View Full Version : Lower Leagues in old AFLSQ
Pandas Dons
11 Jan 2008, 22:50
Gday everyone,
I was just wondering if anyone had any news on what was happening with the lower leagues around Brisbane?
Would be good to have some discussion on here about these leagues with clubs like Yeronga, Wynnum, Logan, Calamvale, UQ, Griffith Uni, Redcliffe etc
Cheers
Adrian Shelton
21 Jan 2008, 12:12
Wheres Logans home ground? I know where Springwoods is seeing i live about 1 /2 hour walk from it. What leauge do they play in?
bananabenda
21 Jan 2008, 13:44
Logans ground is in Tanah Merah.
Problem is they are at least 2 divisions below Springwood. Correct me if I'm wrong. (I'm sure Doug Hondo will.)
Big difference in football terms between the clubs. Are they still playing "for the love of football" at Springwood,? Dougie.
By lower leagues. Can some one tell me what the standard of league is like that Mareyburrough play in and what is the name of the league. Would like to follow the progress of the league this year. How many teams in it and who are they.:thumbsu:
morphous
21 Jan 2008, 15:35
By lower leagues. Can some one tell me what the standard of league is like that Mareyburrough play in and what is the name of the league. Would like to follow the progress of the league this year. How many teams in it and who are they.:thumbsu:
Here's the link to the league you're after.
http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?c=1-3486-0-0-0&sID=53413
Lenny29
21 Jan 2008, 18:09
Problem is they are at least 2 divisions below Springwood. Correct me if I'm wrong. (I'm sure Doug Hondo will.)
Big difference in football terms between the clubs. Are they still playing "for the love of football" at Springwood,? Dougie.
Not sure how he'd know, given he didn't play there last year.
What do you refer to as "love of football"? As opposed to what alternative?
bananabenda
21 Jan 2008, 20:19
Not sure how he'd know, given he didn't play there last year.
What do you refer to as "love of football"? As opposed to what alternative?
love of money.
Here's the link to the league you're after.
http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?c=1-3486-0-0-0&sID=53413
Thank you much apprec:thumbsu:
Lenny29
22 Jan 2008, 20:04
love of money.
Then no, I'd say it's still for the love of football.
rockstarr
24 Jan 2008, 17:18
Hey there boys, just wondering if mooloolaba has a side up there or where the boys from there play? cheers
Homer Jnr
24 Jan 2008, 17:35
Teams like Caboolture?
We have picked up coaches from Wilston Grange, lost our best player to Aspley and gained plenty of players from neighbouring regions to boost our depth.
rockstarr
24 Jan 2008, 18:23
Teams like Caboolture?
We have picked up coaches from Wilston Grange, lost our best player to Aspley and gained plenty of players from neighbouring regions to boost our depth.
So is Caboolture sort of mooloolabas side? What league are they in?
Doug_Hondo
24 Jan 2008, 20:08
Not sure what your on about mate...Havent been involved in Pumas football club for 2 years now.
Jorge Horatio
25 Jan 2008, 08:36
Teams like Caboolture?
How is Caboolture going for numbers this year mate.Who was the player you lost to Aspley? I s Robbie W still coaching there?
goalkicker11
25 Jan 2008, 09:29
How is Caboolture going for numbers this year mate.Who was the player you lost to Aspley? I s Robbie W still coaching there?
grant wilkinson is the player gone to aspley
notsoyoung
26 Jan 2008, 06:14
Hey there boys, just wondering if mooloolaba has a side up there or where the boys from there play? cheers
The closest team to Moolooloaba is the Maroochy Roos. They play in the AFLQ Div 2 but also have a third grade team that play in a lower league.
The train at Fishedrman's Rd, Maroochydore each Tuesday and Thursday from 6pm.
They've done it tough over the past few years without a clubhouse, but construction is finally underway and should be finished soon.
Homer Jnr
26 Jan 2008, 09:02
Numbers are fairly steady, 30ish every session, comprising of 45-50 different people.
Yeah, as goalkicker11 said, it was Grant that left, big loss, but he is a class act.
rockstarr
26 Jan 2008, 11:27
The closest team to Moolooloaba is the Maroochy Roos. They play in the AFLQ Div 2 but also have a third grade team that play in a lower league.
The train at Fishedrman's Rd, Maroochydore each Tuesday and Thursday from 6pm.
They've done it tough over the past few years without a clubhouse, but construction is finally underway and should be finished soon.
Cheers notso me and a mate are moving up there soon and will prob be looking for somewhere to have a kick.
emperor
11 Feb 2008, 14:19
anyone got a draw for State Association Div 1 yet?
Can anyone give me some info on Redcliffe. I have just moved to Scarborough from Victoria and wouldn't mind having a kick.
damochandler
19 Feb 2008, 12:22
Can anyone give me some info on Redcliffe. I have just moved to Scarborough from Victoria and wouldn't mind having a kick.
last time i heard, they only had one side and they were playing in the 2nd division
Lenny29
19 Feb 2008, 20:35
They have two sides and play in Div 2.
The quality of footy isn't great but if you're going to play anywhere in that comp you could do worse than Redcliffe. I played in another team in Div 2 last year and Redcliffe seemed to play the best quality of footy - plenty of run and corridor use as opposed to just kick to a contest, rove and repeat.
Seemed to be a fairly young side, too.
BigRich
22 Feb 2008, 21:41
Anyone tell me how the Moorooka Rosters are going i played with them in 2001 a great club great bunch of blokes was sad to leave but change of jobs meant i had to move the 2 years with Caloundra another good club i here are doing well these days shouldnt have moved to Victoria :D
hurtsville
25 Feb 2008, 09:43
Anyone tell me how the Moorooka Rosters are going i played with them in 2001 a great club great bunch of blokes was sad to leave but change of jobs meant i had to move the 2 years with Caloundra another good club i here are doing well these days shouldnt have moved to Victoria :D
G'day mate - The mighty Roosters are still going strong. Your right about the great club bit, been here for 3 years and won't be going anywhere!! If you want to enjoy your footy Moorooka is the place to play!!
Lenny29
25 Feb 2008, 18:23
G'day mate - The mighty Roosters are still going strong. Your right about the great club bit, been here for 3 years and won't be going anywhere!! If you want to enjoy your footy Moorooka is the place to play!!
Especially if you love the beach, all the fun of sand whilst playing footy at the same time! ;)
hurtsville
25 Feb 2008, 20:51
Especially if you love the beach, all the fun of sand whilst playing footy at the same time! ;)
Hahaha, you must play for Beenleigh!! Amazing what a bit of rain does....weve lost our home ground advantage!!
Lenny29
25 Feb 2008, 22:22
Hahaha, you must play for Beenleigh!! Amazing what a bit of rain does....weve lost our home ground advantage!!
Did last year. Terribly. But have gone back to my old club now.
Jorge Horatio
25 Feb 2008, 22:24
Did last year. Terribly. But have gone back to my old club now.
So who you playing for now man?
Jorge Horatio
25 Feb 2008, 22:25
So who you playing for now man?
Does anyone know how caboolture went against maroochy/Northshore on the weekend. It would have been a flat game with the temp hitting forty degrees around bounce up!
notsoyoung
27 Feb 2008, 17:19
Does anyone know how caboolture went against maroochy/Northshore on the weekend. It would have been a flat game with the temp hitting forty degrees around bounce up!
Scores weren't kept although I think the roos got up by a few goals. Was a VERY hot game and both teams were a bit rusty. But it was the first hit out for both clubs so all things considered, it wasn't too bad a standard.
Homer Jnr
27 Feb 2008, 18:39
Caboolture reserves won by about 6 goals, and the Seniors went down by 4 goals, after being jumped in the first quarter, 5 goals to 0.
Lookout for the Wynnum Vikings to own the competition, picked up half of Springwood teams on top of picking up more ex morningside players and the return of 2 former onballers who missed last season and both have senior AFLQ experience.
damochandler
27 Feb 2008, 20:55
Lookout for the Wynnum Vikings to own the competition, picked up half of Springwood teams on top of picking up more ex morningside players and the return of 2 former onballers who missed last season and both have senior AFLQ experience.
go the panthers. i just want to see someone else win that comp other than yeronga. i spose thats the only comp they can win. they couldnt win it when they were in the top division
Toucan Soup
28 Feb 2008, 13:22
Umm, right? Thanks for sharing that insight.
hurtsville
28 Feb 2008, 14:45
Whats the go with Strathpine?? Apparently playing in Div 3 this yr???
damochandler
28 Feb 2008, 15:02
Umm, right? Thanks for sharing that insight.
how did they go in the top comp bellow the velocity sports cup for 20 years hey. they would get smashed in the pineapple otel cup every game and they know it. thats why they will never go back to the division everyone knows that
Lenny29
28 Feb 2008, 20:57
how did they go in the top comp bellow the velocity sports cup for 20 years hey. they would get smashed in the pineapple otel cup every game and they know it. thats why they will never go back to the division everyone knows that
Yep 100% spot on.
The league wanted them in the Pineapple Cup when it all came under the AFLSQ but they didn't want to because they wanted a flag.
Being practically Brisbane suburban headquarters is a massive advantage in that comp.
I have no idea what these blokes are talking about, i will try and interpret what is being said. It sounds like they are bagging Yeronga for not stepping up to the Pineapple Cup competition. That is a fair point, but i can understand why clubs are hesitant about changing divisions.
rockstarr
29 Feb 2008, 07:52
I have no idea what these blokes are talking about, i will try and interpret what is being said. It sounds like they are bagging Yeronga for not stepping up to the Pineapple Cup competition. That is a fair point, but i can understand why clubs are hesitant about changing divisions.
So boys are Caloundra the side to knock off yeronga this year? Any new recruits that would suggest so? Im moving up the coast on monday so would the panthers be a good club to have a kick for?
Jorge Horatio
29 Feb 2008, 09:52
Caboolture reserves won by about 6 goals, and the Seniors went down by 4 goals, after being jumped in the first quarter, 5 goals to 0.
Caboolture must be pretty happy with that against a team from a higher comp. Is Caboolture playing anyone this week. Its strange that scores were not kept.
Jorge Horatio
29 Feb 2008, 09:53
Whats the go with Strathpine?? Apparently playing in Div 3 this yr???
Strathpine Coach is now the Sandgate 2's coach.He has brought a few of the higher ranked players with him this season.
emperor
29 Feb 2008, 13:46
word i've head is that strathpine can only field one side so they have to drop back to div 3...losing players to sandgate is also correct
Alex Hills are playing a trial match at Yeronga on Sat arvo
Before the AFLSQ became the Pineapple Hotel Cup, Yeronga were in the premier league of the AFLSQ - the comp that basically became the Pineapple Hotel Cup. When the structure changed it was meant to be that the PHC would be the old AFLSQ premier league + Mayne & Magpies dropping down from the top division.
Yeronga nixed that as they wanted to win a flag in the lower comp. They still had the players to be competitive in the PHC, still had the money and still had the facilities.
Jorge Horatio
2 Mar 2008, 13:11
Went and watched sandgate V caboolture yuesterday. Sandgate looked quite rusty but seem to have a younger pacy team.Their seniors got up by about 5 goals but lost two players to injury. Ressies played with only 2 man bench against 6 man bench for caboolture and got up by 3 goals. Seeing Caboolture has had trials they had a little more team unity on the field. Highliught was number 14 from Sandgate in the ressies who was confronted by a caboolture player trying to land two useless punches on him. The caboolture player was third man in on a jersey grabbing incident between said sandgate player and a caboolture player and tried throwing two useless punches before copping three right straighties to the snozz whilst he still had hold on the other caboolture players guensy, classic. I guess on those results and the ones Caboolture had against maroochy/northshore last week, sandgate may be alittle in front of Maroochy/northshore in both grades. Caboolture looked to have picked up some quality players in the ones and should go alright this season
RoaringUniLions
8 Mar 2008, 09:20
I personally hope that the UQ Seniors can go one more step this season and win the flag. Have come close the last two years, so I definately think theres enough talent with us to go that far.
Also hoping the ressies can regain the flag.
Hope my beloved Thirds can make finals this year. Had a late surge late season which saw us miss the finals but beat eventual premiers, Western Magpies.