs too, and Mitchell Johnson unlucky to miss out but if needed, will be raring to go..
Vincent
McCullum
How
Taylor
Styris
Sinclair
Oram
Vettori
Mills
Gillespie
Mason
I don't think they'll play two spinners in Adelaide, I think Dave (Patel) will miss out, unfortunate for him, but I think it's better for their balance if they take in 3 out and out pace bowlers, plus Oram, then the spin of Dan Vettori and the slow medium pacers of Styris if needed...
Overall, I think Australia will win comfortably, but hopefully New Zealand put up some sort of fight.
just out of interest when is the second game?
fightingdreamer88
14 Dec 2007, 08:54
Am I the only one who doesn't think that much of Bracken?
nope i dont like him either!!!
Paralowiepower
14 Dec 2007, 09:14
Gee it's not cheap to go to the cricket anymore.
bigpapagman
14 Dec 2007, 09:32
i love a good left armer.
Scotland
14 Dec 2007, 10:56
71 matches, 116 wickets @ 22.27, with a strike rate of 30.4 and an economy rate of 4.4 runs per over.
I don't think much of his hairstyle, but his bowling numbers are exemplary.
roostersgal4eva
14 Dec 2007, 10:58
Kiwis are to find out why you dont get a fast bowler fired up
roostersgal4eva
14 Dec 2007, 10:58
71 matches, 116 wickets @ 22.27, with a strike rate of 30.4 and an economy rate of 4.4 runs per over.
I agree with that - should be in the ODI team really
BABYBOMBERS2007
14 Dec 2007, 11:00
What a close poll. 28-0. :thumbsu:
Yeah, the average memory of some BF posters is still about a week. Bracken's one day record is superb.
And DC if Symonds and Clarke are our 5th bowler Oram could smack another 100 off 60. They'll play 5 of Lee, Bracken, Johnson, Tait, Hogg and Hopes. With no Bond to worry about our batting depth is strong enough. I'd tip Hopes to play #7 and maybe Lee will be the one to miss if he's still crook.
Bloods boy from the Bush
14 Dec 2007, 11:20
Word around is Lee in unlikley and given the bowling strength around him I'd expect he will miss this one and play the final two. Hopes should get the spot given what Oram could do to a part time 5th bowler although he could do that to just about anyone.
bigpapagman
14 Dec 2007, 11:43
if i were pommers, i would go to this game as well.
The Majestic
14 Dec 2007, 11:53
if i were pommers, i would go to this game as well.
But who would his target be this time? After the Hodge thing they might be a bit suspicious of him.;)
i would be going to every game
Lowie01
14 Dec 2007, 12:05
Kiwis batting - unleash Tait. :thumbsu:
Lee is playing too, no Johnson or Haddin.
smmorrow
14 Dec 2007, 12:10
Anyone got the audio working yet? I'm keen to listen to the game while at work?
The straight ropes are in too much, have them 1-2 metres from the fence all the way round :mad:.
thebigboy
14 Dec 2007, 12:15
Why Hopes? Not a fan at all.
usalion
14 Dec 2007, 12:16
Anyone got the audio working yet? I'm keen to listen to the game while at work?
The Sheep shaggers are broadcasting, using the ABC feed- over the nET, with no problems....go here
http://www.radiosport.co.nz/
The Majestic
14 Dec 2007, 12:19
Kiwis are to find out why you dont get a fast bowler fired up
If you are going to get him fired up, you make sure you are not going to face him. ;)
smmorrow
14 Dec 2007, 12:21
The Sheep shaggers are broadcasting, using the ABC feed- over the nET, with no problems....go here
http://www.radiosport.co.nz/
Thanks heaps, my addiction just got its fix!
When did free hits come into ODIs?
The Majestic
14 Dec 2007, 12:24
When did free hits come into ODIs?
Maybe it's just for the Chappell-Hadlee Trophy?
Bloods boy from the Bush
14 Dec 2007, 12:25
Dont think the Kiwis have put bat on ball yet.
Kiwis batting - unleash Tait. :thumbsu:
Lee is playing too, no Johnson or Haddin.
Hopefully they can get a decent score to make a game of it tonight.
The Majestic
14 Dec 2007, 12:28
Dont think the Kiwis have put bat on ball yet.
Only the once, during Bracken's over.
Hopefully they can get a decent score to make a game of it tonight.
I hope so too, they look a bit shakey early here.
nicko99
14 Dec 2007, 12:28
ian healy is a spastic, bracken bowled a waste high no-ball, and his like for the viewers at home wondering why it wasnt a free hit its because it wasnt a front foot no-ball
front foot no-ball, free hit is in 20/20 you idiot
Bloods boy from the Bush
14 Dec 2007, 12:31
ian healy is a spastic, bracken bowled a waste high no-ball, and his like for the viewers at home wondering why it wasnt a free hit its because it wasnt a front foot no-ball
Appanetlly its in this ODI as well
The Majestic
14 Dec 2007, 12:31
They have free hits in this game too, Lee gave away a front foot no ball free hit in his first over.
The Majestic
14 Dec 2007, 12:32
Kiwi's just lost their first wicket.
Vincent out caught by Hopes.
Cousin Jed
14 Dec 2007, 12:33
:o
Wrong.
Bloods boy from the Bush
14 Dec 2007, 12:34
Lee Strikes Vincent gone for 5
Ricketts
Subdued celebration from Lee, he know's he's been bowling trash today.
You must have missed the memo about it being in ODI's too nowadays.
nicko99
since when has is been in ODI????????//+
apologies to ian healy
roostersgal4eva
14 Dec 2007, 12:36
First wicket to Lee - great catch by Hopes
The Majestic
14 Dec 2007, 12:37
since when has is been in ODI????????//+
apologies to ian healy
I believe it has been in most of the Chappell-Hadlee series' well at least a couple (including today's.)
Bombers_Forever
14 Dec 2007, 12:37
LUcky wicket to Lee - the fact he didn't celebrate showed how lucky he was.
Great catch Hopes!
I still hate the dark uniforms............
The Majestic
14 Dec 2007, 12:39
Should get them back out there in the gold ones, or the ones they wore in 95/96 I am not a fan of the fully green ones.
Cousin Jed
14 Dec 2007, 12:58
How really likes to get a move on.
Cousin Jed
14 Dec 2007, 13:05
How needs to face Tait so he can pick up some easy runs
0 off 21 :thumbsd:
chickens_law
14 Dec 2007, 13:07
We need a wicket. Bring on Hogg!
eddiesmith
14 Dec 2007, 13:08
How needs to face Tait so he can pick up some easy runs
0 off 21 :thumbsd:
Is he seriously 0 off 21? :eek: Wouldnt know it the way the score is racing along
The Majestic
14 Dec 2007, 13:09
Is he seriously 0 off 21? :eek: Wouldnt know it the way the score is racing along
Yeah, they were saying How has been 20 odd balls without scoring a run..:eek:
McCullum is batting well though, might need to keep him on strike.
We need a wicket. Bring on Hogg!
Instead they bring on James Hopes.:p
Cousin Jed
14 Dec 2007, 13:11
3 overs 0/28 from the golden boy.
Must be the home state nerves getting to him, or perhaps the evil Kiwi chucking plan has worked.
RichosGuns
14 Dec 2007, 13:12
Tait, 3 overs 0 for 28, plus those wides is getting belted
McCullum is a gun
How is Katch Mk II
Scotland
14 Dec 2007, 13:12
Tait, 3 overs 0/28.
He's not quite on Mick Lewis pace, yet.
The Majestic
14 Dec 2007, 13:13
Is there a current record for a batsman facing balls without scoring a run? I am just thinking How might be able to give it a shake.
get tait off.
hes "throwing" down pies today lol
we'll still win.... lol.
after McCullum's gone their ****ed.
Cooldude
14 Dec 2007, 13:15
Tait's trying too hard, obviously
The Majestic
14 Dec 2007, 13:15
Well How just got a run, and like johnnyhoward said, I jinxed the record! Damn it! :D
johnnyhoward
14 Dec 2007, 13:16
Is there a current record for a batsman facing balls without scoring a run? I am just thinking How might be able to give it a shake.
You jinxed him ;)
The Majestic
14 Dec 2007, 13:17
You jinxed him ;)
:D Oops!
I have to edit my previous post I didn't think he hit it.
Fcuk off ian smith you fat cnut
roostersgal4eva
14 Dec 2007, 13:18
Tait's trying too hard, obviously
exaclty
he shouldnt worry about those idiots but I dont think anyone wouldnt be upset if they were unfairly called a cheat
PAFCsince1870
14 Dec 2007, 13:19
get tait off.
hes "throwing" down pies today lol
we'll still win.... lol.
after McCullum's gone their ****ed.
lol any team with Oram at 7 is far from ****ed mate.
The Majestic
McCullum just scored his 50 with a nice shot for four off the final ball of the over.
RichosGuns
Top 50 for McCallum, credit where credits deserved. Playing hard and getting rewarded for it. I hope hes there for a couple more overs because i love a competitive match
PAFCsince1870
14 Dec 2007, 13:21
Hopes needs to stand up with the ball today.
eddiesmith
14 Dec 2007, 13:21
How got off the mark on his 22nd ball with a boundary off Hopeless
But still the Kiwis go at 6 an over :eek:
Cousin Jed
14 Dec 2007, 13:22
If Ponting takes the 2nd Powerplay right away he should be shot.
RichosGuns
14 Dec 2007, 13:23
They ran four, lol
johnnyhoward
14 Dec 2007, 13:23
Damn, looks like we'll struggle to win this one.
The Majestic
14 Dec 2007, 13:24
But still the Kiwis go at 6 an over :eek:
If I hadn't have made a comment How may not have made a run.;)
lol any team with Oram at 7 is far from ****ed mate.
yeah nah good point
ya temporarly ****ed, untill he comes in then ****ed again when he goes out.
The Majestic
14 Dec 2007, 13:26
McCullum is in some fine form today.
johnnyhoward
14 Dec 2007, 13:27
The Kiwis actually bat pretty deep today - Mills and Vettori are quality tail enders. Styris and Taylor may not be that good for middle order batsman, but overall they have a decent lineup.
roostersgal4eva
14 Dec 2007, 13:29
ok me worried now
chickens_law
14 Dec 2007, 13:30
Why did we omit Johnson from todays game????
The Majestic
14 Dec 2007, 13:32
The Kiwis actually bat pretty deep today - Mills and Vettori are quality tail enders. Styris and Taylor may not be that good for middle order batsman, but overall they have a decent lineup.
True.
And with McCullum currently batting well, all they need is for someone to stay with him, which is what How has been doing although he needs to also get a run or two in the process to keep McCullum getting the strike.
RichosGuns
14 Dec 2007, 13:32
Taylor can handle that bat and along with styris has a strike rate of 80 odd. Sinclair is a much more pedestrian player, but as someone said with mills batting at 9, its a pretty good tail end
Cousin Jed
14 Dec 2007, 13:34
Great bowling from Hopes.
eddiesmith
14 Dec 2007, 13:36
Taylor is a dud
McCullum is doing us up the pooie.
LIONS then DAYLIGHT
14 Dec 2007, 13:48
How reminds me of myself when i used to play cricket at school.
Slow starter, took me 17 balls to get off the mark once opening up for the first XI.
Technically correct batsmen, but struggled to get the score board ticking over
Cousin Jed
14 Dec 2007, 13:49
Why Hopes? Not a fan at all.
Instead they bring on James Hopes.:p
Hopes needs to stand up with the ball today.
Keeping Australia in the game.
LIONS then DAYLIGHT
Taylor is a dud
The commentator or the player?
flight23
the cricketers ads are getting worse, the kfc one with ricky is as bad as the michael clarke one
seriously who is approving these ads
LIONS then DAYLIGHT
14 Dec 2007, 13:50
why all the negative stuff about hopes, taken a great catch and is at least keeping it tight, the most economical of the bowlers behind bracken.
FFS, tait and lee will not tear every batting lineup apart every game, they naturally go for runs. Hopes is filling the Watson role and is doing quite well.
PAFCsince1870
14 Dec 2007, 13:50
Not sure why my post was grouped in with the others :confused:
LIONS then DAYLIGHT
14 Dec 2007, 13:51
Tait back on, and McCullum is all arse.
thewhippersnapper
14 Dec 2007, 13:52
Johnson > Tait
LIONS then DAYLIGHT
the cricketers ads are getting worse, the kfc one with ricky is as bad as the michael clarke one
seriously who is approving these ads
Could you do any better?
Lovett Lover 13
McCullum is an absolute gun
deserves a ton here
RichosGuns
:o9 off another tait over
LIONS then DAYLIGHT
14 Dec 2007, 13:53
Johnson > Tait
Did you see any of the world cup, Tait was probably our best bowler.
No, after 4 overs you seem to think his shit.
Talk about Kneejerk
The commentator or the player?
both i assume.
Hopes is filling the Watson role and is doing quite well.
He's doing a dismal job of it since he's being economical.
Cousin Jed
14 Dec 2007, 13:56
You just happened to mention him that was all.
both i assume.
That was my thinking too.
Lovett Lover 13
14 Dec 2007, 13:58
well bowled well caught
how didn't look confertable out there
Best news for New Zealand all day.
RichosGuns
14 Dec 2007, 13:59
How gone, 20 of 59 :eek:....should hae gone on and done better
flight23
14 Dec 2007, 14:00
Could you do any better?
judging by that reply, i take it you're one of the writers for these ads
Cousin Jed
14 Dec 2007, 14:02
Pressure applied by Hogg and Hopes helps get the wicket. Although might have been best to keep him out there, so diabolical were his efforts.
The Majestic
14 Dec 2007, 14:05
I wasn't bagging Hopes, I was just saying that someone wanted Hogg on and instead they put on Hopes. :thumbsu:
I don't know why mine was, it was pointing out that Hopes was being brought on, since the person at the time wanted Hogg, so I pointed out Hopes was on...nothing directed at Hopes as he had not even bowled a ball.