View Full Version : Good Start Critical Says Sheahan
Realistic Tiger
3 Mar 2008, 00:41
EVEN allowing for their reputation for turning ugly, Richmond supporters have excelled themselves this year.
At roughly 9.30 on the night of February 15, 34 days before the start of the home-and-away competition, the bulk of the yellow and black army had hoisted the white flag.
The first-round NAB Cup loss to St Kilda at Telstra Dome sparked another bout of verbal assaults on players, coaches and officials, and several from the recent past.
Yes, it was a poor performance from a team much closer to full strength than the Saints were that night, but it also was a glorified practice match.
The Tigers should have done better, of course. They were outplayed, outclassed; they looked inept.
Yet, history tells us to beware of pre-season form.
I don't know whether it's stubbornness or insight, but I am keeping the faith: I'm tipping the Tigers to make big improvement this year.
OK, that's hardly adventurous given they finished last in 2007, with just three wins (and a draw), but, look hard enough, and you will discover grounds for optimism.
Well the HUN's resident expert has cast his eye over the club and he seems to be rather optimistic about our season ahead, must say it is refreshing to read someone from the media paint a positive picture about the club instead of the normal doom and gloom. YOu can read the whole article here: http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,23306855-19742,00.html
TigerTroy0055
3 Mar 2008, 08:21
I'm still of the opinion we will be hovering around the 8 this year. Barring injury there is no reason we shouldn't. Last year we didn't have first use of the ball because of our ruck injuries. Hope Sylvestor steps up to give us some more backline depth. Our Mids are going to have cracking years.
Our start to the season will be awsome. Especially round 1
Can't wait for Collins 08
krustyman
3 Mar 2008, 08:35
2008 should be much better since a lot of experieced players are coming back from injury and the drafts would need to earn games rather than be given freebies. ruck was a major weakness and they have it covered with simmo, patto, graham and cartlege as well as stengthening the midfield with the return of cogs and polo. they might end up just outside the 8 if they dont get injuries.
Sausage roll
3 Mar 2008, 08:42
Sorry Mike but I can't share your enthusiasm. We are a couple of significant injuries away from another 0-9 start.
At least he didn't pump up Terry's lovechild JON. You will know we are really struggling when you see him in the team.
Is he the worst player on the list?
wrightman
3 Mar 2008, 09:37
Sorry Mike but I can't share your enthusiasm. We are a couple of significant injuries away from another 0-9 start.
At least he didn't pump up Terry's lovechild JON. You will know we are really struggling when you see him in the team.
You are the real sausage roll
tigertiger
3 Mar 2008, 09:48
Hopefully Mike can improve this year on the crap that he ussually serves up in the HUN. Hope that he has had a good pre-season writing headlines for fleet street so he can fill us with his great incites into our game
Chris111
3 Mar 2008, 10:03
Hope Sylvestor steps up to give us some more backline depth.
This is a critical point we often overlook. One NAB game and he was crucified. I think the loss to ST K was due to the weak efforts of a few who have the ability. But... he is big and strong, may need to just adjust to the pace of seniors and the very obvious lack of back line strength is fixed. Surprised he did not play on Hall on the weekend, needs a chance to step up.
Mike has actually been optimistic about us even through a fair proportion of our spoon season
he's right, a good start is imperative
Drunken Wookie
3 Mar 2008, 10:35
a good middle and end wouldn't hurt either.
Realistic Tiger
3 Mar 2008, 10:39
How do you rate Sheahans best 22?
B: King Thursfield Schulz
HB: Newman Moore Bowden
C: McMahon Johnson Tambling
HF: Pettifer Richo Morton
F: Brown Deledio Polak
R: Simmonds Tuck Foley
I: Raines Pattison Polo Riewoldt
E: Jackson Edwards Hyde
RichosGuns
3 Mar 2008, 11:46
Pretty much spot on for round 1 IMO.
The only dubious positions are:
Riewoldt
Moore
Schulz IMO
Tivendale should at least be in the emergencies aswell.
Cogs comes in later, when fully fit - Maye Cotchin too
Madtiger2006
3 Mar 2008, 12:05
I'd put McMahon in Schultz's spot, put Polak at CHB and Hughes at CHF. I'd bring in Cogs and Jackson and take out Johnson and Raines
CoggaRules
3 Mar 2008, 13:23
absolute walk up start..unless he is under a fitness cloud. ;)
True Thylacine
3 Mar 2008, 13:44
Is McGuane the forgotten man? Thought he was bloody good value in 07 and developing nicely. Maybe a 3rd tall defender still but has the makings of a decent CHB with the agility, speed and overhead skills. Foot skills a lil suss under pressure but who's arent with the lack of options we provide at times. Maybe not ready for the monster CHF's but ideal for the more agile ones but seems to have fallen off the radar? Any reason why?.
Chris111
3 Mar 2008, 13:51
I'm with you, If it were up to me, I'd be playing Mcgaune, Thursfield, Moore and Sylvester (maybe) down back all year to give them a good run and bit of experience in playing as a unit. The first 3 are fairly mobile and I like their aggression at the ball. I enjoyed watching Mcgaune?? last year, hope he's in.
Monkeyboy
3 Mar 2008, 14:28
10 players who are not AFL standard. The Centre line is terrible. I rate it as possibly your strongest side, but clearly the 16th most talented in the comp.
Looking for bites. Just ignore the fool.
McGuane>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Schulz.
I'd put McMahon in Schult'z spot, put Polak at CHB and Hughes at CHF. I'd bring in Cogs and Jackson and take out Johnson and Raines
Spot on Madtiger would almost totally agree with your changes but what position would that leave Moore in ??????
10 players who are not AFL standard. The Centre line is terrible. I rate it as possibly your strongest side, but clearly the 16th most talented in the comp.
Another classic troll from a classic troll
Why dont you climb back into your tree monkeyboy
Unless you want to put a few pennies on who finishes higher
A couple of K would work for me
Actually I withdraw that last comment for 2 reasons
1/ I'm not sure if you can do that on here and i don't want to be red carded
2/ It is wrong to take advantage of the people who have not yet evolved from tree climbing long tailed gitts
eyeofthetiger
3 Mar 2008, 18:22
10 players who are not AFL standard. The Centre line is terrible. I rate it as possibly your strongest side, but clearly the 16th most talented in the comp.[/quote]
jason bendigo johnson, jason hack laycock,ricky useless dyson, turnover watson,mal i should of retired 3 yrs ago michael,andrew plays 2 good games a season murry, captain material hille,and another bendigo boy pervill also question marks over jetta.
Wat a clown
I read some rule on Bay 13 that talked about red carding people who troll club boards.
What's this?
Sausage roll
3 Mar 2008, 20:37
Wat a clown
What a comeback...flog
boodsyboy
3 Mar 2008, 21:05
What a comeback...flog
sausage roll born in a bucket :eek:
benny_furs
3 Mar 2008, 23:03
I'd bring in Cogs and Jackson and take out Johnson
:D
Surprise surprise :p
I agree
Tivendale will play for sure!!!
Madtiger2006
4 Mar 2008, 06:43
Tivendale will play for sure!!!
I'd rather see Howat than Tivva or Hyde. Can Howat only play if there is a long term injury to a listed player? Maybe Johnson should do his groin :D
tiger of old
4 Mar 2008, 06:49
I'd put McMahon in Schultz's spot, put Polak at CHB and Hughes at CHF. I'd bring in Cogs and Jackson and take out Johnson and Raines
We didnt recruit McMahon to play out of the BP.
Truetiger
4 Mar 2008, 08:21
You don't have to do rocket science to work out that a good start is critical Mike, everyone knows that. I really do think we will beat Carlton should be to quick for them in the midfield and in general over the ground. We have a winnable first 5 games(Carlton,Kangaroos,Collingwood, Fremantle and the Bulldogs) I would like to think we would at least win three of those if not more. The three weeks to follow them are games to Hawthorn, Stkilda and Geelong no doubt those three games will test us however I can not see why we could not get close to winning 2 of those. By round 11 I would like to think we were at least 5-6 no less.
Mike once we beat carlton - I want the headline of your paper to be: Tigers win in demolitiom derby :)
Drunken Wookie
4 Mar 2008, 11:00
You don't have to do rocket science to work out that a good start is critical Mike, everyone knows that. I really do think we will beat Carlton should be to quick for them in the midfield and in general over the ground. We have a winnable first 5 games(Carlton,Kangaroos,Collingwood, Fremantle and the Bulldogs) I would like to think we would at least win three of those if not more. The three weeks to follow them are games to Hawthorn, Stkilda and Geelong no doubt those three games will test us however I can not see why we could not get close to winning 2 of those. By round 11 I would like to think we were at least 5-6 no less.
Mike once we beat carlton - I want the headline of your paper to be: Tigers win in demolitiom derby :)
Knowing the HUN that's exactly how it would be printed too.
We need a bigger bridge to fit all these trolls.
Throws troll some scraps to eat.
Rayzorwire
4 Mar 2008, 12:21
It's much better than what Sheehan typically serves up RT. I think its biggest flaw is that there's not enough onball rotation depth.
------------------------------------------
Round 1, Thursday, March 20: Carlton (MCG) 6.10pm ---- winnable
Round 2, Sunday, March 30: Kangaroos (MCG) 4.40pm ----- winnable
Round 3, Sunday, April 6: Collingwood (MCG) 2.10pm ----- winnable
Round 4, Sunday, April 13: Fremantle (Subiaco) 3.10pm
Round 5, Sunday, April 20: Western Bulldogs (Telstra Dome) 2.10pm ----- winnable
Round 6, Sunday, April 27: Hawthorn (MCG) 4.40pm
Round 7, Saturday, May 3: St Kilda (Telstra Dome) 7.10pm
Round 8, Saturday, May 17: Geelong (MCG) 2.10pm
Round 9, Saturday, May 24: Essendon (MCG) 7.10pm ----- winnable
Round 10, Sunday, June 1: Sydney (SCG) 1.10pm
Round 11, Saturday, June 7: Adelaide (MCG) 2.10pm ----- winnable
Round 12, Sunday, June 15: Melbourne (Telstra Dome) 4.40pm ----- winnable
Round 13, Saturday, June 21: Port Adelaide (AAMI Stadium) 3.10pm
Round 14, Saturday, June 28: Carlton (MCG) 2.10pm ----- winnable
Round 15, Sunday, July 13: West Coast (Subiaco) 2.40pm
Round 16, Saturday, July 19: Essendon (MCG) 2.10pm ----- winnable
Round 17, Saturday, July 26: Brisbane Lions (Telstra Dome) 7.10pm ----- winnable
Round 18, Saturday, August 2: Geelong (Telstra Dome) 7.10pm
Round 19, Sunday, August 10: Adelaide (AAMI Stadium) 3.10pm
Round 20, Sunday, August 17: Hawthorn (MCG) 1.10pm
Round 21, Saturday, August 23: Fremantle (MCG) 2.10pm ----- winnable
Round 22, Sunday, August 31: Melbourne (MCG) 2.10pm ----- winnable
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
The above gives us 12 wins for the year, which should be enough to scrape in to the finals. I'm not saying other games aren't winnable, just putting out our best chances. If we don't win these 12 games, playing finals will mean winning interstate, or pinching a game against a very good side. If we drop one of these 12 games, Hawthorn at the G twice looks our best bet to get one back.
It illustrates how crucial the first 5 games are...if we don't have 4 wins on the board after round 5 it's going to be very tough to play finals - not that I'm expecting to play finals.
I think if we win 8 of the above and are competitive in the majority of our other games, we'll have done alright.
Madtiger2006
4 Mar 2008, 13:39
It's much better than what Sheehan typically serves up RT. I think its biggest flaw is that there's not enough onball rotation depth.
Round 5, Sunday, April 20: Western Bulldogs (Telstra Dome) 2.10pm ----- winnable
Round 17, Saturday, July 26: Brisbane Lions (Telstra Dome) 7.10pm ----- winnable
The above gives us 12 wins for the year, which should be enough to scrape in to the finals. I'm not saying other games aren't winnable, just putting out our best chances. If we don't win these 12 games, playing finals will mean winning interstate, or pinching a game against a very good side. If we drop one of these 12 games, Hawthorn at the G twice looks our best bet to get one back.
It illustrates how crucial the first 5 games are...if we don't have 4 wins on the board after round 5 it's going to be very tough to play finals - not that I'm expecting to play finals.
I think if we win 8 of the above and are competitive in the majority of our other games, we'll have done alright.
I think we can pinch a win against Freo at Subi. Every year we are in the game until the last 5 minutes. This year I think we can hold on. I'd want at least 3 wins from the first 5 games. The Roos and Dogs are 50/50 games. We lost to the Roos last year but beat them the year before. We haven't beaten the Dogs for a couple of years but we are getting closer.
Rayzorwire
4 Mar 2008, 14:11
The fact that the first three are at the G helps a lot.
Madtiger2006
4 Mar 2008, 14:31
The fact that the first three are at the G helps a lot.
Yeah, that will give us the advantage over the Roos. We usually beat them at the G but not at Telstra. Disappointed we have to play melbourne at Telstra though. That should be at the G and may cost us who knows
Truetiger
4 Mar 2008, 15:42
ok Adelaide at the MCG is a winnable game. However the return game at AAMI Stadium is not? surely if one is winnable then the second game would be as well. Keeping in mind we almost and most likely should of won there last season.
Rayzorwire
4 Mar 2008, 15:52
ok Adelaide at the MCG is a winnable game. However the return game at AAMI Stadium is not? surely if one is winnable then the second game would be as well. Keeping in mind we almost and most likely should of won there last season.
Which part of "I'm not saying other games aren't winnable, just putting out our best chances" didn't you get mate? ;)
benny_furs
4 Mar 2008, 18:29
At the start of last year we would have said Hawthorn and Kangaroos were easily winnable and even Geelong as winnable since we finished above them the year before (us 9th, Cats 10th).
Since this year will be as unpredictable as the rest, it would be hard to make a list like the above very relevant!
CoggaRules
4 Mar 2008, 18:55
Round 22, Sunday, August 31: Melbourne (MCG) 2.10pm [FONT=Arial][B]----- winnable
we win our first three and then go to Subi and win that one against Freo, we play in September. ;)
CaptainBlood
6 Mar 2008, 11:06
Post a comment at www.superfooty.com.au to let Sheahan know what you think - he reads those and sometimes replies! I think he was pretty optimistic. We should be better than last year but we can't afford many injuries, depth is a worry especially in key positions
Barry Zuckercorn QC
7 Mar 2008, 00:01
Hmmmm, a good start hey? Who would have thought?
Is a good start also critical for the other 15 teams?
richoatthedisco
7 Mar 2008, 01:17
Hmmmm, a good start hey? Who would have thought?
Is a good start also critical for the other 15 teams?
**** OFF WANKER