View Full Version : Luke Hodge is Jarman but tougher ....
Hodge2Franklin
2 Mar 2008, 09:47
I remember seeing a poster around here at some stage with a username WeneedYoungJarmans or something.
Well you got one.
Hodge is Jarman but tougher.
I have been hard on Hodge because I was so desparate to see him become what I sensed he could. Well he has and I couldn't give a flying F*CK what anyone on here says he is the best player in the competition now and am really happy that he has found the stuff inside him to become the champion he was destined to be...
Yeah I am excited but what a gladiator he is. Easily my favourite Hawthorn player since I have been watching footy.
dutchy12
2 Mar 2008, 09:51
He is a gun, love the way he goes about his business.
Hodge2Franklin
2 Mar 2008, 09:54
He is a gun, love the way he goes about his business.
Tough as Lethal and skilled as Jarman. Can't wait to see him playing in a Grand Final. :eek::eek::eek:
WCE929406
2 Mar 2008, 10:20
Tough as Lethal and skilled as Jarman. Can't wait to see him playing in a Grand Final. :eek::eek::eek:
If his last final was anything to go by.
Shoe in for norm smith :rolleyes:
FisherHawk
2 Mar 2008, 10:24
Yep, Hodgey's star just shins brighter and brighter. By the end of 08, as long as he's injury free, he will be recognised as at least in the top 5 players in the comp. Hodge for Brownlow.
Lets draft 4 more Luke Hodges, 3 Brownies and another Buddy:D.
Main Man
2 Mar 2008, 11:02
Couldnt agree with you anymore H2F, seriously does things on the field that know one else can, not Judd not anyone.. In my opinion he is underrated by to many in the football public, no doubt he is top 5 in the comp.. My favourite Hawthorn player ever also!
Main Man
2 Mar 2008, 11:04
He was injured you knob, if the week before against Adelaide is anything to go by he is a shoe in..
Shoe in for norm smith :rolleyes:See you in a fortnight. :rolleyes:
Leather Poisoning
2 Mar 2008, 11:10
The best thing about hodge is that he NEVER hangs out for the easy kick. He's priority seems to be getting into a pack, bursting through it, then disposing of it.
HOW GOOD WAS THAT ****ING TACKLE AND GOAL LAST NIGHT!
Hodge is such a legend - the one percenters that this guy does is what sets him apart from other midfielders. I'm sure there are many others that kill the stats sheet more than him, but there is only one Luke Hodge.
Hodge and Brown show exactly what we want from all of our players. We've got skill and talent to burn. Add some true grunt and determination and it's as though you have extra players on the ground.
kirbatron
2 Mar 2008, 11:34
I love it when he gets that look in his eye and just chases, chases, tackles and chases more.
Carn Hawkas
2 Mar 2008, 11:45
Gotta love him, legend. My favourate player as well.
If he stays fit all year he will be unstopable.
Leather Poisoning
2 Mar 2008, 11:48
I love it when he gets that look in his eye and just chases, chases, tackles and chases more.
Is that why his girl is preggo? :p
noosa hawk mad
2 Mar 2008, 14:32
Adelaide V Hawthorn L Hodge BOG Hawks vice-captain Luke Hodge starred for the visitors with 27 possessions and an amazing 11 inside-50s. His tackling was fantastic a great game with Hodgey leading the way his ferocious attack on man & footy a pleasure to watch was a work horse in the middle and inspirational when he went forward. A goal from the boundary line in the second quarter lifted his side going into time on.Looking forward to a big year from Hodge our Warrior Champion will become one of the greats of the HFC :thumbsu:
CharlieMitchell
2 Mar 2008, 15:43
A picture paints a thousand words:
http://www.gspimages.com.au/images/thumbs/main/67230.jpg
I agree
Hodge is as good as ANYONE in the afl. His form in the preseason has been excellent and he only looks like hes playing to half his capactiy, thats whats scary.
I agree. twas a great tackle, but least be honest, If a player runs straight at you and jumpes up into your arms every Hawks player should do what Hodgey did.
Just on the Hodge Jarman comparison; I recon Hodge is the best field kick in the comp now.
The year Dunstall kicked 145 goals 84 of them were direct passes from Jars... thats 4 goal assists a game to one player. Add the goals Jars kicked himeself and you can see why they are both 2 of the best skilled players in the last 20 years.
Gold Member
2 Mar 2008, 17:38
The best thing about hodge is that he NEVER hangs out for the easy kick. He's priority seems to be getting into a pack, bursting through it, then disposing of it.
HOW GOOD WAS THAT ****ING TACKLE AND GOAL LAST NIGHT!
Hodge is such a legend - the one percenters that this guy does is what sets him apart from other midfielders. I'm sure there are many others that kill the stats sheet more than him, but there is only one Luke Hodge.
Hodge and Brown show exactly what we want from all of our players. We've got skill and talent to burn. Add some true grunt and determination and it's as though you have extra players on the ground.
Brutal tackle! For a sec I thought somebody flipped the tv to the NRL... Head on and drove the ball carrier backwards and into the turf :thumbsu:
Number 24
2 Mar 2008, 20:39
I remember seeing a poster around here at some stage with a username WeneedYoungJarmans or something.
Well you got one.
I have been hard on Hodge because I was so desparate to see him become what I sensed he could. Well he has and I couldn't give a flying F*CK what anyone on here says he is the best player in the competition now and am really happy that he has found the stuff inside him to become the champion he was destined to be...
Yeah I am excited but what a gladiator he is. Easily my favourite Hawthorn player since I have been watching footy.
Come on Luke, thats crap. Hodge is good but not yet in Jarmans class. Dj killed the other side with every kick. He was accurate at goal. Lh is hard, a good kick, but misses a lot of targets and kicks too many behinds.
He is a very good player but only in the top 10-15, not the best in the competition by a wide margin.
gGve me some of what you are on....please.
Leather Poisoning
2 Mar 2008, 22:18
WHAAAAACK!
jarmanagic
2 Mar 2008, 22:48
He is a class player, but settle down. Potential does not equal performance. Should I start suggesting Porpylzia might be better than Mcleod? Jarman kicked 11 goals in 2 Grand Finals including 5 in the last quarter of 97 to win the game almost off his own boot (+ Shane Ellen, god bless him). Hodge hasnt reached that level yet. Might though
Just by the way, about 10 minutes after he caught Knights holding the ball in the picture, Knights caught him holding the ball the same way
flukeyluke
2 Mar 2008, 22:53
I disagree.
Darren Jarman was one of the most skilled footballers ever to play the game.
Hodge is very good, but not as skilled as DJ.
Leather Poisoning
2 Mar 2008, 22:54
He is a class player, but settle down. Potential does not equal performance. Should I start suggesting Porpylzia might be better than Mcleod? Jarman kicked 11 goals in 2 Grand Finals including 5 in the last quarter of 97 to win the game almost off his own boot (+ Shane Ellen, god bless him). Hodge hasnt reached that level yet. Might though
Just by the way, about 10 minutes after he caught Knights holding the ball in the picture, Knights caught him holding the ball the same way
Hodge v jarman is very different to porpz v mcleod.
Hodge is an established player that just had his best season and we're comparing him to one of the most skillful players of all time.
Porps has only played a couple of years and you're comparing him to a norm smith medalist.
However, when I think Jarman, I think skill, when I think Hodge, I think guts and leadership.
Different players, hard to compare.
Buddy the Brave
2 Mar 2008, 23:02
Still hurting from those three goals in the third qtr against your mob last year off the opposite foot down at Aurora, suck it up and go back to where you came from
Consumed
3 Mar 2008, 04:17
One thing Adelaide & Hawthorn fans will always agree on. Jarman was an absolutely sensational player. One of my all-time favorites.
MinerBoy
3 Mar 2008, 08:53
Well you got one.
But you wanted Mitchell as captain IIRC.
But yes, Hodge is clearly our best player and is the guy who should have been captain. An inspirational player and leader.
PS. No disrespect for Sammy intended. I just have Hodgey on a different level. Sammy is still a great Hawthorn man though and a terrific player.
But you wanted Mitchell as captain IIRC.
But yes, Hodge is clearly our best player and is the guy who should have been captain. An inspirational player and leader.
PS. No disrespect for Sammy intended. I just have Hodgey on a different level. Sammy is still a great Hawthorn man though and a terrific player.I agree MB - easily our best player AND onfield leader....and when Sammy missed those 2 goals I couldn't help but think of Richie Vandenberg.....unfair I know but that's what I thought
Frankston Rover
3 Mar 2008, 09:10
Two things from the Adelaide game that I liked about Luke Hodge and neither was actually part of the game itself.
1. IIRC, three quarter time, the cameras were on our huddle and Hodge is pointing at the coaches board and talking to the players. He has their attention and is obviously a respected leader at the club. Good to see.
2. After the second term comeback, the siren goes for half time, and LH mouthes the words 'That's how we should play'. Not sure if it was directed at anyone or just to himself, but it was great to see that he is thinking about his/the teams performance - even in the NAB Cup.
I look forward to a big year from Hodgey.
kirbatron
3 Mar 2008, 09:19
12 players voted on the Captaincy.
It was 6 - 5 in favour of Hodge with Crawf to vote (who passed initially and wanted more time to think).
6-6 then it went to the Coaching staff.
Leather Poisoning
3 Mar 2008, 09:25
12 players voted on the Captaincy.
It was 6 - 5 in favour of Hodge with Crawf to vote (who passed initially and wanted more time to think).
6-6 then it went to the Coaching staff.
Really?
Only 12 players voted?
I have a shaky memory of Browny telling me once that Richie V got 41 of a possible 44 votes for captain at the start of the 07 season (IIRC).
kirbatron
3 Mar 2008, 09:38
At a guess they may have included all players in the preliminary vote and then brought it down to the final 12 (the Senior Group) to make the decision.
Jarman03
3 Mar 2008, 10:05
No question that Hodgey if he hasnt is becoming what was predited of him at such a young age, and like many others with big reputations, he has plyed his craft in multiple positions. He has been a dominant possibly All Australian HB, a gun midfielder and is now a quality fwd option, similar to the HIRD model, can play in all positions.
What is embarrassing as a hawks supporter, embarrassing, is the fact that he is not our CAPTAIN. :thumbsu:
Stephen2
3 Mar 2008, 11:14
Just dropping by, thought I'd post a thought.
Hodge is fantastic, he has a lot of strings to his bow and is definitely a superstar (you always know he will kick those pressure goals).
However, he shouldn't be compared to Jars, who was a different style player. Must be the the best kick on the run that I've ever seen, either foot...
Actually, Hodge reminds me of Ricciuto a fair bit, slightly less crash and bash, more skilled by foot, less skilled by hand, but a few things certainly remind me of Roo. That's a big compliment from a Crows fan by the way!
Still, if Hodge decides he wants to come to Adelaide to win us a few flags, like Jarman did, then so be it! :)
WeneedyoungJarmans
3 Mar 2008, 12:39
Hodge and Jarman - 2 completely different footballers.
Hodge is consistent, a leader onfield, a grunt footballer.
Jarman was a big game player, flashed in and out of matches. But his big game was a bloody big game. Namely his 2 GF performances for Adelaide.
I see more similarities between Franklin and Jarman - both have game breaking abilities - can make the difficult look easy.
In terms of kicking skills on both sides of the body, Jarman is the best I've ever seen. No one, and I mean no one, is / was nearly as good off both feet.
I reckon Hodge reminds me the most of a younger Michael Voss. Tough, Built midfielder with a sublime play reading skills, hardness and attack on the pill.
Should win a charlie in the next 5.
Trickstar
3 Mar 2008, 14:17
He's no Jarman, Jars skills off both feet were the best ever! Hodge has great courage, great left foot kick, good skills in close, reads the play well, is getting confidence kicking goals (finally) but the best thing I find is that he has found a level of maturity in what he does, everyone knows he likes the rough stuff but whenever someone else roughs him up and tries to egg him on he just gets up with a smile on his face. He is the first to support a team mate or move them away from disputing a bad call, great stuff.
I have had money on him winning a Brownlow for the last three years - I am hoping this year to be the one!
Hodge is 100 times tougher than Jarman ever was, he was tougher than Jarman from the moment he stepped onto an AFL ground for the first time!!
BUT he has a long way to go before he can claim to have the foot skills Jarman had... Darren Jarman had the best kick off left of right foot the game has EVER seen, Hodge is brilliant on his left foot but can only hit the target on his right if he has all day to think about it!
Hodge2Franklin
3 Mar 2008, 18:31
Isn't it great that we can talk about Hodgey in the same sentence as Jarman though. Whether or not we agree I reckon by the end of his career we might all agree that he is ...
Lets draft 4 more Luke Hodges, 3 Brownies and another Buddy:D.
4 more wooden spoons will give you all that. :thumbsu:
toomanysquibs
3 Mar 2008, 21:59
Isn't it great that we can talk about Hodgey in the same sentence as Jarman though. Whether or not we agree I reckon by the end of his career we might all agree that he is ...
In my humble opinion Hodge is our Voss. Really similar types, tough as all get out, able to go where the game needs winning and then have the grunt/skill/aggression to do it. Friggin inspirational. Watching Hodge do to Brisbane what Voss used to do to us brought a tear to my eye in our MCG match last year.
Jarman was on a plain I've never seen anyone reach with his footskills though, and man he was just a freak when he turned it on. His last season with Hawthorn was mind blowing. I wonder what he'd have been like if he'd ever bothered to go really hard at training....
toomanysquibs
3 Mar 2008, 22:01
4 more wooden spoons will give you all that. :thumbsu:
Please fill me in on the spoon we won to get Hodge - you do realise we haven't won one since like 1965, right?
MinerBoy
4 Mar 2008, 10:43
To be honest, Jars will always have Hodgey covered when it comes to pure football skills. However, as a Hawthorn FC footballer, Hodgey has already given the club more than Jarman did (and I loved Jars). Aside from one brilliant season where he won the B&F (1995 I think), Jars was brilliant but enigmatic as a footballer. Hodgey is as good/better now and will be considered far an away a better player for the HFC by the time he finishes up.
Hodge is a star and will become a superstar of the game no doubt.
The way he was giving Johncock the run around when resting up forward is very indicative of how good he is. Stiffy hardly ever gets beaten let alone made to look slow and out of it.
I may have a dollar or two on Hodge for the Brownlow this year (if only he could stay out of trouble;))
Having said all that, NOONE is better than Darren Jarman:p
crawf_legend
6 Mar 2008, 15:15
No. Luke Hodge is a unique individual. In other words, hes Luke Hodge.