View Full Version : Why do you think we are better than everybody else?
benny_furs
14 Jan 2008, 08:34
Obviously we are the best club in the land (every supporter must believe this). Name reasons why we are better than everybody else :thumbsu:
I'll start:
Most proven-to-be-loyal group of supporters in history.
boodsyboy
14 Jan 2008, 08:54
No benny i dont wont us to get to far ahead of ourselves we havent proved anything yet but i think the club is on the right track ,bt way to early to start pumping up our own tyres, the only way is up we hope :thumbsu:
Tambling to have good 2008:)
tony_montana
14 Jan 2008, 14:00
i dont believe it bc i dont have my head up my a.rse :p
TwoBlueEyes
14 Jan 2008, 14:04
:confused::eek::p:D
bigpapagman
14 Jan 2008, 14:36
Ø interesting thread to say the least
beaver fever
14 Jan 2008, 15:04
benny are you looking to get a marketing job at tigerland?
Haggard H
14 Jan 2008, 15:08
I don't think anyone has read any further than the title of the thread Benny.
Interesting and tough question. I agree with the loyalty of the fans, though many outsiders think exactly the opposite due to a few sacked coaches and one spitting fan.
While it's not too different from your offering, I'll nominate the passion of Tigers fans, and the unique emotional structure to our personalities formed over the past 25 eventful years. I reckon you could sit down 100 randomly selected citizens and ask them a series of non-football related questions - maybe about the weather, the future of our economy, national security, whether there is a Santa Claus - and you would be able to pick out the Richmond supporters.
A family formed during turmoil is the strongest family of all. We are the Jews of the AFL.
Bring on the foreskin jokes, but keep the anti-semitic stuff to yourself.
benny_furs
14 Jan 2008, 15:56
I'm surprised at how defeatist some attitudes are around here... where is the **** YOU attitude I heard about from the 70's?
We are the TIGER ARMY let me hear you ROAR!!!
Tigerrific
14 Jan 2008, 15:57
Just because the Tigers are the team I support does not make them better than other clubs. They are just the team that my father convinced me to follow.
I look forward to the day when I can say we are better than everybody else.
YellowandBlackBlood
14 Jan 2008, 15:57
Answer:
Because we are!
RuthlessRichmond
14 Jan 2008, 16:06
I agree with some of the sentiment here, our supporter base, when we are up and running can be a glorious thing to behold on a Saturday arvo at the G.
For that to happen though our playing list needs to deliver the results.
Let's not get delusional here, potential is a dirty word, one I'm getting a little tired of hearing and that's about all we have right this minute.
One thing I do miss is that "Richmond" person out there in the football community, you know, the likes of a Greame Richmond, Neville Crowe or Jack Dyer, someone who is synonymous with the club and who's passion and love for the club oozes out whenever they speak. TW & GM do a fine job, but I never really see that extra ounce of passion from them.
Free Willy
14 Jan 2008, 17:18
Re: Why do you think we are better than everybody else?
Because Richmond is an equal opportunity employer.
You recruit duds along with those who can barely play, just to mix it up & have all things even.
You cant even beat a team that TANKS - LoL !:D
benny_furs
14 Jan 2008, 17:24
Answer:
Because we are!
That's what I wanna hear!!
Following a sporting team isn't about sitting around with English Tea logically discussing the possibility of your team winning.
Passion overrides all logic.
When you're at war you don't discuss whether your country is the best, you KNOW that you are, and you assume that all your enemies are rotten, disgusting, pathetic, evil, little pigs.
We aren't grump old men sitting around on a couch discussing football. We are brutal savages supporting our tribe until we take our rightful place on the top of the food chain.
Tiger67
14 Jan 2008, 18:41
Because Richmond is an equal opportunity employer.
You recruit duds along with those who can barely play, just to mix it up & have all things even.
You cant even beat a team that TANKS - LoL !:D
When are you irrelevant Tankton supporters going to realise that nothing you say on this board has any credibility at all.
Seriously, if we wanted a worthwile opinion from any of you we would have to give it too you first!!
In answer to your questiond Benny
I would have to say our club song is one of the things that sets us apart from other clubs. No other club song even comes close with the Demons song running second but there is daylight to them.
roostertalk
14 Jan 2008, 22:12
because of no 12
Jezza U Beauty
15 Jan 2008, 09:57
Because of your club's awesome last 27 years ?
Because last season you finished below a club you guys continually accuse of losing games on purpose ?
Because your best player can spit a baby pacifier over 120 metres ?
benny_furs
15 Jan 2008, 10:24
Because your best player can spit a baby pacifier over 120 metres ?
We're not the best at that, I think Fevola holds the record at 150m.
Tigersman
15 Jan 2008, 12:34
Jack Dyer
Royce Hart
KB
Flea
Richo
and many more who have made Richmond a club that I am proud to support!
We are on the way back!
Soon Foley, Deledio, Cotchin and others will be up with the names of our greats and we can look back on these recent years as a time when Richmond regrouped and built an era of dominance over the likes of Carlton who lie cheat and steal to try to get somewhere.
Yes we have had lean times and some less talented sides than others of late but you cant question the fact that our boys have played to win for the jumper, protecting its value and integrity. A claim that some clubs cant make, leaving a stain over their clubs that wont come off.
Defeated by a better team is one thing.
Trading in the pride and honour of your jumper hard earned by those who came before you for a couple of early picks is a disgrace.
That is why I love the Tigers. Pride and honour mean something at Richmond.
Magic17
15 Jan 2008, 12:59
Best jumper
Best theme song
Best mascot
Best colours
Funny thread benny.
Jezza U Beauty
15 Jan 2008, 15:31
We're not the best at that, I think Fevola holds the record at 150m.
Well that makes 2 things Fev's better than Richo at - the other being kicking goals.
cormick
15 Jan 2008, 15:35
Because we dont have supporters liek Jezza u beauty and Parrot.
Also: our song
Jumper
Richo
Dyer
Bourke
KB
...Richo
And my nan- she goes for Richmond and is the greatest :D
YellowandBlackBlood
15 Jan 2008, 15:36
Well that makes 2 things Fev's better than Richo at - the other being kicking goals.
If Fev kicks as many goals in his career as Richo, he'll have become a great of the game. He hasn't reached that milestone yet, so don't count your chickens before they are hatched.
cormick
15 Jan 2008, 15:59
If Fev kicks as many goals in his career as Richo, he'll have become a great of the game. He hasn't reached that milestone yet, so don't count your chickens before they are hatched.
If he can count, of course... :thumbsu:
You cant expect the sort of logic such as Richo has more goals and a beter S/R at goal than Fev to prove a point to Carlton...they see what they want to see...like Gibbs being good etc... :p
hagansbull
15 Jan 2008, 18:35
Jack Dyer
Royce Hart
KB
Flea
Richo
and many more who have made Richmond a club that I am proud to support!
We are on the way back!
Soon Foley, Deledio, Cotchin and others will be up with the names of our greats and we can look back on these recent years as a time when Richmond regrouped and built an era of dominance over the likes of Carlton who lie cheat and steal to try to get somewhere.
Yes we have had lean times and some less talented sides than others of late but you cant question the fact that our boys have played to win for the jumper, protecting its value and integrity. A claim that some clubs cant make, leaving a stain over their clubs that wont come off.
Defeated by a better team is one thing.
Trading in the pride and honor of your jumper hard earned by those who came before you for a couple of early picks is a disgrace.
That is why I love the Tigers. Pride and honor mean something at Richmond.
what he said:thumbsu:,and we the people (army if you will) drag us out the $hit when we have too, not some old adulteratering, collusinating, cheating,swindler.:eek:
celtic_pride
15 Jan 2008, 18:54
what he said:thumbsu:,and we the people (army if you will) drag us out the $hit when we have too, not some old adulteratering, collusinating, cheating,swindler.:eek:
Hmm, your being a bit harsh on Eddie Mcguire there don't you think :D
hagansbull
15 Jan 2008, 20:30
Hmm, your being a bit harsh on Eddie Mcguire there don't you think :D
Yer I suppose your right, I forgot about that incident with Buckley. Good call:thumbsu:
hawkslore
15 Jan 2008, 20:50
I'm surprised at how defeatist some attitudes are around here... where is the **** YOU attitude I heard about from the 70's?
Thats it get excited! i know big kev does! The 2 best things about Richmond are. Definitley most passionate of supporters!! 2nd Definitley best club song!! thats where it ends im afraid!
tigers_of_old_08
17 Jan 2008, 09:42
Sorry, wrong again.
Richo - 743 goals
Fevola - 387 goals
PS Go troll at Bay 13.
Im not a defeatist, it is just the question was not properly asked :P
I do not think we are the best at the moment, we are way way way far from the best... but if you are talking about why I follow the tigers... see the Why do you barrack for Richmond thread :P
I like the passion of the supporters, I like the history, I like the fact every year we are excited for a good year, I like the fact that there isnt another team with as good a theme song, or colours... many reasons really.
Do not get me wrong though, we are by far 'the best' team in that sense :P on field, we are far from it.
benny_furs
18 Jan 2008, 07:27
Im not a defeatist, it is just the question was not properly asked :P
That sounds like me :P
Jezza U Beauty
18 Jan 2008, 08:56
Sorry, wrong again.
Richo - 743 goals
Fevola - 387 goals
PS Go troll at Bay 13.
Nah I might be right these days bud.
2007 Fev 59 Richo 53
2006 Fev 84 Richo 45
2005 Fev 49 Richo 65
2004 Fev 66 Richo 65
2003 Fev 63 Richo 33
Chances are that with Juddy sitting it out in front of him this year he'll kick a few more than Richo again this year.:thumbsu:
tigers_of_old_08
18 Jan 2008, 10:46
2007 Fev 59 Richo 53
2006 Fev 84 Richo 45
2005 Fev 49 Richo 65
2004 Fev 66 Richo 65
2003 Fev 63 Richo 33
Chances are that with Juddy sitting it out in front of him this year he'll kick a few more than Richo again this year.:thumbsu:
Oh, ....you wanted to talk about these days. Sorry. Ok then here are the stats:
CARLTON
2002 - Wooden Spoon
2003 - 15th
2004 - 11th
2005 - Wooden Spoon
2006 - Wooden Spoon
2007 - 15th
If you still believe you are better "these days bud", you are truly delusional.
Now go practice your trolling somewhere else.
Jezza U Beauty
18 Jan 2008, 12:45
I thought we were talking about Fev vs Richo.
I'm honestly not one for trolling, but do you think you're inviting a bit of flak with a thread title like that ?
turtle27
18 Jan 2008, 12:54
I thought we were talking about Fev vs Richo.
I'm honestly not one for trolling, but do you think you're inviting a bit of flak with a thread title like that ?Irrelevant comparison. Fev is a genuine stay at home FF, and I might add, a very good one, whereas Richo hasn't been that for a long time.
Would be like comparing an in and under hard nut like Foley, against an out the back receiver like Houlihan.
Jezza U Beauty
18 Jan 2008, 16:19
Turtle all I was saying is Fev kicks more goals. And over the last 5 years he has.
hagansbull
18 Jan 2008, 18:50
2007 Fev 59 Richo 53
2006 Fev 84 Richo 45
2005 Fev 49 Richo 65
2004 Fev 66 Richo 65
2003 Fev 63 Richo 33
"bud" that is so 1970's
Oh, ....you wanted to talk about these days. Sorry. Ok then here are the stats:
CARLTON
2002 - Wooden Spoon
2003 - 15th
2004 - 11th
2005 - Wooden Spoon
2006 - Wooden Spoon
2007 - 15th
If you still believe you are better "these days bud", you are truly delusional.
Now go practice your trolling somewhere else.
Yes true we've won those wooden spoons... but you do realise between our club and yours we've won 5 of the last 6 of them. Not something I'd like to advertise or I'd imagine you'd like to advertise either.
Fact of the matter is that since 2001 both our teams have done sfa.
Jezza U Beauty
19 Jan 2008, 10:01
Kinda funny how Richmond's finishing ladder positions were not included in his post.
gaelictiogar
23 Jan 2008, 11:24
Too right mate.
Why are we the greatest sports club in Australia?
1. No fanbase shows the loyalty we do. Look how superpower Carlton's mob melted away in the past few years. We are the most loyal fanbase.
2. No one swaggers like we do when going well. The Tiger Army on the march is the loudest, most passionalte fan army in Australia.
3. Captain Blood and our history. A club for MEN.
4. The fact that we have all been through the awful sh1t together and we are still tiges.
5. The song.
LMAO at the Carlton dumb****s who interpreted the thread title 100% literally when it was saying all along that every club's supporters think their club is the best so why do we think ours is.
LMAOOOOOOOOOO