View Full Version : Oasis J-Files Tonight!
The Hitman
4 Jul 2002, 19:42
REALLY looking forward to this one tonight. 10.00pm through to 1.00am will be dedicated to the great pommie band, Oasis. JJJ is on 107.5 FM in Melbourne, so listen to some great music, with interviews and a quiz too!
Who needs the Footy Show? :D
The Hitman
ah yes.. smeg-asis... :P
should be v.good...
will get the cassette tape ready to tape the show ~
heres some stuff from the lovely brothers who always seem to give great interviews...
---------
Noel: "Half the stuff on "Standing..." doesn't even stand up to the old stuff. Same with "Be Here Now." Compared to the first album. If people want it, great, go and buy it. It's under "O" next to the f*cking Osmonds. But my personal opinion - becasue I'm not a bullsh*tter - is the new album is the second best album we've ever made."
Liam: "I thought "Be Here Now" kicked arse and "...Morning Glory" was a bag of sh*te."
Noel: "No, "...Morning Glory" was grossly over-rated and "Be Here Now" I find grossly offensive. I listened to it about 6 months ago and I had a pillow over my ears. I won't bullsh*t you, we'd f*cked everything up by then and we blew it.
On the old feud with Blur...
Liam: That Gorillaz album - f*cking rubbish.
Noel: All that, "I'm happy, feeling glad/Got sunshine in a bag?..." That was beyond comedy. That **** is like, "Is there a bandwagon passing? Park it outside my house." He'll be in a heavy metal band next year when it's fashionable. He's nothing. And it's fitting that he ended up as a cartoon. He always was a cartoon.
And later...
Liam: What do you want for f*ck's sake? Tell me what you want from us.
Q: Progress?
Noel: Is anyone making mind-bending music anymore? We're a rock'n'roll group. We're not f*cking Blur.
Liam: We're not f*cking wizards. We're four blokes from Manchester who happen to be the best band in the world.
Q: Did you like the last Travis album?
Noel: They're f*cking really nice guys...
Liam: I liked it. Nothing blew me away. But listen, if you like The Beatles, Sex Pistols, Pink Floyd, or Neil Young - that's it. You're away. You don't need to listen to anything else ever.
Noel: I honestly belive not one British band has made an album better than "Definitely Maybe."
Q: Radiohead aren't bad though, are they?
Noel: No! Radiohead don't want anyone else involved in that little thing they've got going on. Their thing is: Don't look at us. Don't photo us. Don't interview us. In fact, don't listen to our music.
Liam: They're a band of Morris dancers.
Noel: They seem so ****ed off being in a band. That doesn't inspire kids to pick up guitars. ... Whereas us, we love it. It's the best job in the world. Granted, some of the stuff on "Amnesiac" is brilliant. "The Bends" is the bollocks. "Karma Police" is mega. But they don't want people like me to like their music so they can go and f*ck themselves.
Oh ****! I think I have a BONER!
The Hitman
4 Jul 2002, 20:59
Originally posted by M29
Oh ****! I think I have a BONER!
I thought of you, DCFC, and Jod as soon as I heard the ad. I know I'll be giving TFS the flick for this. I reckon you'd do alright in the quiz, Drew.
The Hitman
Danny Chook Fan Club
5 Jul 2002, 18:51
No-one gives an interview like Noel Gallagher.
On System Of A Down:
When I saw them for the first time on MTV, I looked at the sky and said to the Lord, 'Thank you for letting me be around to see the worst band of all time'. It must be like seeing an eclipse, they don't come around all that often.
To be around when the worst music in the history of music is being made, I feel quite privileged in a way. I had two family members die last year and I think it's just a shame they never lived to see the rubbish coming out of those amplifiers.
:D
On Nickleback:
"Oh, are Nickelback Canadian?" he asks. "I tell you what, the funny thing about Nickelback is, we just did an awards ceremony with them in Japan and they walked onto the stage to do that tune and not one of 'em looked like they were in a band with the other ones. You got the singer who looks like he should have been in Alice In Chains, the other guitarist looks like he should be in Jimmy Eat World. The bass player wears a cowboy had and looks like he should be in a cowboy band. And the drummer looks like he should be in the Spin Doctors. They don't look like a group. They look like a bunch of session musicians."
Bulldog1954
5 Jul 2002, 20:23
The best one ever was when Liam said that he hoped Damon Alburn died of aids.
Oasis rule and I believe are coming out early next year
Originally posted by Bulldog1954
That was Noel.
Originally posted by Bulldog1954
Oasis rule and I believe are coming out early next year
yes.. noel hoping that damon and bassist alex james would "catch f*cking AIDS and die".
haha.. ah jealousy
Dammit i missed it!! Well im in Perth i dont think it was on in Perth but anyways it would have rocked. Oasis make the best interviews around, never a dull moment with those two. There new album is the bomb, there back in a big way.
machiavelli
6 Jul 2002, 15:17
COuld the Gallagher morons write a song with a bit of their own creativity thrown in?
Admittedly they are a step ahead of the rap/musi samplers/DJs etc who couldnt write music even if their name was Beethoven, but really the are trying to recreate an era that was better the first time around.
Dare to be different. We dont need 12 songs with the same chord changes.
Originally posted by machiavelli
COuld the Gallagher morons write a song with a bit of their own creativity thrown in?
Admittedly they are a step ahead of the rap/musi samplers/DJs etc who couldnt write music even if their name was Beethoven, but really the are trying to recreate an era that was better the first time around.
Dare to be different. We dont need 12 songs with the same chord changes.
Heh. gweggie looking for bites here now. Keep letting rooboy toy with you.
machiavelli
6 Jul 2002, 17:36
Originally posted by M29
Heh. gweggie looking for bites here now. Keep letting rooboy toy with you.
M29 I dont know you but it seems you are on the same thing that the Gallaghers are on.....hang on a minute they reckon they're clean, so it means that arent on anything, they are just brainless....either way I am still right!;)
Ouch. :rolleyes:
Originally posted by coxon
Noel: They seem so ****ed off being in a band. That doesn't inspire kids to pick up guitars. ... Whereas us, we love it. It's the best job in the world. Granted, some of the stuff on "Amnesiac" is brilliant. "The Bends" is the bollocks. "Karma Police" is mega. But they don't want people like me to like their music so they can go and f*ck themselves.
Ironically I agree with him!
I hope Radiohead (actually I think it is mostly Thom and Johnny who are shy) lose some of that pretence.
That's the second time I have agreed with Noel Gallagher this year :eek: (first one being his acclaim of the Black Rebel Motorcycle Club)!
Originally posted by FIGJAM
I hope Radiohead (actually I think it is mostly Thom and Johnny who are shy) lose some of that pretence.
FHM gave radiohead a seeing to in this months issue as well. Mostly over Amneisiac (sp?).
That's the second time I have agreed with Noel Gallagher this year :eek: (first one being his acclaim of the Black Rebel Motorcycle Club)!
hahah.. me too...
hmm.. not sure about black rebel motorcycle club for me...
but its probably the only time i've agreed with twat gallagher in that interview, where he dissed US rock music... with the exception of brmc and the strokes...
Originally posted by coxon
where he dissed US rock music... with the exception of brmc and the strokes...
Name one decent band there is in the US with the exception of those already mentioned?
Kreed? Blink182? :p Most US bands are ****.
machiavelli
8 Jul 2002, 22:53
Originally posted by M29
Name one decent band there is in the US with the exception of those already mentioned?
Kreed? Blink182? :p Most US bands are ****.
Manchester has only produced 1 great band.
The Hollies.
It has produced a lot of morons though.
Originally posted by M29
FHM gave radiohead a seeing to in this months issue as well. Mostly over Amneisiac (sp?).
Amnesiac had its faults (as opposed to Kid A which was as good as it gets IMO). Very introverted and experimental album. Had planty of highs to match its flat spots and the Pyramid Song is simply perfect.
As with all Radiohead tunes (and indeed all great bands) to appreciate the full extent of their work, numerous listens are required. It is very difficult to explain to people why I and many other Radiohead fanatics, consider a relatively subdued song like Let Down to be such a masterpiece! Same with most of the stuff from Kid A and Amnesiac.
The FHM demographic caters to Tripple M listeners. Anything outside of Creed, Nickleback or Cold Chisel is beyond the readers' or the writers' comprehension!!
The Hollies.
It has produced a lot of morons though.
I am sure Joy Division and The Smiths might have something to say about that!
Doves are new and producing the best music of any Manchester band at the moment IMO. I do like Oasis' new album from what I have heard on JJJ.
Danny Chook Fan Club
9 Jul 2002, 15:14
The Hollies.What about Take That? :confused:
It has produced a lot of morons though. Nah, most ManUre replica shirt buyers don't even come from Manchester.
Originally posted by Danny Chook Fan Club
What about Take That? :confused:
Nah, most ManUre replica shirt buyers don't even come from Manchester.
Hehe. Don't feed him Danny. He's never heard 'the doves' yet or has never heard of the stone roses to name a few.
I prefer the 'old' radiohead. :D
The FHM demographic caters to Tripple M listeners.
Hey Hey!
machiavelli
9 Jul 2002, 20:54
Originally posted by M29
Hehe. Don't feed him Danny. He's never heard 'the doves' yet or has never heard of the stone roses to name a few.
The Stone Roses, biggest one hit wonders since Oasis.
I know Oasis have put out more "hits" than one, but it is the same song recorded again and again and again with slight variations.
Do they know how to develop without sampling the 60s greats all the time?
Bloody ****heads and narcheads with no grey matter.
Overrated mush.
Amnesiac had its faults (as opposed to Kid A which was as good as it gets IMO). Very introverted and experimental album. Had planty of highs to match its flat spots and the Pyramid Song is simply perfect.
Doves are new and producing the best music of any Manchester band at the moment IMO. I do like Oasis' new album from what I have heard on JJJ.
i love amnesiac, actually prefer listening to that over Kid A while i'm driving around...
tho.. not won over by the doves yet... from what i've heard so far... quite dreary stuff..