View Full Version : #28 Scott Selwood - Better than his brothers?
eagles06
19th December 2007, 22:26
Official #28 Scott 'Scooter' Selwood player watch thread
With the first post by his proud sponsor in 08.
http://i273.photobucket.com/albums/jj204/matt3192/2008_SELWOODScott_thumb.jpg
Highlights: mms://wm9.streaming.telstra.com/wh_afl1/OnDemand/Preseason08/scottselwood.wmv
Weaver: A much blunter weapon than Joel. Scott is a blue-collar grunt who knocks people over and runs through packs. Plays a little too much on HBF for my taste but his stints in the centre have been encouraging. Probably doesn't run and carry enough - when he does it is because people have jumped out of his way. Shapes as a Daniel Harris type, one-paced inside thug who can lockdown opponents, cruch packs and get the ball going forward.
Recruiter 1: We all know that Scott has ability but he had a poor game today. He entered the championships with some expectations because he is the youngest of the Selwood clan (Adam, Troy and Joel). He's a really good type of boy but he played below his ability against South Australia. He has the skills but just has to work harder for longer.
Recruiter 2: There is little doubt that Scott is a player to watch – the bloodlines confirm that point. While disappointing today, I expect he will still perform okay in the next two matches.
http://i273.photobucket.com/albums/jj204/matt3192/2075700060_964c048068.jpg
Kevin Sheehan: A medium defender/midfielder, Selwood averaged 21 disposals for the championships, which was capped off with 32 disposals against Vic Metro. He is a no-fuss small/medium player either in defence or the midfield. His brothers Troy (Brisbane Lions), Adam (West Coast) and Joel (Geelong) already play in the AFL.
ant555: Scott Selwood – 184cm 81kg – Bendigo Pioneers. Gets a lot of publicity simply because of his brothers but as far as footy goes he is his own man. He isn’t as classy as Joel but he does have great skills. Isn’t overly fast and tends to crash through the smaller guys rather than beat them with skill. Has played a bit of junior footy at half back with no one on him so he finds the ball a bit but often I think he could be working harder during games. Needs to run and carry it more often. He is a good size kid who does seem to enjoy playing an inside pack crashing role.
TOA: Hard nosed HBF who will probably turn out to be a good midfielder in time. Arguably quicker than all his brothers and very bottom-age so alot of scope to improve. Tempted by other more risky types but I think a safe pick like him at this stage suits the Tigers well. Tigers need more contested players to add to their outside types so he is a good fit IMO.
AFL Insider:
AFL Positions:
He probably starts his AFL career in a back pocket and then moves into the middle in a few years. SSelwood could also stay in the defensive half, and develop into a player like Wirrpanda or Scotland, who can take control in the back line.
Perfect Fit For:
The Cats might consider using their first round pick on him, while the pairing of Joel and Scott wouldn't be as great as the Lord twins or the Nankervis or Hocking brothers it could be very close.
**********.net prediction:
Collingwood's second round pick could be used to draft the fourth Selwood. Players like Burns, Licuria and O'Bree are getting to the end of their careers and S Selwood would be a player to eventually use in their roles.
AFL Fantasy Outlook:
He is ready to play at AFL level and might play most of the games next season, so he would be worth signing for fantasy teams, especially if he was eligible as a fantasy defender. His playing time, and fantasy points, would probably be higher if he went to a bad team that picked early in the second round, compared to going to a better team who had a late first round pick. Although his brother, Joel, did show that a first-year player can play on a top team and also help fantasy teams.
AFL Insider:
He is famous, and he hasn't even played a game yet. As Hulk Hogan used to say, ""Brother, Brother, Brother"".
Brisbane could have taken Joel with a very high pick last year, they didn't then so it is unlikely that they will take Scott this time in the first round, although there is the chance that he lasts until their second rounder. The Eagles could see Scott Selwood as the type of player who could eventually take over from Wirrpanda as a leader in the back line, so he might go at pick 13. The Cats have the last pick of the first round, Scott would make sense for them too.
The Hawks have a lot of young talent, especially in the talls department, so a small midfielder/defender would be something they look at. Vandenberg and Smith are gone, so there could be a spot at Hawthorn for Selwood in the back half or as a defensive midfield player.
Player profile from Official site (http://www.westcoasteagles.com.au/TheClub/Players/PlayerProfile/tabid/7302/Default.aspx?playerid=18327&typeid=2)
http://img2.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/9374655ac4.jpg (http://www.freeimagehosting.net/)
Articles:
No pressure: Scott 'Scooter' Selwood (http://www.westcoasteagles.com.au/Season2008/News/NewsArticle/TabId/7155/default.aspx?newsId=54535)
High praise for youngest Selwood (http://afl.com.au/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsid=57379)
Latest Selwood to make Derby Debut (http://www.thewest.com.au/default.aspx?MenuID=427&ContentID=66336)
AFL Games:
Debut Round 3 (Derby): 7 kicks, 7 Handballs, 2 marks, 2 tackles, 2 Frees For
Really good effort in Scott's Debut, he looked like he was hungry for the footy, he also did the thing you need to do behind play and put in 100%. I expect he will play quite a few more games this year.
Round 4: 4 kicks, 5 handballs, 2 marks, 2 frees for and just the 1 clanger
Again he tried hard but just didn't get the result he would have want, which was probably the case for the whole team unfortunetly.
Lynch takes a mark
19th December 2007, 23:19
Built like Joel (stronger build, able to put on muscle easier) rather than the rangy type in Adam/Troy, has the best athletic qualities of the 4 but all have the similar endurance, agility and vertical leap and is very bottom aged and could have played another year in the U18's.
Has great scope for improvement, more than enviable blood lines, super competitive and has 3 brothers who have made it as AFL quality
pretty safe bet for a long term defender/midfielder, I think he could be a Daniel Harris type long term.
Clean hands and looking at the highlights tape he has a reasonable turn of pace and a willingness to take players on.
Will be a fair bit of competition between him and Adam over the preseason.
eagles06
22nd December 2007, 18:57
As reported on the main board Scott Selwood has been outstanding in training this week showing excellent pace. Should be a player in line to play in the NAB cup. Keep it up Scotty.
eagles06
20th January 2008, 13:12
Scott Selwood seems to be impressing Suma, I read somewhere he is pretty much penciled in for a NAB cup debut this year. Performing only second to Ebert out of the new boys and that is a great effort.
juddy_Like
24th January 2008, 21:23
Kid came into my work today. Nicest kid you'll ever meet. Yet again he is a Selwood isnt he.
Cuzz09
17th February 2008, 22:37
I swear!
Scott Selwood is the next Cousins!!
I loved his game Vs Freo in the NAB Cup.
He attacked the ball with fereoicuousdfsiausgbjf and looked good.
Didnt look out of place at all for a young guyyyyy !~
eagles06
21st February 2008, 19:15
Fantastic game by Scotty on the weekend. I think we will be seeing a fair bit of him this season. :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
eagles06
23rd February 2008, 18:24
Another great game by Selwood, Scott that is, this weekend against the Magpies. It has been reported that he was very impressive with his pressure.
Looking good for the real thing in a few weeks time, hopefully he can keep up the good work.
cormick
26th February 2008, 16:10
gday guys.
Just wondering...will Scott Selwood play much this season, dya's reckon?
Wondering whether or not to get him for super coach.
cheers ;)
eagles06
27th February 2008, 14:12
gday guys.
Just wondering...will Scott Selwood play much this season, dya's reckon?
Wondering whether or not to get him for super coach.
cheers ;)
I would say he has a chance to play a few games this year. He has been in the best for both games I believe, its hard to say really but I think he will definetly make his debut soon.
RunDoggieRun
27th February 2008, 14:30
I would say he has a chance to play a few games this year. He has been in the best for both games I believe, its hard to say really but I think he will definetly make his debut soon.
Very good player but all are classy players
hawk-boy
27th February 2008, 15:02
i love this guy he looks like a 10 year player
kryssy23
29th February 2008, 14:52
I heard that supposedly scott selwood wont play till later on in the year cause he hasnt finished his studies (year 12).. but dont take my word for it
adam10
2nd March 2008, 07:42
Looks like another gun!!
eagles06
15th March 2008, 19:40
Scott Selwood - Player Profile from: West Coast Eagles Official Site (http://www.westcoasteagles.com.au)
The youngest Selwood brother joins older brother Adam at the Eagles to complete an AFL family dynasty that also includes Troy (Brisbane) and last year's NAB AFL Rising Star Joel (Geelong). A medium-sized midfielder/defender, Selwood is hard at the ball and reads the play exceptionally well. An AIS-AFL graduate, he and fellow draftees Masten and Ebert will give the Eagles hope they can successfully rebuild their midfield post Judd and Ben Cousins.
eagles06
21st March 2008, 22:53
Scotty Selwood has been named as an emergency for West Coast although he has been named to play for Perth in the WAFL. With Masten and McNamara being named as emergency's and not for their WAFL sides it looks like Scooter will be playing for Perth on Saturday at 2:15pm WST, you can catch the game on ABC radio. Good luck Scoot :thumbsu:
eagles06
24th March 2008, 10:15
Well Scott played extremely well on the weekend again. He has been named in Perth's best and also kicked a goal. He will be pushing for selection all year. :thumbsu:
absolutezero
27th March 2008, 14:01
Is he playing this weekend? Or is there a chance he might?
RhEF JC
27th March 2008, 15:07
Is he playing this weekend? Or is there a chance he might?
there's a chance, but probably only an outside one
RhEF JC
27th March 2008, 17:19
let's go with no
kryssy23
27th March 2008, 22:24
so far he hasnt been picked but masten and ebert are named to play
eagles06
28th March 2008, 08:05
There is a good chance he may come in for a tall as it is apparently supposed to be wet.
groga
30th March 2008, 21:20
Im hoping he gets a game this week in the derby he has been on the emergencies twice this would be the best way to introduce the final brother in a derby against arch rivals dockers
eagles06
3rd April 2008, 16:35
Great news coming through tonight that Scooter will play in the Derby. Hopefully he can do well.
groga
3rd April 2008, 18:44
yep here's hoping he carves the up:thumbsu:
Kerrby
4th April 2008, 13:49
I think the title needs a change. No one is better than Adam Selwood. NO ONE.
eagles06
4th April 2008, 17:18
Well, now with the fourth Selwood coming in that will equal the Danihers who had the 4 brothers in the AFL at the same time too. Brilliant stuff.
Back to the man of the weekend, Micale seems to think very highy of him:
High Praise for the youngest Selwood (http://afl.com.au/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsid=57379)
It's great to see – he's just got a marvellous attitudeHe's probably one of the most professional young kids that I've seen.In the games that he's played he's certainly got the Selwood character, he's a really tough, determined young bloke, and one thing that I've found with him in games is that he seems to have the ability to play really well defensively and also win his share of the footy.I think that's the most important thing, looking at Adam and looking at Scott, they just prepare themselves so well, they're so professional about what they do, and that's the reason why they have the success that they do.
Isandula
5th April 2008, 17:40
Debuting very nicely, title could very much come true :thumbsu:
eagles06
5th April 2008, 17:50
Debuting very nicely, title could very much come true :thumbsu:
Lets hope so.
He needs more game time as does Ebert
groga
5th April 2008, 18:02
His 3rd quarter was awesome he set up a goal :thumbsu::)
FandangoDingo
7th April 2008, 21:34
Well, now with the fourth Selwood coming in that will equal the Danihers who had the 4 brothers in the AFL at the same time too. Brilliant stuff.
Brilliant stuff indeed. Great for the family. A pity they're not all at the one club.... but lucky for the rest of us!!!
Here's hoping Scott is not your version of our Chris! ;) :thumbsu:
groga
9th April 2008, 21:35
Going to be a star
eagles06
10th April 2008, 19:40
Scotty is in the team again this round as West Coast take on almost the impossible over in Sydney. Hopefully he can match up on someone like Luke Ablett for the whole match and see how he goes.
Luke1048
10th April 2008, 21:17
he is a machine
eagles06
13th April 2008, 12:20
Well scotty didn't have a great game last night, but i don't think any of the boys did really.
He came away with 9 possesions, 4 kicks, 5 handballs, 2 marks, 2 frees for and just the one clanger.
I think if Embley and Wirra are ready to come back he will be in the firing line unfortunetly.
groga
13th April 2008, 13:02
"Shannon Hurn, Chris Masten, Jamie McNamara, all the young players ... Ben McKinley (four goals) we've been very impressed with, Scott Selwood, Adam Selwood's job on (Adam) Goodes after he really lit the game up early in that second quarter,"
Took that from a interview with wosha, after the game against the swans. Here's hoping he gets to keep his spot.:thumbsu::)
Mastablingbling
13th April 2008, 21:48
Gonna be a handy player for us...fancy him slipping to #22, already showing he can have an impact.
Our backline is going to be a tough unit for years to come.
UpForGrabs
14th April 2008, 18:25
Been really impressed with him so far.
More Adam than Joel, but then again I think teams mould the youngsters into the players they want them to be.
Add Masten's game and the glimpses of Ebert we've seen - Draft 2007 could turn out to be a bounty given time.
Puddy
17th April 2008, 22:00
He was so good that he got dropped from a struggling side
eagles06
18th April 2008, 16:16
Scott has been ommitted from this weeks squad unfortunetly but I would think it is very much because of experience and not so much that he has been playing badly. I think we can expect him to go back to the WAFL and work his arse off, he will just keep pushing for a spot.
Liam#9
19th April 2008, 14:35
He was so good that he got dropped from a struggling side
A bit like Pearce ay?
eagles06
25th April 2008, 10:16
Scotty will line up for Perth this week in the WAFL after he missed last weeks game for Perth.
Looking like he could match up against Yarren which would be an interesting contest.
He was understandably over looked again this week, as Ebert has a good game for Peel collecting around 25 possies and Scofield continued his strong form in the WAFL for Peel also.
groga
25th April 2008, 19:38
Apparently scott got injured early on in the wafl game on friday. But then came back in the 3rd quater and played well:confused:
eagles06
25th April 2008, 21:28
Apparently Scott had a bit of a shitty game today for Perth.
He started in the back pocket opposed to Yarren and we out played by his opponent. 20 minutes into the first quater he sistained a knee injury and was carried off the ground.
After quarter time he returned to the ground however looked a bit shakey and could really get into the game.
At the end of the game he had 8 kicks and 8 handball, but he also gave away 2 50m penalties which isn't something i like to see.
I'll be looking for an improvement from him in the coming weeks.
groga
25th April 2008, 23:19
Scott.Selwood seemed to get into the game late i thought. Hopefully he can have a few solid wafl games! Then find him self back in the team to take on Joel.Selwood.:thumbsu:
Can any one fill me in how he went this weekend?
eagles06
4th May 2008, 11:54
Can any one fill me in how he went this weekend?
I've got no news on the game yesterday, will post when is do.
eagles06
4th May 2008, 20:31
He didn't play...:(
Must be resting for the senior side.
Like the sound of that... :p
Maybe he can play on Joel, when we play Geelong ...:D
eagles06
5th May 2008, 15:59
Scott actually did line up for Perth on the weekend.
He collected 8 kicks, 8 handballs, 3 marks, 3 FF, 1 FA and 1 inside 50
Scott actually did line up for Perth on the weekend.
He collected 8 kicks, 8 handballs, 3 marks, 3 FF, 1 FA and 1 inside 50
That's not to bad.:)
Lynch takes a mark
7th May 2008, 13:24
Showed terrific signs in the pre season games but is still far too under developed for AFL level just yet
eagles06
7th May 2008, 16:38
Showed terrific signs in the pre season games but is still far too under developed for AFL level just yet
It seems that way. He has all the makings of a solid AFL player but he just needs another year or two.
eagles06
11th May 2008, 11:50
Apparently Scott played a good solid game yesterday:thumbsu:
Isandula
11th May 2008, 13:47
Good to here about his progress, the advantage for him is he started a year younger than the rest of them so is getting more practise to become the better one.
anti.
11th May 2008, 13:49
scott will be a good player. shows a bit of skill, poise and will be a better decision maker as he gets more confidence in himself and team mates.
he's tough too, you cant buy that.
eagles06
12th May 2008, 17:46
Scott had some good stats this weekend.
Scott had 21 posessions on the weekend with 17 kicks, 4 handballs, 7 marks, 3 FF, 2 FA and 3 I50.
Sounds like he played pretty well
groga
12th May 2008, 17:47
may get a call up for the game against kangaroos :)
eagles06
16th May 2008, 22:42
Expect Scott to line up for Perth this weekend as he is named in the side, although hopefully he will play either way.
eagles06
23rd May 2008, 16:24
Scott got injured last week which is not good and he will not line up for Perth this weekend. Hope its nothing serious.
I think he will be a much improved player next year without his studies to worry him.
Embers
24th May 2008, 23:24
Scooter is out for 1 month with a cheekbone injury
groga
24th May 2008, 23:27
Hopefully he can get a couple off game's at the end off the season
anti.
24th May 2008, 23:27
____, bad news.
eagles06
30th May 2008, 18:45
Scott won't be playing this week for Perth with a cheek injury and is unlikely to play next week.
groga
8th June 2008, 18:12
I think he will get another few games in the second part off the season hopefully he can be involved in a win... :D
groga
14th June 2008, 18:55
Played for Perth today, had 12 kicks, 6 handballs and 10 marks to halftime. Unfortunately Scott got knocked out 3rd term, which was really disappointing because he was having a great game...He is going to be something special :D appears to have this extra bit off pace...
eagles06
14th June 2008, 20:09
Played for Perth today, had 12 kicks, 6 handballs and 10 marks to halftime. Unfortunately Scott got knocked out 3rd term, which was really disappointing because he was having a great game...He is going to be something special :D appears to have this extra bit off pace...
Not great news with him being on a stretcher, but he was having a blinder so hopefully he recovers in time for next week.
eagles06
19th June 2008, 17:03
Scott had 19 possessions in his last WAFL match for Perth before being knocked out. Playing in the middle for much of the time Scott was heading for a brilliant return but unfortunately he was knocked out as has been talked about.
He collected 12 kicks, 7 handballs, 10 marks, 3 inside 50's as well as a stack of tackles. He could be back in an Eagles jumper very soon, would have been good to have the first match with the 3 Selwood boys in the one game.
groga
5th July 2008, 23:15
Scott Selwood - has that extra yard of pace on most at WAFL, attacked the ball hard and often used as a linkman. Skills both sides of the bodies are quite good, for example took the ball on the wing in the first quarter and a teammate breaks at half forward for him so, without breaking stride puts it on the left foot and hits the HF on the lead. So many players would stop, prop and go back on to the right. Got through without being knocked out, so that's a good thing. Good game, was named in Perth's best. :thumbsu:
great write up thought it be great here :)
eagles06
6th July 2008, 12:50
great write up thought it be great here :)
Yeah, good write up.
Sounds like he had a good game, consistency should come with more games and hopefully not injuring himself but still with that courage.
Good skill which is what we need at the moment, hopefully he can get a few games under his belt in the latter part of the year.
Hopefully I can get some stats soon
eagles06
8th July 2008, 10:45
Here's his stats:
23 possessions
7 Kicks
13 Handballs
3 Marks
1 FA
1 Inside 50
So he did set te world alight this week but still did very well, with his consistency though he may get a chance.
eagles06
11th July 2008, 17:13
If you want to see Scott play get down to Fremantle Oval on tonight, all you guys that are lucky enough to live in Perth get down there to watch the Eagles most promising young star.
Time: 6.40pm WST TONIGHT!!!!!
If you can't get down to the game you can listen on 990AM
We also have Will Sullivan and Callum Wilson playing for Perth while Jaymie Graham will be playing for South Fremantle.
So get down there and check out the future of this great club!!
eagles06
12th July 2008, 00:27
Well Scott has had another great match tonight, he has racked up 30 possessions and kicked 2 goals which is a fantastic effort.
You would expect him to be very close to a senior game.
eagles06
18th July 2008, 20:59
Good to see Scott getting a game on saturday night, well deserved
Cuzz09
20th July 2008, 09:44
Watching the game last night I thought Scott Selwood has a very long way to go.
He looked scared a few times he got the ball in traffic.
Nothing wrong with it, just will take time to get his body up to AFL standards.
eagles06
20th July 2008, 14:53
Watching the game last night I thought Scott Selwood has a very long way to go.
He looked scared a few times he got the ball in traffic.
Nothing wrong with it, just will take time to get his body up to AFL standards.
Its a bit strange but he is young, didn't have a great game with only the 6 handballs but I rekon he needs a few more games under his belt, it was a bit like seeing Ebert and Masten playing against Adelaide early in the year.
Perhaps he feeling the pressure with the reputation of his brothers, he will only improve though. Deserves another crack against the saints.
eagles06
26th July 2008, 17:34
Well Scotty has had a better half this week. Got more of the ball than he did last week in a half.
eagles06
26th July 2008, 21:17
http://i273.photobucket.com/albums/jj204/matt3192/155726.jpg
Scotty involved in his first win of the season. Played a pretty good game.
Heres his stats:
Kicks: 8
Handballs: 7
Disposals: 15
Marks: 2
Tackles: 1
FF: 1
AND most importantly he kicked his first goal in AFL footy. Well done Scott :thumbsu:
mitchzz
26th July 2008, 21:44
I liked his goal, he looked very happy!
groga
26th July 2008, 21:54
Wat a gun :p
Embers
27th July 2008, 09:20
Did anyone see him fall over himself when kicking the goal. Thank god no one was on the mark :p
scooterselwood
28th July 2008, 23:54
yeah noticed that :thumbsu:
anti.
30th July 2008, 18:37
i think he's one of those players who's main game is to take on the opposition and be daring...at the moment he's not quite big enough to do that at AFL level so he looks as if he's playing within himself because he knows he may get tackled if he tries anything to over the top.
with experience + a bigger frame, i think selwood will be a very creative player for us in the future. his evasive skills are great.
i would really like to see him play out the season.
vBulletin® v3.7.1, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.