View Full Version : Mid Gippsland Football 2008

montfort
28th February 2008, 15:14
Anyone heard anything during the off season

bigpapagman
28th February 2008, 15:17
Allan Wilson from Traf is leaving there for the dusties.

seems pretty good on the track.

Why didnt you just bump last years thread?

Pluggeroo
28th February 2008, 18:31
Kevin Grima will be a big boost for Yarragon.

Hard and tough midfielder. Something the boys at yarragon need.

bigpapagman
28th February 2008, 23:47
that and a million other other players.

longworrytheonlywaytogo
4th March 2008, 03:29
i see they have picked up ren wyatt as well

bigpapagman
4th March 2008, 06:57
who yarragon?

what the hell?

i reckon he'll be a pretty good player in that league.

Axe Man
4th March 2008, 10:10
3/3/2008095446ANDERSON, Ren Drouin2005 > PlayerMid Gippsland FL > YarragonIn Progress

Did he change his name to Anderson at some stage?:confused:

Is he the same guy who played for Darnum a couple of years ago with the crazy hair cut?

bigpapagman
4th March 2008, 10:15
yeah, same bloke, takes his old mans name i think.....

well i work with his mum, so i guess it would be his dads name????

happyfoot1
5th March 2008, 19:11
Heard that fullback of the year marc gore will be out for the year for yallourn north tendinitis in the knee bad news for them

longworrytheonlywaytogo
6th March 2008, 03:17
yeah i think ren will go well for them

bigpapagman
6th March 2008, 06:26
Allan Wilson from Traf is leaving there for the dusties.

seems pretty good on the track.

Why didnt you just bump last years thread?

anyone know him?

happyfoot1
7th March 2008, 15:19
anyone know him?
ive played alot of mid gippy and never heard of alan wilson

Pluggeroo
7th March 2008, 18:57
ive played alot of mid gippy and never heard of alan wilson

I used to play cricket with an Al Wilson at Newborough Bulldogs. Ok leg spinner but a Munson with the bat.

Could be the same bloke, but I hardly think he would leave Newborough FC for Traf. That isnt a trade that happens too often.

Probably not the same bloke, methinks.

bigpapagman
7th March 2008, 19:50
me agrees.

like the old warragul/drouin thing.

doesnt happen very often.

happyfoot1
8th March 2008, 11:28
I used to play cricket with an Al Wilson at Newborough Bulldogs. Ok leg spinner but a Munson with the bat.

Could be the same bloke, but I hardly think he would leave Newborough FC for Traf. That isnt a trade that happens too often.

Probably not the same bloke, methinks.
newborough with anyone doesnt happen much!
yeah think it would be a different al wilson

what position do kevin grima and ren anderson play?go alright do they?

Pluggeroo
8th March 2008, 21:44
newborough with anyone doesnt happen much!
yeah think it would be a different al wilson

what position do kevin grima and ren anderson play?go alright do they?

Kev will probably play midfield and Ren will be a utility, I would reckon.

They both go aliright.

happyfoot1
9th March 2008, 15:57
anyone no anything bout lincoln toner going to mirboo north from cora lynn any good?

longworrytheonlywaytogo
9th March 2008, 16:13
ren would be a good player for yarragon

bigpapagman
11th March 2008, 06:59
ren may ruck.

massive leap.

goal sneak
11th March 2008, 21:18
What is the standard of play in the Mid Gippsland Football? How much would i get a game?

Kthxbai.

Pluggeroo
11th March 2008, 21:39
What is the standard of play in the Mid Gippsland Football? How much would i get a game?

Kthxbai.

There is a huge gap between Mid Gippy and EDFL and it is getting wider by the day.

The most you would expect to get there would be $250-$300 as clubs arent flush with dough. An extremely fine player would probably demand $700 but to the detriment of the club.

Really, only coaches who can play a bit get that sort of dough there.

North Gippy footy, though is a bit different. Similar to Nyora/Poowong type clubs, they have huge support from their farming communities and therefor can pay a bit more, but they arent that far ahead of the Mid Gippy in talent stakes and skills and quality of footy.

bigpapagman
12th March 2008, 07:01
cool.

go for it goalsneak.

whelan1990
17th March 2008, 17:18
mid gippsland is the worst excuse for football play for a real league u girls

happyfoot1
17th March 2008, 18:19
mid gippsland is the worst excuse for football play for a real league u girls
football isnt just bout the standard you play its bout playing with ya mates and gettin souped up as long as ya enjoy it! im sure there is someone out there with the same opinion about the standard of football you play

EDFL follower
18th March 2008, 07:37
Is it true that Yarragon cancelled their practice match with Ellinbank at very short notice on the weekend? Hope it wasnt because they didnt have any players.

whelan1990
18th March 2008, 12:19
football isnt just bout the standard you play its bout playing with ya mates and gettin souped up as long as ya enjoy it! im sure there is someone out there with the same opinion about the standard of football you play

i do agree its about playin footy with ya mates at junior levels but wen it gets to senior levels its serious

happyfoot1
18th March 2008, 15:49
i do agree its about playin footy with ya mates at junior levels but wen it gets to senior levels its serious
each to there own, everyone enjoys footy on different levels regardless of standard of league

Pluggeroo
18th March 2008, 20:59
Is it true that Yarragon cancelled their practice match with Ellinbank at very short notice on the weekend? Hope it wasnt because they didnt have any players.

Yes its true.

But I was told tonight that it was due to the surface being dangerous. Not sure which ground though.

Cheers

ringo1
19th March 2008, 09:51

Footy is about participation and involvement and socially it is very important for country aeas. Some players are lucky enough to play senior football and some then have the ability to play at higher levels. All levels of football present differently and its important that there are sufficent numbers at each level.

Axe Man
19th March 2008, 10:16

Yes its true.

But I was told tonight that it was due to the surface being dangerous. Not sure which ground though.

Cheers

Yarragon had a cricket grand final over the weekend so I assume the game was meant to be at Ellinbank. Having played a cricket semi final on it the week before I can tell you it was dangerous for cricket, suicidal for footy. Ellinbank are considering moving their round 1 game v Dusties to Western Park due to the state of the ground. I hope they do or I won't have skin on my knees again until about June.

bigpapagman
21st March 2008, 08:26
lol.

Ellinbank.

happyfoot1
28th March 2008, 11:35
does anyone no if the new coach from hill end is any good?
timmy phillips back to yallourn north from yarragon kicked 12 in a pracy match the other night good pickup!

Pluggeroo
28th March 2008, 14:52
does anyone no if the new coach from hill end is any good?
timmy phillips back to yallourn north from yarragon kicked 12 in a pracy match the other night good pickup!

I heard from one of their players who trialed with us in an intraclub game that he played their intraclub a couple of weeks ago.

He didnt play til the 2nd half and once on the ground, failed to trouble the statistician. Not one solitary kick or handball.

He might be in for a long season if he cant even get a kick against his own team mates.:confused::confused::confused:

EDFL follower
28th March 2008, 15:26
I heard from one of their players who trialed with us in an intraclub game that he played their intraclub a couple of weeks ago.

He didnt play til the 2nd half and once on the ground, failed to trouble the statistician. Not one solitary kick or handball.

He might be in for a long season if he cant even get a kick against his own team mates.:confused::confused::confused:

Who is he and wheres he from?

archer
28th March 2008, 15:53
Who is he and wheres he from?

From The Hill End FC web site:

4-2-2008
Hill End gets the message!

A TEXT message from London in late November has led to Hill End Football Netball Club signing a new Senior Football Coach for the 2008 Mid Gippsland Season.
The SMS to club President Steve Mayes came from former Willow Grove resident and current coach of the North London Lions Australian Rules team, Shaun Robinson.
The message was simple: there was a name and a number , followed by the words "ring him, this guy can play footy".
Mayes phoned the number given and after 12 weeks of discussion and negotition, new Lowanna College PE and Maths teacher Justin Rea, 22, has signed as Hill End coach.
Two of Rea's brothers play for the North London Lions and the fact their youngest sibling was moving to Newborough to take up his first teaching position came up in conversation with Robinson after training.
The rest, they say, is history
Although young, Rea has a solid football background and coaching skills developed at University.
The half-back player signed his contract with Hill End just 2 weeks ago but is already making his mark at the club with toughtraining drills.
Originally from King Valley near Wangaratta, Rea played junior football with his hometown before a year with the Skipton Demons in the Lexton Plains League.
He played 2 years with Beaufort Crows in the Central Highlands Leaguewhile at University in Ballarat.
Last year he won the Beaufort reserves team Best & Fairest and most weeks backed up to play the Seniors game as well, which is something mant Hill End players also experienced last season after a run of injuries and lack of numbers.
Rea said his appointment at Hill End was a great opportunity, particularly given his age. He said one of the drawcards was the number of talented young players at the club.
"There's a great bunch of young players coming through which is a huge advantage and this club has a great community which makes it very friendly," Rea said.
"I'm loving it so far, there are great people and all the players are very positive, they seem very dedicated. The general layout of the club is alot like wot ive had in the past."
The fact that Hill End pursued him with vigour also sealed the deal for Rea, who had "low key chats" with several other local clubs as well.
Actually having a club that was interested in me, not just a passing interest, but actually really wanted me was one of the reasons i decided on Hill End," he said.
"After about the 10th phone call i thought 'yep these guys are serious' so if they're that serious they must be pretty organised so that really got me across the line."
Hill End's senior side is coming off two dissappointing years, finishing bottom of the ladder in 2006 and second last in 2007 but this past poor form has not stopped Rea fromsetting high goals for the team in 2008.
"The aim is very simple. I aim to finish in the finals, top for especially. I'm not going to go out there accepting a few losses, i intend to win as many games as possible, no mucking around."
"As long as everyone goes out there and puts in 100 per cent with training and games, thats the main aim. If we can get guys doing that then the injuries will drop off and the rest will follow."
"So top four is what i'll be aiming for. Realistic or not we are aiming high and im going to get them to aim high there is no point mucking around."

goodie
28th March 2008, 17:33
so is he a shit truck or not?

bigpapagman
28th March 2008, 22:38
im gonna say yes.

happyfoot1
4th April 2008, 21:01
see rod (jumpers) peatey is playing for morwell east thats four clubs in four years thats something to be vinny proud about

Pluggeroo
5th April 2008, 18:25
see rod (jumpers) peatey is playing for morwell east thats four clubs in four years thats something to be vinny proud about

LMAO.

Hes a good bloke, Rod. Just trying to find his feet, I reckon...lol.

His old man was a hard and tough footballer who played at a few clubs too, from memory. Moe, Yallourn Nth and maybe even Newborough.

happyfoot1
6th April 2008, 12:22
LMAO.

Hes a good bloke, Rod. Just trying to find his feet, I reckon...lol.

His old man was a hard and tough footballer who played at a few clubs too, from memory. Moe, Yallourn Nth and maybe even Newborough.
rod is a good bloke but chasing money doesnt get you respect from clubs or players

deledio7
14th April 2008, 22:05
i went to play for east this year from boolarra and i have played both games in the 1's thios year...Rod or (rocket) let me tell u can play...hes a very hard in and under player...got the 3 votes on the weekend just gone against yarrogon, tough as nails and a very nice bloke, well respected

long live mid gippy, it is a great league with alot of talented players...whoever said it was worst than ellinbank has problems

Pluggeroo
15th April 2008, 16:25
long live mid gippy, it is a great league with alot of talented players...whoever said it was worst than ellinbank has problems

Mate, Im not too sure if you have played a hell of a lot of footy, but just by that stupid comment, you have pretty much declared your vintage.

I have played in both leagues and when I started in MGFL in 1992, it was as good a 2nd tier comp as there was in the area, including the North Gippy and East Gippy etc.

I then left and went to the EDFL in 1995 and again, there was not a great difference in the comps. Probably the EDFL was a tougher comp due to the smaller grounds.

Back to Mid Gippy halfway through 1999 and there appeared to me, to be a great drop in the comp.

Back into the EDFL in 2003 and it was harder, no doubt. The addition of the West Gippy teams had definately hardened the league up and the quality of the players that started to appear from the outer fringes of the city added to the quality of the footy.

For you to make such a silly statement shows 2 things.

1. You are young.
2. You also have never even seen an EDFL game, let alone played in one.

Some examples of where the leagues are at:-

Nilma Darnum beat Yarragon in 2006 by about 20 goals in a practice match. We went on to lose every game in our league by an average of 144 points. Yarragon finished with a handful of wins (5), from memory.
We also played Morwell East in a practice match that year. 6 quarters and we only lost by 5 goals. They only lost 2 games in the H&A season.

It would be fair to say, that no MGFL club would finish higher than 8th in the EDFL.

And its not their fault. Its simply geographics. Footballers dont travel that far out of the city to play footy. We are living proof of that, living on the edge of the MGFL.

happyfoot1
15th April 2008, 21:08
i went to play for east this year from boolarra and i have played both games in the 1's thios year...Rod or (rocket) let me tell u can play...hes a very hard in and under player...got the 3 votes on the weekend just gone against yarrogon, tough as nails and a very nice bloke, well respected

why did ya leave boolarra for the east?

EDFL follower
16th April 2008, 09:15
Mate, Im not too sure if you have played a hell of a lot of footy, but just by that stupid comment, you have pretty much declared your vintage.

I have played in both leagues and when I started in MGFL in 1992, it was as good a 2nd tier comp as there was in the area, including the North Gippy and East Gippy etc.

I then left and went to the EDFL in 1995 and again, there was not a great difference in the comps. Probably the EDFL was a tougher comp due to the smaller grounds.

Back to Mid Gippy halfway through 1999 and there appeared to me, to be a great drop in the comp.

Back into the EDFL in 2003 and it was harder, no doubt. The addition of the West Gippy teams had definately hardened the league up and the quality of the players that started to appear from the outer fringes of the city added to the quality of the footy.

For you to make such a silly statement shows 2 things.

1. You are young.
2. You also have never even seen an EDFL game, let alone played in one.

Some examples of where the leagues are at:-

Nilma Darnum beat Yarragon in 2006 by about 20 goals in a practice match. We went on to lose every game in our league by an average of 144 points. Yarragon finished with a handful of wins (5), from memory.
We also played Morwell East in a practice match that year. 6 quarters and we only lost by 5 goals. They only lost 2 games in the H&A season.

It would be fair to say, that no MGFL club would finish higher than 8th in the EDFL.

And its not their fault. Its simply geographics. Footballers dont travel that far out of the city to play footy. We are living proof of that, living on the edge of the MGFL.

Spot on Plugger. I also played in both leagues and agree 100% with everything you said.

bigpapagman
16th April 2008, 10:52
so, in closing, suck shit deledio7.

deledio7
18th April 2008, 19:39
why did ya leave boolarra for the east?
y wouldnt I??east are a far better side than boolarra, and i will play mostly 3rds this year, and east 3rds are alot better.......and i lalso live in morwell which had alot to do with the movel....i am evidently happy that boolarra have started this season so well but i think they will struggle against the better sides....and to answer the other blokes statement about me not playin against ellinbank that is half right...i was intendin that their 3rds comp wasnt as good as MGFL, i apologise for the confusion....i played an interleague game against em a year or 2 ago and we were hugely undermanned and still killed em...i am fully aware that the senior competition in the EDFL is very good.....thanks guys :)

happyfoot1
30th April 2008, 19:00
heard one of the murray boys of yarragon got king hit from a newb player very dirty knocked out for 10 minutes ambo to hospital he got 8 weeks and 6 suspended newb dog good to see yarra beat them

montfort
2nd May 2008, 13:56
Yeh it was a disgusting dog act by the Newborough deserved everything he got, what a tool they had a free kick 20 metres out right in front. Go Yarragon

bigpapagman
2nd May 2008, 14:57
lol. yarragon.

goal sneak
2nd May 2008, 15:09
Is yarragon one of the places on the highway on the way to Taralgon. If so i think i have had an ice cream there.

bigpapagman
2nd May 2008, 15:10
its between darnum & trafalgar.

you would have had an ice-cream there.

it would have been awesome as well.

goal sneak
2nd May 2008, 15:12
It was no cold rock.
may have beena golden gaytime.

bigpapagman
2nd May 2008, 15:14
scoopy icecreams from the teahouses are the go.

goal sneak
2nd May 2008, 15:15
Where is the teahouse? Is it in Warragul?

bigpapagman
2nd May 2008, 15:36
nah its in yarragon.

right when you enter the town its on the right.

goodie
2nd May 2008, 21:27
yeah i agree, top iced cream in there

interesting to see former Darnum Utillity Ren (watt) Anderson kick 7 goals were they good or what?
i was disapointed to see him leave darnum, think he would of been handy under a good coach.

bigpapagman
2nd May 2008, 23:10
rather interesting.

wonder why he is actually at yarragon.

Pluggeroo
4th May 2008, 08:59
Is yarragon one of the places on the highway on the way to Taralgon. If so i think i have had an ice cream there.

Would have cost you about $7 if it was on a weekend.

They pump up the prices there on weekends for the tourist trade.

Yes it is on the highway. It is the next town east from Darnum.

Wondering if you know where Darnum is though. Since you guys have never played a home and away game there. It is the 2nd town further east from Warragul, on the highway.:thumbsu:

goal sneak
4th May 2008, 11:38
I have been to Darnum to watch a final 2 years ago. Also played there in my first year of under 15's. Pretty good venue. One of the best in the league IMO.

Pluggeroo
4th May 2008, 19:23
rather interesting.

wonder why he is actually at yarragon.

He works in Traf at Rieds Groundspread (Manager)

He brought a house in Yarragon, as a result and coaches their 4ths team.

Matured heaps since he was at Darnum.

Always had a lot of time for Renna.

Good on him.

bigpapagman
5th May 2008, 08:32
He works in Traf at Rieds Groundspread (Manager) i know that.

He brought a house in Yarragon, as a result and coaches their 4ths team. well, that explains a lot.

Matured heaps since he was at Darnum. have to if you are coaching kids.

Always had a lot of time for Renna.

Good on him.

well. it all makes sense then.

kakkapo
17th May 2008, 10:55
I follow St.Kilda and was wondering what happened to Brett Knowles. Did he go back and play for Yinnar?

happyfoot1
18th May 2008, 19:51
I follow St.Kilda and was wondering what happened to Brett Knowles. Did he go back and play for Yinnar?
na not at yinnar not sure where plays but his brother brad plays for yinnar and is quite a handy footballer

Clean Heels
18th May 2008, 20:22
Brad Knowles is a gun, yinnar are the side to beat in 2008, after knocking off Traf, should be an interesting year..

WOODLANDS
19th May 2008, 09:08

Pretty sure he's coaching Ainslie in the canberra league, has been there awhile.

Clean Heels
21st May 2008, 13:38
Im going to have a crack at top 5 predictions, feel free to post yours..

At this stage, Yinnar and Traf look a stand out top 2..

3rd and 4th will be Mirboo North, followed by Morwell East, both sides
should have a good 2nd half of the yr..

5th looks up for grabs, Yallourn North look to be flying at present - and I think we will see Boolarra drop off..

Not a lot between 3rd and 5th this yr I wouldnt think..

bigpapagman
21st May 2008, 13:49
yinnar for the flag.

tim phillips is a gun.

ablett
22nd May 2008, 13:02
How's Alan Wright going this season for Thorpy can anyone tell me?
Has a he kicked a few or is he back to fullback.

happyfoot1
22nd May 2008, 22:17
mirboo nth wont finish 3rd they are struggling big time will agree tho yall nth are up and running
timmy phillips is a gun rarely misses a shot and for a small forward to a kick as many goals as him its a fair effort:thumbsu:

bigpapagman
23rd May 2008, 08:16
similar to mark williams.

happyfoot1
23rd May 2008, 17:21
similar to mark williams.
yeah but he hasnt done the choke move yet
he mite do it against yarragon this week their publican went the yall north pub and bet anyone $500 that yarra would smash em

deledio7
25th May 2008, 18:39
Yinnar defienetly the team to beat...watched the game between Yinnar and Morwell East yesterday and they blew east away in the second half...brother of Andrew, Tom Macqualter is a gun!! along with Brendan Holt and Brad Knowles, they should do it this year.

Clean Heels
2nd June 2008, 23:31
mirboo nth wont finish 3rd they are struggling big time will agree tho yall nth are up and running
timmy phillips is a gun rarely misses a shot and for a small forward to a kick as many goals as him its a fair effort:thumbsu:

Mirboo North should still finish 3rd, they nearly lost to hill end - yet beat morwell east with ease, but should still scrape in for 3rd, yarragon are actually getting high praise of late, from all sides..

However, most ppl I talk to still think Traf are the side - even after yinnar beating them, I think they are my clear top pick..

happyfoot1
3rd June 2008, 20:41
Mirboo North should still finish 3rd, they nearly lost to hill end - yet beat morwell east with ease, but should still scrape in for 3rd, yarragon are actually getting high praise of late, from all sides..

However, most ppl I talk to still think Traf are the side - even after yinnar beating them, I think they are my clear top pick..
traf would need everything going right yinnar are alot harder at the footy than traf and have few weaknesses but traf struggle a bit down back as with mirboo they had their full strength side on the w/end and probably wont again for the year good at full strength but struggle with depth they will lose 4 to 5 top quality players for most of the second half

Sir Vivian
13th June 2008, 13:04
Hey came across this site where the Yinnar boys have setup home. Interesting reading!

http://www.choporchampion.com/team_detail_yinnar-magpies_82.aspx

BTW it looks like any club can create their own teams on there.

Sir Vivian
13th June 2008, 13:06

Pretty sure he's coaching Ainslie in the canberra league, has been there awhile.

Was coaching at Ainslee now just playing at rival Belconnen. Doing very well.

goodie
13th June 2008, 15:16
yarragon a shot at finals?

Sir Vivian
15th June 2008, 15:08
Yinnar look the team to beat. Smashed Mirboo North on the weekend.

Match report here: http://www.choporchampion.com/post_yinnar-smash-mirboo-north-round-10_648.aspx

EDFL follower
19th June 2008, 16:09
Heard Yarragon might be foreiting their fourths for the rest of the season. They already dont have a thirds side so not a good sign for the future if true although it is good to see their seniors pushing for a spot in the finals.

bigpapagman
19th June 2008, 16:13
it is good to see them doing well.

happyfoot1
20th June 2008, 18:49
Heard Yarragon might be foreiting their fourths for the rest of the season. They already dont have a thirds side so not a good sign for the future if true although it is good to see their seniors pushing for a spot in the finals.
yeah definately forfeited the fourths announced it after the hill end game on the weekend. it is good to see them do well but they have a few thugs in their side who dont mind smacking young blokes from the opposition needlessly

thisisaname
28th June 2008, 17:51
Watched Traf v Morwell East today. sorry mid gippy followers but that league would have to be the worst league in Gippsland! shockingly bad!:thumbsd:

Pluggeroo
29th June 2008, 10:46
Watched Traf v Morwell East today. sorry mid gippy followers but that league would have to be the worst league in Gippsland! shockingly bad!:thumbsd:

He He. Been trying to tell the punters that for two years.

montfort
2nd July 2008, 16:40
yeah definately forfeited the fourths announced it after the hill end game on the weekend. it is good to see them do well but they have a few thugs in their side who dont mind smacking young blokes from the opposition needlessly

I agree it is good to see Yarragon improving, who do you think are the blokes in their side that dont mind belting the younger blokes?

bigpapagman
3rd July 2008, 09:21
no name MGFL hacks, no doubt.

happyfoot1
3rd July 2008, 17:04
I agree it is good to see Yarragon improving, who do you think are the blokes in their side that dont mind belting the younger blokes?
Dont want to name names but a few of their recruits one older one in particular

happyfoot1
22nd July 2008, 17:11
Big game this week yall north v newb winner will play finals loser misses out like a minny grand final should be a fiery game no love lost there

thisisaname
22nd July 2008, 19:00
who cares. terrible standard of footy:thumbsd:

bigpapagman
23rd July 2008, 08:23
good call. top post. :thumbsu:

goodie
23rd July 2008, 16:06
yeah dirty... we were close to pulling our praccy match against them at 1/2 time because of how dirty they were.....:thumbsd: