View Full Version : #14... Mark Seaby... "Out of the Shadow"
I am proud to sponsor Mark in season 2008.
He has been a great contributor to West Coast since his debut in 2004.
Games: 83 (Barring injury, should play his 100th match in 08)
Goals: 58.23 (Very accurate set shot for a big man)
http://i2.tinypic.com/87hzxc1.jpg http://i13.tinypic.com/8eubl6x.jpg http://i8.tinypic.com/7wsuy6p.jpg
"Out of the shadow" represents Marks 2008 being a huge season - Since his debut in 04, he has very much been an understudy to Dean Cox and has played the majority of his matches from the interchange bench.
His ability to come on and still have some sort of impact, whether in the ruck or floating forward has been really good.
Hoping Mark can have a "breakout" year by either giving Coxy more of a break in the ruck or when he does go forward having more of an impact on the scoreboard.
Either way the future looks bright for big Seabs!!
:thumbsu: All the best in 2008 Mark!! :thumbsu:
Mark has a sensational vertical leap :thumbsu: Should give him more of a run in the ruck in 2008.
http://i14.tinypic.com/82ld45i.jpg http://i8.tinypic.com/6wr3kpk.jpg http://i9.tinypic.com/7ynso08.jpg
Seabys strong marking, height and accuracy in front of goal when resting up forward have been very handy and could become a damaging weapon for us in 2008 :thumbsu:
http://i5.tinypic.com/6s8scxg.jpg http://i10.tinypic.com/8dz0cye.jpg http://i18.tinypic.com/867g3uv.jpg
Mark Seaby played in the West Coast Eagles 2006 Premiership :thumbsu:
http://i17.tinypic.com/6kpzs5s.jpg
Although he only played 26 or so mintues and only had 2 possessions and 6 hit outs he was an important player late in that season when Dean Cox missed 5 matches in the crucial round 14-18 period and was brilliant!
Hawthorn Rd 14 - Disposals: 8 Goals:1 Hit Outs: 15
Sydney Rd 15 - Disposals: 11 Goals: 0 Hit Outs: 31
Collingwood Rd 16 - Disposals: 15 Goals:3 Hit Outs: 24
Adelaide Rd 17 - Disposals: 9 Goals: 1 Hit Outs: 25
St Kilda Rd 18 - Disposals: 17 Goals: 1 Hit Outs: 16
http://i7.tinypic.com/6prfrib.jpg
Mark Seaby: Not afraid to put his body on the line and get down and tackle hard!!!
http://i19.tinypic.com/8fyp4li.jpg
Courtesy of http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mark_Seaby
Mark Seaby (born May 1, 1984) is an Australian rules footballer playing for the West Coast Eagles in the Australian Football League.
Originally from country Western Australia, Seaby was recruited from West Perth at pick 22 in the 2001 AFL Draft by the West Coast Eagles.
Mark made his senior AFL debut in Round 4, 2004 against the Brisbane Lions. http://i14.tinypic.com/8f3ojtv.gif
Seaby became a regular player during 2004 due to injury issues with senior ruckman Michael Gardiner.
While Gardiner's understudy Dean Cox rose to prominence, Seaby served as a secondary ruckmman into 2005, occasionally being used as a tall forward option with some success.
In early 2006 his chances of maintaining his position received a boost with Gardiner receiving an indefinite suspension from the club due to disciplinary issues.
After being relegated to the WAFL upon the return of Gardiner in Round 13, he was brought back when Dean Cox broke his collarbone in the same game. He and Gardiner's first tandem game was a blowout, with Hawthorn's Peter 'Spida' Everitt beating them convincingly.
Their next, and last, was largely better, with Seaby getting a season high 31 hitouts. Gardiner was fined and again suspended indefinitely after a drunken car crash just days later, leaving Seaby to ruck without a specialised backup for a handful of weeks in which he performed admirably.
Seaby returned to his position as secondary ruckman when Dean Cox returned from injury and went onto to be part of West Coast's 2006 Premiership team.
He maintained his position during the 2007 season, continuing as back up to Dean Cox and occasionally playing as a tall forward.
Mark Seaby is a first cousin of former West Coast team mate Rowan Jones. :p
Mark Seaby has been married since the 6th of October 2007. - Good work Seabs!!! :thumbsu:
I feel like Im writing a book about the big man.... :p
http://i16.tinypic.com/73am88w.jpg
Lynch takes a mark
23 Dec 2007, 09:55
Bloody good work
Seabass was awesome in the time Cox isn't playing, would have much better reputation if he was #1 ruck for another team.
His last quarter against the crows in 05 was amazing, simply awesome ruck display.
Big Man
23 Dec 2007, 14:37
I feel like Im writing a book about the big man.... :p
Hey, whats that?
Oh sorry, carry on...
MERRY CHRISTMAS from Mark Seaby and Cuzz09
http://i3.tinypic.com/8awk8s6.jpg http://i19.tinypic.com/6ollb20.jpg
All the best to everyone in this festive season :thumbsu:
Hey guys.
Mark Seaby is a good, no... great footy player for the Eagles and he will have a really great 2008 AFL season.
Can he kick 20 goals as a resting forward again this year?? (he kicked 20.5 in 2007) Ooooh can he??
I and all West Coast fans are really hoping he can improve on this already impressive statistic and try to crack the 30 mark in 08! HOORAY!
Stay tuned for this and many more exciting questions!
He also once had this great badge.
http://i15.tinypic.com/820r9si.jpg
What a great haircut he had but we have come to love the mop top Seaby head! :D
http://i14.tinypic.com/89gmr86.jpg
Exclusive Picture of Mark Seaby at West Coast training - Jan 16th,2008.
http://i16.tinypic.com/6jaloo1.jpg
Seaby kicked a goal in the first Internal trial of 2008 - Woooo! :thumbsu:
The teams;
Yellow: Wirra, LeCras, Waters, Kennedy, Masten, Bunnings, Notte, Seaby, Fletcher, Stenglein, Scooter, Cox, Bones, Thomson, Ebert, Lynch, Hurn, Stevenson and Wilson.
Blue: Schofield, Kerr, Embley, Cones, Rosa, Priddis, Nicoski, Wilkes, Arrowsmith, Staker, J-Mac, Spangher, McGinnity, Hansen, Mckinley and Armstrong.
DNP: Glass, Brown, Graham, Houlihan, Sullivan (I know he ran laps but I'm not sure if he took part in the match or not) Butler, Braun and Hunter.
Blue: 9. 5. 59 - Hansen 3.1, Cones 2, Mckinley 1.2, Embley, Armstrong, Rosa (monster kick)
Yellow: 5.3. 33 - Lynch 4, Seaby
I notice that Seaby and Cox were inthe same team - They should have just let the 2 ruckmen go at it together!
Lynch takes a mark
4 Feb 2008, 10:28
Seaby kicked a goal in the first Internal trial of 2008 - Woooo! :thumbsu:
The teams;
Yellow: Wirra, LeCras, Waters, Kennedy, Masten, Bunnings, Notte, Seaby, Fletcher, Stenglein, Scooter, Cox, Bones, Thomson, Ebert, Lynch, Hurn, Stevenson and Wilson.
Blue: Schofield, Kerr, Embley, Cones, Rosa, Priddis, Nicoski, Wilkes, Arrowsmith, Staker, J-Mac, Spangher, McGinnity, Hansen, Mckinley and Armstrong.
DNP: Glass, Brown, Graham, Houlihan, Sullivan (I know he ran laps but I'm not sure if he took part in the match or not) Butler, Braun and Hunter.
Blue: 9. 5. 59 - Hansen 3.1, Cones 2, Mckinley 1.2, Embley, Armstrong, Rosa (monster kick)
Yellow: 5.3. 33 - Lynch 4, Seaby
I notice that Seaby and Cox were inthe same team - They should have just let the 2 ruckmen go at it together!
Cox played in the far more mature and experienced blue team
Arr ok - cheers. :thumbsu:
SEABY's 1st goal of 2008!!!
SEA BY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
You are a legend!!
Goal!!!
And saving mark!!!
Seaby will be awesome in 2008!!!!!!!!!!!!
I love Seaby!!! :thumbsu:
OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOH!!!!
GOAL OF THE ****ING YEAR!!!!!!!!!!
thats how you do it LeCRas!!!!!!!
Mark Seaby tackles a front running pleb :thumbsu::thumbsu:
http://i29.tinypic.com/296ogae.jpg
Willow_2000
18 Feb 2008, 10:24
Mark Seaby tackles a front running pleb :thumbsu::thumbsu:
http://i29.tinypic.com/296ogae.jpg
Not a good photo at all. Shows him giving away a free for holding the man lol.
Mate at least he is having a crack. :cool:
greennick
2 Mar 2008, 12:25
WEST Coast will bank on the rapid rise of blossoming backup ruckman Mark Seaby to give the Eagles unexpected aerial supremacy this season.
Seaby produced one of the most dazzling performances of his 83-game career on Friday night, dominating the ruck in the 41-point win over Carlton.
Reaping the spoils of a groundbreaking summer, the 23-year-old indicated he could be a revelation this year coming off the bench to support first ruckman Dean Cox.
The 200cm giant drew on increased endurance and improved marking strength to outpoint an inexperienced Blues ruck combination in Alice Springs.
Vice-captain Tyson Stenglein, who was impressed by Seaby shouldering the ruck duties by himself, said the big man looked ready to take a defining step in his career.
"I'm definitely confident Seabs is one of the best ruckmen in the competition,'' Stenglein said.
"He has added a lot more to his game in the past year with his play around the ground, taking more marks and more pack marks.
"And he can push forward and kick goals as well, and really hurt the opposition that way.''
The Eagles fought hard to re-sign Seaby - who has played 23 and 24 games respectively in the past two seasons - to an improved contract last year.
Eagles chiefs now hope a big season from Seaby will help offset the loss of Ben Cousins and Chris Judd. Without their ball-winning brilliance, the club has placed greater emphasis on getting first use of the footy through Cox and Seaby in the ruck.
"In terms of being quality tap ruckmen, they (Seaby and Cox) are great to play under as a rover,'' Stenglein said. "We definitely think we've got a formidable ruck duo, now we've just got to make the most of it by getting to where they are tapping the ball.''
The pair will team up as West Coast welcomes back big guns including Adam Hunter, Andrew Embley and Ashley Hansen for its final pre-season hitout on Friday night at Subiaco Oval.
http://www.news.com.au/perthnow/story/0,21598,23303203-5005401,00.html
It will be interesting to see how he goes with Cox back. I always thought he seemed to suffer a little with Cox in the team, hopefully he has turned the corner now with his consistency. At least it seems he will spend most of the time on the ground now, so getting back into the swing of the match should not be an issue anymore.
Seaby will have a breakout year.
All the signs are there.
Dont let me down Seabs.
West Coast 06
3 Mar 2008, 16:51
Incorrect disposal. Not holding the man, dropping the ball.;)
Stupid AFL website.
They have that Seaby only has kicked 38 goals but in reality he has 58.
Come on AFL website geez!! :rolleyes:
http://i25.tinypic.com/2uijiua.jpg
Seabs gets his kick away under pressure.....
http://i26.tinypic.com/32ztahv.jpg
Seabs takes a great contested mark up forward and kicked 2 goals.
Generally looked dangerous when resting up forward which is a great sign for 2008.
Mark Seaby Vs Brisbane Lions - Round 1 2008 @ Subiaco Oval
Kicks: 6
Handballs: 7
Marks: 4
Hit Outs: 14
Goals: 2
Bit of a P*ss weak effort by Seabs in teh derby to be honest.
He didnt have any impact at all - to be honest I hardly noticed him at all except when he got bowled by a ball in the last few minutes.
Need a big game from you next week Seaby man!
Give Seaby a game please.
He is Seaby.
http://i32.tinypic.com/1177l6o.jpg
greennick
2 Jul 2008, 17:08
http://www.watoday.com.au/sport/seaby-laughs-off-retirement-rumours-20080630-2z94.html
Dumped West Coast ruckman Mark Seaby says he is using his time in the WAFL to try to rediscover his love of the game.
Seaby has managed just three AFL games for the Eagles in the past nine rounds as coach John Worsfold continues to experiment with Quinten Lynch as a back-up Dean Cox.
Seaby last played for the Eagles in round 12, when he managed just five possessions and six hit-outs against Essendon, and admitted his axing from West Coast's side had been a hard pill to swallow.
"Personally it's been a little bit of a tough year because my form hasn't been great in the AFL,'' Seaby told ABC radio.
"So that's been a disappointing thing. But to come back down here (to West Perth) and win footy is really enjoyable and makes it all worthwhile.''
Seaby laughed off suggestions he had become so disillusioned he was contemplating retirement at just 24 years of age.
"There's no chance of retiring, there's a lot of footy in me left,'' he said.
But when asked if he was enjoying his footy, Seaby paused before replying: ``Oh, half and half.''
Seaby, who has played 91 games for the Eagles and was part of the club's 2006 premiership side, said his time at West Perth had been invigorating.
The 200cm ruckman gathered 10 disposals, had six tackles and tallied 25 hit-outs in West Perth's eight-point victory over Swan Districts last Saturday.
"You always like to play AFL but since I've been back here the boys have been playing really well and we've had a couple of wins,'' Seaby said.
"It's actually enjoyable to win some footy.''
West Coast have a bye this weekend as part of the AFL's split round, meaning Seaby will suit up for West Perth's clash against ladder-leading Subiaco on Saturday.
The Eagles' next game is against Richmond at Subiaco Oval on July 13.
"I'll probably play the next couple of weeks down here and see how I go and just try to get back to enjoying my footy and getting a good run in,'' Seaby said.
"I hope I can get some touches and impress a little bit and the coaches will throw it (my name) on the selection table.
"But if I don't get picked (for the Eagles) I just have to keep battling and working hard down here and keep enjoying it.
"We'll see what happens over the next few weeks.''
Mr Eagle
27 Jul 2008, 20:44
"The Drunk Giraffe" - a new nickname is born! :)
He did pretty well last night, did his job when he was needed.
Much better, mate.