View Full Version : Bulldogs beef up for more bite
Aquamarinejewel
20 Jan 2008, 00:38
Some Dog News....
http://i181.photobucket.com/albums/x227/freeds1/FarrenRay.jpg
Pumped up: Farren Ray looks strong at training yesterday. Pic: Darrin Braybrook
Bulldogs beef up for more bite (http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,23076479%255E20322,00.html)
20 January 2008
Sunday Herald Sun
Rod Nicholson
THE puppies of last season have grown into bulldogs at the Whitten Oval.
The fleet-of-foot but fragile ilk of Daniel Cross, Lindsay Gilbee and Daniel Giansiracusa weigh 3kg more than last year, while Farren Ray, Cameron Wight and Andrew McDougall have each bulked up 7kg.
Coach Rodney Eade said his players had put on an average 3.5kg in the off-season. "We will continue to play the fast, running game with a few modifications," Eade said at the Bulldogs' training at Wesley College in Mt Waverley yesterday.
"But we have consciously tried to build up the bodies over the past three years. We were OK until Round 15 last year and we fell away and missed the finals, which was really disappointing.
"We think this will be an exciting season for us and we think we can make the finals."
Last season, the Bulldogs had a shorter pre-season, with seven players who didn't do any training before the Christmas break. "This pre-season has been strong and solid. And the signs are good," Eade said.
"A lot of experience has gone (Chris Grant, Luke Darcy and Brett Montgomery) and we have only seven players over 27 years of age. However that gives the middle-age group the chance to show leadership and that is happening. We have lost some great names, yes, but we feel we have a really talented and dedicated group."
Eade is especially enthused with new additions Scott Welsh and Ben Hudson, both from Adelaide. Welsh's accurate 49.17 last season combined with Brad Johnson's 59.26 offers the coach a potentially potent forward combination.
Eade said the Bulldogs would continue their flash and dash style, but wondered why the AFL had introduced a limit on interchange moves in the pre-season competition. Teams will be restricted to 16 interchanges a quarter. "I know they want to trial it but I don't see any advantage for football generally," Eade said. "Why risk diluting the unprecedented ratings and crowds and popularity of the game?
"Anyway, with only 64 interchange moves with 26 players it will limit the game time for players. It will be a balancing act."
The club's opening match on March 23 will see it celebrate Johnson's 300th game.
#1 Dogs Fan
20 Jan 2008, 10:54
Its great to hear Fazza and McDougle added 7 kg. I hope they use that to advantage this season and a play to their strengths. I honestly hope Welsh and johno cause havoc in the forward line and one thing we have lacked for the past couple of years in my opinion is middle age players and leadership in that area. I feel as if we have plenty of that now with players in Murphy, Gianseracusa, Hahn, Harris, Hargrave, Gilbe, Cross. Boyd and Morris something that we should benefit from highly :thumbsu:
Also the dogs will make the 8 in 08 defiantly :thumbsu:
The Coon Dog
20 Jan 2008, 11:48
Don't for a moment kid yourself & think Farren has added 7 kilos. He hasn't. His weight fluctuates & he's between 2.5 & 4 kilos heavier than he was last season!
There's no way that weight will be sustained. Expect the majority of players to lose two to three kilos between now and September. Come March, there will be less gym work and more match-like training conditions with more drills and skills work.
Ray still looks very small.
always right
20 Jan 2008, 14:44
If you actually see him in person you will see he has added size and strength...not 7kg though.
Ray still looks very small.
How big do you want him??
.M a t t.
20 Jan 2008, 18:19
If Doogs HAS added 7 kg he must be a bit of a unit now... Any pics of him?
The Coon Dog
20 Jan 2008, 18:58
If Doogs HAS added 7 kg he must be a bit of a unit now... Any pics of him?
A blurry one.
http://img260.imageshack.us/img260/783/1000040ik3.jpg
He's in here too, wearing #23.
http://img444.imageshack.us/img444/1490/1000042mr6.jpg
bradism
20 Jan 2008, 20:13
Interesting he has taken Jordy's number..
And look at Cross, gabbing on the phone. I thought he was the most dedicated trainer we had ;)
gridlocked
20 Jan 2008, 20:52
Is that Tiller standing in the middle of that picture?
RockyBalboa
20 Jan 2008, 20:53
More bulk doesn't make you harder at the ball.
Our scared players will still be scared.
bulldogdan
20 Jan 2008, 21:06
looks like gilb has put on a bit of beef
#1 Dogs Fan
20 Jan 2008, 21:29
Interesting he has taken Jordy's number..
And look at Cross, gabbing on the phone. I thought he was the most dedicated trainer we had ;)
lol :D
Doogs does look bigger but he still has that hunch :o
Our scared players will still be scared.
And who are these??
dales.girl38
20 Jan 2008, 21:58
Is that Tiller standing in the middle of that picture?
Yeah he's looking pretty good too.
Don't for a moment kid yourself & think Farren has added 7 kilos. He hasn't. His weight fluctuates & he's between 2.5 & 4 kilos heavier than he was last season!
Sorry mate, but i beg to differ. You don't need to have a complete turn around and look like the incredible hulk to gain 7kgs in the gym.
From my personal experience, last footy preseason before any running commenced i did my own separate weight training and had a gain of close to 10kgs, i didn't look huge just more rippped and core strength was where i noticed massive gains.
I've now started a similar weights program and bumped up another 5kgs in under 2 months (and im not massive unit either)
All this media attention about our size, like previous years there's been hype about our run and skills.
Watch for us to get rag dolled still.
#1 Dogs Fan
20 Jan 2008, 23:51
All this media attention about our size, like previous years there's been hype about our run and skills.
Watch for us to get rag dolled still.
Why the negativity Gooka ?
I am actually think we will defiantly make the top 8 mean 100% certainty :thumbsu:
Will we defiantly make the 8 OR definitely make the 8?
The Coon Dog
21 Jan 2008, 09:21
Sorry mate, but i beg to differ. You don't need to have a complete turn around and look like the incredible hulk to gain 7kgs in the gym.
From my personal experience, last footy preseason before any running commenced i did my own separate weight training and had a gain of close to 10kgs, i didn't look huge just more rippped and core strength was where i noticed massive gains.
I've now started a similar weights program and bumped up another 5kgs in under 2 months (and im not massive unit either)
I asked Farren on Saturday at the East meets West day on Saturday, so I think I might be right.
#1 Dogs Fan
21 Jan 2008, 12:19
Will we defiantly make the 8 OR definitely make the 8?
either one is fine as long as we make it :D;)
I find that very hard to belive, sorry.
stefoid
21 Jan 2008, 14:39
I gained 10 kilos in just 6 months. Ask me how!
I dont care if Fez comes back looking like plastic man or the incredible hulk, as long as he learns how to kick.
#1 Dogs Fan
21 Jan 2008, 15:02
I dont care if Fez comes back looking like plastic man or the incredible hulk, as long as he learns how to kick.
Honestly how did you do it ?
I have been trying to put on weight for ages i have tried heaps of things but none work for me. I am 183cm tall and weigh 73-75kg. I want to add about 10 kilo's to my frame but am having a very hard time doing so. any advice will be great ? :D:thumbsu:
Is that just through pure weights training? Any cardio involved? Protein shakes?
Ive been hitting the gym pretty hard for about just under 2 months. I can see results even though ive only gained 1.5kg. Thats only upper body aswell, havent been able to do any leg work since the start of December due to a dodgy hammy.
murphy2bedabest
21 Jan 2008, 15:38
Honestly how did you do it ?
I have been trying to put on weight for ages i have tried heaps of things but none work for me. I am 183cm tall and weigh 73-75kg. I want to add about 10 kilo's to my frame but am having a very hard time doing so. any advice will be great ? :D:thumbsu:
KFC;)
#1 Dogs Fan
21 Jan 2008, 17:05
KFC;)
Tried that hahahahaha :D:D:thumbsu:
Didn't work :(
murphy's twin
21 Jan 2008, 17:43
Yeah i want advice. i am 188cm and i only weigh 70kg
#1 Dogs Fan
21 Jan 2008, 17:56
Yeah i want advice. i am 188cm and i only weigh 70kg
your worse than me :eek:
and lol the funny thing is Robert Murphy was about that hight and weight when he first arrived at the club.
You user name is Murphy's twin :D:D:thumbsu:
kookadog
21 Jan 2008, 18:50
tell me how to put on 10kg of muscle in 6 months..
Sounds like we are a bunch of light weights on here.
I'm weight training at the moment but losing weight rather than putting it on.
I'd love to get hold of one of the players diet's.
The_Bulldogs_Bite
21 Jan 2008, 19:24
I used to be a rake, but I've managed to bulk up over the last two summers. All up I've been in the gym about 8 months (stopped as the football season commenced, didn't have the time).
I'm 173cms & 72kgs.
I used to be 170cms & 64kgs early-mid 2006 prior to going to the gym.
For mine, push-ups & chin-ups are about as good as anything too. If you do those every night on top of going to the gym at least 3 times a week, plus making sure your diet is balanced, IMO most people would/will see results. Atop of this I also have a protein drink in which you mix with water and have 15-20 minutes after exercise.
Works for me.
What kind of protein are you on? It's expensive stuff. Whats the best to add weight?
BTW has anyone been to that shop in Highpoint near rebel that have all this stuff? Check out the guy at the counter, now you cant tell me thats from push ups! (more like roids)
Just got back from 4 months in Germany. Someone has to show me pictures of the young man O'shea, he wouldve put on at least 10 kg's!!! :D:D:D
I used to be a rake, but I've managed to bulk up over the last two summers. All up I've been in the gym about 8 months (stopped as the football season commenced, didn't have the time).
I'm 173cms & 72kgs.
I used to be 170cms & 64kgs early-mid 2006 prior to going to the gym.
For mine, push-ups & chin-ups are about as good as anything too. If you do those every night on top of going to the gym at least 3 times a week, plus making sure your diet is balanced, IMO most people would/will see results. Atop of this I also have a protein drink in which you mix with water and have 15-20 minutes after exercise.
Works for me.
Very much the same as me mate, although i stopped doing gym because of injuries or recovery from game day, i'm also around the same height but weighing about 78kgs and commence at about 65kgs.
As for protein, if you wanna get some serious gains, don't buy any of the GNC or Max's crap. Get your hands on some VP2 and add your own carbs to your shakes, i was having 3 shakes on gym day and 2 on off days, it's about $60 and will last you under a month. Or try some XGF Muscle, thats worked great for me in short periods of time.
Also Borgy, why is it that you find my my initial post hard to believe? results vary from person to person, it's genetics, how hard you train, nutrition and rest.
Sorry mate didnt mean any disrespect but thats a fair bit of weight to add in a short period of time. I didnt realise you also had protein shakes, i guess they do make a difference. Fair effort though, kudos to you.
Care to share any training tips?
murphy's twin
21 Jan 2008, 22:09
your worse than me :eek:
and lol the funny thing is Robert Murphy was about that hight and weight when he first arrived at the club.
You user name is Murphy's twin :D:D:thumbsu:
apparently my hair looks similar to his also. Im better looking though :D
murphy's twin
21 Jan 2008, 22:11
Just got back from 4 months in Germany. Someone has to show me pictures of the young man O'shea, he wouldve put on at least 10 kg's!!! :D:D:D
I was in Germany for a month in december doing a study tour with the uni. Pretty cool country. I then went to barcelona for a few days, paris for the day, christmas in london then new years at new york. Twas a pretty awesome experience.
I'm guessing Stefoid was taking the P155 pretending to be a weight gain ad you see in magazines etc?
But by all means... ask him how.
stefoid
22 Jan 2008, 12:22
Easy, snap your achiles tendon, get it infected and have to have another operation and thus send 4 months on crutches and sitting on the couch.
Make sure you drink a lot of beer as solace.
Voila, youve gained 10 pounds!
Anthony_
22 Jan 2008, 12:40
Easy, snap your achiles tendon, get it infected and have to have another operation and thus send 4 months on crutches and sitting on the couch.
Make sure you drink a lot of beer as solace.
Voila, youve gained 10 pounds!
Ahh so you didn't take the Eric Cartmen route then ;)
http://www.poster.net/south-park/south-park-beefcake-4001494.jpg
#1 Dogs Fan
22 Jan 2008, 16:19
apparently my hair looks similar to his also. Im better looking though :D
He isn't exactly the best looking bloke going around so i think most of us have his measure :D
He'd steal our bloody girlfriends if we currently had em thats for sure
#1 Dogs Fan
23 Jan 2008, 19:20
Mate if he could carry her and run of with her than yes. Any other way i don't think so ;)
Yours a bit "big boned" is she?
#1 Dogs Fan
23 Jan 2008, 21:21
Yours a bit "big boned" is she?
No !
Murphy is just small boned thats all :D:thumbsu:
Aquamarinejewel
23 Jan 2008, 21:42
No !
Murphy is just small boned thats all :D:thumbsu:
Me thinks you two want to be just like Murphy - jealousy is a curse! :)
#1 Dogs Fan
24 Jan 2008, 19:46
Me thinks you two want to be just like Murphy - jealousy is a curse! :)
Now aqua did you have to go out and say that in public ? :o
GreaT SourcE
28 Jan 2008, 12:23
How is Daniel Cross training to those Bulldog's supporters that attend training ?? Is he doing full training, had any injury setbacks, looks great physically ??
.M a t t.
28 Jan 2008, 16:02
How is Daniel Cross training to those Bulldog's supporters that attend training ?? Is he doing full training, had any injury setbacks, looks great physically ??
Browlow Betting? Dream Team?? Which one? :p
KouDogg
28 Jan 2008, 17:22
Must be Dream Team....
Crossy will be one of my first Midfielders picked.....he was my captian for most of last year and scored me very well. To bad he did his knee as he was my captian at that stage and i lost $5 because of it :(.
Me and my friends at school have competitions with out Dream Teams and there is always money at stake. Its very fun.
#1 Dogs Fan
28 Jan 2008, 17:43
Must be Dream Team....
Crossy will be one of my first Midfielders picked.....he was my captian for most of last year and scored me very well. To bad he did his knee as he was my captian at that stage and i lost $5 because of it :(.
Me and my friends at school have competitions with out Dream Teams and there is always money at stake. Its very fun.
lol.
Hey with Cross right. I understand he was ok Dream team wise before he got injured. He came back and played about 5 or 6 games i think ?
Did his form drop of in those games so his price value will drop in the dream team for this year ?
KouDogg
28 Jan 2008, 18:18
Cross was one of the best in Dream Team for scoring wise. He averaged a bit over a 100 points a game which is extremely good. When he got injured his price did drop by a lot but when he came back it went up again after he scored some points.
I wouldn't be suprised if he is still over 300,000. Anyway he will be my first bulldog in the midfield.
#1 Dogs Fan
28 Jan 2008, 19:06
Cross was one of the best in Dream Team for scoring wise. He averaged a bit over a 100 points a game which is extremely good. When he got injured his price did drop by a lot but when he came back it went up again after he scored some points.
I wouldn't be suprised if he is still over 300,000. Anyway he will be my first bulldog in the midfield.
Agreed.:thumbsu: and yes i will draft him as well
I don't want to throw a dampener on the good news that the boys have put on weight. But don't believe everything you hear. I'm not saying that to be bitter, i'm just saying its obvious the boys haven't stacked on that much as a group. Sure some have put on nice amounts, but no more then every other 18-22 year olds at other AFL clubs. I think Eade is doing his best to kick start the membership sales.
The Coon Dog
28 Jan 2008, 23:04
i'm just saying its obvious the boys haven't stacked on that much as a group.
How so?
KouDogg
28 Jan 2008, 23:09
Its dam obvious to me. Have you actually seen them in person and compared them from last year. Because if you do you will notice a difference.