View Full Version : 2008 VAFA Selections
Jascave
28 Jan 2008, 09:40
This thread is about putting your selections in for each week's round of matches in each section (A-D4). Don't put your selections for each week in the respective section thread (ie D4), put them in this thread instead. The sections thread would only focus on what happened on gameday and news in the week leading up to the next round of matches. But for now, predict who you think will win the flag at the end of the year in each section, the grand finalists (or teams promoted to a higher section) and the candidates for relegation in each section. The best & fairest winner and the leading goalkicker for each section comes later in the year.
Rufus Red
28 Jan 2008, 09:53
A Premiers Old Xavs
Runners Up St Bedes Mentone
Smokies Uni Blacks
relegated
Old Scotch
Old Trinity
B Premiers St Kevins
Runners Up Old Camberwell
Smokies anyone other than Beaumaris . Potentially very even section 9 wins finals 6 wins relegation
Relegated
Beaumaris
anyone
C Premiers Rupertswood
Runners Up Ormond
Smokies Oakleigh
Relegated MHSOB
Parkdale
D1 Premiers Bulleen-Templestowe
Runners Up Fitzroy
Smokies Old Geelong
Relegated Aquinas
Peninsula
D2 Premiers Old Paradians
Runners Up Werribee
Smokies St Marys/Salesian
Relegated Glen Eira
Ivanhoe
D3 Premiers St Johns
runners up Williamstown
Smokies UHSOB
relegated Swinburne
Powerhouse
D4 Premiers St Francis Xavier
Runners up West Brunswick
Smokies anyone- very changeable section
U19 Premier
Premiers Old Xavs
Runners Up St Bedes Mentone
Relegated Uni Blacks
Marcellin
Jascave
28 Jan 2008, 14:01
Here's my tips:
A SECTION
Premiers: Old Brighton
Runners Up: Old Xaverians
Team to watch: St Bedes Mentone Tigers
Relegation: Old Scotch Old Trinity
B SECTION
Premiers: St Kevins
Runners Up: Old Camberwell
Team to watch: Old Carey
Relegation: Beaumaris Old Essendon
C SECTION
Premiers: Rupertswood
Runners Up: Mazenod
Team to watch: Ormond
Relegation: MHSOB Parkdale
D1 SECTION
Premiers: Fitzroy Reds
Runners Up: Bulleen Templestowe
Team to watch: Old Mentonians
Relegation: Aqiunas Peninsula
D2 SECTION
Premiers: Old Paradians
Runners up: Werribee
Team to watch: St Marys/Salesian
Relegation: Glen Eira Ivanhoe
D3 SECTION
Premiers: Swinburne
Runners Up: St Johns
Team to watch: UHSOB
Relegation: Williamstown Powerhouse
D4 SECTION
Premiers: St Francis Xavier
Runners Up: West Brunswick
Team to watch: Albert Park
Bottom Two: Kew Eley Park
smudger57
28 Jan 2008, 15:14
D4 SECTION
Relegation: Kew Eley Park
bit stiff to get relegated from D4 jase!
rightfoot_sloth
29 Jan 2008, 07:16
Here's my tips:
A SECTION
Premiers: Old Brighton
Runners Up: Old Xaverians
Team to watch: St Bedes Mentone Tigers
B SECTION
Premiers: St Kevins
Runners Up: Old Camberwell
Team to watch: Old Carey
Relegation: Beaumaris Old Essendon
C SECTION
Premiers: Rupertswood
Runners Up: Mazenod
Team to watch: Ormond
Relegation: MHSOB Parkdale
D1 SECTION
Premiers: Fitzroy Reds
Runners Up: Bulleen Templestowe
Team to watch: Old Mentonians
Relegation: Aqiunas Peninsula
D2 SECTION
Premiers: Old Paradians
Runners up: Werribee
D3 SECTION
Premiers: Swinburne
Runners Up: St Johns
Relegation: Williamstown Powerhouse
D4 SECTION
Bottom Two: Kew Eley Park
Jason ... I am trying to work some type of logic in your thought process :confused: . In a post about a week ago I asked you who would have the most success as a A section coach in 2008. Your response was 'Brett Chandler from Old Trinity'. Then you say Trinity will be relegated after the 2008 season ? Can you please attempt to clear up what you are trying to say ? Or am I just trying too hard to understand ?
Cheers.
Sloth
The Big Pineapple
29 Jan 2008, 07:33
Jason ... I am trying to work some type of logic in your thought process :confused: . In a post about a week ago I asked you who would have the most success as a A section coach in 2008. Your response was 'Brett Chandler from Old Trinity'. Then you say Trinity will be relegated after the 2008 season ? Can you please attempt to clear up what you are trying to say ? Or am I just trying too hard to understand ?
Cheers.
Sloth
No Sloth, you just realised what a lot of us already knew. Jascave is a massive clown!
Jascave
29 Jan 2008, 08:08
I've changed my mind on Brett Chandler. He will have success in his coaching career, but not this year. The problem I have with Old Trinity is that if Andrew Ramsden breaks down during the course of the year, what replacements do they have avaliable? I think the rookie coach of the year award honour would go to Simon Lethlean from Old Xaverians. I was only trying to gee up Scribe, seeing that he used to play with Old Trinity!!!
Archangel17
29 Jan 2008, 13:12
Edits to Jas tips
A SECTION
Premiers: Old Xaverians
Runners Up: Uni Blues
Team to watch: Old Ivanhoe
B SECTION
Premiers: Old Camberwell
Runners Up: Old Essendon
Team to watch: agree with Red here, this section is wide open
Relegation: Beaumaris Marcellin
C SECTION
Premiers: Ormond
Runners Up: Rupertswood
Team to watch: Monash
Relegation: MHSOB Hampton
D1 SECTION
Premiers: Old Geelong
Runners Up: Fitzroy Reds
Team to watch: South Melbourne
Relegation: Aquinas Yarra Valley
D2 SECTION
Premiers: Werribee
Runners up: St Marys/Salesian
Team to watch: Banyule
D3 SECTION
Premiers: St Johns
Runners Up: La Trobe
Relegation: Hawthorn Powerhouse
D4 SECTION
Runners Up: Box Hill Nth
Team to watch: Bulleen
anyone got clubbies or u19 tips to add?
ultimate hater
29 Jan 2008, 14:03
I've changed my mind on.....
I stopped reading there..
Jascave
29 Jan 2008, 14:19
I don't take much notice of Club XVIII or Under 19 sections, but I'll give those tips out when the fixtures are released sometime in March.
I just love my footy
29 Jan 2008, 14:27
Jase
are you serious when you say you do not take much notice of Under 19 and Club 18 teams?? I mean seriously Jase, you are talking about the future of your club with the Under 19's and also more than likely the largest financial contributer to the club in the Club 18?!?!?!?!
Jase, you need to get a life, and realise that there is more to your existence than the Hampton Rovers Senior Team.
What an idiot!!!!
Jascave
29 Jan 2008, 14:30
The draw for Club XVIII and Under 19s hasn't come out yet so I'm waiting until the draw for those sections is released by the VAFA, then I'll give my tips. Also I was talking about Club XVIII 1,2,3 and the Under 19s sections as a whole, not just one section. After all, some clubs usually come & go in Club XVIII/Under 19s football, so I won't get a fair idea who to pick until the VAFA releases its fixtures for those sections.
I just love my footy
29 Jan 2008, 14:32
Actually Jase the draw for Premier Under 19 IS available. it has been since before Christmas.
Oh thats right, Hampton are not in that division are they? Thats why you have no idea and dont care too much
Jascave
29 Jan 2008, 14:37
OK here's my tips for the Under 19 Premier Division:
Runners Ups: Uni Blacks
Team to watch: Rupertswood
Relegation: St Bedes Mentone Tigers De La Salle
Archangel, re your relegation tips I agree with you, I think the Rovers won't do all that well, considering they've been VERY slow on the recruting front. I also agree with you abut the Grand Finallists in C Section Rupertswood & Ormond, however I tip Rupertswood to win the premiership.
PS How would Victoria go in rep footy this year?
JG Hornet
29 Jan 2008, 14:49
Archangel, re your relegation tips I agree with you, I think the Rovers won't do all that well, considering they've been VERY slow on the recruting front. I also agree with you abut the Grand Finallists in C Section Rupertswood & Ormond, however I tip Rupertswood to win the premiership.
Jason
Rationale behind your De La for relegation selection please?
Over The Post
29 Jan 2008, 15:02
Having watched SBMT dispatch OMs at Sportscover 21-14-140 to NIL, I reckon your picks are right on the money. OM got it to their forward fifty twice in the game, and each time the SBMT backmen stopped sipping their milo, put the kettle back on the primus, and sent it screaming back up the midfield before sitting down again. You're right, no way can they survive in the rarified atmosphere of U19P.
De La Salle finished the season on top of Premier division and St Bedes flogged all comers in Divvy 2. Unless they have had all their players turn 20 in the same month then you really are taking the piss now.
I've changed my mind on Brett Chandler. He will have success in his coaching career, but not this year. The problem I have with Old Trinity is that if Andrew Ramsden breaks down during the course of the year, what replacements do they have avaliable? I think the rookie coach of the year award honour would go to Simon Lethlean from Old Xaverians. I was only trying to gee up Scribe, seeing that he used to play with Old Trinity!!!
Didn't work Jase. ;)
Depth in key positions hasn't really been an issue at OTs for a long time.
Mason Cole and Andrew Bourke provide more than good back-up for Jack Healey and Rambo, so much so that my old mate was playing more up forward with Cults in 2007 than as an around the ground ruckman. In my view, the absolute key player for OTs is David Beardsley. Good key defenders are hard to find in the Ammos!!
The major area they need to address is bigger bodies around the contests. A few lads have been hitting the gym recently, which can only be a positive. Scott Dann and Anthony Kenna have returned from a year away at Fitzroy to add some experience and aggression too.
Even allowing for natural bias, I'd expect the OTs to surprise in 2008 with a middling effort to finish somewhere from 4th-7th. The Carlson/Gaut senior coaching regime presided over the most consistent 10 years in the club's history, but no doubt the arrival of Brett Chandler will have sparked a lot of enthusiasm in the group.
Jascave
30 Jan 2008, 12:55
How would St Bedes Mentone Tigers go in their first year in A Section?
Going on recent form and the form of their kids coming through I'd say top 4 Jase.
Jascave
30 Jan 2008, 13:10
I reckon the AJAX supporters would think back to the 2006 C Section Grand Final and say 'if only we didn't shut up shop when we were 8-10 goals up during the second quarter of the '06 Grand Final.' Because look where St Bedes Mentone Tigers are now: A Section. AJAX: C Section.
The Big Pineapple
30 Jan 2008, 13:43
I reckon the AJAX supporters would think back to the 2006 C Section Grand Final and say 'if only we didn't shut up shop when we were 8-10 goals up during the second quarter of the '06 Grand Final.' Because look where St Bedes Mentone Tigers are now: A Section. AJAX: C Section.
F**K you are an idiot. They still would have got relegated. They were horrible last year!
Jascave
30 Jan 2008, 13:54
I reckon they'll get a full house for the St Bedes Mentone Tigers/Old Xaverians match at Brisindi St, to see their beloved Tigers go up against the powerhouse of VAFA football in Old Xaverians. What chance St Bedes Mentone Tigers have of defeating Old Xavs?
The Big Pineapple
30 Jan 2008, 15:03
I reckon they'll get a full house for the St Bedes Mentone Tigers/Old Xaverians match at Brisindi St, to see their beloved Tigers go up against the powerhouse of VAFA football in Old Xaverians. What chance St Bedes Mentone Tigers have of defeating Old Xavs?
Seriously Jase, you are like the terminator... just keep coming back.
No one cares for your polls, questions and hypotheticals so unless you've got something interesting to say please don't hit the 'Post Reply' every 5 minutes.
Cherry Picker
30 Jan 2008, 15:08
PREMIERS: Old Xavs
RUNNERS UP: Collegians
TEAM TO WATCH: Uni Blues
RELEGATION: Uni Blacks, St Bede's Mentone
Dont Know and Dont care about the rest
Freebaser
30 Jan 2008, 15:13
Edits to Jas tips
A SECTION
Runners Up: Uni Blues
Team to watch: Old Ivanhoe
Relegation: Old Scotch Uni Blacks
B SECTION
Premiers: Caulfield- does anyone really think Old Camberwell will go that well with no Loats and no Chard?
Runners Up: St Kevins
Team to watch: agree with Red here, this section is wide open
Relegation: Beaumaris St Bernards
C SECTION
Premiers: Mazenod
Runners Up: Rupertswood
Team to watch: Oakleigh
Relegation: MHSOB Hampton
D1 SECTION
Premiers: Old Geelong
Runners Up: Bulleen-Templestowe
Team to watch: South Melbourne
Relegation: Aquinas Yarra Valley
D2 SECTION
Premiers: Werribee
Runners up: Banyule
D3 SECTION
Premiers: St Johns
Runners Up: La Trobe
Relegation: Hawthorn Powerhouse
D4 SECTION
Runners Up: Box Hill Nth
Team to watch: Richmond
anyone got clubbies or u19 tips to add?
My comments in red.!
Jascave
30 Jan 2008, 15:39
My comments in red.!
Agree with most of the selections there from you Freebaser.
PS Just a reminder in regards to putting your tips for each week's round of matches, you must have your tips in no later than Friday afternoon before the day of the game. All sections will be covered (A-D4, Under 19, Club XVIII). So,make sure you have your selections for each week by Friday afternoon.
JG Hornet
30 Jan 2008, 16:40
Agree with most of the selections there from you Freebaser.
PS Just a reminder in regards to putting your tips for each week's round of matches, you must have your tips in no later than Friday afternoon before the day of the game. All sections will be covered (A-D4, Under 19, Club XVIII). So,make sure you have your selections for each week by Friday afternoon.
Jason are you going to tip every match in every section?
Jascave
30 Jan 2008, 17:36
Yes, I'll tip in every match in every section. But it's also open to everyone as well. Just short simple selections (section, team, predicted margin). And no, I will not be tipping Hampton Rovers every single time in C Section and Under 19 football. After all,in my AFL tips last year I went against my team Richmond several times during the course of the season.
The tips will be something like this (using A Section as an example):
A SECTION
Old Xavs by 32
Uni Blues by 23
Collegians by 14
Old Trinity by 19
Old Scotch by 40
And come grand final time I'll do a brief preview of each grand final as well. Looking forward to a great season of footy!!
Yes, I'll tip in every match in every section. But it's also open to everyone as well. Just short simple selections (section, team, predicted margin). And no, I will not be tipping Hampton Rovers every single time in C Section and Under 19 football. After all,in my AFL tips last year I went against my team Richmond several times during the course of the season.
A SECTION
Old Xavs by 32
Uni Blues by 23
Collegians by 14
Old Trinity by 19
Old Scotch by 40
And come grand final time I'll do a brief preview of each grand final as well. Looking forward to a great season of footy!!
OK Jas, enoughs enough!! Now your really starting to give me the sh!ts, It's still January you muppet, I think you're getting a little too excited, slow down or you'll do yourself an injury. How about you take a few weeks off, and come back in early March?
Y And no, I will not be tipping Hampton Rovers every single time in C Section and Under 19 football. After all,in my AFL tips last year I went against my team Richmond several times during the course of the season.
Jase I have tipped against Richmond for almost thirty years and have won stacks of coin and will continue to do so!
Jascave
30 Jan 2008, 21:19
And the Tigers will go even worse this year....unles they get rid of Greg Miller but not Wallace.
Rooster1979
30 Jan 2008, 23:18
Jas,
Here are my tips for Round 1 of the VAFA on the 12th April, 2008
A Section
Old Brighton 12pts
De La Salle 23
Collegians 104
Uni Blacks 26
Old Xaverians 71
B Section
Old Carey 21
Old Essendon 14
St Kevins 31
St Bernards 12
Old Hailerbury 56
C Section
Hampton Rovers 1
Mazenod 34
Rupertswood 69
MHSOB 16
Ajax 29
D1 Section
NOBS/St Pats 86
Old Geelong 64
Yarra Valley 12
Old Mentonians 44
Peninsula 8
D2 Section
Bentleigh 12
St Mary's / Salesian 2
Therry Penola 42
Old Paradians 12
Old Westbourne 80
D3 Section
Williamstown CYMS 122
La Trobe Uni 16
Hawthorn 36
Elsternwick 48
Monash Gryphons 8
D4 Section
Richmond Central 13
Albert Park 20
South Mornington 20
Kew 24
West Brunswick 146
St Francis Xavier 92
U19 Premier
Old Scotch 46
Uni Blacks 21
Rupertswood 56
St Bernards 54
Old Xaverians 2
Let me know when you need round 2 in by and if there's any chance there might also be a reserves tipping competition or if I can just post these in here too.
Jascave
31 Jan 2008, 07:17
Would it be a surprise to you if the VAFA put their season start forward by a week or two like last year, because there's a good chance it could happen again, if no rain falls between now & March and also some councils may not have the grounds ready before April 12.
The Big Pineapple
31 Jan 2008, 07:50
Would it be a surprise to you if the VAFA put their season start forward by a week or two like last year, because there's a good chance it could happen again, if no rain falls between now & March and also some councils may not have the grounds ready before April 12.
I think you mean back a week Jase... get it right!
And if it happened last year then no, it would not be a surprise if it happened again.
Enough with the ******* pointless posts Jase!
JG Hornet
31 Jan 2008, 08:16
A SECTION
Old Xavs by 32
Uni Blues by 23
Collegians by 14
Old Trinity by 19
Old Scotch by 40
Oh my God.
Champs wear da No.16
31 Jan 2008, 09:53
Hey JAS do u have much of an idea about anything or do u permanantly speak from your rectum?
In regards to your tips for the under 19 premier division its obvious that you dont know much about this division as you have got two premiers from 2007 being relegated.
BrianSpeaking
31 Jan 2008, 12:42
St Bedes unders were div 2 last year, so Jase is ok to predict relegation.
Unders change every year anyway.
Horn, what is wrong with you lately, Jase is the VAFA voice from the interchange stewards bench!
You need to encourage him more, as do you TBP...Jase, its raining today so all is set to go on schedule.
My tips are as follows...no f arkin idea yet.
JG Hornet
31 Jan 2008, 14:32
St Bedes unders were div 2 last year, so Jase is ok to predict relegation.
Unders change every year anyway.
Horn, what is wrong with you lately, Jase is the VAFA voice from the interchange stewards bench!
You need to encourage him more, as do you TBP...Jase, its raining today so all is set to go on schedule.
My tips are as follows...no f arkin idea yet.
Brian, even you, who remained calm in the pressure cooker atmosphere of 39 A Grade Finals, have lost your cool with Jason from time to time. Any man who can tip every round from A to D4 every Friday is one out of the box and I dips my lid. Sort of.
Including tipping reserves, Club XVIII and U19 fixtures, I reckon one person can rack up 107 match tips per week for Jason's reviewing pleasure.
If enough of us get on board this, we may keep the self-appointed tipping manager very very very occupied over the winter months.
Can't hurt can it?
Jase - I'll chuck in an early tip for you to put in permananent pen.
Round 5, D1 reserves, Fitzroy -v- South Melbourne @ W T Peterson Oval, Fitzroy by 1 point
(after the South Melbourne playing coach misses a soda from 25 metres out at the Brunswick St end)
Rooster1979
31 Jan 2008, 17:46
Jas,
Here are my tips for Round 1 of the VAFA on the 12th April, 2008
A Section
Old Brighton 12pts
De La Salle 23
Collegians 104
Uni Blacks 26
Old Xaverians 71
B Section
Old Carey 21
Old Essendon 14
St Kevins 31
St Bernards 12
Old Hailerbury 56
C Section
Hampton Rovers 1
Mazenod 34
Rupertswood 69
MHSOB 16
Ajax 29
D1 Section
NOBS/St Pats 86
Old Geelong 64
Yarra Valley 12
Old Mentonians 44
Peninsula 8
D2 Section
Bentleigh 12
St Mary's / Salesian 2
Therry Penola 42
Old Paradians 12
Old Westbourne 80
D3 Section
Williamstown CYMS 122
La Trobe Uni 16
Hawthorn 36
Elsternwick 48
Monash Gryphons 8
D4 Section
Richmond Central 13
Albert Park 20
South Mornington 20
Kew 24
West Brunswick 146
St Francis Xavier 92
U19 Premier
Old Scotch 46
Uni Blacks 21
Rupertswood 56
St Bernards 54
Old Xaverians 2
Let me know when you need round 2 in by and if there's any chance there might also be a reserves tipping competition or if I can just post these in here too.
Season being delayed.....Jas will I be able to change my tips for round 1 or are they locked in now? A lot were based on reseach I did which included the amount of training each team has done over the pre season.
An extra two weeks might be enough for some of the slower starting sides to change a result
Jascave
31 Jan 2008, 19:06
Yep, Rooster, they're locked in now. Actually Rooster what you did there could be used as an example of how to put your tips in for each week round of games. So, thanks Rooster!
The Big Pineapple
1 Feb 2008, 08:30
Yep, Rooster, they're locked in now. Actually Rooster what you did there could be used as an example of how to put your tips in for each week round of games. So, thanks Rooster!
That's great Jase. I wasn't too sure how this concept of 'tipping' actually worked?
Including tipping reserves, Club XVIII and U19 fixtures, I reckon one person can rack up 107 match tips per week for Jason's reviewing pleasure.
If enough of us get on board this, we may keep the self-appointed tipping manager very very very occupied over the winter months.
Can't hurt can it?
Jase - I'll chuck in an early tip for you to put in permananent pen.
Round 5, D1 reserves, Fitzroy -v- South Melbourne @ W T Peterson Oval, Fitzroy by 1 point
(after the South Melbourne playing coach misses a soda from 25 metres out at the Brunswick St end)
Fraser, the SMD ressies coach would battle to bag the sausage roll from 10 metres out. However, 60 - 70 out, on the run, from the boundary line with Fitzroy's fastest in tow (not mappa), final siren sounds as the ball goes straight over the goal umpires head 3/4 post high, after running off Fitzroy's "stay at home FF" and SMD win by 4 points. Jase take that to the bank.
Jase, can you please frame odds for every section each round?
Would this be the year in which Old Essendon finally break the hoodoo and win their way to A Section, or would they come up with yet another way to lose a preliminary final? Surely this must be the Bombers year....
Over The Post
1 Feb 2008, 15:15
However, 60 - 70 out, on the run, from the boundary line with Fitzroy's fastest in tow (not mappa), final siren sounds as the ball goes straight over the goal umpires head 3/4 post high, after running off Fitzroy's "stay at home FF" and SMD win by 4 points.
http://www.ccjafl.asn.au/images/Stop-Running.jpg http://www.ccjafl.asn.au/images/Behind.jpg http://www.ccjafl.asn.au/images/Behind-Flag.jpg
"MIIIIIINNNE!!!!"
Goal umpire signals a behind and SMD players go apeshit. It's in the books and SMD lose by a point.
The Big Pineapple
1 Feb 2008, 15:15
Would this be the year in which Old Essendon finally break the hoodoo and win their way to A Section, or would they come up with yet another way to lose a preliminary final? Surely this must be the Bombers year....
Please Jason, this thread is for submitting tips only. Not idle chit chat.
Put in your finals four selections please in each section.
Please Jason, this thread is for submitting tips only. Not idle chit chat.
Tips and the odd football fantasy.
Jason, odds please!
I'll tip winners for each section, but I won't frame odds seeing I made a mess up of it in the C Section thread. Could someone do it instead of me?
Rooster1979
1 Feb 2008, 16:16
Here are my openning markets for the D3 season.
Team...... Prem Prom Top4 Rel Spn
Williamstown 2.80 1.40 1.20 16.0 35.0
St. J o h n s 3.00 1.50 1.30 15.0 31.0
Elsternwi c k 4.50 2.70 1.60 13.0 26.0
L a T r o b e 9.00 3.20 1.80 11.0 21.0
H a w t horn 9.00 5.00 2.20 7.00 13.0
Power house 18.0 12.0 2.60 2.80 6.00
Monash Gryp 26.0 14.0 2.80 2.30 4.50
U H S - V U. 31.0 15.0 3.20 2.60 5.50
E l tham O C 31.0 15.0 3.20 2.60 5.50
Swinburne U 41.0 16.0 4.00 2.00 3.50
Apologies if it's hard to read, the forum doesn't like tables
Tough field to draw up.
Everyone agrees Willie & JOC's are clear favorites and hard to beat. This leaves everyone else fighting for only two spots on the top 4. Elsternwick, La Trobe & Hawthorn all have good claims while Power House will require Eddo and Monash need to improve to make it. UHS & Eltham have a big task with so many teams vying for perhaps 1 position while also coming up.
Relegation is wide open, really hard to pick a cert to go down but on previous years form, Swinburne, Monash, Powerhouse along with the two coming up will be battling this out.
Rooster1979
1 Feb 2008, 16:19
Starting Prices for 2008 D4
TEAM PREM PRO FIN SPOON
WBRN 2.40 1.30 1.02 101.
ST FX 4.00 2.00 1.02 101.
K E W 8.00 3.20 1.30 31.0
MTLIL 10.0 4.00 1.40 31.0
BXHN 10.0 4.50 1.60 36.0
ALBPK 12.0 6.00 2.10 31.00
STMN 12.0 6.00 2.20 15.0
RICHC 21.0 11.0 2.40 8.00
SYTH 21.0 11.0 2.40 16.0
NTBR 31.0 16.0 3.00 5.00
ELYP 41.0 21.0 5.00 5.00
BUCO 101. 41.0 6.00 1.80
The two standouts look to be West Brunswick, who were unlucky to drop from D3 and should to return in 09 while St Francis Xavier should advance in their first year after dominating the clubbies comp. West Brunswick won't lose at home and this may be St Francis Xaviers only loss for the season.
With a new year, Kew will be tough at home, especially after playing good quality opposition in 2007. They should comfortably make the finals
Mt Lilydale are always competitive and are a chance to sneak into D3 next year if they have enough depth to field 2 good sides. A long trip out there and should win at least 7 games at home
Box Hill North & Albert Park will be battling it out for the final position in Late August / September. Really tough to split these two at the moment but the competition for players in Albert Park is intense so I'm going to go with BH.
Can Richmond's resurgance continue and see them make the finals for the first time since they dropped back from D3 in 2003? Would certainly be a talking point across all the VAFA, except the grades where they don't realise there's anything below B grade.
Look for South Mornington to improve on their first up effort last year. A young team all a year older now with more juniiors coming through. Will be a force in a few years but probably not just yet.
Syndal Tally Ho will continue to finish mid table unless they can get some of their stars back or find some new talent. Not much seems to be happening down at Mt Waverley lately.
North Brunswick will win about 4 games again beating the teams below them. won't trouble anyone above about 9th
Eley Park will have 2 great battles with BHN and beat Bulleen Cobras twice. Possibly 3 wins
Bulleen Cobras look a cenrtainty to be a mid table team in a new D5 division next year
It wouldn't surprise me to see a West Brunswick-St Francis Xavier D4 grand final match-up. In regards to Richmond Central, I think they'll have a good season. The Tigers won't make the grand final but at least they'll have a solid foundation on which to build for in the future.
harvey35
2 Feb 2008, 13:58
Here are my openning markets for the D3 season.
Team...... Prem Prom Top4 Rel Spn
Williamstown 2.80 1.40 1.20 16.0 35.0
St. J o h n s 3.00 1.50 1.30 15.0 31.0
Elsternwi c k 4.50 2.70 1.60 13.0 26.0
L a T r o b e 9.00 3.20 1.80 11.0 21.0
H a w t horn 9.00 5.00 2.20 7.00 13.0
Power house 18.0 12.0 2.60 2.80 6.00
Monash Gryp 26.0 14.0 2.80 2.30 4.50
U H S - V U. 31.0 15.0 3.20 2.60 5.50
E l tham O C 31.0 15.0 3.20 2.60 5.50
Swinburne U 41.0 16.0 4.00 2.00 3.50
Apologies if it's hard to read, the forum doesn't like tables
Tough field to draw up.
Everyone agrees Willie & JOC's are clear favorites and hard to beat. This leaves everyone else fighting for only two spots on the top 4. Elsternwick, La Trobe & Hawthorn all have good claims while Power House will require Eddo and Monash need to improve to make it. UHS & Eltham have a big task with so many teams vying for perhaps 1 position while also coming up.
Relegation is wide open, really hard to pick a cert to go down but on previous years form, Swinburne, Monash, Powerhouse along with the two coming up will be battling this out.
I will have $50 on Power House to get the spoon.
gotherosellas
4 Feb 2008, 08:49
I will have $50 on Power House to get the spoon.
i will take that bet.they have a new coach,new recruits and very good numbers on the track for this time of the year.what makes you think they will win the spoon???
What are the odds re Williamstown-St Johns OC Grand Final match-up?
Oh, BTW, these are my final four picks (please note at the end of h & a season):
A SECTION
Old Xaverians
Old Brighton
Uni Blues
Old Scotch
B SECTION
St Kevins
Old Camberwell
Old Essendon
Old Melburnians
C SECTION
Rupertswood
Ormond
Mazenod
AJAX
D1 SECTION
Old Mentonians
Fitzroy Reds
Bulleen Templestowe
Prahran
D2 SECTION
Old Paradians
Werribee
St Marys/Salesians
Bentleigh
D3 SECTION
Swinburne
St Johns
Elsternwick
Latrobe Uni
D4 SECTION
West Brunswick
St Francis Xavier
Mt Lilydale
Kew
UNDER 19 PREMIER
Old Xaverians
St Kevins
Uni Blacks
Old Scotch
C SECTION
Rupertswood
Ormond
Mazenod
AJAX
Jas, No Rovers?????
Surely your boys are back on track now, the return of some good players last year, things should be looking on the up and up. Can we get a full analysis of the year ahead at David Street?
[quote=game on;10014879]Jas, No Rovers?????
Maybe Jas is waiting to see if there is any fall out from Big Chief's sacking.
I think the Rovers going to be in for a tough year. After all, this is a VERY strong section the Rovers are in, and I reckon a mid-field finish (5th-7th) would be on the cards. I would be surprised if the Rovers make the finals.
Slay Master G
6 Feb 2008, 14:27
Jas
What happened with the "Chief"...? Heart and soul of the Rovers.
Is he off fighting the whale hunters with greenpeace....?
uglydermie
6 Feb 2008, 14:54
Is he no longer the President? Grand Final loss was bad, but surely not that bad! Fill us in Jas?
Mick Fletcher will still be playing with the Rovers this year, I understand but he's not President of the Rovers anymore,having stepped down at Hampton Rovers AGM. It's pretty hard to be president of a football club and be a player as well.
babyinablender
6 Feb 2008, 15:17
Mick Fletcher will still be playing with the Rovers this year, I understand but he's not President of the Rovers anymore,having stepped down at Hampton Rovers AGM. It's pretty hard to be president of a football club and be a player as well.
Jason my friend,
How is it you can continually attend the league AGM but you fail to attend your own club's AGM? Is it because they have blacklisted you on the door as to save answering all your annoying questions?
I am sure it would be hard to be president and a player as well at Hampton particularly when you have to deal with all your mindless proposals and visions.
Jase, do us all a favour and go and head-butt an oncoming bus.
Thanks buddy
Could someone do the betting market for C Section, I'd like to know what the odds are for each team (ie premiership, finals, relegation) and also the analysis for that section as well.
uglydermie
7 Feb 2008, 17:40
got love the determination....... unfazed and unrattled. Should move into politics Jason. Could you really be Kevin Rudd?
I don't know what everyone else thinks, but I reckon the section to watch would be B Section, because with the exception of Beaumaris, every other team is a chance for the finals. I can't see Beaumaris winning more than 5 games this year. My final four selections in each section are set so there won't be any changes.
Just curious Jas, do have a job at all?
If so, how do you find time for work inbetween posts?
Jason my friend,
How is it you can continually attend the league AGM but you fail to attend your own club's AGM? Is it because they have blacklisted you on the door as to save answering all your annoying questions?
I am sure it would be hard to be president and a player as well at Hampton particularly when you have to deal with all your mindless proposals and visions.
Thanks buddy
Ha ha
Good suggestion but I think this may have already happen causing the problems we now face...
BrianSpeaking
8 Feb 2008, 12:57
Go easy on Jase lads, he has kept us going over Summer whilst the lads have been wasting their time playing cricket on mats.
Have heard on the vine M Voss will play 5 games or so with his bro, what does this do for the B Section market?
How would Oakleigh (the reigining D1 premiers) and Hampton Rovers (D1 runners up) go in C Section this year? I can't see them making finals, but I expect them to finish mid-table (5th-7th). What do you think?
The Big Pineapple
8 Feb 2008, 14:16
How would Oakleigh (the reigining D1 premiers) and Hampton Rovers (D1 runners up) go in C Section this year? I can't see them making finals, but I expect them to finish mid-table (5th-7th). What do you think?
Who are you actually asking Jas?
The Big Pineapple
8 Feb 2008, 14:18
Go easy on Jase lads, he has kept us going over Summer whilst the lads have been wasting their time playing cricket on mats.
Have heard on the vine M Voss will play 5 games or so with his bro, what does this do for the B Section market?
BrianCave,
Given this information, can I please change my tip in the "Guess the games played by Brian's exAFL all stars" thread to 52?
TBP
goal kicking wingman
8 Feb 2008, 14:21
Jason my friend,
Thanks buddy
I couldnt agree more, jascave and tommy brain would have to be the 2 most annoying people i have come across in vafa footy. Like the sound of there own voice.
Archangel17
8 Feb 2008, 14:29
I couldnt agree more, jascave and tommy brain would have to be the 2 most annoying people i have come across in vafa footy. Like the sound of there own voice.
I do agree on one of those; however you seem to have a fairly prominent presence yourself on other boards ? How is that suspension going?
I don't know what you think, but I reckon St Bedes Mentone Tigers might give some of the established A Section clubs like Old Haileybury & Old Scotch some anxious moments. The big test will be when the Tigers play Old Xaverians in Round 7 at Toorak Park. St Bedes Mentone will finish 5th, but it would not surprise me if they feature in the A Section finals.
firsthome
8 Feb 2008, 19:56
I don't know what you think, but I reckon St Bedes Mentone Tigers might give some of the established A Section clubs like Old Haileybury & Old Scotch some anxious moments. The big test will be when the Tigers play Old Xaverians in Round 7 at Toorak Park. St Bedes Mentone will finish 5th, but it would not surprise me if they feature in the A Section finals.
Id love to see Old Haileybury vs St Bedes... dont know how it would happen.. they r in different grades.. maybe a practice match..
jase if ur going to write something can u make it so it has some sense?? like come on mate. for someone that lives on bigfooty and with the vafa u seem to know nothing. ur a dumbass jase.
real cricket is played on turf,how many tests does aus. play on mats.
BrianSpeaking
8 Feb 2008, 21:37
Exactly my point.
Jascave
11 Feb 2008, 18:59
I reckon C Section would be dominated by just 4 clubs-Rupertswood, Ormond, Mazenod & AJAX. I still think Rupo would be hard to beat, even though they've lost a couple of players. I would like to see a Rupertswood-AJAX Grand Final, it would be a very good contest. If Rupo did play AJAX in the C Section Grand Final, who would win & why?
TennisNut
11 Feb 2008, 19:01
jascave,
There's a VAFA tipping comp at www.vafatipping.com (http://www.vafatipping.com/) so you don't need to do all the manual labour with this. Perhaps you could get spruiking advertising as most people are intrigued with what you have to say....
its a goal
28 Feb 2008, 08:17
B Section,
One team that will go up back to 'A' is................ Hailebury.
check out their news signings!!
Zero depth of course.
Premiers For 2008
A Section- St.bedes/mentone
B Section- Old Haileybury
C Section- Ajax
D1- South Melbourne
D2- Old Paradians
D3- Elsternwick
D4- Richmond Central