View Full Version : Cover v Original v order of first hearing
oh_my_hat
15 Jul 2002, 21:36
Is the order in which your hear a cover version of a song compared to the original a large factor in whether you prefer to listen to the cover over the original? If you are more familiar with the cover then does this in your experience make this the original and the original the cover?
For example, I have heard the Aerosmith cover of the Beatles song I’m Down off the Permanent Vacation CD numerous times and I like it. Recently I heard the original for the first time and thought it ordinary. The same can be said for KISS’ version of the Rolling Stones song 2000 Man (probably the best example for me) and Quiet Riot’s cover of Cum On Feel The Noise dumps all over Slades original in my eyes.
I’m not sure if I was familiar with the originals in the examples above if I would prefer the original over the cover but I suspect that I probably would.
Shinboners
15 Jul 2002, 21:55
It depends on how the cover is done. For instance, Sleeper covered Blondie's "Atomic" on Trainspotting and you wondered why the filmmakers didn't use the original - Sleeper effectively did a note for note, sound for sound copy of it. However, Frente did two brilliant covers - New Order's "Bizarre Love Triangle" and Tom Wait's "Ruby's Arms" and because they stripped both songs down to their acoustic essentials, you got a different feel for the songs and I consider the cover versions to be as good as the originals.
The other year, a band named "Stars" did a pop-dance version of The Smiths' "This Charming Man". I've been shocked by some of the awful covers of the Smiths, but this one worked brilliantly (and a few people who have heard it have muttered that it's better than the original).
Generally, the first version I hear is the one I prefer (for example, I reckon Laibach's version of "Across The Universe" is better than the Beatles original), but every now and again, I prefer a newly heard cover to the first heard original (like Elvis Costello doing "I'll Never Fall In Love Again").
Woodson
16 Jul 2002, 00:53
Originally posted by oh_my_hat
For example, I have heard the Aerosmith cover of the Beatles song I’m Down off the Permanent Vacation CD numerous times and I like it. Recently I heard the original for the first time and thought it ordinary. The same can be said for KISS’ version of the Rolling Stones song 2000 Man (probably the best example for me) and Quiet Riot’s cover of Cum On Feel The Noise dumps all over Slades original in my eyes.
I agree there Oh-my-hat.....great examples. Some bands can turn any original into a gem but music has always been a personal thing that not everyone will totally agree upon unfornately. I love the way David Lee Roth took 'California Girls' amongst many others and made it a wholesome fun bikini clad tune. I still think The Cult should do The Doors cover of Roadhouse Blues. Billy Idol's version of LA Woman was great although you can't say it dumped the original.
Originally posted by Woodson
I still think The Cult should do The Doors cover of Roadhouse Blues.
It will probably happen, in a round-about way. The Doors are reforming for a series of 30th Anniversary reunion shows (30 years from break-up/Morrison's death?), with Ian Astbury from the Cult handling most of the vocals, and a few guest singers lending support.
Not quite the Cult doing a cover, but pretty close to it.
PrincessPark
16 Jul 2002, 16:23
Covers I like more than, or as much as, the original:
"Mrs Robinson" - The Lemonheads
"Shiver" - Screaming Jets
"Cat's In The Cradle" - Ugly Kid Joe
"Beth" - No Use For A Name
"You've Got To Hide Your Love Away" - Eddie Vedder
Woodson
16 Jul 2002, 19:23
Originally posted by Darky
The Doors are reforming for a series of 30th Anniversary reunion shows (30 years from break-up/Morrison's death?), with Ian Astbury from the Cult handling most of the vocals, and a few guest singers lending support.
Hey Darky,
Any details when this will occur? Any chance of a tour down under? Who are the other guest singers?
And I'll be catching up with someone who laughed when I told them that the Cult have a 'Doorish' thing about them
Originally posted by Shinboners
However, Frente did two brilliant covers - New Order's "Bizarre Love Triangle" and Tom Wait's "Ruby's Arms" and because they stripped both songs down to their acoustic essentials, you got a different feel for the songs and I consider the cover versions to be as good as the originals.
Another great song stripped down to its essentials is "Bad Moon Rising" by the Reels - infinitely better than the Creedence Original
Other favorites of mine
Ruby Tuesday - Melanie
Walk On The Wild Side - Jeff Duff
Satisfaction - Devo
Mrs Robinson - Lemonheads
I think Oasis version of Cum On' Feel the Noize is best out of all 3 versions.
Also, the Original Mrs Robinson is slightly better than The Lemon Heads cover.
Shinboners
16 Jul 2002, 22:27
Originally posted by hotpie
Another great song stripped down to its essentials is "Bad Moon Rising" by the Reels - infinitely better than the Creedence Original
It had a great filmclip too. I also seem to remember that the Reels released an album of cover versions (called "Unforgettable" :confused: ) on the rather trashy K-Tel label.
yes.. i prefer lemonheads version of 'mrs robinson'... also prefer the bangles version of another art & garfunkel hit 'hazy shade of winter'...
The Hippie
16 Jul 2002, 23:38
Originally posted by coxon
yes.. i prefer lemonheads version of 'mrs robinson'... also prefer the bangles version of another art & garfunkel hit 'hazy shade of winter'...
Love Bodyjar's version of Hazy Shade Of Winter...
Originally posted by Woodson
Hey Darky,
Any details when this will occur? Any chance of a tour down under? Who are the other guest singers?
And I'll be catching up with someone who laughed when I told them that the Cult have a 'Doorish' thing about them
Can't recall the details (hey you gotta expect that, I'm a drunk!) but I'm astounded people can't pick up the similarity between Astbury and Morrison - it seems pretty effing obvious to most people I've talked to about it. Danzig (with vocalist Glenn Danzig) are another band who can sound similar to the Doors.
Covers better than originals
All along the watchtower - Jimmy Hendrix
Knocking on Heavens door - Guns 'n Roses
Cats in the craddle - Ugly kid Joe
Covers that should not have been made
American Pie - Madonna
Light my fire - Will Young
Shinboners
17 Jul 2002, 09:00
Originally posted by Darky
Can't recall the details (hey you gotta expect that, I'm a drunk!) but I'm astounded people can't pick up the similarity between Astbury and Morrison - it seems pretty effing obvious to most people I've talked to about it. Danzig (with vocalist Glenn Danzig) are another band who can sound similar to the Doors.
I hate the Doors, but I recognise Morrison's influence on vocalists. Ian Curtis from Joy Division and Ian McCullough from Echo And The Bunnymen both had Morrison as an influence on their vocal styles.
Ray Manzarek also played on the Bunnymen 's "Bedbugs and Ballyhoo" record and performed with them during the U.S. tour to promote that record.
S.J Rollin
17 Jul 2002, 12:02
Luka Bloom's cover of LL Cool J's " I Need Love" is a great cover and he does a good interpretation of "Dancing Queen."
A fellow countryperson in Sinead O'Conner certainly made it into the mainstream with a great cover of "Nothing Compares 2 U."
Originally posted by S.J Rollin
[B
A fellow countryperson in Sinead O'Conner certainly made it into the mainstream with a great cover of "Nothing Compares 2 U." [/B]
She also did a fantastic stripped down version of Nirvana's "All Apologies"
Originally posted by PrincessPark
"Mrs Robinson" - The Lemonheads
True story about this cover - The Lemonheads were doing a tour of Australia and the support group for the Melbourne leg were a local act called the Swamp Rats, who were ****ing awesome at the time and contained Body Jar's current drummer, Ross Heatherington.
Anyway, The Swampies used to do an absolute ball tearer of a version of this particular tune. Evan Dando (spelling?) loved it so much and subsequently the band themselves, The Lemondheads learned it on that tour and started doing it themselves more as tribute to the Swampies than anything else.
Hence, the Lomonheads biggest breaking hit all over the world started as a cover of a cover from a little 3 piece Melbourne band.
S.J Rollin
24 Jul 2002, 11:49
I think the cover version of the "Lillee" chant and subsequent "Freo" chant are vastly superior to what some claim as the original "England" chant.
Danny Chook Fan Club
24 Jul 2002, 13:16
Originally posted by PrincessPark
"You've Got To Hide Your Love Away" - Eddie Vedder Can I express in the strongest possible terms my absolute adoration for the original, and my loathing for the above? Thankyou.
Originally posted by M29
I think Oasis version of Cum On' Feel the Noize is best out of all 3 versions.Agree. Noel's cover of Heroes craps all over the Wallflowers' photocopy of it as well.
What about Funky Town by Pseudo Echo? So, I'm a bogan. What are you going to do about it?
happy_in_hell
24 Jul 2002, 16:34
Good topic as i have a question:
Who did the original version of 'Shiver'? (you know, 'i am contemplating suicide')
The reason i ask: I saw Nick Cave perform it live on 'Its A Long Way to the Top' DVD but my brother says that Pearl Jam also played it.
So i ask you, you music knowing freaks at Bigfooty, who was the original artist of 'Shiver'?
Or subsequently, who performed it first, Nick or Pearl Jam?
Nick Cave
The Boys Next Door , who later became the Birthday Party.
This song was recorded in 1979.
S.J Rollin
24 Jul 2002, 17:32
Nick's (BND) original craps all over the covers!!!
the electric guitar work on that is absolutely brilliant....
Shinboners
24 Jul 2002, 17:49
Nick Cave
The Boys Next Door , who later became the Birthday Party.
This song was recorded in 1979.
"Shivers" was not written by Nick Cave - it was written by Rowland S. Howard. The song was first performed by RSH in one of his earlier bands, "The Young Charlatans"
go_manto
24 Jul 2002, 18:20
Originally posted by S.J Rollin
A fellow countryperson in Sinead O'Conner certainly made it into the mainstream with a great cover of "Nothing Compares 2 U."
I know that that song was written by Prince but I thought that Sinead's version was the first one released?
S.J Rollin
24 Jul 2002, 18:46
Originally posted by go_manto
but I thought that Sinead's version was the first one released?
I dont know which one came out first???
Originally posted by Shinboners
"Shivers" was not written by Nick Cave - it was written by Rowland S. Howard. The song was first performed by RSH in one of his earlier bands, "The Young Charlatans"
I know that - but its Nick's song - he made it special.
Shinboners
24 Jul 2002, 22:12
I know that - but its Nick's song - he made it special.
I wasn't sure if you knew or not. Plenty of people I meet who know that it was a Boys Next Door song (and not a bloody Screaming Jets one :rolleyes: ) think that Nick Cave wrote it.
I never really thought of it as being Nick's song though (although I agree with you that he made it special). I've always thought of it as the song that it was RSH's finest moment and that he could never write a better song.
I heard a new version of Kasey Chambers whinging, whining song last night - no idea who it was by - sounded like an Aussie independant band - but that is one DEFINATE case where the cover is MUCH better than the original.