View Full Version : Kangaroos players aligned to Werribee
ben.carbonaro
13 Feb 2008, 22:20
The full list of players allocated to Werribee was published in the new edition of Inside Football that was released today.
Leigh Adams
Leight Brown
Ben Davies
Michael Firrito
Josh Gibson
Todd Goldstein
Shannon Grant
Levi Greenwood
Nathan Grima
Lachlan Hansen
Brent Harvey
Daniel Harris
Hamish McIntosh
Scott McMahon
Alan Obst
Brady Rawlings
Matt Riggio
Ben Ross
Jess Sinclair
Nathan Thompson
Scott Thompson
Ben Warren
James Wilsen
The other half of the Kangaroos list is aligned with North Ballarat.
Practice matches start for Werribee in the first week of next month and I will make sure that information about those is posted here and on TSK, which is where player reports will also be posted.
The Other Dean
13 Feb 2008, 23:38
No Anvil ?
I thought Brown going to Werribee was the quintessential example of planets aligning.
Disappointed.
ben.carbonaro
13 Feb 2008, 23:42
Fair point.
I was surprised because Brown played his VFL football with Tassie last year and a lot of the players who are now aligned with Werribee were essentially handballed back to the mainland by the Devils.
Just thought I would let all the Roos posters know that I do work for Werribee, so happy to post up some news relating to how the listed players perform each week and general news too.
The Zebra
13 Feb 2008, 23:48
Fair point.
I was surprised because Brown played his VFL football with Tassie last year and a lot of the players who are now aligned with Werribee were essentially handballed back to the mainland by the Devils.
Just though I would let all the Roos posters know that I do work for Werribee, so happy to post up some news relating to how the listed players perform each week and general news too.
Good on you mate.
Keep an eye on the Albino, Ben Warren.
Young and sun smart - I expect big things.
NICK_ROOBOY83
14 Feb 2008, 02:08
No Anvil ?
I thought Brown going to Werribee was the quintessential example of planets aligning.
Disappointed.
He obviously knew that & has decided to go the other way.
gokangas
14 Feb 2008, 05:48
No Anvil ?
Disappointed.
Given that Brown if Werribee's official municipal colour it was a natural alignment. Club has missed a PR opportunity here!
Mr Reliable
14 Feb 2008, 09:02
No Anvil ?
Disappointed.
Funny on so many levels!:D
Mr Reliable
14 Feb 2008, 09:05
Fair point.
Just though I would let all the Roos posters know that I do work for Werribee, so happy to post up some news relating to how the listed players perform each week and general news too.
Goldstein needs to ruck for as long as possible each game. How many tall rucks does Werribee have already please ben.carbonaro?
Michael Firrito (wont ever play in the 2s)
Josh Gibson (same)
Todd Goldstein
Shannon Grant (never play)
Levi Greenwood (not sure yet)
Nathan Grima (out for season)
Lachlan Hansen (will most likely play the bulk of the year in the seniors)
Brent Harvey (never play)
Daniel Harris (never play)
Hamish McIntosh (never play)
Scott McMahon (unlikely to play)
Alan Obst
Brady Rawlings (never play)
Matt Riggio (expect more senior games)
Ben Ross (expect more senior games)
Jess Sinclair (never play)
Nathan Thompson (never play)
Scott Thompson (may end up our FB)
Ben Warren
James Wilsen
Should have picked fewer senior players. :p
giantroo
14 Feb 2008, 13:29
Geez,don't tell me, NB has an awesome forward line.
Tazza, Browny, Wundke and Smith!!:eek:
ben.carbonaro
14 Feb 2008, 13:34
Goldstein needs to ruck for as long as possible each game. How many tall rucks does Werribee have already please ben.carbonaro?
Do you mean with regards to our VFL listed players?
budge11
14 Feb 2008, 14:02
Ben Ross (expect more senior games)
He hasn't even started yet. I think LT, Adams and Camp are above him atm in the selection for a nippy fwd
Mr Reliable
14 Feb 2008, 20:13
Do you mean with regards to our VFL listed players?
Sure do. Can you help?
Anti Gold Coast
14 Feb 2008, 20:19
Cheers Ben.
BTW love your reports on SEN after dark.
ben.carbonaro
14 Feb 2008, 21:20
Sure do. Can you help?
Liam Gardner is our main VFL listed ruckman and his very mobile for his height, he have got a few running around in the reserves along with a few new recruits from the TAC Cup.
Gardiner moves well all over the ground and has the ability to kick a goal or two, his overall football skills have improved since he started at Werribee half way through the 2005 season.
We have also got Lachlan McKinnon, who was on the Essendon rookie list for two years and proved that he could be a good ruck/tall forward prospect during the limited amount of football he played when he not injured. I suspect that he might start in the reserves, but I can see him pushing up for some VFL senior games during the year.
Michael West had a retched run with injury during his two years at the Western Bulldogs, but he is also a worthwhile tall forward and possible ruck prospect. He played a lot of his football as a junior in Queensland as a tall forward target and is was only during his time in Werribee colours that shared some of the ruck load in reserves games.
I haven't been down to the club to watch training or anything like that due to travel and distance issues, but once practice matches start will keep everyone here posted on how the Kangaroos guys are going.
Is that the sort of answer you wanted, Mr Reliable?
He hasn't even started yet. I think LT, Adams and Camp are above him atm in the selection for a nippy fwd
Well, by more I mean I expect he will play a reasonable number of games if he comes otu and rips it up early in the NAB/practice matches.
I would still like Thomas and Campbell to improve their accuracy before they get regular spots.
jschwag
15 Feb 2008, 03:38
Campbell is being trialled for a midfield role. Not sure how much time he'll get there if any, but it would sure be a quick midfield with Wells, Smith and Campbell. Though it's probably not all that likely that they would be on the ground at the same time.
HongKongRoo
15 Feb 2008, 10:42
Fair point.
Just thought I would let all the Roos posters know that I do work for Werribee, so happy to post up some news relating to how the listed players perform each week and general news too.
Thanks very much, appreciate all the news we can get from other sources. :thumbsu::thumbsu:
ben.carbonaro
15 Feb 2008, 13:04
No worries.
Always happy to help. :thumbsu:
ben.carbonaro
24 Feb 2008, 16:13
Make sure you all get down to Skilled Stadium next Saturday (March 1) to watch Werribee take on Geelong in two VFL practice matches.
Reserves 10:30 AM
Seniors 1:00 PM
There will no doubt be a few Kangaroos players running around in a Werribee jumper for the first time.
Mr Reliable
24 Feb 2008, 16:43
Perfect answer to my question. Thanks ben.carbonaro:thumbsu:.
It looks like Goldstein will have plenty of support in the ruck.
ben.carbonaro
24 Feb 2008, 19:31
Are you going to come down to the practice games on Saturday, Mr Reliable?
Mr Reliable
25 Feb 2008, 08:50
Are you going to come down to the practice games on Saturday, Mr Reliable?
I'd love to, but we're going away for the weekend.
ben.carbonaro
26 Feb 2008, 17:54
Just a correction, the reserve will actually be playing against GFL team South Barwon.
No change to starting times.
shintemaster
27 Feb 2008, 08:04
Looks like I'm making the big move to Werribee in a month or so... at least I'll have something to do on the weekends now :thumbsu:
ben.carbonaro
27 Feb 2008, 17:07
Look forward to hopefully meeting you at a few games, SM.