View Full Version : Swans next
Ford Fairlane
17 Feb 2008, 17:41
Hawthorn beat Sydney by 2 points in their NAB Cup clash, so it looks like we're off to NSW next game.
Sandola
17 Feb 2008, 17:47
Is it in Sydney, or out in the country somewhere?
Judging from Sydney's game v. Hawthorn, it should be challenging -- and probably a lot cleaner and more tactical than our game v. Carlton -- and definitely winnable.
Macca19
17 Feb 2008, 18:02
Sydney is always a team and a structure that we struggle against. Will be good to see how it all turns out.
hereselmo1
17 Feb 2008, 19:56
Sydney is always a team and a structure that we struggle against. Will be good to see how it all turns out.
Yeah I agree. it will be a good test to see whether our mifield has toughened up enough.
RussellEbertHandball
17 Feb 2008, 19:59
I think it is at the Stadium at Homebush Bay, according to a couple of blokes in the NSW supporter group, probably a Friday night. But we'll have to await confirmation.
If not there it will probably be Newcastle, Wagga or Albury based on where they have played in the past. If it's Newcastle I'll travel to the game.
I'll either do a report like last year of if we get our act together we'll get a video of the game and stick it on You Tube.
I can't see 5AA getting to the game for a broadcast. There'd be nothing in left in the kitty after the UAE trip.
Ford Fairlane
17 Feb 2008, 20:11
I think it is at the Stadium at Homebush Bay, according to a couple of blokes in the NSW supporter group, probably a Friday night. But we'll have to await confirmation.
If not there it will probably be Newcastle, Wagga or Albury based on where they have played in the past. If it's Newcastle I'll travel to the game.
I'll either do a report like last year of if we get our act together we'll get a video of the game and stick it on You Tube.
I can't see 5AA getting to the game for a broadcast. There'd be nothing in left in the kitty after the UAE trip.
Not after KG brought the family with him.
Funny how they'll travel to the UAE for a game broadcast on TV but will refuse to go to Sydney (remember last year) for a game that has no coverage.
Ebert80
17 Feb 2008, 20:21
Presumably Chad will be reinstated back at CHB for this game.
the crows could play an internal trial game in antarctica and 5AA would cover it
theres no way they will go to sydney to cover our game
RussellEbertHandball
17 Feb 2008, 22:46
http://afl.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=55369
Game is in Sydney next Saturday night 7pm EST. There will be 500 people in an 80,000 seat stadium. But at least I can have a drink at any seat and watch the game.
Any You Tube gurus on here who can give me a quick lesson on how to put video files onto You Tube.
RussellEbertHandball
18 Feb 2008, 01:09
We should get to know the swans game plan pretty well this year and test ourselves against them early on in the year.
Feb 23 Trial at the Stadium
March 30 (Sun Early) Rd 2 at SCG and
May 24 (Sat arvo) Rd 9 at Footy Park
blackdiamond
18 Feb 2008, 04:52
if we get our act together we'll get a video of the game and stick it on You Tube.
That would be awesome REH, really hanging out for a bit of footy.
REH is there a Sydney radio station that's likely to have a commentary?
Sandola
18 Feb 2008, 09:20
We'll be looking for your match report, REH. Terrific that you can make it to the game.
The game is on at ANZ Stadium which used to be Telstra Stadium out at Homebush.
I should be able to go to the game as long as something doesnt come up
Sandola
18 Feb 2008, 09:29
OK, you can be special comments. We'll be looking for your report!
Toots Hibbert
18 Feb 2008, 09:30
Daniel Bryant if you're reading this is there any chance you could revisit your blog effort on the club site the last time this happened? That was actually a lot of fun. :thumbsu:
captain ebert
18 Feb 2008, 10:38
gates open 7PM - free.
I cant wait for this game after seeing how well our young guys played against Hawthorn. I only hope Paul Roos gives Hall a run as that was the only problem with yesterdays game, our midfield got the ball and then looked to kick it into the forward line and there was nobody there as our 2 highest goal scorers were not playing.
Alberton_Magpie
18 Feb 2008, 11:27
I hope this means we have a practice game at AAMI Stadium in week 3 or 4
Shane_Mag
18 Feb 2008, 12:01
im really glad were playing sydney now cause in the home and away season we got them twice in the first half of the season and sydney always seems to be a side we have trouble beating away.
RussellEbertHandball
18 Feb 2008, 14:47
REH is there a Sydney radio station that's likely to have a commentary?
Highly unlikely. 99.9%. Nobody did it last year. Only ABC Newsradio and triple M broadcast the swans during the season anyway.
Black 18
18 Feb 2008, 16:00
Has anyone heard if 5AA will be broadcasting the game this coming weekend? Probably living in hope more than reality, but wonders do happen!
If not, many thanks to those in Sydney that can attend and post their observations, good stuff :thumbsu:.
Redline
18 Feb 2008, 20:48
Has anyone heard if 5AA will be broadcasting the game this coming weekend? Probably living in hope more than reality, but wonders do happen!
If not, many thanks to those in Sydney that can attend and post their observations, good stuff :thumbsu:.
They are covering the game. Wildy, Rowe and Francou. Apparently they are the only radio station covering the game.
Black 18
18 Feb 2008, 22:13
They are covering the game. Wildy, Rowe and Francou. Apparently they are the only radio station covering the game.
Cool, thanks Redline :thumbsu:
footyhead07
20 Feb 2008, 08:38
gates open 7PM - free.
I'm in Sydney house hunting this weekend so will be able to get to the game. Now about that, what is the best way to get to Homebush? I am staying at the 4 seasons in George St in the City.... Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Burninglevi
20 Feb 2008, 08:41
Train would be easiest. Catch it from Central to Lidcombe, then you get off and catch the connecting train to Telstra stadium. Trains only go to Homebush from Lidcombe
Train is good but there is always the time you have to wait and trains to Homebush dont run very often unless it is a special event which this probably wont be seen as.
If you have a car you can drive. There is heaps of parking there but you will probably have to pay maybe $10 for parking. The best way is to go down Parramatta Rd till you hit homebush
captain ebert
20 Feb 2008, 09:59
I'm in Sydney house hunting this weekend so will be able to get to the game. Now about that, what is the best way to get to Homebush? I am staying at the 4 seasons in George St in the City.... Any help would be greatly appreciated!
play around with the departure / arrival times to suit.
from circular quay -
http://www.131500.info/realtime/fullEnquiry.asp?PageMode=&Vehicle=Bus%2CTrain%2CFerry&WalkSpeed=NORMAL&Priority=504&IsAfter=B&Date=23%2F2%2F2008&MaxChanges=-1&Wheelchair=&Time=07%3A00PM&FromLoc=Circular+Quay+Ferry+Wharf+Jetty+5%7E%7E%3BCircular+Q uay+Ferry+Wharf+Jetty+5%3B%5B334552%3A6251848%5D%7E%7EPOINT&ToLoc=Telstra+Stadium+Sydney+Olympic+Park%7E%7E%3BTelstra+St adium+Sydney+Olympic+Park%3B%5B321576%3A6253581%5D%7E%7EPOIN T&x=26&y=15
from wynyard station -
http://www.131500.info/realtime/fullEnquiry.asp?PageMode=&Vehicle=Bus%2CTrain%2CFerry&WalkSpeed=NORMAL&Priority=504&IsAfter=B&Date=23%2F2%2F2008&MaxChanges=-1&Wheelchair=&Time=07%3A00PM&FromLoc=Wynyard+Station%7E%7E%3BWynyard+Station%3BWynyard+St ation%7E%7ELOCATION&ToLoc=Telstra+Stadium+Sydney+Olympic+Park%7E%7E%3BTelstra+St adium+Sydney+Olympic+Park%3B%5B321576%3A6253581%5D%7E%7EPOIN T&x=17&y=9
return -
http://www.131500.info/realtime/fullEnquiry.asp?PageMode=&Vehicle=Bus%2CTrain%2CFerry&WalkSpeed=NORMAL&Priority=504&IsAfter=A&Date=23%2F2%2F2008&MaxChanges=-1&Wheelchair=&Time=09%3A30PM&FromLoc=Telstra+Stadium+Sydney+Olympic+Park%7E%7E%3BTelstra+ Stadium+Sydney+Olympic+Park%3B%5B321576%3A6253581%5D%7E%7EPO INT&ToLoc=Wynyard+Station+%282000221%29%7E%7E%3BWynyard+Station+ %282000221%29%3BWynyard+Station+%282000221%29%7E%7ELOCATION&x=40&y=15
footyhead07
20 Feb 2008, 10:44
thanks for your help guys :thumbsu:
Hopefully bump into a few of you there. I will be the bloke with sad looking Essendon supporting girlfriend who thought a weekend in Sydney wouldn't involve watching Port Adelaide.:D
*PAFC*13
20 Feb 2008, 14:10
Does anyone want to have a crack at how we will line up?
Hodges 153!
20 Feb 2008, 14:28
I hope this means we have a practice game at AAMI Stadium in week 3 or 4
The club website says:-
Collingwood v Port Adel @ MC Labour Park (Princes Pk)
Saturday 1 March, 2pm
Surely we'd have a game here the week after?
wharfie_1870
20 Feb 2008, 14:30
.... MC Labour Park ....Isn't he that South Korean hip hop artist?
Ford Fairlane
20 Feb 2008, 15:02
The club website says:-
Collingwood v Port Adel @ MC Labour Park (Princes Pk)
Saturday 1 March, 2pm
Surely we'd have a game here the week after?
Collingwood only travel internationally, not domestically (probably cos they're not domesticated :p).
jarmanagic
20 Feb 2008, 21:16
the crows could play an internal trial game in antarctica and 5AA would cover it
theres no way they will go to sydney to cover our game
Dont worry, youve got Rowie covering a meaningless trial game, so it all worked out ok
Ebert80
20 Feb 2008, 21:51
Does anyone want to have a crack at how we will line up?
FF Ebert, J Westhoff, Cockshell
HF Logan, Tredrea, Pearce
C Salopek, K Cornes, Boak
HB Stewart, Thurstans, Thomas
FB Lower, Carlile, Pettigrew
RUCK
Deluca
C Cornes
Rodan
INT
Gray, Bentley, D Motlop, Brogan, White, M Motlop, Krakouer, Giles
I'm predicting Shaun Burgoyne to have another week's rest, but Cornes brothers to play. With the need to test a few young defenders/forward line players, i think Chad will play on the ball.
Mitch Power
21 Feb 2008, 21:20
It will be interesting to how that line up goes early as Roos said on radio today that he will play his "A Team" predominantly for the 1st half and play his "kids" in the 2nd half.
FF Ebert, J Westhoff, Cockshell
HF Logan, Tredrea, Pearce
C Salopek, K Cornes, Boak
HB Stewart, Thurstans, Thomas
FB Lower, Carlile, Pettigrew
RUCK
Deluca
C Cornes
Rodan
INT
Gray, Bentley, D Motlop, Brogan, White, M Motlop, Krakouer, Giles
I'm predicting Shaun Burgoyne to have another week's rest, but Cornes brothers to play. With the need to test a few young defenders/forward line players, i think Chad will play on the ball.
Porthos
21 Feb 2008, 21:41
AKA "If we haven't won at half time we don't give a shit about the rest"