View Full Version : GDFL U/18's 2008

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

soupy66
25th February 2008, 12:34
Anyone know how many teams look to being in for this year?

Any significant new players or transfers worth discussion?

wonderin1
27th February 2008, 16:03
hey good to c that there is finally a thread for the gdfl under 18's.. i no some friends that play in gdfl under 18's... wats the news on teams.. all ill say is the team my freinds play for are lookin strong again.. :)

soupy66
28th February 2008, 07:39
Heard Blue West playing a praccy against Forrest on Saturday 12 or 1pm I think

North Geelong's side might be a bit more competitive this year, altho they have lost Ash Cullen to Corio but Hutchys back

Heard Red West mght not have a team in GFL

wonderin1
28th February 2008, 19:54
how many teams gunna b in the comp this yr.. who r gunna b the powerhouses of the under 18's.. there only one team that comes to mind...;)

soupy66
28th February 2008, 20:37
how many teams gunna b in the comp this yr.. who r gunna b the powerhouses of the under 18's.. there only one team that comes to mind...;)

not gunna get far on this thread wth jus two of us................

watch_this_space
29th February 2008, 18:41
Does anyone know if thomson has a under18 side this year? they havent had one for a while.

favre
2nd March 2008, 18:54
i dont know mate. they had one the last few years but last year only could manage 15-16 a game and went downwards so they forfeited all there games but the league i hear has everyteam bar two? wonderin1 - which is that team may i ask

wonderin1
2nd March 2008, 19:18
werribee centrals.. how is every other team lookin.. how many teams there gunna be?? 10??

favre
4th March 2008, 03:26
yer weribee always seeem to be a pretty decent looking side, wouldnt know how many teams are in there hopefully round ten i heard only two missing out but have to wait till closer in. north geeelong have supposdly improved and bell post hill have been gettin a few numbers also

Thomson 2008
4th March 2008, 18:03
Just letting you know Guys Thomson going to have an under 18 side and Thomson didn't have an under 18 side Centrals and North Geelong the boys played with last year.

wonderin1
5th March 2008, 09:01
can any one tell me of any players to watch out for....

Wiskers32
5th March 2008, 13:05

matt reid - bph , nathan robertson - bph ( old man is legend at north )
cal bartlett - north , blake hutchinson - north,

favre
5th March 2008, 20:58
what duds, well not 2 of them =)

soupy66
5th March 2008, 21:32
matt reid - bph , nathan robertson - bph ( old man is legend at north )
cal bartlett - north , blake hutchinson - north,

lookin 4wd to seein hutchy bak on the park - have missed his talent
north boys look a bit better this year and should be able to field a full team of proper age kids not topping up with the next age down as they did last year in 18s and 16s

Assuming Cal and Hutchy are not the duds? Bartlett playing Falcons so not sure how many games at north he will get.

wonderin1
6th March 2008, 08:10
never heard of them.. did they play last yr??

favre
6th March 2008, 21:10
aha you guessed it there not the duds, nah north geel look the gooods i reckon this year will be much better

macromantic
7th March 2008, 04:23
Belmont Lions have got an under18s team happenin good for the league and under18s in genral:thumbsu:

geelongfooty
7th March 2008, 08:36
braydee watts north geelong
james hobbs bannockburn
dylan watt bannockburn
brent mcloed thomson
jack purcell inverleigh
james brumby inverleigh
tim barton bell post hill

wonderin1
7th March 2008, 08:44
james hobbs bannockburn
dylan watt bannockburn
brent mcloed thomson
jack purcell inverleigh
james brumby inverleigh

No1 from werribee is rated???? im surprised.. :eek:

geelongfooty
7th March 2008, 09:12
james hobbs bannockburn
dylan watt bannockburn
brent mcloed thomson
jack purcell inverleigh
james brumby inverleigh

No1 from werribee is rated???? im surprised.. :eek:
theres plenty its just out of my knowledge reach, too far away

Wiskers32
7th March 2008, 10:37
james hobbs bannockburn
dylan watt bannockburn
brent mcloed thomson
jack purcell inverleigh
james brumby inverleigh

mcloed is at grammer wont play at thomson i hear.
barton should be pushing senior selection.

wonderin1
7th March 2008, 13:13
theres plenty its just out of my knowledge reach, too far away

ok then ill give same names from werribee to watch out for...

Deven ellis: wore #19 last yr.. came 2nd in bnf
Ryan quarrier: wore #2 last yr.. played few senior games last yr
Brandon turner: new to club.. played in wrfl Altona u/18a premiship team last yr..

That jus to name a couple

soupy66
7th March 2008, 19:59
mcloed is at grammer wont play at thomson i hear.
barton should be pushing senior selection.

mcleod is falcons too I think if that adds to his unavailability and not sure about if he's in Vic training squad

Blake Hutchinson -at North Geelong - back from knee reco last year - if he captures form he's definitely one to watch

favre
8th March 2008, 08:58
tell me deven is still kicking in 18s? longish blonde hair? and that ryan, yeh they go alrite actually , deven aint that bad at all. tim barton will find it hard to push into a bph seniors side at the moment and braydee watts is very consisntent

wonderin1
8th March 2008, 09:09
tell me deven is still kicking in 18s? longish blonde hair? and that ryan, yeh they go alrite actually , deven aint that bad at all. tim barton will find it hard to push into a bph seniors side at the moment and braydee watts is very consisntent

yer thats the one u thinkin of... is there a fixture out yet.. one of my freinds who playin u/18's this yr at werrribee sed they got north geelong first game.. if so it will be good to c if north will have improved since last yr.. any praccys been played yet.. werribee has one on saturday 15/3.. they playin an edfl team.. won the premiship last yr..

dingles
8th March 2008, 19:37

Mate are you dumb?

soupy66
9th March 2008, 09:48
Mate are you dumb?

No need for name calling - cheap shot - you are are the first post on this thread with negative input.

Only mentioned re player movement from GDFL - but is legit - players told to hang on till sure of numbers. That's from inside the club.

juniorcat29
9th March 2008, 19:52

Not true
they been getting new faces at training for awhile now
could be one to watch out for this season :thumbsu:

soupy66
9th March 2008, 20:27
Not true
they been getting new faces at training for awhile now
could be one to watch out for this season :thumbsu:

yeah, heard that last week but till then it was up in the air..........glad about it too cos I have a mate playing there - thanks

wonderin1
9th March 2008, 22:14
this mite seem stupid but seein as i havent been round gdfl long who r red west n blue west?? wat r there proper names.. lol

juniorcat29
10th March 2008, 12:12
yeah, heard that last week but till then it was up in the air..........glad about it too cos I have a mate playing there - thanks

no worries, they have a practice match soon , dont no what team it is though, interseting to see if the bottom team of last year have improved from only winning 1 game this year.

dingles
11th March 2008, 19:34
i'll tell u now red west are going to be alot better
they have recruited very well...not goign to be a push over this year guarantee that

geelongfooty
12th March 2008, 08:56
this mite seem stupid but seein as i havent been round gdfl long who r red west n blue west?? wat r there proper names.. lol
red west are geelong west st.peters play in gfl near sale yards hotel
blue west are geelong west sporting club play (or try to) in the gdfl situated on shannon ave

wonderin1
12th March 2008, 09:45
red west are geelong west st.peters play in gfl near sale yards hotel
blue west are geelong west sporting club play (or try to) in the gdfl situated on shannon ave

sweet as thanks for that.. any teams had a praccy yet.. my friend tells me that they (centrals) have a praccy this week.. should b a good hit out for the premiers

dingles
12th March 2008, 13:56
Rumour has it that braydee watts is training at Bellpark...and wants to make the move..
unlukcy for north

favre
12th March 2008, 16:34
and im sure braydee would be able to make that move

soupy66
12th March 2008, 21:49
Rumour has it that braydee watts is training at Bellpark...and wants to make the move..
unlukcy for north

nah Braydes is a north boy thru'n'thru

Lion Cub Tamer
13th March 2008, 19:41
Hi All.
The Belmont lions are slowly recruiting.
We have about 13 players, with a couple more to come.
if we have to we will promote some of u16 up the tree to get a team together.

our players to watch:
Jamie Duggan ex grovedale.
Lachy Edwards (geelong Falcons trainee)
Mat Wakefield ex Torquay.

goodes-train
14th March 2008, 20:35
yeh red west hav been doing a bit of recruiting...scooter harvey absolute superstar:thumbsd:
does any1 kno how werribee are shaping up compared to last season??

Heartbreak Kid
14th March 2008, 20:36
sweet as thanks for that.. any teams had a praccy yet.. my friend tells me that they (centrals) have a praccy this week.. should b a good hit out for the premiers

Gday wonderin. My guys are playing WC tomorrow and they will beat us by 10 goals easy. We also won our premiership last year but we have lost 9 players to seniors. We will still give it our all but we wont be up to it. Sorry but the game will be a fizzer after half time;)

galpal
14th March 2008, 20:56
I m a footy female and listen to krock on Sat morning.can u tell me who those three guys are on "sports briefs"that discuss gdfl.how can i get in touch with them?

Heartbreak Kid
16th March 2008, 09:06
l was close wonderin, as werribee centrals beat the sharks by six goals. l was impressed with their discipline and they had a few good running players who could use the footy well. Good luck to them this year:thumbsu:

kainokaino
16th March 2008, 17:19
ok then ill give same names from werribee to watch out for...

Deven ellis: wore #19 last yr.. came 2nd in bnf
Ryan quarrier: wore #2 last yr.. played few senior games last yr
Brandon turner: new to club.. played in wrfl Altona u/18a premiship team last yr..

That jus to name a couple

brandon turner has actually decided to stay with altona ..

apparantly the coach called him a few times and got in hes ear to stay down at the club:thumbsd:

bphtheworst
17th March 2008, 13:23
bph they are the worst a dog has a better chance at winning a flag then those fools hahahahahaha:thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd::D:D

from PSE

wonderin1
17th March 2008, 15:36
brandon turner has actually decided to stay with altona ..

apparantly the coach called him a few times and got in hes ear to stay down at the club:thumbsd:

hey sounds like u no bit bout entrals. i couldnt make it down to game on weekend.. how did they play.. who played well..

galpal
18th March 2008, 19:35
Does anyone know who the local footy expert is on GDFL?Have heard those three guys on sports briefs on gdfl-who do you think is the most knowledgable?

soupy66
19th March 2008, 18:17
Does anyone know who the local footy expert is on GDFL?Have heard those three guys on sports briefs on gdfl-who do you think is the most knowledgable?

howdy

I pm'd you contact details did you get that? There's also www.geelongadvertiser.com.au (http://www.geelongadvertiser.com.au) sport Graeme Rawlins or Milky Mahoney write - can't remembr which one does GDFL

galpal
21st March 2008, 17:49
link to that website did not provide any details. how can i get in touch with either of those guys.have some basic footy questions to ask.which days do they write for the addy?
Milky Mahoney-thats an odd name isnt it?

ryanmathieson
23rd March 2008, 20:13
Just letting you know that there are a few rumours that east geelong are getting a few RMIT university players that only just sneak in to the under 18's to play for them

wonderin1
24th March 2008, 09:35
Just letting you know that there are a few rumours that east geelong are getting a few RMIT university players that only just sneak in to the under 18's to play for them

jus cos they uni students doesnt mean they gunna b any good..

chappy_35
25th March 2008, 16:00
bph they are the worst a dog has a better chance at winning a flag then those fools hahahahahaha:thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd::D:D

from PSE
mate do you even play? bell post hill will be top three this year you have no clue i bet you probaly play the hill round 1 do you

wonderin1
25th March 2008, 20:08
mate do you even play? bell post hill will be top three this year you have no clue i bet you probaly play the hill round 1 do you

n who r the other teams that gunna b top three this yr..

spider36
28th March 2008, 13:17
I m a footy female and listen to krock on Sat morning.can u tell me who those three guys are on "sports briefs"that discuss gdfl.how can i get in touch with them?

Andrew Bews and Tom King host Sports Brief on KROCK. You can get Kingy by ringing the station( but make sure its before 12.00) during the week.
As for the GDFL expert, there isn't one although Noel Fanning does the write ups for the addy

BFC26
29th March 2008, 16:57
Is there a website that has the draw for this year? If so can any one please tell me what this site is called?

kainokaino
29th March 2008, 19:11
hey sounds like u no bit bout entrals. i couldnt make it down to game on weekend.. how did they play.. who played well..

sorry about the late reply ..

umm the team played a good disiplined game and best players were devan ellis and david todaro.

also had a practise match today and got up against wyndhamvale 18a's by a few points after being down at 3rd quarter time ... and got up against the wind in the last quarter

soupy66
29th March 2008, 20:52
Is there a website that has the draw for this year? If so can any one please tell me what this site is called?

http://geelongdfl.vcfl.com.au then competitions and thirds are the u/18's

wonderin1
30th March 2008, 08:10
sorry about the late reply ..

umm the team played a good disiplined game and best players were devan ellis and david todaro.

also had a practise match today and got up against wyndhamvale 18a's by a few points after being down at 3rd quarter time ... and got up against the wind in the last quarter

i made it down to the game this week, n i was impressed with the win.. i acctually thought that they were beat'n around the ground but managed to win, were those best players for the wyndham vale game.. david todaro is the one they were callin aldo or something similar yer?? i woodnt have put him in the best.. thought that he hogged the ball a bit and every time he got the ball seemed to get caught..

kainokaino
30th March 2008, 13:02
i made it down to the game this week, n i was impressed with the win.. i acctually thought that they were beat'n around the ground but managed to win, were those best players for the wyndham vale game.. david todaro is the one they were callin aldo or something similar yer?? i woodnt have put him in the best.. thought that he hogged the ball a bit and every time he got the ball seemed to get caught..

nah those wernt bests for yesterday ..
i didnt think anyone really stood out yesterday more of a team effort all over the ground

goodes-train
1st April 2008, 13:35
does anybody kno wether teams like Blue West, Anakie, Belmont and Corio will b getting teams? a lot of talk around that they are all struggling for numbers!

spider36
1st April 2008, 13:46
does anybody kno wether teams like Blue West, Anakie, Belmont and Corio will b getting teams? a lot of talk around that they are all struggling for numbers!

I know that Belmont have got a side. We have about 23 players. West have also got a team, we play them this weekend.

Dougy08
1st April 2008, 14:06
I heard that North Geelong 18's have got a couple of good recruits??
Any news anybody??

Dougy08
1st April 2008, 15:47
one to watch this year for North Geelong 18's
B Schwennesen
had a big pre season built up the arms a little...
done a fair bit of work with the seniors...
very impresive player...
LOOK OUT 08

favre
1st April 2008, 16:00
wasnt much chop last year

Dougy08
1st April 2008, 19:19
zane britton from thomson josh podna and nathan kenyon from north shore some good names 4 the pies

wonderin1
1st April 2008, 19:24
anyone got any predictions on who will win there first round games this week..

therunner
1st April 2008, 19:44
zane britton from thomson josh podna and nathan kenyon from north shore some good names 4 the pies

Josh Podna & Nathan Kenyon will play senior football majority of the year.

DEVILS
1st April 2008, 20:25

Corio will be fine have about 25 players just struggling to get them to training often but they will be right for round1

Dougy08
2nd April 2008, 15:36
Weather Podna and Kenyon play 18's, Seniors or Reserves, there still good recruits for the Mighty Pies..!

Prediction of North to get over Hill in a blow out, With Hutchy kickin 12 playin Full Foward in his return game...!

favre
2nd April 2008, 17:54
geez that will be cute. both hutchys toe to toe round one. where is that played does anyone know?

kainokaino
2nd April 2008, 18:02
hasnt really been any talk on here about inverleigh ...
anyone know how there sides looking ?
results from practise matches ?

favre
2nd April 2008, 18:05
hasnt really been any talk on here about inverleigh ...
anyone know how there sides looking ?
results from practise matches ?

probably because there woeful each year. good on them always gettin a side in tho

kainokaino
2nd April 2008, 18:12
probably because there woeful each year. good on them always gettin a side in tho

Didnt they finish 4th last year :confused:

favre
2nd April 2008, 18:18
Didnt they finish 4th last year :confused:

i think they did but last year was only a 3 team league (weribee,banno,bellposthill. then north who were average at best and inverleigh who would struggle to be average. the rest were teams who played with 16-17 each game cept maybe east geeelong who were just horrible!

Dougy08
2nd April 2008, 18:22
tyson hasnt got his clearence yet so it mite b a no show from him...
its played at north... 10.00 start i think... should b a good game....

inverleigh finished fourth last year but were knocked out 1st final by the pies...
they had a pretty impressive u/16's outfit last year.. so they should b competitive in the 18s again..

should b a good year overall!!!

wonderin1
3rd April 2008, 10:44
anyone gots any news on banno... how many of there players from last yr are still playi 18's this yr...

wonderin1
7th April 2008, 09:44
how did all the teams go??

geelongfooty
7th April 2008, 13:51
how did all the teams go??

rumour has it james hobbs from bannockburn shook gods hand while taking a quite spectacular mark on top of some poor chaps head.

spoon30
10th April 2008, 21:19
Werribee Centrals beat Inverleigh by 80 odd points

and have Belmont Lions this weekend at home.

soupy66
11th April 2008, 20:39
[quote=Dougy08;10511435]one to watch this year for North Geelong 18's
B Schwennesen
had a big pre season built up the arms a little...
done a fair bit of work with the seniors...
very impresive player...
LOOK OUT 08[/quote

yoogie a much under rated player - north 18's mite go alright this year. hutchy prob play seniors tho

kainokaino
12th April 2008, 16:28
werribee centrals beat belmont by about 20 goals

fevalenko
13th April 2008, 10:10
player to watch is definately Kaine Williams from Werribee Centrals has put on a lot of bulk.. would have put on 10-12 kilo in the off season and also has increased his 20m sprint times by .8secs which is phenomonel.... its only a matter of time til this man tears a game apart!!!!

Dougy08
15th April 2008, 15:52
Werribee Vs Nth Geelong in 2 weeks.....
should b a very good game.....

Azza_Go_Cats
16th April 2008, 21:11
anyone gots any news on banno... how many of there players from last yr are still playi 18's this yr...

Banno have alot of new boys coming in. i played with Lewis Tully and Matt Cotton last year and they are ones to watch.

wonderin1
16th April 2008, 21:37
Werribee Vs Nth Geelong in 2 weeks.....
should b a very good game.....

who do u think will win it.. do u think north?? it will be interesting to c who wins.. north may have beaten bannock but werribee play a whole different style and this might b the difference..

the RL rookie
17th April 2008, 15:06
Some huge rumours goin around that a werribee centrals player knocked a belmont lions player out "cold"... this hit made barry halls look like a little feather punch... the whole oval thought the freezer was open cos he was out COLD!!!!!!!

Werribee Centrals are a forced to be reckoned with this year with huge signings over the off season headed by noa fonua, matty de luca and boofa... also the signing of key power forward dean cachia who has started the season well with 6 on the weekend

Also rumours are about that a star rugby league player by the name of mitty fukn V will b pullin the boots on for werribee centrals as another one of centrals pivitol key power houses!!!!!! who has been performing strongly at the gym... this is a 110kg 2.8sec 20m sprinter... unbelievable physique.... WATCH OUT!!!!!!

Wiskers32
17th April 2008, 15:16
Some huge rumours goin around that a werribee centrals player knocked a belmont lions player out "cold"... this hit made barry halls look like a little feather punch... the whole oval thought the freezer was open cos he was out COLD!!!!!!!

Werribee Centrals are a forced to be reckoned with this year with huge signings over the off season headed by noa fonua, matty de luca and boofa... also the signing of key power forward dean cachia who has started the season well with 6 on the weekend

Also rumours are about that a star rugby league player by the name of mitty fukn V will b pullin the boots on for werribee centrals as another one of centrals pivitol key power houses!!!!!! who has been performing strongly at the gym... this is a 110kg 2.8sec 20m sprinter... unbelievable physique.... WATCH OUT!!!!!!

You dont get points for knocking people out, so how about we keep it footy related. The only points you get is if you win the game. 4 points

the RL rookie
17th April 2008, 15:18
You dont get points for knocking people out, so how about we keep it footy related. The only points you get is if you win the game. 4 points

we already get the 4points everyweek at centrals

these r extra knockout points

hi_flyer
17th April 2008, 21:45
anyone know of any good players playing for banno this year??
is their team as strong as in the past??

favre
17th April 2008, 22:55
we already get the 4points everyweek at centrals

these r extra knockout points

weribee centrals would have to produce the most tossers ive ever known

spoon30
19th April 2008, 19:03
weribee centrals would have to produce the most tossers ive ever known

tossers or not werribee are still rising up to the challange and beating every team that they come across

across the ground they are showing skill they are looking to be premiers once again.

they beat banno again today in the grandfinal rematch.

favre
20th April 2008, 19:03
tossers or not werribee are still rising up to the challange and beating every team that they come across

across the ground they are showing skill they are looking to be premiers once again.

they beat banno again today in the grandfinal rematch.

all junior comps skill and talent has dropped from the last 3-4 years. in the gdfl dropped alot

OnetoWatch
20th April 2008, 21:16
Can anyone tell me who the stars are for the inverleigh Under 18's thanks

Ritta
21st April 2008, 17:26
Can anyone tell me who the stars are for the inverleigh Under 18's thanks
Lachie Hill came through from the under 16's and has got best on for inverleigh every game. Will probably play seniors this year.

OnetoWatch
21st April 2008, 17:35
I have heard alot about this young lachie hill kid, from winchelsea orignially isnt he?
Is that all they have or do they have others to back him up
Any under 16s in the mix for a game?

Ritta
21st April 2008, 17:42
I have heard alot about this young lachie hill kid, from winchelsea orignially isnt he?
Is that all they have or do they have others to back him up
Any under 16s in the mix for a game?
Lachie went to inverleigh last year when winch couldn't get an under 16 side. A few of the inver 18s are playing seniors i think. Have picked up a few boys who are under 18 and a half. Still have Kyle Gillett to come back from a broken ankle who kicked 70 goals in 14 games in under 16s 2 years ago.

OnetoWatch
21st April 2008, 17:47
righto thanks for that information mate

OnetoWatch
21st April 2008, 19:43
well from what i can recall two of inverlighs goals were scored by under 16s filling in and lachie hill dominated as usual

but i must say werribee are a impressive outfit
but so are BPH

OnetoWatch
21st April 2008, 19:48
yeah just gotta have some disipline
werribee can go all the way i feel
if thy work together as a team instead of some playrs just playing for themselves
but otherwise a great side

fevalenko
21st April 2008, 20:08
werribee r a team unit
and will b very hard 2 beat
#15 for werribee is an ugly ____

geelong2008
21st April 2008, 20:35
werribee are an extremely well drilled side.
noteably not all players get drawn to the ball creating loose options everywhere.
who is geelongfooty?