View Full Version : As Usual WC Posters Saying We Take Matches Against Them Too Seriously

NiGHTFuRY
7 Feb 2008, 21:54
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=10026866#post10026866

Here's the thing.
Not all, but some WC posters make this shit up, not taking into account facts like we travelled to RSA. Then they believe the crap the write.
As Freo' fans we have to hear the old tired lines, "You take Derbies too seriously" or "They Are YOUR Grand Finals", yet thats all a ficticious WC poster invention.
We never say this crap, they do - yet they amuse me when they carry on like this.
For what it's worth I couldn;t give a toss if we win or lose. Then only thing to considor is the travelling to somewhere remote, which may be can be not so good for the team if we lose first game. It's threads like these which make me wwish we didn't have to play each other pre season

estibador
7 Feb 2008, 22:33
I can smell the fear from here.

Geoff
7 Feb 2008, 22:37
Ok, they win. I don't give a toss about WC.:thumbsu:

Cheetah
7 Feb 2008, 23:08
I take them seriously, very damm seriously!

A derby is a derby even if its played on a shite hole in the back of Budapest, never let anyone tell you otherwise!

It absolutely matters!

chook2734
7 Feb 2008, 23:17
It's good they don't take it too seriously, what with their PR machine sending out the excuses a month in advance

http://www.thewest.com.au/default.aspx?MenuID=211&ContentID=55749

Maybe a 3rd WA team wouldn't be such a bad thing after all?

Scotland
7 Feb 2008, 23:41
Freo fans are guilty of as much 'We've won 4 of the last 5 derbies, London and pre-season is important etc.' rubbish as WC fans are guilty of mocking Freo for placing too much emphasis on derbies etc. If WC win 6 derbies in a row (again;)) and/or Freo win a flag (:eek:) I guess we'll all come up something else to bait each other over.

Personally, I reckon the thread mentioned is crap, and don't care whether Freo are taking the NAB cup derby seriously or not. All I care about is how my club goes about it. I want to see our new draftees play, guys like Schofield and Mackenzie trialled in key positions, youngsters vying for Judd and Cousins' spots etc. If Freo decide that getting as much game time into their best players is the best way to go for them then that's their prerogative. I'll want them to lose, regardless of who they select.:)

Sman-21
7 Feb 2008, 23:42
Saying they dont mean a thing is a defensive mechanism.
Gives them excuses for when there beaten.

When they win you never hear the end of there bragging an none of them mention oh its only another game not that important.

They are hugely important for bragging rights with mates etc
but season wise its just another game.

If freo played with the same desperation an intensity we see in derbys we will be almost unstoppable.
but we only see that passion in derbys when there playing for pride an bragging rights

dominguez
8 Feb 2008, 07:17
The only thing to consider is the travelling to somewhere remote, which may be can be not so good for the team if we lose first game.

Loser plays in Albany week two so no big deal if we lose.

Pencil in a 28 point win though.

Rabbitoh
8 Feb 2008, 08:25
They sure give a toss when they lose 'em, and are unbearable when they win 'em. As far as not meaning anything, the winner gets 4 premiership points......But at the end of the day, West Coast supporters are just like the steam that rises from a freshly laid dog poo on frosty winter morning: Revolting but amusing.

bushie
8 Feb 2008, 08:39
As I justed posted in the thread mentioned by NF.

Tired and worn out old cliches are fast becoming all the franchise down the road has left.

The more realistic among them...(not many of them I grant you)....know that they are in for a tough year.

And a very tough one if they have a few key injuries.

The hamburger corporation and their supporters have never really seen tough times.

How they are facing up to it now, speaks volumes as to their lack of backbone!!

Parasite
8 Feb 2008, 09:04
It's good they don't take it too seriously, what with their PR machine sending out the excuses a month in advance

http://www.thewest.com.au/default.aspx?MenuID=211&ContentID=55749

Maybe a 3rd WA team wouldn't be such a bad thing after all?

We need a vomiting smiley. Sounds to me like Digby is getting great bj's from a plethora of strapping young West Coast key position players.

Keyser Soze
8 Feb 2008, 09:43
As I justed posted in the thread mentioned by NF.

Tired and worn out old cliches are fast becoming all the franchise down the road has left.

The more realistic among them...(not many of them I grant you)....know that they are in for a tough year.

And a very tough one if they have a few key injuries.

The hamburger corporation and their supporters have never really seen tough times.

How they are facing up to it now, speaks volumes as to their lack of backbone!!

Speaking of tired and worn out cliches.........:rolleyes::)

However, I digress.

To be honest, the pre season derbies are a pain in the ass. Both sets of supporters understand that the pre season comp is just that, a pre season, so whilst it is nice to have a win, in the overall scheme of things a win holds less importance than the game time and exposure the players get.

Not to mention trying some different ideas in terms of game plan and player positioning.

Unfortunately, because it's a derby the game takes on greater importance than it desrves because, let's face it, neither one of us likes losing to the other.

As it stands, the Dockers have won the pre season derbies in recent times, leaving you lot to gloat over the win and claim it as evidence of you holding the wood over us, whilst we are left to point out the insignificance of it - as well as the you try we don't routine.

Reverse the result, and the arguments would be the same just the other way round.

So, as for the game I, like most Eagles fans, want to see us triumph but will not be overly disappointed if we lose nor overly excited if we win as the result bears little relevance to our respective chances in the season ahead.

I don't doubt most of you purple people feel the same way (but in reverse).

Now back to those tired old cliches - polished that London Cup recently?:)

bushie
8 Feb 2008, 09:53
Now back to those tired old cliches - polished that London Cup recently?:)

You missed this one;):thumbsu:

Force of habit:)

the franchise down the road

The more realistic among them

You certainly qualify for this group.

Top post!!

Agree 100%

Slacker
8 Feb 2008, 10:23
It’s just the usual banter.

I have to say though, preseason derbies are starting to give me the shits. The potential for player injury and/or reports is too high, and the rewards too low.

DockerNJL
8 Feb 2008, 10:32
Loser plays in Albany week two so no big deal if we lose.

Pencil in a 28 point win though.

True Dom its my home town + the oval selected even though i hate the kangas with a passion is absolutly AFL class for sure.
i don't really care if we win or lose because i will be watching them play anyway although any time i see wet toast loose is good.

Pencil in a drubbing.

prattsta
8 Feb 2008, 11:50
It’s just the usual banter.

I have to say though, preseason derbies are starting to give me the shits. The potential for player injury and/or reports is too high, and the rewards too low.

Not sure if you remember but both teams requested alternative games this season. The problem is the AFL makes a gazillion dollars more from this game than the entire NAB cup so they love them.

IIRC the alternative put forward by the AFL was either play WC at Subi in round 1 of the NAB cup, or play Nth Melbourne in Siberia.

http://minnesota.twins.mlb.com/min/photo/2002_history/met_snow580x307.jpg

Not suprisingly we took the Subiaco option.

Whether we play a majority of youngsters, or try get game time into our senior players its irrelevant. Either way, the loser will make excuses, the winner will rub it in, it's just the way it is. As long as we get through the game without incident i don't really care what approach we take (most sensible WC supporters would agree).

estibador
8 Feb 2008, 13:20
Unfortunately, because it's a derby the game takes on greater importance than it desrves because, let's face it, neither one of us likes losing to the other.

As it stands, the Dockers have won the pre season derbies in recent times, leaving you lot to gloat over the win and claim it as evidence of you holding the wood over us, whilst we are left to point out the insignificance of it - as well as the you try we don't routine.

Reverse the result, and the arguments would be the same just the other way round.

Very true.

But the big difference is we don't start pre-emptive excuse threads a week early every year in case we lose.

Someone should tell your lot that insecurity is a very unattractive quality in people.

anti.
8 Feb 2008, 13:24
well i reckon fremantle fans take pre season derbies too seriously in my opinion.

DockerNJL
8 Feb 2008, 13:42
well i reckon fremantle fans take pre season derbies too seriously in my opinion.

geez it is a week away + the exuses just keep rollin along.
So are you saying you wont give a f**k if we absolutely pants you guys or vice versa, if we get flogged or even beaten by a point i bet you will be 1 of the first to come on here + let us all know.

88mph
8 Feb 2008, 13:46

You are 100% correct.

This is the first of Freo's 3 Grandfinals for 2008.

prattsta
8 Feb 2008, 13:51
You are 100% correct.

This is the first of Freo's 3 Grandfinals for 2008.

This is your 57th pointless post.

anti.
8 Feb 2008, 13:53
geez it is a week away + the exuses just keep rollin along.
So are you saying you wont give a f**k if we absolutely pants you guys or vice versa, if we get flogged or even beaten by a point i bet you will be 1 of the first to come on here + let us all know.

nope i couldnt care less about the outcome of the game. see fremantle, you put up this smokescreen that you've changed: you have a new 'hard' coach, you've learnt your lessons from season's past, you're fitter, you have some great new young players etc etc. but at the end of the day the fact that you're going to field a full strength team in this match just shows its still the same old fremantle - out to win the things that don't matter.

heres 2008 in a nutshell so you dont have to bother:
- high hopes for your team, which is backed up by the bookies.
- season starts shit, media all over you.
- you start to get a run on, leading your players to celebrate like theyve won a flag when they hammer the wooden spooners at home and come out in the media telling everyone that youre back on track and can beat anyone and can win the flag blah blah blah.
- a big crunch game comes which you need to win, guess what??...you lose!
- beat a couple more lowly teams leading to the aforementioned actions.
- beat west coast in a derby and everyone thinks you are the real deal.
- finish the season needing to win to make the finals, but lose and finish in a shit heap just outside the 8...once again.

restart cycle for 2009. youve been doing it for the last 5 years. over and over and over again.

fremantle football club...you are a joke.

Andreww
8 Feb 2008, 13:58
Nightfury and estibador would have to be the two most Eagles-obsessed posters on bigfooty.

88mph
8 Feb 2008, 14:00
This is your 57th pointless post.

And 2008 marks the begining of you 14th pointless season (except for the 3 mini grandfinals of course).

Obeanie1
8 Feb 2008, 14:04
Saying they dont mean a thing is a defensive mechanism.
Gives them excuses for when there beaten.

When they win you never hear the end of there bragging an none of them mention oh its only another game not that important.

They are hugely important for bragging rights with mates etc
but season wise its just another game.

If freo played with the same desperation an intensity we see in derbys we will be almost unstoppable.
but we only see that passion in derbys when there playing for pride an bragging rights

I presume you mean if Freo played all games with the same intensity as the derby's then they would be unstoppable.

I agree, Freo would be very very hard to beat if they played as hard as they do in derby's......doesn't this support what we WCE supporters are saying?

Its SO obvious Freo take derbies more seriously than other H and A games, even the pre season derbies they play harder and better than many home and away games. This isn't even debatable.

Maybe the whole team should be hypnotised into thinking they play the Eagles every week:D.

Kram81
8 Feb 2008, 14:06
Troll on Bay13 you pussies.

Personally I don't care about pre-season games, might watch a bit just the see how the new boys are travelling for both teams.

lyall
8 Feb 2008, 14:09
As long as there arent any injuries for either team that is a victory for both teams.

DockerNJL
8 Feb 2008, 14:11
nope i couldnt care less about the outcome of the game. see fremantle, you put up this smokescreen that you've changed: you have a new 'hard' coach, you've learnt your lessons from season's past, you're fitter, you have some great new young players etc etc. but at the end of the day the fact that you're going to field a full strength team in this match just shows its still the same old fremantle - out to win the things that don't matter.

- you start to get a run on, leading your players to celebrate like theyve won a flag when they hammer the wooden spooners at home and come out in the media telling everyone that youre back on track and can beat anyone and can win the flag blah blah blah.
- finish the season needing to win to make the finals, but lose and finish in a shit heap just outside the 8...once again.

restart cycle for 2009. youve been doing it for the last 5 years. over and over and over again.

hahaha pinch of salt

same could be said about your 08 with 07

breaking news just in Kerr on the charff smacks up taxi driver with arial drives away from scene then doz a runner from booze bus.

should i keep going?

greennick
8 Feb 2008, 14:18
I don't really think the fans do.

It is the coaching staff I would be more worried about.

Though as pointed out in the WC thread, it makes sense with a new coach and the like.

I don't see why some Docker supporters have made such a big issue of this it is on our board and will therefore have our slant on it.

It is just a bit of poking fun at you the way we always do!

greennick
8 Feb 2008, 14:21

Steady on mate, remember where you are! Maybe this would be better in the thread on our board...

anti.
8 Feb 2008, 14:21
hahaha pinch of salt

same could be said about your 08 with 07

breaking news just in Kerr on the charff smacks up taxi driver with arial drives away from scene then doz a runner from booze bus.

should i keep going?

yes please, im sure it will involve lots of west coast wins. remind me of our success please.

dominguez
8 Feb 2008, 14:26
True Dom its my home town + the oval selected even though i hate the kangas with a passion is absolutly AFL class for sure.

Do you get up to Perth often to catch the footy? If not you'll be hoping we lose next Sunday to get a bit of a live footy fix?

DizzyHB
8 Feb 2008, 14:28
yes please, im sure it will involve lots of west coast wins. remind me of our success please.
How about successfully losing your last two captains in one off season?

DockerNJL
8 Feb 2008, 14:29
where not all perfect mate, yes you have won a cup recently but your club off the field is in so much of a rabble that your old slogan of 'strength on + off the field' can't be found anywhere????
so with that pretty happy champ our day in the sun will come.

DockerNJL
8 Feb 2008, 14:33
Do you get up to Perth often to catch the footy? If not you'll be hoping we lose next Sunday to get a bit of a live footy fix?
ye make it up atleast once a year for a game last was the bombers in 07 good to see happy carve it up live, it was just a pitty hird didnt play because the last time i seen him he showed us a lesson in finals footy.
not to fazed who wins or looses just good for the town to get the game really.

Keyser Soze
We'll know when the teams are selected how seriously the dockers are taking this game.

If Kepler is selected we know they mean business, if not it will be obvious they're treating it as a practice match.

How seriously could they be taking it if they leave out their star new recruit?:)

anti.
How about successfully losing your last two captains in one off season?

times change. its a new beginning for us, so i dont really see us losing cuzzy and juddy as that bad a thing in the long run.

cousins had to go obviously, and in an ideal world judd would stay and be injury free and fit. but shit happens and we'll get on with it. it something new for us and im looking forward to it.

we still have cox, glass and kerr in our team. add some other premiership players and youngsters and we got an alright mix.

DockerNJL
8 Feb 2008, 14:34
We'll know when the teams are selected how seriously the dockers are taking this game.

If Kepler is selected we know they mean business, if not it will be obvious they're treating it as a practice match.

How seriously could they be taking it if they leave out their star new recruit?:)
haha gold as usual champ :thumbsu:

ImperialPurple
8 Feb 2008, 15:11
West Coast fans: Obsessed with trying to convince everyone that we are obsessed with them. :rolleyes:

Keyser Soze
8 Feb 2008, 15:16
Freo Fans : Obsessed with trying to convince everyone that we are obsessed with trying to convince everyone that Freo are obsessed with us.:p:confused::)

ImperialPurple
8 Feb 2008, 15:20
Freo Fans : Obsessed with trying to convince everyone that we are obsessed with trying to convince everyone that Freo are obsessed with us.:p:confused::)

OMG - obsessed much??? :p

dockertor
8 Feb 2008, 17:02
The WCE BS machine running at full steam. Cracks me up,

We dont care about derbies
We dont care about NAB Cup Games
Freo want to win and we dont, we're too good to care about it
We wont field a strong side but Freo will throw everything at it

BULLSH*T

Excuse express leaving for the west coast board, Get on it

ImperialPurple
8 Feb 2008, 17:15
The WCE BS machine running at full steam. Cracks me up,

BULLSH*T

:thumbsu:

You've summed them up perfectly. :D

They're so serious about convincing themselves (and anyone else that will listen) that they are not taking it seriously that - like seriously - they're seriously funny. ;)

Keyser Soze
8 Feb 2008, 17:21
There is some truth to what you say, however :

Both sets of fans care about derbies, anyone who says otherwise is a liar.

There does seem to be a difference in the way the players approach the derbies though - in recent years Freo have played very good, intense football in derbies that they have failed to replicate consistently in other games helping the perception that they try harder in derbies.

Funnily enough, I think in the late 90's this was true of the Eagles who often played better against Freo trying to maintain their dominance at the time.

We don't. Nor do I believe you do.

Not to any meaningful extent anyway.

A win is better than a loss regardless of what game it is.

However, it's not so much that we don't care about it but rather we don't see the result as one side obtaining some sort of psycholgical edge over the other just because they won a NAB cup game.

To be fair, the media play that up more than the fans though.

We won't put our best side out there, and certainly not for the duration of the game.

Nor will Freo, but it's good for us to pretend you do.:)

I hope we win, if for no other reason than to see the hypocrisy of some supporters from both sides.;)

ImperialPurple
8 Feb 2008, 17:25
I don't say this often to weagle supporters Keyser... but I like you. :)

bushie
8 Feb 2008, 17:31

Are you flirting with an Eagle IP???:eek::eek::eek:;)

Keyser Soze
8 Feb 2008, 17:35

Gee that's almost enough to turn a man purple:)

I even made Dom laugh the other day - I've had a good week with you lot.:thumbsu:

Looking forward to the game anyway, especially since I'll be making my way down for it. It'll be good to see a game of footy again.

peppy la pew
8 Feb 2008, 17:35

He is a good sort IP, as for that other arrogant tosser anti,

I hope the door hit your arse, tosser :thumbsu:

dominguez
8 Feb 2008, 19:19
Are you flirting with an Eagle IP???:eek::eek::eek:;)

IP flirts with everyone.

:D

ImperialPurple
8 Feb 2008, 19:55
Geez you lot... :rolleyes:

:p

Jisha
9 Feb 2008, 04:11
That was quite an entertaining thread to read through :)

Good luck to both the teams, should be a good match!

*psst - Go dockers*

WA ROO
9 Feb 2008, 10:25
Here is an idea.
Have the toss of the coin decide the game.Then have the teams play kick to kick for a couple of hours

Keyser Soze
9 Feb 2008, 10:50
Here is an idea.
Have the toss of the coin decide the game.Then have the teams play kick to kick for a couple of hours

Good idea, but :

If West Coast win, Freo will complain that...

The coin was a WCE plant appointed by the WAFC to deliberately keep Freo down.
The concessions given to West Coast were too generous and gave them a further unfair advantage.
It was all a greedy money making exercise because the coin had a Hungry Jack's logo on one side and an SGIO one on the other.
The media will report the result with an Eagle's bias and the Worst will devote three full pages the brilliance of West Coast's decision making, while giving two more pages to the topis of how losing the toss of a coin will derail Freo's season.
IF Freo win, West Coast will complain that....

Josh Carr unfairly intimidated the coin and the umpires did nothing to stop it.
Freo took this toss too seriously by studying the aerodynamics of the coin for the week leading up to it.
They were only tossing pies as well to help decide the result and they were in no way directed at any person in particular. (Paul Haselby would unwittingly remove all evidence of said pies however).Either way the winner will claim that it proves that they have superiority over the loser and brag about it for the next two years, whilst the loser will sit back and say who gives a toss.

Regardless, 30,000 people will still turn out to watch it.

Cheetah
9 Feb 2008, 13:44
Imperials right, it is hard not like you!

I still think you must be a closet Docker or have a soft spot for us?

bushie
9 Feb 2008, 14:20
Imperials right, it is hard not like you!

I still think you must be a closet Docker or have a soft spot for us?

Stop being nice to Keyser will you!!

He will get an even bigger head.:D

Great avatar Cheetah:thumbsu:

Keyser Soze
9 Feb 2008, 14:47
:D:D

http://i236.photobucket.com/albums/ff278/Keyser_Soze_BF/Number%20two/BigHeadRuinsTheDay.png

Cheetah
9 Feb 2008, 17:46
Stop being nice to Keyser will you!!

He will get an even bigger head.:D

Great avatar Cheetah:thumbsu:

Cheers Bushie, just a couple of girls I go eagle shooting with.;)

bushie
9 Feb 2008, 17:53

You greedy bastard!!:D

Wanna share one.

I wouldn't mind getting a shot or two away with either of them.

Rabbitoh
9 Feb 2008, 19:33

She told me she was playing netball with her friends....

estibador
9 Feb 2008, 19:41
4. The media will report the result with an Eagle's bias and the Worst will devote three full pages the brilliance of West Coast's decision making, while giving two more pages to the topis of how losing the toss of a coin will derail Freo's season.

That one's true and you know it.

I notice 7 are advertising a heart warming, feel good, puff piece about the eagles camp in SA, complete with cheesy, heart string pulling music and sombre quotes from players about life changing experiences.

It must be handy having an PR department masquerading as a real tv network.

She told me she was playing netball with her friends....

It's understandable that she could confuse the eagles with a netball team I suppose.

Although a netball team would back up their teammates instead of crying about how nasty little Josh is being.

Keyser Soze
9 Feb 2008, 20:57
That one's true and you know it.

I notice 7 are advertising a heart warming, feel good, puff piece about the eagles camp in SA, complete with cheesy, heart string pulling music and sombre quotes from players about life changing experiences.

It must be handy having an PR department masquerading as a real tv network.

It's good you've uncovered the secret to our success - Ch 7 puff pieces.

No wonder Freo haven't done anything for 13 years they just haven't had their fair share of warm and fuzzy news stories.

That must be it.:o

It's understandable that she could confuse the eagles with a netball team I suppose.

Although a netball team would back up their teammates instead of crying about how nasty little Josh is being.

Since she was going out shooting eagles, I certainly hope she didn't come across any netball players on her travels if she's that confused.

Might shoot Dessie by accident. (Mind you Dom would probably reload the gun for her if she missed first time.):)

estibador
9 Feb 2008, 21:03
It's good you've uncovered the secret to our success - Ch 7 puff pieces.

No wonder Freo haven't done anything for 13 years they just haven't had their fair share of warm and fuzzy news stories.

That must be it.:o

Might not bring you success but consistent positive press certainly wouldn't hurt when it comes to attracting and keeping sponsors and members.

Record profit you say?

Keyser Soze
9 Feb 2008, 21:11
Funny then that we should post that record profit in the one year when even you couldn't argue that we received consistent positive press.

This year's financial result will be interesting though.

estibador
9 Feb 2008, 21:18

Indeed - considering you've lost your two most marketable players. And in such negative circumstances too.

But I don't think there's ever any danger of the eagles recording anything other than million dollar profits no matter what happens to the club. Not in our lifetime anyway.

Keyser Soze
9 Feb 2008, 21:27
Call it the bandwagon principle.:)

It's why we don't have to take the NAB cup seriously, unlike some others, we don't need to get results to encourage members and sponsors to sign up.;)

Freo still have some space on the bandwagon, hence their need to get a win on the board, even if it is just a pre season game.:p

bzparkes
9 Feb 2008, 22:38
With all due respect, do you really care what our supporters think? It's a rubbish thread on the WCE board. I'm just looking forward to seeing our young blokes play to see what they're made of and I'm sure you guys are the same. Obviously I hope we win but that's just being supportive of my team and I'm sure you guys are looking forward to the game for the same reasons.

Either way, I'm just looking forward to some footy. It's been too long already :(

bushie
10 Feb 2008, 01:36

As you well know, that will depend on how the books are "worked";)

Can Nisbett and co manipulate them enough to cover the pain over the next few years?

No more hamburgers for you methinks!!:eek:

Quinz
10 Feb 2008, 02:12

Rubbish Bushie. I'd like to think that on occasion I can be considered realistic, but I can't see us dropping out of the top 8 at all, and I think we will finish top 4 again. I'm not going to go into details now, because it's 1am and I have to work tomorrow morning (:(), but we can still win the flag next year. And I know that I tipped you guys to win the premiership, but I still don't like you and I hope you finish last.

And also, you guys do take the NAB Cup too seriously. And the London Derby match, I still hear that one from time to time as well. ;)

NAB Cup means bugger all anyway. Unless we win- then it's fantastic!

Keyser Soze
10 Feb 2008, 02:18
As you well know, that will depend on how the books are "worked";)

Can Nisbett and co manipulate them enough to cover the pain over the next few years?

No more hamburgers for you methinks!!:eek:

I'd expect that 2008 won't see the same result that has just been reported.

However, I seriously doubt we are going to have some sort of financial meltdown any time soon, so I don't think we are going to have to manipulate the figures too much.

In any case profits for football clubs are over rated IMO - other than some money being put in to WA football by both the Eagles and Dockers they don't serve any great purpose.

bushie
10 Feb 2008, 02:20
Rubbish Bushie. I'd like to think that on occasion I can be considered realistic, but I can't see us dropping out of the top 8 at all, and I think we will finish top 4 again. I'm not going to go into details now, because it's 1am and I have to work tomorrow morning (:(), but we can still win the flag next year. And I know that I tipped you guys to win the premiership, but I still don't like you and I hope you finish last.

And also, you guys do take the NAB Cup too seriously. And the London Derby match, I still hear that one from time to time as well. ;)

Go to bed Quinzy!!

You need your sleep!!

The lack of it is affecting your reality!!

Enjoy your spoon!!

Quinz
10 Feb 2008, 02:25
Go to bed Quinzy!!

You need your sleep!!

The lack of it is affecting your reality!!

Enjoy your spoon!!
I don't sleep any need you purple monkey, I'm not affected at all. You guys should make Keplar Bradley captain, what a star.

estibador
10 Feb 2008, 02:29
Lack of sleep and too much coffee for pregnant women causes eagles supporters to be born.

bushie
10 Feb 2008, 09:13
I don't sleep any need

Hmmmmm

I'm not affected at all.

Are you sure about that Quinzy!!

bushie
10 Feb 2008, 09:29
I'd expect that 2008 won't see the same result that has just been reported.

However, I seriously doubt we are going to have some sort of financial meltdown any time soon, so I don't think we are going to have to manipulate the figures too much.

In any case profits for football clubs are over rated IMO - other than some money being put in to WA football by both the Eagles and Dockers they don't serve any great purpose.

Interesting theory on club profits old mate.

Email it to www.jamesbrayshawisagoose.com.au (http://www.jamesbrayshawisagoose.com.au) and ask him what he thinks.;)

I wasn't thinking of any sort of financial meltdown. And this years profits hardly reflect the activities that occurred.

These things take time to filter through the financial system, but you have acknowledged that.:thumbsu:

However, you have already had a few major sponsors downgrade from First Class to economy.

The rest are taking a much keener interest in their investment in the light of past events.

And we also have a certain judges yet to be released report to throw into the equation.

One more major indiscretion would make it very interesting indeed.

You might want to stock up on the HJ's when you are in town next weekend!!:thumbsu:

WA ROO
10 Feb 2008, 10:04
Email it to www.jamesbrayshawisagoose.com.au (http://www.jamesbrayshawisagoose.com.au) and ask him what he thinks.;)

What does James Brayshaw have to do with you trying to ruin Keyser's day

Keep that up and I will use the "F" word again;)

bushie
10 Feb 2008, 10:17
What does James Brayshaw have to do with you trying to ruin Keyser's day

Keep that up and I will use the "F" word again;)

I reckon Jamey boy would give his right nut to see some black ink in the balance sheet!!

The "F" word!!:mad:

*rings mates at Coffin Cheaters in Gero and gives them Roos address.......only 1 leg please boys*

WA ROO
10 Feb 2008, 11:05
I reckon Jamey boy would give his right nut to see some black ink in the balance sheet!!

The "F" word!!:mad:

*rings mates at Coffin Cheaters in Gero and gives them Roos address.......only 1 leg please boys*North did use black ink for last season,not much but it was still black.
CCMC won't be able to find me as I fly out today for a week in the Pilbara

Keyser Soze
10 Feb 2008, 11:16
Interesting theory on club profits old mate.

I wasn't thinking of any sort of financial meltdown. And this years profits hardly reflect the activities that occurred.

These things take time to filter through the financial system, but you have acknowledged that.:thumbsu:

However, you have already had a few major sponsors downgrade from First Class to economy.

The rest are taking a much keener interest in their investment in the light of past events.

And we also have a certain judges yet to be released report to throw into the equation.

One more major indiscretion would make it very interesting indeed.

You might want to stock up on the HJ's when you are in town next weekend!!:thumbsu:

Which is more important - profits or the ability to generate a turnover sufficient to ensure you have the money to spend to remain competitive.

If you guaranteed James Brayshaw another $5mil a year, where do you reckon it would end up. Possibly retiring debt initially, but more likely it would be spent on their football department.

Now as for the financial impact of our off field stuff - it may cause a bit of a blip in the short term, but even a fall of 20% in our sponsorship revenue (unlikely) probably wouldn't prevent us from posting a profit.

There will be some fallout once Gillard's report is released, no doubt, but I think the club is now doing all it can to prevent further major off field indiscretions.

bushie
10 Feb 2008, 11:20
North did use black ink for last season,not much but it was still black.
CCMC won't be able to find me as I fly out today for a week in the Pilbara

Take away the AFL assistance and see how much black is left.

Anyway...it matters little to me.....I don't want to see you guys fold or relocate.

I am a bit of a traditionalist.

*rings Pannawonica Riders and tells them to watch out for a Commodore driving bogan with aussie and roos flags flying out of each side windows*

WA ROO
10 Feb 2008, 11:25
Take away the AFL assistance and see how much black is left.

Anyway...it matters little to me.....I don't want to see you guys fold or relocate.

I am a bit of a traditionalist.

*rings Pannawonica Riders and tells them to watch out for a Commodore driving bogan with aussie and roos flags flying out of each side windows*No Panna Riders left in Pannawonica,a few in Newman,Tom Price etc though.
Not sure what hire car the company has hired for me yet.No North Melbourne flag,but I use one of my old scarves as a dashmat

*calls people I know in Wubin ask do you know a bushie,feral animal controller type.Out Paynes Find way*

bushie
10 Feb 2008, 11:47
Which is more important - profits or the ability to generate a turnover sufficient to ensure you have the money to spend to remain competitive.

If you guaranteed James Brayshaw another $5mil a year, where do you reckon it would end up. Possibly retiring debt initially, but more likely it would be spent on their football department.

Now as for the financial impact of our off field stuff - it may cause a bit of a blip in the short term, but even a fall of 20% in our sponsorship revenue (unlikely) probably wouldn't prevent us from posting a profit.

There will be some fallout once Gillard's report is released, no doubt, but I think the club is now doing all it can to prevent further major off field indiscretions.

I shall return to this when my hangover subsides.:thumbsu:

As usual you are making my head hurt.......and I don't need the extra pain at present.:(

bushie
10 Feb 2008, 11:50
No Panna Riders left in Pannawonica,a few in Newman,Tom Price etc though.
Not sure what hire car the company has hired for me yet.No North Melbourne flag,but I use one of my old scarves as a dashmat

*calls people I know in Wubin ask do you know a bushie,feral animal controller type.Out Paynes Find way*

Who do you know in Wubin??

Serious.

PM me.

NiGHTFuRY
10 Feb 2008, 13:26

...and here is a prime example of the statement I made in the opening post. WC posters type this rubbish, then they end up believing it. They should give you a job at the Sunday Slimes or the Worst Australain...
When will you lot stop crying and obsessing over the London derby.... pffffffffttttt
Pah-lease...

bzparkes
10 Feb 2008, 23:36
...and here is a prime example of the statement I made in the opening post. WC posters type this rubbish, then they end up believing it. They should give you a job at the Sunday Slimes or the Worst Australain...
When will you lot stop crying and obsessing over the London derby.... pffffffffttttt
Pah-lease...

Don't tar us all with the same brush, I for one wanted you to beat Sydney in the PF in '06:o

Quinz
10 Feb 2008, 23:42
Pah-lease...
I don't believe anything that I type on BigFooty, not even this post.

estibador
10 Feb 2008, 23:50
Don't tar us all with the same brush, I for one wanted you to beat Sydney in the PF in '06:o

You would have regretted it a week later.

QL 21
11 Feb 2008, 00:10
You would have regretted it a week later.

Tell me about it, I loved that 1 point victory, thrashing Fremantle wouldn't have been as fun.

.. Ok I lied, it would have. :)

Cheetah
14 Feb 2008, 00:22
Tell me about it, I loved that 1 point victory, thrashing Fremantle wouldn't have been as fun.

.. Ok I lied, it would have. :)

See how you go Sunday night!

Carn the Coasters
14 Feb 2008, 01:15
See how you go Sunday night!
Once again, relating a Grand Final to a scratch match... too serious? I think so. ;)