View Full Version : Cam Stokes: Looks like a little gem of a player ....

delirious1
2 Mar 2008, 19:26
Looks like a little gem of a player. Good effort to get him on the rookie list
And chance he will be elevated onto the seniors? Your opinions of him?

Where do you think he will play? Up forward, or will we groom him for the middle?

Roughie
2 Mar 2008, 19:32
Cameron Stokes is a hard worker. He has worked hard to be drafted, and has worked exceptionally hard to even get a NAB Cup game. Remember he was our last selected rookie in the rookie draft this year! To be played ahead of our other rookies, especially Suckling who is in his 2nd year is a huge achievement.

Stokes looks first in line for a senior listing but its just a matter of if and not when. Remember last year we did not senior list a rookie during the year after Bailey went down with his knee, so by no means will we senior Stokes just because we can with Crawf being on the vet list, and if Muston is put on the long term injury list. I think personally he will be senior listed. He will remain up forward this season most likely. I was sceptical of him being able to play up forward as he has dominated in the midfield in the Northern Territory, and plays in the guts for the N.T. Thunder. He really can do anything if he continues to apply himself like he has done.

noosa hawk mad
2 Mar 2008, 20:00
Showed some great tackling pressure & great pace! His commitment was A+ & tenacious as! alot to like about Stokes:thumbsu:

lethalselbow
3 Mar 2008, 06:30
Stokes looked good. Hard at it and tenacious. :thumbsu:

Collins-Langford-Ayres
3 Mar 2008, 06:55
If he gets promoted, what position will he settle into? Was he an onballer as a junior?

Hawk Glory 08
3 Mar 2008, 08:03
Hasn't he injured his arm or elbow?
Does anyone know how serious it is?

markr
3 Mar 2008, 08:39
If Muston goes on the long term injury list (and here's to hoping he doesn't) we'll be able to move two rookies to the senior list, since we already get one for only having one vet. However I doubt we'll senior anyone until we are ready to give them a game, and although Stokes has been good I don't think he'll quite be in the 22 yet.

delirious1
3 Mar 2008, 10:19
If he gets promoted, what position will he settle into? Was he an onballer as a junior?
I want him in the guts, TBO, we could use another hard at it terrier in the mid

FatBoy's Wombats
3 Mar 2008, 11:00
6 tackles, quick, good skills, looking good ain't he! I think we are starting to see the players that will fill all of those vacancies from last year.

Roughie
3 Mar 2008, 11:34

He was a midfielder and a good one at that. He got drafted around mid year of the AFLNT season and he still won his clubs A-Grade Best And Fairest. He also played in the guts for the Northern Territory side.

Obeanie1
3 Mar 2008, 13:22
Stokes is getting better with every game, great rookie pick up.

Up here the radio commentators refered to him as a Rolls Royce midfielder.

I can see him playing off the bench and rotaing with Rioli off a HHF and on ball.

Stokes is more a midfielder than forward and one who knows how to negotiate heavy trafic. His one big weakness was shown on the weekend, he's now playing with the BIG boys and getting crunched will hurt him until he bulks up. He's never going to be huge but every bit helps.

Good luck Stokesie:thumbsu:

philhawk
3 Mar 2008, 13:37
Stokes is getting better with every game, great rookie pick up.

Up here the radio commentators refered to him as a Rolls Royce midfielder.

I can see him playing off the bench and rotaing with Rioli off a HHF and on ball.

Stokes is more a midfielder than forward and one who knows how to negotiate heavy trafic. His one big weakness was shown on the weekend, he's now playing with the BIG boys and getting crunched will hurt him until he bulks up. He's never going to be huge but every bit helps.

Good luck Stokesie:thumbsu:

Good post, Obeanie. :thumbsu:

I know it's a strange comparison, but I see alot of a young Byron Pickett in him.

Trickstar
3 Mar 2008, 14:10
That goal he kicked - not so much the goal but the lead up work was amazing he just didn't give up and kept moving the ball forward and never once was out of play.

Previously when the ball came into our forward line and if we didn't get a mark, the ball hit the deck it used to come out as quickly as it went in but with the pace of stokes and rioli there was alot more forward pressure and tackling. Their pace caught out a few of the Crows and Blues the week before. Not so much their crumbing work but there chasing work was the stand out even if they didn't catch them. I think it inspired Buddy a bit as I thought in the second half he was chasing a lot more than normal. Time to put either Rioli or Stokes at Buddy's feet!

Rimbaz
3 Mar 2008, 19:19
How did this guy last through to the Rookie Draft?

FoxC
3 Mar 2008, 19:32
Learned his trade from cousin and premiership player Mathew. :D

Roughie
3 Mar 2008, 19:40
Learned his trade from cousin and premiership player Mathew. :D

A pity that they arent related

Mojo
3 Mar 2008, 19:41
A pity that they arent related

I thought they were cousins?

noosa hawk mad
3 Mar 2008, 19:42
Learned his trade from cousin and premiership player Mathew. :DIts his Brother isn't it not cousin!

Roughie
3 Mar 2008, 19:45
Its his Brother isn't it not cousin!

Not related at all

FoxC
3 Mar 2008, 19:50
Not related at all

Sorry, I was told they were cousins.

buddylove_23
3 Mar 2008, 19:57
I heard that they were cousins too...

Roughie
3 Mar 2008, 19:58
Well boys I can categorically bet my life they arent related. I was mates with Stokes prior to being drafted.

FoxC
3 Mar 2008, 20:03
Well boys I can categorically bet my life they arent related. I was mates with Stokes prior to being drafted.

I wasn't saying you're wrong, just that my source told me differently. I'll have to correct him then. :thumbsu:

Roughie
3 Mar 2008, 20:07
I wasn't saying you're wrong, just that my source told me differently. I'll have to correct him then. :thumbsu:

Nah mate I didnt mean to come across like that. Just letting people know they arent related. I originally thought they were also.

FoxC
3 Mar 2008, 20:16
Nah mate I didnt mean to come across like that. Just letting people know they arent related. I originally thought they were also.

Thanks for the insight, I'll tell him my new source is more authentic. ;)

seanoff
3 Mar 2008, 20:46
I've lived in Darwin all my life.

Steven, Cam's dad is a small nuggetty blackfella. (much like Cam)

John, Mathews dad, is a small skinny whitefella.

As far as i know they aren't married to sisters.

Camerons father, was as hard at it as any footballer I've ever seen. There is much of him in Cameron. (this coming from a St Mary's supporter and they played for Darwin)

hawkstars
3 Mar 2008, 21:23
he is a ripper. What a gem of a players. Him and Rioli look absolutely awesome.

GeneralHolmes
4 Mar 2008, 13:59
I thought they were cousins?
Cameron Stokes uncle is actually Andrew McLeod his fathers cousin. Why they were together after the game. He not related to Matthew Stokes.

HFC082
4 Mar 2008, 15:32
Reminds me heaps of Daniel Kerr.

Will be better imo

xellis
4 Mar 2008, 16:33

Will be better imo
big call..

Collins-Langford-Ayres
5 Mar 2008, 11:30
big call..

massive call !!!!

:)

Leather Poisoning
5 Mar 2008, 11:55
For stokesy to put in second, third and fouth efforts (resulted in a goal against Adelaide at one point - check the highlights thread) is sensational.

Players who have only been at the club for five minutes are expected to be overwhelmed and lack the fitness to punch into three or four consecutive contests.

This guy is an absolute ****ing ripper.

Mojo
5 Mar 2008, 12:10
big call..

massive call !!!!

:)

I've had enough of these Stuart Dew jokes! :cool:

Hawka_de_Haven
5 Mar 2008, 12:49
I reckon Stokes is a sure thing to get promoted. The only resistance is the fact that we now have a crumbing fwd in Rioli, something which we really havn't had since the Rat. Stokes is a find and given you need time in the middle to aclimatise to the speed and rigour of seniors footy I reckon he is due for a fwd pocket position, for this season in any case. I see depth rising at the hawks!

Consumed
5 Mar 2008, 13:29
He's like Tambling, only better.

Obeanie1
6 Mar 2008, 13:55

Will be better imo

If this call isn't blowing hot air out your ar$e I don't know what is.:o

Anything is possible I suppose but the guy has talent no doubt.

Oh, and for some more local Darwin knowledge that I guarantee you will all be very happy to hear;

One of my mates had 'family' playing with Cam and the young fella used to hang around (his daughters) a bit.:D Said that Cam was so intent in playing AFL he very, very.....vary rarely drank alcohol and NEVER touched the 'other illegal stuff' that many young people are experimenting with. He was a very focused young bloke who made the hard sacrifices that were needed to get him into the AFL.:thumbsu:

croady_fan24
6 Mar 2008, 18:36
Yeh Stokes is good. Didnt see the match, Hawks vs Adelaide. How did he go? (Stokes)

Roughie
6 Mar 2008, 18:58
Yeh Stokes is good. Didnt see the match, Hawks vs Adelaide. How did he go? (Stokes)

Pretty good. He kicked a hard working goal where he originally had the ball at half back, he gave off a kick and a couple handballs, worked all the way up to the forward line where he got the footy back and kicked a goal. Also ended up with 6 tackles.

croady_fan24
6 Mar 2008, 19:07
Pretty good. He kicked a hard working goal where he originally had the ball at half back, he gave off a kick and a couple handballs, worked all the way up to the forward line where he got the footy back and kicked a goal. Also ended up with 6 tackles.

Good. Proud of him. Looks like he has a goof future ahead at our club.
But i saw the last seconds when it showed Stokes with his arm wrapped. Is he ok?

Roughie
6 Mar 2008, 20:53
Good. Proud of him. Looks like he has a goof future ahead at our club.
But i saw the last seconds when it showed Stokes with his arm wrapped. Is he ok?

Just a badly jarred elbow

Mervyn Beasley
6 Mar 2008, 20:59
If Muston goes on the long term injury list (and here's to hoping he doesn't) we'll be able to move two rookies to the senior list, since we already get one for only having one vet. However I doubt we'll senior anyone until we are ready to give them a game, and although Stokes has been good I don't think he'll quite be in the 22 yet.
Given Muston has a longterm injury why would you hope he doesnt go on the long term list??

Re Stokes brothers factor - Fox commentators said it on weekend!! Silly pricks.

hawks_legends
6 Mar 2008, 21:32
Yeh he looks like a great player for us in the futuer. I was really happy with him in the NAB Cup. I didn't see the Adelaide game but I heard he did well. Well done Cam Stokes :thumbsu:

Hawkamania!
7 Mar 2008, 09:00
Stokes has a very good reputation around Darwin and from what we've seen so far in the NAB cup, he looks like he belongs out on an AFL field.

IMO the number 44 suits him well.:thumbsu:

Noel Gallagher
7 Mar 2008, 13:58
Not that I'm complaining but how the hell did this guy slip though to the rookie list??

You would have thought that most clubs would have learnt from overlooking BOTH Davey brothers in previous drafts.

delirious1
7 Mar 2008, 16:50
Not that I'm complaining but how the hell did this guy slip though to the rookie list??

You would have thought that most clubs would have learnt from overlooking BOTH Davey brothers in previous drafts.
Some blokes grab their 1-2 chances to impress and do so. lots of these blokes are not rated, and are labeled. "too small/Lack Pace/No real position, Stokes seems to be that player, not as football gifted as his counter-part rioli, but probably more determined to play AFL. Hawthorn saw some potential, and on game-day Wanted to impress to put his foot in the accelerator, seems to have happened
Hope to see him play for us for years.

Cheeseman
7 Mar 2008, 17:17
There's a reason I wanted him as "my man" If you wanna get on the bandwagon, I'll pick you up on the way past. ;)

croady_fan24
7 Mar 2008, 18:22
Just a badly jarred elbow

oh ok. Hopefully he gets better too. :)

the_berger
9 Mar 2008, 13:57
he would have to be promoted in place of muston right?