View Full Version : Talladega Nights

Embers
17 Dec 2007, 11:53
Watched this last night and I reckon it is fricken hilarious. One of the first movies ive seen in a while thats funny from start to finish. The only downer of the movie is the excruciating performance by Sacha Baron Cohen who nearly ruins the movie with his very annoying accent and acting.

Funniest part for me is when he is first getting interviewed. "I dont know what to do with my hands" :thumbsu:

The Old Dark Navy's
17 Dec 2007, 12:04
I bought it having never watched it and loved it.

Sacha Baron Cohen was annoying at first but in the second half of the movie the character was heaps funnier.

I'll break your arm unless you say 'I like crepes'. 'Those thin little pancakes? I love those.'

Embers
17 Dec 2007, 12:10

Sacha Baron Cohen was annoying at first but in the second half of the movie the character was heaps funnier.

I'll break your arm unless you say 'I like crepes'. 'Those thin little pancakes? I love those.'

Nah he was just plain annoying.

"I like to picture my Jesus as wearing one of those tuxedo shirts, it says im here to be formal but im here to party and I like my Jesus to party"

:D

JUBJUB
17 Dec 2007, 12:52

I did the same.The DVD is worth it just for the section with Walker and Texas Rangers lines.Absolute classic. :thumbsu:
I think you can get the DVD for about $10-15 at the moment.

Chip: I can't hold my tongue. These kids are my grandchildren and you are raising them wrong. They are *terrible* boys!
Walker: Shut up, Chip, or I'll go ape-shit on your ass!
Texas Ranger: I'm gonna scissor-kick you in the back of the head!
Cal Naughton, Jr.: Yeah!
Ricky Bobby: Yeah! Now turn up the heat!
Cal Naughton, Jr.: Go on and get some, boys!
Ricky Bobby: Come on!
Walker: I'm ten years old, but I'll beat your ass!
Texas Ranger: Chip, I'm gonna come at you like a spider monkey!
Cal Naughton, Jr.: Like a spider monkey! Go on!
Ricky Bobby: Chip, you brought this on, man.
Walker: Greatest Generation my ass. Tom Brokaw's a punk!
Chip: What is wrong with you?
Texas Ranger: Chip, I'm all jacked up on Mountain Dew!

superfraser
17 Dec 2007, 15:57
Great movie.

"what do i do with my hands?" was hilarious.

As was him thinking he was on fire..

Good movie.. But I can't remember too much more about it.. Would be worth buying..

Crosby87
17 Dec 2007, 16:36
Eh, it was okay. Better than Blades of Glory, anyways.

dont bowl there
17 Dec 2007, 17:28
Didnt rate it at all, I just didnt laugh that much during it...may have to give it another shot.

arakaan
17 Dec 2007, 19:58
Didnt rate it at all, I just didnt laugh that much during it...may have to give it another shot.

agree, but no more shots from me. Was very ordinary, once is enough.

Stenglein's a Champ!
18 Dec 2007, 23:09
The only downer of the movie is the excruciating performance by Sacha Baron Cohen who nearly ruins the movie with his very annoying accent and acting.

Really?

I thought he was great.

Gridlock'd
19 Dec 2007, 11:29

Im with you. Some funny parts in it, but on the whole its pretty average.

gandaal
19 Dec 2007, 11:34
Didn't quite reach the heights of Anchorman but was still an incredibly funny movie. Anyone who didn't find it funny should just avoid Will Farrell movies in the future and stick to 'very funny' films like Daddy Day Care and Scary Movie 11 which is likely to be more to your taste.

dont bowl there
19 Dec 2007, 11:38
Didn't quite reach the heights of Anchorman but was still an incredibly funny movie. Anyone who didn't find it funny should just avoid Will Farrell movies in the future and stick to 'very funny' films like Daddy Day Care and Scary Movie 11 which is likely to be more to your taste.

And there it is, the "all Will Ferrell movies are great bandwagon". I love Anchorman and Old School but this movie was shitty.

gandaal
19 Dec 2007, 11:43
And there it is, the "all Will Ferrell movies are great bandwagon". I love Anchorman and Old School but this movie was shitty.

Scary Movie 5 is coming out in 2008. Start saving your money :thumbsu:

dont bowl there
19 Dec 2007, 11:45
Scary Movie 5 is coming out in 2008. Start saving your money :thumbsu:

What does Scary Movie have to do with this movie? Unless you are comparing which movie got the least amount of laughs. My verdict would be a draw soccer style...0-0

Catfish Jake
19 Dec 2007, 13:55

I didn't so much think it was shitty, as rather the exact same movie as anchorman.

bradrowe#32
19 Dec 2007, 14:33

There is more to comedy than Farrell movies or Scary Movie.

For example, Rushmore, The Royal Tenenbaums, Dr. Strangelove, Little Miss Sunshine, etc. don't fit the normal comedy definitions but are very funny.

HBF
19 Dec 2007, 14:53
Never seen it. Looks like i'll be paying JB Hi-Fi a visit at some stage over Christmas then. :thumbsu:

Underdog
19 Dec 2007, 15:53

For example, Rushmore, The Royal Tenenbaums, Dr. Strangelove, Little Miss Sunshine, etc. don't fit the normal comedy definitions but are very funny.
By the same token, I love the above movies as well as the sillier Talladega Nights, Knocked Up, Superbad etc

Anything Wes Anderson touches is gold...ironically, his films have a history of featuring the Wilson brothers and Ben Stiller, leaders of the "Frat Pack" that includes Ferrell.

Little Miss Sunshine is another ripper movie that seems very underappreciated

gandaal
19 Dec 2007, 21:28

:rolleyes:

wally funk
19 Dec 2007, 21:40
talladega nights = only will ferrell movie i enjoy at all, aside from anchorman, and really only because it has john c reilly and sacha baron cohen in it.

plowking
19 Dec 2007, 22:04

I didn't like Talladega Nights that much, but The Royal Tenenbaums has to be one of the worst and unfunniest movies I have ever seen in my life. It was soo bad, I didn't even chuckle. Even a movie like Are We There Yet? or some other horribly scripted comedy could at least get one laugh out of me. I usually like Ben Stiller and Owen Wilson especially, and I had high expectations after seeing the rest of the cast as well, it was a complete let down for me.

Underdog
19 Dec 2007, 22:23
I didn't like Talladega Nights that much, but The Royal Tenenbaums has to be one of the worst and unfunniest movies I have ever seen in my life. It was soo bad, I didn't even chuckle. Even a movie like Are We There Yet? or some other horribly scripted comedy could at least get one laugh out of me. I usually like Ben Stiller and Owen Wilson especially, and I had high expectations after seeing the rest of the cast as well, it was a complete let down for me.

you surely didn't understand the humour. I admit it took me a second viewing to appreciate it fully after an underwhelmed first viewing.

It's far from the normal roles played by those guys, I hope you weren't expecting a silly comedy

picko
20 Dec 2007, 10:48
I watched Talladega Nights ages ago and thought it was pretty average. Then a few weeks ago I was bored so threw it on and was PMSL. Don't know if it was one of those movies you have to watch for a 2nd time or maybe I was just in a shitty mood the first time I watched it, but now it's in my upper echelon.

Personally I think Blades of Glory just tops it, but they're both great.

Crosby87
20 Dec 2007, 12:30
There are movies that you can appreciate on different levels.

For example, in no way would I rate an Anchorman on the same level as a Dr. Strangelove, a Rushmore, or a Big Lebowski, but it's a good watch, for a laugh. I wouldn't put Talladega Nights in that category. It was fine, but not something I would watch again.

Warwick
20 Dec 2007, 15:28
I watched Talladega Nights ages ago and thought it was pretty average. Then a few weeks ago I was bored so threw it on and was PMSL. Don't know if it was one of those movies you have to watch for a 2nd time or maybe I was just in a shitty mood the first time I watched it, but now it's in my upper echelon.

Was the same with Anchorman with me. Could not see why it was rated so highly when I first watched it, but after a couple of goes, found it hilarious.

I really don't see how if you didn't find this movie funny you would enjoy Scary Movie or Daddy Day Care more. :confused: Are you saying you have to be more intellectually superior to "get" this movie? Seems pretty immature to me.

Crash Davis
26 Nov 2011, 20:20
Bump
Watching it agin now on GO.
Never fails to have me in stitches, so many classic moments.

Dazb86
27 Nov 2011, 08:41
Step Brothers is also a classic.

placebo
27 Nov 2011, 10:22
There's little to nothing good about Will Ferrell.

Macca19
27 Nov 2011, 10:33
Bog standard shit house Will Ferrell movie. No more, no less.

Crash Davis
27 Nov 2011, 20:42
Bog standard shit house Will Ferrell movie. No more, no less.

Then why bother posting in a thread when you see a title that you obviously have no interest in?
A bit pathetic really.

Vincent Chase
27 Nov 2011, 20:56
"Don't speak to me like that pops, I'm all jacked up on Mountain Dew"

Barry_Badrinath
27 Nov 2011, 21:02
"I like to picture Jesus singing lead vocal for Lynyrd Skynyrd with an angel band, and I'm in the front row, and I'm hammered drunk"

"Hell you just a bag of bones. You aint never done anything with your life but make a hot daughter! That is it. THAT IS IT!!!!"

Macca19
27 Nov 2011, 21:05
Then why bother posting in a thread when you see a title that you obviously have no interest in?
A bit pathetic really.

Sorry for mistaking this as a discussion forum.

Carry on.

BEEG
28 Nov 2011, 08:29
I just do not understand how people can not find this movie funny

Not all of his movies are funny but this would almost be his best

So many brilliant lines its a movie you need to watch more then once to apprechiate

Bernie Nips
28 Nov 2011, 12:47
I think it's a hilarious movie, but I actually have it a fair way down on my Will Ferrell chart. Personally, the only Will Ferrell movie that ISN'T great is Superstar, and he only had a bit role in that. Although his character was still pretty good.

I'd probably order them like this (excluding the "non-Ferrell" type movies like Stranger Than Fiction and Everything Must Go, which are both GENIUS films and only including movies with a starring role):

Jay & Silent Bob Strike Back (probably doesn't quite count, but the movie is just that good and he's a main character)
Anchorman
Step Brothers
Old School
A Night at the Roxbury
Land of the Lost
The Other Guys
Blades of Glory
Semi Pro
Talledega Nights

I also didn't put Elf in there cos it's more a kids movie. Although it is great. When he tries to use the escalator for the first time may be the hardest I've ever laughed at a movie.

I'm actually surprised I have Talledega Nights at the bottom, cos I really enjoy the movie haha!

Oh, and the planets are aligning for a movie next year, which seems to have the ingredients to push up to the top of my list.

Starring: Will Ferrell, Zach Galifianakis, Jason Sudeikis
Written by: Shawn Harwell (Eastbound & Down)
Directed by: Jay Roach (Austin Powers, Meet The Parents)

It's called Dog Fight and is about two dudes battling each other for a congress seat in a southern state. Ferrell and Galifianakis the two dudes, obviously.

Xtreme
28 Nov 2011, 13:02
Not my favorite Will Ferrell movie, oddly enough.... he wasn't the main problem i had with it (although a small contributing factor). My main gripe was Sacha Baron Cohen, other than that it was standard Ferrell fare.

smiddy9
28 Nov 2011, 13:02
such a great movie!!
semi pro is where its at!!

borrat
28 Nov 2011, 15:35
only good parts are the kids i.m.o

best part when they spray the guy with the hose LMFAO:D:D

Inciting Violence
28 Nov 2011, 15:49
Great movie very funny, if you like this watch The Goods: Live Hard Sell Hard. Will is in this too but not a huge roll, heaps of good one liners also.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1092633/

darren forssman
28 Nov 2011, 16:42
semi pro is where its at!!

everybody love everybody.

smiddy9
29 Nov 2011, 16:58
everybody love everybody.
Jackie:We only have one rule on this team, and whats that twiggy
Twiggy: E-L-E
Jackie:and whats E-L-E stand for
Twiggy:everybody love everybody!!