View Full Version : One for Richcogs , Can Tambling cement himself as an elite player similar to what Foley did in 07!
TigerTroy0055
2 Mar 2008, 17:01
My thoughts are he can , he showed huge confidence in himself in the last 5 rounds and once he starts hitting targets regularly he'll be deadly against any team. He can't start hurting oppositions though until he does something with the ball every time he gets it. His body is bigger and he should be able to take the bumps alot better this year and not get pushed off the ball as much as in the past. He should have a terriffic year and finish top 5 in our best and fairest.
Can't wait for Collins 08
Madtiger2006
2 Mar 2008, 17:09
Tambo is like the new Michael Mitchell. Mitchell didn't come to Richmond untill he was 26 I think. So by the time Tambo is 26, he should be a gun :cool:
benny_furs
2 Mar 2008, 17:10
He most certainly can and will.
All the signs are pointing towards him following in Foley's footsteps - but at this stage his limitation will be doing it for 4 quarters like Foley in 2006.
Eg, last prac match Bling did nothing in the 1st Q then was BOG for the next 3 Q's! Might take another 2 years before we see him being BOG for all 4 quarters.
krustyman
2 Mar 2008, 17:10
wallace is talking tambo up, which makes me feel very doubtful about how he is really going.
Why is this for 'richcogs'...
benny_furs
2 Mar 2008, 18:34
Because Richcogs thinks TT only ever posts topics on Andy Collins or something.
cotcha now
2 Mar 2008, 18:48
tambo whould have a great season this year but did injure his ankle a few weeks back. he should now have more stamina and strength to play in the middle then he did the previous years
TigerTroy0055
2 Mar 2008, 18:55
Tambo is like the new Michael Mitchell. Mitchell didn't come to Richmond untill he was 26 I tihnk. So by the time Tambo is 26, he should be a gun :cool:Very good point but in todays age he should come on alot quicker. Michael Mitchell was great wasn't he.
tigerboyz
2 Mar 2008, 18:59
Very good point but in todays age he should come on alot quicker. Michael Mitchell was great wasn't he.
Goal and mark of the year circa 1990.:thumbsu:
Sausage roll
2 Mar 2008, 19:54
He most certainly can and will.
All the signs are pointing towards him following in Foley's footsteps - but at this stage his limitation will be doing it for 4 quarters like Foley in 2006.
Eg, last prac match Bling did nothing in the 1st Q then was BOG for the next 3 Q's! Might take another 2 years before we see him being BOG for all 4 quarters.
Please, save me you guys. Tamblings workrate isn't good enough. doesn't win enough hard footy and makes far too many unforced errors.
A long, long way to go before he is even close to Franklin.
Drunken Wookie
2 Mar 2008, 20:20
Please, save me you guys. Tamblings workrate isn't good enough. doesn't win enough hard footy and makes far too many unforced errors.
From what I saw of him he is a very good size now, in the Mcleod mould and showed enormous confidence in himself (at times perhaps a little too cocky and should look to dispose earlier.) He still needs to work harder both ways but he easily has the best tackle in the team, really buries them when he lays one, was great to see. He'll be key to our midfield by the halfway mark of the season I reckon.
Rayzorwire
2 Mar 2008, 21:38
Still at least a year behind where Foley was last year in terms of his effect on games, but he'll show plenty this year.
benny_furs
2 Mar 2008, 22:03
He carved up your mob (Freo) even last year kicking 3 goals and getting a fair bit of it.
You must have a pretty pathetic life if you have to pose as an opposition supporter and troll for your "fun". Go outside and make some ****ing friends, if only you weren't too scared to say what's on your mind maybe it wouldn't be so hard.
boodsyboy
2 Mar 2008, 23:03
yer good on ya benny furs ,sausage roll is a prized f****wit troll tell me sausage you happy with Freo's pre-season form or you gonna tell me that they didnt have a go against the Roo's at Subi last night 6 goals you got done by now F***k off back to good ole heave ho board.get together with your mates and pray that you make the 8 this year cos you know it will be back to the old drawing board if dorkers dont make it this year.ha,ha,ha,ha :eek:
tigers_of_old_08
3 Mar 2008, 06:03
hah! Youre drowning in your own rubbish - go save yourself. :thumbsd:
wallace is talking tambo up, which makes me feel very doubtful about how he is really going.
LMAO How cynical of you Krusty But totally understandable after 25 years of what we have put up with.
Lets not forget that Wallace has only contributed to 3 of them at this stage.
I think Tambo will have a good year but also that his best will still be 2-3 years away.
Sausage roll
3 Mar 2008, 08:55
LMAO How cynical of you Krusty But totally understandable after 25 years of what we have put up with.
Lets not forget that Wallace has only contributed to 3 of them at this stage.
I think Tambo will have a good year but also that his best will still be 2-3 years away.
Wallce is also talking up JON, telling us all he will "silence his critics"
Can't wait for that one!
Chris111
3 Mar 2008, 10:10
Used to watch Mitcell as a kid in Perth every week, was my favorite player and what a talent!!! (thats the second time I quoted you today, must be the lack of Collins talk clearing your head)Tambo is like the new Michael Mitchell. Mitchell didn't come to Richmond untill he was 26 I tihnk. So by the time Tambo is 26, he should be a gun :cool:
WTF has Franklin got to do with Tambling's performances?
Chris111
3 Mar 2008, 10:23
Yeppp
Madtiger2006
3 Mar 2008, 12:13
who says he has to be like Franklin?
Sausage roll
3 Mar 2008, 12:56
WTF has Franklin got to do with Tambling's performances?
Well, we drafted tambling and passed on Franklin who went next pick.
Can Tambling cement himself as an elite player this year? sure, will it happen? no not yet. Tambling strikes me as the sort that if he went to a side like Brisbane or Port where they already had the midfield process in place, would have immediate impact as he would be used sparringly and allowed to mature. He has really suffered with us through the lack of quality ahead of him and the lack of protection from senior players. Injuries at key times have not helped his cause either. To be honest I suspect Tambling will continue to disappoint us supporters until we finally have a midfield that is dominant. At that stage he may become a very successful impact player off the half forward flank and be excessively damaging, kicking goals forward and then going into the middle for the last five minutes of each quater to devastating effect. Until then I doubt we'll see the entire game of dominace we all crave.
benny_furs
3 Mar 2008, 23:15
Well, we drafted tambling and passed on Franklin who went next pick.
I thought Richmond drafted Tambling, not Fremantle.
You guys got... umm.......... well, you lost Simmonds that year :o:o
tigerboyz
4 Mar 2008, 04:23
I thought Richmond drafted Tambling, not Fremantle.
You guys got... umm.......... well, you lost Simmonds that year :o:o
What's wrong with you benny he's a tiger supporter.:D
benny_furs
4 Mar 2008, 11:20
What's wrong with you benny he's a tiger supporter.:D
Just like krustyman is :D
Check the numbers before posting such rubbish. No problem when he gets the ball. 80% efficiency (for season 2007) is very good by foot, 77.7% by hand as well. He's winning 37.5% of his possessions in a contest! Thats up there with Foley (37.1%) and Tuck (36.2%) who are considered our ball winners. The thing that needs to click for Tambling is the "cream". He's averaging 13.6 disposals of which he's having to find 4-5 of those in a contest. Its the cheap ball he needs to find more of, so that he an utilise his pace and excellent distribution inside 50 (we retain more than 90% of his I50's which is by far the best on our list).
Sausage roll
5 Mar 2008, 12:09
Check the numbers before posting such rubbish. No problem when he gets the ball. 80% efficiency (for season 2007) is very good by foot, 77.7% by hand as well. He's winning 37.5% of his possessions in a contest! Thats up there with Foley (37.1%) and Tuck (36.2%) who are considered our ball winners. The thing that needs to click for Tambling is the "cream". He's averaging 13.6 disposals of which he's having to find 4-5 of those in a contest. Its the cheap ball he needs to find more of, so that he an utilise his pace and excellent distribution inside 50 (we retain more than 90% of his I50's which is by far the best on our list).
So you agree with me that his workrate isn't good enough as he doesn't win enough cheap ball?
Does he use his pace to tackle, block and do all the non-posessions things? What do your stats say about that?
Realistic Tiger
5 Mar 2008, 12:21
So you agree with me that his workrate isn't good enough as he doesn't win enough cheap ball?
Does he use his pace to tackle, block and do all the non-posessions things? What do your stats say about that?
If the numbers showed that Tambling got heaps of cheap ball you would carry on that his workrate isn't good enough because he does not win much contested ball. Now if you have finished making an arse of yourself would you kindly vacate the premises, otherwise feel free to continue on.
No, I don't agree with much of anything you have to say. People with poor work rates don't win 5-6 contested possessions per game. I think like many younger midfielders he probably works too hard getting to too many contests when in essence he needs to work in to space, take a chance to get forward of the ball at times, or even pick up some cheap possessions behind the ball.
As for tackling, blocking etc, we're statistically the worst tackling side in the comp. Its a hallmark of TW's sides. So you could hardly blame if if he was ordinary in that area. That said, he actually average more than 2 tackles per game which is above average on our list and pretty consistent across midfielder-forwards in the league as a whole.
benny_furs
5 Mar 2008, 15:31
As for tackling, Tambling was Richmond's #1 tackler up to about Round 9/10 when he injured his shoulder and missed a few games.
Is that all?
Rayzorwire
5 Mar 2008, 19:39
Ah, so you'd be much happier if he was a Tivendale/Howat clone who played on his own all game and got a lot of cheap possessions?
Workrate comes with fitness. Nobody expected Tambling to be fully AFL fit by the end of his 3rd season when we drafted him...except the clueless.
He's showing great signs in a majority of the right areas.
As for tackling, Tambling was Richmond's #1 tackler up to about Round 9/10 when he injured his shoulder and missed a few games.
Is that all?
Averaged 2.5 per game. Nothing wrong with that. Where are you now Sausage Roll?
Phil McCreviss
6 Mar 2008, 22:50
Just a question about Michael Mitchell (since the start of this thread mentioned his name). Does anyone have footage of the mark he took in WA where he stood on the guys shoulders? Its probably the best mark I have ever seen.
Sausage roll
7 Mar 2008, 08:26
Is that all?
no it isn't.
Of course, the old injury line that has got JOn and Meyer off the hook for the past few years.
. Otherwise he would have been the world's leading tackler!
I take it all back-he is a gun. never turns it over, works hard and is brave( let's hear your stat on that one!) and we would all rather have him than franklin.
no it isn't.
Of course, the old injury line that has got JOn and Meyer off the hook for the past few years.
. Otherwise he would have been the world's leading tackler!
I take it all back-he is a gun. never turns it over, works hard and is brave( let's hear your stat on that one!) and we would all rather have him than franklin.
Its no wonder you're stupid. You clearly like hitting your head against a brick wall. Sheesh, have your opinion, but acknowledge that your perception isn't right. Its not. Do I think Tambling's a star? No, I don't. But I think he's doing a lot of things right and has the right attitude to succeed. He's 21 years old and you're trying to write him off. We seriously don't need supporters like you.
P.S. You're also implying Tambling's soft. I haven't seen it. Please explain.
tigerboyz
8 Mar 2008, 08:26
Just a question about Michael Mitchell (since the start of this thread mentioned his name). Does anyone have footage of the mark he took in WA where he stood on the guys shoulders? Its probably the best mark I have ever seen.
Rare as hens teeth.