View Full Version : CT's report vs. Port

Coin_Toss
2 Mar 2008, 09:51
Firstly, let me begin with the words, "Footy's back in town!". I was looking forward to seeing the boys take to the field yesterday even though it was just a practice match at Princess Park.

Within the first two minutes, Collingwood had already scored the first major of the afternoon from Anthony Rocca. Correct me if i'm wrong, but it was the only time of the match where Collingwood held the lead.

James Clement (retired), Presti (injured), Wakelin (who came on midway through the first quarter) and Goldsack (played in the intra-club match), so that's at least 350 games experience missing from the backline at the start of the match, which is why they got the early ascendancy and looked like scoring every time the ball ventured into their forward line.

A lot was riding on the young shoulders of Heath Shaw who had to play the role of a leader, surrounded by Chris Dawes, John Anthony and Alan Toovey, and between them only have a mere 10 games experience. I don't know what Malthouse was thinking when Chris Dawes lined up on Warren Tredrea when Nathan Brown was, watching on from the stands, probably thinking to himself why on earth he wasn't out there. It's fair to say we were always going to struggle to contain their forward line and that was the difference between the two sides.

The best players for mine were Travis Cloke, Chris Egan and Sam Iles. Travis continued to impress on his long leads and an incredible work ethic. Chris demonstrated everything I had hoped he would become, his ability to run through the midfield and apply pressure when he needed to was second to none, and he's certainly one to watch this year if he plays like he did yesterday. Last, but not least, Sam Iles has become a more prominent player at contests and he can run with the footy. He will be a good player for us off half-back over the next decade.

PieLebo87
2 Mar 2008, 16:01
Firstly, let me begin with the words, "Footy's back in town!". I was looking forward to seeing the boys take to the field yesterday even though it was just a practice match at Princess Park.

Within the first two minutes, Collingwood had already scored the first major of the afternoon from Anthony Rocca. Correct me if i'm wrong, but it was the only time of the match where Collingwood held the lead.

James Clement (retired), Presti (injured), Wakelin (who came on midway through the first quarter) and Goldsack (played in the intra-club match), so that's at least 350 games experience missing from the backline at the start of the match, which is why they got the early ascendancy and looked like scoring every time the ball ventured into their forward line.

A lot was riding on the young shoulders of Heath Shaw who had to play the role of a leader, surrounded by Chris Dawes, John Anthony and Alan Toovey, and between them only have a mere 10 games experience. I don't know what Malthouse was thinking when Chris Dawes lined up on Warren Tredrea when Nathan Brown was, watching on from the stands, probably thinking to himself why on earth he wasn't out there. It's fair to say we were always going to struggle to contain their forward line and that was the difference between the two sides.

The best players for mine were Travis Cloke, Chris Egan and Sam Iles. Travis continued to impress on his long leads and an incredible work ethic. Chris demonstrated everything I had hoped he would become, his ability to run through the midfield and apply pressure when he needed to was second to none, and he's certainly one to watch this year if he plays like he did yesterday. Last, but not least, Sam Iles has become a more prominent player at contests and he can run with the footy. He will be a good player for us off half-back over the next decade.

Big call CT. Explain..?

The Royal Sampler
2 Mar 2008, 16:37
Iles' selection was one that always irked me, because frankly I thought at the time we should have taken Guerra in the PSD. Iles has now impressed me, I rate him as a future fixture in our 22.

2 Mar 2008, 19:14
Good to hear that news on Sammy :thumbsu:

Anyone have on thoughts on Dawes?? ... as in shouldn't he be playing forward and kicking goals? I know it's a preseason match, presti is out, james gone, goldy coming back etc etc but for the future isn't he meant to be a foward player?

To be honest the only stuff I've seen him do was a few times at training early last year but the way he was leading in drills with classic timing, hands out in front taking marks it's like he belonged as a forward. From what I remember his kicking action wasn't pretty (wasn't ugly either) but he was straight and had a big boot which is more important than anything else really.

So anyone with thoughts? Anyone see him play live at Willy back this theory up?

Coin_Toss
2 Mar 2008, 19:50
Big call CT. Explain..?

Maybe not over a decade, but I reckon he will be pretty serviceable.

Ramere
2 Mar 2008, 19:53

Anyone have on thoughts on Dawes?? ... as in shouldn't he be playing forward and kicking goals? I know it's a preseason match, presti is out, james gone, goldy coming back etc etc but for the future isn't he meant to be a foward player?

To be honest the only stuff I've seen him do was a few times at training early last year but the way he was leading in drills with classic timing, hands out in front taking marks it's like he belonged as a forward. From what I remember his kicking action wasn't pretty (wasn't ugly either) but he was straight and had a big boot which is more important than anything else really.

So anyone with thoughts? Anyone see him play live at Willy back this theory up?

Noting wrong with giving him time down back, can only help round his game. Rocca spent much of a season playing down back & was a better player for it.

Coin_Toss
2 Mar 2008, 19:56
This is my two cents on Dawes, he might not be good enough to break into the forward line because we have other options, but from what I saw of him he isn't a defender.

PieLebo87
3 Mar 2008, 04:50
Maybe not over a decade, but I reckon he will be pretty serviceable.

No no, I wasn't questioning your opinion, I was just wandering what you thought of him, as a future player, because you see something in him to state he will be in our future/serviceable.

FIGJAM
3 Mar 2008, 07:31
This is my two cents on Dawes, he might not be good enough to break into the forward line because we have other options, but from what I saw of him he isn't a defender.
I thought he was serevicable and did well enough against Westhoff.

He started the game late and had a year off with injury. He will take time to crystalise as a forward at AFL level, and we'd have to expect some degree of time for him to work out as a defender.

He isn't slow and was always close to his opponent providing pressure. He is a big lad and is quite athletic.

I wouldn't write him off in defence just yet.

Visions
3 Mar 2008, 08:48

He at least knows how to kick straight, which considering what we have in the forward line at the moment is music to the ears!

Magnus the Magpie
3 Mar 2008, 08:51
I thought he was serevicable and did well enough against Westhoff.

He started the game late and had a year off with injury. He will take time to crystalise as a forward at AFL level, and we'd have to expect some degree of time for him to work out as a defender.

He isn't slow and was always close to his opponent providing pressure. He is a big lad and is quite athletic.

I wouldn't write him off in defence just yet.

First time I've seen him and I was expecting more weight and muscle. I know the stripes can make our guys look thin but he certainly doesn't seem to have the size to match it with the more muscular forwards. I was hoping to see him down forward.

Budgie
3 Mar 2008, 08:53

He isn't a natural defender. Far to often he would give gis opponent a 2 - 3 metre head start on the lead. Needs to learn to play a lot closer to his man if he wants to keep the job longer term.

malteaser
3 Mar 2008, 17:24
It is obviously a ploy on MM to give himsome game time down back, accountability, one on one work etc, defensive side, chasing players down.

Listening to Harry on Sen, sounds like he might be down there every now and then.

fraser25
3 Mar 2008, 20:33

and who is he gonna play ahead of rocca? rusling? cloke? reid?

may as well see if he can defend otherwise he's not gonna play much in the next few years.

3 Mar 2008, 22:35
and who is he gonna play ahead of rocca? rusling? cloke? reid?

may as well see if he can defend otherwise he's not gonna play much in the next few years.

Play ahead of Cloke? - don't be silly. Big A - of course not. Rusling - doubtful, but fact is Rus keeps getting injured and although has played some ripper games has also gone missing on more than just a few games too. And Reid? Well he's still to prove himself in the best 22.

I agree with the others that suggest MM likes to chuck players down back to learn accountability ... but he was picked up as a forward so fingers crossed if he's selected in the seniors this year it's because his form is on for booting goals and not because we're desparate for tall to defend.

Bloben
4 Mar 2008, 20:30
Dawes is a big boy who has natural ability and speed. I would bet though that throughout his career so far he has never played as a defender. He may one day be a forward but we have a current need for big defenders and he may fill that hole. He will need some time to adapt his game though.

Wasn't Presti touted as a forward during his U18 days??