View Full Version : Drop McGough

hotpie
2 Jul 2002, 20:06
Mark McGough needs a break. The kid is only 17 and the year is starting to take its toll on him. He should be sent to the VFL to recharge his batteries and learn to have a bit of fun. Harsh as it sounds he should be dropped while the team is fit and Cole Didak Johnson and co are playing well. He will get his chance soon enough via form or injury.

Thoughts?

Kane McGoodwin
2 Jul 2002, 23:48
Sounds fine with me - do reckon you can bring Dimmatina in for McGough. ;)

PiesPremiers
3 Jul 2002, 07:17
Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin

Dimma kicked 4 for Williamstown on the weekend and was best on ground. Hes a chance to play i think.

I agree about Mcgough..give the kid a break now, time to freshen up for the finals, hes been good, but at the same time not as good as his first few games. Send him back to the 2's for a few weeks and rip a few teams apart, then get him back in the seniors, and continue his form from his first few games.

hotpie
3 Jul 2002, 11:22
Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin

Nice try Kane. You might need Dimma in our side to give the Crows a chance of winning!

Ess.rules
3 Jul 2002, 14:47
Originally posted by hotpie
Mark McGough needs a break. The kid is only 17 and the year is starting to take its toll on him. He should be sent to the VFL to recharge his batteries and learn to have a bit of fun. Harsh as it sounds he should be dropped while the team is fit and Cole Didak Johnson and co are playing well. He will get his chance soon enough via form or injury.

Thoughts?

He's a bloody good player, leave him in the side

FIGJAM
3 Jul 2002, 15:08
Originally posted by PiesPremiers
Dimma kicked 4 for Williamstown on the weekend and was best on ground. Hes a chance to play i think.
No wucken fay! If he is selected to play for us ever again, I will be more cut than when "Australia" decided that Peter deserved to win Big Brother!!

Dimatinna is the Peter of our Club IMO.

McGough even at half intensity is miles ahead of Dimma. Dimma got 3 posessions in most of a game of football against Richmond. McGough got four times that in a "poor" one on Saturday coming off the bench!

If McGough was going to have a rest and make room for someone, then it should be someone with an ounce of talent like Chipper.

paulie
3 Jul 2002, 15:34
I don't belive he needs a rest after the mid season break that was built into the draw anyway.He is totally different to a normal 17yo in that his body shape and deameaner are well above any other player of his vintage.If he loses form he should be dropped like any other player but at the moment he is holding his place well.

Stegelator
3 Jul 2002, 22:23
Originally posted by Ess.rules

He's a bloody good player, leave him in the side Agreed here! definately in the best 22, so leave him in the side......

Nic
3 Jul 2002, 22:36
I wouldn't drop him this week, but it's probably a decent idea for in several weeks time, just for a rest.

Nic
3 Jul 2002, 22:41
BTW, it was McGough's 18th on the 20th of June, two days after Rohan's boy's. He may be able to actually drive to his games now!

Bucks
3 Jul 2002, 23:35
if he's not suffering an injury or bad form, why change anything?? last 2 weeks he and cloke have spent considerable time on the bench and Malthouse is aware not to over run them.

He's rotating his youngsters on and off the bench so they get equal playing time. McGough is still a value if he only players 30-50 minutes of footy.

Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
4 Jul 2002, 10:32
Originally posted by Nic
BTW, it was McGough's 18th on the 20th of June, two days after Rohan's boy's. He may be able to actually drive to his games now!

He's just gotten his first car and the mintute he drives it to training the boys swiped his keys and moved the car around the corner to make it look as if it had been stolen :p poor Marky shat himself!

Did anyone else see him on that young guns show......lookt like a shy nervous little boy hehe his high school friend came on and spoke much more confidently than him!

On the subject of dropping him while i agree he could get burnt out, getting sent back to the reserves for a 'rest' may hurt his confidence. Who is to say there would even be a spot for him come September anyway. His replacement may do a better job.

hotpie
7 Jul 2002, 19:06
I still reckon McGough needs to be dropped.

While we're at it we need to get O'Bree playing better.

Nic
7 Jul 2002, 19:57
Originally posted by hotpie
I still reckon McGough needs to be dropped.

While we're at it we need to get O'Bree playing better.

Who comes in for McGough for the cats game if he's dropped?

hotpie
8 Jul 2002, 11:45
Steinfort, Adkins, Dimatinna - plenty of choice. Also Holland or Molloy if fit.

Nic
8 Jul 2002, 14:47
Out of those three I think I'd prefer Steiner. As long as he's shaved before then. Maybe it's young Davo's turn to debut against the team his dad works for (and I think played for???).

JUBJUB
8 Jul 2002, 15:08
Originally posted by Nic
Maybe it's young Davo's turn to debut against the team his dad works for (and I think played for???).

No I don't he played AFL footy.

FIGJAM
8 Jul 2002, 16:08
Think JUBJUB, think!

Nic
8 Jul 2002, 21:28
Originally posted by FIGJAM
Think JUBJUB, think!

lol

Are you suuuure, JUBJUB?
I seem to recall reading it somewhere...but I wasn't sure.

JUBJUB
9 Jul 2002, 10:16
Okay,I was wrong [it occasionally happens :D ].Garry Davidson played 30 games for Geelong between 1972-74,then 10 games for Richmond in 1978.

Nic
9 Jul 2002, 12:34
I knew it all along.:D

The Geelong Advertiser never lies.

JUBJUB
9 Jul 2002, 14:49
Originally posted by Nic
I knew it all along.:D

The Geelong Advertiser never lies.

Shouldn't that be "the Geelong Advertiser never gets its facts right ? " :p

FIGJAM
9 Jul 2002, 16:54
40 games should be one-fifth the amount of games that Tom Davidson will play for us.

I call him Mini-Tarrant!! :cool:

JUBJUB
9 Jul 2002, 17:06

Does that mean he doesn't like Buckley either ? ;)

mandy
9 Jul 2002, 20:56

Easy FIGJAM, let's not get too carried away!

PiesPremiers
9 Jul 2002, 21:23
Originally posted by mandy5

Yeah, hes not that much of a ****er, yet ;)

FIGJAM
10 Jul 2002, 12:32
Nah, he'll be right!

He's already bagging 5ers down at Williamstown, 192cm, is quick, a great mark and can kick 'em straight a long way. Sounds like a soon to be Tarrant to me!

And no JUBJUB, he doesn't have the...errr...prominant features of Buckers!!

Dogwatcher
10 Jul 2002, 18:52
hi guys, Mick here.
Thanks for the tip about McGough.
Without you guys I would never have noticed how average his game was on the weekend.

I was disappointed he didn't get as many kicks as in previous weeks. We may just have to drop him to teach him a lesson.

Who to come in? My tip Adkins.

Oh yeah, Tarrant has to come back in.

See you at the selection table,

Mick.

FIGJAM
11 Jul 2002, 12:54
Originally posted by Dogwatcher
See you at the selection table,

Mick.
No worries Mick.

While we're there we can talk about what a dud Freeborn is!!

Nic
11 Jul 2002, 16:53

There can be only one.:p;)

hotpie
18 Jul 2002, 21:55
In the words of the great Mike Williamson,

"I tipped this"