View Full Version : Watch out for Damon!

Ford Fairlane
5 Feb 2008, 07:30
So says Brendon Lade. Boak, Gray and Cockshell are among those to watch too, as is Westhoff.

They're even doing written tests at Port (do you think Choco's told them he is a qualified PE teacher? ;)) as part of the improvement program at Port. There'd probably be a few hoping it's one of those tests where you get marks for getting your name correct at the top of the page. ;)

This version is from The Age. The tiser has a similar article, but it's not online yet.

Williams puts Port to the test (http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/williams-puts-port-to-the-test/2008/02/04/1202090323818.html)

Ashley Porter | The Age February 5, 2008

PORT Adelaide has travelled 380 kilometres north of the South Australian capital to Whyalla for the first stop on its AFL Community Camps program.

This steel town on the western shores of the Spencer Gulf is steeped in the history of Australian football, having produced one of the state's greatest players in Barrie Robran. But the triple Magarey medallist belongs to the past and Port is far more interested in working on its future.

The club that has had seven NAB Rising Star nominees in the past two years — Danyle Pearce (2006 winner), Jacob Surjan, Brad Symes, Matt Thomas, Justin Westhoff, Robbie Gray and Travis Boak — has a host of youngsters in its ranks and the expectations for them are high.

Shaun Burgoyne recently rated 17-year-old new draftee Marlon Motlop (cousin of teammate Daniel) as the "next big thing" at Port, but veteran ruckman Brendon Lade, who has gone through more pre-season campaigns than he cares to remember, yesterday cited half-forward Damon White as the next young star.

Lade supported his assessment with the fact that White, who, because of ordinary form, was restricted to 13 games last year to take his career tally to 49 since 2002, has worked his way into the team's top five in terms of running durability and strength.

Far more important, said Lade, the 24-year-old has apparently done well in an exam set by Mark Williams. Each year, the coach gets his players to sit at desks beneath fluorescent lights and answer questions on football; general knowledge on the game and, more specifically, on where the forwards should be running, how the backline works together, the centre plays and so on.

Lade, who finished second in last year's gruelling exam, said it was clear just looking at White and observing his movement that he had improved considerably, but it was the broadening of his football knowledge that had also taken him to another level.

"His (White's) understanding of the forward-line structure, where everyone has to run and where he has to run, is now first class," Lade said. "Hopefully, he's going to get an opportunity to show what he can do out on the field. That's all he needs, an opportunity.

"We're about improving. Probably not major, just the little things. I think we are already a better team than we were last year … we are a lot smarter again. 'Choco's' (Williams) philosophy is about being a learning club and we have definitely been that this pre-season.

"The young guys did really well in the exam and that is a credit to the coaching staff for how much they do teach everyone in this club and fast-track young players up to the speed of the AFL.

"It's important for the young guys to know these things. It's putting in place the simple things. Football is 50-50, you need to be 50% being as fit as you can be and 50% knowing what is going on out on the field."

Over the next two days, Port is spreading its word with flights as far north as Roxby Downs, across to Cleve and Kimba and down to Port Lincoln. Last year it visited 200 schools, but the logistical issues across sparse areas of South Australia's mid and far north regions have limited the exercise to 40.

Lade, who also named Boak, Gray and Adam Cockshell as among other young players to watch, suggested they and another young group would get opportunities in Port's NAB Cup campaign, which starts against Carlton at AAMI Stadium on Saturday week.

However, Lade said he won't be seen in the Cup until probably round three, as will be the case with Burgoyne. Chad and Kane Cornes will make appearances off the bench.

Porthos
5 Feb 2008, 07:39
Hasn't Damon been set for a big year every preseason since we drafted him?

Macca19
5 Feb 2008, 07:40
I hope White does reach the standard of becoming a regular performer at AFL level, but until he learns how to take contested marks and when he doesnt get beaten by guys 10cm shorter than him then it doesnt matter how well his theory is.

Its good to see him in the top 5 in strength.

erical
5 Feb 2008, 08:07
Fantastic!:thumbsu:
Damon will now forever be remembered as an intelligent player who just could never put it together consistently:o

captain ebert
5 Feb 2008, 08:52
damon white's still on our list? :rolleyes:

Papa G
5 Feb 2008, 08:52
I don't care how smart he is, just hold your bloody marks!!!!

Toots Hibbert
5 Feb 2008, 08:59
If Damon's new found strength will help him with his recovery once the ball hits the ground that would improve his performance out of sight.

Hopefully Damon also scored well on the mechanics of getting a kick for goal to travel the required distance in terms of latitude and longitude rather than altitude.

Gee we're all on his case a bit aren't we! I'd love it if Damon came good but I'm still a doubting Thomas at this point.

From the point of view of Lade as a coach down the track it will be interesting to see how his prognostications pan out. Boak's a no-brainer while Westhoff and Gray are almost so. White and Cockshell are the big calls I think.

Toots Hibbert
5 Feb 2008, 09:08
I hope White does reach the standard of becoming a regular performer at AFL level, but until he learns how to take contested marks and when he doesnt get beaten by guys 10cm shorter than him then it doesnt matter how well his theory is.

Its good to see him in the top 5 in strength.
Interestingly myself and I think both Ford and Natman have noticed that he's been taking some good grabs at training. Has to do it when the pressures on in a real game though.

Black 18
5 Feb 2008, 09:39
Hasn't Damon been set for a big year every preseason since we drafted him?

LoL......exactly Porthos :thumbsu:

Must admit, I have not seen Port train this pre-season but I have many summers before this one. Every summer, Damon trains the house down, takes good contested grabs at training and coaches & players tell us how good he will be. Then real stuff begins!

It's annoying that we continually pump up this guys tyres so much when its obvious he has so much against being any sort of AFL player. He cant take a contested grab in a game, is a very, very poor kick, has no reflex movement of the ball to speak of (infact he is so damn slow to move the thing on, and then continually kicks to wide leads), has no recovery after a contest and cant turn around in the car park at West Lakes. Oh, but he can run! Yep, that he can do very well indeed.

If he is set to play again this year I really do hope he has improved heaps. IMO he just takes up a spot in our side, nothing more.

A manufactured footballer if ever I have seen one, and one that missed plently of parts while going down the assmebly line.

Please, please try someone else Choco, doesnt matter how educated you are and how well you know where to run, wont matter one little bit if you cant get the thing and be constructive when you do.

I was hoping (no, praying) that I could get through one summer without Port bringing out the talk up Damon stuff once again. Grrrrrrrrrrrrr :D

PAFC_316
5 Feb 2008, 11:27
Damon is one of the most frustrating players to watch, I have heard that this is his "big year" every year for the last few.

As others have mentioned his contested marking is a major weakness, but in my opinion it is his recovery skills that need the most work. It seems every time he drops the mark or is spoiled, his opponent recovers quicker and clears the ball. This is the reason he will not be able to "do a Toby" and resurrect his career in the backlines.

I would be delighted if he proved me wrong and has a blinder of a season, but I want to see him put the runs on the board before we talk him up too much,

Ford Fairlane
5 Feb 2008, 11:41
Maybe Damon needs to sit the test for giant wingmen and where they need to run. ;)

RangaInTeal
5 Feb 2008, 11:46
From the point of view of Lade as a coach down the track it will be interesting to see how his prognostications pan out. Boak's a no-brainer while Westhoff and Gray are almost so. White and Cockshell are the big calls I think.

Cockshell is going to be a mobile Ruckman, Jeff White like! Damon well... I dont think he is a center half forward, but he is to fit to be a full forward! when he plays well for North he plays deep forward! Willits best football is down back, I sometimes think the coaches play players out of possision!

Toots Hibbert
5 Feb 2008, 11:54
Maybe Damon needs to sit the test for giant wingmen and where they need to run. ;)
Here is pictorial representation of the sort of mobility that Damon would bring to the role of wingman*.

http://www.pspglobal.com/images/airplane-carrier-turning.jpg

*pun intended

Ford Fairlane
5 Feb 2008, 12:20
Here is pictorial representation of the sort of mobility that Damon would bring to the role of wingman*.

*pun intended

Pretty much - but my thinking was that is very much how he seems to be played anyway - as a giant wingman, even if he is nominally a key forward.

Toots Hibbert
5 Feb 2008, 12:40
In fairness to Damon I can't recall him ever dropping his head. He seems to always work hard on the field and never stops presenting. As you say he was often given the role of leading well out from the forward line. It would be interesting to know whether he was instructed to lead wide or whether he didn't know any better. Lade's comments seem to suggest that he will play more as a true forward this year if selected.

Forzaport
5 Feb 2008, 14:09
White getting his act together would be fantastic - having 3 tall forward options in white, tredders and westhoff can only be good news.

Troy Wingate
5 Feb 2008, 14:25
I wouldn't get too carried away just yet with Damon.

Damon showed great signs early last season when Tredrea missed the first couple of games (we all remember how great White was against Freo in Rnd 1) but then Tredrea came back and White disappeared.

White doesn't know how to play alongside Tredders, and he's always leading exactly where Tredrea leads.

Toots Hibbert
5 Feb 2008, 14:37
Maybe the part of the test that so impressed Brendan Lade was White's correct answer to the multiple choice question:-

When Warren Tredrea makes a lead the correct thing to do is

a) Lead to the same area that Tredrea is heading for

b) Do nothing out of respect for the captain

c) Provide another option by leading to a different part of the ground

scooter600x
5 Feb 2008, 14:55
I know that last trade period the Dogs lost all interest in him when we got his knee checked out.

Natman
5 Feb 2008, 15:10
In fairness to Damon I can't recall him ever dropping his head. He seems to always work hard on the field and never stops presenting. As you say he was often given the role of leading well out from the forward line. It would be interesting to know whether he was instructed to lead wide or whether he didn't know any better. Lade's comments seem to suggest that he will play more as a true forward this year if selected.

Toots - in an obscure way, White's problem is exactly that he drops his head in a tough tight marking contest. This is in a similar way to past Port forwards in Sorrell and Delaney - who eventually had better careers when they were moved to defence - this is what I have previously suggested might be the best move for White.

Powerstufff
5 Feb 2008, 15:29
......who eventually had better careers when they were moved to defence - this is what I have previously suggested might be the best move for White.Trouble is Natman it is any sort of contest, not just aerial but also on the ground. If he goes for a rolling ball I can't ever recall him winning the contest. Anyone can push him off line/over (see TH's aircraft carrier picture). Not what we want for a defender.
He had one great game as a forward/attacking midfielder, in R1 against Freo last year. As it took years of development to get him to that point I suggest that if we do give him another game we stick to that role.

Powerstufff
5 Feb 2008, 15:35
What could possibly be the story with that picture? Short of a torpedo attack what sort of madman would turn a speeding aircraft carrier like that? And how did you find it to link up to a story on White's manouverability? I Googled images of White+manouverability and there were no aircraft carriers. I'm impressed.

GreyDog
5 Feb 2008, 17:30

I don't know FF whether Damon can be totally blamed for always leading to the wing. I am pretty sure this was part of Choco's forward movement structure along with the next kick going to a small forward like Ebert who provides a lead as close as possible to the boundary line in the pocket. This seemed to be the strategy because we did not have a power forward who could lead up the guts and take the grab.

Ford Fairlane
5 Feb 2008, 18:01
I don't know FF whether Damon can be totally blamed for always leading to the wing. I am pretty sure this was part of Choco's forward movement structure along with the next kick going to a small forward like Ebert who provides a lead as close as possible to the boundary line in the pocket. This seemed to be the strategy because we did not have a power forward who could lead up the guts and take the grab.

Don't worry, I wouldn't think it was all Damon's idea to lead down to half back repeatedly ... after all he does it often enough that if Choco didn't want him there, he would've been dragged. When he lost his spot in the side during 2007, I reckon Motlop spent more time leading upfield - of course with his mobility/agility he was able to turn back towards goals in the blink of an eye.

Ford Fairlane
5 Feb 2008, 18:05
Here's the link to the tiser article with some of Lade's observations quoted.

http://www.news.com.au/adelaidenow/story/0,22606,23160343-21543,00.html

Painting a bright picture of a season in which Port tries to put the memories of the record-breaking 119-point grand final defeat to Geelong behind it, Lade said:

CAPTAINCY favourite Tredrea is on track for a big year after struggling with sore knees in the previous two seasons. "He's trained really well, he's got his speed and agility back, he's lost a couple of kilos. Look out for Tredders this year," he warned.

WHITE appears finally ready to establish himself as a bona fide AFL player. "He's taken his game to another level and is really one to look out for," Lade said.

ROOKIE sensations Boak, Gray and Westhoff have blossomed over summer while key forward Adam Cockshell has improved his fitness significantly.

THE Power will rest key players in the early rounds of the NAB Cup, including Lade and Shaun Burgoyne, while the Cornes brothers, Chad and Kane, will see limited game time.

Sandola
5 Feb 2008, 18:33
Did Lade and/or the Advertiser really mean Shaun Burgoyne?

Ford Fairlane
5 Feb 2008, 18:44
Did Lade and/or the Advertiser really mean Shaun Burgoyne?

Yeah I think they did. There's been a bit of talk Shaun will be rested. Peter's already not expected to play pre-season games because of the shoulder surgery.

Ported
5 Feb 2008, 19:40
Damon seems to lack composure, which i think affects every aspect of his game. I don't know how you fix that but you never know. Like toots said, you can't really criticise his effort.

Port85
5 Feb 2008, 19:44
so damon did quite well on a football exam? as a university student my exams usually consist of cramming followed by completely forgetting what the exam was about 5 minutes after finishing it...

Port_shadow11
5 Feb 2008, 19:48
Cockshell is going to be a mobile Ruckman, Jeff White like! Damon well... I dont think he is a center half forward, but he is to fit to be a full forward! when he plays well for North he plays deep forward! Willits best football is down back, I sometimes think the coaches play players out of possision!

I have always said that maybe white needs to play as a HFF taking the 3rd tall defender .. after last year he wont play in either FF or FP (as Ebert, Hoff & D Motlop have those taken) and he wont be CHF for a while with Tredders new fitness (so that is out)...

The changes in white could come from the following (or all of the following)...

a) The failed trade with the bulldogs etc
b) Willits getting a kick in the back side with being delisted
c) The increase of tall 198cm+ Forwards at the club such as Lobbe, Hoff2
(White is 193cm approx)
d) The increase of Small Forwards e.g Grey, Krak & Motlop2
e) Our Forward coach
f) Willits improved fitness (Willits turning into a running machine)
g) Cockshells improved training ..

eathb
5 Feb 2008, 19:57
who was ahead of lade in the exam last year??

portentous
6 Feb 2008, 07:13
I think White tries TOO hard. I know it sounds odd, but he just goes too hard at the ball when attempting a mark. His hands aren't soft enough to hold marks and his recovery is zero.

I really hope he makes it as he's a great lad with an awesome work ethic, but I've been sceptical about these type of players ever since Ian Downsborough arrived-and left.

Keldos
6 Feb 2008, 09:33
I like Damon White. If given the opportunity I think he could become a 50-goal a year forward like Kent Kingsley.

Powerstufff
6 Feb 2008, 10:06
.....If given the opportunity.....He has really been given a hell of a lot of opportunity Keldos. Far more than has been justified by the return.

wharfie_1870
6 Feb 2008, 10:51
Lade is doing the club thing and talking up Damon so he will be worth something as a trade. The only problem is that it is 10 months until trade week and Damon will almost certainly have devalued by then :(

Sandola
6 Feb 2008, 11:11
It's been six years. Even Ebert, who seemed to take forever, finally came good in a shorter time. Everyone from Tredders on down has talked him up (remember Tredrea publicly pleading with Choco to "play him!").

Whenever White's been fit, he's been given chance after chance after chance. He has always had fewer strings to his bow than any other player in our side. He always looks panicky. He tries really, really hard and occasionally takes a wonderful mark just to keep us interested.

I'd love to see him succeed, but it's hard to see how that's going to happen at this point.

(and geez, after 6 years he'd better the hell be excelling at those who-goes-where exams!)

Black 18
6 Feb 2008, 11:50
Lade is doing the club thing and talking up Damon so he will be worth something as a trade. The only problem is that it is 10 months until trade week and Damon will almost certainly have devalued by then :(

I think his trade value is very limited, if anything at all to be honest. Damon was shopped around all over the place and no Club had any interest whatsoever apart from the Western Bulldogs (who at that time would have looked at anyone over 185cm :p).

Talking up Damon - from a trade point of view - is pointless. I think the player's speak highly of him because of their admiration for his work ethic, and beacuse he is a very nice guy from all reports.

Just a pity his football output is poor.

Macca19
6 Feb 2008, 12:46
It's been six years. Even Ebert, who seemed to take forever, finally came good in a shorter time. Everyone from Tredders on down has talked him up (remember Tredrea publicly pleading with Choco to "play him!").

Whilst this is true, this was when he hadnt played a game and was kicking arse regularly in the SANFL.

Id also love to see him come good but hes gotta start taking his chances and doing so regularly

Alberton
6 Feb 2008, 12:51
Whenever White's been fit, he's been given chance after chance after chance. He has always had fewer strings to his bow than any other player in our side. He always looks panicky. He tries really, really hard and occasionally takes a wonderful mark just to keep us interested.

Maybe we need to slip him a few scotches before the game to remove the panics. ;)

For some reason he always looks more comfortable out there when Tredders isnt playing.

I hope Lade's right but I'm yet to believe it.

Ford Fairlane
6 Feb 2008, 13:27
Judging by many of these responses, maybe I should've titled the thread "Watch out for Damon pre-season bullsh*t!" ;)

hereselmo1
6 Feb 2008, 14:02
i think that the key for damon is that he simply needs to hold hid marks.
if he can do this more regularly his lack of mobility wont be such an issue, the reason it gets exposed so regularly is that he drops the football way too much.

Powerstufff
6 Feb 2008, 14:06
Judging by many of these responses, maybe I should've titled the thread "Watch out for Damon pre-season bullsh*t!" ;)Well the idea that the opposition should have to "Watch out for Damon" really is almost the high water mark for pre-season bullsh*t isn't it? Lade must have struggled to keep a straight face. Perhaps "Lonie, 2008 hard man" was tossed around as well?

Powerstufff
6 Feb 2008, 14:17
i think that the key for damon is that he simply needs to hold his marks.
if he can do this more regularly his lack of mobility wont be such an issue.....I'm almost at a loss where to start.
Although White has just this year been taking uncontested marks reliably he has now played 36 games. Most with at least some component as a forward. He has scored 34 goals.
Justin Weshoff has played 13 games for 32 goals.
If White even gets another game he needs to take contested marks, compete on the ground, work with his team-mates, kick goals. His mobility will be a huge issue.

Black 18
6 Feb 2008, 15:41
Judging by many of these responses, maybe I should've titled the thread "Watch out for Damon pre-season bullsh*t!" ;)

For me its simple. Have heard all this farfare regarding Damon too many times before, every pre-season for the past few anyway.

And what is said by the coach and player's regarding Damon has never added up to what I see come proper home & away footy. As many posters have mentioned, Damon lacks in many areas, and IMO just being able to run and provide lead's all day long to the boundary line doesn't make a good footballer.

But having said that, I would be happily proved wrong in my judgement of the guy if he has improved on many areas over the summer. Just dont think he has or will.

Classic case of just being exteremly fit is not enough to cut it at AFL level. Ya need more, and most of that has to be instinctive, NOT just education.

captain ebert
6 Feb 2008, 15:46
what he said (& powerstufff too...).

MrMeaner
6 Feb 2008, 16:43
I'm almost at a loss where to start.
Although White has just this year been taking uncontested marks reliably he has now played 36 games. Most with at least some component as a forward. He has scored 34 goals.
Justin Weshoff has played 13 games for 32 goals.
If White even gets another game he needs to take contested marks, compete on the ground, work with his team-mates, kick goals. His mobility will be a huge issue.

I now realise that you were speaking the truth all those years ago. Last season, I finally gave up hope that he'd come right.

240volt
6 Feb 2008, 21:54
Toots - in an obscure way, White's problem is exactly that he drops his head in a tough tight marking contest. This is in a similar way to past Port forwards in Sorrell and Delaney - who eventually had better careers when they were moved to defence - this is what I have previously suggested might be the best move for White.
that name Sorrell rings a bell? im thinking early 70s grand final V north adelaide, standing in line from 4am till the gates open only to see us kick one goal till half time and the guy that kicked that goal?:D

Predator.
6 Feb 2008, 23:57
I now realise that you were speaking the truth all those years ago. Last season, I finally gave up hope that he'd come right.Exactly. "Watch out for Damon"? Been watching out for him for years, but no sign of him yet.

Ford Fairlane
26 Feb 2008, 11:25
Watch out for Damon Part II. The Search for Damon the Defender.

Damon White may be on his way back for Port (http://www.news.com.au/adelaidenow/story/0,22606,23276212-12428,00.html)
MICHELANGELO RUCCI
February 26, 2008 10:25am

PORT Adelaide's search for a new defence has Damon White following Toby Thurstans from regular forward to the back six.

And the Power is hoping All-Australian Chad Cornes does not get drawn into the vortex.

The make-up of Port's defence - in the wake of full back Darryl Wakelin's retirement and long-term injury to Michael Wilson - is the biggest curiosity for those looking in at Alberton.

Complicating the jigsaw puzzle is the loss of centre half-back Troy Chaplin, the new cog for the Power back six, for the entire pre-season with a broken hand.

Port coach Mark Williams tested White, who, after a stop-start career cursed by leg injuries, has been a hit-or-miss performer in attack, in the Power's experimental defence against Sydney at ANZ Stadium on Saturday night.

It is a sign Port's planning for season 2008 is being challenged.

But Thurstans, a member of Port's 2004 premiership attack, yesterday cast off the external fear Port's defence will not have enough time to settle this pre-season. Or, not be settled and primed for the demanding grand final rematch with Geelong in the AFL season-opener at AAMI Stadium on March 20.

"Unfortunately, we don't have 'Chappy' (Chaplin) for the next few weeks," said 27-year-old Thurstans, now the so-called "elder statesman" of the Power defence.

"But (Michael) Pettigrew and (Alipate) Carlile and I played a fair bit the second half of last season and got to know each others' games pretty well.

"Having (Jacob) Surjan and Peter Burgoyne again back there will let us settle down quickly.

"It is difficult without 'Chappy', particularly after we earmarked him as one of the players of our future.

"We experimented with Damon White at the weekend - and he showed some glimpses of doing a job if need be."

Port's defence has lost 261 games of AFL experience in Wakelin's exit and 187 with Wilson trapped in the medical room recuperating from a snapped Achilles.

"You walk taller with those guys out on the field," conceded Thurstans.

"And they earn respect from the opposition, as well as their teammates by the way they played.

"But while (Wakelin) is gone, he did mentor a lot of young guys (and has stayed at the club as a board member). And Wilson) is still here. So we can draw on them."

But the ultimate measure of Port successfully structuring a new defence will be how long Chad Cornes - who has been trained to play as a forward this season - stays out of the back six.

"That sits well with us," Thurstans said. "We didn't have Chad at all last year. He might have started the first half of the first game (in defence) but we didn't have him always back there.

"He was occasionally a spare man (in defence), which worked well for us. But we'll rely on Chad to play on-ball - and no matter where he plays, he will have an influence."

Thurstans, starting his 10th year at Alberton, senses others are looking at him for leadership in a recast defence.

"Being one of the older guys now," said Thurstans, "you have to direct the younger guys, install the values and responsibilities we want to push around the club. Just lead by example.

"I want to put my hand up to take a lot of the senior opposition players," Thurstans said, who worked against Sydney premiership captain Barry Hall on Saturday night.

"If I take that role, it will allow the other guys to work into their positions."

bringbackbucky
26 Feb 2008, 11:34
I totally agree with this article!

Damon White has all the makings of a very successful centre half back.

I hope he does well for you there North Adelaide....

escobar75
26 Feb 2008, 13:03
get rid of damon

cockshell to replace damon up forward

wharfie_1870
26 Feb 2008, 14:03
As I said earlier in this thread (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=10022200&postcount=35) the club needs to keep talking up Damon so we can get something for him as trade.

Alberton_Magpie
26 Feb 2008, 20:05
As I said earlier in this thread (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=10022200&postcount=35) the club needs to keep talking up Damon so we can get something for him as trade.

People are not that stupid unfortunatly :thumbsd:

Powerstufff
26 Feb 2008, 21:00
I totally agree with this article!....:eek:

.....Damon White has all the makings of a very successful centre half back.....:eek:

.....I hope he does well for you there North Adelaide....:D

Porthos
26 Feb 2008, 22:05
Yeah, I've got no interest in giving Damon AFL gametime as a backman at this stage. We don't need any more now.

Chaplin/Thurstans/Carlile/Pettigrew/Grose/Cornes

Willits and White being turned into defenders says to me that neither should be on our list. If they're not back up tall forwards (a position they should be 3rd-6th in line for, depending on form), then being the 7th or 8th choice tall defenders is completely non-essential.

bringbackbucky
27 Feb 2008, 10:04
That 'goals vs games' stat really blew me away. Says it all I think...

Northalives
3 Mar 2008, 17:40
Yes please!
That is where he belongs.

Toots Hibbert
3 Mar 2008, 17:56
I'd love to be proven wrong and I've got nothing against the guy because he's a hard worker but I think his best position is Left Right Out.

PAFC_316
3 Mar 2008, 18:56
I'd love to be proven wrong and I've got nothing against the guy because he's a hard worker but I think his best position is Left Right Out.

Damn you!! :) when I read this thread my first thought was "Left Right Out". Thanks for stealing my witty response.:D

Hope he proves me wrong and goes on to be a champion, but I doubt it.

Port_shadow11
3 Mar 2008, 20:03
Yeah, I've got no interest in giving Damon AFL gametime as a backman at this stage. We don't need any more now.

Chaplin/Thurstans/Carlile/Pettigrew/Grose/Cornes

Willits and White being turned into defenders says to me that neither should be on our list. If they're not back up tall forwards (a position they should be 3rd-6th in line for, depending on form), then being the 7th or 8th choice tall defenders is completely non-essential.

i would give White game time in defence .. as it will give us depth this year in case chaplin (gets re injured) or some of the others get injured

but Willits is a different kettle of fish .. especially this year... by all reports he has pulled out all stops ..(training the house down) and i think he can still hold down a position .. and he can also still play in the ruck .. as well as one of the forward or back positions

Powerstufff
3 Mar 2008, 22:49
.....but Willits is a different kettle of fish ..
I'm going to take a wild guess and say you haven't seen him play. He has been crap since we've had him and was crap for two different SANFL teams. We're talking about a guy who was dragged by West Adelaide (who have won 8 games in 3 years) when I saw them v WWTFC.

blackdiamond
4 Mar 2008, 01:15
Ryan Willits is a different kettle of fish alright.

http://photos-b.ak.facebook.com/photos-ak-sctm/v204/66/63/668067098/n668067098_467193_653.jpg

He will just have to do with his 12 month gym class at the Port Club as he has no hope in hell of getting a game.

wharfie_1870
4 Mar 2008, 16:15
i would give White game time in defence .. as it will give us depth this year in case chaplin (gets re injured) or some of the others get injured .....This was in yesterday's 'Tiser.

White won't look back (http://www.news.com.au/adelaidenow/sport/afl/story/0,26547,23308710-5014673,00.html)

SUDDENLY Damon White has found his swagger. And rewarded his club for its patience at the same time. Port Adelaide's much-maligned key forward is transforming himself into an unlikely rebounding defender and the affect is two-fold. ......

Ford Fairlane
4 Mar 2008, 16:35
That article demonstrated everything wrong with today's syndicated, website driven journalism. It was based on Josh Francou's call of the game for 5AA (where he made the 'swagger' comment) and Brett Ebert's presser after Port returned. Zac Milbank wouldn't have been within 700km of the game. The trouble was, the Vic reports focused mostly on Collingwood (as to be expected) - for example, The Age commentary listed half a dozen Collingwood players that were out and then blithely stated Port were only missing Michael Wilson. Well, if you don't count Brogan, Surjan and Chaplin, well yes I guess that's right. So the tiser cobbled together an SA perspective from second hand accounts. Shoddy.

wharfie_1870
4 Mar 2008, 16:38
.... The Age commentary listed half a dozen Collingwood players that were out and then blithely stated Port were only missing Michael Wilson. ..... Shoddy.The match review in the Sunday Mail was the pretty much the same. Written from a Collingwood point of view for a Victorian audience.

GreyDog
4 Mar 2008, 20:39
I'm going to take a wild guess and say you haven't seen him play. He has been crap since we've had him and was crap for two different SANFL teams. We're talking about a guy who was dragged by West Adelaide (who have won 8 games in 3 years) when I saw them v WWTFC.

If he was so crap for Glenelg why did they bleed so much when Port arranged for him to go to Wests. The truth was he played at CHB for the whole season and Port wanted him in the forward line. Glenelg told him that they could not fit him into their 22 because they had such a great team and they really didn't give a stuff about developing AFL players.
West Adelaide tried to play him in the forward line but because they were getting crapped on every week he was dragged into the back line to try to stop the flood. And to my knowledge he has never been dragged by West Adelaide.

Malibu#27
4 Mar 2008, 20:45
I'm not convinced he cant find a spot down back (because I think he has some attributes which would help him down there, that dont necessarially help him up front) ..... the question is more whether we need him to.

Are we confident our KPP defenders are up to it, or do we need some pressure on them.

Powerstufff
4 Mar 2008, 21:04
If he was so crap for Glenelg why did they bleed so much when Port arranged for him to go to Wests......They didn't care about Willits, they cared deeply about suggestions they were unprofessional/dishonourable. That's all they mentioned publicly and privately. The loss of Willits alone did them a favour.

.....The truth was he played at CHB for the whole season and Port wanted him in the forward line. Glenelg told him that they could not fit him into their 22 because they had such a great team and they really didn't give a stuff about developing AFL players.......Not true. What distorted resemblance to fact is in there is from listening to too much 5DoubleCrow. Glenelg did their best to develop him for Port and acted in good faith but please remember they were trying to win games in their own right. Port shafted them. Yes you read that right, my club acted badly, and misrepresented Glenelg in doing so.

.....West Adelaide tried to play him in the forward line but because they were getting crapped on every week he was dragged into the back line to try to stop the flood.......West Adelaide went through exactly the same rotations Glenelg went through with equal lack of success. Willits failed up forward. He failed down back. Even with the SANFL wooden spponers he was a liability.

......And to my knowledge he has never been dragged by West Adelaide.You need to learn more easily. I already told you I saw it happen and at what game. I appreciate you are probably not going to go to a West Adelaide game to watch a failed Port Adelaide rookie but perhaps you might just give it a try out of curiosity's sake. That's when it is appropriate for you to come here and tell me about a player I have seen in action several times.

Mitch Power
4 Mar 2008, 21:54
that name Sorrell rings a bell? im thinking early 70s grand final V north adelaide, standing in line from 4am till the gates open only to see us kick one goal till half time and the guy that kicked that goal?:D

yep that's the guy - Trevor "Casper" Sorrell (no. 31). Port had 1 goal to 3/4 time then kicked 9 in the last qtr if I am not mistaken to get within a couple of goals.

Ford Fairlane
4 Mar 2008, 22:22
1971 GF. Port were 0.3 at half time, trailed 9.18 to 2.4 at 3/4 time and lost 10.19 to 9.5 (7.1 in the last).

GreyDog
5 Mar 2008, 10:02
[quote=Powerstufff;10242877]They didn't care about Willits, they cared deeply about suggestions they were unprofessional/dishonourable. That's all they mentioned publicly and privately. The loss of Willits alone did them a favour...........

OK Powerstuff you have convinced me.

You have convinced me that you have some hidden agenda or bias. What did Willits ever do to you for you to be so negative?

You have convinced me not to place any value on your opinion.

To say that Willits is a liability to West Adelaide is absolute rubbish. I am sure the old coach and the new coach would not agree with your assessment.

P.S. I checked with my contact in the know at Wests in regard to the specific game that you say Willits was 'dragged'. The truth is he was taken off with concussion which he got when he was cleaned up in the first quarter. So you were right he did have a crap game and he was taken off. But once again, like the Glenelg issue, you only had half the facts and reached the wrong conclusion. But hey, don't let the truth get in the way of your hidden agenda.

Powerstufff
5 Mar 2008, 21:00
.....What did Willits ever do to you for you to be so negative?......It's what he didn't do, opportunity after opportunity. One good quarter in the R21 Showdown in 2006 is probably his only creditable performance in senior football.

.....To say that Willits is a liability to West Adelaide is absolute rubbish......Andrew Collins will be crying over whiteboard every Saturday when he has to put Willits on the ground

.........P.S. I checked with my contact in the know at Wests in regard to the specific game that you say Willits was 'dragged'. The truth is he was taken off with concussion......Not a very reliable contact. I'm sure 'Bruce' will have a lot of face saving concussions in 2008.

Porthos
6 Mar 2008, 07:48
i would give White game time in defence .. as it will give us depth this year in case chaplin (gets re injured) or some of the others get injured

If Chaplin. Carlile, Thurstans, Cornes, Pettigrew isn't enough depth for tall defenders, then we have bigger issues than depth. If we are so desperate that we absolutely need to use someone else as a tall defender, we will be in line for a top 4 draft pick anyway.

Malibu#27
6 Mar 2008, 10:03
If Chaplin. Carlile, Thurstans, Cornes, Pettigrew isn't enough depth for tall defenders, then we have bigger issues than depth. If we are so desperate that we absolutely need to use someone else as a tall defender, we will be in line for a top 4 draft pick anyway.

Chaplin may miss round 1, and has 'some' queries on accountability, Carlile is not Wakelin, Cornes has values elsewhere, and Pettigrew is not a KPP - so our depth there isn't great.

beenreal
7 Mar 2008, 09:38
I've thought for a few years that Damon would make a good defender. In the same mould as Mark Tylor, he is a quality forward, but can't seem to work in with Warren Tredrea.

Much the same as the Tylor and Hodges combination, Tyles had to leave and play for Glenelg before coming back home, where he played in a couple of Premierships as a versatile defender.

Forwards often make great backmen because they read the play the way a forward should, just like Toby.

RangaInTeal
7 Mar 2008, 10:17
Forwards often make great backmen because they read the play the way a forward should, just like Toby.

I wouldn't say Toby is a great defender!

portentous
7 Mar 2008, 10:23
How often though do we just keeping a "nothing" tall forward just "in case" he becomes a decent backman? There are only so many spots on the list - and we could be missing out on better players by retaining ordinary ones.

I thought it was a good decision with Tobes, but I fear we are wasting spots if we have to keep Damon and Rhino as "possible backup backmen" just to save face, or something.

Black 18
7 Mar 2008, 12:41
How often though do we just keeping a "nothing" tall forward just "in case" he becomes a decent backman? There are only so many spots on the list - and we could be missing out on better players by retaining ordinary ones.

I thought it was a good decision with Tobes, but I fear we are wasting spots if we have to keep Damon and Rhino as "possible backup backmen" just to save face, or something.

Very good point Portentous.

Damon's shortcomings will follow him to defence. After speaking to a couple of guys who went and watched last weeks game they both said he did get a bit of the ball but it was all uncontested stuff. Damon is NOT the guy you want coming through the centre of the ground with the ball IMO, his kicking is average, decision making worse.

Do we really want to give Damon another 30 odd games to see if he can develop into a defender? IMO the guy has had his chances and missed the boat, time to look at someone else if we really need to, or do the logical thing and play Chad Cornes down back where he did have his best ever year for us.

Damon is slow, clumsy, and has very little football instinct. I would like to think we have many more options than Damon to play down back.

Macca19
7 Mar 2008, 13:22
To me he is a good back up option in case of injury but will never be a reliable first team regular. Its good to have an experienced backup there in case Tredders falls down or Westhoff struggles this year.

morell
7 Mar 2008, 13:34
You see this all the time with footy fans.

They want to have 22 guns and then the rest of the list filled with promising youngsters.

It's simply not realistic. Like Lonie a couple of years ago, White will play an unpopular role that we have a deficiency in as a stop gap measure until we get something better.

Football lists need experienced, somewhat reliable, AFL ready players as depth.

portentous
7 Mar 2008, 13:43
My point was that Thurstans is already doing that role. Do we keep BOTH Willits and White as well for the same role? How many talls do you keep on the list as "stop gaps" before you start delisting some?? We also have Cockshell and Giles that have hardly seen game time yet.

I think we keep one or the other. At the moment I'm pretty much "meh" about both of them.

I am pleasantly surprised with Fab's improvement though. Good signs so far.

Ford Fairlane
7 Mar 2008, 13:52
Yeah but Willits is only clinging to the rookie list. If he doesn't do something just about extraordinary this year, then he's pretty much done. In the meantime, he's really not clogging up the list.

portentous
7 Mar 2008, 14:38
Yeah but he could be keeping the next Danyle Pearce OFF the rookie list.

How many players can we afford to carry? Heck, we've already got Lonie.

Ford Fairlane
7 Mar 2008, 15:18
Port took him with pick 45 of the rookie draft. He's much more likely to be keeping the next Scott Hahn off the list. With the club's recent drafting I'd be willing to let them take that chance.

adam10
7 Mar 2008, 15:24
Boak will be a gun

morell
7 Mar 2008, 17:33
My point was that Thurstans is already doing that role. Do we keep BOTH Willits and White as well for the same role? How many talls do you keep on the list as "stop gaps" before you start delisting some?? We also have Cockshell and Giles that have hardly seen game time yet.

I think we keep one or the other. At the moment I'm pretty much "meh" about both of them.

I am pleasantly surprised with Fab's improvement though. Good signs so far.I was staggered to see Willits retained when in the past we have cut guys whom I thought had the goods (Ezard, Batsanis) so I take your point, but Whitey has a role to play this year IMO.

Forzaport
7 Mar 2008, 20:10
I was staggered to see Willits retained when in the past we have cut guys whom I thought had the goods (Ezard, Batsanis) so I take your point, but Whitey has a role to play this year IMO.

His role being a depth player or in the 22?

I'm not sure i understand this "stop-gap" measure you posted earlier. Do you mean an actual stopper or someone to fill in for an injured player?

Count Zero
8 Mar 2008, 10:23
You see this all the time with footy fans.

They want to have 22 guns and then the rest of the list filled with promising youngsters.

It's simply not realistic. Like Lonie a couple of years ago, White will play an unpopular role that we have a deficiency in as a stop gap measure until we get something better.

Football lists need experienced, somewhat reliable, AFL ready players as depth.

I agree. "They also serve who only stand and wait".

Sandola
8 Mar 2008, 11:08
I agree. "They also serve who only stand and wait".

Is that why they're called waiters?

Anyhow, I hope whoever's going to the game today will have good news to report about Damon down back. We don't have nearly enough evidence yet that it will or won't work out.

RussellEbertHandball
8 Mar 2008, 16:36
From what I heard on the radio call, Damon had a big 2nd half on Pavlich after spending the first half on the bench. Not sure if we learnt much from that given that it was over fourty degrees and Pavlich would have been a bit zapped compared to a fresh Damon. But it shows he is playing with confidence, which was backed up by Ladey's comments to the broadcast team. I think Francou puts him in his starting 18 for Rd 1.

Interesting that an older caller on the talback part of the coverage said that Damon reminded him of the great Port 1950's and 60's 3 time All Australian fullback (1956,58 and 61) John Abley. Can't remember exactly what he said but the gist of it was that Abley never took a lot of possession of the ball but was fit and was able to stop his oppenent getting clean possession. Not sure what to make of it, but an interesting observation from a bloke who has obviously seen a lot of footy.

portentous
8 Mar 2008, 16:38
Yeah he said that Abley didn't take many marks, much like Damon.

It's why I always thought Damon would make a better backman than forward. I never saw Abley, but his comparison sounded valid in their strengths, weaknesses etc.

Powerstufff
8 Mar 2008, 22:46
....I hope whoever's going to the game today will have good news to report about Damon down back......Well I do have good news. Or to be cautious I don't have had news. Like Thurstans White has adopted the Tredrea head shave and so I didn't recognise him when he first outmuscled Pavlich and punched the ball away. I was impressed, and glad I hadn't prejudged his effort. His game time was limited and as REH pointed out Pavlich had played most if not all of the first half. Still I can't deny White tried very hard and his contribution was effective.