View Full Version : Shau Hart want to go on

Slax
3 Jul 2002, 23:10
Shaun Hart has said he wants to play on again next season.

This would be a mistake if the club allowed Hart to continue. The guy has been a great servant of both the Bears and Lions but it is time to go at the end of the season. Allowing him to continue would mean that a younger player would not be given the chances to come through that he might deserve. It also clogs up space in the salary cap.

Hart it's time to go gracefully, no one likes seeing good players finish their careers in the magoos.

keatings_gal
3 Jul 2002, 23:19
i dont think he should have to make the decision now....

SpecialBruce
3 Jul 2002, 23:26
It would also be a mistake for the club to de-list him and force him to end his career that way. This is a tough situation for the club. Hart is still a good player. He said he wants to play on next year, but he will also see if he is capable of doing so. While I agree that Hart should call it quits at the end of the year, it would be good to see him play on. I mean, Lynchy is in the same situation and Ashcroft. Those three players are all in the same situation. Lynch has said that he would like to play on next year.
But these players could be valuable for us next year. They will know at the end of the year if their body can cope with another year. We have trades and de-listings which will compensate for these players playing on. On one side of things, they aern't going to stop young players coming up because we will trade and delist a few and on the other side, a few established players will have to go because of them.

CarterS
4 Jul 2002, 00:53
I think Chopper still has something to offer the team but I think Hart should retire at the end of the year, as should Lynchy to give Darren a go.

Bjay
4 Jul 2002, 12:00
At the Players Revue I asked Lynchy if he was going to play next year, and he didn't say no - but he didn't say yes, either - I for one hope to see him next year.

As for Harty, I think he should be given the chance to retire gracefully, when his time comes - and he will know when that is.

Hopefully "Ascot" will play on for a few years yet - our invisible man still has heaps to offer.

LionsRock!
4 Jul 2002, 12:19
What about Loti Taquiri (spell?)

Oops forgive me I thought I had stumbed into the Rugby League Board for a moment. It is just over halfway through the season and no trading etc goes on for another few months.

Shouldn't we concentrate on what is at hand this season and now rather than speculate possibilities post GF. Thinking about potential losses of players leads to negative thoughts and feelings - let's stay up and focused on back to back!!!

CarterS
4 Jul 2002, 12:34
Umm, we aren't the players. I think it's ok to speculate on these types of things.

roostersgal4eva
4 Jul 2002, 20:56
Originally posted by CarterS
as should Lynchy to give Darren a go.

thas not a good enough excuse to retire someone!

lynchy's taking marks, kicking goals, contually beats the opposition, he's in the running for all australian selection (and should of been in it last year:() AND could win the colman medal :D- do you realy think he should retire????????????? I DONT!

keatings_gal
4 Jul 2002, 22:22

WELL SAID great.... that was exactly what i wanted to say but was just too astounded by the shocking comments that i couldnt put it into words... LOL.... thanks mate

Stocka
5 Jul 2002, 10:09
Since Hart came back from the reserves, he has looked a different player. However, before then, he looked to have already run his race. IMO, playing on for another season would risk the chance of this happening again, but perhaps with Hart not being able to break back into the senior side.

There are quite a number of other "small" players who are vying for roles in the senior line up, including L.Power, C.McRae, A.McGrath, M.Martin, and A.Shattock amongst others (some who are yet to play senior football), and I reckon Hart will be up against it, not just if he plays on next season, but also this season, to retain his position in the seniors.

Slax
5 Jul 2002, 21:26
Originally posted by Stocka

Since Hart came back from the reserves, he has looked a different player. However, before then, he looked to have already run his race. IMO, playing on for another season would risk the chance of this happening again, but perhaps with Hart not being able to break back into the senior side.

I can understand that reasoning, but I just don't think he has what it takes to last out a full season. If he losses form again this season and is dropped I think the club has to tell him it's time.

Stocka
5 Jul 2002, 23:50
Originally posted by Slax

I can understand that reasoning, but I just don't think he has what it takes to last out a full season. If he losses form again this season and is dropped I think the club has to tell him it's time.

I think I must have written a bit awkwardly in my earlier post, as I intended to say much the same thing, Slax! ;)

CarterS
6 Jul 2002, 16:25
Originally posted by roostersgal4eva

lynchy's taking marks, kicking goals, contually beats the opposition, he's in the running for all australian selection (and should of been in it last year:() AND could win the colman medal :D- do you realy think he should retire????????????? I DONT!

I'm not denying the fact that Lynch is a good player, but he said he would retire if it was for the better of the team and I think Hart should listen to these comments and apply them for himself.

I hope if Lynch stays on there is some way to give Darren a go.

kimp
7 Jul 2002, 18:30
I still think Lynchy plays a valuable role. The opposition regularly put 2-3 defenders on him freeing up the other forwards. Nobody else has the power that he does.

However after today's game, I'm not sure if he could last another full season. The role he has obviously takes a lot out of him.

SpecialBruce
7 Jul 2002, 18:37
Originally posted by kimp

However after today's game, I'm not sure if he could last another full season. The role he has obviously takes a lot out of him.

I couldn't agree more. It looks like he won't be able to go on another season. I don't think his body will be able to handle with it. We have to see what the season unfolds for him.

campbell
7 Jul 2002, 18:43
Lynchs time is up.
I would prefer a player of the same body tiype and game in Darren Bradshaw who is young, and is kicking a bag each week for us already in the magoos, to get a chance. I would hate to think we would miss out on keeping him on our list, just because Lynch wants to play on at his age.

Also Harty is looking a bit jadded.

Ashcroft is still giving us good games.
Mc Rae, Power Michael have had a few bad games this year.

fitzmantle
7 Jul 2002, 22:11
Im still angry at Shaun Hart and Jesus from stealing the Norm Smith from Chris Johnson!!! If he and Jesus want to play on next year they could of put in a better effort today, me thinks??

keatings_gal
8 Jul 2002, 21:49
not even funny