Calib Mourish (R)
Scott Thornton
Brock O'Brien
Dean Solomon
Ryley Dunn (R)

REFERENCE: footgoss.com

dominguez
22 Jan 2008, 17:06
Have Tarrant, Matt Carr and Sandilands been doing full training? I thought all 3 were only doing part of the work each session?

wehavethepassion
22 Jan 2008, 17:24
Its a provisional squad to be reduced

dominguez
22 Jan 2008, 17:26
Its a provisional squad to be reduced

I wonder if those 28 are going across but only 22 will suit up?

anti.
22 Jan 2008, 17:29
i'd say it'd be an extended bench game? maybe a 26 man bench or something.

fat wombat
22 Jan 2008, 18:17
Have Tarrant, Matt Carr and Sandilands been doing full training? I thought all 3 were only doing part of the work each session?

They looked to be involved in everything in the sessions I have seen. That's the first I've heard of it. I could be wrong I suppose.

dominguez
22 Jan 2008, 18:35
i'd say it'd be an extended bench game? maybe a 26 man bench or something.

It's going to be 15 a side, so 22 would make a 7 man bench which would be about right IMO. The quarters will be shorter too iirc.

dominguez
22 Jan 2008, 18:41
They looked to be involved in everything in the sessions I have seen. That's the first I've heard of it. I could be wrong I suppose.

Pretty sure Sandi has been spending a lot of time on the bike of late and Tarrant had a cyst removed just before christmas which interrupted his preparation.

prattsta
22 Jan 2008, 19:15
The 28-man squad selected by the club is:

Paul Hasleby
Byron Schammer
Brett Peake
Matthew Carr
Clayton Hinkley
Des Headland
Luke Pratt (R)
Antoni Grover
Ryan Crowley
David Mundy
Rhys Palmer
Chris Tarrant
Adam Campbell
Steven Dodd
Chris Mayne
Daniel Gilmore
Ryan Murphy
Kepler Bradley
Marcus Drum
Aaron Sandilands
Jeff Farmer
Garrick Ibbotson
Brent Connelly (R)
Michael Johnson
Chris Smith (R)
Paul Duffield
Josh Head
Roger Hayden

In other words no:

Peter Bell
Matthew Pavlich
Luke McPharlin
Heath Black
Mark Johnson
Andrew Browne
Robert Warnock
AndrewFoster
Shaun McManus
Luke Webster
Josh Carr
Calib Mourish (R)
Scott Thornton
Brock O'Brien
Dean Solomon
Ryley Dunn (R)

REFERENCE: footgoss.com

Does anyone else find it odd that these 2 haven't been named? I wouldv'e expected our 5 rookies to be certain selections. I don't know maybe I'm reading too much into the squad selected for a scratch match...

fat wombat
22 Jan 2008, 19:17
Does anyone else find it odd that these 2 haven't been named? I wouldv'e expected our 5 rookies to be certain selections. I don't know maybe I'm reading too much into the squad selected for a scratch match...

Maybe they don't have a passport? :)

Rabbitoh
22 Jan 2008, 19:22
Taz will be under strict instructions not to Brown-Eye any of the punters at the local Pub!

chook2734
22 Jan 2008, 19:42

Isn't Dunn recovering/suffering from a back injury? It's a long way to be sitting on a plane with a bad back when there's not even a chance of him taking to the field. He's running out of chances too, so probably best he remains here and gets the treatment he needs to get himself back to fitness. Not sure about Mourish.

Jetau
22 Jan 2008, 22:22
No Foster either. Does anyone know is he's actually training at present? I know IP said she couldn't see him when she went to training. :confused:

shibz_1989
22 Jan 2008, 22:30
Forgive my ignorance, but when is the South Africa game? My Freo loving mate is over there at the moment and I'm tryna find out for him.

Cheers.

EDIT: Don't worry, it's posted on the website.

dont bowl there
22 Jan 2008, 22:34
No Foster either. Does anyone know is he's actually training at present? I know IP said she couldn't see him when she went to training. :confused:

He was nowhere to be seen when I went down and had a look either, hope its not too serious.

Im not so happy about Farmer playing in this game but other than that it seems like a very good squad.

chook2734
22 Jan 2008, 22:52
Im not so happy about Farmer playing in this game but other than that it seems like a very good squad.

I'd rather he play in this one, miss any NAB cup games and only play pre-season once we are in the regional challenge. He never seems overly interested in these games anyway (only seems to play at about 50%, which is fine) so why take the risk of suspension/injury.

inferno66
22 Jan 2008, 23:14

Dunn is currently injured :(. Im not sure why Mourish is not in the squad though.

dont bowl there
22 Jan 2008, 23:20
Dunn is currently injured :(. Im not sure why Mourish is not in the squad though.

Having seen Mourish train I would say they still feel he isn't up to the standard that AFL players play at. He looks good but a game against AFL players in my opinion would only dent his confidence.

Shadow Man
22 Jan 2008, 23:52
Having seen Mourish train I would say they still feel he isn't up to the standard that AFL players play at. He looks good but a game against AFL players in my opinion would only dent his confidence.

I would have thought he would have been one of the first picked with all other rookies?:eek:

dont bowl there
22 Jan 2008, 23:58
I would have thought he would have been one of the first picked with all other rookies?:eek:

No point making him play against an AFL team when he isn't ready.

Underdog
23 Jan 2008, 00:49
No point making him play against an AFL team when he isn't ready.

Clayton Collard?

dont bowl there
23 Jan 2008, 00:53
Clayton Collard?

Im assuming you mean when he got a game for us last year. His form for Sth Freo was worthy of a debut at that stage, he found the going tough like most players that debut. Nothing odd about that one.

estibador
23 Jan 2008, 02:42
Good to see they've left my buddy Nockers behind.

No sense wasting your superstars in meaningless exhibition games.

NiGHTFuRY
23 Jan 2008, 07:15
Hmmmmmmmmmzzzzzzz
Is the Brockinator injured perhaps ????

DockerNJL
23 Jan 2008, 09:55
Hmmmmmmmmmzzzzzzz
I heard the goverment wont give him a passport for obvious reasons ;)

pistol17
23 Jan 2008, 10:08
Hmmmmmmmmmzzzzzzz
He might be behind schedule in regards to his fitness. I've been to a few training sessions and Brock hasnt been involved with the main group, does some skills work with a couple of the injured boys then smashes out laps for the next 30 - 60 minutes.

What I dont understand is why would you take say Hayden, Mundy, Sandilands, Tarrant - all vital to the side this year but we leave a rookie at home in Mourish. Wouldnt it make sense not to risk anyone of your best 22-25 players and take a rookie instead. I mean (touch wood) what if Sandilands breaks down again, he will miss the start of the season over a game where no points are on offer, its 15 per side and yea basically only the AFL win.

Maybe its just me but i dont see any sense in leaving mourish in perth.

hoogs
23 Jan 2008, 10:24
What I dont understand is why would you take say Hayden, Mundy, Sandilands, Tarrant - all vital to the side this year but we leave a rookie at home in Mourish. Wouldnt it make sense not to risk anyone of your best 22-25 players and take a rookie instead. I mean (touch wood) what if Sandilands breaks down again, he will miss the start of the season over a game where no points are on offer, its 15 per side and yea basically only the AFL win.

Sandilands will be good for a story in South Africa. They'll be amazed at the size of him. Will grab attention. I like the idea of Freo going to SA. We should really be pushing to show them something exciting, hence the reason to send Farmer. Being in Western Australia, we are much closer to South Africa than other clubs except WC. IF anyone is going to find support there it's us, so I say send the big fellah, send the little fellah. Show them the extremities of the game. The big, the small and the ugly. Get them excited about Freo, not just AFL.

pistol17
23 Jan 2008, 10:36
Sandilands will be good for a story in South Africa. They'll be amazed at the size of him. Will grab attention. I like the idea of Freo going to SA. We should really be pushing to show them something exciting, hence the reason to send Farmer. Being in Western Australia, we are much closer to South Africa than other clubs except WC. IF anyone is going to find support there it's us, so I say send the big fellah, send the little fellah. Show them the extremities of the game. The big, the small and the ugly. Get them excited about Freo, not just AFL.
I have no problem with freo playing in South Africa, that wasnt what i was trying to say. Was trying to say that anyone of the 28 in the squad apart from the other rookies should be staying home in place of Mourish. Why risk an injury to anyone on the senior list. Unless he is injured but he has trained with the main group so dont know.

rgauci
23 Jan 2008, 10:45
Stolen from Carlton Board:

Who: Carlton vs Fremantle.
Where: SuperSport (formerly Centurion) Park, Pretoria (Gauteng Province).
When: February 2nd 2008.

Field Umpires: Stuart Wenn, Martin Ellis, Ray Chamberlain
Boundary Umpires: Adam McDonald, Shane Jansen, Matthew Payton
Goal Umpires: Colin Hood, Jason Venkataya

dont bowl there
23 Jan 2008, 12:35
Maybe its just me but i dont see any sense in leaving mourish in perth.

The only thing I can think of is that they dont think he is ready to play against AFL standard players. Let the kid learn how to play the game in the WAFL this year.

pistol17
23 Jan 2008, 12:39
The only thing I can think of is that they dont think he is ready to play against AFL standard players. Let the kid learn how to play the game in the WAFL this year.
I get that... i just dont want any of the senior list players getting injured in this practice game when we could just play Mourish. NAB Cup is a different story of course but to go down in an exhibition game would be pretty bad when there is a rookie sitting back at perth

dont bowl there
23 Jan 2008, 12:43
I get that... i just dont want any of the senior list players getting injured in this practice game when we could just play Mourish. NAB Cup is a different story of course but to go down in an exhibition game would be pretty bad when there is a rookie sitting back at perth

Injuries could happen at training yet they all train, this is good match practise for a few of them. Maybe Sandi and co wont play in the first NAB cup match because they played in SA. More chance of an injury against WCE at Subi one would imagine.

pistol17
23 Jan 2008, 12:45
Injuries could happen at training yet they all train, this is good match practise for a few of them. Maybe Sandi and co wont play in the first NAB cup match because they played in SA. More chance of an injury against WCE at Subi one would imagine.
Maybe your right, i'm probably thinking too much into it... Just cant wait for some footy to start

dont bowl there
23 Jan 2008, 12:47
Maybe your right, i'm probably thinking too much into it... Just cant wait for some footy to start

Trust me if any of our big name players go down in SA I will be pretty upset and asking the same questions as you even though I know it was just unlucky.

Agree with you there, this seems like it has been a very very long off season...

prattsta
23 Jan 2008, 13:06
I guess if you look at it as part of the pre-season training rather than a pointless practise match there is some sense in the selections of senior guys.

Giving a guy like Hase an extra hitout (plus they will no doubt do some different things like high altitude training whilst in SA) is much more valuble than giving it to a guy like Mourish who most certainly wont play AFL this season.

Plus they will no doubt be doing a lot of promotional stuff, so the local media/people getting to meet some of the 'stars' will be a very positive thing for the club.

Some extra info here-

http://www.thewest.com.au/default.aspx?MenuID=12&ContentID=55572

Anyway i'm off to wipe any record from my computer that i visited that site, then i'm going to stab my eye's out.

hoogs
23 Jan 2008, 15:15
I have no problem with freo playing in South Africa, that wasnt what i was trying to say. Was trying to say that anyone of the 28 in the squad apart from the other rookies should be staying home in place of Mourish. Why risk an injury to anyone on the senior list. Unless he is injured but he has trained with the main group so dont know.

Every time a player takes the track he risks injury. None of these players have issues with knee reconstructions and things like that. I'm sure if Sandi was at the final stage of knee recon rehab than he would not have been selected, but his injury is something that is just as likely to be affected by playing a game or running through cones at training.

We are weighing up the risks of injury against the promotional advantage of having such players as Sandi and Farmer in the team.

There is a big bench and these players may well not play too much, but the presence of someone Sandi's size is going to have the media quite interested, especially when the game is going to be on TV there. He'll look like a monster opposed to any Carlton ruckman. Considering Carlton are direct competitors in attracting a market in South Africa, I think we could be made to look pretty good by having him there.