View Full Version : Adelaide vs St. Kilda
Anyone know if it's Saturday night?
How much will tickets cost?
Members get preference right? How do I go about utilising that?
RoosterLad
1 Mar 2008, 20:39
Yeah I bet it will be Saturday night. Not sure about the whole member thing but you will be able to get a ticket.
I might actually turn up to this game which is probably bigger news than the Crows winning tonight.
We need to win this game, thats for sure!.
Really looking forward to see how our ruckman go against 2 really big boys in King & Gardiner.
Ferris_rules
2 Mar 2008, 10:15
The AFC will NOT lose to the Saints by 119 points this weekend.
The AFC will NEVER lose a GF by 119 or more points !
jenny61_99
2 Mar 2008, 10:25
I just realised I have a school function on Saturday night (trivia/fund raiser)! :eek: Son says, "It's ok mummy, we'll tape the game for you". Argggh.
Long weekend here in the Nation's Capital (Canberra Day - ACT's equivalent of Proclamation Day). I'm going away for the weekend, won't get to see the game until Monday afternoon. Thank God for the VCR.
Really looking forward to see how our ruckman go against 2 really big boys in King & Gardiner.
I agree; theyve got some tall timber the Saints but not down back so it'll be an interesting game.
If we win,well and good.
If we lose, well its only the MM Cup;)
Didnt we last play them in a pre-season GF?
I agree; theyve got some tall timber the Saints but not down back so it'll be an interesting game.
If we win,well and good.
If we lose, well its only the MM Cup;)
Didnt we last play them in a pre-season GF?
Na that was Geelong
ams4crows
2 Mar 2008, 11:21
Definately going to this game missed out last night due to SOUNDWAVE!!! (was awesome by the way!)
I think it's gonna come down to the rucks and Midfield they have probably the best ruck duo out there and we well rejuvinating ours!....... Our Midfield will need to read offthe other ruckman f we want the clearence Essendon were Smashed in the Clearences friday night, if we can keep them on level terms we should get over the line!
Eagles 4 Mine
2 Mar 2008, 12:56
C'mon Crows just beat them Saints:D I'm sick of hearing how good they are already and it's only NAB cup.
I think you guys will lose cos we're really good. :D
Nah, should be a good game. No idea who's gonna win, both teams look pretty solid.
brucetiki
2 Mar 2008, 13:10
What time does the game start next weekend?
I've been there the past two games, and I have a friends birthday party next Saturday night, so I've told them I can't make it and will be there again next Saturday night.
Chief Crow
2 Mar 2008, 13:27
Definately going to this game missed out last night due to SOUNDWAVE!!! (was awesome by the way!)
I think it's gonna come down to the rucks and Midfield they have probably the best ruck duo out there and we well rejuvinating ours!....... Our Midfield will need to read offthe other ruckman f we want the clearence Essendon were Smashed in the Clearences friday night, if we can keep them on level terms we should get over the line!
the dons were smashed at clearances because there midfield is garbage :eek:
What time does the game start next weekend?
I've been there the past two games, and I have a friends birthday party next Saturday night, so I've told them I can't make it and will be there again next Saturday night.
They said 6 50 pm Saturday on 5AA this am.
hey shorty
2 Mar 2008, 13:43
I might wander down next Saturday night, not too sure whats happening where our cricket GF is being played yet. Hopefully its not too far away so I an get down there on time. Hopefully there is a decent crowd there, maybe 30K+.
If you plan to buy at the gate get there early as they have a new computer system that issues about one ticket an hour
any idea yet of ticket prices ??
The AFC will NOT lose to the Saints by 119 points this weekend.
The AFC will NEVER lose a GF by 119 or more points !
No it probably won't happen. This is going to be a really good game and I hope its really close. The test for us in 2008 is to see if we can win the really close ones, by 6 points or less. For what I saw against the Hawks was impressive, they came at us really hard again but we looked a different and MUCH MORE CONFIDENT team from last year's distastorus season and I was confident we'd finish them off despite kicking to the non favourble southern end. Very impressive game AFC and I hope we can translate this into the H&A season. I'll be there at AAMI later this month in Round 2 against WCE, we probably might lose this game but I want to see this team fight their asses out every game. I'm sure we'll play much better at home this year, hopefully as good as 1993.
raikkonen
2 Mar 2008, 18:32
http://www.afl.com.au/Fixture/NABCupTicketing/tabid/9141/default.aspx
Adult tickets a major rip off at $31.35 :thumbsd:
That will keep a lot of people away for sure. Considering that Week 1-3 tickets only cost $15.50, and a regular season game is $23 which is more important, this is a disgrace. I guess we have to pay for Demetriou's salary somehow. :mad:
Yeah, I thought tix were around 30 bucks, but that isn't going to stop me going. I'm there... with the volume turned way up.:D
BTW if you're buying from Bass, expect an extra five dollars on top of that, plus I don't think that its General Admission so I'm not risking losing my seat in Bay 142. Bass here I come.
Porps_is_HOT_loz
2 Mar 2008, 19:43
Prices:thumbsd:
Not good.
Last week and the week before they were half that price!
Have a good feeling were gonna win. Loved the game against the Hawks!
Nearly got Porpies hi-five (Got Shirly's and Mackays;))
Yeah, I thought tix were around 30 bucks, but that isn't going to stop me going. I'm there... with the volume turned way up.:D
BTW if you're buying from Bass, expect an extra five dollars on top of that, plus I don't think that its General Admission so I'm not risking losing my seat in Bay 142. Bass here I come.
According to this page on the AFL site it is.
Tickets sold
General admission
http://afl.com.au/Season2007/FixturesResults/NABCupTicketing/tabid/9141/Default.aspx
^ Thats good, might have to get there just a little earlier than we normally do, but probably easier to get a group of people sitting together.
http://www.afl.com.au/Fixture/NABCupTicketing/tabid/9141/default.aspx
Adult tickets a major rip off at $31.35 :thumbsd:
That will keep a lot of people away for sure. Considering that Week 1-3 tickets only cost $15.50, and a regular season game is $23 which is more important, this is a disgrace. I guess we have to pay for Demetriou's salary somehow. :mad:
I looked at the prices online and was told that for week 2 the price was $25 so that turned me off going. I would have gone if I known it was $15.
On the SANFL website I found this for the round 1 game Port V Cartlon
Admissions Prices
All Season Ticket Holders are required to purchase a ticket for this match.
Adult $20.05
Concession $14.05
Child Under 15 $ 2.75
I do understand that at times the prices seem unreasonable but whatever you don't ever take the chance of being able to go to a live game for granted. It is the best sport in the world to watch live and when you compare it to other sports around the world the prices are a bargin.
They are only going to get more expensive no matter if you try and make a stand by not going or not. So from experience never take for granted this great game of ours. Like anything you don't understand fully how much you miss something until it becomes a reality.
http://www.news.com.au/adelaidenow/story/0,22606,23308495-5006301,00.html
CROWS officials have rejected an offer of financial compensation to move Saturday night's NAB Cup grand final from AAMI Stadium to Melbourne's Telstra Dome.
The AFL last Monday asked the Crows to forfeit home-ground advantage with the league fearing the match, against St Kilda, would be poorly attended.
Adelaide chief executive Steven Trigg yesterday said his club would not consider the league's proposal which had no figure attached.
"It is disappointing – and annoying – that there is a perception SA cannot get a crowd to big finals in Adelaide," Mr Trigg said yesterday.
"We now have to get 35,000 to 40,000 people to the game to send a message back to the AFL."
AFL chief broadcasting and commercial officer Gillon McLachlan flagged league concern to Mr Trigg that the NAB Cup final would face too much competition in Adelaide.
There is the prospect of a third one-day cricket final between Australia and India at Adelaide Oval, and the Festival and Fringe events.
Mr McLachlan told the Crows a sell-out was guaranteed in Melbourne's 50,000-seat Telstra Dome, but not at 51,515-seat AAMI Stadium.
The AFL – not the competing clubs – keeps the gate receipts in the pre-season series.
Mr Trigg said the Crows did not even ask how much they would be compensated.
"The AFL asked if we were open-minded about shifting the game to Melbourne, flagged financial compensation and quickly learned we're not interested," he said.
"After the AFL took the 2003 Cup final from us – even though we had a better right to host it than Collingwood at the Dome – the rules were clear-cut.
"The team scoring the most goals hosts the final. That is us this year. Even though we have no commercial benefit from the final, we need to get as many people to the ground to stop the AFL thinking there is a problem getting South Australians to finals in Adelaide."
Adelaide coach Neil Craig yesterday urged Crows fans to dig deep into their wallets to buy tickets which go on sale today at BASS agencies.
The AFL has priced adult tickets in the members and outer at $31.35. Concession tickets will sell for $22.35 and for children aged under 15 at $2.75. The AFL has also released a family ticket for two adults and two children at $59.40.
The final will begin at 6.50pm.
AAMI Stadium last hosted a pre-season cup final in 2006 when Adelaide lost to Geelong with 30,707 paying spectators at the match.
Considering how the AFL usually treats the Interstate clubs, the ticket prices and the fact the AFL gets all the gate money, i'm deliberately not going and instead watching it on TV. I'd forgotten about Adelaide not hosting our win against Collingwuss. Suck on that, AFL.
In 2003, Collingwood actually earnt the right scoring 49 goals to Adelaide's 38.
Any rate, we've earnt it and it should be held here. Stuff the AFL.
PS : Go to the final and support the boys.
jenny61_99
3 Mar 2008, 07:12
We'd be there if we lived there! I think the crowds have been hugely disappointing. And I don't care that it's the NAB cup of MM Cup or whatever. Any chance I had to see the boys play, I'd be there.
Who do the AFL think they are? :rolleyes:
In 2006 the attendance was 30,707. Last week's attendance was around 15,000.
A third final for the cricket, if required, will be on Friday. Nice work Advertiser...
I'll be going this week. The problems with the preseason cup games are that the members dont get to go for free and have to pay and instead of having a price like $10 or something like that they change ridiculous prices for the game up against a live telecast either on commerical tv or fox.
This is why people dont go.
In 2003, Collingwood actually earnt the right scoring 49 goals to Adelaide's 38.
Any rate, we've earnt it and it should be held here. Stuff the AFL.
PS : Go to the final and support the boys.
That's what i get for quoting Pucci. And i've got tickets to see Akmal Saleh at the Fringe Saturday night, so that'll take precedence. I'll just have to tape it like i did last Saturday (Dave Hughes, funny funny man - he talked about Power losing by 119 points, lots of laughs from the crowd)
Viva la Mattner
3 Mar 2008, 08:57
I do understand that at times the prices seem unreasonable but whatever you don't ever take the chance of being able to go to a live game for granted. It is the best sport in the world to watch live and when you compare it to other sports around the world the prices are a bargin.
They are only going to get more expensive no matter if you try and make a stand by not going or not. So from experience never take for granted this great game of ours. Like anything you don't understand fully how much you miss something until it becomes a reality.
agree 100% just forked out £210 (approx $500) for 4 tickets to go see Chelsea vs Derby County at Stamford Bridge next Wed. night !!
AFL = Best Game on the planet
EPL= Best Atmosphere on the planet
They both need to make it more accesible to fans
Markthirtytwo
3 Mar 2008, 09:19
Who do the AFL think they are? :rolleyes:
In 2006 the attendance was 30,707. Last week's attendance was around 15,000.
A third final for the cricket, if required, will be on Friday. Nice work Advertiser...
They are in fact the very same people who programmed a game on the day of a major motor race and concert to save money on hotel accomodation. That's who.
This weekend will be massive in Adelaide! NAB GF, Future Music Festival, Adelaide Cup oh im so keen. By the way from what i seen of Tippet against the Hawks i think he is going to be a very valuable player. His body shape is great, sort of like Buddy and i love the way he snatches the ball out of the air like its a basketball. Not a bad kick either considering he's only been playing for 3 years.
ok.crows
3 Mar 2008, 16:24
In 2003, that wasn't the criteria. The AFL had, up to that time, been saying that they set the venues according to a desire to better even out the amount of travel required for each club. Then for the final in 2003 they went against that in order to gift the Pies a home final.
It wasn't until after the 2003 venue controversy that the AFL decided on the policy "most goals gets the home final". Irony that it is the same team (Adelaide) that has created a "problem" for them again, this time under the new rule (which the AFL came up with, saying that it was fairer, and sticking by that claim right up until the time it came for Adelaide to host another final).
ams4crows
3 Mar 2008, 16:52
The AFL have to be bluffing when they said telstra dome would sell out what a cop out! St.kilda only have about 25,000 members i hardly doubt and extra 20 would rock up!
The AFL offical hate interstae sides (bar sydney and Brisbane cos they have some Vic heritage) We Kicked the most Goals We host the final I don't care if their is only 10 people there we won the Right!!! Screw the AFL and their Money Hungry Officals!
I'm going to go with out a doubt but at the same time I don't cos I don't want the AFL to get my hard ernt money!!
RoosterLad
3 Mar 2008, 16:57
I was surprised to see that the AFL get all gate takings.
Scabs.
RoosterLad
3 Mar 2008, 17:04
I will also be buying tickets before the game, **** lining up that wastes valuable beer time and I seriously hate line-ups. After hearing how awesomely quick they have handed out tickets at the gate the pre-season so far, I suggest all y'all get tickets during the week.
The AFL have to be bluffing when they said telstra dome would sell out what a cop out! St.kilda only have about 25,000 members i hardly doubt and extra 20 would rock up!
The AFL offical hate interstae sides (bar sydney and Brisbane cos they have some Vic heritage) We Kicked the most Goals We host the final I don't care if their is only 10 people there we won the Right!!! Screw the AFL and their Money Hungry Officals!
I'm going to go with out a doubt but at the same time I don't cos I don't want the AFL to get my hard ernt money!!
Your team earned the right to host the final so I doubt you'd have many complaints from our supporters. Obviously there will be some disappointment because many of us can't go but that's not your fault.
It doesn't seem like you understand how membership work over here. Unlike in Adelaide and Perth you don't have to have a membership or season ticket to watch your team play. We have around 25,000 memberships sold at the moment which is the highest we've ever had at this time of year and courtesy of a fast finish to 2007, a successful trading period and a bright start to 2008 you'd think we'd surpass our previous record of 32,000.
However more importantly when your team has won 1 premiership (and 3 night premierships) in over 100 years the supporters would definitely turn up in huge numbers. Telstra Dome would have been full. But that's not Adelaide's problem. You guys deserve to host the final.
MickyCrow
3 Mar 2008, 17:44
I will also be buying tickets before the game, **** lining up that wastes valuable beer time and I seriously hate line-ups. After hearing how awesomely quick they have handed out tickets at the gate the pre-season so far, I suggest all y'all get tickets during the week.
We think as one :thumbsu:
The Crows Truth
3 Mar 2008, 17:49
In 2003, that wasn't the criteria. The AFL had, up to that time, been saying that they set the venues according to a desire to better even out the amount of travel required for each club. Then for the final in 2003 they went against that in order to gift the Pies a home final.
It wasn't until after the 2003 venue controversy that the AFL decided on the policy "most goals gets the home final". Irony that it is the same team (Adelaide) that has created a "problem" for them again, this time under the new rule (which the AFL came up with, saying that it was fairer, and sticking by that claim right up until the time it came for Adelaide to host another final).
correct except for the bolded bit. it was actually the crows that recommended the new system (team with most goals kicked hosts the gf)after being dudded in 2003 and the afl agreed and have run with this for all nab cup gf's since
The Crows Truth
3 Mar 2008, 17:52
Your team earned the right to host the final so I doubt you'd have many complaints from our supporters. Obviously there will be some disappointment because many of us can't go but that's not your fault.
It doesn't seem like you understand how membership work over here. Unlike in Adelaide and Perth you don't have to have a membership or season ticket to watch your team play. We have around 25,000 memberships sold at the moment which is the highest we've ever had at this time of year and courtesy of a fast finish to 2007, a successful trading period and a bright start to 2008 you'd think we'd surpass our previous record of 32,000.
However more importantly when your team has won 1 premiership (and 3 night premierships) in over 100 years the supporters would definitely turn up in huge numbers. Telstra Dome would have been full. But that's not Adelaide's problem. You guys deserve to host the final.
good post. the other thing worth noting is that historically afl members (over 20,000 from memory) get FREE ENTRY to ALL nab cup games in melbourne - unlike crows members or footy park members from my understanding. this is a major reason for the crowds being down outside of victoria for the nab cup
Ferris_rules
3 Mar 2008, 18:23
Personally the crows should have taken compensation and played the GF at the telstra dome, isnt that the perfect preparation for the home and away season. Especially as we play the dogs at the dome in round 1
i would have thought that would have been a win win for the club.
I think the club must be desperately wanting to win this game !
Wayne's-World
3 Mar 2008, 19:29
How about the fact the AFL clubs get your money thru distribution of dividends.
No the Telstra dome woouldn't be a sell-out ......but you could count on 35 - 40K
Melbourne loves it's sport .......and they're used to paying a premium for finals .....and special events.
ok.crows
3 Mar 2008, 19:31
Personally the crows should have taken compensation and played the GF at the telstra dome, isnt that the perfect preparation for the home and away season. Especially as we play the dogs at the dome in round 1
I don't think you understand most Crows supporters.
My daughter for example wants to go to see this game ... she would be spitting chips if she couldn't go because it was moved to Melbourne.
The fact that the Crows administration has forgone extra money and stood up for her interests makes the Crows all the more admirable in her eyes.
Wayne's-World
3 Mar 2008, 19:36
I'll be going this week. The problems with the preseason cup games are that the members dont get to go for free and have to pay and instead of having a price like $10 or something like that they change ridiculous prices for the game up against a live telecast either on commerical tv or fox.
Adelaide would have had the worst NAB cup patronage of any state this season .......the crowds have been pitiful.
I just don't think there has been enough general interest from the public to support either the Crows or Adelaide.
I call it appathy .......particularly as most have simply watched it on TV ....rather than make an effort.
The BS about the cost is just that ........what was the cost .....2 spirit drinks at your fav nightclub?
Sure most supporters are confused as to why their memberships don't get them into NAB games ......I myself reckon it's a bit rich.
BUT that wouldn't stop me from going to see my team "live" at every opportunity .......nor has it, it seems supporters in other states ......WA has had wonderful support.
It's just plain appathy .......wrapped up in a range of excuses
Wayne's-World
3 Mar 2008, 19:42
As you say the benefits of playing at Telstra far outweighed pplaying in Adelaide .......another travel lesson for Tippett, Mackay and Sellar.
As you say playing on the same surface as round 1 ......but IMO the club dug in for the sake of its fans ....who have been deprived of rightful finals in the past.
The least the public can do is return that support by getting to the ground.
Eastern Crow
3 Mar 2008, 19:48
playing at TD would of been fantastic preperation for roubd 1 and a great experience for our young players
IMO, still the right decision, lets hope the crows fans get out to the game and supports the clubs decision
I just don't think there has been enough general interest from the public to support either the Crows or Adelaide.
D'oh! :D
SAINTS 4 07 FLAG
3 Mar 2008, 19:58
playing at TD would of been fantastic preperation for roubd 1 and a great experience for our young players
IMO, still the right decision, lets hope the crows fans get out to the game and supports the clubs decision
so is the game getting moved to the dome.. and does anyone know what time it'll be on teli.. ??:thumbsu:
RoosterLad
3 Mar 2008, 20:00
and in the next episode of "When BigFooty names backfire".....
SAINTS 4 07 FLAG
3 Mar 2008, 20:01
and in the next episode of "When BigFooty names backfire".....
ahaha laugh it up.. i know i know:mad:
Baron Winds
3 Mar 2008, 23:59
Spewin it didnt get moved lol ;)
The fact that the Crows administration has forgone extra money and stood up for her interests makes the Crows all the more admirable in her eyes.
Makes it all the more admirable in my eyes too.
There are arguments for and against allowing the AFL to switch it to Telsta Dome. We would have gained some benifit in playing at the Dome, with us travelling to play the Dogs there in R1. However, it would also significantly decrease our likelyhood of winning the cup, as its their home ground and their supporters.
So is it better for the young players development to get and extra game at the Dome in preparation for R1? or is it better for them to play in a cup winning team? Winning the cup isnt asured by playing at home, but it is definately giving us a better chance youd think.
Personally, I'd take the home game and hopefully the cup. Playing for a prize doesnt happen every day. We should be trying our best to win it now we're in it. We play plenty of games interstate and quite a few at the Dome each and every year. IMO the young guys will get more from winning a prize than playing another game away. The reality is most, if not all the players who will play R1 have already played at the Dome anyway.
In regards to numbers at the game, I think there might be a far few, I'm more people with me than I ever have and I know alot of other people who are doing the same, it wouldn't surprise me if there is more people there than expected. Hell there was a bloody 30min line at the BASS outlet I went to, to get bloody tickets. On Monday and at 12pm (When they went on sale).
Once I got my tickets I looked back and the 30min line had reformed again.
so ****ing childish
Oh I'm sorry, this is our board, we can say what we like.
If you don't like it, don't read it.
jenny61_99
4 Mar 2008, 13:42
There are arguments for and against allowing the AFL to switch it to Telsta Dome. We would have gained some benifit in playing at the Dome, with us travelling to play the Dogs there in R1. However, it would also significantly decrease our likelyhood of winning the cup, as its their home ground and their supporters.
So is it better for the young players development to get and extra game at the Dome in preparation for R1? or is it better for them to play in a cup winning team? Winning the cup isnt asured by playing at home, but it is definately giving us a better chance youd think.
Personally, I'd take the home game and hopefully the cup. Playing for a prize doesnt happen every day. We should be trying our best to win it now we're in it. We play plenty of games interstate and quite a few at the Dome each and every year. IMO the young guys will get more from winning a prize than playing another game away. The reality is most, if not all the players who will play R1 have already played at the Dome anyway.
Not to mention the experience for Neil Craig. His ability to coach in the "big" games has often been questionned. This game (should he coach well and we win) would be a good thing for his confidence too.
His philosophy has always been a "winning" one, and you can't buy the sort of confidence winning a grand final (even a NAB CUP one ;)) would give our young blokes. The "ownership" of the Club this would give to the newer players would be priceless.
raikkonen
4 Mar 2008, 13:47
Adelaide would have had the worst NAB cup patronage of any state this season .......the crowds have been pitiful.
I call it appathy .......particularly as most have simply watched it on TV ....rather than make an effort.
The BS about the cost is just that ........what was the cost .....2 spirit drinks at your fav nightclub?
Sure most supporters are confused as to why their memberships don't get them into NAB games ......I myself reckon it's a bit rich.
BUT that wouldn't stop me from going to see my team "live" at every opportunity .......nor has it, it seems supporters in other states ......WA has had wonderful support.
It's just plain appathy .......wrapped up in a range of excuses
Well, to be fair our games have been affected by a) Clipsal and b) Fringe. This weekend some people might toss up between going to the 3rd ODI (if rqd) or the footy. I know its one or the other for me (mainly because of work), and footy will win out, because I thoroughly enjoyed myself on Saturday night, and TBH the cricket has been shit this year anyway. :thumbsd: Doesnt help that I have to renew rego this week either :(
Just paid for and printed my tickets. :thumbsu:
I was quite happy to fork out... not only the NAB Cup tix, but also a super ticket to Adelaide United's AFC Champions League campaign. There's also almost $200 in board along with that $90 for sports tix.
Eastern Crow
4 Mar 2008, 22:01
no need now to worry about a potential clash with the ODI 3rd final
Kane McGoodwin
4 Mar 2008, 22:04
no need now to worry about a potential clash with the ODI 3rd final
The final would have been on the Friday. My clash is that I was intending to go to Womad on the Saturday.
Kane McGoodwin
4 Mar 2008, 22:08
Agreed - members should at least get a discount. eg. Say $5 & they would make the money on the food/drinks/parking.
Eastern Crow
4 Mar 2008, 22:09
The final would have been on the Friday. My clash is that I was intending to go to Womad on the Saturday.
FINANCIALLY may still be a decision some families would have to make
ODI final or NAB final, some familirs would not be able to afford both
With today’s interest rise, some families may not be able to afford either.
The choices have unfortunately become a lot simpler. :(
ams4crows
5 Mar 2008, 13:22
lucky for me Diego just gave a free ticket to the united match so that saves a bit a cash! and now I can go to the crows match without a worry that i'm going to go bankrupt! I am afterall a full time Uni student the cash flow isn't exactly great!
NikkiNoo
5 Mar 2008, 13:27
lucky for me Diego just gave a free ticket to the united match so that saves a bit a cash! and now I can go to the crows match without a worry that i'm going to go bankrupt! I am afterall a full time Uni student the cash flow isn't exactly great!
So you are at Flinders then Amy? :D
Southerntakeover
5 Mar 2008, 14:33
Why, what in her post makes you think shes second rate?
NikkiNoo
5 Mar 2008, 14:39
Watch it!
Adelaide United were at Flinders today
Dandy_GO
5 Mar 2008, 15:19
NAB Cup Grand Final superstar Luke Jericho probably isn't playing so I'm not sure we can win this one, guys.
Because she's far away, and irrelevant to what happens on this board?
Damn it, beat me to it.
Ferris_rules
5 Mar 2008, 19:01
I don't think you understand most Crows supporters.
My daughter for example wants to go to see this game ... she would be spitting chips if she couldn't go because it was moved to Melbourne.
I am a season ticket holder and have attended all the pre season games to date and yes I am going this weekend!
However, I would rather our club practice at Telstra Dome so that they are ready for that all important first away game against the Dogs.
Especially with Hudson and Welsh playing for them!
The greater good is that we are in the best form ready for that game.
Although with that said, I am sure the Club must have discussed this issue with Craigy who possibly feels that a home game is better than traveling If that is the case then I endorse us playing at home!
Kildonan
6 Mar 2008, 00:45
I think both clubs are keen to win this match.
The Saints are happy to get some experience playing interstate, and are eyeing off the cash rewards having been the only club to officially register a loss for season 2007. (We had several one off payments, but are financially very sound with no debts).
The Saints playing groups have been impressive, being carried essentially by our youth to actually make the final. Several more senior players will force their way into the NAB Cup Final squad with a few unlucky kids having to make way for them. This was always going to happen, as we have been quite disciplined in our approach - we have played youth and gradually brought our senior players in. The approach was designed to have the best available squad come Round 1.
I'm sure Adelaide's approach would have been quite similar. I think the Saints were surprised to make the final, (we certainly were lucky), and now we find ourselves trying to put together a Round 1 quality squad slightly early.
Don't think I'm trying to make excuses, as I'm not. I think we will win.
I also think that we will continue with our heavily regulated approach, which will pay dividends as the H&A season grows long and finals loom. This means that players will be rested with little regard for the state of the game. Twice now our FF has been dragged to rest the final quarter because that was what was planned. I was left pulling my hair out thinking that we had thrown it away, only to see our underrated kids snatch victory against all odds. :cool:
I doubt we will drag our FF this match, but we will stick to a preconceived battle plan and rotations.
SAINTS 4 07 FLAG
6 Mar 2008, 16:50
The Saints are happy to get some experience playing interstate, and are eyeing off the cash rewards having been the only club to officially register a loss for season 2007. (We had several one off payments, but are financially very sound with no debts).
The Saints playing groups have been impressive, being carried essentially by our youth to actually make the final. Several more senior players will force their way into the NAB Cup Final squad with a few unlucky kids having to make way for them. This was always going to happen, as we have been quite disciplined in our approach - we have played youth and gradually brought our senior players in. The approach was designed to have the best available squad come Round 1.
I'm sure Adelaide's approach would have been quite similar. I think the Saints were surprised to make the final, (we certainly were lucky), and now we find ourselves trying to put together a Round 1 quality squad slightly early.
Don't think I'm trying to make excuses, as I'm not. I think we will win.
I also think that we will continue with our heavily regulated approach, which will pay dividends as the H&A season grows long and finals loom. This means that players will be rested with little regard for the state of the game. Twice now our FF has been dragged to rest the final quarter because that was what was planned. I was left pulling my hair out thinking that we had thrown it away, only to see our underrated kids snatch victory against all odds. :cool:
I doubt we will drag our FF this match, but we will stick to a preconceived battle plan and rotations.
I felt exactly the same way..especially against Geelong. As soon as kosi went off i thought we were gone.
I doubt we really care that much. St Kilda always needs trophies and causes for optimism. But whilst winning is nice, and I'm sure we'd "like" to win. I can't see we care THAT much.
James_37
6 Mar 2008, 20:25
The Saints playing groups have been impressive, being carried essentially by our youth to actually make the final. Several more senior players will force their way into the NAB Cup Final squad with a few unlucky kids having to make way for them. This was always going to happen, as we have been quite disciplined in our approach - we have played youth and gradually brought our senior players in. The approach was designed to have the best available squad come Round 1...
Our approach has definitely been very similar, no Edwards or Goodwin, our 2 top midfielders in the center, we've really let the youngsters do all the tough stuff and so far have done us proud, as Crowmo says though, whilst it would be great to win, we not going to be crying ourselves to sleep if we lose, bit like when we lost to Geelong to years ago, it wasn't nice to lose, but it was just a great preparation for the season proper and we started really well.
panthers
6 Mar 2008, 21:21
I doubt we really care that much. St Kilda always needs trophies and causes for optimism. But whilst winning is nice, and I'm sure we'd "like" to win. I can't see we care THAT much.
Dont kid yourself the Crows players and heirachy want to win this game as much as Saints do.
Seriously guys how can u not play 2 win:confused: every footy player that steps out onto the field on saturday will be wanting to win.
Dont kid yourself the Crows players and heirachy want to win this game as much as Saints do.
I bow to your greater knowledge of our motivations.
Seriously guys how can u not play 2 win:confused: every footy player that steps out onto the field on saturday will be wanting to win.
every player wants to win, I have no doubt. it's all about how far they'll go to get it ;)
jenny61_99
6 Mar 2008, 22:35
I can't imagine any player going out on that ground on Saturday night and not wanting to win. We ALL want to win - I just love how we try to be so nonchalant about the whole "it's only NAB Cup, it doesn't matter if we lose" crap. Nobody likes to lose. Nobody! (Except maybe Paul Roos ;)). The pain wouldn't be as a bad as a "real" premiership loss, but it'd still sting.
but jenny you're mixing up 2 different things. yes I am sure they'd want to win, and equally I am sure they're professional enough to know that they shouldn't be crashing too hard into packs and getting themselves too knocked up.
this has always been true. it's not worth 4 points, so its not worth getting yourself in trouble. there 2 things here, wanting to win, and what price?
NikkiNoo
6 Mar 2008, 23:40
but jenny you're mixing up 2 different things. yes I am sure they'd want to win, and equally I am sure they're professional enough to know that they shouldn't be crashing too hard into packs and getting themselves too knocked up.
this has always been true. it's not worth 4 points, so its not worth getting yourself in trouble. there 2 things here, wanting to win, and what price?
There are places available for round 1. Craig is creating a culture in that our players walk onto that field to win regardless of if 4 points are available or not. You don't pull out of contests in this team, if you do, you don't play the next week. Jericho as an example.
If you had seen how hard they have been going in the last nab games here, the players want to win and are pretty well doing everything in their power to win. You only have to have looked at Doughty throwing himself into the fray in the fremantle game as an example.
There are places available for round 1. Craig is creating a culture in that our players walk onto that field to win regardless of if 4 points are available or not. You don't pull out of contests in this team, if you do, you don't play the next week. Jericho as an example.
If you had seen how hard they have been going in the last nab games here, the players want to win and are pretty well doing everything in their power to win. You only have to have looked at Doughty throwing himself into the fray in the fremantle game as an example.
So you believe all 22 spots are up for grabs? and you think the club doesn't mean it, when it says it is really more focused on round 1?
pre-season has always been, and will always be pre-season. always.
To be absolutley honest this is a big test for some of our young guns on Saturday Evening. The Saints are loaded with some real talent this year, particually in the ruck (Steven King) and they have a good record at AAMI Stadium vs Adelaide in night games during the home and away and finals (I think its 3-2). Though they havent played us here since that 2005 qualifying final. They've won the last two here vs us in 2004 and 2005 and we let a game get away vs them last year so I think this is a big test for us going into the season but I don't think there is any reason why you should hang your heads if we lose because its the fun time of the year, preseason. One of the advantages is we will have a home crowd behind us and sometimes our home crowd is unbelievebly loud as it urges the team on. To be honest we should go in as the underdog but I'm confident we can win if we play at our very best. We have a great home fixture in 2008 and we MUST play better at home this year (9 home wins would be great), because our away fixture is much tougher, trip to subi to play West Coast, Hawks in Launceston and especially the 3 day games at Telstra Dome.
jenny61_99
7 Mar 2008, 08:52
Most footballers are "naturals", that is, they play on instinct. I am pretty sure it's something you can't just turn on and off - particularly in a Grand Final (no matter how mickey mouse it is :p). So they'll be going in hard, I have no doubt about that!
I dunno, I guess it's kind of similar to not being able to type full words on a keyboard.
I mean using a keyboard is just like SMS isn't it?
I agree.
St Kilda will give themselves every opportunity to win the game and this will be the number 1 priority where as it’s not a huge priority to us. Yes every player wants to win and every player never gives in whist they are on the field but getting short term rewards is different to getting long term results.
As CM said, I doubt we really care that much as I expect Neil Craig will continue to follow his plan of attack he has implemented this pre season buy giving the younger kids a go in the key positions. If that means leaving a Richard Douglas, David Mackay or a Bernie Vince on a Robert Harvey or a Nick Dal Santo to learn something at the risk of losing the game, that will not be a huge problem.
Winning is nice and everyone will try hard but if the players on the park are fighting outside of there weight division, winning doesn’t look like an important priority does it
I am pretty sure NC wants to win this game but looking after the long term plan is always a solid strategy in the pre season over gaining some short term glory every day of the week.
I agree.
St Kilda will give themselves every opportunity to win the game and this will be the number 1 priority where as it’s not a huge priority to us. Yes every player wants to win and every player never gives in whist they are on the field but getting short term rewards is different to getting long term results.
As CM said, I doubt we really care that much as I expect Neil Craig will continue to follow his plan of attack he has implemented this pre season buy giving the younger kids a go in the key positions. If that means leaving a Richard Douglas, David Mackay or a Bernie Vince on a Robert Harvey or a Nick Dal Santo to learn something at the risk of losing the game, that will not be a huge problem.
Winning is nice and everyone will try hard but if the players on the park are fighting outside of there weight division, winning doesn’t look like an important priority does it
I am pretty sure NC wants to win this game but looking after the long term plan is always a solid strategy in the pre season over gaining some short term glory every day of the week.
Good post. You got it in a nut shell!!!:thumbsu::thumbsu:
Stiffy_18
7 Mar 2008, 18:02
Errr.....not quite right!
SOME spots are up for grabs, not all. In fact Craig himself said a week or two ago that he already knows what 2/3 of his round one side is. So in other words, there are only 1/3 of the spots available for round 1. Roughly thats 7 spots in the 22. When you take into account that Craig has said that he is still undecided on his ruck duo, that leaves 5 other spots up for grabs.
Since then, Sellar has been dropped in favour of Tippett which suggests that Craig has settled for his tall forward to play in tandem with McGregor. That leaves 4 spots up for grabs.
So the bottom line is that only 4-7 spots are available in the round 1 team.
I just can't see the likes of McLeod, Goodwin, Edwards, Burton, Rutten, Bock, McGregor, Thompson, Reilly, van Berlo, Knights et al be all too concerned about missing the game in round 1 if they don't go into each contest with max intensity. I very much doubt they would be out of the team ala Jericho. In fact, I would argue that they would be MUCH more concerned about not copping an injury that can keep them out of round 1 than anything else.
NikkiNoo
7 Mar 2008, 18:16
but that means that 1/3 of the team will be out to do their best and put their bodies on the line. That sort of commitment often has a flow on effect.
You might think realistically that a McLeod will think about what he is about to do before putting his body on the line, but in the heat of a game, where there is a ball to be won and your younger teammates have already been putting their bodies on the line, I think that McLeod would go after that ball regardless of what is around them. They might initially think, oh I might hurt myself but they play professional football because they have a competitive streak and anyone thinking that streak won't take over during the game.....
Wayne's-World
7 Mar 2008, 18:38
Agree that Tippett appears to have clinched a spot
I guess both wings are still undecided ......both Mackay and Symes have had a great series of games ......I would say ithe battle remains:
Mackay v Douglas
Moran v Stevens
McGregor V Sellar
Campbell v Shirley
Massie v Gallman ......bout still to start :D
Wouldn't say any of those contests are locked away ......maybe Kenny has done enough ATS and Stevens has Moran covered .....but just where Moran fits is the big quandry .......he's certainly done very well in the NAB games
hey shorty
7 Mar 2008, 19:28
Of course winning is important, and this is a Grand Final of sorts, but again its all about our young guys stepping up a peg on a bigger stage. If they can do that and we still go down then so be it. If we win, well you certainly wont have me on here going "Woohoo NAB Cup Premiers 2008 YOU BEAUTY" but of course ill be more pleased than if we were to lose.
As people have said, no one likes to lose but it is a lot easier to take in a glorified trial game rather than in 2 weeks when we are playing for points at the start of a season where I want to start proving the majority wrong, and showing that we can still compete.
I agree.
yup,
well articulated. :thumbsu:
but that means that 1/3 of the team will be out to do their best and put their bodies on the line. That sort of commitment often has a flow on effect.
You might think realistically that a McLeod will think about what he is about to do before putting his body on the line, but in the heat of a game, where there is a ball to be won and your younger teammates have already been putting their bodies on the line, I think that McLeod would go after that ball regardless of what is around them. They might initially think, oh I might hurt myself but they play professional football because they have a competitive streak and anyone thinking that streak won't take over during the game.....
C98 put it best, players are creatures of instinct. and when they see certain match ups, i.e. a young guy getting burned on an experienced player etc, they will get the message that the club is still trying a few things.
The NFL had its first regular season game outside the US here a couple of months back. the players were asked about it what it meant, and they all said it was a world of difference. exhibition games etc are fine, but they're professional and they know their obligations. that this was a game for points, meant they would be going 100% and no matter what, they don't do that in an exhibition.
the players aren't stupid, at least most of them aren't ;) , they know the score. love to win, not at any price.
actually I disagree, I think most of those are locked away.
Agree that Tippett appears to have clinched a spot
I guess both wings are still undecided ......both Mackay and Symes have had a great series of games ......I would say ithe battle remains:
Mackay v Douglas
MacKay
Moran v Stevens
Stevens
McGregor V Sellar
McGregor
Campbell v Shirley
Shirley
Massie v Gallman ......bout still to start :D
none of the above ;)
Wouldn't say any of those contests are locked away ......maybe Kenny has done enough ATS and Stevens has Moran covered .....but just where Moran fits is the big quandry .......he's certainly done very well in the NAB games
I'm not even sure some of them are close.