View Full Version : Superstitions...
MagpieGirl_13
27 Dec 2007, 15:32
Do you have any Collingwood superstitions?
Eg. wear your 'lucky' undies everytime we play... you get the idea...
Me, when it comes to football I am very superstitious. Normally I'm not a very superstitious person...
I never bring my flag out when I'm watching the game on TV (although I did once or twice this season), I must wear my scarf the same way every game (with the emblem on the left side of my body), I wear these one set of black & white earings (only a recient thing), I never wear bobby pins in my hair (we almost lost to carlton because I did), everytime we kick a goal or I say something like "Keep going boys, kick another one" I always 'touchwood', I did go through a stage where I thought I had to wear this one shirt when we played (a really daggy shirt I would never wear out side my house) but that went out the window when we went to the football & we won.
They're the only ones I can think of ATM. I know they sound really stupid & they make no difference but I think it just puts my mind at ease... lol But this only happens with football, I'm NOT a nutcase:D.
thatday
27 Dec 2007, 15:41
I have alot.....
: I can't go anywhere near my flag
: I can't wear my Collingwood hat
: I can't wear my Collingwood beany
: I can't wear my scarf
: I can't wear my jersy
: I cant wear a certain Collingwood jacket i have
: I cant go to the toilet during the game
: I can't eat during the game or straight before it
: If watching it at home i have to be in the study on the couch
: My mum can't watch the game, she was born in 1958 and was in Sweden in 1990, she has seen every other Grand Final.
: I have to tape it (started this year)
: Cant post on Bigfooty between thursday and the end of the game
: I have to be wearing my lucky trakky daks
: I have to have an argument with my tiger supporting friend about football the Friday before the game
: I have to talk to my Collingwood supporting friend about the game on the Friday aswell
: I have more but i refuse to tell you all of them because i already look like a moron, and yes they do work, if they don't i get rid of them. I used to have more.....
Optimax
27 Dec 2007, 16:11
Just one have to wear my chucks (converse all stars for the older guys)to every game, we lost to Carlton, melbourne and richmond when i didnt and only lost was the prelim lol.
I thought that was bad and then i read thatdays list lol
thatday
27 Dec 2007, 16:13
I thought that was bad and then i read thatdays list lol
:o
I have a problem.:o:o.....lol
I don't have any superstitions, that's bad luck.
thatday
27 Dec 2007, 17:35
That ruins my whole way of life.......
Optimax
27 Dec 2007, 17:44
lol
apart from the abpve superstition
i reckon your the type that has a special pair of underpants mate
Snag Breac
27 Dec 2007, 18:02
It helps if we bring lamingtons to have with coffee at half time. Then my mate makes me recite "Chewy on Yer Booty" when the baddies are trying for a goal. I think it's better if I sing it. It works about 75% of the time.
Then there's the magpie effect, of which I've written elsewhere.
I'm not above praying either.
MagpieGirl_13
27 Dec 2007, 18:14
Just remembered some more
If I'm listening to it via the internet I always play solitaire & if I'm winning we start winning but if I'm losing then we are losing...
Sometimes I have to sit a certain way on the couch & we will/might win.
If I'm having some softdrink etc. it has to last the whole game other wise I fear we may lose.
& during the finals I founf that if I drank lots & lots of water we would win (well it worked with the semifinal...). The only thing wrong with that is it makes you got to the toilet:o lol
thatday
27 Dec 2007, 18:33
Just thought i would say a few more that i have...yes i have more..
: I have to catch the same train in the mornings, every time i missed it this year we lost
: No MSN or Myspace the day of the game
: No Pizza unless we played on the Friday in which case i can have it on the Saturday lol
: I have to leave the house on the day of the game lol
: Read Herald Sun on the Monday and Friday of the week
: Must watch the footy show....
: Ummm i have more still, just can't remember them atm...
Johnson#26
27 Dec 2007, 21:32
I'm terrible @ this.
Always the same scarf, so lucky, signed by the greats, in Bucks, Rowdy and Burnsy.
Got the lucky Bucks, Rupe, Burnsy, Sack, Clokey and Tooves badges on it.
My #10 jumper.
Over the top of my Wizard/away jumper from 2001-2004 (long sleeved).
MagpieGirl_13
28 Dec 2007, 06:56
Oops, another one...:o
My dad was given this Collingwood joke book about 20yrs ago. This book pokes fun at Collingwood & everytime I picked it up during the season we lost. Every single time!!!!!!! So now, during the season I never pick it up...
Marklar_33
28 Dec 2007, 08:17
I cant watch the game at home, although it doesnt make a difference if we win or lose, I just get less angry :mad:
Tarkyn_24
28 Dec 2007, 18:49
Every time I went to a Collingwood training session in the last two years, we lost to the Eagles the following day.
Johnson#26
30 Dec 2007, 21:57
Oh yeah.
I always go for a walk pre-game.
And when we have one or two quick ones, I always say quietly, heads down, now out of the centre and away we go - we rarely do.
And also! I give Josh a rev up before he takes the first bounce. No, really.
thatday
30 Dec 2007, 22:40
After having read through my list of superstitions, -and the fact i have more is terrifying- i realise alot of them are stupid, if not all of them:o, so for next year, i will not have any superstitions. Eventually i will have a few but it will be better than in 2006 when i refused to know live scores.:thumbsd: Hopefully they will be something along the lines of i have to wear my jersy, i love that thing, but i never get to wear it.
BTW, is it a jersey, guernsy or jumper?:confused:
MagpieGirl_13
31 Dec 2007, 07:26
You make a good point thatday. I am going to get rid of all my superstitions when it comes to next season. If we win GOOD! if we lose...... bugger.
& Jersey, Guernsey, Jumper............... call it what you want. I was told to call it a guernsey. But it's the same no matter how you say it imo.
Swanny36
31 Dec 2007, 09:09
i have to wear my dane swan long sleeved guernsey with number 36 on it every game no matter what temperature it is..
and then i have to take it off directly after the game because its signed by the 2007 team and i dont want to wash it because the signatures will wash off.....disgusting i know...but thats the only time i can wear the swanny guernsey
swiftdog
31 Dec 2007, 09:52
After having read threough my list of superstitions, -and the fact i have more is terrifying- i realise alot of them are stupid, if not all of them:o, so for next year, i will not have any superstitions. Eventually i will have a few but it will be better than in 2006 when i refused to know live scores.:thumbsd: Hopefully they will be something along the lines of i have to wear my jersy, i love that thing, but i never get to wear it.
BTW, is it a jersey, guernsy or jumper?:confused:
You make a good point thatday. I am going to get rid of all my superstitions when it comes to next season. If we win GOOD! if we lose...... bugger.
& Jersey, Guernsey, Jumper............... call it what you want. I was told to call it a guernsey. But it's the same no matter how you say it imo.
Well we now know who to blame if we do poorly next year.:p
thatday
31 Dec 2007, 10:23
Well we now know who to blame if we do poorly next year.:p
lol, If we havn't won by round 3 then i will be going straight back to my superstitions, well basically if we lose round one i'll go back to some of them. lol.
btw, i call it a jumper lol, oh well, doesn't matter, just wondering what they are technically lol.:thumbsu::)
thatday
31 Dec 2007, 13:24
I'm not sure if this counts as a superstition but in 2006 and 2007 i thought that Sunday was our bad day or something, i didn't think we could win on sundays, or at the dome for that matter, and i don't think we did....:confused:
Same clothes if we won the week before.
I had this thing of wearing the Didak badge most weeks, and the weeks I forgot it, we tended to lose, so that became a bit of a necessity.
Also for my cricket, lucky red jocks, wore them in round 2, scored 57, got their #3 bat out with a pearler, didn't wear them round 3, golden duck, 0-91 off 16. Now they must be worn.
Marklar_33
9 Jan 2008, 21:15
Same clothes if we won the week before.
I had this thing of wearing the Didak badge most weeks, and the weeks I forgot it, we tended to lose, so that became a bit of a necessity.
Also for my cricket, lucky red jocks, wore them in round 2, scored 57, got their #3 bat out with a pearler, didn't wear them round 3, golden duck, 0-91 off 16. Now they must be worn.
Sick of people bragging about their scoring 50's! Played since I was 9 (14 years), mustve opened the batting at least 40 times at various stages, highest score 46 :mad:
Highly disappointing! No superstitions, I used to wear the same pair of socks, but they fell apart... I used to put my left pad on first, but now I dont care... Im sure cricket just sucks!
The Majestic
9 Jan 2008, 22:32
I don't have anything special I just hope like hell we win the game, one thing I will never do is play the Collingwood club song all week before a big game again. I played it all week before the AFL Grand Final in 2003...and we know how bad that was....oddly enough that year I had the AFL game on PS2 and that season ended with Collingwood thrashing Brisbane in the Grand Final.:o
I have not touched that game since....
swiftdog
9 Jan 2008, 22:43
Sick of people bragging about their scoring 50's! Played since I was 9 (14 years), mustve opened the batting at least 40 times at various stages, highest score 46 :mad:
Highly disappointing! No superstitions, I used to wear the same pair of socks, but they fell apart... I used to put my left pad on first, but now I dont care... Im sure cricket just sucks!
I used to be the opening bat, i was like a sacricficial lamb. Block out the operners and then go out so our good batters can make some runs.
MrsDaleThomas
11 Jan 2008, 16:19
When i am at home watching the game it has to be on the projecor screen, i can't watch the game on the normal telly.
I have to wear my very special t-shirt and both my Dale badges aswell as a magpies scarf.
I have to tape the players warming up before the match and running onto the field and through the banner.
Snag Breac
18 Jan 2008, 10:27
Spooky magpie experience last night. Was walking near rear gate of Watsonia army barracks, looked up and saw 7 magpies on the grass. Thought, barracks/army - The Magpie Army.
Then I thought - Seven for a secret never to be told. But will that secret reveal itself in September - in the form of a premiership????? Yes!!!!!!:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
hellfire
18 Jan 2008, 11:11
When I'm at the game:
I have to yell basically the entire game.
I have to pump my fist every time we kick a running goal.. though that's just a reflex.
I have to hug my mate every time Thomas kicks a running goal... after yelling "THHHHHOOOOOMMMAAAAASSSS!!"
I have to have a beer before the game starts, then one on each quarter break.. but two at half time.
luvlicca
18 Jan 2008, 14:28
I was never very supersitious until this year, and then it was weird that when i didnt do it, we lost lol!!!
I have to wear my #27 long sleeve jumper, which is now going to be interesting for this season seeing as he is in #5. But I will go with it and see what happens.
Then I have to have my black and white heels on.
They were the only things I did all year, and then I had my birthday lol!!
My birthday is on the 7th of September, and it was the day before we played the swans in the EF final. So when I blew my candles out I wished we won etc.... and low and behold we did. Which I guess wasnt that much of a surprise, but still you know. Anyway the following week, we played the weagles and I did the same thing - I bought a birthday cake, lit the candles and blew them out and made my wish!! And we won lol!! Then I forget to buy a cake against the cats and we lost haha!!!