View Full Version : #11 - Matthew "Sideshow" Priddis
Big Man
18 Dec 2007, 19:52
http://i233.photobucket.com/albums/ee72/ropes2007/73344938.jpg
MATTHEW PRIDDIS 2006-
Birth March 21, 1985 (1985-03-21) (age 22),
Recruited from Subiaco Football Club (WAFL) :thumbsu:
Debut Round 10, June 3, 2006, West Coast Eagles vs. Geelong, at Skilled Stadium
Games Played 26 Avg 13 games a year (2 in 06, 24 in 07 )
Kicks 324 Avg 12.46
Handballs 272 Avg 10.46
Disposals 596 Avg 22.9
Marks 79 Avg 3
Tackles 137 Avg 5.3
Goals 11 Avg 0.4
Behinds 4 Avg N/A
SEASON 2008
ROUND 1 V BRISBANE
K H D M T FF FA G B HO
15 14 29 3 10 1 2 0 0 0
ROUND 2 V ADELAIDE
K H D M T FF FA G B HO
15 14 29 1 4 1 1 0 2 0
ROUND 3 v FREMANTLE
K H D M T FF FA G B HO
15 13 28 4 4 3 1 0 1 0
ROUND 8 v NORTH MELBOURNE
K H D M T FF FA G B HO
13 9 22 2 4 2 0 0 0 0
ROUND 9 V ADELAIDE
K H D M T FF FA G B HO
16 18 34 3 7 1 0 0 1 0
ROUND 10 V COLLINGWOOD
K H D M T FF FA G B HO
14 17 31 4 5 0 0 0 0 0
ROUND 11 V SYDNEY
K H D M T FF FA G B HO
9 5 14 2 6 1 0 0 0 0
ROUND 12 V ESSENDON
K H D M T FF FA G B HO
9 9 18 1 7 1 1 0 0 0
Big Man
18 Dec 2007, 19:56
A hard tackler, great hands in traffic and runs hard all day long.
Kicking can be suspect ( interms of floaters, not bullets) but towards the end of the 2007 season it seemed to improve.
Will most definitely have to step it up to yet another level to replace the two superstars lost through the middle in Cousins and RoJo.
Can he do it?
You betcha. :thumbsu:
Keyser Soze
18 Dec 2007, 23:38
Surely you could have posted this in the thtead that was already there, instead of starting a new one.;)
Priddis to continue on his fine finals form into 2008 and push for AA selection with his partner in crime - Flatline Fletch.
Big Man
21 Dec 2007, 18:43
Working on his kick at all times is our Priddis.
http://i233.photobucket.com/albums/ee72/ropes2007/73699836.jpg
Big Man
21 Dec 2007, 18:44
100% concentration at all times.
http://i233.photobucket.com/albums/ee72/ropes2007/74224823.jpg
[quote=Big Man;9727879]Working on his kick at all times is our Priddis./quote]
He is ultra professional. When we first got to training I thought we had a mirror image Pridda, because he was kicking predominantly with his right foot, and doing a damn fine job. Keeps working at his perceived weaknesses this bloke and young Arrowsmith has those traits as well, great role model.
Big Man
26 Dec 2007, 14:56
Hope the Chrismas break served you well Matt.
Now get back out there and train away. :thumbsu:
(Feels good to have this thead re-opened, thankyou E.)
Big Man
26 Dec 2007, 15:45
Absolute gun.
You are welcome on this particular thread at any time Sante. :thumbsu:
sydney eagle
29 Dec 2007, 06:56
There will be more pressure od "Sideshow" next season as oposition taggers target him (and Kerr) as two of our leading midfielders. Can he handle it ? I have every confidence that he can, and will !
He will surprise a few nay-sayers this season.
I have 100000% faith in Matthew's ability to break a hard tag.
Pre season training seems to be going great guns also, keeping a certain Chad Fletcher honest. (Hi Keys :thumbsu:)
dobbo_18
4 Jan 2008, 13:42
Trained superbly, looks really sharp, as do Lecras and Hurn.
Cheers dobbo.
A consummate proffesional is our Priddis. :thumbsu:
dobbo_18
5 Jan 2008, 14:31
Btw, as to his 'floaters' he has certainly rectified this problem over the pre-season as he was delivering lace-out passes at training yesterday. Set the standard did Matt.
Wonderful news dobbo. :thumbsu:
That is, or should I say was, his real weakness in his game.
Hear about Clinton Grybas?
wll play a major part of our team this year
happy_eagle
21 Jan 2008, 16:20
you would be pleased to know that i am currently making a matthew priddis video
EagleMan87
21 Jan 2008, 17:14
Awesome. When's it due?
happy_eagle
21 Jan 2008, 18:32
Awesome. When's it due?
usually when i finish it
EagleMan87
21 Jan 2008, 18:56
usually when i finish it
Gee, thanks:rolleyes::D
happy_eagle
21 Jan 2008, 19:11
Gee, thanks:rolleyes::D
lol, il give you a bit more insight
im currently stealing footage from bigpond so im in the compiling stage
should go for around 5 minutes im predicting
Big Man
21 Jan 2008, 19:52
I appreciate the effort Happy. :thumbsu:
happy_eagle
21 Jan 2008, 23:36
I appreciate the effort Happy. :thumbsu:
Wow, hes talking to me :o (sweats nervously)
Keyser Soze
21 Jan 2008, 23:43
Wow, hes talking to me :o (sweats nervously)
When it comes to Priddis, BM would talk to all the ice in Antartica until it melts.
happy_eagle
23 Jan 2008, 20:51
7BT4GY9xhi4
Keyser Soze
23 Jan 2008, 21:00
Nice work happy.
Very nice work.:thumbsu:
Now about that ice in Antartica......
Big Man
23 Jan 2008, 21:55
Well I think I need sometime alone right now.....
You superstar Happy, ****ing superstar.
Thankyou mate. :thumbsu:
Big Man
17 Feb 2008, 21:51
Disappointing NAB cup game for sideshow.
Missed the entire 2nd half with an alleged calf strain.
7 touches 2 tackles.
Disappointing NAB cup game for sideshow.
Missed the entire 2nd half with an alleged calf strain.
7 touches 2 tackles.
Pffft... it's only a NAB match. Would be disappointed if he was at peak match fitness so early! Chin up! Will be good for the season proper:thumbsu:
Nice kid too:thumbsu:
Just a strain then? Good. Heard he had it iced up in the last quarter. Precautionary then?
Please rest the 2009 Bornwlopw Medal man til round 1
Any "official" word on what the go is?? With Kerr's hammy, u guys could ill-afford to lose another gun midfielder before the season propper. And even though im not trolling i'll conclude by covering myself: Gary Ablett's calf is fine and he'll be ready to go round one - thanks for asking.
Carn the Coasters
18 Feb 2008, 12:11
Any "official" word on what the go is?? With Kerr's hammy, u guys could ill-afford to lose another gun midfielder before the season propper. And even though im not trolling i'll conclude by covering myself: Gary Ablett's calf is fine and he'll be ready to go round one - thanks for asking.
Who is Gary Ablett and why is he being discussed in a thread about a superstar of the game?
The word superstar has more credibility if Ablett's mentioned.. back to Priddis - i didnt come here to wage war, just wanting to know what the club is saying in regard to the Priddis injury? All i'v heard here in melb is that its a calf-strain anywhere between 1-4 weeks - leaves alot open for interpretation.. just seeking clarification.
For the record - i agree priddis is a superstar - hence why im spending my time on his thread..
Looks set for a big year.
Some early decisions went against him but was just delightful as the game worn on.
Superstar.
Mr E/GB can I request posts 31,32 & 33 be deleted? :)
Big Man
22 Mar 2008, 22:42
ROUND 1 v BRISBANE.
My votes. (4)
Was very good tonight against the lions. Went hard at all contests, very slick hands in heavy, dense traffic.
Effiecent kicking and layed a whopping 10 tackles. 29 touches in a break up of 15 kicks 14 handballs along with 3 marks.
Worked very hard and never let up.
Priddis? ****ing superstar. :thumbsu:
Juddtastic
22 Mar 2008, 22:52
Pridda is the man, accumulates possies at will!
happy_eagle
22 Mar 2008, 23:23
ah. a good adition to my dream team is priddis
did he get a gig in yours big man
Big Man
22 Mar 2008, 23:59
Actually no.
:)
sydney eagle
23 Mar 2008, 11:10
ROUND 1 v BRISBANE.
My votes. (4)
Was very good tonight against the lions. Went hard at all contests, very slick hands in heavy, dense traffic.
Effiecent kicking and layed a whopping 10 tackles. 29 touches in a break up of 15 kicks 14 handballs along with 3 marks.
Worked very hard and never let up.
Priddis? ****ing superstar. :thumbsu: Just sounds like a typical game for "Sideshow" !:)
Juddtastic
23 Mar 2008, 11:41
I have Him! He was my capitano aswell!
Big Man
31 Mar 2008, 23:46
Another 29 disposal game from Sideshow that was rather unnoticed.
Like many of his teammates Priddis was strangled by Adelaides midfield group and only got a few of his kicks forward of centre.
Will look to improve v the Fremantle Bombers this coming round.
Once again gave his all for the West Coast Eagles.
Racked up 28 touches in a solid display through the middle.
15 kicks 13 handballs with 4 tackles. Also kicked a goal.
Needs a line breaking midfielder to compliment his work.
Juddtastic
7 Apr 2008, 18:17
Gotta love the man's work! be interesting to see how he'll go against the stranglehold of the sydney swans
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,23511712-19742,00.html
Matt Priddis to miss three games
AAP | April 09, 2008 12:00am
Have your say!Add your comments or read what others are sayingEmail article Share Add to Digg Add to del.icio.us Post to NewsVine Post to Facebook What are these? Printer friendly Text size+- EAGLES midfielder Matt Priddis is likely to miss three matches after undergoing knee surgery. Whether it be the footballing gods paying West Coast back for past misdemeanours, or just plain bad luck, the Eagles have lost another top-line midfielder just when they needed him most.
Already struggling to replace the influence of Ben Cousins and Chris Judd, the Eagles engine room will have do without Priddis for at least three weeks after he had to undergo knee surgery today.
More than the usual soreness after Saturday's western derby loss to Fremantle prompted the club to order scans, which revealed detritus in Priddis' left knee which needed immediate attention.
"After having scans done he needs some surgery done. He is in today and I think he might have had it done. He looks like missing a minimum of three weeks," coach John Worsfold said.
"It is not a medial, it's floating bone. He has torn off a little bit of bone, so they have had to go in and suck that out.
"It happened during the game and he got through the game, but he pulled up pretty sore the next day and then sorer the next day."
Priddis' first three games in 2008 have seen him take over as one of the Eagles key onballers.
He's found the ball 86 times, two more than even star on-baller Daniel Kerr, and just eight behind the competition leader Joel Corey.
With Priddis also executing 18 clearances - one behind Kerr who tops the AFL in that list - the absence of the 23 year-old will be hugely felt against the Swans.
Add to that the huge doubts over ruckman Dean Cox, and Saturday's clash with Sydney at ANZ Stadium looms as a daunting prospect.
Cox hurt his right foot in the first quarter against Fremantle, and while x-rays and scans cleared him of major damage, Worsfold said Cox would need to be "better than 50-50" before the club would even consider taking him east.
"He is still very confident he will be right to play and I don't think we'll travel him to Sydney if he is only 50-50," Worsfold said.
"I think he will want to be a lot more than that for us to take him over there to see if he comes up. Really, tonight's training will be the biggest test for us.
"If playing with it was going to make it worse, or make him carry it for a longer period, then the advice would be you are probably better off resting him and letting him get over it.
While it would not seem West Coast's week could not get any worse, Worsfold said he was confident his team would be able to solve their problems with turnovers and skill errors.
"There is a couple of glaring things that aren't working that well for us that most people are aware of. We are going to address those. But we are not far away," Worsfold said.
"We need to improve, because there is no use being within a kick of sides halfway through the last quarter and still losing, but we know where that improvement can come from and we are confident we can deliver on that
Gutted. Shattered. Distraught.
loopy_cam
1 May 2008, 16:59
Any News on the Priddis injury and return.
happy_eagle
2 May 2008, 20:31
Any News on the Priddis injury and return.
Wouldnt make sense to rush him in
After the week off he should be back to normal
carntheeagles
3 May 2008, 05:22
Is he taking it well that Nathan Brown is with his sister ? :D
Big Man
21 May 2008, 22:58
Priddis made a welcome return to AFL football at the jam packed Gold Coast Stadium.
Whilst dominating the stoppages like we have become accustomed to, it was a modest return after a lengthy layoff with a knee injury.
13 Kicks, 9 handballs, 2 marks and 4 tackles was a decent return for our Sideshow.
Welcome back Matty, I and many others missed your game.
BM, I reckon 9 clearances (game high by 3) would he say he did dominate the stoppages.
Big Man
21 May 2008, 23:54
Damn really?
Edit time then.....
Damn really?
Edit time then.....
Gotta love the edit button :thumbsu:
Big Man
24 May 2008, 23:37
A exceptional game from Sideshow tonight v Adelaide.
Was a ball magnet and cleared the ball a whopping 8 times, sidestepping, twirling, whatever it took to extract the ball and get it to a teammate.
He also layed a team high 7 tackles.
He displayed tonight his importance to our structure with his hard running and superb defensive efforts.
Only saw snippets of the demolition at the hands of Collingwood so I cant really comment.
Seemed to get heaps of the pill but wasnt damaging like most of his teammates.
31 disposals and 5 tackles.
In the pressure cooker that was the match versus our long time rivals Sydney, Priddis worked hard on to try and exert an influence.
Things didnt pan out that way as Kirk made sure Priddis was reduced to a tackling, low disposal player.
His season low 14 touches, whilst not damaging were very clean under extreme Swans pressure. 6 tackles in tight confinement made sure the Swans earnt every ball.
Did go quiet when Sydney flexed its muscles late in the game and will keen for redemption against a disorganised Bombers outfit.
Look for a high 30 possession game that damages the oppositions morale.
CaffeinatedMop
9 Jun 2008, 13:01
Priddis is an absolute gun.
Top fella too.
Gotta love his mop.
Big Man
18 Jun 2008, 23:56
A disappointing game from Matty v Essendon.
Only managed 18 disposals but again layed 7 tackles.
Was a non factor against a wak Essendon midfield, a worrying side condidering Geelong and Hawthorn are the two next opponents.
Must lift his head and get back to his best.
bodazoka
20 Aug 2008, 02:54
just wait till he gets another 50 games under his belt.
Big Man
30 Sep 2008, 19:10
Man I let this slip.
Much like the Eagles did in the regular season. :o