14th December 2007, 08:23
what's this kid like? another Queenslander if my memory is correct
Gus2Gumby
20th December 2007, 15:24
Rhys Magin – Zillmere/Queensland
Ht: 181 cm Wt: 70 kg
Junior position – HFF / On-ball
AFL position – HFF
Big things were expected from Magin this year after he was considered by many to be unlucky to miss selection in last year’s draft. This year though he has failed to recapture the form that brought him to attention last year and if I recall correctly got him a camp invite. He will be at State screening this year. He has played some good games for Zillmere in the AFLQ but has not had the consistency or the domination that was expected from him. Magin has the package of skills and athleticism that teams like and given the chance and if his attitude is right he could be a fine AFL player. He is good around goals and finishes well.
Strengths: Good skills and athleticism.
Weaknesses: Attitude
Question marks: Can he get back to the form of 2006? Are his off-field issues a thing of the past?
*http://www.footydraft.com
boms
21st December 2007, 11:23
Bombers' Pomona recruit up for challenge
12:00a.m. 20 December 2007
| By Jon Tuxworth
http://www.thedaily.com.au/news/2007/dec/20/bombers-pomona-recruit-challenge/
There is little doubt that new Essendon recruit Rhys Magin owes his former coach one.
Pomona junior Magin, picked up in the AFL rookie draft by the Bombers last week, was given the life-changing news by his Zillmere coach Murray Davis.
But not before the Eagles mentor took the opportunity to play a practical joke on the 18-year-old.
“I got the call about ten o’clock (last Tuesday) from Murray and he asked if I wanted the good or bad news first,” Magin said.
“He said the bad news was I’m not allowed to play for Zillmere this year, and then later he said the good news was I will be playing for the Bombers.
“I was really nervous to hear what the good news was and when I heard it, I was so happy.
“I’ve met the coach (Matthew Knights) and he seems really nice.”
Magin will leave for the bright lights of Melbourne on January 6, where the lifelong Bombers fan will meet his new teammates for the first time.
“I move down on a Sunday so that Monday I reckon I’ll get straight into it and try and get myself fit for the start of the season,” he said.
Magin is doing just that by training with the Suncoast Power under-18 squad, which contains his younger twin brothers, Alik and Lanze.
The 16-year-olds are two minutes apart, but were simultaneous in their respect for their older brother.
“He (Rhys) didn’t tell me but Dad did, I couldn’t answer my phone because I was in the middle of work,” Lanze, a ruck rover, said.
Alik said he believed an AFL berth was always on the cards for Rhys.
“He’s always been the most skilful one out of us,” he said.
“Growing up (at Belli, near Eumundi) everyone in the family used to be out the back kicking the ball.”
Now all Rhys has to do is to convince his brothers to hop aboard the Essendon bandwagon.
“One’s a Bulldogs fan and the other’s St Kilda, but I’m hoping they’ll change now,” he said
Catdog
14th January 2008, 10:32
Great pick he will go well at the Bombers
Heaps of footy smarts and very clean disposal
Once he has been in the system for a while and bulks up......
Top guy wish him the best
Bachar43
15th January 2008, 19:42
Magin could turn a few heads when he bulks up a bit.
Seems to be a great athlete, along with having good skills.
This is him in the AFLQ, his mark is the third one...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-zzCpmaXY7E&feature=related
Top mark, it must be said...
Amazing Bombers
15th January 2008, 20:29
Magin could turn a few heads when he bulks up a bit.
Seems to be a great athlete, along with having good skills.
This is him in the AFLQ, his mark is the third one...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-zzCpmaXY7E&feature=related
Top mark, it must be said...
Wow! Good luck to him!
Slattery_20
15th January 2008, 21:18
Bombers' Pomona recruit up for challenge
12:00a.m. 20 December 2007
| By Jon Tuxworth
http://www.thedaily.com.au/news/2007/dec/20/bombers-pomona-recruit-challenge/
There is little doubt that new Essendon recruit Rhys Magin owes his former coach one.
Pomona junior Magin, picked up in the AFL rookie draft by the Bombers last week, was given the life-changing news by his Zillmere coach Murray Davis.
But not before the Eagles mentor took the opportunity to play a practical joke on the 18-year-old.
“I got the call about ten o’clock (last Tuesday) from Murray and he asked if I wanted the good or bad news first,” Magin said.
“He said the bad news was I’m not allowed to play for Zillmere this year, and then later he said the good news was I will be playing for the Bombers.
“I was really nervous to hear what the good news was and when I heard it, I was so happy.
“I’ve met the coach (Matthew Knights) and he seems really nice.”
Magin will leave for the bright lights of Melbourne on January 6, where the lifelong Bombers fan will meet his new teammates for the first time.
“I move down on a Sunday so that Monday I reckon I’ll get straight into it and try and get myself fit for the start of the season,” he said.
Magin is doing just that by training with the Suncoast Power under-18 squad, which contains his younger twin brothers, Alik and Lanze.
The 16-year-olds are two minutes apart, but were simultaneous in their respect for their older brother.
“He (Rhys) didn’t tell me but Dad did, I couldn’t answer my phone because I was in the middle of work,” Lanze, a ruck rover, said.
Alik said he believed an AFL berth was always on the cards for Rhys.
“He’s always been the most skilful one out of us,” he said.
“Growing up (at Belli, near Eumundi) everyone in the family used to be out the back kicking the ball.”
Now all Rhys has to do is to convince his brothers to hop aboard the Essendon bandwagon.
“One’s a Bulldogs fan and the other’s St Kilda, but I’m hoping they’ll change now,” he said
Good to hear that bit in particular, some genuine AFL talent out of QLD - not converts or athletes
One heck of a mark btw
BomberAce7
16th February 2008, 21:07
He looks the goods this kid. Good skills, very zippy & pacy. The best of the rookies tonight.
Kaiser Powser
16th February 2008, 21:09
He looks the goods this kid. Good skills, very zippy & pacy. The best of the rookies tonight.
Spot on. and so composed for a rookie.
Pawtucket Patriot
16th February 2008, 21:10
Very impressive. His awareness was awesome.
warney7
16th February 2008, 21:12
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=402833
Bombermania
16th February 2008, 21:12
I was impressed with his running and he was a little unlucky with those two missed shots but showed good potential
kelvin_sheedy
16th February 2008, 21:18
I was super impressed with his composure under pressure and clean hands.
He looks quicker than he is.... Stephen Milne style.
We might have found one off the rookie list. His body is at least 2 years away from playing AFL football though.
Smokin
16th February 2008, 21:21
when he hits puberty he might go alright ya know.
acuguy
16th February 2008, 21:30
Probably the highest skilled footballer to come out of Brisbane since Voss and Ackermanis,bloody disgrace he wasn't drafted in the national draft. Will play senior footy this year for the bombers!
Kaiser Powser
16th February 2008, 21:36
We might have found one off the rookie list. His body is at least 2 years away from playing AFL football though.
Rubbish, he showed he has the composure and elusiveness to play the game already. You don't need to be a muscle bound freak just to play the game these days.
Although, if you were inferring that his body is two years away from being AFL size, you would be right.
jdwood
16th February 2008, 21:43
His awareness was top notch. He seemed to just know what to do (i.e. that handball over his head when tackled). Looks to have a great footballing brain, the rest will fall into place... Very impressed.
kelvin_sheedy
16th February 2008, 21:44
Rubbish, he showed he has the composure and elusiveness to play the game already. You don't need to be a muscle bound freak just to play the game these days.
Although, if you were inferring that his body is two years away from being AFL size, you would be right.
It was an NAB cup match with kids against kids.
He broke a few tackles and squeezed through a few areas that I think at AFL level he'd get monstered.
Nonetheless every time he got the ball I knew something good was going to happen.
GoDons
16th February 2008, 22:25
Showed the promise he had in 2006 tonight.
Got a bit of class about him has young Rhys.
He'll need time, but he could well be a good get from the Rookie Draft.
Schmick
16th February 2008, 23:13
Very impressed with Rhys tonight; quick and classy. It will be good to see if he can show some consistancy and play well again next match.
Big Blow Hard
17th February 2008, 06:59
Matthew Lappin type perhaps?:p
jetta2davey
17th February 2008, 11:12
skills are absolutely top notch, showed as much promise last night as any of the 07 draftees. great performance
POBT
17th February 2008, 13:56
My mail was that he was closely considered by a few clubs in the draft....Essendon weren't mentioned though. He was talked about as a possible speculative late pick in the 2006 draft but he just struggled at times in 2007. Given the style of player that he is, he probably struggled to stand out playing in a Qld side that was poor at the champs and then in a Zillmere side which was very young in the AFLQ.
He's a little like our Cheynee Stiller in that he is probably going to play better alongside better players. I wouldn't worry about him bulking up too much - I'd concentrate on getting him as fit as possible and just let him run all day. That will be his best asset, alongside with his very good decision making.
Good pick up.
hulld
17th February 2008, 18:48
very good pick up considering he is a rookie
The Dustbin
18th February 2008, 18:26
Showed poise and vision finished with neat skills. Was good under pressure and showed good awernesss and evasive skills.
Looking forward to seeing him in action at Bendigo this year.
Smyth94
19th February 2008, 05:58
I want some more 'Magic Magins'
TheDon35
19th February 2008, 08:48
Easy to see why the wraps on him were so big.
Finds space exceptionally well which he needs to be able to do given his size. Was clean with all his disposals and defensive pressure was ok but could improve.
Of the rookies looks most likely to be given an opportunity depending on who is injured. Dick is miles off, Chartres still doesn't look ready for AFL and Atkinson has a bit to offer though Magin has more upside IMO.
Boris_Bewick
19th February 2008, 15:12
Magun (see what I did there)
thebigboy
19th February 2008, 17:01
Magun (see what I did there)
I like it.
Slattery_20
21st February 2008, 08:47
Is it "Magin" like magic or like magnanimous
Commentators seemed to be going the "May-gin" with the hard G
Gymnorhina tibic
21st February 2008, 20:21
Great Kid, know him from his home club Pomona. he was always around the club and always had a footy in his hands, played at any oppurtunity and just loves his footy. Dominated at country Qld level which is a long way from AFL but great mark and excellent disposal, his skills are as good as any I have seen - only criticism is he lacks the 'mongrel' and can be too easygoing. Quality person, I hope he makes it, his dad is a local legend and has 2 younger brothers who also look the goods.
Slattery_20
22nd February 2008, 07:21
Cheers
Could you shed any light on "what went wrong" with him last year?
From what I've heard he was highly rated going into 07 but had a dud year - hence missing out on normal draft
Merv Neagle
22nd February 2008, 08:55
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news_imagesize.asp?imagefile=/images/08/magin03.jpg (http://www.essendonfc.com.au/images/08/magin03.jpg)
Rhys Magin training during the 2008 preseason.
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news_imagesize.asp?imagefile=/images/08/magin01.jpg (http://www.essendonfc.com.au/images/08/magin01.jpg)
Rhys Magin sets up to kick during the 2008 preseason.
Magin's quest to be the best
Friday, 22 February 2008
When it comes to being drafted into the AFL there isn't a young footballer in the country who would be too choosey. Any of 16 AFL teams would be fine because they would travel to Mars to get a chance at the elite level.
But for Rhys Magin, the 2007 AFL Rookie Draft carried a huge bonus. Not only did it present him with a chance to show his wares at AFL level but he was picked up by the club he's barracked for all his life - the Essendon Bombers.
Magin, who is part of a fanatical footballing family on Queensland's Sunshine Coast, has played the game since the age of five and has been a Bombers fan for as long as he can remember. James Hird was his hero as a youngster and he'd always dreamed of one day playing at Windy Hill.
His dream became a reality on 11th December, 2007 when he was claimed by Essendon with selection No.5 in the Rookie Draft.
This followed a five-day training stint at the club with fellow Queenslanders Dayne Zorko and Rohan Bail in the week leading into the draft.
"It's just fantastic. You'd go anywhere to get a chance in the AFL but to get picked up by the club you barrack for is pretty special," Magin said.
It had been a real roller-coaster ride to get a crack at League football.
Magin was unlucky not to be taken 12 months earlier in the 2006 AFL National Draft with a number of clubs showing interest after an eye-catching season with the Suncoast Lions in the AFLQ State League and a solid performance at the Australian U18 Championships in a star-studded Queensland side that won the division two title undefeated.
Only his age at the time - he was a young 17-year-old - cost him an early elevation to the elite level alongside no less than 11 Queenslanders - David Armitage (St.Kilda), Shaun Hampson (Carlton), Gavin Urquhart (Kangaroos), Albert Proud (Brisbane Lions), Brent Renouf (Hawthorn), Brad Howard (St.Kilda), Ricky Petterd (Melbourne), Kurt Tippett (Adelaide), Ben Warren (Kangaroos), Paul O'Shea (Western Bulldogs) and Jesse White (Sydney).
He was too young to be rookie-listed so he set about consolidating his draft prospects as a top-age player in the 2007 Queensland U18 side.
Get your 2008 Essendon membership here. (http://www.essendonfc.com.au/membership/default2008.asp)
But what seemed like a natural progression from near-miss in '06 to certain selection in '07 didn't quite eventuate.
Indeed, he missed selection in the Queensland side for the first game of the Australian U18 Championships, played under a new split format.
It was a thunderbolt for the skilful and fun-loving youngster, but it was also, perhaps, a turning point in his AFL dream.
It was Tuesday 19th June, 2007 when he got the bad news from coach Danny Craven. No excuses. He just wasn't selected. That news came despite always being regarded as a senior member of the Scorpions squad, and a player pivotal to their title aspirations.
But rather than letting it get him down he took it on the chin.
Reminded of just how much football meant to him, he set about building a reply. He trained the following night with an increased intensity and put together an outstanding game the following weekend for Zillmere in the AFLQ Velocity Sports Cup.
Coupled with further good form in the State League, it was enough to convince the Scorpions brainstrust that he should go to Melbourne for the second part of the national U18 championships.
There, in wet conditions that didn't suit him, he played well enough and after returning from the championships was a standout for the young Eagles side playing across half back.
He won the round 15 nomination for the AFLQ Rising Star, subsequently won by Labrador's Mathew Clarke, and was twice named in the Velocity Sports Cup Team of the Week.
Eligible to play for the Zillmere reserves in the finals because of his participation in the U18 progam, he was also a stand-out through September and was best afield in the reserves grand final win over Mt.Gravatt at Carrara, showing his undoubted class across half back early before going forward to kick three vital goals.
Magin says publicly he "wasn't too disappointed" when overlooked at the 2007 AFL National Draft, when only two Queenslanders were taken - Brendan Whitecross (Hawthorn) and Sam Reid (Western Bulldogs). Privately, it was a huge disappointment matched only by the excitement when at last he got his chance via the Rookie Draft.
Get your 2008 Essendon membership here. (http://www.essendonfc.com.au/membership/default2008.asp)
Trying to make every post a winner in 2007, he moved from the Sunshine Coast to Brisbane to maximise his football performance with the Zillmere Eagles.
His draft selection was another chapter of a long football journey in a passionate football family where each of Rhys' five brothers also play football and father Billy, something of a Sunshine Coast football icon after moving from Victoria, still plays at Pomona - in his 50's.
It topped another career highlight when Magin played in the same senior Pomona team as his father in 2006.
A good kick and a natural footballer, Magin is the fourth Queenslander at Essendon alongside Mal Michael, Courtenay Dempsey and 2008 Pre-Season Draft pick-up John Williams.
This kid sounds like he has a great attitude and has shown in the 2 games i've seen him play, that he has a chance to make it.
David_Hilley#19
3rd March 2008, 17:57
Magin looks the goods. He clearly has the skill, and always looks collected when he has the ball. Got a good footy brain and hopefully is first in line to play when someone is injured.
Tootie
4th March 2008, 11:27
What a start Rhys has had to his football career. Happy 19th Rhys.
Aleko505
4th March 2008, 17:36
magin is a gun, i got him on my supercoach team
hes only 19 so hes gonna win nab rising star lol
Spikey
4th March 2008, 17:56
He's a rookie...
Lance Uppercut
5th March 2008, 10:06
the baby-faced assassin!!
Pegman
10th March 2008, 17:50
Christ, he's changed in that photo to when i used to play with him! Having said that, that was in the good ol' under 12's and all that stuff, but he was definitely a standout back then. Like to say that i helped him learn his trade ;) Haha, but yeah, as said before, his dad is a local legend around parts, and glad that he got picked up by you guys. Lost count of the times we argued about us verse you guys, good luck to him!
Stants_24_Legend
12th March 2008, 16:12
This kid is going to be phenomenal. To see his football smarts and disposal, although it was in the NAB Cup, you still have to perform and that he did. Very happy with the pick-up.
Pawtucket Patriot
12th March 2008, 17:18
Stants_24_Legend do you have any plans to change your name to Stants_5_Legend? ;)
IhateMondays
16th March 2008, 17:59
Few better players than him for your supercoach team. COUGH Houli COUGH Myers COUGH COUGH. Unlikely he'll play enough games to win the Rising Star
DaSawx
16th March 2008, 20:40
He's a rookie who can't get promoted without a long term injury, and even if that happened he wouldn't play every week
hulld
16th March 2008, 22:58
its unlikely that he'll plays any game..................this year
Spikey
15th June 2008, 21:05
How's he going at Bendigo? Showed a lot in the NAB cup.
hulld
8th July 2008, 20:10
classy classy player
Tomorrows_Nobody
19th July 2008, 01:05
Emergency for Sat??...
Hmmm, me thinks debut.
Merv Neagle
21st July 2008, 12:26
Magin elevated off rookie list
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/images/spacer.gif Monday, 21 July 2008
Craig Rowston for essendonfc.com.au
Page 1 of 1
Nineteen-year-old Essendon rookie, Rhys Magin, has been upgraded to the senior list following the season ending back injury to Jason Winderlich who has been placed on the long-term injury list.
The 180cm Magin was an emergency for Saturday's game against Richmond. He was taken by the club as a 2007 rookie selection.
Rhys Magin sets up to kick during the 2008 preseason
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/images/08/magin01-l.jpg
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=5944
Ben the Gooner
21st July 2008, 12:30
Congrats to Rhys.
Would like to see him play on Saturday, for Monfries.
The Dustbin
21st July 2008, 12:42
Certainty to play on Saturday.
Congrats Rhys. :thumbsu:
Spikey
21st July 2008, 12:43
Magin to kill it if he plays.
beastie
21st July 2008, 13:35
Magin to kill it if he plays.
Is that to be killed?
Must weigh 60 kgs when wringing wet! :)
Did play NAB and did well so here's hoping he makes an impact if he plays!
ant555
21st July 2008, 17:17
Hope young Magot does get a run this week. A few runs in the seniors will be good for him at this stage.
Windas_Magic
21st July 2008, 17:37
Hope young Magot does get a run this week. A few runs in the seniors will be good for him at this stage.
What a nice name you have for him
ant555
21st July 2008, 18:39
What a nice name you have for him
Not my doing , blame his team mates ;)
Lance Uppercut
21st July 2008, 20:12
agree. He'd be like a will-o-the-wisp, and really, what do we have to lose by getting some good big-game time into some of the kids?
Well, obviously the Collingwood match, but you take my point
Spikey
21st July 2008, 21:28
Well, obviously the Collingwood match, but you take my point
But we can blame Quinn if we lose!
hulld
22nd July 2008, 18:15
hope he gets a game this week
daffo
23rd July 2008, 13:06
I think he will.
eth-dog
10th August 2008, 11:52
good luck for young Magot's debut today :thumbsu:
XIsDonIsGoodX
10th August 2008, 12:33
Well, lets hope not eh? ;)
hulld
10th August 2008, 22:22
i think todays game showed he probably is a couple of pre-seasons away from playing good afl footy.
there is something there though
dirtywhitepacker
11th August 2008, 13:17
Nice tackling and determination. You can tell his heart is in it and he wanted to contribute. A massive ask for such a young, light on bloke to debut at Subiaco. He's been running around on small VFL grounds all season, Anyone expecting him to play many minutes or make an impact were kidding themselves.
I like the way he went about it today, and hopefully he stays in the team and gets a crack on a smaller Dome surface. Might surprise a few there. Another pre-season, build up the tank and build up the guns and he'll be a war-machine next year! :thumbsu::D
Little Birdy
11th August 2008, 15:35
Was at the game and what the TV coverage didn't show was the number of times he made space but was totally ignored and the ball kicked instead to a contest. Felt sorry for him as he potentially could have earned more touches if the more established players had given him the ball.
It seems to me that first gamers tend to be overlooked sometimes in the contest because they don't yet have the full confidence of their team mates.
Am impressed with his work rate.:thumbsu:
David_Hilley#19
17th August 2008, 23:03
Good second game for Magin. Enjoyed his game (and his goal), as he did not stop working.
JColeman
18th August 2008, 10:28
Looks like we have a good player on our hands. :thumbsu:
David_Hilley#19
23rd August 2008, 17:22
Backed up a solid secind game with an even better game as his third. Hopefully he can have a big pre-season and push for selection next year.