View Full Version : 19. Mitch Thorp
philhawk
9th March 2007, 18:19
According to the My Man Thread (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=291068), it looks like Macquarie Eagle will be one of the posters responsible for looking after Thorpie for us this season.
Take it away, Macquarie!
hawkstars
12th May 2007, 18:16
Played his first game for Box Hill today and presented well taking a few contested grabs. Good signs so far from a kid. Could have kicked a couple but his kicking was inaccurate. Demands the ball and takes the grab. I think the Hawks were on the money with this guy. Go Hawks!!!!!!!!!!
HFC082
12th May 2007, 19:01
He was getting really close to the man on the mark when kicking.
If he had more room, those shots might have gone in.
GNCLongJack
13th May 2007, 04:27
Very impressive with his general game, kicking lacked power. I was on the boundary fence right near the interchange, and he was in very good fitness (not short of breath) even when gettin benched due to rotations.
La Vache
13th May 2007, 13:57
Looks to have great agility and very clean, powerful grip/hands.
Really liked what I saw.
rumblah
19th May 2007, 23:56
6 goals today, when will he debut for Hawthorn
philhawk
21st May 2007, 20:38
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,21765495%255E19895,00.html
The Box Hill Hawks had a surprise 15-point win against Geelong, 12 places above it on the ladder, at Skilled Stadium on Saturday.
Teenager Mitchell Thorp starred at centre half-forward with six goals, and Cat forward Tom Hawkins failed to kick a goal on Zac Dawson.
navier-stokes equation
5th June 2007, 20:13
How far is Thorp away from debuting?
He appears to be a ready made player; he looked very good last year, I liken his style to that of Pavlich
Roughie
6th June 2007, 01:27
How far is Thorp away from debuting?
He appears to be a ready made player; he looked very good last year, I liken his style to that of Pavlich
He broke his finger last week and will miss a week or two. I think another 2 or 3 good performances at Box Hill, and relying on either Dixon or Roughead's ommission he would then come in.
BigCat2
17th June 2007, 16:31
Hope you guys don't mind me posting here.
That was what I thought too last year around draft time. Thorp has the ability to play anywhere, even in the midfield. Remember Pavlich also played midfield for about a year.
He's already capable of kicking well on both sides of the body too. General kicking is pretty good but needs to fine tune his set shots. A big athletic guy who will be very good when he develops. :thumbsu:
Bennycoff
20th June 2007, 17:31
Yeah he is going to be a star for Hawthorn. Such a good selection.
ilovemyself
29th June 2007, 18:01
i'm a crows fan but do live in vic & have seen this kid play & i believe he will be the best player from this draft he can run jump take a grab & kick a goal he is seriously special & your forward line in 2 years will be unstoppable
rumblah
15th July 2007, 18:32
couldnt have scripted a better debut.
he certainly didnt seem selfish, im speaking of that last mark that setup laddo's goal.
he'll be something, this kid.
alan_22
27th August 2007, 13:10
2nd best ever player to play the game Beau Muston the greatest!
rumblah
27th August 2007, 18:43
2nd best ever player to play the game Beau Muston the greatest!
big call.
hawkstars
28th August 2007, 08:21
Massive
RustyHawk
6th September 2007, 19:35
Mitch Thorp again went under the surgeons knife on 05.09.07 for more corrective surgery to his hips.
Will delay his pre season and see him on a modified program.
RustyHawk
6th September 2007, 20:04
Mitch Thorp's 2007 season stats: Seniors: 1 game.
Player Statistics - 2007 Home & Away
Round Date.................. Vs K H P M HO T FF FA G B
Round 15 15/07/2007 Tigers 4 1 5 3 ..1. 0 1... 0 1 .2
RustyHawk
6th September 2007, 20:06
Thorp has a big future: Clarkson
4:35 PM Sat 14 July, 2007 | Back
By Ben Oliver,
for hawthornfc.com.au
News
Swagger and poise from Thorp
Mon, Jul 16, 07 HAWTHORN coach Alastair Clarkson says debutant Mitch Thorp is a crucial cog in the team’s future designs, but he isn’t expecting fireworks from the young Tasmanian when he plays his first AFL game on Sunday.
Thorp, taken by Hawthorn as the sixth pick in last year’s AFL Draft, gets his opportunity after continued good form with VFL affiliate side Box Hill, and injuries to several players including forwards Tim Boyle, Mark Williams and Chance Bateman.
“I am pretty excited about playing my first game, and playing it at the MCG,” Thorp said.
"It's been great coming to a club like Hawthorn and I am looking forward to running out with my teammates on Sunday.”
Thorp has predominantly played as a forward in the VFL, but Clarkson said he was impressed by the 18-year-old’s versatility at both ends of the ground.
“He’ll probably start the game up forward for us, but I’d imagine at different stages throughout his whole career he’s going to be flipped between forward and defence,” he said.
“He’s shown that flexibility in his game, that’s one of the attributes we liked about him, he can play with aplomb at both ends of the ground.”
Clarkson said he was pleased to see Thorp finally break into Hawthorn best available 22 after nine months of training.
Thorp will become the 845th player to pull on the brown and gold stripes, and the third Hawk to make his AFL debut in season 2007, following Xavier Ellis and Garry Moss.
“It’s exciting for our football club,” Clarkson said. “He came to us with a bit of hip and groin soreness, but it’s taken us until now to get his body right to be able to compete and play.
“He’s an enormous part of our future.
“Pretty much in their first game you’re just really hoping that they enjoy the opportunity and get used to the speed of the game at that level, because hopefully he will be a very important contributor for us in the years ahead.”
After last week’s rout in Adelaide, Clarkson said it was back to basics for the third-placed Hawks.
“We know we are a good side, we’ve won a lot of games of footy this year, but (we need) to get back to that sort of flamboyant style that we had in some of our earlier games and we’ll take it from there,” he said.
RustyHawk
18th September 2007, 20:48
From The Age 06.09.07
Hawthorn key forward Mitch Thorp, 18, had his second hip operation of the year yesterday and is likely to have a slow start to his 2008 pre-season.
Thorp had cartilage trimmed from his hip before his first season with the Hawks began but required what the club described as "bony surfaces" shaved from the joint yesterday.
The nature of the second operation was preferred to a more serious measure, a realignment of his hips.
"There was the suggestion of a surgical realignment of his hips but we've decided against that," said Hawthorn football operations manager, Mark Evans, who added that Thorp was likely to take a number of months to recover fully.
"The first one involved a six- or seven-week recovery," Evans said.
"This one might be slightly longer than that, but we're not expecting the surgery to seriously disrupt his pre-season, although it's fair to say he will start on a modified program."
GALON
20th December 2007, 14:39
Here comes the thunder....
http://img176.imageshack.us/img176/6883/0531568400nq0.jpg
http://img444.imageshack.us/img444/4069/74688901rx3.jpg
The famous 19 is back, and with a new face to accompany it.
Mitch Thorp comes with the promise and hype of a white Buddy Franklin.
He displays the skills and talent to succeed in the key position of CHF, but what he brings most is 'swagger'.
Yes sir, he's got it in spades and self belief too.
Drafted at pick 6 in the 2006 National Draft Mitch Thorp was seen by club officials as the perfect partner to our other brilliant forward Lance 'Buddy' Franklin.
Many believe that the Thorp/Franklin combination will intertwine and build like no other young combination in the game, with the two players feeding off each others natural ability and skill, firing the Hawthorn Football Club into finals contention for years to come.
Earmarked as our next genuine CHF, Thorp showed plenty of poise and confidence in his debut aganst Richmond in 2007 after playing on from a set shot to open the face of the goals before converting with ease. His straight up the ground leads were demanding attention and his willingness to be involved in every forward play was very encouraging for the 18yr old.
Injuries, that he has carried for the last 18 months, to his hip are the only thing holding him back from a full preseason and a very promising 2008.
He should be back in full training after Christmas, due to some surgery done in the last month or so that is hoped to have fixed any lingering problems with his hip joint.
GNCLongJack
24th December 2007, 05:42
This is unbelievably exciting, anticipating '08, and the emergence of so many Hawk fledglings. '08 "a season to savour":cool:
Big Ronnie
24th December 2007, 19:56
Nobody was as excited as Galon when pick 16 fell his way and he landed the duckling himself Mitch Thorp!
Galon has promised to tell Mitch at all times he is great and powerfull as long as he kicks lots of goals and wins games off his own boot like the original duck.
Should be interesting posting...
Duckling>> Duck was Galons comment:eek:
BR:thumbsu:
GALON
25th December 2007, 15:37
Thorp>>>>>>>>Jesus. It's that simple really.
GALON
16th January 2008, 08:51
Thorp is back in full training.
Has been seen running laps at recent sessions and from all reports the recovery after the surgery he had on his hip is going along A-OK.
rumblah
16th January 2008, 09:50
Thorp is back in full training.
Has been seen running laps at recent sessions and from all reports the recovery after the surgery he had on his hip is going along A-OK.
sounds awesome mate, could you predict when we may see him in 08?
GALON
16th January 2008, 10:53
Hard to say really, but if Boyle has a slow start to the year and Mitch is cutting the mustard at Box Hill I wouldn't be surprised to see him in the first 5-6 rounds( as well as a few runs in the NAB cup/preseason games).
The club is very keen on young Mitch, and they'll want to give him opportunities, but at this stage I think he's probably still behind Boyle( due to his form in the early parts of 2007), so he'll be hoping to sneak past him sometime in 2008.
GALON
17th January 2008, 11:15
After watching the clips from the Richmond vs Hawthorn game last night, ( which H2F has beautifully put up on Youtube, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YF6uZv_qu_I) I have to say that I just loved the arrogance shown by Thorp in his debut.
To kick your first goal in AFL by running around to open up the angle and than just nonchalantly kicking the goal around your body shows you think your exactly where you belong.
Not just that, but later on in the game, he leads up to CHF, takes a sliding grab, stands up, looks over his shoulder to a player who has pushed into the forward 50, and once again without nerves or a second thought drops the ball onto his right, around the body and honours the player who's pushed forward.
This is one bloke who knows where he belongs.
GALON
9th February 2008, 08:57
http://www.news.com.au/mercury/story/0,22884,23182843-13222,00.html
Forward into Attack.
BRETT STUBBS
February 09, 2008 12:00am
TASMANIAN recruit Mitch Thorp had been at Hawthorn barely five minutes when he announced he wanted to be the club's centre-half forward.
It was in Hobart in summer 2007 for the club's Community Camp and Thorp -- taken at No.6 in the national draft -- could not even complete full training due to a hip injury. But it was not going to stop the confident youngster.
Almost exactly 12 months later Thorp is still chasing the coveted position but he has already endured the highs and lows of AFL footy in only his first year.
But the setbacks of two hip operations last season that limited his pre-season and prematurely ended his year have not affected his confidence.
He is quietly assured of his own ability without shoving it into the faces of those around him.
"On field the confidence helps, I think," Thorp said while in Tasmania for the Community Camp this week.
"I don't know if I have to rein it in, I just have to be careful sometimes of perception. But I think it's fine.
"I have settled down a bit now and I'm used to everyone. I've got to know all the boys and I get along with just about everyone."
The hip operations saw him sidelined for most of the pre-season and miss the opening of the year, making his comeback via Box Hill in the VFL, where he kicked six goals in his second game.
He finally made his AFL debut in round 15 against Richmond at the MCG in front of 50,000.
" The standard between AFL and VFL was amazingly different," he said.
"It was a blur, definitely.
"Before the game I felt like I was dreaming. I thought, `I've got to wake up and get myself into the game'. And then that first contest -- I kicked a point with my first kick and I thought, `I'm on now and I'm involved.' I ended up kicking a goal which was great."
But the hip injury resurfaced, and while he was named in the side for the next three games, he was forced to be a late withdrawal each time due to the problem, resulting in a season-ending operation.
While Thorp did it tough last year, he comes from hardy stock.
His father Peter was playing for Clarence as a 17-year-old when his career was interrupted because of injury -- he was accidentally hit by a shotgun blast, resulting in punctured lung and broken ribs.
Peter was told he would not have the lung capacity to play high level sport again so he returned to his home town, Ross, and began walking every day for exercise. He made a comeback for the town 18 months later, going on to win nine best and fairests over the next nine years.
Mitch Thorp was taken at No.6, Tasmania's highest draftee in 11 years, which brought outside expectations on the teenager, but it has not perturbed him.
"I'm my own harshest critic; I put the most pressure on myself," said Thorp, who turned 19 on Christmas Day.
"I'm not too worried about outside influences -- apart from my parents and my coaches, obviously.
"I don't worry too much about what other people think."
Instead of backing away, Thorp is willing to thrust himself into the breach again by adopting the No.19 jumper vacated by retiring forward Ben Dixon and previously worn by Jason Dunstall -- the Hawthorn full-forward who kicked the second most goals by any AFL player.
"The club approached me and asked me if I'd like to wear the No. 19 and I said of course," Thorp said.
"With Dunstall wearing No.19 and kicking 1200 goals and then Dicko -- he was such a great part of the club -- I thought it would be a good opportunity for me to keep the number going as a forward.
"I took it by the horns and see how I go with it."
Not only has Thorp had to cope with being a full-time footballer for the first time, he has also undergone a massive cultural change, going from farming-based Ross, population 500, to Melbourne, population 3.72 million.
"I live in Hawthorn in the city it is amazingly differento Ross)," he said. "I don't like massive crowds . . . It is good to get home to Tassie for the Community Camp."
The Hawks tasted finals action last year, winning in the opening week before going out to the Kangaroos in the semis.
Most of the excitement around the club centres on its young forwards in new superstar Lance Franklin, Jarryd Roughead and Tim Boyle and livewire Mark Williams.
But Thorp, who has added eight kilograms over the pre-season, keeps his own focus.
"Definitely play in the forward line -- centre-half forward, full forward, wherever it may be," Thorp said.
GALON
9th February 2008, 09:00
Thorp, who turned 19 on Christmas Day.
Now try and tell me he aint the messiah.
Line in the Sand
9th February 2008, 12:38
"But Thorp, who has added eight kilograms over the pre-season, keeps his own focus"
Follow your dreams.....You can achieve your goals..... BEEFCAKE!!!!
http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:v-Uicl_n4RkiaM:http://personales.alumno.upv.es/%7Efaloco/hum/south/i_epis102_cartman.jpg
Badga
9th February 2008, 17:40
"But Thorp, who has added eight kilograms over the pre-season, keeps his own focus"
Follow your dreams.....You can achieve your goals..... BEEFCAKE!!!!
http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:v-Uicl_n4RkiaM:http://personales.alumno.upv.es/%7Efaloco/hum/south/i_epis102_cartman.jpg
HAHAHA thats gold. 8kgs that must put him to about 97kgs. Seeing as in an article last year he said he had gotten to 89kg.
micky_11
8th March 2008, 09:43
Hows this guy training?
Looking to cement a senior spot?
GALON
8th March 2008, 16:10
http://img352.imageshack.us/img352/5171/pict0009lq8.jpg
Looking good for a few games this year.
Thorp has only just gotten back to full training, and has been included in much of the forward set ups at Waverley.
Played in his first hit-out for 2008 last night in Shepp. Played 90% of gametime or more from what I saw.
Deep forward. Starting in the square.
Attacks the ball well. Nearly took an absolute corker runinng with the flight of the ball ( I would have paid it ;)).
Kicked a goal when up the other end of the ground to where I was situated. He gets to alot of contests and has the right frame to build on.
GNCLongJack
6th May 2008, 19:48
Please, could someone illuminate the current situation with Thorp ?
GALON
23rd May 2008, 08:45
Mitch has been named on an extended bench.
In what has been a so-so year for Thorp due to some niggling injuries he's been doing his bit at Box Hill at both ends of the ground when given the chance.
As most are aware Box Hill are having a very average year, and some of the Hawthorn listed players will have found it quite frustrating...but this week Thorp may get his chance at the top level, although it's probably more than likely that he'll miss the final 22.
If he keeps his good form up at Box Hill, it won't be long before he is properly rewarded.
GALON
20th June 2008, 07:02
Mitch lines up at CHB for Box Hill this weekend after having a couple of weeks off. Niggling injuries have continued to hamper his year.
He needs a solid 2-3 of matches under his belt, before he'll be seeing much time at the top level....even with the injuries we've got.
RustyHawk
14th August 2008, 23:07
Eight Hawks re-sign for two more
August 14, 2008 HAWTHORN have signed new deals with eight players, which will keep them at the AFL club for the next two years.
The eight players are Jarryd Roughead, Chance Bateman, Jordan Lewis, Robert Campbell, Mark Williams, Mitch Thorp, Brent Renouf and Jarryd Morton.
Hawks football manager Mark Evans said this week's re-signings were a great boost for the club's future.
"It's a strong message to have eight players who are such a big part of our future quest for premiership success all coming out in the one week and agreeing to terms, it's a great message of solidarity," Evans told the Nine Network's AFL Footy Show.
The Hawks are currently second on the ladder.
AAP