View Full Version : Xavier Ellis will be as good as Hodge .....
Xavier Ellis will be as good as Hodge. Bookmark it!
The X-Man has so much poise, and time, when he has the football in his hands its incredible. He reminds me so much of Hodge when he is possesing the footy. The way he runs, quickly switches step and turns his defender inside out. Or the way he draws his defender as close as possible and loops a handball over the top, and runs hard to recieve again.
He is still light of frame and is already showing what he can do. He isnt scared to throw his body out there and knowing he will only get physically bigger from here is a comfortable thought. I haven't been so comfortable with a youngster having the footy in their hands under pressure as I am with X. With his new gained fitness we are seeing his highly rated disposal more and more. I know its a huge call saying he will be as good as Hodge as Hodge is a legend for the brown and gold, but I seriously believe he will be. This kid is a star, and gone will be the Thomas, and Ellis comparisons, X is the future.
Dr_Mutley
2 Mar 2008, 14:04
i have been an X sceptic i must admit... but im sure impressed by what ive seen so far this year....
Hodge2Franklin
2 Mar 2008, 14:05
Totally agree mate. The only time I remember seeing such a talented player step in to the team was Hodge.
Ellis is a footy genius and very hard at it too. The thing that is also strangely similar is how both of them played in a humble manner if that makes sense in their first years ...
Ellis is something really special, there is no doubt about it.
dipper86
2 Mar 2008, 14:23
I thought he was quite ordinary last night.
noosa hawk mad
2 Mar 2008, 14:42
Xavier Ellis will be as good as Hodge. Bookmark it!
The X-Man has so much poise, and time, when he has the football in his hands its incredible. He reminds me so much of Hodge when he is possesing the footy. The way he runs, quickly switches step and turns his defender inside out. Or the way he draws his defender as close as possible and loops a handball over the top, and runs hard to recieve again.
He is still light of frame and is already showing what he can do. He isnt scared to throw his body out there and knowing he will only get physically bigger from here is a comfortable thought. I haven't been so comfortable with a youngster having the footy in their hands under pressure as I am with X. With his new gained fitness we are seeing his highly rated disposal more and more. I know its a huge call saying he will be as good as Hodge as Hodge is a legend for the brown and gold, but I seriously believe he will be. This kid is a star, and gone will be the Thomas, and Ellis comparisons, X is the future.Great footy brain the poise he showed last night will only get better he will be a star :thumbsu:
Leather Poisoning
2 Mar 2008, 14:46
Doesn't have the physique of Hodge so burtsing packs etc is made up for with a much better footy brain (as good as Hodge's is) and class.
I haven't seen what you guys are seein yet. He seems to be too small a build and looks awkward when he gets the ball. He gets thrown around far too easily.
I hope that the ;he's going to be a gun' vision comes to me soon! :)
Hawk0373
2 Mar 2008, 15:04
Reminded me of dal santo in glimpses last night.
I thought he was quite ordinary last night.
I agree. I was hoping last year he'd put on some weight, but appears to have put hardly any on.
He did have his moments, where he deceived opposition and created space, yet his disposal wasn't too good.
To me, he's fighting Ladson and Young for their positions, because those guys are skinny as well, and I don't think you can carry too many skinny weeds, unless they have exceptional ability. Right now both those guys have far better fitness, due to having been on the list longer and being older. Thir disposal is much more damaging; Ladson is a very good decision maker and nearly always hits targets, while Young has good pace, run and carry, and can bomb the ball.
And what's disappointing, is that Ladson was selected 17 in the draft, and Young picked as a rookie. If you didn't know, Ellis was picked with no2.
I think as someone else mentioned in another thread, he has much likeness to Luke Power, and I believe that he could be as good as him, but for pick 2 you'd hope so!
Luke Hodge is an exceptional footballer, with a strong footballers body. Ellis may end up as a good footballer, but his size will prevent him being great - how many exceptional footballers have been skinny in the last 20 years? Very, very few.
I'm trying not to bag him, though it certainly appears that way, it's just this comparison is absolutely ridiculous.
I hope Ellis does end anywhere near as good, but realistically, I don't think so....
Bookmark it.
I haven't seen what you guys are seein yet. He seems to be too small a build and looks awkward when he gets the ball. He gets thrown around far too easily.
I hope that the ;he's going to be a gun' vision comes to me soon! :)
What I am saying is if the only negative thing about Ellis is his weight, then we have no problems with the kid. He will get bigger, I consider his first year of football, actually being his 2nd year after being drafted as having him focusing on his education pretty much gave him little time for development.
Ellis by no means looks awkwards, he moves beautifully, just watch how he carries the footy and draws his man. He is as cool as it comes.
Ellis WILL put on weight, doubt him if you like. But he will be Dal Santo like in build.
noosa hawk mad
2 Mar 2008, 15:11
I hope that the ;he's going to be a gun' vision comes to me soon! :)His frame will get bigger vanders his height is quite deceiving needs to still fill out more & keep hitting the weights.His poise when ball in hand is fantastic starting to back his own ability imo can see some thing special hope you see it soon :):thumbsu:
Main Man
2 Mar 2008, 15:26
Im as bigger fan of Ellis as anyone, will be a superstar for us but I doubt he will ever be as good as Hodge, Hodge will go down as one of the greats of the Hawthorn Football club..
cuttlefish
2 Mar 2008, 15:26
I agree. I was hoping last year he'd put on some weight, but appears to have put hardly any on.
He did have his moments, where he deceived opposition and created space, yet his disposal wasn't too good.
To me, he's fighting Ladson and Young for their positions, because those guys are skinny as well, and I don't think you can carry too many skinny weeds, unless they have exceptional ability. Right now both those guys have far better fitness, due to having been on the list longer and being older. Thir disposal is much more damaging; Ladson is a very good decision maker and nearly always hits targets, while Young has good pace, run and carry, and can bomb the ball.
And what's disappointing, is that Ladson was selected 17 in the draft, and Young picked as a rookie. If you didn't know, Ellis was picked with no2.
I think as someone else mentioned in another thread, he has much likeness to Luke Power, and I believe that he could be as good as him, but for pick 2 you'd hope so!
Luke Hodge is an exceptional footballer, with a strong footballers body. Ellis may end up as a good footballer, but his size will prevent him being great - how many exceptional footballers have been skinny in the last 20 years? Very, very few.
I'm trying not to bag him, though it certainly appears that way, it's just this comparison is absolutely ridiculous.
I hope Ellis does end anywhere near as good, but realistically, I don't think so....
Bookmark it.
Erm...how about Hird ? He was a runt when he started playing.
Agree, but I did say very, very few, so I did not say it was impossible. The other thing is that Hird is pretty tall, and his marking ability was part of the reason why he was outstanding. And the other thing, IMO, Hird's vision and awareness is almost unprecedented, which allowed him to get around being skinny. In fact his frame was much like Tuck's, so I think his body strength was often underestimated.
He has a long, long, long way to go to even be mentioned in the same sentence as Hird.
hodge-910111213
2 Mar 2008, 16:18
Agree, but I did say very, very few, so I did not say it was impossible. The other thing is that Hird is pretty tall, and his marking ability was part of the reason why he was outstanding. And the other thing, IMO, Hird's vision and awareness is almost unprecedented, which allowed him to get around being skinny. In fact his frame was much like Tuck's, so I think his body strength was often underestimated.
He has a long, long, long way to go to even be mentioned in the same sentence as Hird.
Hird was 188, people forget Ellis is 187 which is a pretty decent size if you ask me.
Althought his disposal let himself down last night, some of the things he did when he'd turn players inside out were just so slick. As others have said, weight should not be a big issue, he will fill out.
Hodge is all class though, absolute gun, and as someone else said, will probably go down as one of the greats of the HFC, if not the AFL.
Neville Bartos
2 Mar 2008, 17:16
I think the only thing Ellis showed last night, was that he had a similar flair to Hodge and Dal Santo. He baulked, bounced and kicked in a very similar style, but his impact of the match was minimal. Hodge and DS both have a massive impact on the midfield and hence the game.
He has A LONG way to go before he can reach those heights.
P.S. Why is Luke Hodge still underrated? Very rarely mentioned in the top 10 players in the league
bobbafett007
2 Mar 2008, 17:50
he is so slow cant kick and looks like he will be an average player......
MARK MY WORDS HE WONT BE A SUPERSTAR OR ANYWHERE NEAR HODGE!!!!!
WHO EVER STARTED THIS THREAD IS A MORON!!!!!!!!!!!!
Why? Because he has an opinion? :thumbsd:
Xav was awesome last night. Physically he is still maturing, but with good disposal, skills and an elite footy brain he can take his time. ;)
WHO EVER STARTED THIS THREAD IS A MORON!!!!!!!!!!!!
Wow, Im a moron. If anyone on this forum would like to click this guys profile, and read the 4 posts he is contributed to this forum, you will realise who the real moron is.
Ellis is slow? Hardly, alot of people say Hodge is slow, I think both plays have good acceleration. And to say Ellis cant kick is ridiculous. He has had 2 years in the system, as 1 year was spent at school, so he is still extremely young.
If you want to try come up with some evidence to prove he will be average, ill feel free to show you mine.
Xav was awesome last night. Physically he is still maturing, but with disposal, skills and an elite footy brain he can take his time. ;)
MOJO YOU'RE SUCH A MORON!!!! YOU CANNOT SAY ANYTHING POSITIVE ABOUT HAWTHORN PLAYERS!
Bobbafett007 is a troll, every post he has made is negative ban this fool
MOJO YOU'RE SUCH A MORON!!!! YOU CANNOT SAY ANYTHING POSITIVE ABOUT HAWTHORN PLAYERS!
Bobbafett007 is a troll, every post he has made is negative ban this fool
*Runs to mummy*
Tommyneu
2 Mar 2008, 18:39
He reminds me more of Luke Power then anyone
Ulittledipper
2 Mar 2008, 18:40
I reckon he is better or the same than hodge at the same stage of developement. Had a real crack last night and I reckon he thought that he had to make things happen thats why some things didn't - at least he was thinking-alot were not. (Quote 2007)
Do not know how to quote at the moment (getting there) but this is what I said last year. If some one could help me out with quoting previous posts it would be much appreciated. Anyway it is on the record under my user name.
lickmerocks
2 Mar 2008, 18:45
Xavier Ellis is a Luke Power clone.
lets hope he becomes somewhere near as good as Luke in the future
A bit of a stretch to say as good as Hodgey.
I do think he will be a class player - top 5 in the club possibly - and maybe even a future captain. He seems to have plenty of leadership and I think his skills are very underrated. His strength will get there over time.
But he won't be as influential on a game as Hodgey is.
Ulittledipper
2 Mar 2008, 19:03
A bit of a stretch to say as good as Hodgey.
I do think he will be a class player - top 5 in the club possibly - and maybe even a future captain. He seems to have plenty of leadership and I think his skills are very underrated. His strength will get there over time.
But he won't be as influential on a game as Hodgey is.
Just watch, listen and learn!
CaptainPorks
2 Mar 2008, 19:12
Bookmark it.
He was taken with pick 3. Sorry to be a stickler. I don't necessarily agree but I don't think it changes your point.
Delisted
2 Mar 2008, 19:43
Fool.
Probably one of our smartest and sharpest players already.
Wont be like a luke hodge. Will be like a Luke power. Very smart, poised and classy. Needs to bulk or or atleast he's body to harden up.
Whoever cannot see he's class already doest know much about AFL. Sorry.
Fool.
Probably one of our smartest and sharpest players already.
Wont be like a luke hodge. Will be like a Luke power. Very smart, poised and classy. Needs to bulk or or atleast he's body to harden up.
Whoever cannot see he's class already doest know much about AFL. Sorry.
Agreed. Its obviously a huge reach to say he will be like Hodge. I am not saying this year Ellis will be like Hodge, nor next year, but come a good 3 years in the system you will find a true indication on how great this kid is.
Carn Hawkas
2 Mar 2008, 19:49
He will be a good player, just not as good as Hodge.
I don't see it yet and therefore disagree.
He will be a very good player but not Luke Hodge good. He is very composed and classy when he has the ball but doesn't have the mongrel that Hodge has.
NorthBhoy
2 Mar 2008, 20:05
Settle down...
Um, yeah. I thought this was a joke.
Good sig, Binx. Anyone want a North Social Club membership? Admits to 15 games. I'll be mowing the lawn for the year, it seems.
Um, yeah. I thought this was a joke.
Good sig, Binx. Anyone want a North Social Club membership? Admits to 15 games. I'll be mowing the lawn for the year, it seems.
You couldnt offload those if you tried
Whoosh...
Chrissie90
2 Mar 2008, 21:07
I think Ellis has a long way to go. I think he looks probably behind Cyril who is 2 years younger and didnt play in the under 18s.
Ellis needs to show that he is up to regular senior games before he can even be compared to Clinty Young or Ozzie let alone Hodgey.
This is putting too much pressure on the guy.
Big Ronnie
2 Mar 2008, 21:10
I think Ellis has a long way to go. I think he looks probably behind Cyril who is 2 years younger and didnt play in the under 18s.
Ellis needs to show that he is up to regular senior games before he can even be compared to Clinty Young or Ozzie let alone Hodgey.
He hasn't met your girlfriend has he Chrissie, becasue Clint Young has been crap every since you posted that he picked up your girlfriend (or she picked him up) at a nightclub:(
Leave the players alone!!:confused:
Hahaha Rioli has played 3 pre season games.....
Ellis was a regular last year and had pushed Smith out to retire as he will take his position at HBF.
Ellis has a way to go before reaching the heights of Hodgey. That's not to say he will not make it because he is certainly heading in the right direction and displays intelligence, courage and decent skills. Appears to have a somewhat less aggressive temperament and is certainly a different body shape, is taller with a lighter frame. He will fill out but just don't know if he will have the same upper body strength that Hodgey possesses which adds to his intimidatory aura. I would compare him more to James Hird.
No I totally agree, I am not saying by the end of the year we will say Ellis will be as good as Hodge nor do I think he will be an identical type of player as Hodge just because I think Ellis will lack the tackle breaking abilities of Hodge. But I think in three years Ellis will be right up there with his worth, and talent as Hodge. Whether if its playing like Luke Power or Nick Dal Santo, I just believe Ellis will leap frog the team and be up there with Hodge in his importance.
Thaihawk
3 Mar 2008, 12:41
Most here are way too young to remember the young Michael Tuck in his early years. Well, Xavier takes me back to those days. Tuck was actually groomed as a full forward, but wasn't big enough, so played on the wing. I can recall at the time Hawk supporters saying he is too thin for league football.
I haven't seen any footy this year, but I can assure Hawk supporters that from the games I saw last year, Xavier could, and should play a Tuck snr. like dole for many years.
Just remember how long it took Tucky to become a regular player in the ones.
Ellis strikes me as the type who likes to read the play and let the contest come to him.
Hodge has the ability to will himself on a contest.
He will have a good year. Already looks like his going to get more of it and more marks.Anyone reckon he will be a good dream team pick?
I would probably grab him, as a bench player though but thats because I am a conservative drafter. He will be good though!
kirbatron
3 Mar 2008, 16:08
What i have gathered from young Xavier.
Still learning the game and doesnt have full confidence yet in his body.
Will be Top 5 at club for skill level.
He will become a matchwinner when he moves in the middle.
Will eventually be a goal kicking midfielder, he's just learning the trade down back momentarily.
Will be in leadership group within 24 mths.
Smart smart smart footballer. Watch out when he can start to stand up in tackles.
FatBoy's Wombats
3 Mar 2008, 16:19
Will play sweeping role across half back this year. Makes him a perfect DT candidate!
Roughie
26 Jul 2008, 00:33
Its looming...
stopsign
26 Jul 2008, 00:37
i hope so
TheWiseOne
26 Jul 2008, 00:45
Very happy with him tonight.. He was in our top 3 players :thumbsu::thumbsu:
Hopefully he won't be as good as Hodge based on Hodge's performance tonight. Had a shocker!!
Getting there though.
Drummond
26 Jul 2008, 00:51
What a freaking gun. Best game I've ever seen him play tonight.
For such a skinny lad boy does he throw himself in at the contest. His tackling was superb, his disposal excellent and he fisted the ball when it looked like his opponent would mark so many times. Absolutely superb performance and looks very much like captaincy material.
Roughie
26 Jul 2008, 00:52
Hopefully he won't be as good as Hodge based on Hodge's performance tonight. Had a shocker!!
Getting there though.
Yeah Hodge had a rare shocker.
Ellis is coming really confident in traffic. His apprenticeship in defence shined through his performance today hitting some important spoils. He still just needs to back himself running through the lines rather then always looking to hand it off. I want him to start faking the hands and going straight down the line and using his good disposal kicking forward.
Roughie
26 Jul 2008, 00:56
What a freaking gun. Best game I've ever seen him play tonight.
For such a skinny lad boy does he throw himself in at the contest. His tackling was superb, his disposal excellent and he fisted the ball when it looked like his opponent would mark so many times. Absolutely superb performance and looks very much like captaincy material.
Yeah it was definatly his best game, he has improved each week.
He definatly dives on the football alot, and isnt afraid to go in hard which is so important. Some players stand back when the bigger bodies come and rather it just being a fad while their light in frame it becomes a habit as they get physically bigger.
Your spot on, his defensive work was great and thats why his apprenticeship in defence has proven a great assett. He has good awareness and he can read the play through traffic very well. People forget he pretty much lost a year when focusing on school and is practically a year behind his drafting counterparts. He is just growing every week, this kid will be special. He has this class about him that just reminds me of Hodgey with the football. He may not use brut force as much but the way he disposes of the footy last minute, or weaves through traffic is so Hodge-like. This guy is going to be great next season when he can spend more time in the centre square allowing, Hodge, Lewis, Sewell and Bateman all to rotate in and out.
toomanysquibs
26 Jul 2008, 00:59
Hopefully he won't be as good as Hodge based on Hodge's performance tonight. Had a shocker!!.
That's actually quite funny, Hodge was almost the mole tonight. I love him, but he had a shocker with the footskills and decision making.
The X is already making fools of a couple of prolific North supporters - they who to him as 'a dead set girl'.
Which makes you wonder what the women they date/marry/club on the head with sticks etc. look like.
Ellis was just huge tonight.
HelterSkelter
26 Jul 2008, 11:38
Bookmark it.
he was pick 3, not 2
Noneedforaname
28 Jul 2008, 01:17
Hodge and Ellis are two distinct pleasures to watch. Hodge, running through opponents like a Mack Truck, Ellis pausing, weaving, darting though a pack and calmly dishing off. After announcing Ossie as my 'most improved player' in the thread on that topic, Im already thinking its time to revisit the thread and bump Ellis to one. Fantastic development.
What Im not liking to see is the attention that he gets every week. Listening to the radio, there were at least 2, maybe even 3 high shots on the kid up to only half time. The whole game, Ive never seen a side make so many high tackles and chokes on players as what Geelong did - and get away with them!
Mervyn Beasley
28 Jul 2008, 07:35
I cant quite see him being as good as hodgey but when i think about it he is probably playing as well as hodgey was after as many games. Hodgey may have been a bit younger however.
FriarTuck
28 Jul 2008, 10:10
Ellis is a star.
go hawks!!!
28 Jul 2008, 10:20
As i have said many times on the forum....i refer to 2007 round 4 hawks v bulldogs on fox sports.
david parkin commentated and said:
"he will be a star this kid (ELLIS)"
' he will be a future captain of this football club"
once parkin says that you have to respect it, like many of dermies comments.
that is why i have nicknamed xavier ellis as:
"Number 8: the Captain!!!"
bigbol069
28 Jul 2008, 10:29
Pffft. What a stupid thread title. If Ellis ends up half as good as Hodge we should be happy, he still has a way to go to achieve even that, let alone foolish dreams like captaincy. I'd love to be proven wrong but I reckon I've seen and played enough footy over the last 30 years to know I'm more likely right.
I don't mean this as criticism of Xav, he is a talented kid and should be a good player. But reading the comments some people are throwing around about him makes me think that perhaps they should open their other eye!;)
hodge = gun
28 Jul 2008, 12:37
Forget about this trying to compare Hodge and Ellis, X will be a jet of a player as Hodge already is. He shows good courage and that will only get better as he builds up, i completely agree that X and Hodgey have similar traits, in that they could play down back or middle and have beautiful foot skills, the poise in traffic is unbelievable, both read the play EXCEPTIONALLY well and are EASILY the best readers of the play in our team. No question, he will be a STAR, as Hodgey already is!
Jason Dunstall
28 Jul 2008, 12:53
What i have gathered from young Xavier.
Still learning the game and doesnt have full confidence yet in his body.
Will be Top 5 at club for skill level.
He will become a matchwinner when he moves in the middle.
Will eventually be a goal kicking midfielder, he's just learning the trade down back momentarily.
Will be in leadership group within 24 mths.
Smart smart smart footballer. Watch out when he can start to stand up in tackles.
All great points. Certinally needs some strength, & hopefully this will come sooner rather then later. All the signs of a smart, talented footballer.
PS. will never be as good as Luke Hodge though, a genuine pack bursting, hard tackling, skillful superstar! Just my opinion of course!!!
Coathanger
28 Jul 2008, 14:35
X had his best game for the club by far..Those who thought he wasn't first class on Friday night are simply being foolish.
Brown Blood
28 Jul 2008, 15:00
Ellis is coming really confident in traffic. His apprenticeship in defence shined through his performance today hitting some important spoils. He still just needs to back himself running through the lines rather then always looking to hand it off. I want him to start faking the hands and going straight down the line and using his good disposal kicking forward.
No doubt he is improving.
One thing he needs to do though is move the ball more quickly - to often he holds onto the ball for to long allowing the opposition to man up which then results in a turnover or puts a team mate under extreme pressure.
As far as the comparison to Hodge goes I see him more in a disciple role.:).
flyby hawk
28 Jul 2008, 21:07
X will be a great player for the Hawks - needs to beef up a bit and I have an idea.
Rusty, No.24 and self take him out to lunch weekly.
PROBLEM SOLVED:thumbsu:
Thanks X-Man for reitterating my point!
The Kipster
2 Aug 2008, 13:39
I agree his game last night was very very special....being able to free up Hodge in the backline is sublime.....:thumbsu:
Hodgepodge
2 Aug 2008, 15:35
Xman has been impressive since he's been in the midfield, averaging 20 odd disposals, he's arrived.
boozeDragon
2 Aug 2008, 18:43
I'm looking forward to seeing the opposition treat him with a bit more respect. He'll shine even more. This guy will learn to beat a tag and then guys like Mitchell, Sewell, Hodge and Lewis will get EVEN MORE of the footy.
noosa hawk mad
2 Aug 2008, 19:30
Great to see Clarko give him some more time in the middle best 2 games he's played imo would be the last 2 weeks! on fire his attack on the footy has gone up a level as well has poise & so much time to sum up the situation will be a gun!:thumbsu:
Collins-Langford-Ayres
2 Aug 2008, 20:30
Yeah, he's now actually ahead of where I thought he would be. Can't wait to see him with another pre-season under him.
Do you know Ellis' best attribute? Its his spoiling!
Clarko by playing him on the back flank hadnt made him a cheap possie getter in the back half, it made him really cherrish the one on one contest. I will back him defensively in a mark over anyone in our midfield bar Hodge. Ellis' work in the air is a joy to see as it is so rare to see a mid spoil so consistantly, of course Hodge does this but you struggle to think of many from other clubs.
LuvMyHawks
2 Aug 2008, 20:43
For all you critics of X on here..Do you realize that he is ONLY 18????
What a future he has in the game..Every week he shows more and more, and he is very courageous in the packs.. Well Done X, keep it up..You will be a STAR one day in our club..:thumbsu:
cbrowntuffnut
2 Aug 2008, 21:09
I'm a big fan of this bloke. Has lots of class and poise and sometimes gets himself out of the stickiest situations just by using a bit of thought and skill. With a bit more experience he will be a superstar!
halfback dasher
2 Aug 2008, 21:43
KNOW WHERE NEAR HODGE,,......... more like judd:p
boozeDragon
2 Aug 2008, 21:46
KNOW WHERE NEAR HODGE,,......... more like judd:p
Hahahhaahhaa c'mon enough piss taking fellas.
It's amazing though, Ellis is getting better EVERY MATCH.
Clarkson seems intent to give him the opportunity to win his own contested ball out of the middle. Very good signs for things to come last night. If he can build up clearance skills, he'll be a complete player - capable of playing off HB, HF, Wing or in the centre.
croady_fan24
2 Aug 2008, 21:46
I think he will get quite close as good as Hodgey.
Brown Blood
2 Aug 2008, 22:07
For all you critics of X on here..Do you realize that he is ONLY 18????
What a future he has in the game..Every week he shows more and more, and he is very courageous in the packs.. Well Done X, keep it up..You will be a STAR one day in our club..:thumbsu:
Actually he is 20 (he will be 21 next february, birchall in fact is only a month older than him & buddy is one yr older) - but I agree with your comments re his improvement over the past few games.
it really will come down to whether he can put the muscle on. the failed hit on pedlebury was basically because the other guy has a bit more muscle, and until x gets the muscle he cannot be compared to hodge.
very exciting to see how much he's come on this season and his rise has our midfield looking stronger and stronger with tuck and k3 nearly rdy to roll.
the boy has the appetite for the contest and any player that has that will excel.
Ulittledipper
3 Aug 2008, 23:52
No doubt he is improving.
One thing he needs to do though is move the ball more quickly - to often he holds onto the ball for to long allowing the opposition to man up which then results in a turnover or puts a team mate under extreme pressure.
As far as the comparison to Hodge goes I see him more in a disciple role.:).
the reason he pulls it up so often is that with the hawks rolling zone he has to pick up a target that is in position to kick or handpass too. You watch when in the back line hawks are straeming past him to get into postion forward. But against the maggies he could release a lot faster because he spent more time in the middle
I love the bloke has the guts and skill of Luke Ball all over him.:thumbsu:
Hodgepodge
4 Aug 2008, 13:44
Ellis has been really impressive the last month, gathering heaps of stats, hopefully will stay in the midfield.
The most impressive thing about Ellis against Collingwood was his clearance work and traffic managment, I wasnt sure he had that in him and was the final component for me now to say he will be a star midfielder.
Boyler_Room
4 Aug 2008, 16:59
Great to see the improvement, glad to see he is kicking more often.
considering a half decent gust of wind would put him on his arse, he negotiates pack very well and can really stand up in a tackle
Impressing me more and more with each game - his quick hands out of packs are beautiful to watch
hawkstars
4 Aug 2008, 23:20
Impressing me more and more with each game - his quick hands out of packs are beautiful to watch
Lucky I read your post because I was about to post the same thing. lol.:thumbsu:
Brown Blood
5 Aug 2008, 01:51
the reason he pulls it up so often is that with the hawks rolling zone he has to pick up a target that is in position to kick or handpass too. You watch when in the back line hawks are straeming past him to get into postion forward. But against the maggies he could release a lot faster because he spent more time in the middle
I love the bloke has the guts and skill of Luke Ball all over him.:thumbsu:
I do know the difference & the fact was he has in the past held onto the ball too long or put other players under undue pressure causing turnovers.
It has been a problem that he has had all year and is now resolving - may be one of the reasons he is now getting more support.
I do know the difference & the fact was he has in the past held onto the ball too long or put other players under undue pressure causing turnovers.
It has been a problem that he has had all year and is now resolving - may be one of the reasons he is now getting more support.
I think another thing is, he is getting more confident in traffic to break the lines. It seems at times when he could get around an opponent, he allows them time to 'stop and prop' leaving Ellis waiting for a runner from behind or to loop a ball over the top. In the last two weeks though he has moved quickly forward and worked through traffic.
The thing is Ellis is still young, its practically his 2nd year, he is underweight and is playing in the centre. Its going to be tough for the kid. But already we are seeing massive positives out of this kid, i.e. his hardness at the football for his size, his defensive abilities, he is calm and confident, moves well through traffic, has good skills. This kid is a star in the making, ill continue to bump this thread in the future.
Noel Gallagher
5 Aug 2008, 12:04
It's amazing how quickly some of the nuff nuff's on this site change their tune so quickly...
Just a couple of weeks a go there was a thread titled "Ellis woriies me"
I wont name names but you know who you are...
For the record I have loved Ellis from the start and couldn't believe the flack he was copping on this site.
A few weeks ago, Ellis did worry me - now he doesn't.
That ok with you, champ?
It's amazing how quickly some of the nuff nuff's on this site change their tune so quickly...
Just a couple of weeks a go there was a thread titled "Ellis woriies me"
I wont name names but you know who you are...
For the record I have loved Ellis from the start and couldn't believe the flack he was copping on this site.
Yeah your spot on mate. Fans are constantly looking for a new whipping boy, and it didnt take long for them to choose Ellis, and quickly flip flop. There was no doubt in my, and alot of other fans mind that this guy is a real talent.
Noel Gallagher
5 Aug 2008, 12:41
Binxy if Ellis did worry you a few weeks a go the you obviously don't know alot about football and should perhaps keep you ill informed coments to yourself
ellis was compared to nick dal santo alot during his time playing for melbourne grammar school. while he does posess the poise of a dal santo, he is prepared to win his own ball and sacrifice his own body; something which dal santo does lack.
i don't know if he shall be as good as L.Hodge, but i have been saying for a while that they think and use the ball in a similar fashion.
ellis is quite excellent and i am enjoying seeing him in the midfield more and more. perhaps an 85 kg ellis could really vindicate once and for all these comparisons to hodge. but nonetheless, at present they are quite startlingly similar.
I think some people need to read my opening post of this thread, this is by no means a thread saying Ellis will be like Hodge. There is no way on earth Ellis will ever hold the physical pressure Hodge brings to the game. But he does already show a young Luke Hodge like poise with his disposal, in traffic, and his defensive game is great.
This thread is pointing out Ellis will be a top A Grade midfielder for our team, and will get up there in Hodge like recognition. It is not a comparison of the two.
ellis was compared to nick dal santo alot during his time playing for melbourne grammar school. while he does posess the poise of a dal santo, he is prepared to win his own ball and sacrifice his own body; something which dal santo does lack.
i don't know if he shall be as good as L.Hodge, but i have been saying for a while that they think and use the ball in a similar fashion.
ellis is quite excellent and i am enjoying seeing him in the midfield more and more. perhaps an 85 kg ellis could really vindicate once and for all these comparisons to hodge. but nonetheless, at present they are quite startlingly similar.
I think Ellis does has poise. If anything his poise allows him to be caught with the ball sometimes.
Who knows if he will as good as Hodge, who hasn't reached his pinnacle yet, but my opinion is he will be just as important in future years in the midfield.
Binxy if Ellis did worry you a few weeks a go the you obviously don't know alot about football and should perhaps keep you ill informed coments to yourselfLooks like we're all going to miss out on your superior wisdom for a little while, doesn't it?
Looks like we're all going to miss out on your superior wisdom for a little while, doesn't it?
Bit harsh there Binx
I realise I'm supposed to just sit back and accept his sanctimonious abuse but I'm just not in the mood today - I'm sure I'll get the obligatory PM about how I abuse my power and he'll never post here again.
Meh.