View Full Version : EDFL magoos
goal sneak
26th February 2008, 16:38
I know you guys probably don't give a shit about 2's footy but their is a fair chance i will be spending a bit of time in there this season so was just wondering who people thought would have strong reserves teams.
longworrytheonlywaytogo
26th February 2008, 16:45
longworry usally has a strong seconds team
goodie
26th February 2008, 17:46
cora lyn probably will again to.
bigpapagman
27th February 2008, 06:23
I know you guys probably don't give a shit about 2's footy but their is a fair chance i will be spending a bit of time in there this season so was just wondering who people thought would have strong reserves teams.
i may also.
cora lynn should win it.
Pluggeroo
27th February 2008, 14:44
We should be ok again.
We won 10 last year and would hope for the same again this year.
Maybe a couple more and a finals berth.
bigpapagman
27th February 2008, 14:56
We should be ok again.
We won 10 last year and would hope for the same again this year.
Maybe a couple more and a finals berth.
did you guys win 10 last year?
shit. thats alright.
good work.
Pluggeroo
29th February 2008, 07:36
did you guys win 10 last year?
shit. thats alright.
good work.
Yeah we won 10.
We finished 7th and that was correct under the circumstances.
We beat everyone below us and lost to everyone above us. Finished where we should have.
To win 10 this year would be a great result as our draw is a bit harder this year.
So here's hoping.
saint leo
29th February 2008, 08:02
Nyora should be up there again. Was a huge gap between the top 6 and the rest last year.
Cora lynn would have to be favourites, Nyora, Catani, Longwarry, Langy and Buln will be up there too. Cant see any one out of the 6 from last year improving enough to make finals.
bigpapagman
29th February 2008, 08:35
i reckon buln could be the sleepers.
have a fair few older blokes stepping back this year.
goal sneak
29th February 2008, 09:33
Lang Lang should have a good side. Once again led by Mark "Dragon" Hunter in the middle.
bigpapagman
29th February 2008, 09:58
who coaches your twos?
goal sneak
29th February 2008, 10:55
Jeff Campbell
bigpapagman
29th February 2008, 11:45
is he reputable?
or just some shit ****.
goal sneak
29th February 2008, 14:40
Yeah was a good player in his day. Still runs around in the 2s now.
bigpapagman
29th February 2008, 14:44
are you serious about maybe having to play a little bit down this year?
goal sneak
29th February 2008, 14:49
Yeah we have a pretty good side. Will be pretty competitive for spots. Haven't really lost anyone, picked up a couple plus there are a few from last years thirds who will be pushing.
Hopefully i don't have to play 2's but who knows?
bigpapagman
29th February 2008, 14:53
would be dissappointing and an incorrect move by the club IMHO.
goal sneak
29th February 2008, 14:58
thanks for the vote of confidence.
bigpapagman
3rd March 2008, 06:26
no worries, you guys should be playing the good kids when possible.
goal sneak
11th May 2008, 14:42
Thought it would be a good time to give this a bump. Nar Nar Goon and Cora Lynn are undefeated. Lang Lang has been travelling okay too only dropping the 1 match to Cora Lynn.
scottie pippen
11th May 2008, 14:56
cant really comment on many other sides but cora lynn have good depth and with the seniors still with 3 walk up start player to come back in it will obviously improve the 2's outfit.
bigpapagman
12th May 2008, 09:13
yuck.
scottie pippen
12th May 2008, 11:53
yuck.
yep it's looking that way for your side.....chin up
bigpapagman
12th May 2008, 11:59
as good as your 2nds side is, i think it could be a whole lot better.
if your FF wasnt such a hog & forced the side to be so one dimensional, i think you would kick a lot more goals. even the guy i was playing on in the last quarter. (No. 30) said that the FF was a shit bloke & has a crack @ the mids if they dont kick it to him. And he doesnt handball either.
bigpapagman
12th May 2008, 12:01
yep it's looking that way for your side.....chin up
i cant wait for you guys to fall over.
be it this season, next season, whenever.
it will be hilarious.
we'll have to make an MPNFL board so all you blokes can still go on here & pump up your respective clubs.
scottie pippen
12th May 2008, 12:06
every football club has it's highs and lows. Im merely coming onto these forums supporting my side as most of you do.
If we fall over we fall over it's a part of footy but im pretty sure we won't fall as low as you have......and become UNcompetitive
bigpapagman
12th May 2008, 12:23
what? darnum? we're on the way back up. still competetive.
the dusties IMHO are beyond repair.
scottie pippen
18th May 2008, 14:10
what? darnum? we're on the way back up. still competetive.
the dusties IMHO are beyond repair.
yeah suppose your only 20 goals off the best side in the comp...
on the way back up:thumbsd:
goodie
18th May 2008, 17:44
as compared to being 35 goals off like we 2 years ago.
good call champ.
scottie pippen
18th May 2008, 18:06
as compared to being 35 goals off like we 2 years ago.
good call champ.
you may as well be 35 goals off your still an average football side who has way too many passengers and not enough players who put their head over the ball CHAMP
goal sneak
18th May 2008, 18:09
Top post Pippen. 1 win from 7 games says it all.
goodie
18th May 2008, 18:54
i know what you guys are saying we are still losing etc but what i mean is we have gotten better than what we were 2 odd years ago.
or cant you see that?
Stamp
18th May 2008, 19:06
couldnt of gotten much worse than two years ago could yous?
goal sneak
18th May 2008, 19:28
Cora Lynn and Nar Nar Goon undefeated after 7 rounds. Catani lost 1. Lang lang and Nyora have dropped 2.
saint leo
18th May 2008, 20:06
Cora Lynn then daylight in the 2's. NNG, LL, Catani and Nyora will all make finals. NOt sure who the 6th team will be, maybe longwarry.
goodie
18th May 2008, 20:24
couldnt of gotten much worse than two years ago could yous?
near on impossible, thats what im saying.
now>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>then.
goal sneak
18th May 2008, 21:47
Chair Sniffer Troy Buswell >>>>>>>>> Nilma Now >>>>>>>>> Nilma Then
goodie
18th May 2008, 21:59
agreed.
bigpapagman
19th May 2008, 11:34
i'll support that as well.
bigpapagman
2nd June 2008, 09:43
nilma darnum 2nds had another nailbiting win on the weekend, led by Matthew "Buddy" Gooden booting 4.6 from full forward in a dominant display.
somehow his opponent got best on ground, maybe because he was always near the ball, or because he held such a great player to so few oppurtunities.
:confused:
Pluggeroo
15th June 2008, 12:27
Longwarry did us a favour yesterday, beating Ellinbank in the reserves to keep us both on 5 wins and giving us a real chance to play finals for the first time in 13 years.
Carn the Darnos.
The Reverend
17th June 2008, 23:43
be wary of the dusties, got up for the first win on the week end!
if they win their next 8 could challenge for finals.its all about momentum
be wary of nyora this week, rumors of a family reunion against warragul, talk of a dad abd his two sins lining up for the saints, could get a little loose.
The Reverend
17th June 2008, 23:44
sorry about the typing that was
abd= and
sins=sons
bigpapagman
18th June 2008, 08:05
be wary of nyora this week, rumors of a family reunion against warragul, talk of a dad abd his two sins lining up for the saints, could get a little loose.
2nd win.
Axe Man
18th June 2008, 12:32
So Dusties and Nyora should be wary of each other???
As bigpapa said it was our 2nd win. Good to see 4 teams at the bottom of the 2nds ladder on 2 wins each. Means that there isn't 1 team that's the whipping boy for everybody else and upsets can occur depending on injuries, availability, etc.
sorry about the typing that was
abd= and
sins=sons
Why not just edit your original post?
bigpapagman
19th June 2008, 15:28
yeah i know....
and only one lezzo snog in the spa as well.
and it was the fat black chick.
The Reverend
23rd June 2008, 13:55
Why not just edit your original post?
didnt no i could
goal sneak
23rd June 2008, 13:58
Langy magoos got upset by Poowong on the weekend.
saint leo
23rd June 2008, 14:10
And Poowong lost to dusties the week before! whats going on there??
goal sneak
23rd June 2008, 14:25
Don't know saint leo. Our twos had 3 blokes coming back from the ones as well.
Poowong were not too bad though. Shannon Logan played 2s for them. What is goin on there?
saint leo
23rd June 2008, 14:41
He has been playing 2's all year i think, he played 2's against us. Did Jess Attenborough play 2's as well?
I didnt think Poowong were that bad, think its more of an upset them losing to dusties the week before.
bigpapagman
23rd June 2008, 14:42
He has been playing 2's all year i think, he played 2's against us. Did Jess Attenborough play 2's as well?
I didnt think Poowong were that bad, think its more of an upset them losing to dusties the week before.
wtf is jess doing playing twos?
?????
goal sneak
23rd June 2008, 14:43
Yeah Jess and Glenn Attenborough both played 2's. Why are these guys in the 2's?
saint leo
23rd June 2008, 15:05
Glenn has played 2's all year i think. It was Jess's first game for the season, still would have thought he would be good enough to go straight into the ones.
bigpapagman
23rd June 2008, 15:11
well you would assume he will next week.
Axe Man
23rd June 2008, 16:30
Don't know saint leo. Our twos had 3 blokes coming back from the ones as well.
Poowong were not too bad though. Shannon Logan played 2s for them. What is goin on there?
I heard that he doesn't get on with Anthony and therefore refuses to play seniors.
I can't for a minute understand how Poowong knocked off Langy after we bet them last week. Although we had one of our better sides in for the year they must have had an off game against us and an awesome game against Langy who we would be lucky to get within 10 goals of.
bigpapagman
23rd June 2008, 16:50
langy beat us by 10 goals & we should beat you pretty comprehensively.
just a bit of insight, is all. :D
Axe Man
23rd June 2008, 17:18
Depends on which form you want to take notice of.
Poowong bet you, we bet Poowong, so therefore we will beat you.:p
Or Nyora bet you by 1 point, us by 10 goals, so you will beat us by 10 goals?
Yeah you should beat us but Poowong should have beaten us as well. I reckon you should take the game lightly and see what happens.:D
goodie
23rd June 2008, 18:29
axe man havent seen you at the pub in like a month
WTF
bigpapagman
24th June 2008, 08:16
oh it will be hilarious either way.
Axe Man
24th June 2008, 14:12
axe man havent seen you at the pub in like a month
WTF
Well I don't do the sporty, so ya have to be at the Commercial to catch me.
Last week - we had the awards at the O & H - had tea and a few pots and went home about 10:30 or so
2 weeks ago - was out at the Commercial all night
3 weeks ago - was in Adelaide
4 weeks ago - can't remember
Budda 230
24th June 2008, 14:58
When do the Darnos and Dusties play again?
I'm trying to get myself up to help the Dusties for a late finals dash!:cool:
Pluggeroo
24th June 2008, 15:01
When do the Darnos and Dusties play again?
I'm trying to get myself up to help the Dusties for a late finals dash!:cool:
Next Saturday week. Good luck with that, Budda.
bigpapagman
24th June 2008, 15:36
yeah. about that.
The Reverend
25th June 2008, 01:38
should be the match of the round at NNG this week if Nyora gets up in the twos then they will be equal 2nd. is NNG goon close to CL?
bigpapagman
25th June 2008, 08:21
nah.
goal sneak
25th June 2008, 15:32
In the magoos
Cora Lynn >>>>> Daylight >>>> The Rest
bigpapagman
25th June 2008, 15:39
yeah i'll pay that.
speedytiger
25th June 2008, 16:31
Looked to be a similar story last year too. Didn't quite get the chockies though
bigpapagman
25th June 2008, 16:34
i cant see anyone beating them this year.
In And Under Tiger
31st July 2008, 17:19
Langy scoobies are a big chance to go all the way.
lucifer1
31st July 2008, 17:43
Langy scoobies are a big chance to go all the way.
If the seniors bomb out can any decent players be dropped back to play twos. I think its up 10 senior games, anymore and you cant go back.
In And Under Tiger
31st July 2008, 21:21
Not really any that can go back i don't think lucifer. if we have a full strength seniors i think the twos would be better off if we stayed in the finals series.
what is the deal with the qualifications? If someone had played say 7 seniors games and 1 reserves would they be eligible to play reserves finals?
saint leo
31st July 2008, 21:54
I think they would have to play 4 reserves games to play finals if the seniors are not playing on the same weekend. If someone has played 4 twos and 9 ones they can play twos but 4 and 10 they cant.
Stanley da Russian
1st August 2008, 08:20
Not really any that can go back i don't think lucifer. if we have a full strength seniors i think the twos would be better off if we stayed in the finals series.
what is the deal with the qualifications? If someone had played say 7 seniors games and 1 reserves would they be eligible to play reserves finals?
Sneak as far as i know you only need to play 4 club games as long as you haven't played 10 or over senior games you are qualified for the magoos. You actually have to play 4 club games to qualify to play senior finals which i find even more strange. If you were coming back from injury in rd.16 you couldn't qualify to play finals, how stupid is that! All that does is encourage players to come back from serious injuries to soon.
Stanley da Russian
1st August 2008, 08:25
i cant see anyone beating them this year.
I wouldn't be so sure papa. I don't get to see a lot of the two's because of work (usually the 2nd half) but on paper NNG have a lot of good senior footballers running around in the two's at the moment and on there day will be very competitive i would've thought. Cora Lynn have a history of falling over at the last hurdle. I think NNG, Langy and Catani would all be a chance on there day.
In And Under Tiger
1st August 2008, 08:36
Sneak as far as i know you only need to play 4 club games as long as you haven't played 10 or over senior games you are qualified for the magoos. You actually have to play 4 club games to qualify to play senior finals which i find even more strange. If you were coming back from injury in rd.16 you couldn't qualify to play finals, how stupid is that! All that does is encourage players to come back from serious injuries to soon.
Yeah I guess that rule would be in place to stop clubs from getting someone a week or two before finals. Would also be in place to stop someone like a Brett Dore from coming back and playing finals after Frankston missed out.
There should probably be a minimum number of 2s games that you have to play to qualify. Otherwise guys that have been injured and are no-where near reserves level are able to play and have a massive influence on the finals. If the rule is as you say Stanley I am pretty sure that John Thwaites and Clint Fultn would be able to play reserves finals if the seniors were knocked out. Does not really seem right.
saint leo
1st August 2008, 08:43
Read my post stalney, have to play at least 4 twos games and no more than 9 senior games unless both sides are on same weekend. Any thirds players can also come up and play reserves or senior finals as well.
Pluggeroo
1st August 2008, 16:24
Its interesting and something we certainly discussed after about round 12. We actually called someone in authority at League headquarters, and also refered to the VCFL handbook and it states, pretty much, this:
To be eligible for reserves finals, a player may play no more than half a season, plus 1 game in the senior grade. The same player must also play at least 4 reserves games to qualify.
So in general terms, for the EDFL, the player may play 9 games (half of 18), plus 1 more in the seniors. Any more than that, and they are out of qualification. That equates to no more than 10 games in the seniors and at least 4 in the reserves to qualify.
We have worked it out to get a boost of about 6 players from the senior 21. So, I guess, 6 will miss out at the bottom end, should we qualify for the finals, and notwithstanding injuries.
bigpapagman
4th August 2008, 09:13
and we have qualified thanks to a fantastic victory over Nyora on the weekend.
we were just a far better wet weather side.
In And Under Tiger
4th August 2008, 09:15
I think the 5 other sides in the top 6, including Nyora would be thanking you for having that win. Means that Poowong cannot make it.
bigpapagman
4th August 2008, 10:04
correct.
maybe nyora were tanking.
but probably not.
saint leo
4th August 2008, 13:04
You blokes played well although we had about 8 out, hope to get them all back for finals. Surely the league has to look at changing the final from darnum, cant see that ground coming up in 2 weeks for a final.
EDFL follower
4th August 2008, 13:19
You blokes played well although we had about 8 out, hope to get them all back for finals. Surely the league has to look at changing the final from darnum, cant see that ground coming up in 2 weeks for a final.
Can't see the league changing grounds now. Remember the Nyora Dusties final at Poowong a few years ago. Surely Darnum would be no where near as bad as Poowong was that year.
Stanley da Russian
4th August 2008, 13:48
Maybe they should hold it Ellinbank then, from what i heard on the weekend there facilities and ground are in great condition....
EDFL follower
4th August 2008, 13:53
Think a few grounds are in ordinary condition at the moment. Warragul must be ordinary. Supposedly the 2 best sides in Gippsland played there Saturday and kicked 4 goals each.
saint leo
4th August 2008, 14:00
[/b]
Can't see the league changing grounds now. Remember the Nyora Dusties final at Poowong a few years ago. Surely Darnum would be no where near as bad as Poowong was that year.
Yeah that was a disgrace, darnum at the end was almost as bad. Its embarasing for the league to have finals on mud heaps. The prelim at darnum about 4 years ago was the same, i think buln beat ellinbank and it was about 5 goals to 2.
In And Under Tiger
4th August 2008, 14:31
[/b]
Yeah I played a junior final there the morning of that match. Ground was absolutely terrible. I remember being ankle deep in mud.
Next Of Kin
4th August 2008, 15:15
Cora lynn only had 12 players on the weekend and that is why they lost to Poowong. They will still win the flag.
bigpapagman
4th August 2008, 15:22
i thought there might have been some other reason as to why they probably lost.
Saint
4th August 2008, 17:21
Do you mean win the flag in the 2s? If they've only got 12 now, how are they going to get an extra 10 players for finals?
I understand they must have injuries, but 12 is not much more than Warragul had.
gippslander
4th August 2008, 18:25
[quote=Next Of Kin;11946384]Cora lynn only had 12 players on the weekend and that is why they lost to Poowong. They will still win the flag.[/quote
pretty sure they had 18 on the ground
The Reverend
4th August 2008, 19:30
correct.
maybe nyora were tanking.
but probably not.
shy would nyora tank?they have smashed poowong twice this year it would be better if they got in
bigpapagman
5th August 2008, 08:31
i dunno?
just sayin'
goal sneak
10th August 2008, 19:55
Really looking forward to the Lang Lang - Nilma Darnum clash this saturday. Langy were very impressive yesterday against Neerim.
bigpapagman
11th August 2008, 08:16
you'll probably be playing.....
goal sneak
11th August 2008, 08:25
Started on the bench last week and there are 2 guys that will probably come back into the senior side this week so you may be right.
bigpapagman
11th August 2008, 09:22
man i would love that.
Stanley da Russian
11th August 2008, 13:11
Started on the bench last week and there are 2 guys that will probably come back into the senior side this week so you may be right.
Told ya, you were lucky to get a game this week is what i heard.
goal sneak
11th August 2008, 13:43
Would love to know where you get all your information from Stanley. i reckon you just make it all up.