View Full Version : Ins & outs v St.Kilda

carnthedons07premiers
23 Feb 2008, 16:01
discuss

Amazing Bombers
23 Feb 2008, 16:03
I'm happy that we are playing them as opposed to Geelong, as we are better at beating the saints.:thumbsu:
How many points will we win by and who will be changed from our lineup?

Windas_Magic
23 Feb 2008, 16:06
IN: Stanton, Fletcher, McPhee, Dempsey, Nash, Slattery,
OUT: Chartes, Dick, Hooker, Johnson, Peverill, Atkinson

JJ and Pev probably won't get dropped but i want to keep a young side with potentially 5 experienced players coming in. If Neagle and/or Hislop are fit, then i would consider them and Johns/Lee are a possibility as well.

sikmoe
23 Feb 2008, 16:11

JJ and Pev probably won't get dropped but i want to keep a young side with potentially 5 experienced players coming in. If Neagle and/or Hislop are fit, then i would consider them and Johns/Lee are a possibility as well.

i doubt knights would put in fletcher due to gehrigs injured and the fact that he wants to give the youngsters a go, atkinson would probably remain for next week.

Gus2Gumby
23 Feb 2008, 16:21
Yea that St Kilda win worked out well! :thumbsu:

IN: Stants, Fletch, McPhee, Nash, DC, Slatts

Out: Pev, JJ, Rama, Chatres, Hooker, Dick

Windas_Magic
23 Feb 2008, 16:22
i doubt knights would put in fletcher due to gehrigs injured and the fact that he wants to give the youngsters a go, atkinson would probably remain for next week.
we will need a tall and smart defender who can beat Kosi (if he plays). He has been playing at FF and kicked a bag of 5 today, we need someone to stop him. Mal's too short and the youngsters would get slaughtered.

Maybe Mal with get dropped with no Gehrig and the chances are, Riewodlt will come back as well

Forgot about Hocking as well, theres a lot of players who could be brought back in against the Saints

Bombermania
23 Feb 2008, 16:55
I would have liked a crack at Geelong.

I would like to see Stanton return, I'm happy to rest Flect and Lloyd until season proper

BomberAce7
23 Feb 2008, 17:35
Whoever misses out would be unlucky.

mojon95
23 Feb 2008, 17:37
we will need a tall and smart defender who can beat Kosi (if he plays). He has been playing at FF and kicked a bag of 5 today, we need someone to stop him. Mal's too short and the youngsters would get slaughtered.

Maybe Mal with get dropped with no Gehrig and the chances are, Riewodlt will come back as well

Forgot about Hocking as well, theres a lot of players who could be brought back in against the Saints

Ryder = Ruckman height, fast, creative can play from behind or infront, courageous and good at ground level.

In: Neagle, Hislop, McPhee, Nash, Dempsey, Stants

Out: Charters, Atkinson, Magin, Welsh (didn't play badly but give hislop a go at hbf), Pev, JJ

SirJimi05
23 Feb 2008, 18:48

Why would you want to play a full strength team?

The outs should be some experienced players so the youngsters can have another run.

Windas_Magic
23 Feb 2008, 19:04
Why would you want to play a full strength team?

The outs should be some experienced players so the youngsters can have another run.
I'm sure the senior players want a run as well. With the outs i chose, we'd still have a fairly young side.

Colin D'Cops
23 Feb 2008, 19:09
I wonder why Hislop hasn't been playing, he is an awesome young player....?

acebomer
23 Feb 2008, 20:58
Ins: Stanton, Hocking Mcphee Nash Dempsey Slattery Fletcher
Outs: Dick, Chatres, JJ, Peverill, Akinson, NLM Hooker

They should give every player some game time, and according to Welsh they want most of the players to play 2 or 3 games before the season starts. hope Hislop can play next week

Johnny619
23 Feb 2008, 21:15
In: Stanton, Big Fletch, Slattery
Out: Pev, Dick, Johnson

hulld
23 Feb 2008, 21:34
mal played the full game on friday night so i would think they would rest him if fletch is right to come in.

GmeUP
24 Feb 2008, 04:23
mal played the full game on friday night so i would think they would rest him if fletch is right to come in.

Didn't he only play 1st half? Your thought's on him out with Fletcher in are same as mine though :thumbsu:

Ins: Fletcher, Stanton, Nash, Dempsey

Outs: Michael, Houli, JJ, Laycock

Ruck Hille and Ryder. Next week rest Hille and Ryder and ruck Laycock with Bellchambers.

thebigboy
24 Feb 2008, 06:14
In - Stants, Fletch, Nash, Dempsey, McPhee
Out - Pev, JJ, Hooker, Dick + one other player to be rested.

citizen-erased
24 Feb 2008, 06:51
Ryder cannot ruck this game. Need him to curb Kosi.

Stanton and McPhee would be good to see back.
Perhaps rest JJ and Pev who have worked hard in recent weeks.

would like to see reimers, atkinson, houli and lonergan stay out there

J.Hetfield
24 Feb 2008, 08:09
Two or three changes only i say..Leave the rookies in..

aintplayin03
24 Feb 2008, 08:44
Surely JJ could be fitted in, with such a young size and a lot of smaller bodies with pace we will need some harder, in and under players with experience to put a bit of physical pressure back on the saints.

DonMania#5
24 Feb 2008, 09:04
IN: Stanton, Fletcher, McPhee, Dempsey, Nash, Slattery, Hocking.
OUT: Chartres, Dick, Hooker, Johnson, Peverill, Atkinson, Pears/Myers.

King Richard
24 Feb 2008, 09:06
I think we will need some older/stronger bodies...as I believe St Kilda will rough the young kids up.

Ealesy
24 Feb 2008, 09:17
I think we will need some older/stronger bodies...as I believe St Kilda will rough the young kids up.

Who with??

St Kilda ain't exactly known for their toughness.

Grehig could do it, but he is out injured and apart from Steve Baker I can't really think off anyone at the Saints that would worry our youngsters.

You've got to remember that kids like Houli, Lonergan, Myers, Reimers, Hislop etc have bodies capable of standing up to the rigours of AFL football and none of them would take a backward step from whatever the big tough Saints have to throw at them.

Merv
24 Feb 2008, 09:39
Knighter has a set plan and has stuck to it so far and will continue to do so.

The NAB cup, while a bonus if we could snare it, is not the aim and round 1 is the main focus.

He has dropped players and not picked players, in order to keep them fresh or play it safe with injury concerns, all in order to have them right for round 1.

We have a great record against StKilda and we could pick a side with real pace, that possibly could expose them, but we won't.

We will pick a side that will give us the best build up for round 1.

So what ever side we pick for next week, be happy with it as it is being picked for round 1, not NAB round 3.

Jono B
24 Feb 2008, 09:51

The NAB cup, while a bonus if we could snare it, is not the aim and round 1 is the main focus.

He has dropped players and not picked players, in order to keep them fresh or play it safe with injury concerns, all in order to have them right for round 1.

We have a great record against StKilda and we could pick a side with real pace, that possibly could expose them, but we won't.

So what ever side we pick for next week, be happy with it as it is being picked for round 1, not NAB round 3.
Agree 100%. But just speculating I think it is likely that Dempsey, Hocking and Nash to come back in after being rested. I would not be surprised to see Nathan Lovett-Murray being rested, other options include Pev, JJ, Mal, Myers and Pears.

DaSawx
24 Feb 2008, 12:29
Exactly, any player who has both games so far is a chance to be rested

bomba4eva
24 Feb 2008, 13:57
Get Hislop, Nash, Hocking, Dempsey, Stanton, McPhee and perhaps Fletcher into the team.
Remove Peverill, Johnson, Michael, Atkinson, Chartres and Lovett Murray.
Want Pears and Myers to stay into the team. Hopefully Riewoldt gets a game as Id love to see Ryder or perhaps even Pears get a crack at him. Im hoping St Kilda puts out a competitive team so we can get a better indication at some of the quality of our players.

HULK HOGAN
24 Feb 2008, 14:12

At the family day today Knights did say he had a plan and that Stanton would play and he hasn't decided on fletch.
What a great day today was fortunate to coach R Dyson at U/17 level so was able to get a few short cuts with photos and autographs.
Thanks Ricky!!!:thumbsu:

HULK HOGAN
24 Feb 2008, 14:14
Watching Friday nights game I thought the game might slowly be going past JJ?

donsman4eva
24 Feb 2008, 14:31
I'd like to see Nash get a run in the centre, see how he goes. He might be one of the guys that gets rotated through the centre throughout the year, which would be good. Imagine how much Lloyd and Lucas would love leading out to his kicks :eek:

GmeUP
24 Feb 2008, 15:01
Ryder cannot ruck this game. Need him to curb Kosi.

Stanton and McPhee would be good to see back.
Perhaps rest JJ and Pev who have worked hard in recent weeks.

would like to see reimers, atkinson, houli and lonergan stay out there

I doubt Kosi will be out there aginst us next week given his scare on the weekend and with Gehrig gone he will be cotton-wooled for round 1. Atkinson and Pears can run off their 4th best tall forward and Dusty on Riewoldt.

Likewise I dubt we will play McPhee in the NAB game given he is suffering tightness. JJ can do with the rest but Pev needs a cracker this week or he can't possibly be a chance of making our round 1 squad hence he stays in.

kelvin_sheedy
24 Feb 2008, 15:22

Yep, have to agree on this one.

Even in the first game where he got a bit of the ball in the second half he looked very ordinary at the start when the pace of the game was pretty high.

I say play him every game possible and see if he can get his body and fitness up back up to AFL standard.

I reckon he and Peverill are competing for a spot in the side and that's probably just as an emergency as players like Monfries, Dyson, Houli, Hocking :D have gone past them.

Tyler16
24 Feb 2008, 16:16
Pears is a very good player, like his pace and speed. Hopefully he gets another run with myers. Fletch has been around long enough to striaght to round one. Give Lucas a rest as his done enough. Johns needs a run and so does lee. Any word on Winderlich?? He looks fit but he is a player that i think is ready to have a big year... he would really be good in the quick midfield

DaSawx
24 Feb 2008, 18:11
Any word on Winderlich?? He looks fit but he is a player that i think is ready to have a big year... he would really be good in the quick midfield

Has hurt his back and is struggling to make round 1 unfortunately

The Dustbin
24 Feb 2008, 18:13
Has hurt his back and is struggling to make round 1 unfortunately

Has a slip disk and is going to be doubtful for round 1.

Sam the RAMA fan
24 Feb 2008, 20:58
Fri, 29/02/2008
19:40 Dome!!

Schmick
24 Feb 2008, 22:36
IN: Stanton, Fletcher, Dempsey, Nash, Slattery, Hocking.
OUT: Chartres, Dick, Hooker, Johnson, Peverill, Atkinson.

Napier_Street
25 Feb 2008, 03:50

Whilst there is still a place for a cork in a fine bottle of wine, there is still and always will be a place for Jason Johnson at Essendon

hulld
25 Feb 2008, 08:35
yer there is......its called the bendigo bombers

FandangoDingo
25 Feb 2008, 10:42
At the family day today Knights did say he had a plan and that Stanton would play and he hasn't decided on fletch.
What a great day today was fortunate to coach R Dyson at U/17 level so was able to get a few short cuts with photos and autographs.
Thanks Ricky!!!:thumbsu:

So you're responsible for developing Ricky's skills?!?! :eek: ;)

HULK HOGAN
25 Feb 2008, 14:07
So you're responsible for developing Ricky's skills?!?! :eek: ;)
He's going to be very good this year mark my words!!!:thumbsu:
Was rapt to see Reimers playing on Acker on friday night gave him PLENTY of stick to which was great don't know how long he played on him for but he definitely doesn't take a backward step. I'm very happy to predict a few headaches for Knights and the rest of the selection commitee in the coming weeks, was listening to a couple of people talk of our forward line potential , would you belive they didn't mention number 18?????

DonMania#5
25 Feb 2008, 16:21
Matthew Lloyd a 50/50 chance to play v St.Kilda according to Channel 7.

loopy_cam
25 Feb 2008, 17:16
Matthew Lloyd a 50/50 chance to play v St.Kilda according to Channel 7.

He shouldnt play then.

Merv
25 Feb 2008, 17:22
He shouldnt play then.

He won't

bloods01
25 Feb 2008, 17:31
I know you guys are talking about the St.Kilda game. I know Knights has blooded kids in the NAB Cup and you have quite a few guys to come back in, but what are the chances of Houli remaining in the team for Round 1?

Big Blow Hard
25 Feb 2008, 17:32
They won't risk McPhee will they? Has he recovered? They will err on the side of caution surely.

Will one of the young guns get the job on Reiwoldt if he plays, or a more experienced defender?

Merv
25 Feb 2008, 17:44
I know you guys are talking about the St.Kilda game. I know Knights has blooded kids in the NAB Cup and you have quite a few guys to come back in, but what are the chances of Houli remaining in the team for Round 1?

Barring injury he is almost guaranteed.

There is already a thread for SC/DT questions.....

Big Blow Hard
25 Feb 2008, 17:47
Sc/dt?

Wahooti Fandango
25 Feb 2008, 17:49
Sc/dt?

Sc = super coach

dt = dream team

sikmoe
25 Feb 2008, 18:56
They won't risk McPhee will they? Has he recovered? They will err on the side of caution surely.

Will one of the young guns get the job on Reiwoldt if he plays, or a more experienced defender?

ryder will have the job on him if he is to return.

Qsaint
26 Feb 2008, 02:45
ryder will have the job on him if he is to return.

I doubt you'll have to bother Roo, Gherig and Kosi probably won't play

Smokin
26 Feb 2008, 07:53
Michael had stiffness/soreness and is in the limited training group isnt he? Considering he has played 2 games, probably a monty to miss.

Going by the rotational policy Knights has previously said, midfielders like Houli and Dyson who have worked a lot in the first 2 games may get rested as well, as pleasing as their form has been.

PressureCooker
26 Feb 2008, 10:35
Michael had stiffness/soreness and is in the limited training group isnt he? Considering he has played 2 games, probably a monty to miss.

Going by the rotational policy Knights has previously said, midfielders like Houli and Dyson who have worked a lot in the first 2 games may get rested as well, as pleasing as their form has been.
Personally, I would leave Dyson in the team. He is just starting to feel like he belongs and his confidence is growing so why not let him keep improving so he's near his peak come round 1.

The Dustbin
26 Feb 2008, 17:53
I reckon Nash, Slattery, Dempsey, Stanton, Fletcher, Hocking will come in for JJ, Pev, Mal, Rama, Spike and Dick.

hulld
26 Feb 2008, 19:32
spike and rama have only played the one game so i reckon they will stay in. especially as spike looked pretty rusty and with every game rama gets under the belt he will improve

Schmick
26 Feb 2008, 21:54
spike and rama have only played the one game so i reckon they will stay in. especially as spike looked pretty rusty and with every game rama gets under the belt he will improve
Exactly my thoughts.

hulld
27 Feb 2008, 09:01
hislop any chance for this week???

FandangoDingo
27 Feb 2008, 10:10
He's going to be very good this year mark my words!!!:thumbsu:

Be honest... You said the same thing last year, didn't you? And at the start of 2006 too?? 2005?? :o

But I do so very much hope you're right!

bomberstomake8
27 Feb 2008, 10:32
Bomber trio defused

Amelia Harris | February 27, 2008 12:10pm

Email article (http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/email/popup/0,21993,23284201-19742,00.html)
Share Add to Digg (http://digg.com/submit) Add to del.icio.us (http://del.icio.us/post?v=4) Post to NewsVine (http://www.newsvine.com/_wine/save) Post to Facebook (http://www.facebook.com/share.php) What are these? (http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/share/popup)
Printer friendly (http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,23284201-19742,00.html#)
Text size+ (http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,23284201-19742,00.html#)- (http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,23284201-19742,00.html#)

ESSENDON big guns Matthew Lloyd, Dustin Fletcher and Adam McPhee will miss Friday night¿s NAB Cup semi-final against St Kilda. Coach Matthew Knights said Fletcher (knee soreness) and Lloyd (hamstring) would return next week.

“If it was the season proper Lloyd, Fletcher and McPhee still wouldn’t be playing this week,” Knights said.

“What ever happens this week we will play our strongest possible side next week. That’s always been the plan from eight weeks ago.

“From a utopia point of view I probably would have liked it to be this week as well but it just so happens that Fletcher, Lloyd, McPhee, Winderlich and Lovett are not available.”

Brent Stanton will return along with a handful of other players.

bomberstomake8
27 Feb 2008, 10:46
Bombers set for NAB Cup semi-final

Wednesday, 27 February 2008
The Dome will be red hot this Friday night as a determined Bomber line-up take to the mainstage for the semi-final of the NAB Cup against a pacey St Kilda unit.

It has been Essendon’s young guns who have really stood out in the past two victories and they will be heavily relied upon again this week with the Bombers fronting up to the match with big name exclusions – most significantly Matthew Lloyd, Dustin Fletcher and Adam McPhee.
Essendon’s rising stars will be looking to make the most of the opportunity though, and are eager to put their stamp on the match while proving their worth to Matthew Knights.
The Bombers’ free-flowing movement out of defence and their ability to link up effectively by hand really set the team apart last week, and they will need to capitalise on this in Friday night’s match if they are to seize the game. And, with Courtenay Dempsey and Jay Nash set to return to the Essenodn backline this week, exciting times lie ahead.
Bachar Houli and Angus Monfries made the opposition stand up and take notice last week as they continued the hard running out of the backline and through the midfield, combining it with strong tackling pressure to generate a potent mix. If they are able to continue this and blend well with the more experienced Mark McVeigh and Adam Ramanauskas, they are likely to create some headaches for St Kilda’s centres.

The return of Brent Stanton for his first NAB Cup game for 2008 will add further depth to the Bombers' midfield rotation.

Get your 2008 membership here. (http://www.essendonfc.com.au/membership/default2008.asp)
The Saints, despite encountering injuries to key players last week with Justin Koschitzke, Fraser Gehrig and Max Hudghton set to miss, also tout key inclusions with co-captains Nick Riewoldt and Lenny Hayes, Matt Maguire, Luke Ball and Robert Harvey a chance to play this week. Their experience will be a good test for the young Bomber line-up.
There are a few potential candidates who could secure the unenviable task of managing Nick Riewolt’s influence. Patrick Ryder is the obvious choice but the duties may be shared between two of the Essendon defenders.
At the other end of the ground, Scott Lucas has the potential to inflict some damage again this week after an impressive individual effort last week in which he personally added five goals – two of which were supergoals – to the Bombers’ side of the scorers list. He will also have the assistance of goalsneaks Alwyn Davey and Andrew Welsh – who looks well cemented up forward.
Despite the word from the Essendon camp suggesting the team’s sole focus is for Round 1 of the season proper, the Bombers will not be eager to be defeated in this encounter and are likely to pull out all the tricks in what shapes up as a real, competitive test.

http://img255.imageshack.us/img255/3918/nabrnd3th0.jpg

who are these host of young players who could play on Riewoldt? unless we go campbell brown style you wouldnt think we have anyone other then ryder who could play on him.

Pevers-Legend
27 Feb 2008, 10:57
hislop any chance for this week???

grog ban - see the lovett thread

The Dustbin
27 Feb 2008, 11:01
Hope Bellchambers plays, see what he is like.

bomberstomake8
27 Feb 2008, 11:03
Hope Bellchambers plays, see what he is like.

you would think we couldnt have laycock hille bellchambers and ryder in the same team... i guess hille could be FF ryder CHB for the match which would leave laycock and bellchambers ruck combination. To big for my liking though

Pevers-Legend
27 Feb 2008, 11:03
squad has been posted:

no: dyson, NLM, Myers, Pears, Jetta, Pev

Ins: Johns, Stanton, Slatts, Bellchambers, Hocking, Neagle, Nash, Dempsey

Pevers-Legend
27 Feb 2008, 11:09
Given that we are expecting everyone to have a rest (if what they have siad is true and so far it seems to be occuring) then both Hille and Laycock will get a rest - probelmis if we make the granny - I expect both to play . One will miss this week I rekcon.

bomberstomake8
27 Feb 2008, 11:23
Given that we are expecting everyone to have a rest (if what they have siad is true and so far it seems to be occuring) then both Hille and Laycock will get a rest - probelmis if we make the granny - I expect both to play . One will miss this week I rekcon.

yeh i was thinking that but now i think both will keep playing, i think knights wants to get more game time into them so they can gel more effectively as a combo and get used to playing forward on occasions... with no lloyd or gumbelton or mcphee we dont really have a FF which makes me think hille will play 75% of the match as a FF if not more and laycock/bellchambers to be doing the ruckwork..

i think its more important that hille and laycock get gametime then making sure they get adequate rest... we all saw them last year, they are both great when alone but as a combination they arent very damaging.. imho they need to learn to work together a lot better

The Dustbin
27 Feb 2008, 11:26
So who is out from last week, looks like it is Pears, Myers, Dyson, Jetta, NLM, anyone else??

Ludwig van Bertstare
27 Feb 2008, 11:27
Houli won't play according to Knights in his press conference on BomberTV.

The Dustbin
27 Feb 2008, 11:35
Houli won't play according to Knights in his press conference on BomberTV.

Bugger. :(

SirJimi05
27 Feb 2008, 11:43
Bombers set for NAB Cup semi-final

Wednesday, 27 February 2008
The Dome will be red hot this Friday night as a determined Bomber line-up take to the mainstage for the semi-final of the NAB Cup against a pacey St Kilda unit.

It has been Essendon’s young guns who have really stood out in the past two victories and they will be heavily relied upon again this week with the Bombers fronting up to the match with big name exclusions – most significantly Matthew Lloyd, Dustin Fletcher and Adam McPhee.
Essendon’s rising stars will be looking to make the most of the opportunity though, and are eager to put their stamp on the match while proving their worth to Matthew Knights.
The Bombers’ free-flowing movement out of defence and their ability to link up effectively by hand really set the team apart last week, and they will need to capitalise on this in Friday night’s match if they are to seize the game. And, with Courtenay Dempsey and Jay Nash set to return to the Essenodn backline this week, exciting times lie ahead.
Bachar Houli and Angus Monfries made the opposition stand up and take notice last week as they continued the hard running out of the backline and through the midfield, combining it with strong tackling pressure to generate a potent mix. If they are able to continue this and blend well with the more experienced Mark McVeigh and Adam Ramanauskas, they are likely to create some headaches for St Kilda’s centres.

The return of Brent Stanton for his first NAB Cup game for 2008 will add further depth to the Bombers' midfield rotation.

Get your 2008 membership here. (http://www.essendonfc.com.au/membership/default2008.asp)
The Saints, despite encountering injuries to key players last week with Justin Koschitzke, Fraser Gehrig and Max Hudghton set to miss, also tout key inclusions with co-captains Nick Riewoldt and Lenny Hayes, Matt Maguire, Luke Ball and Robert Harvey a chance to play this week. Their experience will be a good test for the young Bomber line-up.
There are a few potential candidates who could secure the unenviable task of managing Nick Riewolt’s influence. Patrick Ryder is the obvious choice but the duties may be shared between two of the Essendon defenders.
At the other end of the ground, Scott Lucas has the potential to inflict some damage again this week after an impressive individual effort last week in which he personally added five goals – two of which were supergoals – to the Bombers’ side of the scorers list. He will also have the assistance of goalsneaks Alwyn Davey and Andrew Welsh – who looks well cemented up forward.
Despite the word from the Essendon camp suggesting the team’s sole focus is for Round 1 of the season proper, the Bombers will not be eager to be defeated in this encounter and are likely to pull out all the tricks in what shapes up as a real, competitive test.

Essendon’s squad is:
Backs: Slattery Michael Ramanauskas
Half-backs: Nash Ryder Dempsey
Centres: Watson McVeigh Peverill
Half-forwards: Welsh Lucas Laycock
Forwards: Monfries Johns Davey
Rucks: Hille Houli Stanton
Bench: Johnson Neagle Atkinson Hocking Dick Chartres Bellchambers Reimers Lonergan Magin Hooker

who are these host of young players who could play on Riewoldt? unless we go campbell brown style you wouldnt think we have anyone other then ryder who could play on him.

The Roo isn't even playing is he?

Giggidy Giggidy
27 Feb 2008, 12:19
So who is out from last week, looks like it is Pears, Myers, Dyson, Jetta, NLM, anyone else??

Thats all. With 3 to trim from the squad the changes are:

IN: Bellchambers; Dempsey; Hocking; Johns; Nash; Neagle; Slattery; Stanton
OUT: Dyson; Jetta; Lovett-Murray; Myers; Pears

Suprised to see Dyson out. Hopefully Knights feels he has proven himself and will select him come Round 1.

Happy to see Neagle in.... thought he was still meant to be a few weeks away. Great opportunity with the forwards that are out of the team.

with no lloyd or gumbelton or mcphee we dont really have a FF

Delete that before Merv sees it! :D

FF = Jay Neagle

DaSawx
27 Feb 2008, 12:26
We already have Merv's favourite player, big CJ :)

Merv
27 Feb 2008, 12:49
WTF is my boy doing in the team, he has hardly trained this year?

Will be shattered if he plays, he surely can't be ready

Yeah DS, at least CJ has some little hope, albeit minute, of making it as a FF, so i have no problem with that selection.

ant555
27 Feb 2008, 13:18
squad has been posted:

no: dyson, NLM, Myers, Pears, Jetta, Pev

Ins: Johns, Stanton, Slatts, Bellchambers, Hocking, Neagle, Nash, Dempsey

Not surprising. Knights has said all along he was looking at giving most blokes two or three solid games throughout the NAB Cup/Challenge.

EchucaBomber
27 Feb 2008, 13:21
Why is Ricky Dyson not playing? Haven't had time to look back sorry

bomberstomake8
27 Feb 2008, 13:34
Thats all. With 3 to trim from the squad the changes are:

IN: Bellchambers; Dempsey; Hocking; Johns; Nash; Neagle; Slattery; Stanton
OUT: Dyson; Jetta; Lovett-Murray; Myers; Pears

Delete that before Merv sees it! :D

FF = Jay Neagle

wo my bad, didnt realise jay was in there... must have skipped over his name.

lemon chicken
27 Feb 2008, 13:34
Neagle has to complete Thursday's session before he is considerd and as mentioned Houli is not playing.

goodgolly24
27 Feb 2008, 14:00
Is Jarrod Atkinson really likely to play even though he's named? I only ask because i want to travel down and watch him, but it's a long way and I'd rather not if he's not in.
When will we know the definate team??

DaSawx
27 Feb 2008, 14:09
He'd be a very good chance, unfortunately final teams won't be known till Friday sometimes most likely

windyhill
27 Feb 2008, 16:20
Ess in a tight one, 5-6 points.

PressureCooker
27 Feb 2008, 16:25
Why is Ricky Dyson not playing? Haven't had time to look back sorry
Just rotation mate. Knights said he wanted to give everyone that was fit at least one game so someone has to make room.

Sam the RAMA fan
27 Feb 2008, 19:31
Got my tickets :D
I love the fact FOOTY is back!!! :thumbsu:

Look forward to seeing Neagle out there.
Also Johns,would like to see if he can bring something to Essendon this year..
although,I don't know if he will get much game time this season..
He hardly ever does..

GO DONS.

Big Blow Hard
27 Feb 2008, 19:46
Houli has played 2, been named in squad for this one. I hope he does not get dropped if we make the final. That would be dissapointing. Maybe he will be dropped from the team on Friday.

Pevers-Legend
28 Feb 2008, 07:39
Is Jarrod Atkinson really likely to play even though he's named? I only ask because i want to travel down and watch him, but it's a long way and I'd rather not if he's not in.
When will we know the definate team??

We have been rotating the senior players, but playing the rookies. I would hope given that the rookies don't get another chance during the year (barring injuryy), that Knights continues to play them for their development.

FandangoDingo
28 Feb 2008, 11:01
Why is Ricky Dyson not playing?

Haven't you seen him kick???!?!!? :eek: ;) :cool: :D

diesel1
29 Feb 2008, 15:29
Houli has played 2, been named in squad for this one. I hope he does not get dropped if we make the final. That would be dissapointing. Maybe he will be dropped from the team on Friday.
he won't be playing, being rested