View Full Version : #18 - Bradley Ebert - not a typical Ebert

greennick
28th December 2007, 08:02
http://www.westcoasteagles.com.au/portals/0/images/players/eagles/Brad_Ebert_135x200px.jpg

Basic details:
Height: 188.2 cm
Weight: 85.4 kg
DOB: 2/04/1990
Recruited from:Port Adelaide Magpies

Quick overview:
Good attack on the ball
Strong overhead and in marking contests
Versatile
Not an arsehole like his uncle
Outstanding leadership characteristics

Achievements:
Captained South Australia in the 2007 U18 Championships
All-Australian in the 2007 U18 Championships
Coca-Cola Star Search Award Nominee (SANFL rising star)
AIS member
Drafted by West Coast at lucky number 13
5 games for Port Adelaide in the SANFL as an underage

Original BF thread:
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=398234

Articles:
Brad's hard road to top (http://www.news.com.au/adelaidenow/story/0,22606,22676361-21543,00.html) - article on him being a top-10 prospect
Crow's Revenge from AFL's Draft (http://www.independentweekly.com.au/?article_id=10224770) - before the draft article on the Crow's nabbing him
Eagles rock solid (http://www.news.com.au/adelaidenow/story/0,22606,22849455-21543,00.html) - article on the Eagles placating his father's concerns
Thunder pleased with Ebert catch (http://www.footygoss.com/main/club_news/peel/view/thunder_pleased_with_ebert_catch/)
Ignored Ebert to debut against Crows (http://www.news.com.au/adelaidenow/story/0,22606,23444644-5016212,00.html)

Wiki:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brad_Ebert

Good quotes:

"The bottom line is I really don't care where I go, as long as I get drafted. Ever since I was a little kid that's pretty much all I've wanted to do, I want to play at the highest level." (before being drafted)Note:
This opening post will be updated throughout the year as more articles, photos, information and the like comes in.

greennick
28th December 2007, 08:12
SANFL career for Port Adelaide Magpies:

5 games:
Round 8 v Norwood
Round 9 v North Adelaide
Round 18 v South Adelaide
Round 19 v Glenelg
Round 20 v Sturt

Rising star equivalent nomination in his first game:
Bradley Ebert from the Port Adelaide Magpies Football Club has been named the Round Eight Coca-Cola Star Search Award nominee.

In his debut League appearance, 17 year old Ebert displayed maturity beyond his years in the Magpies’ match against traditional rivals Norwood at Alberton on Saturday. Ebert was named in Port’s best in a week that saw him progress from school football, for St Michael’s College, to State League Football.

Starting on the interchange bench, Bradley came on in the second quarter to make an impressive start to his SANFL career with a promising game across half-back. Ebert accumulated 15 possessions, including 11 kicks, 4 handballs and 4 tackles and provided valuable rebound out of the Magpies’ defence.

Bradley, son of former Magpies’ League footballer Craig Ebert, was one of four South Australians to tour South Africa with the AIS/AFL Academy in April this year. A current member of South Australia’s under-18 squad, Bradley will be hoping his performance on Saturday was noted by selectors of the team to compete at the U18 National Championships in July.

Average statistics:
Kicks: 14
Handballs: 5
Marks: 8.2
Disposals: 19
Hitouts: 0.4
Tackles: 2
Goals: 0
Behinds: 0.4

greennick
28th December 2007, 08:16
From the drafts and trading board:

"Weaver: Wouldn't have found the footy at the Champs if they tied a bell on it and let him start 10 minutes before everyone else. That said he was heavily tagged and didn't quit on his team. Good bloodlines, good junior pedigree, and 187cm inside midfielders who can move, kick well and offer leadership are far, far rarer than people might imagine. Might well be the lone member of the SA squad drafted this year.
"
"Recruiter 1: He was definitely a player entering the championships that everyone expected to be a genuine talent. He comes from very good football stock – he is the cousin of Brett and nephew of Russell Ebert – and pleasingly, he played up to his ability today. While he mainly played up forward, he displayed genuine leadership and direction to his team. Brad has a good future.
"
"Recruiter 2: There is no doubt that most people would already be aware of Brad Ebert. Brad is a natural footballer with excellent kicking skills and leadership qualities. He is a player we would expect to figure prominently throughout the championships.
"
"Alan McConnell: He again demonstrated his class and ability to find the ball, both inside and outside, while his disposal was quite exceptional.
"
"Kevin Sheehan: Medium forward/midfielder with good aerial and disposal skills. Ebert also possesses tremendous courage with his attack on the ball. He finished in the top six for disposals in division one, averaging 22 per match. His average of 10 effective kicks per match, ranked him fifth in his division. He has already made his debut at senior level in the SANFL, and showed his potential leadership captaining South Australia as a bottom-aged player.
"
"AFL Insider:
AFL Positions:
Ebert has the skills for several spots on the field and he might do the most damage in the middle. He has plenty of size, for an onballer, and when combined with his good foot-skills he will get a lot of the ball and use it well. He could also be used as a medium-sized forward or at half back.
Perfect Fit For:
Carlton don't have a lot of size in the middle, and if they get a priority pick to use as well as their first rounder then Ebert might be an option.
**********.net prediction:
First round pick by Port Adelaide. But the more wins that the Power get, the harder it might be to draft him. They might need to find something, a player or later pick, to add to their first rounder to move up in the draft to make sure they get him. The Crows could really annoy the Power by taking Ebert, and Brad Ebert has been there before as he trained with the Crows as part of the AIS system. Brad Ebert joining the Power could cause some problems, for the media, as his first name will need to be spelled out in full with him and cousin Brett in the same lineup.
AFL Fantasy Outlook:
He was awarded with a spot on the Under 18 All-Australian team and has already played at senior SANFL level so he should step right into a round 1 AFL team next year. He could have more value, in fantasy games, if he is position eligible as a forward as well as a midfielder. If he is a forward in fantasy leagues he might be the best option among the cheapest players, while if he is only a fantasy midfielder he will be one of four or five to choose from among the first-year players. At either position he will be on quite a few fantasy benches at the beginning of next season.
"
"foj1: Brad is a classic modern midfielder. Able to win his own ball, terrific hands and penetrating kick. Possesses both speed and endurance. Also a dangerous commodity when forward. Didnt have the greatest Nationals but he got a LOT of attention due to a weaker than expected SA line-up. At the end of the day I reckon he is the classiest midfielder left.
"
"ant555: Brad Ebert – 187cm, 86kg- Port Adelaide SANFL. Captain of SA and a bottom age player but he has already played senior SANFL footy for Port. Is a very good sized kid who was tagged well during the Champs but still did well? He is an excellent inside or outside player with good skills and pace and is a good contested mark of the footy. Extremely courageous in his attack on the ball and lead the SA side well.
"
"Mr Cat: Brad Ebert, 187 cm. Definate B+ midfielder. Not overly quick but nice and hard- strong over the footy. Strong leader- S.A captain as a 17 year old is a good effort. WIll look forward to DC fitness results as he doesn't seem to be overly outstanding in any area- however is a bonafide footballer. Clean user of the footy, good in close, hands and vision exceptional. Adelaide loom with Pick ten, don't be surprised if Essendon swoop.
"
"AFL Insider:
Brisbane have already talked about the type of player they want, and they were describing Ebert when they said they needed to find some bigger midfielders.
Ebert is obviously going to be a target of Port Adelaide in the draft, but it is very unlikely that he makes it to their first choice. The Power will have to make a trade to move up in the draft to get Ebert.
The Lions didn't get the expected improvement from players like Sherman and Moody this season, so they could be moved out this offseason and Ebert would step in and take their role of a player who operates in the midfield and also around half forward.
"

From the AFL site:

Kevin Sheehan, AFL National Talent Manager says…
“In such a short period of time, about 15 months, Brad’s won great recognition for his performances for South Australia. He dominated under-16 level, with over 30 possessions a game as a midfielder, he showed the ability to take contested marks, win his own footy at ground level or play as an outside running midfielder; he’s got many attributes. We’ve also seen him play down back at under-18 level or as a medium forward; he plays all the positions.
“He showed some excellent form at senior level for the Port Adelaide Magpies, he captained SA as a 17-year-old and played in the nationals and won All-Australian honours. Brad has not missed a beat in 15 months; he’s got good speed and endurance, a good body size and is a fine young leader from good football stock.”

Tony Bamford, Port Adelaide Magpies Talent Manager says…
“Brad’s a natural footballer. He’s a silky skilled, very clean player with outstanding leadership qualities; he’s very vocal in his demands of his teammates. He can play forward, midfield and back and is very good overhead for his size as either a contested mark or a strong leading option. I see his future as a silky smooth midfielder-forward.
“He’s a very good decision maker who doesn’t panic under pressure. He’s a right footer, but is sound on both sides of his body with good accuracy by foot. Brad is very team-oriented, he’ll always give it to the best option, sometimes he should even be a bit more selfish.
“The thing that I really liked about Brad was that he was a slightly reluctant captain of the South Australian under-18 side, but he did the job very well, handled the pressure with poise and probably surprised himself a little bit. He’s a quality kid who comes from a great family. He has excellent communication skills; he can hold a conversation with a kid his age or an adult without any problems at all.”

Isandula
28th December 2007, 11:50
I like the look of this kid, the steal of the draft I say :thumbsu:

I would suspect he'll play a few games next year, Probably the most out of the new draftees.

greennick
29th December 2007, 10:27
I like the look of this kid, the steal of the draft I say :thumbsu:

I would suspect he'll play a few games next year, Probably the most out of the new draftees.
Being one of the most versatile of the new draftees and given the fact Masten has OP, if he can stay clear of serious injuries, I agree that he would be in with a good chance of playing the most of the new draftees.

greennick
3rd February 2008, 23:16
An old article from the championships I found written by Brad:

SA wins first battle, but war not over

Wednesday, July 04, 2007 at 01:32pm

GREETINGS from inside the South Australia camp at the under-18 national championships. It was a huge relief to get the carnival under way last weekend and an even bigger thrill to start with such a great win over Victoria Country.
A few of us had had representative experience before, but we were all really on edge and anxious before the game. There was plenty of silence as we were all so focused. These championships are very important. We all want to do well and show what we are capable of on the football field.
Our coach Brenton Phillips, a former top player, settled our nerves with a great speech. He said this was a big opportunity to prove ourselves to the whole country and that we must pull together to achieve our goals. When he said, ‘We’re going to war’, I think we all realised the time to play was upon us.
There was an added element for me as I was named captain of the side the week before. It is the first time I have been skipper of a side in my life, and it was an awesome experience. I am used to using my voice in team talks, but not to being the main figure. I really enjoyed the responsibility.
In the end, the boys performed brilliantly and we won by 50 points. It wasn’t as easy as it sounds, but we set up the victory with a six-goal first quarter and although they came back at us we held on and kicked away.
There were some great individual performances, probably none better than from my Port Adelaide Magpies teammate and fellow Rookie Roader Levi Greenwood. He was superb off the half-back lines, while the likes of Tim Walsh, James Wundke, Hamish Hartlett, Matthew Wright and Jared Petrenko also made great contributions.
I was happy with my game, although it wasn’t one of my best. Brenton said he might experiment with a few things, and although I usually play on the ball or off the back flank, I started the game at full forward. I kicked a goal and set up a couple, but I was switched to the half-forward line before playing the rest of the game at centre. I was surprised to discover I got 27 possessions, so it wasn’t a bad day out.
I reckon we can go all the way and win the under-18 championships. There is some real quality in the team but also great unity and everybody seems to be on the same wavelength. Western Australia had a big win on the weekend, just like we did, and it may be decided by a match between the two of us.
We all know that there are lots of AFL scouts at the games, but you have to put it to the back of your mind. When you cross the boundary line and get on the field, it isn’t hard. When the game starts you only think about one thing, and that is winning.

greennick
8th March 2008, 00:47
Ebert. Sen-****ing-sational.

Well said Big Man!

greennick
8th March 2008, 00:53
I have man love for Ebert
Can't blame you for that... ;)

bigburger
8th March 2008, 00:54
Great game tonight. Should be a great player and I can't wait to watch his career develop.

greennick
8th March 2008, 00:55
Ebert - What a gun this bloke is. Steal of the draft I must say.
He worked exceptionally hard tonight, and didn't let up. Would be in my top 5.
Another man who notices quality!

greennick
8th March 2008, 00:58
Ebert - Wow, just seemed to ooze class, never missed a target and appears to have the size and poise to play AFL this year. Makes you wonder how good Masten might be seeing as he was dafted earlier.
Ebert will happily take those hard ball gets off Masten and slam them down a team mate's throat! Those two should be a good team for years to come!

Forrest Gimp
8th March 2008, 00:59
Very slick in the first half tonight...:thumbsu:

greennick
8th March 2008, 01:00
Great game tonight. Should be a great player and I can't wait to watch his career develop.
Neither can I! As you may be able to tell, I am already sold on his virtues!!

Did he get the ball a lot, just use it well when he did or both?

Forrest Gimp
8th March 2008, 01:04
Neither can I! As you may be able to tell, I am already sold on his virtues!!

Did he get the ball a lot, just use it well when he did or both?

Didn't get it that much, but his poise and kicking skills were sublime IMO...

ps: I know you're not asking me, but ill chip in anyway :)

bigburger
8th March 2008, 01:08
Didn't get it that much, but his poise and kicking skills were sublime IMO...

ps: I know you're not asking me, but ill chip in anyway :)

You think? I reckon in the second half he would have been in our top 3 - 5 possy getters easy.

Forrest Gimp
8th March 2008, 01:09
You think? I reckon in the second half he would have been in our top 3 - 5 possy getters easy.

Heh, i could be wrong, but i didn't notice him so much in the 2nd half. Proberly just me...

bigburger
8th March 2008, 01:17
Heh, i could be wrong, but i didn't notice him so much in the 2nd half. Proberly just me...

Yeah true its hard sometimes to see everything thats going on. I reckon he would have created the most goal assists on the night though. Every time straight on the t!t. I am so excited about this guy.

Forrest Gimp
8th March 2008, 01:25
Yeah true its hard sometimes to see everything thats going on. I reckon he would have created the most goal assists on the night though. Every time straight on the t!t. I am so excited about this guy.

Scott Selwood looked good (in the freo match), Ebert has looked the goods, Kennedy showed what he's capable of tonight (he was awsome to watch tonight), Spangher was solid. All guys I had never seen play for WCE, and there's still Masten to go. I am excited about most of the bloody team at the moment, things looked rock-solid for the future...

greennick
23rd April 2008, 23:01
So, when will he get his next game?

I thought he performed well before, why is he being given no love??

Isandula
29th April 2008, 21:19
Has been solid without standing out, doesnt really get enough game time but from what hes shown its enough to say hes going to be a very good player eventually. Will improve over the year if he gets played more and with more time. Would be hard for any first year player to standout in a team thats playing crap.
Lets not forget hes a year younger than most playing AFL, has plenty of time to shine and is doing with the limit amount of time a good job considering.

Lynch takes a mark
29th April 2008, 21:39
The well weighted kick to McKinley after one of the fastest handballs in history from Josh Kennedy was a sight for sore eye's

pyBMctBLqCs

Going to be something special this bloke, just needs about 3 years in the gym and some angry pills.

Reminds me so much of Bartel in the early days, probably not as special as him but a similar style. Thumping long kick, great over head (hasn't shown it yet though) and plays a fair bit off the flanks and then rotates as an inside midfielder.

Not really the type of player that jumps out at you (I didn't rate Bartel at all for a long time) because he isn't quick and probably won't kick goals on the run too often but from the early signs he looks like a 150 game quality player for the club.

If it wasn't for the quality of Masten's disposal within 40m, tackle count, suprising turn of pace and skinny body I would say Ebert was a better prospect overall.

greennick
25th May 2008, 12:23
Breakout game for my man, is everyone on him yet?

Anyone not sold?

28 Disposals
10 marks
1 goal
6 tackles

135 DT points!

Not bad for a bloke who's only been able to legally have a post game beer for less than 2 months!

Shaucob_Burjan
25th May 2008, 18:01
can't wait til he plays for the power!

groga
25th May 2008, 18:10

May have to wait awhile.. :p

greennick
25th May 2008, 21:09
Hope you have a few high draft picks to be giving up! What do you think he will be worth in 2-3 years?

I don't think he will be leaving anyway, seems like a loyal bloke. You never know though!

WCE57
27th May 2008, 19:22
I'm totally sold on him.

Gun :thumbsu:

He looked completely at ease in the Crows game.

groga
27th May 2008, 22:16
going to be a superstar for the club,,,

greennick
5th June 2008, 13:19
Thought the transcript from his live chat needs to be in here too:

Q. where do you see your best position
A. Probably the midfield
Q. what footy team did you support growing up
A. A mix between the bombers & the power. Mainly cause hirdy was playing for essendon
Q. have you exceeded you expectations for this year ? Or are you exactly where you thought you would be
Yeah i aimed to play a few games for the whole season, but having played 7 games up to this point is a bit surprising
Q. are you enjoying the responsibility of being put into the midfield
A. Yeah i am. Being in the middle with some of the older blokes has been quite an experience !
Q. where do you see the strengths in the WCE side as a whole
A. the yout. We still have a lot of good senior leaders in the group that will help keep us in good sted. I still think we are a good side, we have just been out of luck !
Q.we have a lot of exciting young players - including yourself - who else has impressed you so far this season
A. Chris Masten & Ryan Davis - as he has just been elevated off the rookie list
how have you found the transition from Adelaide to Perth ? Settled in okay
A. Yeah settled in well. I have a really nice host family, and the guys around the club have been great.
Q.Did you enjoy the win over Adelaide a little bit more, seeing as though they overlooked you in the draft ? Or was it just business as usual
A. It was great as it was my first win, but apart from that, it is business as usual, just another game.
Q.- I was watching a segment on ESPN last night, and a sports commentator compared the WCE football club to a concentration camp in terms of how serious & professional everything has become since the off-field drama's of last season. Im just wondering
as a first year player, how have you found the atmosphere down at the club ? Is it really that dark ? or just the media beating it up
A. The atmosphere down at the club is great, everyone is really up beat and enjoying their footy, so I don't knwo where that comparison comes from !
Q.everyone asks this - but im interested in your opinion - who is the biggest joker down at the club
A. Coxy would have to be it for sure - loves having a joke
Q. do you watch much of your cousins games ? do you take interest in how he is going
A. Yeah i do, as much as i can. I like to follow it when i get the chance
Q. are the boys ready to avenge that loss to Sydney from the early part of the season ? Where will the game be won
A. Yeah we are. We both kinda play the same kind of footy, nice and tight, so it will be an interesting game
Q. how do you respond to the conjecture and rumours regarding a return to south australia
A. I haven't heard that one. Im loving it here at the moment, and i dont see that changing
Q. What is Ryan Davis' nickname within the player group
A. Davo, RD, Sicko
Q.Who is your best mate within the player group
A. Will Ash Scott Ryan, and all the young guys.
Q. Which current west coast player (or coach) do you think has taught you the most in your short time with the club
A. Probably Suma - as im in the midfield a fair bit - and stinga
Q. what were your initial reactions to getting drafted to a club so far from home
A. Excitment mainly
Q. are you likely to be rested in parts of the year since it's your first year playing AFL
A. Yeah i think woosha hinted that could happen at some point in the season
Q. What position on the ground are you the most comfortable playing in
A. In the guts
Q. Who is the one person who has had the biggest impact on your
A. I would have to say my dad
Q. Who do you think will be the next Rookie to get a senior game?
A. James Thompson & Eric McKenzie
Q. any word on butler and lecras? are they training fully?
A. They both played full WAFL games quite recently
Q.who do you model your playing style on? I and many others compare your size and skill level to one michael voss. how do you respond to that
A. Probably michael voss or james hird
Q. What about from the rookie list in particular is there any chance of seeing Callum Wilson or Will Sullivan gaining a spot in the 22 this season?
A. I'm not sure - i dont know if there are any spots on the list left ?
Q. which player do you admire within the team
A. Pridda, Stinga & the rest of the guys on the injury list - as they are working hard to get back out on the track
Q. What attributes of your game would you like to improve most?
A. I think i still need to work on my decision making, as its a crucial part of the game
Q.Do do anything outside of footy like go to university or TAFE?
A. Im just doing the AFL apprentiship - hope to go to uni next year
Q. Best/Worst dresser in the team?
A. Josh Kennedy (coz he is sitting next to me). Flecca & Beau - for the best - and the worst Andrew Embley for worst
Q. Are you following the U18 Championship this year? If so, which of the South Aussies eligible for this years draft do you rate highy
A. I have been following it a little bit. Hamish hartlet, Matthew Broadbent & Chris hall (just beacuse he is my mate :P)

Hopefully he doesn't stop loving the place!!

QL 21
8th June 2008, 13:02
Loved when he said last night that he hoped that the young group can lead WC to their next Premiership. :thumbsu:

worsfold
26th August 2008, 12:03
http://www.thewest.com.au/default.aspx?MenuID=4&ContentID=94146

May be going under the knife for OP

Lynch takes a mark
26th August 2008, 14:39
Yep, same as Masto - both had OP last year so it's no real surprise

Either way - we have a gun on our hands - very few 1st year players can come into a strugling side and man handle opponents to be near BOG in 3 games.

Strong over the ball, runs all day, hits targets by foot, kicks goals and is very strong over head.

Will be a very good player for the club in the long term.

greennick
26th August 2008, 14:44
Anyone see in that footy chat thing they do on Wednesday's?

Nicoski marked him as the n00b that most impressed him. Not that that counts for much.

Shame about the surgery. At least we will be getting a new conditioning coach next year. I know the official line is he wanted to go home, are we sure about that though?