View Full Version : Round 15 - Geelong vs Collingwood

SeinDude
7 Jul 2002, 20:13
Well, after beating West Coast by 32 points on Saturday at Skilled Stadium to make it 5 wins in a row, we face one of our biggest challenges so far this season when we take on the Carring Bush at the MCG next Saturday.

Collingwood have had a great season so far, winning 10 games and sitting in the top 4, but Geelong have improved and are gaining in confidence with every game we play, so this promises to be a close match between 2 young and exciting teams.

For Geelong, Steven King continues to control the ruck, giving our onballers confidence and first use of the ball around the packs, but against a tall Collingwood side, we may need Peter Street in the side to help King out in the ruck and around the ground.

I expect Cameron Ling will get the job to run with Nathan Buckley and after the marvellous job he did on Ben Cousins on Saturday, Ling will be full of confidence and ready for the challenge of shutting down the Collingwood captain.

Geelong's defence will need to be at it's absolute best to hold the Collingwood forwards on Saturday. They have been playing very well together this season, and with Darren Milburn returning to some good form against West Coast playing off half back, Collingwood wont find it easy to score against us.

Up forward, Kent Kingsley is due for a big game after being held the last 2 weeks. Aaron Lord returned to form with 3 important goals on the weekend, and Ronnie Burns is also a key to us kicking a winning score with his creativity.

I think Geelong are a huge chance to win this match. We haven't lost to the Carring Bush since 1998 and with them only having a 6 day break this week and coming off a hard interstate game against Adelaide where they ran out of legs in the final quarter, I'll stick my neck out and say Geelong will run over the top of the Magpies in a close game!! :):)

PREDICTION: Geelong by 11 points

Go Cats!! :cool:
SeinDude

hawkfan5
7 Jul 2002, 20:18
Well done on a great preview Seindude.

Will be great having you write for my new redesigned Hawks site in the future.

rickster
8 Jul 2002, 15:18
G'day Seindude

Sorry I have been AWOL of late. I have returned to study (teaching) and only have lab access to the net.

But I was still at the game on Saturday, however going on holiday so will miss the Collingwood game. Wonder what the radio reception is like in Merimbula??

Cheers, and GO CATS!

JUBJUB
8 Jul 2002, 15:29
Where's Merimbula ?

Fall Out Boy
8 Jul 2002, 16:42
Originally posted by JUBJUB
Where's Merimbula ?

Surely you jest.

SeinDude
8 Jul 2002, 18:04
Originally posted by rickster
G'day Seindude

Sorry I have been AWOL of late. I have returned to study (teaching) and only have lab access to the net.

But I was still at the game on Saturday, however going on holiday so will miss the Collingwood game. Wonder what the radio reception is like in Merimbula??

Cheers, and GO CATS!

Rickster,

Great to hear from you mate!! I was wondering where you had got to... hope the teaching/studying is going well and look forward to hearing from you soon. Good to see those Catters going well hey!! :)

SeinDude

SeinDude
8 Jul 2002, 18:06
Originally posted by phatandphreaky
Surely you jest.

Actually, I must admit that I don't know where Merimbula is either JUBJUB. :o:o:o

Cheers!! :cool:
SeinDude

Hoggy
9 Jul 2002, 15:16
Merimbula is on the NSW east coast you bunch of cretins.

Have a nice day:)

Catman
9 Jul 2002, 15:54
Originally posted by Hoggy
Merimbula is on the NSW east coast you bunch of cretins.

Have a nice day:)

I agree with you Hoggy.

How could you not know where Merimbula is?

SeinDude
9 Jul 2002, 17:55
Originally posted by Catman
How could you not know where Merimbula is?

Catman,

It's easy really... I never heard of the place before now!!

SeinDude

Catman
10 Jul 2002, 21:33
Originally posted by SeinDude

Catman,

It's easy really... I never heard of the place before now!!

SeinDude

You should open up a map sometime. :D

JUBJUB
10 Jul 2002, 22:15

Do I need to buy the lady a drink first ? :D :eek:

Catman
10 Jul 2002, 23:49

Do I need to buy the lady a drink first ? :D :eek:

:eek: :D

A map of Australia, not just Tasmania.

Steve Bracks
11 Jul 2002, 10:19

Terri, the good lady wife, gave her favourite Bracksy a map of Victoria because Victoria is - The Place To Be!

X_box_X
11 Jul 2002, 13:48
Great preview SeinDude, really good stuff mate.
I think it will be a close game, with the lead changing numerous amount of times. Steven King and Peter Street have to get the better in the ruck, and Geelong have to win possession of the ball, and kick it down the guts into the forward line at every oppotunity. I would expect for Geelong to win, that Kingsley and Burns need to kick atleast 8 goals between then.

Geelongs back-line must stand tall, and match the likes of Rocca and Frazer, and the taggers such as Cameron Ling can't let the likes of Leon Davis and Broadie Holland kick a bag!

you_idiot
11 Jul 2002, 18:40
Originally posted by X_box_X
I think it will be a close game, with the lead changing numerous amount of times. Steven King and Peter Street have to get the better in the ruck, and Geelong have to win possession of the ball, and kick it down the guts into the forward line at every oppotunity. I would expect for Geelong to win, that Kingsley and Burns need to kick at least 8 goals between then.

Geelongs back-line must stand tall, and match the likes of Rocca and Frazer, and the taggers such as Cameron Ling can't let the likes of Leon Davis and Broadie Holland kick a bag!

Gotta agree with you on every count there, and I couldn't have said it any more eloquently, really.

The two keys for Geelong, IMO, have to do with Matthew Scarlett at the back line and Kent Kingsley at forward.

Scarlett's shut down some of the league's best forwards and he must come up with another monster effort.

Likewise, it will be interesting to see how Kingsley does after going two games without a goal. Nevermind Burns, he'll get his goals-- it's whether Kingsley produces like a league-leading goal-kicker should. (OK, so he's 2nd at this writing, but that's nitpicking, really...)

Teams should be on the afl.com.au site in about 30 minutes, and I'll post them here as soon as I see them.

But as for now.... my prediction...

Geelong by 20 points.

Cheers,
William

you_idiot
11 Jul 2002, 19:19
COLLINGWOOD
Backs: B. Johnson S. Prestigiacomo M. McGough
Half Backs: S. Wakelin J. Clement, R. Cole
Centre: A. Didak N. Buckley T. Lockyer
Half Forwards: C. Tarrant J. Fraser N. Davis
Forwards: L. Davis A. Rocca H. Scotland
Followers: S. McKee, S. Burns, P. Licuria
Interchange: J. Cloke, G. Freeborn, R. Betheras, S. O'Bree
Emergency: D. Adkins, M. Richardson, C. Steinfort

GEELONG
Backs: B. Graham M. Scarlett B. Sanderson
Half Backs: B. Sholl T. Harley D. Milburn
Centre: D. Clarke P. Riccardi D. Wojcinski
Half Forwards: P. Chapman C. Mooney A. Lord
Forwards: C. Ling K. Kingsley R. Burns
Followers: S. King, J. Corey, C. Enright
Interchange: J. Kelly, S. Johnson, J. Rahilly, J. Hunt
Emergency: J. Bartel, D. Foster, G. Kilpatrick

Those I retrieved from the Cats' site at http://catsfc.com.au/Default.asp?pg=matchfocus&spg=pregame&m_tournamentmatch_id=846 as they weren't on the AFL site yet.

What IS on the afl.com.au site is a preview, and that can be read here: http://afl.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=45700

Cheers,
William

SeinDude
11 Jul 2002, 20:40
Originally posted by you_idiot
GEELONG
Backs: B. Graham M. Scarlett B. Sanderson
Half Backs: B. Sholl T. Harley D. Milburn
Centre: D. Clarke P. Riccardi D. Wojcinski
Half Forwards: P. Chapman C. Mooney A. Lord
Forwards: C. Ling K. Kingsley R. Burns
Followers: S. King, J. Corey, C. Enright
Interchange: J. Kelly, S. Johnson, J. Rahilly, J. Hunt
Emergency: J. Bartel, D. Foster, G. Kilpatrick

Interesting line up this week for us. I would have thought Bartel would stay in and possibly Street and Kilpatrick (if he's fit) would come back into the side, but obviously Bomber has a plan with this young side.... I still believe we can win!!

SeinDude

Mattster
11 Jul 2002, 22:19
assuming that Graham lines up where named...the backline, then geelong have a small forward line. at least it'll give mooney a chance to run a fullish game.

wait...MCG...possible rain...I think bomber knows something here...

JUBJUB
11 Jul 2002, 22:48
Originally posted by SeinDude

I would have thought Bartel would stay in and possibly Street and Kilpatrick (if he's fit) would come back

But Seindude,if Bartel stayed in,who would make way for Sholl ?
I wouldn't be suprised to see Kilpatrick play,especially if Sholl isn't fit.

SeinDude
11 Jul 2002, 23:17
But Seindude,if Bartel stayed in,who would make way for Sholl ?
I wouldn't be suprised to see Kilpatrick play,especially if Sholl isn't fit.

JUBJUB,

I think if Kilpatrick is fit, he would be one to come back into the side to give our midfield some experience along with Peter Riccardi.

SeinDude

SeinDude
13 Jul 2002, 21:38
GEELONG CUT THE CARRING BUSH TO PIECES!!

What a fantastic 4 quarter performance by Geelong today to beat Collingwood at the MCG and cement our spot in the top eight. :)

It was great to see Geelong really put lots of pressure on the Collingwood players, making it tough for them to get any flow into their play. We tackled harder, having nearly double the number of tackles as Collingwood, we were far more desperate at the 50/50 contests and ran out the game much better. (which I predicted we would) :):)

I thought Steven King controlled the game in the ruck and around the ground, clearly too good for anyone Collingwood put on him. Corey Enright was probably our best player, over 25 quality possessions across half back and in the midfield, Cameron Ling was fantastic in shutting down the effectiveness of Nathan Buckley, Steve Johnson, Kent Kingsley and Cameron Mooney were great kicking 4 goals each, while Chapman, Rahilly, Sholl, Burns, Kelly and Harley were good as well for us.... in fact, we didn't really have a bad player all day.

I said to my Dad before the match today that Cameron Mooney is going to have to play well and give us a target to help out Kingsley on our forward line of we were going to have a chance of winning, and he was great today.... full credit to him for stepping up when we needed it.

Our defence was also fantastic!! Tom Harley took out Rocca, who hardly did anything all day and Ben Graham shut down Josh Fraser. Brenton Sanderson (before he got injured) and David Wojcinski took Leon Davis out of the game and Josh Hunt was good as well when he came on, getting some good possessions.

All in all, this was our best (and most satisfying) performance so far this season. We convincingly beat a quality side today in Collingwood, and proved once again to the so called football experts who picked Geelong for the bottom 4, that we are a side that is on the improve, and should be given more respect!!

Bring on Essendon at Colonial Stadium next week!! :D:D

SeinDude

you_idiot
13 Jul 2002, 21:56
Well said, SeinDude. Easily our best win of the season, and the Cats have definitely arrived among the elite-- a current top-four place at this point in the season is all one has to see, really.

I'll add that it was good to see Kent Kingsley break his duck of being held goalless in each of the previous two weeks, and the influence and tireless work of the likes of Steven King, Cameron Ling, Ronnie Burns, Ben Graham and Steve Johnson-- yes, so many players giving their all for the entirety of the match!-- was good to see.

Also, in addition to Kingsley's four goals when the team needed to rely on their leading goal-kicker being as good as it was, the unexpected but welcome production of Johnson and Cameron Mooney each providing four goals apiece came as a pleasant surprise. Shows that this team actually has some depth of quality when it comes to goal-scoring.

Next Saturday night at Colonial... Essendon, bring it on. We're ready. :D

Cheers,
William

Cyclops
15 Jul 2002, 10:03
Well done the Cats, you played fine footy and made us look quite ordinary. Boy can that King play: I thought our ruck rotation might just match him but I was dreaming. 3 votes I reckon.

Pretty good effort from your whole side-we've matched some of the best going around, so it was no mean effort to subdue us.