View Full Version : Wayne Carey

Sco
16 Jul 2002, 13:02
How do you guys face the prospect of Wayne Carey being a bomber next year?

I remember him playing for the roos against you lot, and essendon were the team that booed him the most! maybe thats because he was a great player? maybe because you thought he was a dirty so and so?

also, on essendonfc.com.au (bombertalk) i've read talk about caracella not being happy at windy hill at the moment, do u think he will leave?

all the best for the bombers for the rest of the year!

Vintage 62
16 Jul 2002, 13:49
I think most bomber supporters would prefer that he didn't play with us. And I don't know if we especially disliked him (personally I didn't dislike him) but it would seem he certainly didn't have much time for us. I can remember him being asked last year (once the kangas were out of contention) who he thought would win the flag, he said "Essendon, but I hope they don't."

Pagan seemed to be dirty on, or maybe just sick of, Essendon too - didn't he release some knowledge of an injury to Fletcher at a press conference, or somesuchthing?

Pornstar
16 Jul 2002, 14:14
I doubt very much we could afford him. Nevertheless, supposing we could get him i'd probably prefer not to, just for the fact that i think his body will let him down and he won't get out onto the park much. Also, we would have to trade someone/draft picks for him and i wouldn't be keen to trade away the future of our team for a guy that might play 1-2 years.

mark
16 Jul 2002, 14:24
DOESN'T HIS NEPHEW PLAY IN THE SECONDS AT ESS .I SAW HIM PLAY A GAME EARLY IN THE SEASON.

M29
16 Jul 2002, 16:51
I'd take him right away. Pornstar has mentioned his body may let him down, but after 1 year off, I think he'd be ok. If we can afford him.

Pornstar
16 Jul 2002, 17:02
who/what would you trade for him M29?

NorthBhoy
16 Jul 2002, 17:13
Originally posted by Pornstar

Sorry to butt in, but I would be interested in this response.

I don't reckon North will take anyone over 24, unless Lloyd was offered. You would have to unload someone of note to release the required cash from the cap. If anyone says Steve Alessio I will hunt you down ;) .

windyhill
16 Jul 2002, 17:17
I would love him to play for us. Norf would prefer him anywhere else but Essendon,the deal would not be done.

NorthBhoy
16 Jul 2002, 17:21
Originally posted by windyhill
Norf would prefer him anywhere else but Essendon,

Ohh I hear ya.

If I imagine him one more time with the cup in his hands wearing black and red I will kill myself.

The worst thing is, if he played more than 15 games, and your injuries were minimal, I would bet everything I had that it would happen.

:mad:

go team
16 Jul 2002, 17:37
Despite what alot of people say, i think he'd be a good person to have around the club. Sheedy has said numerous times that Lloyd would make a better CHF. They say center half foward is the hardest position on the field to play and learn, if there was anyone that could pass on some of that knowledge to Lloydy, you'd think it'd be Carey.

M29
16 Jul 2002, 17:55
Originally posted by Pornstar

Moorcroft will be gone and if what John is saying about Caracella, then he might be gone as well. Also, McAlister.

Stealth bomber
16 Jul 2002, 19:32
I think he was a terrific player and whether or not he still is remains to be seen.

But I cannot stand the man personally, and I would refuse to buy a membership as long as he was a Bomber. I will barrack for the team but I would not support them financially.

M29
16 Jul 2002, 20:47
Originally posted by Stealth bomber
But I cannot stand the man personally, and I would refuse to buy a membership as long as he was a Bomber. I will barrack for the team but I would not support them financially.

That's going a tad far I reckon. I know I think of 1 player with us a total ****er, yet still buy a membership. ;)

Bloodstained Angel
16 Jul 2002, 20:55
I hear ya Stealth ...

BUT

how do you know that are not bigger ****ers than Carey already playing in the Red & Black ? ;)

cheers

Stealth bomber
16 Jul 2002, 23:47
Perhaps I'm being a bit harsh, in retrospect. Still, I cannot cover up the fact that I really don't like the guy and it would be very tough to like him even if he won us a premiership.

I am sure the current group of players aren't exactly angels themselves, but until word comes out of them doing something beneath contempt, well, I'll give them the benefit of the doubt. Should an Essendon player be caught doing the same thing, I would hold similar feelings towards the player and the club if they decided to stick by him.

Dan26
17 Jul 2002, 01:17
I'd love him at Essendon. A great leader, and agreat footballer. And I for one don't believe all this off-field stuff makes him a bad person. He's always seemed like a pretty decent sort of guy in terms of his accesability to the media and his general demeanour (no not THAT) that we see on TV.

On their current form, we could trade two of Blumfield, Heffernan, Caracella, Henneman (hasn't played much), Moorcroft or Mercuri, and it would make little difference to us.

With some (but not unconditional) apologies to Blumfield, the others have done next to nothing for a long time now, and we would win out of the deal, if we could organzie a trade with Carey. Maybe giving the 'Roos a high draft pick would have to be considered too.

mantis
17 Jul 2002, 01:47
Originally posted by Dan26
I'd love him at Essendon. A great leader, and agreat footballer. And I for one don't believe all this off-field stuff makes him a bad person. He's always seemed like a pretty decent sort of guy in terms of his accesability to the media and his general demeanour (no not THAT) that we see on TV.

On their current form, we could trade two of Blumfield, Heffernan, Caracella, Henneman (hasn't played much), Moorcroft or Mercuri, and it would make little difference to us.

With some (but not unconditional) apologies to Blumfield, the others have done next to nothing for a long time now, and we would win out of the deal, if we could organzie a trade with Carey. Maybe giving the 'Roos a high draft pick would have to be considered too.

:mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

Well I never wanted to put anyone on ignore, but sorry, this is the final straw, I am getting too stressed out with Dam.

Dan26
17 Jul 2002, 17:22
Oh I'm sorry mantis, how about we just take him for free? :rolleyes:

You have to give up quality to get quality. It's not as simple as a straight swap for Daniel McAlister. If we want Carey, one or two of those quality players will have to go. That's life.

The trick is to find players who aren't performing to their capablities, but who would be valuable for an opposition club, once they get a change of scenery. North won't take any 27 year olds (or older), nor will they take hacks.

Bloodstained Angel
17 Jul 2002, 17:59
so getting caught red-handed screwing your best mate's wife in another mates guest bathroom during his wife's 30th birthday party in front of 100 or so guests is the hallmark of 'a great guy and a great leader' is it Dan26 ?

gozzo
17 Jul 2002, 19:03
Originally posted by Bloodstained Angel
so getting caught red-handed screwing your best mate's wife in another mates guest bathroom during his wife's 30th birthday party in front of 100 or so guests is the hallmark of 'a great guy and a great leader' is it Dan26 ?

Coming from a club that once boasted Barry Round as a star attraction ...I would not be throwing stones, Angel!!!

Some of us have VERY short memories.

Let Carey get on with playing footy. He's done his penance. After all, he screwed his best mate's wife (with her consent). He didn't murder schoolkids in cold blood, or rape someone's granny. I'd love Carey's return to footy to be at Essendon, but logic suggests it will be Adelaide, surely??

Dan26
17 Jul 2002, 19:17

He is unquestionably a great leader. Captain at 21 years of age says it all. He was/is a player who others look up to as a peer.

He has a commanding presence, that lends itslef to being a leader. He isn't a manufactured leader like a Ben Graham or a Gavin Wanganeen. He is a leader in the true sense of the word.

One of the greatest leaders in Australian Football history.

Dan26
17 Jul 2002, 19:18
Originally posted by gozzo

Coming from a club that once boasted Barry Round as a star attraction ...I would not be throwing stones, Angel!!!

Wasn't Barry Round's wife the one who was cheating on HIM, with the coach, Ricky Quade?

The Ewok
17 Jul 2002, 19:32
Originally posted by Stealth bomber
Should an Essendon player be caught doing the same thing

Already happened at Windy Hill a few years ago

gozzo
17 Jul 2002, 19:44

Wasn't Barry Round's wife the one who was cheating on HIM, with the coach, Ricky Quade?

Yes you are right Dan, but that is not really the full story. Without stating the obvious, the full picture simply proves the point you are making.

Carey is not a wife beater, child molester, or Taliban terrorist (as far as I know, anyway). He isn't the first to go "over the side" and he won't be the last. I would be the last to pretend that I or my club are as white as the driven snow. And for a Swans supporter to make out like Carey is some sort of reptile, really needs some sort of reply. Carey is human, just like the guys Angel supports (me too, for that matter).

Let him play footy again...I can see him at CHF for the Bombers

:D

mantis
17 Jul 2002, 21:20
The reason I don't particularly want the Club to draft him has nothing to do with his off field woes, I just think he is a huge risk at his age & with a cloud about his injuries, there is no way we should give away a top draft pick, or Caracella, Heffernan, McVeigh or most of the other players that have been mentioned in a possible trade.:(

Lethal
18 Jul 2002, 00:23
I hate Carey as a person, but admire him as a footballer. I wouldn't mind it if he did step out in the red and black for a couple of season's. Some people are saying what if his body gives way, well that could be the same with any player who is currently playing the game, Lloyd or Hird could go down tomorrow and their careers could be finished. Essendon's one of the few sides that could possibly nurse him through a season with the aim of winning a flag. And also, he has had a year off, so should be fresh.

gPhonque
18 Jul 2002, 12:26
I don't particularly like Carey as a person either, but perhaps he needed what happened to him to make him realise he's not actually KING Carey.

I'd certainly have no problems with him playing for Essendon; as long as he pulls his head in, which i think he will. (if he hasn't already)

If we could get 2 solid years out of him, it would be worth it. (hell, we only got 1 decent year out of Barnes and look what happened.)

If Fish continues on next year, and i see no reason why he wouldn't, then we'd have a pretty damn good team running around on the park.

A fit Lloyd, Hird, Lucas, Salmon & Carey = premiership.

rednugget
18 Jul 2002, 13:39
I think Salmon would retire if we picked up Carey. He has already been reported as saying he would have issue's with playing in the same team as Carey.

Vintage 62
18 Jul 2002, 14:38
Essendon have built their success around developing young players and not recruiting any 'big name' players from other clubs (Barnes and Salmon were "Essendon people" as Sheedys says.)

Carey will never be an "Essendon person" - he apparently hates Essendon - and would only go to the Bombers for the possibility of playing in a premiership side. I think there is a big risk that he could disturb the whole culture at the club - a culture that's so successful and has been built over such a long time, - and I wouldn't take the risk.

Lets not change our methods, they've worked pretty well so far.

Wally
18 Jul 2002, 15:33
Too old.

where's wally?

gozzo
18 Jul 2002, 20:02
Carey hates Essendon?

Why did he live there, then?? I think you'll find that's just part of healthy competition.

And I think that Sheedy also has a history of finding a new use for players discarded from other clubs, thought to be "past it" or out of form...I'm thinking Barnard or Barry Young back to even Raines & Richardson.

I still maintain that it won't happen...put your bets on the Crows, ladies and gentlemen.

mantis
18 Jul 2002, 20:23
And I think that Sheedy also has a history of finding a new use for players discarded from other clubs, thought to be "past it" or out of form...I'm thinking Barnard or Barry Young back to even Raines & Richardson.

Barnard & Young weren't as old as Carey, Raines & Richardson. :confused: :eek:

Vintage 62
18 Jul 2002, 21:00
[B]Carey hates Essendon?

Why did he live there, then?? I think you'll find that's just part of healthy competition.

And I think that Sheedy also has a history of finding a new use for players discarded from other clubs, thought to be "past it" or out of form...

All I know is in an i/v I saw last year, carey was asked who he thought would win the flag (the Kangas were out of it,) he replied "Essendon, but I hope they don't!"

Carey is hardly a discard who is either past it or out of form - he's probably the most sort after player in Australia!

gPhonque
18 Jul 2002, 21:12
Originally posted by Vintage 62
Carey will never be an "Essendon person" - he apparently hates Essendon

If Carey were made welcome at Essendon, that would change.

I think we're a chance of getting him. I'd be betting he'd be happy to sacrifice a few $$$ if it meant playing for a team with a genuine chance at a Premiership and still being able to live in Essendon. (or has he moved from Essendon now? Either way, i'm sure he'd prefer to stay in Melbourne...)

The question is - who would go? Alessio? Lucas? Salmon? (i'd like to see him play another year though, and if he's fit, i'm sure he will...) Barnard...?

mantis
18 Jul 2002, 21:17
Originally posted by gPhonque

If Carey were made welcome at Essendon, that would change.

I think we're a chance of getting him. I'd be betting he'd be happy to sacrifice a few $$$ if it meant playing for a team with a genuine chance at a Premiership and still being able to live in Essendon. (or has he moved from Essendon now? Either way, i'm sure he'd prefer to stay in Melbourne...)

The question is - who would go? Alessio? Lucas? Salmon? (i'd like to see him play another year though, and if he's fit, i'm sure he will...) Barnard...?

Salmon is the only one I would be willing to sacrifice for Carey, definitely not Barnard, Lucas or Alessio.

mantis
19 Jul 2002, 20:22
Woohoo, looks like Carey wants to go to the shockers. :D

The Ewok
19 Jul 2002, 21:50
Rumours say that Carey wants to play for Essendon but there is no way that Norff would agree to trade him to Windy Hill

mantis
19 Jul 2002, 22:06
On the news here in Perth, they said during Carey's visit with the Shockers, he said he preferred to play for an interstate club & because Bell plays for Freo he would enjoy being reunited with him, keeping my fingers crossed.

gozzo
20 Jul 2002, 11:02
Originally posted by mantis

Barnard & Young weren't as old as Carey, Raines & Richardson. :confused: :eek:

Yes but they were thought to be surplus to requirements by their old club. And they both turned out to be good players for Essendon...

There is also a school of thought that because of Carey's philandering, his age and a year out of the game, that he may be "past it", or of limited value to his new club (for injury, or even moral reasons).

It is not an assumption with which I agree, but it is there, and it may well be a reason (along with draft picks, wads of cash, etc) why some clubs may not sign Carey.

go team
20 Jul 2002, 11:18
Originally posted by The Ewok
Rumours say that Carey wants to play for Essendon but there is no way that Norff would agree to trade him to Windy Hill

isn't that why carlton wouldn't trade us Porter?

Grogette
20 Jul 2002, 22:41
Originally posted by KangaMan
How do you guys face the prospect of Wayne Carey being a bomber next year?

Never!! Not even if he was last football player on earth!!!:mad: :mad:

peruka
23 Jul 2002, 15:16
Someone tell Salmon that its ok for a club to take a risk on a bloody 37 year old so what's wrong with trying to sign Carey? Since when did you become this bog moral queen fishy?

mrbungle86
23 Jul 2002, 18:24
Wayne carey has done what he has done and nothing can change that... all u ****WlTS have 2 get over it!
Can u imagine i forward line with hird, lloyd and carey??
Which team would stop them??
Keep it in mind b4 u go and blow ur membership away!

Wally
23 Jul 2002, 19:39
Originally posted by mrbungle86
... all u ****WlTS have 2 get over it!

And you, young fella have to learn some manners.

where's wally?

Dan26
23 Jul 2002, 23:12
Originally posted by mantis

Salmon is the only one I would be willing to sacrifice for Carey, definitely not Barnard, Lucas or Alessio.

You wouldn't trade Alessio for Carey? Get in the real world. You'd take that trade every time. But, North would never go for it, because they would be the big losers out of the trade.

Mantis, if we could swap Carey for Alessio, it would be Christmas Day.

windyhill
23 Jul 2002, 23:24
If Norf let Essendon swap alessio for The Wayne, i would not wear clothes for a decade.
Paul Salmon would be worth more to the club as a 50 y.o then alessio,absolutely ridiculous mantis. Yes tell me you are entitled to your opinion,you are, but that is pure madness.
What do you have against Salmon ? You have continually bagged the big fella this year. He has been a roaring success in the limited games he has been available. At least my contempt for alessio is not a secrret,but you have been having little digs at Salmon all year.
keep alessio in preference to Carey, strait-jacket time.

Dan26
24 Jul 2002, 00:28
Apparently, Mantis believes it is better to have nice blokes at the club than a champion leader and footballer who would help us win games, would still be one of the all-time greats, and would go a long way to solving our forward hassles.

Make no mistake, losing Hardwick has not been the problem. Our defence is right up there with the best in the AFL this year. We simply havn't been able to kick enough goals. Lloyd and Carey together is dream material. I'd be creaming myself.

Stealth bomber
24 Jul 2002, 00:45
TMI Dan :)

Lethal
24 Jul 2002, 03:43
I'd be creaming myself.

Uh....thanks Dan. Just way to much information there:p

mantis
24 Jul 2002, 12:51
If Norf let Essendon swap alessio for The Wayne, i would not wear clothes for a decade.
Paul Salmon would be worth more to the club as a 50 y.o then alessio,absolutely ridiculous mantis. Yes tell me you are entitled to your opinion,you are, but that is pure madness.
What do you have against Salmon ? You have continually bagged the big fella this year. He has been a roaring success in the limited games he has been available. At least my contempt for alessio is not a secrret,but you have been having little digs at Salmon all year.
keep alessio in preference to Carey, strait-jacket time.

I have not continually bagged Fish this year, I have acknowledged when he has played well, just haven't gone OTT like some.

Salmon has played limited games that is my point, why would we want to draft another over 30's player, especially one who is suspect with injuries, also Carey loved the Roos, do you think he would play with the same passion at the Bombers, I don't.

Sorry, Carey was a Champion player, but I think the risk of drafting him with the chance of little or no return is too great.

As to who is right or wrong, time will tell.

Wally
24 Jul 2002, 15:49
Bugger Carey,
Fixing the mid-field and a decent ruckman should be first priority.

where's wally?

go team
24 Jul 2002, 16:14

Make no mistake, losing Hardwick has not been the problem. Our defence is right up there with the best in the AFL this year. We simply havn't been able to kick enough goals. Lloyd and Carey together is dream material. I'd be creaming myself.

A drop of in goals kicked isn't just a direct reflection of the performance of the foward line. As a team we dont rebound as well out of the 50. We're missing Hardwick and Solomon in that area - not only for their drive, but both had alot of respect/confidence placed in them from their team mates. Players are more likely to take a risk with two extra all australians out there. The foward line are the least of our troubles, we need to work on getting it down there better and i agree with Wally - it's definantley a poor reflection on the ruck, and the midfield. That being said I still wouldn't mind Wayne at the club.

windyhill
24 Jul 2002, 19:13
When news reached me that Solly had done his knee, that was the season for me there and then. The boys have done very well down back considering who we have lost. Losing Solly.......

NYMets
24 Jul 2002, 20:20
I've watched him closely over the past two seasons and ....No Thanks!!

Dan26
25 Jul 2002, 00:46
When news reached me that Solly had done his knee, that was the season for me there and then. The boys have done very well down back considering who we have lost. Losing Solly.......

I don't rate Soloman quite as high as you. I rate him as a mid-range player at best. I like him in our side, and I like the way he plays, but our flag hopes do NOT revlve around him, as you imply.

I remember watching him last year, and I was saying to my mate, "You know, Soloman's okay, but he's not THAT good." I didn't really notice in 2000, because we were so good, but last year, some of his flaws became more apparent as we struggled.

There's just a bit of finesse, and touch that he lacks. It'll be good to get him back, but he's nowhere near the mould of a best and fairest winner like Hardwick. From memory, he could only manage 9th or 10th in our B&F despite playing every game. That's not the kind of form, premiership hopes hinge on.

Soloman is just a player. Good, average, want-him-in-your-side player, but nothing more at this stage.

Pornstar
25 Jul 2002, 14:42
What's the bet that if we do trade with North for Carey, Cory McGrath will go in the deal?

mongrelpunt
25 Jul 2002, 14:49
Originally posted by Wally
Bugger Carey,
Fixing the mid-field and a decent ruckman should be first priority.

where's wally?

Spot on!

Dave
25 Jul 2002, 16:16
I remember watching him last year, and I was saying to my mate, "You know, Soloman's okay, but he's not THAT good." I didn't really notice in 2000, because we were so good, but last year, some of his flaws became more apparent as we struggled.

Some of his strengths shone through too, such as the ability to play "tall", something many players cannot.

Soloman is just a player. Good, average, want-him-in-your-side player, but nothing more at this stage.

Solomon's form in the finals series last year was as good as I've seen and had he carried it over to this season was ceretainly good enough to win a B&F the way things have gone this year.

windyhill
25 Jul 2002, 17:40
Thank you Dave.
15 other clubs would sell their Mothers for D.Solomon.

M29
25 Jul 2002, 18:01
Solomon hit a bad spot mid way through last year, then lifted.

As Dave pointed out he's the only type that can play on the taller players. Unlike henneman who is as weak as ****.

Dan26
25 Jul 2002, 23:55
Solomon's performance against Richardson in the Qualifying final was superb, but he wasn't like that every week. I was frustrated with him at times last year. Whilst, he's been a good finals player, the 22 round week-to-week grind will establish whether you are a top-line player.

By the way, Dave, you suggest Solomon could have won the best and fairest this year. I find that ludicrous. I suppose, there are surprises in football, and I could be wrong, so we'll wait and see, but I have huge doubts whether Solomon will be a B&F winner - he hasn't got the talent. To me, he is a slightly less skilled verson of Damian Hardwick. He'll never be as good as Hardwick. I hope he is, but he won't be IMHO.

Carlos
26 Jul 2002, 01:17
By the way, Dave, you suggest Solomon could have won the best and fairest this year. I find that ludicrous. I suppose, there are always surprises in football, and I couldbe wrong, so we will wait and see, but I have grave doubts whether Deam Solomon will ever be a B&F winner for Essendon - he hasn't got the talent. To me, he is a slightly less skilled verson of Damian Hardwick. He'll never be as good as Hardwick. I hope he is, but he won't be IMHO.
Sorry to intrude. Been reading this thread with obvious interest considering the subject matter.

Just as a matter of interest, i remember Gary Lyon and others comparing Solomon favourably with Glenn Archer. Regardless of whether this is a valid comparison, i think its worth noting that Archer has never won a B&F either. In fact i dont think he has finished higher than 3rd or 4th, although that might change this year on current form.

Now granted he has played in a pretty handy era for us with some equally handy players, but would you consider Archer a lesser player than Shannon Grant (01 B&F) or Peter Bell (00)?

Solomon is a very talented, valuable player IMO, regardless of where he finishes in your B&F for the rest of his career.

Dan26
26 Jul 2002, 01:22
Mate, Soloman has nothing on Glen Archer. If both were the same age, you'd take Archer every time.

Look, I like Soloman - I just find our supporters overrate him. He's not that good.

Carlos
26 Jul 2002, 01:31
Mate, Soloman has nothing on Glen Archer. If both were the same age, you'd take Archer every time.

Look, I like Soloman - I just find our supporters overrate him. He's not that good.
Fair enough. And i agree, i would take Arch every time! ;)

But FWIW though, i respect Solomon because he plays it so hard yet has the skill to compliment it. Rare quality in players like him IMO. Plays above his height and looks a natural leader. I'd take him over Blumfield, Heffernan or McVeigh any day and he'd look great in a blue and white guernsey!! With his style, he'd fit right in too!

I know you're not disputing this Dan, but to risk stating the bleeding obvious (and despite all the bloody stats etc) you're a much better side with him in it.

And while i'm admiring your side (this is starting to get sickening) i also reckon you'll make the 8 comfortably and will have a massive say in the finals, particularly by beating Collingwood (ok, now i'm hoping more than anything). I would love a first up final between you two. Only thing i'd like more is for us to play them in the finals.

All the best.

Michele
26 Jul 2002, 01:39
Originally posted by M29

Moorcroft will be gone and if what John is saying about Caracella, then he might be gone as well. Also, McAlister.

You are not only hypocrytical, but stupid too!

Michele
26 Jul 2002, 01:44

What's wrong with you?:mad: :mad:

Isn't CAREY ;) on Sydney's list? Or haven't Sydney got anyone worth trading? :o :o

BrisGirl
26 Jul 2002, 13:28
If Sheedy wants Carey, you will get him.

Sheedy sleeps just fine when it comes down to off-loading players to obtain who he wants....(eg: Hardwick) Actually, pretty much any Coach has to do it at some stage.

So, if it comes down to Sheedy wanting Carey and Carey wants to go to Essendon.....it is all over folks.

Best you start looking at who will not be wearing your jumper next year. Someone has to go and I don't think it will be one person, to afford Carey, it will have to be a couple.

If it comes off, and Carey stars, you will all be laughing.

gPhonque
26 Jul 2002, 14:44
Originally posted by BrisGirl
Sheedy sleeps just fine when it comes down to off-loading players to obtain who he wants....(eg: Hardwick)

I don't believe it was by choice that he/we "got rid" of Hardwick.

Losing him and Solomon this year has killed us.

gPhonque
26 Jul 2002, 14:57
There's just a bit of finesse, and touch that he lacks. It'll be good to get him back, but he's nowhere near the mould of a best and fairest winner like Hardwick. From memory, he could only manage 9th or 10th in our B&F despite playing every game. That's not the kind of form, premiership hopes hinge on.

Man, you're on the wrong drugs.

How can you say Solomon is just a "good average want-him-in-your-side-player"????

I seriously doubt your knowledge of footy when you make statements like this. Sure, everybody has an opinion, but anybody with half a clue knows that Solomon is more than a "good average player."

Just another example of Dan letting the stats make his mind up for him.

Dan26
27 Jul 2002, 17:57
Originally posted by gPhonque

Man, you're on the wrong drugs.

How can you say Solomon is just a "good average want-him-in-your-side-player"????

I seriously doubt your knowledge of footy when you make statements like this. Sure, everybody has an opinion, but anybody with half a clue knows that Solomon is more than a "good average player."

Just another example of Dan letting the stats make his mind up for him.

Mate, Soloman's good, but he's not in our top half dozen. I havn't missed an Essendon game since '97 and I've only missed three in the last 11 years so I think I'm qualified to have an opinion. Last time I checked you weren't even a member (or you weren't last year, as I recall you saying on bigfooty at one time)

He played every game last year, and couldn't finish higher then 9th in the best and fairest.

I never said he wasn't any good. I like him, and I think he is an asset to our defence. He's a good player. But, he is simply an "want-him-in-your-side" player. Nothing more. We tend to overrate the tough players and put them on pedestals. Soloman is a good tough player, but he lacks the polish of some of his peers. If you look at our best 22, I'd put 8-10 players above him ansd 8-10 players below him. He's in the middle.

It will be good to get him back.

Dan26
27 Jul 2002, 18:11
Originally posted by Carlos
And while i'm admiring your side (this is starting to get sickening) i also reckon you'll make the 8 comfortably and will have a massive say in the finals, particularly by beating Collingwood (ok, now i'm hoping more than anything). I would love a first up final between you two. Only thing i'd like more is for us to play them in the finals.

All the best.

Your mob will have a bigger say that what we do.

Last night I was frustarted by our lack of efficiency. We have the players to score the goals, but we couldn't. A Denis Pagan coached team would have approached last night's match differently.

Your great coach has taken an average bunch of players and had made them play with such ruthless efficiency, that you have become the most competitive team year in year out that I've ever seen. Your kick-it-long, alawys centre the ball, always leave the forward line open, never U-turn, never chip it around for a meaningless possession therefore minimsing your errors philospophy, will have you contending for the flag every year.

I've never seen a team in my life, where the success can be put down 100% to the coach. With your mob, it's almost as if the players are irrelevant (exaggerartion), and Denis would simply use different players (if avaialable) to implement his "playing the percentages", mathematically perfect game-plan. As an example, look at his success with the under 19's where he guided them to 9 consecutive Grand Finals, despite a turnover of players every two years.

I've often wondered how many premierships we would have won if Denis didn't leave our club in '92. His impact on ALL the teams he's coached at all levels leaves me of the opinion that he is the greatest coach of all time.

And with him, you are a contender.

I always put money on North to finish in the top-4 after the finals, because they do it every year. Putting money on North is an investment - not a risk. I'd love to see you guys play the Magpies, because I reckon you'd knock them off in a final. I don't think we're quite there, but I reckon we'd have more chance of knocking them off in a final, than in Round 20.

M29
27 Jul 2002, 18:24
Originally posted by Michele

You are not only hypocrytical, but stupid too!

How is that chelley luv?

Moorcroft is definately finished this year.
Caracella hasn't resigned and has had a poor year.
And if you even suggest keeping McAlister, you're a bigger moron than anyone could have guessed.

Dan26
27 Jul 2002, 23:03
You gonna change your bigfooty name next year Drew?

M29
28 Jul 2002, 13:58
You gonna change your bigfooty name next year Drew?

Nope. It would only confuse John. ;)

dana18211
9 Aug 2002, 13:38
As a north supporter I would love if Wayne went to Essendon because then there would be one other team that wouldn't booooo him anymore.....
Now I know that I will apprectiate every game he plays. He is an absolte legend of the game...

mantis
9 Aug 2002, 14:31
Originally posted by dana18211
As a north supporter I would love if Wayne went to Essendon because then there would be one other team that wouldn't booooo him anymore.....

WANNA BET. :D :D :D