View Full Version : Songs that make you change the Radio Station
oh_my_hat
4 Jul 2002, 14:24
What songs when played on the radio have you reaching for another station....pronto?
It can be for any reason. Maybe it’s a song that you have never been able to stomach, perhaps due to it being flogged to death when first released makes you crook in the guts every time you hear it or it could even remind you of a painful time in your life.
Here are a few of mine:
Six Months In a Leaky Boat – Split Enz (hated it from day one)
Animal(?) – Jebediah (can’t stand that guy’s whiny voice)
Beds Are Burning – Midnight Oil (absolutely hammered to death on MMM)
Breakfast at Sweethearts, Khe Sahn(sp?) & Cheap Wine – Cold Chisel (see above)
Original Prankster – The Offspring (actually loved it when it came out but now makes me wanna hurl)
Smells Like Teen Spirit – Nirvana (ditto)
Bittersweet Symphony – The Verve (I think seeing the video on high rotation killed this one for me)
Champagne Supernova – Oasis (pure drivel)
I could go on forever but these few are the ones that have absolutely no chance when I have control of the radio.
Top thread!
Here's mine:
1. ANY song that features Jimmy Barnes.
2. ANY song by They Might Be Giants or Concrete Blonde - no reason, just really can't get into them.
3. Ads
4. Eminem
5. Unfortunately, I can't really listen to Pearl Jam anymore. My best mate in High School listened to them constantly when I visited him, and now I'm SICK of them! Maybe I'll like them again when they're on Gold FM in ten years!
bitter sweet symphony
that new radicals song thats on that ad on tv , dunno the name, dont really care!!
that little l song by jebediah
thats all i can think of at the moment
S.J Rollin
4 Jul 2002, 15:20
Originally posted by vanders
that little l song by jebediah
Jebediah???
I'd rather listen to crap music than crap radio DJ's and all their waffle. Charlie & Nicole and that drivetime slot on JJJ is torture!
Who cares what they think???
Besides, Nicole is a Dance Bogan... she cant hide her bog tendancies no matter how hard she waves the flag of electronica.
Winston Wolf
4 Jul 2002, 15:35
anything by
Eminem
Marilyn Manson
Robbie Williams
and any of the countless Boy Bands
Originally posted by S.J Rollin
Jebediah???
I'd rather listen to crap music than crap radio DJ's and all their waffle. Charlie & Nicole and that drivetime slot on JJJ is torture!
Besides, Nicole is a Dance Bogan... she cant hide her bog tendancies no matter how hard she waves the flag of electronica.
sorry, it should have said Jamiroquai (sp?)
happy_in_hell
4 Jul 2002, 19:33
It used to be "last kiss" by Pearl Jam when i was on MMM but now as i listen to JJJ mostly i usually like all the songs (even Enimem - i can't believe i admitted that!)
My reasons for changing stations however are as follows:
1. Repetitive music (Sorry Dermie, but when you announced the new format of MMM songs (old, then new) you didn't say that the songs were going to be the same!)
2. Ads
3. Footy (even now, i can't stand Roy and HG that much)
My thoughts.
h_i_h
The Hitman
4 Jul 2002, 19:48
Anything that Vanders likes. ;)
The Hitman
oh_my_hat
4 Jul 2002, 21:40
Actually the Jebediah song I was thinking of was Harpoon. Whoa what a stinker!! http://www.atozconcepts.com/vBulletin/images/smilies/throwup.gif
Good topic OMH,
SONGS:
Winds of Change (Scorpions) - yuck
all Meatloaf
almost everything on Fox FM
High rotation MMM songs by Angels, Midnight Oil, Cold Chisel, George Thorogood etc.
all DJ's on MMM
ADS:
Dan Presser (Sunraysia Black Currant Juice)
Renai Gas Heaters
Anything by Midnight Oil.
Originally posted by The Hitman
Anything that Vanders likes. ;)
The Hitman
:eek:
but i like Pearl Jam :p
:D
Docker_Brat
4 Jul 2002, 22:43
Jennifer Lopez - Let's Get Loud.
Fortunately I broke up with the girlfriend that listened to radio stations that would dare play that. :)
GhostofJimJess
5 Jul 2002, 00:02
Youre spot on Rollin ... those two gits on JJJ in the arvo are freakin unbearable.
BTW ... I'm looking forward to you getting booted out of hear, just so I can use the line "Rollin's Banned' ... God, I knew it wasn't worth it ...
Originally posted by 35eye
Anything by Midnight Oil.
Struth 35eye!!! the Oils are the (dead :D ) heart of Australian music!! besides, you'll be interested to know that the NMFC feature on Midnight Oil's Power & The Passion vid clip.
One of my favs!!....sometimes you've got to take your heart and run...
The Hippie
5 Jul 2002, 00:46
Kasey Chambers' Am I Not Pretty Enough makes me want to throw up each time it starts. (I only hear the start, then I run out the door) I Fookin' Hate It!!!!!!!!
more add-ons to my list:
That Hero song my the guy from Nickleback
anything by Enrique Inglesias (sp?)
The_Flying_Egg
5 Jul 2002, 08:21
I pretty much only listen to MMM, but not so much anymore because they're DJ's blow. I put on CD's when the Cage is on in the morning and afternoon. They all just sit around laughing at **** that ain't funny, especially Tim Smith. I also can't stand radio graffiti. Those 2 people are pathetic
I also switch when MMM plays crap like Robbie Williams, Pink, Nickleback for the 1000th time and Limp Bizkit
PrincessPark
5 Jul 2002, 12:04
Originally posted by The_Flying_Egg
I pretty much only listen to MMM, but not so much anymore because they're DJ's blow. I put on CD's when the Cage is on in the morning and afternoon. They all just sit around laughing at **** that ain't funny, especially Tim Smith. I also can't stand radio graffiti. Those 2 people are pathetic
I also switch when MMM plays crap like Robbie Williams, Pink, Nickleback for the 1000th time and Limp Bizkit
I only listen to Triple M too, Egg - and I hate the Cage too and the way they keep reshuffling their format. I liked Timbo and Bedders for Breakfast. And they keep playing out "tests" like George Michael etc . . . if I want to listen to music like that - I'll listen to Fox, thanks all the same.
They also tend to flog the same songs over and over.
Limp Bizkit blows - the reason I stopped listening to Triple J, who now seem to be going out of their way to play the most offensive crap on radio. I must be getting old. That babysitter song is a shocker.
NorthBhoy
5 Jul 2002, 12:08
Originally posted by Woodson
you'll be interested to know that the NMFC feature on Midnight Oil's Power & The Passion vid clip.
In what capacity Woodson?
I'm a bit of a channel surfer, and hate commercial stations, if I want to hear people talk I'll turn the tv on!
The main music I avoid is:
1) Most 80's - especially when Barnsey is involved
and 2) Anything by JLo, Shania and any other of those pathetic "girly" singers/bands - this includes Destiny's Child, All Saints etc etc
danzy_rocks
5 Jul 2002, 13:47
Aww come on people! Jimmy Barnes ain't all that bad!
...is he? :o
carneagles
5 Jul 2002, 16:22
Originally posted by Pump
Winds of Change (Scorpions) - yuck... a crap song sung in English by people who obviously don't speak English.
For mine:
Die Sophie Ellis-Bextor - can't sing, can't dance, head like a box - just the complete package
Die Jennifer Lopez or whatever you're called now
Die Kasey Chambers - I hear enough whinging at work, thanks. Same goes for you Morrisette
Die Vanessa Amarosi - all the flat notes stick out like dog's b*lls
Die Shania Twain - inspirational music for drunk secretaries
Geez, I could go on
Originally posted by danzy_rocks
Aww come on people! Jimmy Barnes ain't all that bad!
...is he? :o
Yes, he is
Originally posted by S.J Rollin
Agree with this. Why do announcers believe the audience want to know about boring things like what happened to them over the weekend or what’s for dinner?
Stealth bomber
6 Jul 2002, 01:16
Bad to the Bone.
Visions of middle-aged tossers in pubs trying to look cool by playing air guitar and air saxophone come to mind.
That song that rips off the Young and the Restless music.
Sampling is bad enough, but how desperate do you have to be to start stealing soap opera themes?
That Vanessa Carlton song, with the piano-y opening.
Absolutely 100% impossible to avoid if you spend more than five minutes in a fast-food restaurant or shopping establishment aimed at anybody under 30.
machiavelli
6 Jul 2002, 15:21
1. Hotel California YUK
2. Anything by any boy group (they are not bands).
3. Anyting by Eminem
4. Anything by the Sex Pistols
5. Anything by Midnight Oil
6. Anything by MIdnight Oil (except US Forces and Short Memory)
Bloodstained Angel
6 Jul 2002, 17:51
Ther's a song on the Triple J playlist at the moment with some really melancholy sounding chick with an acoustic guitar singing that she's still in London
I WISH SHE STAYS THERE - fuken ****house piece of crap song
Problem is the Desperately Hip Style Police Wannabes at Triple J seem to thinks its 'kewl' so play it rather alot just lately. :(
cheers
Mooster7
6 Jul 2002, 18:08
In the car, I listen to two Classic Rock stations which have nearly identical format. I'm generally happy with whatever is playing. I surf during commercials, and just to see if the other is playing something marginally better.
The only thing I'll say is that I'm pretty consistent about changing off of Pink Floyd. I like Floyd, but I have to be in the mood for it. Generally at home having a beer. When I'm driving, I like something a little more upbeat and less heady.
BomberGal
7 Jul 2002, 17:44
- Eminem
- Human Nature
- Any of that techno **** that is out these days
- Jamiroquai
Anything by Greenday, especially "Time of your life" :mad:
MMM
FOX FM
Shakira
More to come...........
Marissa16
11 Jul 2002, 20:51
Why would you change it if Eminem comes on for? He rocks! And so does Shakira!
I change the station everytime I hear powderfinger, I hate them witha passion. I also change it when Moby are on!? So now that I listen to Triple M, Moby is never on it, THANK GOD!
Marissa16
11 Jul 2002, 20:52
Originally posted by Malibu
Anything by Greenday, especially "Time of your life" :mad:
MMM
FOX FM
Shakira
More to come...........
Greenday kick arse mate!
Grimace
11 Jul 2002, 21:12
Anything by...
Blink 182
J-Lo
Enrique Iglesias!!!
Selwyn
Scott Cain
Offspring
that skater girl Avril Lavagne (sp?)
Sum 41
A - that whiny little frontman/boy arghhhhhh!!!!!!!!!1
that's all i can think of atm
Go South
13 Jul 2002, 09:37
Any "man-band" - like a boy band, but sing "rocking" ballads.
ABSOLUTELY DIRE!!
- Creed
- Nickelback
- Lifehouse
- Train
There are about another 10,000 of them.
Feel free to add to this list.
Go South
13 Jul 2002, 09:38
...and that was my 1000th post.
Yay :)
danzy_rocks
15 Jul 2002, 16:28
Originally posted by neville
Yes, he is
Aww come on! He's great!
Well... IMO.. :o
FreoDocker
15 Jul 2002, 16:54
Originally posted by carneagles
... a crap song sung in English by people who obviously don't speak English.
For mine:
Die Sophie Ellis-Bextor - can't sing, can't dance, head like a box - just the complete package
Die Jennifer Lopez or whatever you're called now
Die Kasey Chambers - I hear enough whinging at work, thanks. Same goes for you Morrisette
Die Vanessa Amarosi - all the flat notes stick out like dog's b*lls
Die Shania Twain - inspirational music for drunk secretaries
Geez, I could go on
I've gotta continue that list!!!
Die Nikki Webster - if there's one thing worse than teenyboppers, it's teenyboppers who get mistaken for talent and played on the radio!!
Die The Last Kiss - I like PearlJam, but this song is like listening to a cow giving berth or something?
Die Nicole Kidman - Your singing talent is about the equivilent of your sisters TV acting performances!
Die Eminem - If I hear any more tenny tryhard homie ganstas playing Eminem, the WWF moves are gonna come out!